(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

caramelle : that's so hilarious about the scoot rider! for the blender+steamer, must go down and meet her at the showroom and make the purchase together so she can use her staff discount.

just checked Kelly's package prices for newborn photography and she's increasing prices by $100 for each package.lucky all of us had 09 babies...

wait ,what am i saying?i'll have a '10 baby.need to do a shoot for the new bub as well.dont want him asking me in a few years why sophie had a photoshoot and he didnt....

just ordered my loot of baby clothes (6-12mths) from old navy.the way things are going, looks like my AWS is slowly being spent even before i've received it. =]

ahnetsan, tot sm one mention yday chk with chinatown store already it was more ex? ya i buy from korean craze they only got 3 choices now.. but i check small small world & world of korea the sweet bear LG is cheapest from koreacraze. but if want other pattern then small small world i think got more choices.

caramelle,
yeah, im still sterilising them leh. which is y recently i asked abt do we need to sterilise the cereal bowl and spoon or not.

every day i go hm after wrk, it's so tiring...hb helps to do the washing too, but it's still so tiring... hi5, i also use the tollyjoy one. i only pump out every 6hrly now... dat explains y the supply dropped.

by the time i reach hm, it's always 7.20pm alrdy. J is stil awake, and normally abt dat time, he will haf a feed.
cos he's still drinking very little, he drinks every 2hrly, only 90ml each time. and i haf to wash and sterilise btls lor. den by the time he finish his feed, it's almost 8pm, we play play wif him, we haf our dinner, den at 9pm+ i will clean him up le. den he will usually slp at 9+ or 10pm.... BUT he wont slp thru the night... he's still waking up in the middle of the night A FEW TIMES!!!

createjoy,
i was vry busy at work and didn't follow-thru' all the threads...kindda "lost" somewhere btw the various comparison... can u let me know again what,which type, price and number to contact to get the LG mat again? pai-seh pai-seh!

ahnetsan,
when i was bf marilyn during the first few months, i do not give her water.. it's recent weeks when she is on BM and FM, that i get my helper to give water in-between feeds..dunno is it cos' water is bland, but my bb doesn't drink much... abt 2 ounce per day..

11 beans : toffeecat can get it for $199 less 40% discount.

Anybody knows if we have to pay full amount at polyclinic if we bring baby for pnemococcal jab?or do they do the instant calculation and we only pay the balance after medisave deduction.

thanks for the votes.

my flu still very bad, made me drowsy even I’m not taking any med. No mood to do online shopping too.

How is the xmas cum 6mths gathering?

Createjoy, the LG mat is softer, meaning when u press on it, it feels like it will cushion well. But it is still firm though. The Parklon one feels hard so it might be painful for baby if got any knocks.

Ahnetsan, I bought the LG one 15mm and paid $218 for it i think. Very ex but i saw how Augustine liked to flip on the mat at my friend's place so decided to buy. And true enough he is happily flipping on the mat everyday so no regrets. You are going to buy the mag mag cup? My friend who uses it says it leaks but i know there are some mummies in this forum that use it also. Maybe u can check with them before buying. I think bbjun uses it for her boy.

I haven't started solids yet. Planning to start next week with rice cereal. PD suggested rice cereal cos it seldom causes allergies.

Tinybubu,coincidentally I was looking at the avocado at the supermarket earlier and was so tempted to buy to feed Aug but didnt want to deviate from my plan to start with rice cereal. I also read from many sources that Avocado is a good baby food because it is fattening and babies need all the fats for their brains!

Re: Playmats
I have 3 mats - 1 LG Prime & 2 Parklon mats. Currently using 2. The other Parklon mat at my mum's. Here's my 2 cents worth on LG & Parklon mats for those getting one.

There is not much great difference in both brands as after all both serve its main intended purpose very well. Thus, thing about paying more $$$$ for premium is just their marketing to generate profits (Difference of $100++ btw highest n lowest price). But their prices are quite standard, won't vary more than $10 if u are comparing the same size,thickness & deisgn.

I've drop a mug on the mat twice i think but it just bounce n nv break. Very good cushioning. Parklon is actually much softer than LG (that is not as firm as LG, my feet will sink in more in Parklon than in LG). That also means that LG has more "meat" in it. Its surface is also more smoother. Aisha will easily get those lines on her face from LG mat if she put her face down for a while. Most important to consider is the size coz you can't put furniture on it and depends on how much space u have in ur living room/bedroom.

Thickness don't really make much difference coz its a difference of less than 5mm unless u are comparing the 18mm with 11mm. Design greatly depend on ur preference. Other than kiddy designs, there are those with wood flooring design on one side, good for living room. I bought the wood flooring design for my mum to use as carpet.

Btw, the bags are not so useful coz one of mine tore at the seams. U need to fold properly to pack it in otherwise wont fit.

Overall, its a good investment(esp for those planning to have more than 1 kid. LOL!)

tempted to get the playmat but very little space at home as I'm staying with my in-laws. Guess we'll just make-do with playpen and walker.

re: solids
my mother-in-law has already started giving my girl porridge. she started to pass motion almost everyday, which is good because when she was only on FM, she would only pass motion every 3-5 days. my BM supply is very very low now.

hi ahnetsan
haha i also just finished my 2nd period after birth... Also had to ask my colleague for pad. I remember the first time I had, you also posted that your period came.

How come our period never go on long holiday like bbPotato's....

when was your baby born? my girl was born on 5 Jun.

Hi bbPotato, Thanks! I'll take the last tube:
Aveeno Baby Soothing Relief Moisture Cream (http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=185218&catid=26908)
===================================================================================
1) bbJun : 2
2) bbPotato : 2
3) Kikismom : 2
4) BBAug: 2
5) dovey: 1
6) Baby Sara: 1

California Baby Calendula Cream (http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=54802&catid=26109)
===================================================================================
1) Baby Sara : 2
2) bbJun : 2
3) Kikismom : 2
4) tinybubu :2
5) createjoy :1
6) BBaug: 2
7) 11_beans : 2
8) styliciously: 4
9) dovey: 2
10) chidori: 3
11) Jackie :2
12) jamie_nov: 1
13) bbmarilyn: 1
14) shelisa: 1
15) japa: 1
16) annticipating: 1
17) dolly: 1

ahnetsan: The nanny has started to give water to my boy, but he dun like to drink though, she can give around 120 ml.
My PD also say can give water liao!

i hv a new tin of Dumex Mamil Gold2 (400g), wanna exchange for Similac Step2 (green label)... let me know if anyone can exchange.

Createjoy,
do u still hv the list of milk exchange? maybe some mummies wanna Dumex mamil Gold2?

Jamie_Nov,
thanks for the similac tins exchange.

Remember me??? I am TPYmommy

My SiQi has white pigmentation on her forehead. Any idea how to remove it? Doc said nvm, will out grown when she is old.. but not pretty la..

So any tips?

Beemom,
I normally carry and hum song and pat jarius to sleep… and if he’s super cranky, I haf to carry, rock, hum song, pat buttock to make him sleep… sometimes if he’s super tired, he will jus sleep on his own while patting him on bed.

Anticipating,
Haha, my boy born on 4 june. One day earlier than ur girl. 
U using walker? WAH! Ur mil so fast let ur girl eat porridge? Wat kinda porridge she make for her? I refused to let my mil do dat… cant trust her cooking, she will sure add salt or whatever inside it one. Damn sian one. Ur bm supply is how low now?

Dolly,
Wah so much water ar? 120ml for the whole day right? Dat’s like quite a lot of water leh…did ur PD also advise how much to give ar?

Bbaugustine,
Wah I din knw mag mag will leak? Wat u recommend for the cup?

ahnet, i dont sterilise the cereal bowl and spoon. i also pump roughly about every 6 hours cos at work so busy i never remember to pump sometimes!

if he's drinking 90ml/feed every 2 hours, can you give him more? maybe 120ml? especially for the last feed before he sleeps? then maybe can sleep through the night.

re water: just that it fills the tummy so they wont ask for milk. personal choice really as i think water no nutrition so might as well drink milk.

thanks shelisa

dolly, how u make ur bb drink 120ml of water, mine dun like water

ahnet, my girl drinks 120ml every 4 hrs... but these few days she drinking lesser leh, sigh. i feed her rice cereal, shes ok leh.

hi everyone, 1st time posting here..

tiny bubu: is the blender/ steamer from Avent? Have u tried it? Easy to prepare? How's the consistency of the puree?

Btw, regarding the pnemococcal jab at Polyclinic, my boy just got 1st jab 2 weeks ago. They will give u a form to fill for medisave deduction. If they r not able to draw the funds, then they'll contact u and get alternative payment.

babyvinz : welcome to the thread! when was your baby born?

the avent steamer+blender is awesome.it can puree everything till it's yoghurt consistency.then if you want it thinner, all you have to do is add fm or bm.

it can even do fish+chicken (although i havent tried it out yet).

here's the link toffeecat provided us with -
http://www.consumer.philips.com/c/avent-baby-preparing-for-feeding/scf870_21/prd/sg/

Thanks for the info on the jabs.I wanted to top up sophie's cda today for her other vaccination (rotateq) but was informed that govt will only match contribution on the 3rd week of the following month!!

guess i'll do her prevenar at the polyclinic and her rotateq at her pd.

hi bbPotato n tinybubu, thx for the welcome!

Saw the Avent at kiddy palace last nite. Checking with dh's fren if he can get us at staff price... thx for the feedback!

We just plowed whatever bonus we got from the govt into the CDA and topped up balance from dd's savings hehe...

Btw my boy was born on 2 June. I have another 4 yr old dd

tiny bubu,
Read abt this article in the paper this morning. Cord blood storing is really like "health" insurance for our bbs. Am really glad that i store up the cord blood for both my bois

japa : i use the mag mag as i want to teach sophie how to start holding her own bottle. my mag mag hasnt leaked yet but that's because i only fill it up to 100ml each time.maybe that's why it's been working fine for me.

any mummies has recommendations for bath wash or lotion or moisturiser or cream for eczema babies?

jarius has eczema... and been using the physiogel moisturizer which only can be bot from PD... and it's not cheap!

dats y wan to source ard...

hey ladies, i won't b able to join the xmas gathering next sat liao... cos my hubby gotta go for a business trip this sat and only b back on 15th dec... sigh... i was so looking fwd to it... u guys enjoy!

the feeding pots v nice!! i'm also interested...

ahnetsan: Yeah, for whole day, only the nanny able to coax him to drink lah.
I ask her when my baby is 2 months, that time my PD say around 30ml.

baby_sara: haha, not me, I can't trick him so well yet, however, found that sometimes he drink when he's half asleep... or in the car

bbmarilyn, i bought
LG Prime Sweet Bear 1900*1300*11 $145 from http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3292013.html?1259729231
this is the cheapest LG prime i chk thru the 3 sellers. got other pattern of same size from another seller world of korea for $148.

<font color="0000ff">Milk sample exchange </font>
Createjoy-Enfa exchange for friso with Jling , similac exchange with papaya , exchange Nan with Serene22
jling-similac exchange for Enfa with papaya 123
bbmarilyn- Friso exchange for similac with Jamie
ahnetsan, bbjun- looking for friso -- WANT TO CHECK W SHELISA?? (do update if you have deal already)
Sweethalo-getting Nan from Jling
Qi7 &amp; lim siew leng Annie have similac wants friso

createjoy - mamil has been book by another mummy
jling-has mamil, wyeth
bbjun - has mamil gold for exchange (or rather give away if anyone wants it
shelisa- has Friso 900g , Mamil gold 400g Wish to exchange Wyeth step 2. Stay at serangoon but can meet up at newton, orchard mrt. kindly pm

Regarding the games, anyone have more interesting idea? i find the photo abit complicated &amp; not sure if everyone will brg, diaper abit hard to judge haha.. any others?

<font color="ff0000">December Gathering
6th mth cum xmas celebration</font>

Program highlight:
1) Brief presentation from our sponsors
2) fastest diaper changing, brg own newborn pic, mixed up and guess which belong to which bb.

3) exchange present for bb around $10 range

Food around $5/adult for some old chang kee snacks &amp; titbits &amp; drinks. (thanks superbee for volunteering to buy snack!

Venue: 26 Jalan Lempeng, Regent Park (poolside) Serene22 booked already
(Booking fee: $25)

Time: 2pm to 6pm

date: 12 Dec 2009

1. ecmom + cayden
2.Createjoy+jayden +hb (cfm)
3.bbaugustine+Augustine +hubby (maybe)
4. jling + jack (confirm)
5. maryG + Trey + hb
6. serene22 + Sofie + Hb
7. dovey + kaelyn +(cfm)
8. moo + bb + Hb
9. superbee + danelle + hb + adelle(#1)
10.toffeecat + rouxuan + hb

wow may forum gathering got 24 mummies leh haha we only 10 huh?? halo silent readers if u wld like to join us just start posting so we know something about u &amp; we welcm u to join us the more the merrier right? btw NOBODY have any violent protest for the food or games what ever ya? so we just proceed.

<font color="ff0000">paging for moo, i haven seen ur post for a long time or did i missed out, pls update ur darling's name &amp; cfm ur attendance ok? other mummies if i missed ur post, pls help me to copy &amp; edit ur confirmation of ur attendance ok?