(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Chidori,

Thanks for e update, was abt to ask u abt it also.

Annie,
we don't monitor heartbeat leh. I also want him to come out comfortably but my eldest sis' 2 kids also overdued and need to induce. My niece was 3.7kg and nephew 3.4, both past 40weeks! So she said I may be like her, so instead of waiting, might as well get it done! No chice lor. Now sayang bb and keep telling him outside very fun, many pple waiting and he is very loved by many. Hee hee!

<font color="cc0099"> just a quickie b4 bed. Haven't caught up on archives. Kyle's a month old today the 18th. Have PD visit later today. Hope all's well. I can officially eat rubbish again!! Haha

ahnet, bing, bubu n others, note evening fussiness is common n sets in evening til night. Baby'll want to feed constantly, fuss, want to be held, rocked, cuddled or sung to. We can't do much but just try to feed as much as they need and gives lotsa attention. I think it doesn't go beyond 3 months... Altho tt already seems very long.

Since I found out and began anticipating these periods, I've found tt I cope better with them cos I'm prepared to nurse n also stay up for longer time. So it doesn't frustrate me like it used to. Now Kyle easier already.. Or perhaps I'm just taking it in stride.

comfort, nip shields don't take away the need to latch correctl... U still have to shove entire shield nipple into baby's mouth the instant it opens wide. Sorry for late response n I hope you're getting the hang of it by now!

<font color="cc0099"> bbjun, hiccuping is perfectly normal n healthy. It's mentioned in most books and as with possetting, is not a cause for concern. Both Kyle n my niece hiccup lots esp after feeds.

<font size="+1">newbie, congrats</font> on the arrival of your little sumo!!! She's really heavy!

<font color="cc0099"> <font size="+1">MORNING LATEST: </font> sweethalo's in hospital. Waters have broken n contractions set in, but dilation hasn't begun. Waiting for dr to see her in the morn, the poor girl. Should be popping her bub later today!!

Hoping all goes well for you, my dear!!</font>

Morning all,
woken by pain in my tummy! The pain was really bad! Thought I had contractions. Will monitor. Couldn't get back to sleep now.

SO happy for sweethalo! Now she is ahead of me by a day! And we were still posting last night regarding my induction on Fri! Congrats! Thanks for informing us, Cassey!

Congrats Newbie!

Congrats Newbie.

LFB, maybe Sweethalo &amp; ur bb will share e same bday. Do keep us posted, take care.

Cassey, thanks for e update. Hope she's doing well now. Wish her a smooth delivery.

So fast your boy is already a mth old, yet I m waiting for mine to pop, both Caramelle and Sweethalo has overtook me liao. Sob sob.

bbpotato,
think it's another freak incident! The pain was so bad that I instantly woke up! Now it's better. Though the pain still lingers. I know what you mean when you say pple are popping around you! I was feeling kan cheong too, when I hear news everyday. Hubby just tell me to be patient and wait for the right time! As for popping, you never know! You may start experiencing something soon!

Thanks bbjun for your well wishes. I managed to sleep a while yest in the late afternoon. Somehow towards the late afternoon, he settled down a little and progressed to 2 hr nap. I am wondering if the room is too bright in the day, thats why he is waking up every hour to feed. At nite, he can sleep for 3 hrs at a stretch. What do you guys think?

My baby is developing some rashes on his face. I think its due to the milk. Do you know if I can apply anything to make it go away. He is also starting to have a red bottom. I think its cos of the wiping with the wet wipes whenever he poops. I am currently applying the Avent magic cream for that. I am wondering if I should get the calendular cream.

For breastfeeding moms, I have learnt by experience that if you stick more of the bottom part of the aeola into baby's mouth, it helps to ease the pain. In the past, I used to just try to stuff as much aeola into baby's mouth but it still hurt but now i make sure that more of the bottom part goes in and its much better. Hope this helps some of the mums.

LFB,
i'm using the Lasinoh nipple cream, so far so good..

bbaugustine,
must wipe the mouth after latching each time..
I use desitin for my bb bottom, it is good at preventing redness.. drapoleon does not work well for my gal..

chidori there are 2 types of desitin cream. Which one do I get? Now that his bottom is red, I think I need to get something that treats the rash rather than prevent it.

Where do I get these creams from? I understand Gmarket has this desitin cream and the california calendula one? whats the website again?

today is 18th June..it's supposed to be my EDD.
and little Jarius is 2 wks old today. hurray!!

LFB,
nah, i think it's cos my gynae was gentle enough when he did VE on me... mayb ur gynae was too rough? dats y u felt it's damn pain? yeah mayb u din breathe in and out during VE is it? must breathe in and out den u wont feel the VE pain.

haha when he's out, u will prefer him still inside u..

wish u a smooth and fast labour on friday.
jiayou mummy!!! remember to do deep breathing...breathe in.....den breathe out!!!! it helps!!

chidori,
wow u power leh... contraction pain at 7min interval le u den make ur way to hosp...
steady lor, 7cm le den u requested for gas nia... ur pain tolerance super duper high sia. ;)

newbiemom, congrats!!!!

btw, Jarius keep stretching alot!!! why ar?? old folks say it's cos he's growing? wth??? and when he stretches, he makes alot of noise!!

bbaugustine,
me also using desitin... so far so good...
perhaps u can try using cotton bud dip in warm water den clean his butts after he poo den use wet wipes and den apply cream and change diaper... i realise dat using warm water to clean first instead of jus using the wipes helps the red butt or nappy rash heal faster.

Thanks Ahnetsan. I will trying using cotton balls to clean his butt cos i think its less rough than the wet wipes. I am currently using mustela barrier cream. There is no rash on his butt cheeks. It's just the anus area where the poo comes out that is red. I am currently applying the avent magic cream on the red area.

I am thinking if I get the calendula cream whether I can apply it on both the butt area as well as the face cos the face has some rash also prob due to the milk. I am now wiping his mouth area with wet cotton ball after each feed.

Where can i get this calendula cream?

bbaugustine,
i nt sure abt the calendula cream... sorry.

wow u even clean his mouth area after every feed. haha i dun, im so dirty mummy. heehee

face got red rash is it?

bbaugustine,
I using the creamy one as attached. I bought my first tube from spree, then 2 more tubes at TMC pharmacy (2 for $22)..

agree with ahnetsan, use the cotton bud dip in boiled water seems to help with nappy rash. I use a container to store all the soaked cotton bud and use it instead of wet wipes..

ahnetsan,
not say not pain, just that I keep telling myself that the pain will go away, so can tahan..
by the time I got to labour ward, the contraction came so fast that I just try to concentrate on my gas, no time to think liao

anyone knows if there is any cream I can use for my bb heat rash?

updates...

sweethalo is still 1cm dilated and is still waiting... and she's hungry but cannot eat...

more updates to come...

chidori : my baby also has rashes/ little pimples on her face.the LC at TMC Parentcraft told me yesterday not to do anything.just keep wiping her face with cotton wool dipped in cool boiled water a few times a day and it will go away by itself.

Bum Rashes : I am using tollyjoy wipes and destitin creamy for my girl.so far no problem at all since day 1.highly reccomended!!!

you can check the forum.i ordered from this seller before.she is very efficient and her desitin is ready stocks -

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2505227.html?1245047801

tiny bubu,
no prob.. ok i will try wiping the rash area with cotton balls.. my CL very lazy dun even give my gal a wipe in the evening, got to get my MIL to help me to do it..

morning mummies..jessma jus delivered today at 6.26am.. long labour starting frm 5.30am yesterday...

i wont be in later as i be at KKH to check my baby as tummy dame light like not much water &amp; not much movement frm bb too..so sms gyne &amp; he told us to go delivery ward to put me on CTG &amp; check the water bag..
hubby said if not much then induce loh so hope to see my baby soon too if okay

Annie,
yes, get it check. My OB also told me go in anytime to check, no need worry! All the best! You never know, we may be either a day different or give birth on the same day!

Chidori,
Thanks. Will remember that.

Ahnetsan,
he is very gentle, just that I hao lian, thought nothing! So when he put his fingers in, I was like OMG!!!! He tried to be very gentle, when he realised I am shocked from the pain, but the harm done liao! So no use liao! Anyway, epi is ordered and so tmr I just relax and wait for contractions to happen once they start to induce. Praying hard that the whole process won't be long! My sis' last induce lasted 12 hours!!!!

bbaugustine... i'm also using desitin cream... the same one as attached by chidori... can get from guardian pharmacy... but not all branch have... ask your hubby to help you buy if you're not allowed to go out... regarding milk rashes... other than on the face... you also have to take note of the neck too... if not cleaned properly, will develop milk line... so during wash up for bb... must pull up the skin at the neck to clean well...

tiny_bubu... i think i wanna buy the medela PIS too! i've tried it at the parentcraft centre and find it pretty worth to invest on one... currently using a loan set of avent single electric pump from my cousin in law... and i find it too time consuming! each cycle of pump, wash and sterlize is about an hr... cos can only pump 1 side each time... if pump 6 times a day, tat's a total of 6 hrs spent on being a moo moo cow being pumped...

tinybubu, thanks for sharing that tip on rashes. I was wondering what to do with those small spots coming up on my BB face. Worse, my CL refuses to stop using tissue as the hanky to absorb milk when bottle feeding him and then use that tissue to wipe his chin!!! now got 3 pimples there. not to mention on other parts of the face.

Thanks mummies for sharing info about what to do about rashes on face. They look like little pimples.

Innocent war, I will keep a lookout for any redness on the neck also. I think I saw a red spot behind the ears. I will have to conscientiously clean with wet cotton balls.

Tinybubu, I have PM the spree seller you recommended. I am thinking of buying the Desitin creamy and the California Calendula cream. very kiasu hor. I see my baby's butt red i heartpain=(

congrats to jessma &amp; chidori!

sweethalo,
so fast ur turn! happy for u.

bbPotato,
u r not alone... i m same as u, waiting @ home &amp; see pple popped everyday... sian hor.. :p

massage for c-sect,
notice some c-sect mummies wanted to massage &amp; my recommendation is do it 1 mth after operation will b better. cos although external wound is heal, internal wound take some times to heal also. my gynae also told me during my #1 to massage after 1 mth. safer lah.

Superbee,

Few days nvr c u online liao, tot u went to deliver already. So what's e deadline dat woody set for u? Or he's ok with u being overdue.

Ya lor. Every morng, my frens will msn me whether got symptoms already or not.
Each 1 give me a diff date to pop. Haha

I hv ordered gelato fr e bp. Hope after eating, he's happy to pop over the weekend.

medela pis : i ordered mine 2nd hand on ebay for $200. alternatively, you can rent them on a monthly basis from The Toy Rental Club.

Desitin : i put it on for my girl every time i change her diaper and one 2oz tube can last 2 weeks so quite ok.

Rashes on face : it's also due to baby being too heaty.

Donut : Sure,will try and let you know.

i just bought a quinny buzz and medela pis on ebay.now looking for good deals on my brest friend nursing pillow and a bumbo seat....

re. pimples on bb, pd noticed them on zach too when i brot him back on mon for jaundice test. he said its bcoz when in our tummy, our hormones level are higher than the bb.. these are like bb pimples. he prescribed a cream for zach but say to leave it unless its really serious. i am trying to see if calendula cream works for them..

i am using desitin creamy for his buttocks too.

hey mummies, is FM more fulling than BM? Bcos usually I feed soren 60ml of FM but yesterday I managed to expressed 90 ml of BM from 3 pumping sessions. So I fed him all. But he kept crying for more. My mil says BM is 'lighter' so not fulling. In e end I have to top up another 30ml of FM.

Thanks for all the oil and the well wishes!
Before I got time to do the OT,let me update my birth story:
Chk in at 6:30am
6:45am Went to observation ward, gynae come n check still not dilated and no contraction so decided to go c-sec.
7:00am Wheel to OT, preparing for anesthetics, the anesthethist is Dr Wan and he prefers GA, but I insist on Epi.
Administered Epi,can't breath! Dr Wan ask me to relax, put on oxygen mask,and threaten to GA me if I still cannot cope! OKOK, I calm down...
7:30am hubby waiting outside to come into OT
7:40am hubby allowed to come in, I was already cut up, baby about to be out!
7:46am baby Kendrick was born! And he shitss straight away, wonder if any of it left inside my womb. The Dr told my hubby that the tears in my eyes is due to the reaction of the Epi (not that I'm touch) hahaha
Anyway, was feel like vomiting when I tried to concentrate on baby too.
9:00am already wheel to my room. Was not feeling that great and baby cannot come yet
11:00am Baby came! But first attempt of breastfeeding failed. On second attempt, LC Sara came and help to latch Kendrick on! And well,didn't know he's such a big sucker yet.

Day 2
PD warned me that cos my blood type is diff fr him, he got higher chance of jaundice.
Busy feeding him... high demand baby, and yeah doesn't look or act like a new born! Thot all he needs is just very little, I'm wrong
Drink for half and hour and still cranky, nurse suggest that he's still hungry,and yes, he is! Nipple starts to get sore!
The whole day is just feeding and feeding and feeding

Day 3
PD has checked on Kendrick, he's lost almost 10% of his birth wt on the 1st 2 days, and is developing jaundice. As my milk has not come in yet,colustrum is not satitisfying to him cos his big size. She advised that I got to supplement my BM w FM and force feed him every 3 hours today+ photo therapy and hopefully he can be discharged tomorrow.
So today I will only allow him to suck 15 min on each sides,then FM every 3 hourly. Hopefully will all the liquid, I can bring him home tomorrow.
Hahaha PD said my nipple will get worse once the milk comes tomorrow. And I've already asked for nipple cream to apply.

Desitin creamy - mummies using this on their babies, is the cream v difficult to clean off? Cos I use this a couple times a day, the rest of the time I use petroleum jelly as a barrier (works great!), and whenever I use the Desitin on Skyla, it gets stuck in all the creases, especially around the privates, e.g. in the labia folds, very difficult to come off. Is this normal??

sweethalo, jiayou! Your baby won't be the youngest afterall! Hehe
We can go gaigai together again real soon!

LFB, good luck for tomorrow, all the best!!

dolly, first few days can get very tough, so just hang in there, you can do it! Continue to jiayou!

fatmom, the cream my doc gave me is called Conazole Cream. The paper inside says "Conazole is a combination of corticosteroid, an antibiotic and an anti-fungal". Guess it's just to prevent infection... My stitches have dissolved, doc just snipped off the 2 knots at the ends, and there is no more dressing over it, so can see what it looks like. I asked if I need to buy my own waterproof dressing like OpSite to paste over, he said no need, it's safe to shower like that. He said if I'm really scared/KS, I can paste plastic sheet over it, then remove and throw after shower. Which doesn't make sense to me, cut from plastic bag ah? And paste with what, masking tape? I didn't ask, cos I know I wouldn't bother haha. So I just shower as per normal, then make sure I dry the wound very well, then apply cream over it. Then at night apply once more, morning also apply. I try to get hubby to apply for me, since I still can't see the wound very well, tummy is in the way haha.

bbPotato,
oh i m hybernating for the past few days lah.. :p last wk woody only ask me to see him tmr if i still havent popped by tonite... haiz .. my #1 overdue so i dunno if he will let me overdue for #2 but he keep watching out for my bb weight cos he will drag me straight to c-sect once bb is close to the weight of #1.
so do u have prefered date of when bb to be out? this sat or father day?
u so nice to ur bb, ordered gelato some more... i nasty to mine ah cos i eat bread for lunch now &amp; don't let her grow too much weight....whaahaa.... i m a evil mum hor.... :p

hi mums, my dad got me a binder from bangkok n it worked for me so just wanted to share with all the mums n if anyone wants to order as well? he will be coming back at the end of this month with the binders.

pm me for details!

re:binder
its $35 for 1 binder, only one colour - nude colour with some design on it.. very thin material.

3 hooks and sizes S, M n L.

S - waist 23-28 inches
M - waist 29 - 35 inches
L - 35 inches onwards

the entire length of the binder:

S - 23 - 25 inches (from 1st hook to last hook)
M - 26 - 28 inches
L - 29 - 31 inches

2584241.jpg

2584242.jpg

Dolly,
congrats! Hopefully I can deliver naturally tmr! Rest well and take good care of yourself!

Just had lychee! NTUC was selling this bagfuls of lychee and they looked real good! I can't resist and bought 1 bag! Boy, was I glad! They were sweet, juicy and huge! I ate half pack when I came back and just now finished the rest! Satisfaction! Now I can deliver happily!