(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

hello tubbym!
glad to hear from you again and know that skyla is doing well

is the 6-in-1 package available at all kinderclinics?

PD
i would be bringing my boy to see either dr ong ek (SBCC) or de vasanthi (kinderclinic). have not decided yet. but from my elder girl, both drs are very experienced and spot-on with their diagnosis and medications. both drs are also popular with the mummies on the forum, but the waiting time for dr ong is horrendous! also due to the long queue of patients at both clinics, consultations are usually brief and quite rushed. but im ok with that.

Vaccinations
can someone shed some light on the diff bet 5 and 6-in-1?

Ever since my niece is down with fever, I have being a full time housewife for 5days. Staying at home, alone to look after my gal (didnt go to in law place). Is my first time although I hv a son

Tired is a word to describe me now. but when i see gal smile.. it is the reward I have been working hard for... I guess all mommies share the same feeling..

In fact, i really enjoy these days cos everything is in my control.. How i want it to be? dun hv to worry my in law's view.

Solved all the nitty gritty problems from pumping, latching on, feeding timing n milk (Fm vs BM), colic, baby behavior, sleeping timing and habit, changing pampers vs cloth diapers,..

oso when to communicate w baby, when to do housechorse, when to have couple and personal time n oso time w my son.. how (fastest way) n when to prepare meals, when to do laundry n cleaning...is really challenge to juggle. Not easily to have a family n being a woman. Full time housewife is not a easy job.. NO salary..

It really need a lot to obsevation, patience and willingness to learn.. looking forward to learn with gal everyday

Hope i dun hv to go to my in law place next week

TPY_Mummy: The link to ExpressionBra

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2660959.html?1247021807

I bought both bustier and halter style from her, but personaly I found the bustier more versatile, cos you dun need to take off your clothes to wear it. However, both work fine in expressing milk. And there's once I was rushing to take my breakfast b4 my massage session, but my breasts were full, so I pump milk and eat noodle at the same time... hahaha

Give my name, she say will give discount!

Hi Dolly,

Pardon me for asking..
Do i still need to wear nursing bra?

u really can multi-tasking.. pump n eat @ the same time..

TPY_mommy: No need, but if you wear, it's still ok, just pull down the cup so that your nipple can be out from the hole

haha, woke up late and ML coming soon, breast full and baby still sleeping... no choice but to pump and eat at the same time!

Kena rashes from the massage oil! Now my neck, chest all itchy!

FirstMum:
Just copying out from the pamplet my PD gave me:

5 in 1 = DTP + Polio + Hib
6 in 1 = DTP + Polio + Hib + Hep B

DTP = Dipthera, Tetanus and Pertussis

So if take 5 in 1, then baby still got to jab Hep B 2 more time, 2nd time by itself and last jab at 5th or 6th month with 6 in 1. With 6 in 1, then 1 less jab for Hep B alone

Hi Firstmum! Long time no talk neh!
Ya, heard good things about both PDs you mentioned. In fact, I think quite a few ppl here are with Dr Ong right?? Dr Vasanthi is the one at Parkway? I think 6in1 package is available at all kinderclinics ba... but maybe u better call and check.

Haiyoh bb cry again. I'm off!

Wow tubbym, u still latching on fully?! u r great man!so envy you..rem i spoke to u hw stress i was over latch on.. supply not very good then see him always cry i giv in. now fully express. every meal give about 100ml. i only can pump 130 every 3-4hr but he drk every 2hr.. but at night i give FM so night time i wk up pump the amt can mk up the shortfall during the day. aiyoh i on other hand scare i overfed him. wonder y he still on 2hr schd even though i inc from 60 at 4th wk gradually to 100ml now wonder if he is just used to drking aft wk up or we catch wrg signal ayhw fed him.

.and after drking he will sleep! hate to be sitting up to burp and wn he not slpg most of the time he crying. so i hardly simulate him.. put him at the play gym awhile he cry wanna slp. only alert time is 10pm-1am where i wanna slp! and he b cranky crying.. 2890g at birth at 5wk 4.6kg! i wanted to drag his feed but unless it's we go gaigai he slp thru 3 to even 4hr. i really dunno how to put him on schd.. i have the baby whisper book too hmm shall refer to it.

i also do my jab at polyc. intend to tk 5in1 at 18wk $86, the rest of the jab all free just hep B $20.

<font color="0077aa">TPY mommy, just go back to pumping and latching (if you're doing so) and milk supply will kick back in. up to 6 months before you reduce pumping/latching you can get back same supply. if baby regurgitate a lot, then try feeding her a bit more upright instead of her lying down flat. also, in between feeds of 10min, stop abit and stroke her back downwards to direct milk down. so far i havent introduce bottle but i've read that it's very common for bottle-fed babies to regurgitate when they feed, that's why even though you see that baby take in 100ml of milk, not much stays in after all the purging. regurgitation can also be cause baby drank too much too fast, so check if teat hole size is appropriate. and don't overhandle baby i.e. after feeding, straight away put over shoulder to burp. i burp my baby on my lap with her head resting on my boob so no pressure on her stomach which can also cause purging.

LFB, i'm also thinking of starting a routine. now her feeds are about every 3-4 hours but i've not woken her up either for feeding or bathing. last night the darling even gave me 5 hours of sleep! but it's ok to have 1 long sleep either in day or night (better night so parents can rest) and to do this means in the day baby must feed every 3-4 hours so wake them up. how come your boy wake up every 2hrs screaming for milk? are you giving enough? also read his cues i.e. stirring, making sucking noises - all these and start to prepare for feeding. not good to wait for baby to cry before feeding cos they take in air and may regurgitate. also i find it's hard to feed an unsettled baby i.e. my latching may not be correct or baby may be sobbing and tired from earlier crying so i try to read her cues early.

dolly, if after pump baby wake up for milk just give the EBM if you scared your boob "empty". but so far i find no problem cos boob still have milk and will continue producing even while you pump.

11 Beans, if your baby feeding every 2 hours, can you try pumping one boob and feed on the other? save time. but i think you need to use a handfree strap or the expressionbra!

re baby not sleeping after feeds: have you all tried putting baby lying down on tummy? my girl sleeps like a baby (pardon the pun!) when i put her down like that. cos after feeding, i'll rest her on my chest and she fall asleep. i always have so much housework to do so cant afford to let her sleep like that for too long. after 10min when she's in deeper sleep i'll put her in the crib on her tummy. if sleeping on her back, must swaddle tight2 otherwise whenever her hands move (cos babies tend to jerk their limbs involuntarily) she'll wake up and cry. now i learn her pattern, i let her sleep on her tum-tum (as i call it).

re bathing: my girl bathes 30min before her next feed. e.g. wake up morning 7am for feed, then i'll slowly rouse her around 930am by checking diapers, carrying and putting her on changing mat and she'll slowly wake up. bathe at 945am and by 10am will be sucking happily at my boob. sometimes during bathing will cry maybe cos angry i woke her up..hehe
but most times she's happy in the bath tub.

re pacifier: unfortunately hubby cannot bear to see his lil princess cry so he started her on pacifier since last week. now we use it to stop her when she's crying badly like face all red and fists all clenched and the cries like a bit longer each time. tip not to make baby spit: after you put in, must hold it in for baby until they get the sucking right. funny how when im handling baby alone, i never need to use pacifier. if she cry i offer boob, if still cry then i carry and rock until she sleep. but at night i need to rest so sometimes hubby take over watching her while i sleep btwn feeds and if she's crying, hubby use pacifier..haiya..what to do?

re food: no i dont avoid anything although my ML lady reminded me 2 things: mummy cannot feed baby on empty stomach (later wind go into baby) and avoid chilli food cos baby will have tummy pains. i find these 2 is very true. the rest all i eat, except fast food, cola and caffeine - especially the last 2 cos easy to absorb into blood which is what milk is made of. the rest should be okay.</font>

tpy mommy, both me and bbjun stay in tpy too! maybe can meet up some time. Actually my milk supply no problem and baby is growing well. so no need to supplement with FM. Think baby is not sleeping well sometimes cos of wind in tummy and i think he really is a more alert baby than others. My friend sent me a link on high needs baby. I think he is like that. Google it and see!

tubbyM, i have been avoiding cabbage and beans. Actually trying to avoid most foods that are considered "windy". I also avoid dairy products cos PD says produce weird poo. As for PD, I heard abt Dr Terence Tan. I wanted to see him actually but when I called to make appt. The guy on the phone told me that weekdays have to wait 2-3 hrs and weekends have to wait 4-5 hrs. I was thinking to myself "forget it"! Who waits 4-5 hrs to see a doc????

Caramelle, sometimes i feed baby on empty stomach in the mornings cos no time to eat! Once he wakes up, its feeding time, bathe and feed again before he sleeps. I must make sure i squeeze in breakfast next time!

Sometimes baby tends to regurgitate milk and this usually happens after marathon feeds. Think he drink too much issit? he tends to do marathon feeds when he has wind in tummy...think he suckles for comfort. I had a marathon feed this morning from 9 plus till 12.30pm. so tired!

qi, no lah i nt taking 3 jabs of 5in 1. i tking the free one bt at 18th mth tk a jab of 5 in 1 at $86.that's one option bt means no protection against the 5th virus till 18mth lor.

when they sleep? Is it the mucus? My girl would sometimes unable to drink milk smoothly because of the mucus.

After feed I usually put her to sleep sideways, back supported by a small pillow. Thats the KKH nurses advised me to do. Keep shifting the baby to help baby find a suitable position so that the mucus wont affect her breathing.

Qi: Still awake or just woke up? Me just fed my boy both breasts... he so hungry
The LC at MtA also told me to put boy sideway, but never explain why, so sometimes I do that. My boy sometimes make noise when he's drinking and moves a lot, then I'll try to break this by burping him

any tips hw to help bb slp better? he always jerk n cry. i swaddle at nite bt daytime too warm leh he got alot heat rash...the bean pillow dun seems to help much...

dolly200906: Oh, I just woke and finished a pump

the nurses say to put baby sleep sideways is because, when you try burping 5 mins and baby wont burp. If baby later wakes up and burp on his own, likely to vomit a little out, so sideways more confortable for baby. U imagine vomitting, while lying on your back... jerking your body and head up, it's very terrible feeling...

Createjoy: Jerk and cry... disturbed by loud noises? Or you using cloth nappy? Dont need to swaddle during daytime. Just cuddle baby, put baby's head close to your chest so baby can hear your heart beat.

Heart beat and warm is the best because in your tummy, baby is hearing your heart beat all the time so familiar with that and inside the tummy is warmth. Sometimes my girl sleep ontop of my chest sideways while I lay flat. I'm too tired and she refuses to sleep after milk or sucking pacifier alone. And she sleep better on top of me. hohoho! I'm a light sleeper... power nap 10 mins then i'll auto wake and put her to sleep in her cot.

createjoy: Was at aunt place yesterday w/o CL, and baby managed to sleep 2 hours in the sarong, normally the most he sleeps in the day is 1.5 hours still thinking whether to get a sarong for him or not cos hubby not very keen. Good thing about sarong is you can shake him to sleep again when he wakes up temporarily.

ya i think i live near main rd though qt a distance but those noisy motor and those rowdy boys at the basketball court wk him up.. i tried to carry him but i cant be carrying him all day...the moment i put him dwn he easily wk up then evening too tired becm very cranky... i saw him on cot look like falling aslp on his own then a stupid motor will wk him up. my MIL keep saying dont always carry him.. suggest sarong too.. but no good for back and i dont like him to be rock to slp wn older i hope he can slp on a few pat on his own.. Dolly ur PD jab charge qt reasonable leh

I use herbal bath with shampoo and conditioner

So long as we using the herbal bath, can use own shampoo la!

Createjoy: some say, to carry now, train when baby reaches 6 mths old. If we carry now, baby will feel secure and left better on his own when he grows up.

I will give pacifier first, if she start crying, if everything fails then carry. But I carry for a short while then put her back, see if she can sleep on her own or not. I carry for both my kids when they need it. My mom also say: dont always carry her. I said: then let her cry and wind get inside her tummy is worst!

babiesmeme: qi7 correct, can use normal shampoo with the water. I didn't know about it until more than a week later

Water for baby: Anyone giving water to baby?

Dolly, I am not giving any water to my baby though my mil and mother both insist.. but I reckon that my baby is really peeing and pooing ALOT.. so my breast milk is definitely enuff for him! anyway, PD says baby dun need water.. water has no nutrients, and baby will falsely think that they are full by drinking water instead of milk.

btw, does any mummy experience this? - my boy seems to prefer left breast.. at my right breast which I suspect has a faster let down but more milk, he tends to choke on the milk at times!!! .. and spit out the whole nipple and reluctant to feed again on that side even though he still shows signs of hunger...

sigh.. im so tired these days, i see that most babies are sleeping at least 3 hr interval now, my boy at 3 weeks old is still wanting milk every 2 hr! .. without fail, even at night. There is no routine at all... and even when we up his intake to 3.5oz, he is still sleeping thru 2 hr interval..

pacifier: we tried.. but he takes it in for only 15 seconds per trial.. then spits it out after knowing theres no milk.. heh.. smart boy. we are using nuk bottles for feeding ebm, but the nuk pacificers are not working for him too.. btw, he really reject avent teats.. so I am stuck with so many avent milk bottles!!

To make things worse, my left breast cant drain properly always... there is a side spot with a lump everytime before nursing or pumping.. and I have to massage darn hard before it gets dislodged... Im beginning to feel that my arm muscles are building up! To make things better, I had just ordered a medela freestyle pump, expensive.. sigh but hopefuly tt will yield a greater milk supply and shorten my pumping sessions.. and make it more pleasurable.

MummyAsh: Thanks! Forgot to ask my PD about water consumption for babies

For a few hours everyday, my boy will ask for milk every hour. He sees to be better at night and I could sleep for 3 hours or more. That's when I'll hv leaking breast some times.

Preferred breast: My friend told me it's normal, like you say one breast could have faster flow then the other. For your case, it's likely that your boy will prefer your right breast when he's older and want milk faster!

pacifier: We've tried to introduce him since last week, and yeah, babies nowaday are smart. I've tried pigeon (almost total failure), avent (a bit better, but will not hold) and just bought NUK,will try that tomorrow.

I'm using Medela PIS, so far the fastest speed is 10 min for 90ml on one of my breasts. But I just found that I've got to pump both at the same time, else the suction power is not great enough

hi dolly.. Im latching my boy on my right breast now..and trying my best to type with left hand! Heh.. He seems to be latching better at night when its more peaceful..

u know, im still very shy to latch my baby outside my hse.. Even at mil's pl,i'll bottle feed ebm cos mil dun understd tt breastfeedg can take longer than bottle sometimes n baby may want to feed more regularly..so this cause me stress to latch in her presence. I also havent tried latching him in public..i still have to lift up my whole shirt then take out bra flap n have to see my whole breast before latching successfully,i wonder hw i can do this in public!.. So im frustrated nw,if i cant latch outside,means i've to bring my pump n a fridge-to-go bag for e ebm everywhr i go!sigh.. Hw did u all mothers handle laching outside?.. Any tips?

his last feed was at 930pm.. N he auto wake up at 1130pm to feed again... Hmm.. Hubby is snoring already,how envious.. bt sometimes when im so tired after latching i'll nudge hubby to burp baby or change soiled nappy for me..

btw,which brand of diapers r u using? Was on huggies then found tt it leaks easily.. So tryg mamy poko nw.. Bt at e rate he is changing diapers we r thinking if should use cheaper brands such as drypers.. what do u guys think?

Mummyash:

Re:eek:utside latch on
For me, I will bring my manual pump out and find breastfeeding room to express. But if there is really a need to latch (baby not drinking enough/cranky etc etc) You can try wearing tops with buttons infront for easy opening, dape a shawl or (now the fashion) cloth nappy over your shoulders, one hand holding the baby, one corner of the nappy stuff ontop of your shirt at the bra strap, another corner at the arm which you are holding your baby.

Go inside toilet, close the door, latch baby then dape the shawl over then walk out when you are done. It works for me.

Or find breast feeding room, I have a list of shopping malls with these rooms so most of the time I will choose to shop there.

Re: diapers
Drypers do leak and drop those jelly like stuff when my girl is happily doing kicking. I am using fitti NB now, it's really cloth like diapers. Moving to drypers S size then giant diapers. Heard giant diapers also kinda cloth type. I want my girl to feel comfory. Adds on to whether she can sleep better.

thanks qi for the advice? just woke up again for a feed! ... tts less than 2hrs from last feed!..poor me.. Sigh..i try full latching at nite cos im so lazy to pump n sterilize at nite! ..

Just curious, how does the nursing rooms in the malls look like? Are they solo nursing rooms or communal ones? .. Just wonderimg.. Heh ... Which manual pump are you using?

I tried the BHG at bugis and causeway point. Both concept are one big room and within the rooms they have solo nursing rooms.

Outside the nursing rooms are basins for washing and changing mats for changing soiled nappy.

I'm using the avent manual pump when I am out. At home I'm using the avent isis iq duo twin pump.

hi didnt log on for awhile how's everyone? my boy is sleeping more at night and more awake in daytime wanting to play and talk.. yesterday he drink his milk at 10pm and wake up only at 4.30am for feeding the day b4 he feed at 10 and wake up at 3.30 fpr milk..hopefully this routine can carry on..

deerdeer,
I have checked w my PD of bb makinggrunting noises, throat noises.. He said that (1) it could be due to the way we position our bb causing the airway to be blocked from our nose to mouth - Serious (2)Or we did not burp our bb well, hving air in their stomach which will result to reflux, (3) Or the room temp is not right.. causing the nose to be very dry

dolly, my bb gal sleep in sarong during the day... as for night, we will move her to bed when she dozed off.. I feel that sarong is good cos their head will round.. n most important, their REM (rapid eye movement) will be shorter n falling asleep faster.. I think it is true.. cos my son's head is round n he fall asleep very fast (he is on bed now) which his childcare teachers comment..

createjoy, i hv checked w my PD about sleeping sarong not good for bb back.. he said wont.. so long bb stop sleeping in sarong when he reach 1 yr.. my son who is 4yr, slept in sarong till 1.5yr.. his back is fine n he is a tall boy.. If need be, we hv to give in to them cos a good sleep will help baby to grow n their brain to develop well.. since he has heat rash in the day, why not let him sleep sarong in the day n cot @ night.. this is what my baby girl is.

choccheez, my poll goes to pacifier..

my children have everything.. from sarong, pacifier.. etc.. I belived they will out grown it when they grow older.. My son stopped hving pacifier when he was 1yr.. he told me shame shame cos he is a big boy.. can walk n eat on his own.. heehee.. MCP..

Not giving pacifier when he fall asleep.. i use it to stop baby from crying..

As for carrying n rocking, it will become a habit n very cringy to the caregiver.. moreover, it is very tiring too... of cos to the caregive whereas the baby enjoying n does not know the tiredness.. once stop, they will cry n demand to continue.. as for pacifier, she stop sucking when she is tried.. Baby is smart too..

mommyash n dolly, same checked with PD regards drinking water.. he said dun need cos FM has already formulated very much like BM.. unless we are drink FRESH COW milk.. i guess no one will hv feed the bb with that..

In fact, my mom told me that she heard from radio what drink too much water is not good for brain.. applies to adult.. This riggered me to check with the PD on baby..

But pls note that water is needed when the bb is having fever..

My PD has a hard times to earn my $$$.. Always got so many questions... heehee

<font color="0000ff">anyone baby got suddenly sleep alot???

my son suddenly sleep and sleep and sleep and sleep!!
wont even wake up for milk.. usually every 2 hours max he will wake for milk.. now, 3 hours, i try to wake him, he stretch and stretch, latch 5 minutes, then totally K.O. again in dreamland!! hmmmmmm....

yesterday also like that.. all afternoon keep sleeping though we were having a party in the house and so noisy.. only at night when it got quiet, then he wake up to play for 2.5 hours (9.30-12mn), slept until 12.30 woke up for milk and play until 2am.. then sleep again.. though he woke up several times for milk also..

suddenly like day and night lopsided !!
later evening i thinking of bringing him for a walk and fresh air, hopefully he'll be more alert until night time.. alamak..

now, snoooozing away.. usually this time he super awake lor.. shd i be concerned??</font>

Mummy_Ash: Latching in public, I've a poncho if there's no nursing room, otherwise, can just hide in nursing room
Still finding a good nursing cover cos mine is soft and light but I can't peep and adjust position unless someone hold it for me or I've to insert my head into the poncho

I went Taka nursing room which can be shared, and man not supposed to walk near, I'm ok with it,can chat w new mom some more. The ones at Paragon is solo type, only 1 at a time

If your hubby drive, then it's perfect to feed inside the car
save time and just need minimal cover.

TPY_mommy: Thanks! My PD asked us got any question, but we always have no question to ask.. huh, I should have write it down! But how about BM? Also no water needed?

11_beans: Looks like your son is in NY time! But is he growing well?