(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

artist, hmm.. moisture, it depands i have used 3 container.. 2 of them are moisture from start till the end but the one i'm using now seem to be slightly dryer until i tilt it the other way round for a few minutes

TPY Mummy,
Think Paracetamol should not be a problem. The last time I visited a GP, he mentioned to me breastfeeding is okay when unwell. In fact it is better becoz since our bodies naturally release some kinda resistance/anti-bodies to fight the virus, BB drinks mummy's milk will also be taking in the anti-bodies.

anyone still having lochia?
or anyone still having bleeding or spotting on and off? it's been 2 mths since i delivered, sometimes until nw stil got spotting on and off... and tmr morning need to see gynae for papsmear...

Thanks vogue_mommy, is my husband.. kept insisting me to eat Paracetamol for my headache n bodyache.. I told him to pump n pour away the BM, I feel heartpain.. but he said if i dun take care myself now, more bottle will pour away later cos I need more medication n will take a longer time to recover.. Keep nagging.. Bei Tahan..

But what he said is true.. just too heartpain to pour away my BM.. Moreover, I dun hv a lot of BM.. cos low supply, no instock.. today pump, tomorrow drink

Baby SiQi will only come back on Saturday afternoon cos parent in law prefer her to be away from her bro.. although he is slightly better now

Double heart pain

artist: I'm using babes too! But it's little too dry and the flap comes off, so got to use the pigeon box to hold it. So it's quite cheap mah

hi dolly,
thanks for the CL contact.. she does sound fantastic.. use cloth nappy.. encourage bf etc..

hi mummy ash,
i tried about 6 brands of diapers and i think pampers is the best followed by mamy poko... price wise pampers is also the most ex followed by mamy poko.. pampers is really softer and drier but a bit ex lor.. i will try to downgrade again when she is able to crawl.. hope her golden backside will not be so golden then.. haha.. u can try pampers when u finish ur mamy poko.. the pack only 58 pieces.. can finish very fast one.. or maybe u want to change ur mamy poko more often? when we were using it.. we chnged diapers every 3 hr.. then the rash become better.. think it is not all about the softness.. could be due to quality of the paper that is causing the rashes

yeah agree avent is good.. i bought 3 tubes already.. and is about to finish my first tube.. the calendula cream is good too.. esp for my bb rashes on the face.. that time was so bad.. the entire cheeks were red with rashes.. and the neck was red too with thickness of one inch of rashes.. after 2 wks they were gone.. i also bought 3 tubs.. now that the bottom rashes are gone.. i use only avent to maintain.. but if ur rashes come and go.. maybe u just change diaper and continue to use ur existing creams.. that will tackle the root cause

re cleaning of butt after poo,
i will carry bb to the basin and rinse with running tap water after wiping the poo.. the tap water helps to soothe any skin irritation and sometimes when i have time, i also wash bb bottom during diaper change.. my gal likes it

sweethalo,
bb#2 will be at least 2 yrs later.. but good CL hard to come by.. so better take first and kiv..

ahnetsan,
my bb also got cradle cap.. literally a cap cos it was so thick and big.. we used olive oil to remove it.. put olive oil for about half hour before bath.. use cradle cap shampoo to wash hair and then use soft brush to slowly comb thr the scalp when the hair is slight damp but not so wet after shower.. the cradle cap will drop like snow flakes.. my entire hall was like snowing..

tpy mommy,
paracetamol is safe for bf.. my gp and gynae both said so

ahnetsan,
long time never see your post liao!

re: diapers
is the sizing for giant same as mamy poko? thinking of getting a pack to try..

re: white stuff on bb's tongue
the white stuff my PD told me its oral thrush..

tubbymum,
mine also creamy type.. sometimes a bit yellow.. never have the blue tinge.

Artist - hihi... hb bot the Daktarin Oral Gel.. but I m reading the instructions and it says infants under 6mths shld not take leh...hmmz

FatMom - o didn't kn tt Calendula Cream helps with the facial rash... I shall put some on Noah tmr.. how often do u put the cream on?

Hi mommies,i guessed most of u hv already finished ur confinement long time ago.....
anyone ordered confinement food???like to order too but dunno which one to choose .pls do share with me tks alot
aug mommy.
if possible can PM me ...in case i dun read june thread

Chidori- thanks! do u use cotton swab and dab dab? I am worried tt my nipples will kena thrush also... read that can use sodium bicarb to wipe on breasts to prevent...

Chidori, my gynae say mine not block duct, a harmless lump asy aft BF do ultrasound, didnt give me medi even though i told him my frd got a lump too was given antib. so hw?? i wonder if it's ok to leave it there. next time cancerous how??!! did u ask ur LC so now lump still there how??

dolly i sprain my wrist too... 2 wks already. bend will pain but i just rub my dad's cream no see chinese doc to rub.. scare ex.. yday just went gynae chkup burn $240 hole in pkt.. very broke. calculated my hb income not enuff to use even wn i use very minimal. nt much saving liao and haven got own hse really must scrimp. i really think of going bck to wk already.. but now want fd job also nt easy.. sigh i only have $150 to spend a mth hav to cvr my lunch which i buy no time to cook, transport if go out and vit pill.

BF not cheap also leh.. do u gals drk lactating mother's milk, tk vitamins?i seldom eat fruits and anemic so i tking multivit 1 wk few tbt not everyday, calcium daily and iron twice a wk.lactating milk alt days.. all these not cheap leh , thinking of giving up... bt the tot of having bought the pump and Jayden's health, i still hanging on.. really confuse..

Chidori can u PM me the link for the milkbag in case nxt time i need to buy, thks. i dont chk post so oftn i scare i miss the link if u dont PM.

sweethalo,my PD prescribed daktarin oral gel leh.i lost the instruction paper liao... so din get to read the part tat gel is for bb 6 mths above. i am now still using the gel for prevention. but hor how come box wrote "suitable for all ages"? haha... maybe use the 3 rifles mouth cleanser (heard this was used by our granny generation till now) first? it can also help to cure the thrush. this one din have age restriction...

tpy mommy, can understand how u feel now... tat time i stayed to accompany my younger son at hospital n could not see my elder son n i missed him a lot. kept thinking of his cute actions...

btw petpet diaper gd for urine but shit i think BF shit too watery like puree it doesnt absorb! everytime jayden shit must wash bottom. purren absorb shit better but i fd the surface like not as dry. Jayden also keep slping and crying, cant finish his 100ml milk these days even though 3hr apart.was thinking was it the teats or he just too slpy..

babycow u in msia?RM? carrerfour spore branch got sell the wipe or not.. use tollyjoy unscented i dont use the tub, i use the pkt. 70pc per pck so far so gd leh.kiddypalace promo 3 pkt $7.50 ok mah not ex. i bought cotton wool too but think too mafan..but to save $ after this last 2 pkt will try use cotton wool

Sweethalo, thanks for the link. I read it and it does sound like what i might be experiencing for the oversupply of milk=P Is cleaning of tongue for baby only applicable for those who drink formula milk? If baby only drinks breastmilk, also must clean tongue?

Today the poo went back to mustard colour already so it was only yest that he had green poo! So happy...I was more vigilant in making sure he emptied one breast b4 moving on to the other. Actually I feed him on one breast per feed mostly as he seems rather full already after feeding on one. Or it cld be something i ate. Do any mummies avoid dairy products when you breastfeed?

Newbiemom, my boy also likes the cot mobile but he gets bored after a while and yells for me. I didn't wanna give pacifier initially but now baby is treating my boob like his pacifier to get to sleep so I might be giving. Why can't you give pacifier when breastfeeding? You are afraid of nipple confusion? Actually i think the pacifier might help baby regulate his feeding schedule cos now he is feeding so frequently-not sure if its for hunger or comfort?

Chidori, I am still not sure how to breastfeed in the sling. I am currently using the pupsik pouch when i go out. I find it easier as compared to the sling as i dont have to struggle with pulling the excess cloth thru the rings.

Today, baby tried a new stunt on me. Refused to feed on my right boob. Kept on wanting to suckle only on the left one. Now my left nipple is so sore from all that suckling. Later Im going to try to offer the right one and see what happens.

createjoy, yup i'm staying in jb but work in sg.
dunt know whether sg carrefour selling the wet wipe or not leh.. the tub is under carrefour brand n in blue colour packaging

fat_mom: My CL dun specifically encourage bf, I told her my decision and she just go along to help.
But no discourage words lah!

sweethalo: Calendua cream - for my boy, we put twice a day, after bath, now no rash still put.

bbaugustine: Baby on BM still got to clean tongue, clean w a wet handkerchief

Tpymummy, thanks for the link on wrist pain cos my wrist is so darn pain now! maybe i should go for steriod jabs too. Take care of yourself and get well soon!

babycow, i think there are some BP on that kind of carrier.. but for older babies wor

Tubbym, long time no chat! =) glad that Skyla is fine now.

Does anyone know how I can reach out to qi7? She cancelled a spree, but has not made any refund. I am leaving the country for a few weeks. Want to get this settled before i go.

Appreciate if anyone can PM me her handphone. THanks a lot!

TPY mommy, thansk for the wrist info. Think I suffer for both left and right hand. I know it is from carrying baby but don't know it is so serious. Should we go for the jab now or when baby is bigger? Can we ask for the jab in GP?

babycow, to prevent leaking, you can latch baby closer to u. So he has get the whole aroela and the milk will not leak. My boy will leak the milk sometime when I am in laying position.

TPYMommy: Thanks for the link, but mine is whole arm, not the wrist leh
Now cannot hold a phone between my neck liao

BlueDream: Try to rest your wrist, the jab thingy is not a permanant solution!

Dolly - thanks will try putting the cream for him later... hope it works.. he has been hving alot of small pimple rashes around his face...

BTW hope you arm gets better... how abt getting a massage?

bbaug - no prob... acutally link was provided by Artist earlier... Glad tt ur bb's poo is back to normal again

TubbyM- I guess if using J&J wipes then no pt for the pigeon container ba... cos they just don't separate well.. i think cos they are really v moist?

TPYMommy,
I also have wrist pain. Both wrists exactly same spot. GP suggest steriod jab but hubby said see TCM 1st..hows the jab like? Any possible side effects ? HOw much it cost ?

RE: BB WIPES
My Pediatrician told me try not to use wet wipes unless going out. Use cotton balls and drinking water ( sterile water) if possible warm. Reasons being the substance in wet wipes not very good in the long term and BB ( esp in the night) will feel uncomfortable with the cold wipes and may have difficulty getting back to sleep. Warm sterile water is best for BB , reduce the chances of allergies / nappy rash .. and BB prefers the feeling of warmness washing below. Facial cotton is easier to use ( square ) but more ex ...

vogue_mommy/Tubbym,
thks for sharing. i think bluish-white is not like blue color per se, but rather very white that it sorta has a bluish tinge, if you know what i mean. and i do see very white hindmilk when i pump, just that i see much more foremilk at times...

ahnetsan,
for cradle cap, apply baby oil on the affected area and leave it on for 30mins then wipe off with warm boiled water.

my boy also loves to be cradled to sleep and would wake the moment you try to put him down. if you are willing, you can try the controlled crying method.

when he cries, you pick him up and soothe him. once hes calm, put him in the cot. he would cry, let him cry until it gets quite hsyterical, pick him up again and soothe him. once hes settled, put him back into the cot. he would cry again and you repeat the whole thing. i tried a couple of days ago, its very tiring and takes a long time to soothe him everytime he cries, but its worth the effort! but make sure everyone around you dont thwart your hardwork by rocking baby to sleep when you are not around.

now after hes fed and burped, i'll put him straight in bed and he'll lull himself to sleep. hes also much more willing to play by himself in the cot now. there'll still be times he screams for attention, i'll just carry him around for 5-10mins then put him back in the cot. hes quite ok with that.

rocking a baby to sleep is suicidal! its tiring and you simply have no time to do anything else. and you may have to do it through the night as well.

sweethalo: Thanks! My arm is better, my CL help to "guai" sand / massage for me

wrist pain: Maybe can try acupuncture?

First mum, I know what you mean about it not actually being blue. My friend's ebm is like that, so white until it looks like it's blue tinged... Well done on the sleep training! I tried, but failed
She will scream herself hoarse and choke etc. It doesn't matter how many times she's picked up and put down, it's the same hysterical wails. It'll keep going on and on until she gets hungry and inconsolable. By that time need to feed, so sleep training ends abruptly there. Super super tiring. I gave up. Will try again in a few weeks maybe, when I find courage to do it again hehe.

sweethalo, ya, I find J&J a bit too moist, but Pigeon slightly too dry. Still like Nuk best, but if my dad really can get cheaper J&J thru his friend, I'll grab many packs of wet wipes, cos that's the item with the highest rate of consumption right now! Pity they don't produce diapers haha.

skylermum, hi hi! Ya, today so hazy, didn't even realise this morning cos all my windows/sliding doors were closed. I was planning to go Giant, smsed hubby to see what he wants to eat tonight so I can pick up the right groceries, then he called me right back and said it's very hazy, best not to bring bb out. Sigh. So here I am sitting in my super hot living room (aircon leaking like waterfall, don't dare to switch on). I can't stand the heat!!!

bbaug, I also have the Pupsik, haven't used it to bring baby out, cos can't manage to put her in the pouch smoothly. I always have to do it with a lot of pulling, tugging, then her legs and arms get stuck, face gets twisted etc hahaha...

TPYmommy, hope both you and your son get well soon... Take care

tubbym,
haha. wow skyla is one determined baby! but dont give up cos sleep training is very important, i didnt do it for my elder girl, and my poor maid had to rock her to sleep until she was almost 18 months! imagine all the weight! im not 100% successful with my boy yet, cos my maid looks after him at night. i realise there must be some sort of consistency in the method.

ur description of your experience with pupsik is hilarious! haha! i also thinking of getting one, but like u say, i doubt i know how to put him in nicely for a start, cos they are so fragile and yet squirmy!

btw did you take lozenges for your throat? are they safe for BF? im coming down with a sore throat, arrgghh!

TubbyMummy: same here! Can't stuff my boy into the pupsik properly

Tink those pilates w babies thingy is really expensive leh! And I dun think it strengthen the core of the baby, I'm thinking of myself alone
But of course, it's a good idea cos you can bring baby along

Dolly- wah ur CL really good! All in one svc... hehee can massage gua sha for u too! so nice of her...

11 Beans -read that if exercise then need to hv some time before bfing cos will turn milk sour.. dono how true ... anyway can't imagine running with the heavy boobs... hehe

First Mum- few days ago, Noah played that stunt too... just refused to be put in bassinet and sleep... must be carried else he will scream murder! ... My mum has been avoiding carrying him to sleep since...

I still have a problem.. Noah refuses to sleep from 10pm feed all the way to 2am... he will just keep fussing and fussing until I get so tired and frustrated... I try to let him suckle and do a quick dash once he's asleep by putting him in the cot and switching off the light immediately...

Any other solutions?

sweethalo,
er...try to do the sleep training thingy in the day lo. at nite everyone's tired and edgy, v difficult.

is noah on the pacifier? i was quite anti, right from the time I had my daughter, but this time round he cried me crazy every night for hours so i decided, pacifier is better than not sleeping as sleep is very important for babies' development and growth.

and guess what. he slept much better and he didnt need to be carried so much. he was able to lie in the cot even when awake for considerably long periods. and now he doesnt even want it. he spits it out before he falls asleep.

but then again, giving the pacifier is a very personal choice. my parents were horrified when they saw, and me and hubby battled with the guilt for a long time...

but nothing is foolproof la. my boy was up 2-4am this morning as well. drove me up the wall...

Thanks Tubbymummy and artist for the regards..

vogue_mommy, bluedream & SkylerMum,
For the wrist pain, try to avoid steriod if you still can ta han the pain.. Only resort to that until you bei tahan.. cos you cant BF when you hv the steriod jab.. n my doc told me that must stop @ least for a week.. cos steriod is not good n will affect baby..

Think twice before having the jab

try acupuncture first.. and pat your wrist with warm water and massage it when you do not carry your baby.. n constantly remind yourself not to overexert yourself when carry your baby, use baby sling to lighten the baby load..

I had steriod during my son.. now, learnt a lesson, dont wish to make the same mistake again

Dolly, do you use nursing pillow when you BF? for backpain, try acupuncture.. I have it for the whole week to relieve the pain..

pacifier: Yeah, we also delayed giving him, but then now for weeks already he'll still spit it out! hahaha

TPY Mommy: I sprained my left arm while breastfeeding on bed lying down
haahaa, like tat also can hor! I'm better after a day, my CL says I should be OK after a few days, so wait first. Anyway, I got a acupuncture contact quite nearby my place, just a few bus-stops away

FirstM- Noah doesn't really enjoy the pacifier, keeps spitting it out too...only sucked it to slp a few times...since experiencing his refusal to latch last wk, i hv not dared to give him btl n also the pacifier cos afraid the pacifier may remind him of the btl...

i really think it's cos of my nite bird habits when preggy tt's y he doesnt wanna koon at tt time!!!arggh!!!

sweethalo

Ya lor.. I also heard the turn sour thing.. Dunno how..
Thinking of going gym do some weights training to build muscle so tat easier to lose weight.. And treadmill walking..
Ya cant imagine running with these boobs too.. Lol.. Walking also pain liao. Lol.

Re baby laughter
My boy making lots of laughing actions and sounds these days so fun.. Haha.. Talk to him, he keep laughing like "haha, haha" like tat.. Sometimes so excited he will scream! Lol

Firstmum, yes, she's one stubborn girl with her own opinion about how she sleeps! haha... I tried making my hb use the Pupsik, thankfully it's a nice and neutral khaki colour, but he refuses to wear it outdoors. It seems to fit him better. For me, I feel that the size might be too big cos it seems to hang quite low, but at the same time, it feels tight, like baby can barely fit inside, so not sure what's wrong with it, or my body...

Pacifier: I didn't feel good about giving Skyla the dummy as well, but I decided if sucking on something else other than my boob will buy me some sanity, then I'm game. I still struggled with that decision for a while, cos I really didn't like how she looked like with a dummy in her mouth. She didn't like her tommee tippee dummy, so I went out to buy Nuk ones, and she liked that for a while, but now, she won't take it. I think she sussed out that she doesn't get anything out of it. She preferred sucking on my finger to the dummy also. Of late, she's been sucking on her fist instead, and that holds off her crying for a while, so hey, whatever works!

sweethalo, haha yes, I remember us discussing about whether it's due to our sleeping habits or not. You were the owl! But I think he can be trained out of it eventually lah... hang in there...

dolly, hehe no lah, pilates doesn't do anything for the baby, it's for our core. I think babies are only factored in to act as a weight maybe? Like lifting them up when we're in certain positions, etc? But very expensive, think I'll give it a miss. Maybe just sign up for regular pilates class at some CC.

11_beans, my girl has been smiling a lot, but hasn't started laughing yet. Really looking forward to when she does that!!

11Beans - wow thanks for sharing the joy abt your baby's laughter.. at least that's something to look forward to in the weeks to come... all the crying now is getting to me sometimes...hahha..

Have started noticing that Noah will smile at me and my mum sometimes.. and his eyes do light up so I guess he is beginning to focus... He has also been able to enjoy the cot mobile for the past week... previously just ignored the thing and I thot what a waste of money! ROFL!! hehehe

Re: Exercise - erh I also don't really hv the energy to exercise leh... kekeke besides the heavy boobs... lack of sleep!!hahahaha

TubbyM - sigh, if only it was as simple as wht the Baby Whisperer book says...

Noah has moods on which dummy he wants... sometimes the Avent works fine sometimes Nuk, sometimes nothing at all!!

Anyway, has anyone noticed tt when u soak and wash the Nuk dummy, some soap/water gets inside the teat part? I had to squeezy the bubbles out... quite strange I thought and isn't that unhygenic and dangerous?

<font color="0000ff">hahaa.. my boy "talks" back at us now.. IF he's in the mood.. can be super noisy.. the other day me and hubby had a half hour long "conversation" with him !! haaa took a short video will load on facebook hehe..

re : exercise
need serious motivation to start - din exercise since i got preggy.. hahaa almost a year liao huh..
anyone staying north? me stay woodlands.. hehe maybe can form exercise group go yck or khatib gym there.. lol..</font>

Have been looking for nanny, so far got 2 choices:
1. Introduced by colleague, No nanny experience
children are adults
alone during day time
need to take bus to reach her place
Willing to take care day time only

2. Found by putting slips into letter box. Currently taking care of a 5 mth old
children are primary 5 and 6
husband at home most time and can help out
stay at the same estate, so rain also nevermind
Willing to take care day and night if needed.

Which one is better choice?

Dolly - erh... Nanny 2 sounds better leh.. cos nearby u and if u need to go out at night, can ask her take care for u... but then how she take care of 2 babies at the same time...

Dolly,
is the 1st option easy accessible from ur pl to her pl then to work? if so, u can consider. at least the nanny is somehow known rather than the one staying at your block. besides, nanny b seems very busi... so many young children to care...