(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

nicolle_ann: I got a CL, and it's good! At least dun need to worry about baby and can go online when I'm not feeding

But she's pretty straight and I'm only allowed to wash my hair once on the 7th day so far. Luckily although my hair is always wet cos I perspire a lot, it's not itchy at all.

SuperBee: oops..have not been reading up much these couple of days, so miss seeing you bb since we both in Mount A...sorry...

Mummy Ash: Dont worried. Everythig will be fine. C section just a little more painful after that. i can now walk and go about doing my thing without feeling much pain. I too was very sad that i cannot give birth to my second one naturally but i guess not all things are within our control. I somemore go and buy some silly accupressure book and start asking my hb to press for me. Super desperate move ...but as what other mommies said, as long as bb is healthy :) so dont feel guilty if cannot go natural. Trust your mother instinct and you will know what is the best choice for you and your bb...

thks mommies for the well wishes & console..

Nesher be discharging at 1pm .. called the nursery & his jaundice dropped to 175... i missed him & yesterday while visiting him second time at 5+pm i was in tears when i fed him formula milk... later will thaw the breast milk & feed him...
don know y but i seem to have tears flow out easily .. i used to be strong & even gyne said i m his 1st patient who usually very brave & stable but now after having my son warded i always emotional...

u are so lucky!!! dolly.

my mil doing it for me >.< tml will be like 14 days since i washed my hair !!!

my MIL pretty strict on it.

yeah.. my MIL help me out also.. i also can go online! haha.. i envy u, can WASH hair.. my scalp getting itchy and oily.. yucks~~

today is ur how many days?

annie

yest, i went to see my gynae. He say i may experience easily tears, impatient, angry easily etc. IS NORMAL.. part of the hormones changes. He say the hormones are flowing out of our body. In awhile, we will be back to ourselves : )

i also tears easily.. haha..

nicolle_ann: My CL see water dripping from my hair cos I really persphire a lot! HAHA so she pity me and let me wash it once on Monday, which was my 7th day. Anyway, I didn't use shampoo, just the ginger water only, but my hair do feel a bit lighter and not so oily after that.

Annie: Yeah we are undergoing a lot of hormones change now, so no need to feel strange! Was trying to call up the chinese medical hall, my placenta should be ready leh... it supposed to help w hormones change.

wah nicolle ann,
u poor thing leh, u haven washed ur hair in 14 days???!!! omg, how can u tahan it lor!

my mil doing my confinement for me too. but i dun care one, i alrdy told her i wan to bathe and wash hair liao, now wat generation and wat weather.... but one thing i haf to compromise is dat after washing hair, i haf to blow dry it lor, instead of letting it dry on its own. so im fine with dat... anyway, i also let it dry on its own when she's not noticing it.

annie,
i also been crying quite often after giving birth.. alot of things i see nt happy, i will be very angry and irritated and cry. my hb last night say i will go crazy if i carry on like dat. and we even quarrel last night, cos i told him i wan to let my baby let my mother take care when i find job... dun wan to let mil take care cos i dun think she can cope with 2 kids. one kid is the one she babysitting now... nw dat i at hm, i see alot of things and i seriously doubt she can cope lor... den my hb nt happy, say like dat he very cham lor, sandwiched... den me leh, den i nt cham lah??!

haiz, damn sian one.

annie - when i heard my boy jaundice lvl went up i also cry..is my hubby that console me..i hav been crying and crying for a week when my boy have to sun bathe..dun worry ur boy will be fine..

ahnetsan - i also some times very irritated..my MIL quit her job to look after my son..then i realised she not stable at all lor..i more stable than her..she cant rmb wad time was his last feed..let him sleep outside with the tv on..when at nite we put him back in his cot he cry coz no sound and light..tell my hubby also no use..he juz say nvm she noe wad to do coz she look after kids before..i dunno how to entrust my son to her..i tink ur MIL means this way of slping..i let my boy slp this way on me..so when he move i know..his neck quite strong he will face down at times..so better to watch him when letting him slp this way..

2607314.jpg

i SUPER DUPER POOR THING!! ppl, pls pity me : (

now i smart.. i 2nd child i WILL NOT do confinement with my MIL!! HAHA.. if my own mother, i can heck care lo!! haha but MIL, must show respect : ( !!!!

DOLLY,
haha.. i also perspire alot!! esp after DRINKING SOUP >.<

AHNETSAN
think me n u the same.. alot of things i see not happy with my MIL. the way she handle my child
then i cannot do anything!!! i could only LAN LAN.. if not my hb gonna stuck in middle..

hai...

14 days NO WASH HAIR.. i wan to die die die die die..

soon i see "Things" jumping around my head liao

Sorry to intrude. I've been following this thread cos' I'm also a June mommy.

Would like to ask for the massage lady Mona's contact and ask what are her rates like? Cos' I may want to ask her to massage for me. Thanks in advance!

junebabyboi

WAH, ur situation so sound like mine.. my MIL also quit her job to look after my son.. but i find everything she do, i NOT HAPPY!! haha... maybe is my first child..

my MIL doesn't like me LATCHING ON >.< keep asking me stupid qn last time when i latch on like HOW MUCH BABY DRINK? bb hungry, u GOT FEED ANOT?!?!?!?!

haizZz MIL >.<

btw junebabyboi

my baby jaundice level also went up last week. we rent the phototherapy.. we did it at home.. and it works for us.. his level drop. and we also get him to be beside us instead in the hospital.

nicolle_ann: Actually my CL also wonder how much my boy drink, cos he needs to be fed every hour. So she asked me to pump out. But then hor, even my left breast was dripping milk when my boy suck on the right side, there's just a drop coming from the left when I pump right after! haha... think even this medela PIS is not good for me yet.

hahahhaa...

latching on is like that.. definitely, they wun drink more than what we can pump out.. that what my gynae say.. so they tend to like wail every hour or 2 hour.. but soon they get use to it..

nicolle_ann - we also requested to sun bathe ourselves..he was beside us all the while..my hubby was the one who bring him downstairs for morning sun..ya la..very unhappy lor..but wad to do..she kip nagging me say cant wash hair..when she go out i go wash..haha..i salute u for nt washing 14 days..

chidori : i got kelly to take shots of sophie.kelly is very good.actually you can tell her that rina recommended you and she will give you a discount off whatever package you take.

can i join u gals? was in this thread earlier on but couldn't catch up. My EDD was supposed to be 1 Jul but baby gal popped on 17th Jun. Just into my 1st wk of confinement.

annie/amk_gal
I totally can understand how u feel when baby is hosp w jaundice. my gal had jaundice on 2nd day and after 1 day of photolight, her jaundice level came down. I was with her on 3rd day n 4th day we were discharged. Then on the 1wk checkup, dr says she looks jaundiced. blood test resuclt showed it's above the borderline. was admitted yesterday. i thought it's ok and didn't feel very sad at all cos jaundice is ccmmon. But today she still could not be discharged though thelevel has dropped, but not to a safe level yet. i went to feed her during lunch and she was crying. when i latched her on, i couldn't help but tears dropped. only then i realised how much i missed her.

i realised u gals thought abt the jaundice level being in the hundreds... my dr mentioned my gal's level was 15.3 yesterdayand cutoff is 15. Today she's 12 and dr wants to keep her there until below 11. is there's differnt measurement modes?

I just saw my baby Skyla on Kelly's homepage! The first page that I landed on before clicking to enter website or blog. That's her! Hee... Eh, actually it doesn't look like Skyla, cos she doesn't have so much hair, nor is it so dark. But THAT's my butterfly stool, and THAT's my cement plaster wall, and the blog confirms that it's her! Haha... Can't wait to see the rest of the pics!

chidori, if you can wait, I'd say go for Kelly too. I've not worked with other baby photographers lah, but I find Kelly very patient with babies. Skyla was so difficult that Kelly had to spend 4 hrs shooting her, but she was very professional about it and never made Skyla feel rushed.

Skyla has been having bright green poops. It's like clear mucus, with small green particles of bright green. Super weird. Checked online, and it seems that it may be because she's getting too much foremilk and not enough hindmilk
Dunno what to do now, cos she's already spending close to an hour each feed (1 breast only, I don't switch breast). Her problem is she falls asleep within 5min of latching, and spends most of the time "pretending" to suckle nia... so I think she hardly drinks anything after the first 5-10min. I keep rousng her, burp her, change diaper etc etc, she falls right back asleep. HELP!!

BbEthan, my girl's jaundice level was measured in the same numbers as yours, so I'm not sure what the hundreds one mean. Her PD goes by 10 = safe to discharge from hospital, 12 = stay on in hospital, 15 = readmit into hospital if she was previously discharged. Between 10 and 12, he says parents may wish to look into renting the phototherapy lights from the hospital.

I think as long as you know what is the benchmark, then it doesn't matter which way the jaundice level is measured. Don't be too depressed, sounds like your girl is making good progress, she should be out by tomorrow I believe. Make sure you get lotsa sleep today, cos you'll have to be feeding her a lot once she gets home!

my gosh...hubby just called me and told me we're moving to our new place in telok kurau next weekend..... the lease is expiring on our current place...

any mums stay around that area?????

junebabyboi

yeah.. MIL ~~ >.< hahahaha...

yeah la.. we could only tahan.. haha.but i think we also to blame.. HORMONE changing. so whatever things she do.. i BUAY song..hahaha

dear mommies i m back home wif my beloved Nesher..

keep kissing him on the way back..didnt cry today &amp; the moment i reach home..daddy fighting wif me to carry him..guess he missed him too
&amp; thanks mommies for the support i really appreciate

BbEthan: Yeah, mine also measure like what you and TubbyMummy mention, so Kendrick was OK to discharge because his reading is 8.7 after phototherapy. And when we visit PD yesterday, she says he looks alright though a bit yellow so dun need to do blood test.

Annie: Congrats! Now you can cuddle him for as long as you wan! And dun care about spoiling him, just carry him whenever he wants!

TubbyMummy: My boy also sleep off! And sometimes he only take 15 min, then release the latch. However, when he drinks more than 1 hour, I can still see that he's sucking and I will stimulate him by rubbing his ear, his lips, his palm as directed by the LC. but I found one way even better, is to pull my nipple away from him, using VERY little force, then he'll try to suck back and suckle suckle again. But of course dun pull too hard, else our nipple will suffer

my boy went for his blood test this morning at polyclinic and the reading is 160. dropped from last night, which is a good sign. he's pooping and peeing very well compared to before being admitted to hospital.

i only managed to supplement with formula milk once last night... the few pumps i have more or less had enough EBM for him.

anyway, how do you increase your BM supply? I been pumping every 3 hours, and latching baby on if he's still hungry or dissatisfied after EBM + FM.

Been able to pump out 40-50ml per session every 3 hours... it's been a week since i delivered..

tinybubu, I'm 5min drive away in Geylang

dolly, I also did the pull nipple away trick haha. But hor, her problem is she will suck nipple back in, but not DRINK, you know, like suck pacifier like that? Suck only, no consumption. Can tell difference in her jaw movements lor. I dunno how. Currently pumping out 10ml or so after each feed, to supplement her a couple times a day. But this is not a long term solution what...

Annie, glad Nesher is back home and safe with you!

<font color="cc0099"> Have shifted home from mum's late Sunday night. After a rough 2 days, Kyle seems to be settling a bit more. Thank God I've still been able to fix lunches while carrying him the last 2 days. Today he's sleeping well! I can even find time to come online thks to hubby taking 7-10pm shift yesterday so I could sleep. *happy sigh*

With more and more popping, not so many archives to get thru even though I've been MIA for days now. *phew*

<font size="+1">Congrats on baby's arrival, First Mum, Annie, SuperBee, SharonLimb, 11Beans!!</font>

ahnet~, scary, your almost-faint spell. Keep yourself rested (even if not sleeping) and well hydrated! I've been trying to remember to drink at least 3L of fluids every day. I found the brestfriend pillow very useful at the start... but now that Kyle's getting to be an expert, no longer use it.

SuperBee, don't be
... What matters is that mummy and baby are safe. The motherhood journey begins!

Nicolle~, expressing breastmilk doesn't stop supply... it keep supply going cos boobs think there's demand. According to books, to stop supply, can try applying chilled cabbage leaves. But you DO have to refrain from emptying breast (whether by expressing milk or latching baby on). They say there'll be engorgement for a few days, but that will pass...

aiya my baby boy crying.
just possetted in his sleep again. Now lying on my chest staring out the window. Sister says he's unbelievably alert and wakeful for a little bub his age. Hmm... So poor mummy cham lor.

caramelle, re: steriliser. Water accummulated inside bottles is ok as that is sterile... once you try to wipe or air-dry, defeats purpose liao. So just put the lids on everything and wipe the outsides n you're all done. If still warm, put lids on n leave external condensation to evaporate.

split, sis and I are very happy with Sweetest Moments. My cousin is delivering on 30th n will be engaging them for her boy's full month too.

ahnet~, YES, latched on bbs still need burping!! however, hvg said tt, possetting (spitting up milk or curdled milk) is normal n can happen up to even 2hrs aft a feed. POOP!!! I'm nursing Kyle n he just spat up a whole load of milk... then smiles, gurgles n latches right back on!! Flowed round to the back of his neck

+ I give Kyle tummy time. I've let him sleep on tummy a couple of times when he fusses, but MUST be watched. I usually flip him back up once he's asleep. My mum said in their days all bbs zz on tummy so just jaga when ur mum does tt?

LFB &amp; caramelle, lie-down nursing has been a Godsend for me esp on morns when i feel half dead. Kyle doesn't choke, but does tend to bring up a lot of milk so every now n then I sit/prop him up b4 continuing.

caramelle, i like pampers preciselt cos they're thin n yet do the job well. love the wee indicator strip too!! Don't like Huggies Ultra v much.

SuperBee &amp; Chris, your children pics are absolutely gorgeous. *touched* Thks 4 sharing!!

amkgal, poor you... what a traumatising few days you've had. I hope things go better for you in the coming days n weeks. Persevere on... once first month is over, things'll settle.

junebbboi, your bb so sweet!

Tubbym~, whoa, thks to you, Kelly's scheduled is packed to the hilt!! I imagine later months' MTBs are scrambling to book her if they tune in to this thread!

bbEthan, yup. different scales. Kyle was a 215 - tt translated to a 12 on the jaundice scale. He didn't need hospitalisation but needed sunning. Anything below 10 is good.

dont understand y many of us like cant get along with mil thinking..me too used to be very irritated by my mil..especially when im pregnant with no.1 till my mil tell my hubby i very rude to her..

I come to a conclusion dont trust mil too much, when have no.1 my mum who was a babysitter wanna take care of my bb, but hubby said let his mum take care since is first grandson and my mil like not happy when i said wanna let my mum look after..so in the end i give in loh..who knows in the end look after my son one is the maid cuz mil break her promise said wanna quit job but in the end also nv quit..everytime said will come home early but her early is like dinner time..and she super spoiled my son now my son even will beat me when i scold him..sigh..now she said wanna help me bath my no.2 since i confinement and not getting cl but she only do it like 1week den after that im bathing bb and do everything myself now plus no maid to help cuz maid gotta look after my no.1 at her house...

So no.2 i tell hubby die die also wanna let my mum look after..and i ask my mum to go ask hubby herself cuz i know hubby wunt reject my mum request..

annie
glad that baby is home with you now.

tubbymummy, dolly
Thanks. do u all still have to bring baby back to PD for checks regularly? My gal was given ok after day 2. On Mon, I did notice that she was a bit yellow. Thought since PD check was on Tue, decided to wait till next day. Then when there, then realised that her jaundice has actually gone up since discharge. so now i was thinking if it comes down now, how do we know that it has not gone up again.

Cassey, thanks just make my order from them..i used choz for my no. 1 but my mum tell me the cake not very nice/fresh..

<font color="cc0099"> Quote: " The nice thing about being senile is: you can hide your own Easter eggs."
HahahahaaAAA!! Good one!!

Another one:
I feel like my body has gotten totally out of shape, so I got my doctor's permission to join a fitness club and start exercising.

I decided to take an aerobics class for seniors.

I bent, twisted, gyrated, jumped up and down, and perspired for an hour. But, by the time I got my leotards on, the class was over.</font>

tubbymummy- just gave my boy my pump out breast milk...

he poo &amp; pee alot... now sleeping beside me...

Jaundice-
everybody was saying go to the medical shop &amp; buy the yellow flower to bath him in it to reduce jaundice level..
tomorrow morning will put him under the sun at the balcony for 15mins... hope tomorrow checkup at the polyclinic they wont take him away frm me again...

Thanks for all the well wishes and the encouraging SMSes from everyone during my labour hours and after.

Now back home but still very very tired, hvnt had time to read backwards. Baby was warded back into GlenE on Monday after PD checkup as he was jaundiced at 16count. Thank God that he was discharged after one day with count back to 9.6 after photo therapy.

I joked with hubby that the blood lab results may not be indept since hospital and lab owned by same listed holding co.. hehhe

We are still holding back on the Birth Cert and narrowing down the name.. terok parents..hehe.. but wanted to make sure I had some sanity and rest before finalising his name... hehhee

Anyway, I really enjoyed my experience with birth experience at GlenEagles... the nurses were fantastic and really helpful and even motherly. Taught me alot in a the few hours I was with them...

Miss u all

ya Annie- i also didnt expect to have so sudden labour and birth...

Strange thing is the night of 17th, my mum mentioned tt my tummy looks like moved downwards and shld be any time already. I laughed at her but quickly went upstairs to finish up some last min packign for hospital and got my hb to quickly charge up the breastpump, videocam batt and camera batts...

That night at abt 10plus felt abit menstral cramps and then at 12plus had bloody show... still thought can sleep well tht night and go clinic in the morning. Got hb to get all stuff ready and was sitting on bed to prepare to sleep when suddenly felt leaking...then knew we has to go to hospital oredi...

Has everyone given birth in the june Mtbs list oredi?

<font color="cc0099"> welcome back, sweethalo!! I don't think everyone's popped yet. Neither Tubbym~ nor I had the latest poppers' list so we didn't update... also, we didn't really have the luxury of time on our hands. Don't think you will either! How's baby doing?!

Latest pics of Kyle... I tried to re-size them so that they are even smaller...
But midway thru, attachment upload button on my browser stopped working
So posting this version. Sorry for the size of it.

1. Alert as always... poor mum! He stays up for hours at a time, cooing and gurgling, waving his arms about wanting to play
2. His full month celebration cupcakes! (split, from Sweetest Moments... Yummy too!!)
3. Blissed out and stoned after a good nursing session...

2608918.jpg
... ... ... ...
2608919.jpg

2608920.jpg

TubbyM - i chked Kelly's website for ur Skyla's foto too.. and saw wht she wrote abt ur house deco and bb skyla... hehe.... the pics look great...

I can't get any earlier appt with Kelly until the 5th July.. think by then dono still can get good fotos or not... sigh..

sweethalo- alot of mommies had popped out during yr absence...
my baby updates-
Name: Nesher Matthias Oh En Yao
delivered on my EDD 19th
wt. 3.156 kg
ht. 49cm
head. 33cm

dont know who updating now...

Congrats Annie, think I may not hv time to do updates... but will try to do so some time later and scroll backwards to get info... hope the mummies tt pop after 17th June don't mind...

Cassey very nice cupcake, im getting their package cuz my mum wanna have red egg and ang gu gek in it..hopefully will have gd coments from my relative and frens..

hi seethalo
u were staying at gleneagles too/. which ward werre u staying? i was there from 17th to 20th. i do agree that the stay there was a good one. baby was readmitted yesteday after PD check too. Hopes she can be discharged tmrw.

<font color="cc0099"> thanks, sweethalo! Kyle on the whole looks like dad, I guess. But ppl say upper half of his face (eyes, brows, hair) like daddy, lower half (nose, lips, chin) like mummy. =)
POST YOUR PIC LEH!!

+ Pls don't feel it's your responsibility to update... it's done out of goodwill and no one's obligation.
In fact, like I was saying, after popping... it just doesn't seem that impt anymore in the "grand scheme of things".
Focus on enjoy your precious little bub and rest up, my dear.

split, Isaac's a happy boy!! I thought the colours were a bit boring... all same shade of blue. But haiya! "Mai hiam" so much la.
The cake proper is chocolate... very nice, rich and moist... kinda like a brownie. YUM!