(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi Kitty,

nope, i dun wear heels nowadays and mostly flats or low pumps even during normal days. Wonder will massage prevent it from spreading?

jaz

congrats.... hahah your #1 is 2 months older then mine.
haha and we are both jasmine.
ok with me call you jaz to differentiate?

mrsc

have you tried the surgical stockings? i know that there are available ones for preggy's. was using it when i had #1. works well to give your legs the added support during the day. must say that its rather hot to wear at non air con places though.

Friend of Zoo,

Working as wat in healthcare setting? Depending on wat job you are talking abt. But generally healthcare setting normally beli busy, but job stability is some how good though.. Especially at this difficult timing now
I have no choice,cse been a nurse since graduate, so die die also must choose healthcare setting. Ha HA!!
Btw, which hospital u choosing for your gynae appt?

Hi hazelle,

Alreadi booked appt wif Dr Benjamin Tham. Gg 2 c him next Tues. His 1st consultation fees is $91, subsequent will be $60plus if i hear clearly from the KK's staff.

Will u be gg for TPS? I am.

Btw mummies,

Tis is my 2nd one.

Jas & Jaz,

Looks like my #1 is the youngest among. she is 9mths only. Hee...

MrsC,

re : spider veins

Lift up ur legs whenever possible. It helps to reduce. I lift up my legs in office and @ home. If sleep, place ur feet above the bolster.

oo..2nd time mummies, looks like it can be more tough for you gers, jugling between your #1s and coping with current pregnancy too..

esther

hahah we can have playdate for our #1 already. mine is leap year baby.

hahah ok their first date out.... with mummies. coz mine is a boy.

oh hahah forgot to ask for the dob of your gal. think we would be planning the 1st birthday party for them soon thinking to hold for my boy on the 28th feb. yours?

Jas,

Haha... Yeah. Can start off wif friends friends 1st, then school friends, then pak tor... then marriage! Haha... Am i tinking 2 much and 2 way ahead ah?! Wahaha...

Btw who's ur gynae ah?

Re : Coping with #1 & current preggy.

Kinda of tired latey (very bad backache. stand awhile, pain, carry my bb aso pain)

Of late, my gal aso started to get clingy to me. Normally she prefers her daddy!

Heard that #1 usually will knw that their mummies got #2, even way b4 mummies themselves knw. Haha...

So for 1st time mummies, my advice is 2 njoy ur preggy as much as possible wif ur hb. Cos after 9 mths, u wont hv the luxury time of ur own liao. unless u got parents, maid 2 help. 4 me i dun hv.

Mine is 15th feb. So urs is the youngest then!

oh yes! alreadi start 2 plan. intend 2 hold chalet cum buffet. hw abt u?

I even got the design of the BD cake liao. except the theme. still cracking head.

Esther

sama sama. Also no maid, no parents to help. I'm SAHM taking care of my boy alone. Can't imagine how it'll be like when i start getting MS. Argh.

I'm feeling tired too. And my boy is already running ard. He's a very active boy.

Ok, going to take my nap now that my boy is taking his.

kittyng,
k lahz... still in e mid of shock lol...

MrsC,
try wearing surgical stockings... can b bougjt at hospital pharmacy..

jasmine,
sure call me jaz lol.. haha.. u conceive even faster den me leh... me now busy preparing my ger 1st yr birthday party...

wah... here all conceive v e fast huh?? me slow liaoz... haha

esther

my gynae is Dr Fong Yang - seeing him at paragon.

ya having the same probs. with the #1 did not have such terrible backaches. now i cant even bath my boy, have to wait for hubby to bath him.

my boy was super sticky to me about a week or 2 before i even found out that i was preggy again. normally will play with just about anyone but now if i were to go missing then its scream till the house windows breaks!

well for me i have it easier coz i have my dad to help on the days that i need to run errands.

baby birthday
hahah i have only decided where to buy the birthday cake. nothing else has been planned. :p

mashy i do the same, the moment he is napping i am too hahah that is the only rest that i get now a days as compared to when i was preggy with #1.

mashy,

hw is it 2 be a SAHM? i dun hv the courage 2 be one. but if 2nd one comes along, might reconsider being a SAHM.

jas,

Dr Fong Yang... Sound familiar. tink my colleague's sis is seeing him 2.

so u aso same as mashy? SAHM 2?

esther

yaps currently a SAHM.
i really enjoy it and have no regrets about leaving my job to look after my boy... rather i do have one grouch- miss having my own money to spend as i like.

hahah but nothing can beat looking after your own child and seeing them reach their milestones. each achievement is so much joy. looking after your own baby is unrepayable.

jas,

do agree wif u on the missing my gal's milestones sometimes. of late, she always cries so pitifully when i go pick her up from bb sitter. she doesnt wan me.
and wan the bb sitter instead. i'm so sad when she rejects me 1st time. but after abit of crying and "snatching back" frm bb sitter, she was ok liao.

come 2 tink of it, she spends the time most wif bb sitter. wif us, oni 1 hr or so, then she sleeps liao. oni wkends full 2 days. hw 2 compete wif bb sitter.. Sigh...

sorry, MTBs, kinda of off track in this thread.

back to preggy topic.

i aso dun hv any MS at all. at most backache and breathelessness. tat's all. i wonder hw does MS feel like? Keke...

i hope 2 njoy this preggy as much as i did in my 1st. i love the feeling of my little darling inside me and sayang and talking 2 the bb.

hope all MTBs njoys as much as i do!

esther

well, it really depends on whether you're the domesticated type or not. hahah, just kidding. It depends on your mindset. If you become a SAHM and still expect to spend money like before, then u'll have a prob. And u can't be SAHM if u envy those who can go out anytime they want, have lots of freedom to do what they want. Coz as a SAHM, u get none of these. There's no leave, no MC. So even when you're running a fever, you still need to hold the fort. It can be rather frustrating.

But, if u enjoy seeing your child, spending time with your child and watching him/her grow rather than paying someone to enjoy that, then be a SAHM. It's tough, but it's rewarding too.

And of course, it might not appear to be so rewarding when your child grows up, get married and decide to move on without u. Haha, u decide. There's no right or wrong. But i believe it's important for someone to teach our children the right values rather than leaving them with a maid or institutionalising them.

esther

i agree that was what made me and hubby decide that the moment i was preggy i would resign to just rest and enjoy the pregnancy, after which i would be at home to look after my boy. hahah but actually plan to go back to work when he is 1yrs for at least 2yrs before starting to plan for #2.
hahahh there goes our plans.

no worries about that, i believe that babies know who loves them the most and at the end of the day they will still be close to you.

Esther

At least it's with a babysitter. When I went back to work when my boy was 8mths, he didn't bother waving good bye to me at infant care. He totally ignored me during the 6mths that he was in the infant care. I withdrew him from the centre after he got sick all the time and we decided that it's better for me to just stay at home to look after him.

esther

hahah for me i rather not know all that much about MS. i would just take one day at a time and try to enjoy this time as much as i did with my first pregnancy.

mashy

hahah i agree. but i feel that as long as the right values are taught then we wont have to worry about our children moving on without us. coz they will still love us in their own way though they may not show it to us. believe that they will still be there for us should we need them and voice it out. of course if we did not voice out our needs to our children then they will never know.

dear mummies,

Two questions,

1. how old are you when you are preggy with your first child?

2. How much would a hubby earn in order to substain a homewife and a child.....

angela

hahah that is quite sensitive.... hahahh

1. i was 25 when i first got preggy with #1 and delivered when i was 26.

2. that depends on the individual household as some people can live on less but some need more.
for us, we have our house loan, reno loan, wedding loan, study loans to pay off on top of our daily expenses so that adds up to quite a bit. but on average our daily necessities average to about 2k a month, this include a sum set aside every month in case bb needs to see the dr that month.

hope this answers your questions

angela

yah, agree that it's pretty sensitive.

1) Old. Now #2 already 'gao ling chan fu'

2) it depends on u. exactly like what jas said. thre're SAHMs who can live on a $1k family income. Also depends on your financial obligations like loans, need to support parents etc.

jas/mashy

yeah i suppose i didnt prepare myself well 2 receive my bb. i was happily njoying and buying bb stuff online tat i 4got totally abt "Wat 2 do when bb arrives". so was 2 overwhelming 4 me 2 bear. was gg mad when i took care of her for oni 2 wks! lousy mummy i was.

so hopefully wif the 2nd one, i would be abit more experience.

initially was tinking of infant care, but i would bear 2 leave my gal wif other bbs. scare abt the sickness tat y i chose bb sitter.

angela,

1) i'm old liao. so tot of having #2 fast after #1. scare no energy 2 chase after them man. keke...

2) financial - depends on the couple actually. there's no hard rules tat must hv hw much then can hv bb. as long as u comfy and happy and within ur financial means.

Esther

Think we've to be realistic when it comes to having a bb. Guess that's something that wasn;t expected before we had one. Hahah. We thought sleeping like a baby means having a good night's sleep. Actually it means not getting any sleep at all.

We're humans after all. I believe when you're tired, u can't do anything. That's why I'm glad to have a supportive hb who helps me when he comes home after work. If your hb is not a hands-on daddy, don't expect him to help u when u become a SAHM either. It'll be worse in fact. In this case, I strongly advise u to continue working if not your relationship with your hb will be very strained.

mashy,

yes i do agree. supportive hb wif hands-on is very important. initially i hv 2 ask hb 2 help then he will help. wont automatic. after much quarrels (sad 2 say), he improve liao. will do without me asking. at least i not so tired now as compared 2 the initial stage.

anyone has any inkling of what gender is your bb likely to be? Hehe, they said a mother's instinct are the best.

What do you think? When I had my boy, I knew kind of instantly that it's a boy and had a name ready.

Esther

hahaha, my hb realised it's such a tiring thing to take care of my son when I left the 2 alone to go out for an errand. He surrendered immediately and helped me whenever he's home. When he's sick, he even rather go back to work coz he said there's no way to rest at home. Hahaha.

beverly, congrats to you!!...did dr wong say if it is fraternal or identical..or issit too soon to tell? and i am tempted to go to another gynae in the meantime while waiting for dr wong....

jasmine, if you are planning something..count me in....hopefully i can attend....also my son recently started being very very naughty at night...and it started about the same time as i found out i was pregnant or maybe even before that...my HB was telling me that maybe my son could sense something...so like sibling rivalry...you think?

i am also using the pigeon steriliser....i think it is good and fast as well...dun have to wait long....plus there are 2 tiers....

han bao bao, i cannot sleep recently too..or rather i get woken up by my son who cries for no reason and then i wake up at 6am everyday....and i just cannot sleep anymore....raging hormones?!

mashy, i have the feeling that i am expecting a boy....thought i just tried the babygender calendar and it showed a girl plus i would like a girl since my first one is a boy....

angela,

1. #1 child - m preggie wif her when 27 yrs, gave birth to her on the same yr... now, 28 yrs lol - just found out m preggie...

2. as for how much is needed, m not sure... lost count liaoz... anyway, both of us r working.... n we not on any loans. so, my guess is about 2k a month?? include a sum set aside every month in case bb needs to see the dr.

Hi LS, i heard may nt be advisable to go for mani, pedi or even hair dye which i initially wanted to. Cox heard that the chemicals may be too strong & not gd for bb.

Hi LS,

I did go 2 do pedi but without the nail polishing part when i was having my #1 (last trim)

Cos got balloon liao, cant bend 2 do.

baby gender

hahah i am hoping for a boy to accompany my #1. we even got the names already. hahah though everyone was saying that i should have a gal to balance out.

I had some reddish staining late last evening and was so worried. I called up the hospital and they connected me to my gynae who told me to go in this morning. I did and thank god she said it's okay however I am suppose to take it easy and not carry heavy stuff and that I should not exert too much force. That includes my 14.5kg daughter.

Cecelia
Position in Corp. Development. I am now going to Raffles but if I choose to take up the job offer, I will prob revert to a public one. It's really good you are a nurse, you already have loads of knowledge about what to and what not to do, what to and what not to eat, etc. How useful...I do envy you. Which cluster do you work in?

LS
I continued with my mani/pedi while preggy with #1, and intend to remain groomed for #2 :p Didn't dare to do chemical treatments for my hair though so in the end, I cut into a short bob. If you are concerned, best to check with your gynae.

Esther
The calendar link you posted - I tried and apparently, I am carrying a girl! Let me tell you if it's accurate in July
Also, don't apologize about feeling rejected by #1 here, this forum is meant for mothers and MTBs to share, be it ups or downs. I am sure no one mind. In fact, plenty may even share your experience. Chin up!

FOZ (Friend of ZOO, hope u let me call u that in future, coz your nick very long. hehee)

Glad that you're ok. I'm going HK in 2 weeks time. So worried that I'll overexert too...

i have e following to let go:

1. 01 BNIB tube of elancyl stretchmark cream @ $24
2. 01 BN tub of body shop papaya body butter @ $15
3. 01 BN 500ml bottle of palmer's cocoa butter formula w/ vit e @ $15

pls pm me if interested, thanks!

kittyng & Esther
Yeah, guess it's better to skip the nail polishing part until I check with my gynae in my next visit.

jerene
Glad that everything's fine. U should rest more & take care.

mashy
Have u exceeded 1st trimester in next 2 wks? Are we allowed to travel in this early stage? I'm also still considering whether or not traveling in Jan (CNY).

hey gals,

i just checked the Chinese calendar and guess what, it says that i will be having a boy again. hahah i will get my wish. with my first i also checked this calendar and it was correct. i had a boy too.

re: mani& pedi

its actually fine to have mani & pedi. only thing to look out for is not to let them hit or beat on your heel as there is an acupoint there that can trigger a miscarriage. hahah i actually

traveling

think you will be advised not to travel within the first trimester as this would put added stress on the body and as usual .... may cause a miscarriage.....
hahah so i will only be allowed into malaysia again.... or rather be under alot of pressure not to go again.

friend of zoo

do try to rest more.
hahah here is the chance for your hubby to bond with his daughter... hahah he has to spend more time carrying her and also looking after her. heheh for me am taking advantage of this already

hi ladies, have been reading the threads here abt yr experiences often after discovering that I am pregant (using the test kit). Seems like its gonna be a late June/early July bb. Its my 1st & i will be going for my 1st gynae appointment tmr. :)

Hope to chat again with u ladies again soon..on our motherhood journey..

Mashy, LS, Jasmine
Many thanks. Will certainly be more careful now, CHILL is the new buzzword! HK is very good tourist destination, amongst others, I like the shopping, food and weather now; however it is not a nice place for preggy - many places require walking to and fro and they aren't a short distance, plus HK terrain is generally hilly, especially Central. So do not try to do too much there. Having said all that, have fun!

Welcome Joyce! Make sure you get a picture of baby 'morrow...

welcome joyce

it the best journey that me and my hubby have been on together. in fact i must say that though i had difficulties in our first few months, the baby has brought us much closer and improved our relationship lots. for now just enjoy the journey together and spent all teh time you can spare together k. with baby around there would not be much time to spare. hahahah

I forgot to mention - I got the following from a forwarded email - for the very enthusiastic shoppers:

Tollyjoy Warehouse Sale
21 November 2008 (Friday) - 23rd November 2008 (Sunday)
Venue: 29 Changi South Street 1, Changi South Ind. Est.
Admission: Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules: Time: 11am to 7pm

Nike Warehouse Sale
4th November 2008 (Tuesday) - 30th November 2008 (Sunday)
Venue: Wing Tai Industrial Centre, 105 Tampines Road S(535127)
Admission : Public - Free Admission

New Balance Warehouse Sale
20th November 2008 (Thursday) - 22nd November 2008 (Saturday)
Venue: 60 Alexandra Terrace, The Comtech, Function Room 1 & 2, Level 2, Lobby D, S(118502)
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules : Time: 11am to 8pm (Thursday 20th Nov & Friday 21st Nov)
Time: 10am to 7pm (Saturday 22nd Nov)

L'Oreal's Product Sale
21 November 2008 (Friday) - 23 November 2008 (Sunday)
Venue: Singapore Expo - Foyer 2 Level 2
Admission: Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules: Time: 11am to 8pm (21 & 22 Nov)
Time: 11am to 7pm (23 Nov)
Show Profile : Festive Beauty Sale . Huge Discounts up to 70%! Widest Selection of Skincare, Make-up & Hair Products!

Perfect Living
15 November 2008 (Saturday) - 23 November 2008 (Sunday)
Venue: Singapore Expo - Hall 6A
Admission: Public – Free Admission
Event Schedules: Time: 12 noon to 10pm
Show Profile:
Features the latest Furniture, Furnishing's, Interior Design, Home Appliances and other up market products.

Mega Carnival 2008
20 November 2008 (Thursday) - 23 November 2008 (Sunday)
Venue: Singapore Expo - Hall 6B & Atrium 6
Admission: Public - Free admission
Event Schedules: Time: 10am to 10pm
Show Profile:
A holistic family shopping spree with a mini-funland for the young and old