(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Milk tin exchange, i think it's abit messy so i summarise here, correct me if i'm wrong.:

Createjoy-Enfa exchange for friso with Jling
jling-similac exchange for Enfa with papaya 123
bbmarilyn- Friso exchange for similac with Jamie
ahnetsan- looking for friso

Anymore mami wanna exchange?? i still have similac & nan to exchange for friso & ahnetsan also wan friso.

so jling u wan enfa dont need similac??cos u exchanging with papaya i confuse.. i think the sample for enfa is 400g u mind cos ur friso is 900g right...?

hi createjoy/ahnetsan,

i can request for friso sample, and exchange with u for similac. where do u stay?

createjoy & jling,
i just re-read the posts up there, and realised that createjoy mentioned u might be exchanging with jling. if u guys have previously made an agreement, then i wont exchange with jling k? cos not very fair to u if i jump ship, and exchange with jling just like that =)

bbjun,
it doesn't happen after every feed, the reflux volume also varies.. yeah, we will note the date/ time whenever it happens in a log-book. Marilyn will be 5-months in a week's time, will highlight to her PD again.

createjoy,

i just edited my post above, and then i saw ur msg!
i'm staying in jurong west =)

so createjoy, u're not exchanging with jling aldy?

Milk tin exchange, i think it's abit messy so i summarise here, correct me if i'm wrong.:

Createjoy-Enfa exchange for friso with Jling , similac exchange with papaya
ahnetsan, bbjun- looking for friso

papaya123: my girl's nw 5.5mths still can't nap/slp on her own. must pat or be sarong-ed to slp. im still hoping tt she can do it in the near future.. i tried before, switching off the lights and stuff the pacifier in her when she drowsy. end up, she SCREAMEDddd! and became wide awake. =/ u stay at jw? me too! im at st 65! u?

bbjun, maybe u can make the cereal more watery? then slowly progress to slightly thicker consistency.. btw, frisocreme alr has milk in it? hw do u prepare it?

jling, the puree u homemade? how to do?

createjoy, u called ester yeo clinic?

bbmarilyn, i'm sahm so usually at home at jw.. abit far for u bt i can get hb to bring to office at millenia tower then u pick up frm him? bt u urgent? cuz i will be away frm tmr and back only on monday. and he will b in office on tuesday only. u hv enfa? i nd enfa more than friso. friso is alternative to testing her only la. haha.

sweethalo, personally, I think train earlier rather than later. Habits are hard to break lor. I am already thankful that he himself didn't want the sarong when he was gg to hit 3mths. We resorted to sarong only becos of his colic prob that kept him fussy but never expect him to reject that so fast after his colic went away. It's painful but it's for bb's good as well that he can be more independent on certain things.

Jamie, I just add water to cereal. Yeah, oredi diluted it with more water than specified in the instructions but it takes time for BB to get used to feeling something in their mouth. When I m typing this, I tot about his crumpled expression of feeling the cereal on his tongue and sticking his tongue out.. I wana laff again. LOL. I m not worried abt that. He will get used to it slowly.

createjoy, tks for summarizing.. I was getting confused reading on the posts on the exchange liao.

papaya i'm exhanging enfa w jling but similac w u no conflicts. then we find a day meet up, i PM u wn my similac is here. Enfa i exchange w Jling on gathering, thks Jling!

jamie i called but today no doc & i wanna get it off my mind asap mgn to find another clinic who also give late vaccine at yuhua village.

alamak bb due for HIb,polio & dunno what 3 vaccine on 13 nov, i just tk rota can i still go polyc tk the 3 vacine on 13 nov? is it all vaccine must wait a mth then can tk another type? i getting confuse..

sweethalo i not sure which Nan nestle will give me, let u know wn i rec. which nan u wan? i add on to the exchange list see who can exchange

jamie
what my helper and i did was to steam the pumpkim or green peas till soft then smash it. After that we add warm EBM to make it a little watery, if not enough EBM then we add warm water.

Createjoy
no problem

I still have mamil gold to exchange. Wheyth and nestle just called me and they will be sending me a sample, anyone need?

i wanna give jayden veg then fruit. what veg puree shd i give? pototo & carrot what others? how to mk it puree? add water? must cook then mash or eat raw huh??

haha jling u just ans my qns while i typing!

Milk sample exchange
Sweethalo-looking for nan which range to be cfm

createjoy - has mamil , nestle nan to exchange
jling-has mamil, wyeth & nan to exchange

so we shd start diluted plain cereal 1st then less dilute cereal, porridge then veg then fruit then meat? every thing must intro fw days then can move to next one right so when does porridge come in? my MIL gencheong to mk frog leg porridge

createjoy
i read somewhere before that for 4 to 6 months, we can introduce sweet potato, carrot, pumpkin, banana, apple, pear, green pea and spinach.

as for 6 months onwards, what i'm going to do is to go to the supermarket and take down what are the food that babies can eat by looking at those food jar and also some websites. I think by 9 or 10 months, they should be able to eat most things already.

createjoy
er porridge can introduce once your boy take rice cereal well i assume.

My friend introduce cereal to her girl at 4 month, by 6 months her girl is taking porridge, fruits, veg and biscuits everyday. You might want to follow your boy's cue, introduce a little at a time maybe 1 tsp or 2.

jamie,
I only have a tin of 900g Friso, do not have enfa... oopss.. alternatively, wanna check with the other mummies who can exchange enfa for your Similac?

createjoy - Interested in NAN HA2.

Erh... is everyone already feeding cereal liaoz? not too early?

Bbjun- I TOTALLY AGREE! I want to train him early too but my parents just cannot bear to see him cry! And he can really scream and cry since day1 he came home fr hospital!

Noah resists sleep both in the day and night. He fights falling asleep and I really can't understand why and where he gets his energy from! He is sleeping longer stretches now but still getting him to fall asleep takes a real challenge.

I managed to get him on a routine of bath, latch, dim lights and sleep in the night... but somehow it got disrupted and I am trying to get there again.

jamie,
i am staying at st 64. that means we're staying very near each other!!

i want to start giving my bb cereal too.
can i start by giving her healthy time brown rice cereal?

sweethalo
if i manage to get Nan Ha 2 you want? not sure what they wll give me yet, will let you know once i got the samples.

sweethalo,
same as me, I have not introduced any cereal to Marilyn yet. was just planning to introduce cereal when she's able to sit unsupported, or maybe 5 1/2mths old?

bbjun,
I am impressed with your method of training your baby to be independent and falling asleep on her own. KUDOS to you!

I have my mummy and mom-in-law to take turns to come over to my place and takes care of Marilyn, so as much as i wanna her to sleep on her own, maybe difficult with 2 different caregivers (adopting their own methods)...

I'm with Cayden @ KK now, dun expect he will get admitted.so heartpain, all my fault I din take care him well

wat hap!!? fell dwn or sick? dont think it's ur fault lah, we cant be 100% looking at them all the time. hope he get well soon faster discharge, have a good rest recharge to tk care of him wn he is back.

bbmarilyn, jaime did mention above she dont mind tking friso follow up leh, if she cfm doesnt want,i'm sure bbjun or ahnetsan be glad to exchange w u

ECmom is it huajing? What happened??? Hope Cayden is ok... take care dear and don't beat yourself up abt it whtever it is...

jling - thanks! Yes will be interested in NanHA.

Actually how do you all decide which FM to use ah? So far I've only used NanHA1 during confinement mth for 2 night feeds so thought shld go with NanHA2 when I start to weane... What FM is good ah??? headache...

bbmarilyn - how old is your bb now? 5mths? Mine is abt 4.5mths now... was planning to intro after 6mths or like you said when he is able to sit up unsupported...

ecmom, what happened? Yeah, I agree with createjoy and sweethalo. Take good care of urself so that u can care for Cayden.

bbmarilyn, thks.
As for introducing cereal, while my boy can sit pretty well in his high chair, he is not as receptive compared to me feeding him cereal lying inclined on the bouncer. He spits out every thing when he is upright but will take some when he is lying down. I checked with a couple of my frens and they faced the same thing. My mom also asked me to start feeding him a little while lying down for them to get used to having food in the mouth. Thereafter, we shd be able to feed them when they are sitting upright. However, this is not so for all bbs, of cos. Have a fren who was able to feed her bb upright from the start.

Just to update the milk exchange:
Milk sample exchange
Sweethalo-looking for nan which range to be cfm

createjoy - has mamil , nestle nan to exchange
jling-has mamil, wyeth & nan to exchange
bbjun - has mamil gold for exchange (or rather give away if anyone wants it)

Ecmom, how's cayden????

Cereal
my mum has intro cereal to kaley last week..what she do is to lay her flat & feed her wif a spoon..cos if she sit upright she tend to spit out the cereal..

I'm gog on a short trip w/o bb so I need to pump during these few days & i'm wondering if hotel can help me to store my ebm in their freezer???

ya.. same. I am using Frisocrem which I just add water. he is only taking a few spoons now so he is still drinking the same volume as usual. I supposed that may change when he is able to take more that later on.

thanks kikismom n bbjun...

kikismom- my friend travelled to beijing and she managed to get hotel to freeze her ebm for her. When she took the flight, she wrapped up the Fridge to Go in lots of newspaper to keep temp and checkin the whole thing into the luggage since luggage compartment on flight is freezing cold compared to passenger cabin

bbjun/ sweethalo
thanks for the info...i'm worried at first how to store the ebm cos i felt sayang to juz throw away the 4 days supply..now juz hope that the hotel can help me to freeze my ebm...

ahnetsan, finally got the time to enquire at the infantcare opp my block... they referred me to the office, but the principal not in yet... her work hours from 9-6 kind, so i got her namecard... details:

Veena Nathurmal
Principal
Email: [email protected]
www.myfirstkool.com

but i asked one teacher at the childcare, she said shud b 1 teacher to 3 infants, but better call and check... hope this is helpful...

i wanna join for the xmas gathering!! pls count me in...

December Gathering
6th mth cum xmas celebration

Venue: open for suggestion - 1 suggestion at clementi condo
date: 12 Dec 2009???
time: open for suggestion

1. ecmom + cayden
2.Createjoy+jayden +hb(mayb) bt batok
3.bbaugustine+Augustine +hubby (maybe)
4. jling + jack + hb sembawang
5. maryG + Trey + hubby(mayb)bt timah
6. serene22 + Sofie + Hb
7. dovey + kaelyn + hb (mayb)

why got milk exchange going on leh?

hi all!! would love to attend the xmas party but i will still be in beijing at that time (yes, me and hubyby based here.)

just would like to vent some frustration and confusion. the chinese ahyis (as in aunties, what they call the domestic helpers here in beijing), have been bugging me to supplement my girl with calcium, zinc and iron. and that i should bring my girl to the hospital to have her mineral composition checked to make sure she has sufficient calcium, zinc and iron.

Mummies, surfing from my hp.

Cayden down with UTI (suspected) his first urine test found white blood cell too high, usual below 10 but his 1500+.

He got his poked with antibiotic drip juz now, he cry and scream till no voice. My poor baby.

But lucky he pee jz now, if now have to poke tube into his penis to collect urine for 2nd test.

sorrie to disturb.. im an early childhood trained ex childcare tchr n have becum a SAHM aft i've given birth to my boy tis yr.. i would like to continue with my passion of being with children, therefore i've decided to go into babysitting.. if anyone is looking for a baby sitter in the east.. pls feel free to contact me thru my email : [email protected]..

Thank you for yr time!

sweethalo
most of my friends are using Enfa and they commented its good.

Ecmom
What happen. Stay strong and take care of yourself. Cayden needs you.

kikismom, check out this thread:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1229201.html

I really pei fu the trouble some of these mummies went to in order to bring ebm back! Maybe can get some ideas from them hehe
I think Fridge-to-go on its own may not be enough. Dry ice will really help to keep your ebm frozen. I'm now contemplating packing some ebm with me (check in luggage) when I leave town at year end too, cos afraid that when I first get to UK, may be too tired to pump (or being tired may cause dip in supply). If I have ebm on standby, at least I know skyla's night feeds are taken care of for a few days...

ecmom, hope Cayden's UTI clears! Hang in there dear...

yoz! TubbyM ;P must remember to login when u are away hor.. heheh.. give updates on UK...

ECmom - hope bb Cayden's UTI clears soon... get some rest when you can... take care

jling - i am just wondering how to kn whether which FM is good... how did your friends rate Enfa as good?

I realy wonder how to go abt choosing FM. I started with Nan HA during 1st mth because my friend commented that it is closest to BM. Now dono whether to use NAN HA2 when baby turns 6mths