(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

first mum,
me also about the same.. at most three.. most of the time also one or two.. must relax, usually I'm in a hurry to finish up so I think this afects the number of letdowns..
think some mummies were saying can buy the cushions for the funnels for massaging effect..

LFB: I've submitted my forms last month. Just last week I got my first 1k. Yes tick both cash bonus n CDA.

Eat alot papaya for milk. I have them as fruit or those green ones make soup with chicken feet/pork bones/pork meat/fish bone/fish.

And drink alot alot of water if you got nothing to eat. usually before my let down comes I feel sooooooo thirsty. Like walking thru a desert with no water man!

Chidori: dont look at the time, dont rush. Everything do one by one like me. I feed my girl, pump, sterilize, then rest. If not, is eat, bath sometimes lucky can watch tv for an hour.

Today going to polyclinic for her second hap B jap. Been delaying for 1 mth due to her jaundice...I dont like going out, have to bring my manual pump which have to take 45 mins to achieve my volume for both side. Or quickly rush back to pump...

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mommies, I am looking to sell my baby's neck float - this is similar to the one at http://www.sgmambo.com/round_float.html, but orange in color.
Here is a photo of baby Kieran using it. This is almost brand new, used a handful of times only - he has since upgraded to a normal baby tube. This is suitable from about 3 months up to 1+ years or older.

2680401.jpg

Pls PM me if you are keen. Price: S$18. You can self collect in Seng Kang area during weekends/weeknites, or else have it delivered via registered mail for an additional $3. Thanks

qi7,
thanks for letting me know! Will send out the form by this week definitely! Tmr will go to central and get all things done, including verifying my bank acc and also copying my IC. Sigh, no choice. Then got to go to NTUC get diapers.

Now busy surfing and looking for job... Economy still down... Not much jobs available, have to find recruiting agency help me... sigh... Thinking of pumping and work... Is really going to be very very tired. When I come back from work at night still I tank...I think I will breakdown. But no choice... my kids need me to feed....

*SIGH!!*

qi7,
ya lor, think mother is the most "wei da" being! We can do so much of sacrifies for our dear ones. Jia you! I am sure you can find a job soon!
Who will help you take care of bb when you go work?

Hi June mommies,

My baby girl is born on 1 June. I have a nursing pillow and medela pump in style to let go..

My brest friend Nursing pillow (2 days old) - $45
Medela Pump in Style breast pump (with 9 mth warranty and new soft fit funnel) - $550

Anyone interested, please drop me an email [email protected]

I am back.. after weeks of MIA (missing in Action).. Lost touch of the thread..guess my honeymoon is over (once CL left) sob sob....really tough to take care of the baby ourselves esp @ night.. last night didnt sleep cos baby colic

Also realised that pumping times is getting lesser so do the milk.. Anyway, need to terminate BF cos in law (caregiver) complained.. sigh!!!

Babysister, you there? My update to you is very siong to juggle a baby and a 4yr old tol alone.. to add on, we have house chorse to manage...

P/s: seem that the thread is slowing down.. guess everyone is busy taking care the babies.. no day no night...

qi,

what job you are looking for?
maybe I can help cos my co now shorthand so i need to go back on 4th Aug.. but work half day..

Yeah, the thread a bit slow now... a lot of mummies are not online is it?

Just have my first massage... not say very pain lah, especially cos I c-sec, so she cannot do much on my tummy. Now on the bandage now, removing after 6 hours.

Trying to introduce pacifier today, my boy not taking in yet. Spit out after a few suck, he must be thinking why no milk? haha

hi dolly

now pumping.. actually, i really enjoys pumping.. but no one drink the milk.. so a bit low morale.. sigh..

pacifier... which brand.. i use avent n nuk.. avent bought it before birth.. nuk cos she bit my nipple when i tried to latch on..

massage.. i did mine during the 1st week of confinment.. yeah.. can massage for mommies who had c-sec.. must be more careful

TPY_mommy: What brand are you using for pumping? See that you are selling your Medela PIS, I'm using that too, but not really successful though I heard that's supposed to be good. My boy is doing total latch on now cos I can't get much when pumped.

Does your hubby support BM? If so, let him educate your MIL that BM is much better then FM! Or is she too lazy to change the many diapers? I wish I can pump out milk, haha... extending my CL stay for another month, so if I can pump out, I can go out without baby! hahaha... wanna watch Harry Potter leh!

Dolly,
Yes, I am using PIS.. it is useful to me..

He is supportive but Skeptical.. he said pump out... the nutrients will not be good compared to latch on.. He also worry if bb latch on, she will be very very clingy to me (she is very now).. n I wont be able to go back to work (starting on 4th aug half day)

good you managed to extend yr CL.. rate $50 a day?

yes, we can leave our baby with other caregiver if we can pump out.. but it will be best if we can them latch on and pump out..

Hi bbPotato and LFB and mummies

may I know how frequently do you pump? Is it 3hrly or less? How envious...I don't seem to pump enough for bb's 1 day supply, what more to freeze..I pump about 4-5hrly, when I feel breast is full and hoping to up the supply. TIA.

TPY_mommy: Maybe can tell your hubby that EBM is still better then FM

Yeah, extend for $1500 a month, so it's $50 a day. Her rate for confinement is $2000 and so far I can say she's good!

Sandra: I think they are pumping at 3hourly interval, maybe you can try that? And let baby latch on in between? Demand = Supply, your body will build up the supply slowly!

Yup, Sandra. I pump 4 hrly, and latch on at times when bb refused to sleep or when he is restless. My supply is abt 70-100ml, depends. Can be tiring cos I do wake up twice in the night, 12am and 4am!

Hi All mommy!!
Anyone miss me? Carry Sermaine out to cooridoor to walk walk and saw my neighbour and sneak in for awhile.

Update: Sermaine is 4.6kg on days 36. Her feeding is depend on her mood. Btw 1-4 hourly. But daily feeding is btw 12-14 times. As for me, pregnant gain 13kg and now left only 3kg to lose. Till date still total latch on. Ytd start to intro bottle to Sermaine. Each day 1 time and let hubby feed her to gain more booding. Everyday only pump 2-3 times, each session can pump out 200-250ml.

Birth Story: Cant remember liao. Only remember admitted at 06/06 midmight and gave birth on 15:38 thru natural w epi &amp; forcep.

Hope all mommy is doing great with their little precious. Pls do not reply to me as i do not have access to internet. Blessed all mommy enjoy their motherhood. Take Care. I really miss all those mommy that we often chat last time.

hihi dolly. Yup, itch is gone!!now left with the pigmentation only. The pigmentation start to faded off but still very obvious. Hai. What to do? Only canwait for it to slowly fade off

TPY mom: TIA for the thought of helping me.

I am looking for admin/ purchasing related job in the north area/ central. I have experience...

ok thx! I tried pumping 3hrly, only have hv 60ml, which is about proportional to the timing. If 5hrly, I hv abt 100ml. I Will try harder and persevere...

i'm still hoping for my TBF. now giving some FM in the day (my dad always say baby is hungry, must feed FM so i let him feed lo)

baby latching on fine, whole feeding session can go up to an hour.. on worst case scenario, feeding session 1 hour, rest 30 mins then baby cry again. anyone else like me?

i haven't pumped for a few days. cos baby was latching on most of the time by the time i finish pumping it's time for the next feed and i have no milk left in breasts. feel limp and soft even when i squeeze only droplets come out.

having baby full month celebration on fri. thinking of pumping out some ebm to standby that day so that can mingle with guests more. dunno how to introduce tat into schedule..

any ideas?

amk_gal,
I am pumping every 4hrly, but bb is eating more than I can pump. So I have to add FM with BM. No choice! If I don't, he will cry non stop due to hunger! So have to give. I used to be on BM during day and FM for night. Now have to mix and give to him. Anyway, I tried but only abt 90ml per pump.

I am celebrating First Month on Sat. May have to pump b4 I leave home, then give him FM when he needs during the celebration. My take? As long as I tried my best. I have been drinking alot of water(advice from qi7 and my massuer) and also increase my pump(from 6hrly to 4hrly). So if all fails, I can't help it. At least he is getting 2/3 BM in a day. My consolation!

Hi i am from the mother from the March thread. As i am moving house, i have the following for sales. Mostly brand new. Please contact me at [email protected] and subject as House Moval Sales. All must go.

-BN books. Eg The lost Gospel &amp; Mags
-BN perfumes Eg Max Mara
-BN bags. Eg Gucci and hand carried bags
-BN &amp; Used CDs
-BN &amp; Used Jewllery &amp; Accessories. Eg diamond, Perlini silver
-BN Handmade tissue pouches
-BN watch. Eg 25hours
-BN hand cream set from Marks &amp; Spencer
-BN Quality pen
-BN Poster. Eg Fish Leong
-BN Stocking
-BN magnet bookmarks
-BN cups
-2nd hand clothing
-BN soft toy
-BN cushion
-BN collectible MRT cards, phone cards
-BN collectibe stamps. Eg First day cover
-BN photo frame
-BN 2GB Ipod Nano
-BN baby stuff
-Etc etc.
-BN philips multi hair styler, 10 in 1. Model HP4698.
-4 philips baby bottles &amp; a teat
-Body shop products
-L'Occitane products
-Handphone pouches
-Medela Quck Clean, Micro clean bag. 5 bags = 100 cleaning
-Nursing pillows. Used Brest friend nursing pillow and BN nursing pillow from safe &amp; sound.
-Shiro Digital enhanced cordless phone. SD3101
-Books. Eg the power of praying woman and several books from Adam Khoo

amk_gal: I celebrated my baby full month last Sat. And since I cannot pump, my baby is on total latching. On the day itself, I just find a corner and breastfeed there with a nursing cover. Sometimes friends can come around and chat w me

re BM:let me share what i do.

Few tips for mommies who need the extra milk.

1. I ate lots of papaya be it as fruit or soup, drank tons of water plus the longan red date tea.

2. First month I did a 3 hourly pump faithfully. and yes pumping and taking care worn me out i feel soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo tired but it's all for my breast to warm up and let my breast know: hey, every 3 hr I need the milk.

3. After latch on, dont care come out few drop or even blank. pump another 10-15mins extra to let the breast know to produce more, baby need extra. It's going to take a long time to produce, nevermind, just carry on doing it. Sometimes will trigger let down so have an extra of 10-20mls... Because demand=supply.

4. If 90% pump (very little latch on like me), when the baby cries for milk, just latch her on because she can clear my blocked ducts, she drink the extra milk, I pump another same (me now pump 20 min both side) 20 min to trigger make more milk and she sleep better because,

A well fed baby sleep better, trust me. By then, we mommies can rest too!

5. If baby feed 3 hourly, adjust pumping time before her feed so can latch on and pump after.

One more thing:

Foremilk is just starting pump/ starting feed. It's very watery and transparent. Continue to pump until you see milk colour(Like marigold HL milk), (congrats!) you get hindmilk. The fatter and creamier milk for your baby.

1. You get to lose fats to your baby, so baby will gain a nice weight.
2. DO NOTE you get hindmilk when the less milk in the breast, the higher the fat content. SO make sure pump to empty the breasts.

More reading on foremilk and hindmilk here:
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/foremilk-hindmilk.html

Hi qi7,
thanks for the info. I realised that after a few days of pumping, I get almost 100ml now every 4 hrly pump. What abt you? I seldom latch on, usually 1-2 a day. I am worried when CL leaves, I have to take care of bb alone, I may not have time to pump! Already bb drinking alot more than last week. My 100ml is not enough for him at all! So we have to add FM to the BM. Sigh. Will start taking papaya. Have added alot of liquid to my diet, as advice by you. Hope my supply can comes in. Thanks!

HAHAHAHA! Finally I managed to pump!
I did a try after letting my boy latched to sleep. This time, I did on both breasts at the same time and wearing the expression bra. Got a total of 2.5 ounce! I suspect my hold was not good also, cos when I put the funnel on the expression bra, the nipple can go in deeper.

My CL is happier than me, cos at last she got some relief measure
Especially when baby was crying when I was doing massage...

Dolly,
well done! Good for you! 2.5 ounce, good for a start! Now you can latch and feed! Good for you! I have also try to latch my boy more often, cos I realised he can get cranky mid day, so with latching, he is more contented!

LFB: Thanks! Yeah, maybe your boy also love the cuddling? My boy starts to look me in the eyes when he latch ... so lovely

Dolly,
He demands more milk now, and I think this is why he will latch. I realised that I am still not good at it, cos it's painful at times. But I am sure practices make perfect! So will still let him latch, cos I cannot always make milk for him after each feed. He will look at me and sometimes even touch my boobs! So cute!

LFB: Yeah, when my boy first touch my breast w his little hand, I feel so fun! But now sometimes got to peel his hand away cos he's blocking the breast and I dunno if he's really latching on

Alright, funnily my girl stare at me when she latched hahahahha!

Even bottle feed she tend to stare at me. Gets scarey feeding late at night man!

I agree mid day latch is good... my girl sleep better after latched but i still pump after that...

Hi, I am from Sep thread. I was upset
cos my blood pressure is high, I am into seventh month. Do any of you experience any high blood pressure??

TPY_mommy: Yeah, happy happy, now I'm a freer mummy! haha... Harry Potter... here I come!

amk_gal: Forgot to answer you, my boy could be worse, he can really feed hourly, meaning feed 25min, rest 35min and feed again for hours... that's what I called his marathoon feed
so no worry you are not alone!

<font color="0077aa">hello mummies, have been MIA for few days because like some of you, my girl has a routine of not sleeping after feeding. she cries often and i need to latch her back on. but maximum 45min on each boob, then switch. usually on the 2nd boob which is usually full by then, she will latch for about 5-10min then fall asleep. i suspect after 45min the milk flow in the first boob very slow (cos sometimes she will cry after sucking for some time, maybe cos suck2 then nothing come out very frustrating).

started pumping once a day, 15-20min on each boob and got about 120-150ml each time, then i freeze using milk trays. was planning to start her on 1 bottle feed from week 6 onwards. feel like delaying it because i really enjoy the bonding and closeness of feeding her, even tho when she do marathon feeding i very tired. but eventually need to start bottle feeding so better prep myself mentally first.

mummies, where you doing the jabs for your babies?</font>

just went to see national skin centre for my PUPP.. was told to take antihistamine for a week and meanwhile, cannot breastfeed until I stop medication.. trying to endure the itchness.. see how tonight, if cannot tahan, I start tomorrow morning.. my frozen EBM can only last 6 days.. sigh.. tried giving my gal EBM in bottle just now.. and she kept lookin at my breast, it just broke my heart and I teared alittle

caramelle,
will be going for polyclinic or GP near my placee..

hi all mummies,
how's everyone doing now?

jus pop in to say hi...

sad thing is i notice i haf quite obvious dark rings under my eyes le.

my boy still having bad reflux...bringing him to PD for review on thursday... hopefuly all is well...

i suspect my right breast is blocked... i cant really pump alot of milk from my right breast.. but when my boy latches on right side, he seemed to be drinking enough although i cant really hear the swallowing sound as obvious as my left breast. so also dunno if he has enough milk from my right breast or not.

btw, anyone of u doing jabs at different clinic or GP? cos i realised dat some jabs cost cheaper at A clinic and some jabs cheaper at B clinic... so wondering if i should do different jabs at different clinics according to the cheap-ness of the price?

need to ask. My boy was uncomfortable last night and we went to Singapore baby and child clinic. He didn't really sleep in the afternoon and was cranky, asking for milk, smacking his lips. Now is 2 days to full month. His weight is 4.75kg. Doc told me he is too heavy and we are feeding him too much. But my PD said to feed on demand! I am confused. How much did you feed your child? Interval? Mine can drink 100ml of EBM and still looks hungry. If night time, he will take 90ml FM. Is this normal? Like right now, he is unwilling to sleep, dunno hungry or simply needs attention.

<font color="0000ff">LFB
my kiddo gained 1 kg in 1 month (today's 1 mth!!
) now he weighs abt 4.2kg..

i latch him all day long so dunno how much he actually drinks.. but night time is also 90ml.. sometimes he cannot finish 90ml even.. esp in the morning.. like now, he manage to sleep 3 hours after only 45ml at 6 am.. hmmm..</font>

LFB, I don't think your boi is too heavy. Mine is 5kg at one month and my PD says he is growing well despite of his colic. Good sign.
Mine is a greedy baby. Just up his milk intake to 130ml, every 3 hrs. FM at nite... can last 4 hrs. BM... erm.. generally 3 hrs but there are times it lasted only 2 hrs. that's usually once a day.

I have been delaying uping his milk intake for two days and each time he finishes his bottle of milk, he cries for more n I have to bluff him with a pacifier which he will suck until he is tired. Found that this has been consistent for two days so decided to increase another 10ml for him last nite and he is a happy bb, sleeping well.

lfb,
my baby is 4 days to 1 month old, no idea whats his weight yet but he can take 110-120ml BM or 100ml FM. but he can only last 2-2.5 hrs in the daytime between feeds. night time if hes tired he can sleep 3-4 hrs at a stretch. but i also suspect the confinement nanny is overfeeding him cos shes so lazy to carry him when he cries so always quickly give milk.

i hope to stretch his feeds to 3 hrs when CL leaves.

bbjun,
wow 5 kg! i think thats quite big hor? u have done well!

does ur bb sleep with pacifier through the night? does he need it in the day? i bought pacifiers but have yet to introduce it.

My confinement just left and I find I can only feed bb abt 80ml each time so far - have thrown away 100ml or more bm man! I dunno how she can feed 100 or even 140ml each time! anyone same??