(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

congrats to all mommies that have popped!

I guess my gal is the champion among those bb that have popped...

Born: 3 Jun
Wt: 3.630kg
Head: 35cm
Length: 50cm
natural + epi

Sweethlo, pls help me to update..thanks

here my birth story

2 jun
11.30pm schedule to induce

3 jun
12.15am put on CTG to monitor bb heartbeat & contraction but suddenly I felt water gushes & suspected tat waterbag burst. Nurse came to check & say tat I'm 2cm dilated so no need to induce. remain @ observation ward till 6am.

6am transfer to labour ward

8.45am OB checked cervix still remain @ 2cm & waterbag not burst so she burst the waterbag & put me on drip & I ask for epi.

2.15pm OB checked again..dilated 3cm only & was told that only evening can give birth..

4.35pm midwife checked & ask me get ready to push got to hold on to bb's head for awhile before OB arrived. After 3 pushes, kaley finally out..

a total of 16hrs..

mommies
does ur bb poo after u bf? cos after each feed, k will poo.. is it normal?

Ahnet
k also will sleep thru every feed & she will suck only for like 10 to 15min & back to her sleep again
wat i do is after her feed I'll just pump out the remaining BF & store them up..

aiyo! kaley so cute!!!! muakz!

congrats ahnetsan, saw the pics in facebook.. very cutie =D dont get too stressed up over bf k, me cried oso during the 1st week, things will definitely get better!

Creamer: Wish you have a safe and easy birth!

kikismom: Congrats! Kaley really cute, so fast wicking at you already! I heard it's normal that baby poo after/during feed especially for bf baby.

SkylerMum: So early! Doing shift or cannot sleep also?

Kikismom,
Kaley really very cute and chubby! So adorable! Somemore winking! Congrats!

Creamer,
All the best! I am so envious! Wondering when it's my turn!

Couldn't sleep again, woke up at 5 something so decided to do washing and emailing. Later will start work as I have been putting off my work all these while. Going to PS to meet hubby for lunch later as he took half day today. Now it's the dreadful waiting game! Mum commented my tummy still high, shouldn't be now. Yesterday came from home from her place with 1 bottle of home made glutinous rice wine(2 more to bring back), the milk bottle sterilizer, some baby stuff and the herbs for bathing. Dad only bought 10 packs, so I asked him where got enough??? Told him more, cos I prob will bath everyday! WIth this heat, how to tahan???

congrats to all mummy....

Ahnet, dun be disheartened..jiayou!

Kikis, ur princess is so cute n cheeky!

Dogle, rest well n hope u recover soon...

cant sleep the whole nite..haven catch a wink..been really itchy these few weeks..the rashes are killing me..tink is a case of PUPP. hate it..

there's tightening of tummy esp in the nite..wonder isit contractions?

morning...

and congrats to those who have popped!!

ahnestan, dont be disheartened. when breasts are engorged, it will be more difficult for the bb to latch on, cos the nipple kinds of sinks into the breast - er..... not very good description. what i do is try to hold the breast for him to latch on.

crying is a form of relieve... i also cried a few times. some out of tiredness esp when bb has been waking up almost every hour at night for feeding...

chidori, my bb sleeps with CL in another room and whenever he wants a feed, CL will bring him to my room and wake me up. it'll be fine if ur hb dont mind an outsider seeing him sleep. ha...

my bb tends to "play" before latching on and it can take 10 mins. common?? and he tends to feed every hour these few days....... common?

is it true that tbf bb can still be a bit jaundiced??? suddenly seems to me that bb looks like having jaundice despite sun bathing him every morning. kind of scared and wondering to bring him to PD

morning ladies!!!!

ahnetsan : how are you feeling now?better, i hope?

i'm going to see gynae today for my post natal check up.going to pop into kiddy palace as well to get a bottle for sophie so hubby can start to bottle feed her my ebm.

any ideas what to get?

i tried the tommee tippee pone and the evenflo one i have at home but she totally rejected it.

any mummies here using a different bottle to feed their darling babies?can share with me what type of bottle?

also if there a method to introducing the bottle to baby?

lovelytulips : why dont you call up your PDs office to check first.Sophie's PD said if in doubt, to call his clinic (kinderclinic) and tell the nurse our concern.the nurse will check with him and call us back with instructions on how to manage it at home OR if we should come in to see him.

bbpotato : thanks! i'll try that. hopefully she is ok with that otherwise will be very tough to train her to drink from bottle...

good morning mummies!

congrats to all mummies who popped!

lfb
i having insomnia too but its the getting to sleep part. last 2 nights can only sleep at 2am+, mayb its the anxiety bb is coming out soon but dunno when?

creamer
mayb i will get to see you at mt a since i gg for induce on 10 jun.. mayb sooner if bb decides to come out these 2 days..

tinybubu
i tink avent or pigeon are the popular brands. pigeon teats are supposed to be shaped near to nipple shape...

Morning ladies...sry didnt really come online after my last post..is been 5days since i deliver..now not so painful and can walk like normal le..lol last few days hubby was saying i like old lady walking..congrats to those other mums that popped do enjoy the moment now..

I've uploaded some pics of my little boy on my blog
http://www.elusive-charm.blogspot.com/

Split: Wow, you are back in action! How to access your blog huh? My arrow become a cross

Creamer: HuaJing is already at MtA waiting for c-sec today, so if you are admitting today or tomorrow, you two will be at MtA together then!

yeah~ just click on the wording on the right side "confession" is where i blog..i go eat my lunch and pump my milk out later will blog abt the confinement food i cater for myself..

Dear all, admited in tmc now after spotting at 11am. Getting painful contractions n at 1.5cm dilation now. Hb tryg to find a flight to fly back now. Hopefully can make it in time. Gynae not Ard this week. Sigh.. Have to b delivered by stand in gynae.
wish me luck.

<font color="aa00aa">Good luck bbjun all the best!!

re: confinement food
newbaby delivery got some offer at the motherhood fair.. think $100 off..
too bad my maid cant take care of baby.. if not i can save $$.. now will be having CL and maid.. siong..

oh yah, among all the mummies who delivered liao, anyone used babyplus??

So how?? got effect?? =)

my boy very active these days.. seems more and more active.. and it's getting a bit harder to walk now (like nerves in the leg keep getting hit).. Now really looking forwrad to the delivery sia.. harder and harder to sleep hmmm</font>

bbjun: Good luck to you, and yes, end of waiting game! Hopefully your hubby can come back ontime!

split: What a cute little Go

<font color="cc0099"> <font size="+1">congrats, bbAug &amp; doglefox!!!</font> Hope you recuperate fast and well!

<font size="+1">bbjun</font>, all the best! I'm sure stand-in obgyn will take good care of you and hope that hubby gets back ASAP and get to you before you pop! Keep us posted yeah?!

sweethalo &amp; bbjun, thanks!! I'm glad... Many others are crying too... just that they don't announce it.

+ Whoa, last night was crazy. Kyle nursed for an hour - which is able to satisfy him 70% of the time... but he wouldn't sleep... in the end we topped up with ebm 1ounce at a time. HE DEVOURED A TOTAL OF FOUR OUNCES ON TOP OF NURSING!! It took from 9pm to 1am before he finally had enough and fell asleep!! The same thing happened in the aftnn. He nursed 11am-12nn, and we were topping up with 1oz ebm at a time til 2pm. It completely throws his feeding out of whack! I hope the same thing doesn't happen today.

+ Aiya! Chey. It really is likely to be growth spurt la. Apparent the first is 7-10 days, the second is 2-3 week. So it is possible that he had one at 2 weeks and another now. He doesn't seem to be growing that much anyway. Humph! SUNDAY IS HIS FULL MONTH BASH!!! SO FAST!!

bubu~, usually bottle feeding is not recommended in conjunction with nursing at the breast. Best is supposedly cup-feeding but I find that really messy. I've tried syringe, dropper, as well as bottle feeding too. And now for ebm top-ups, I'm sticking to dropper feeding. Then hubby can help some nights so you can rest. How did Sophie's passport photo op go?! Successful?

+ Bottles are just bottles, teats are just teats. Baby can reject even the best, more expensive, most well-marketed bottles leh. Kyle has had 4 bottle feedings before - 1 Avent, 1 Pigeon, 2 Medela. He was fine with every single one. Can I just say that with NB teats, I've found that Avent's is ridiculously fast-flowing..? It's crazy. Kyle finished 1 ounce in about 1-2 minutes flat. Justus says it's like being on drugs. ZZZzzooooppp! and then high.

+ Little Kyle's also fine with suckling on the nipple shield and anyone's little finger. He even attempts to suck hubby's chest and the arm of whoever happens to be holding him when he gets hungry
He's also been good with dropper, syringe and cup... although he did express a bit of unpleasant surprise in the beginning. Eyes wide, forehead all wrinkled up and mouth in a big O. Don't intend to start him on a dummy. The only thing he doesn't like is my flat nipple!!

sweethalo, skali your little guy do OT inside the womb... then you'll wait til your neck stretches to Jurong!!

ahnet~, do you keep him swaddled? Remove the swaddle if you do. Don't give him a comfy snug reason to sleep. Unswaddle him before you put him to the breast and keep waking him up by tickling his ear, tapping his chin, rubbing his head, pulling his hand, etc. etc... I hope it improves! NBs are always sleepy - especially when jaundiced, they're even more lethargic. Yellowish milk can be hind milk. It's yellowish cos of higher fat content. Fore milk is more white and dilute. Colostrum is usually a pale milky colour - almost colourless sometimes.

Re: 3-hr feeding,
ahnet~, don't wanna scare you, but Tubbym~ was sharing with me how after too much time, baby's blood sugar level drops and they go into energy conservation (or hibernation) mode. So they won't cry for food anymore. The 3-hrly feeding is extremely taxing going by the book cos it's START of one feed to START of next. (I think this is the 3rd time I'm saying this) I hope it reassures you that my PD said if you have a baby that sleeps, jolly good. 3-4hrs is still ok. But <u>try to make sure he doesn't go without a feed for >5hrs.</u> I hope he cooperates!

capriho &amp; ahnet, that "inject thing" is syringe feeding lor.

chidori, while you have her services, why not make full use of it instead of leaving her to sleep at night?
Personally, I'd ask her to bring baby in to me for nursing, but discreetly la.
Or she can tap on the door and I go out to nurse if don't wanna disturb hubby.

creamer, Ooooo!!! Haha! I just said it and here we go!! All the best!

<font size="+1">Congrats, Kikismom!</font> She's absolutely gorgeous!!

l'tulips, still hourly feeding at this stage?! You must be exhausted, poor mummy.
How long is each nursing session? Is baby a lazy sucker?

kikismom, congrat &amp; yr kaley is super cute leh!

creamer, jia you...2moro i will b at MT A might b able to mit u!!

hey all! mi juz back fm gyane check up hv done VE chk say dilate abit but nv tell mi how many cm...if 2nite still no show yet will mit gynae 2moro 3pm at MT A!

kikismom,
my Jarius also will poo after breastfeeding...at times he will poo halfway thru sucking! den after dat he will cry and we will change his diaper... it's yellowish-greenish shit. it's normal right?

lovelytulips,
thanks for the encouragement.
will jiayou

tinybubu,
yeah, i've also bottle fed my bb le.. hb will bottle feed him... i stil cant latch on well on my right breast, so i will pump out the right side and store it for bottle feed. i buy the NUK rubber latex teat as it's more similar to nipple. i used it on the NUK glass bottle.

bbpotato,
thanks, im feeling better today, today my boy got wake up.

bbjun,
jiayou!! you can do it!!!

Cassey: Always nice to read your posts! BTW, did you copy it somewhere? Guess can make it to become a journal! With all the tips and stuff!

<font color="cc0099"> ahnet~, ermm... actually ah, according to literature I've read, babies still don't know to fuss abt a dirty diaper at this age.
Hubby and I kept thinking Kyle cried during feeding cos of diaper. So I used to interrupt nursing sessions to change him.
But now that nursing was sorted out, he feeds well - dirty diaper or not.</font>

cassey,
yeah i've unswaddled Jarius when i breastfeed him... btw, do u still swaddle ur boy now? mine so far has no jaundice yet. hopefully dun haf!

so dat means breast milk is yellowish?
colostrum is pale milky colour?

den is it still wise to follow the feeding 3hrly in the day time?

wah i dun interrupt the nursing sessions even though my boy has pooed.. i jus let him be, until he cries den we will change for him. haha

btw, anyone knw wat to expect at PD's visit? my bb needs to see PD for review tmr. wat am i supposed to expect?

dolly, my due is actualli 2moro...so 2dae when check up gyane say go deliver 2moro if still no sign 2nite...so was tinking ok la since hv been in waiting game since last wk le! so might b able to mit them there!

<font color="cc0099"> *beams at dolly*. Hey, thanks! That's such a nice thing to say!
Nope, I don't copy it anywhere. I thought abt it for my preggie journal, but seriously doubt I'll read it very often...

ahnet~, yes. I still swaddle Kyle but only at nights when it's time to really sleep. They still don't have good control over their arms and sometimes the jerky movements can actually wake them up when they're trying to sleep.

+ Breastmilk is made up of fore milk and hind milk. When your milk 'lets down', fore milk comes first - it's thirst quenching for baby. After fore milk, comes hind milk... richer and higher in fat content to fill baby's little tum-tum and help him put on weight.

+ PD visit tmr. Expect strangers to engage you in conversation about your little boy! *kekeke* Nah la... sometimes they take weight and measure length. Sometimes not this shortly after birth. Dr will ask you about his poo and check for jaundice. You can do a quick visual check yourself... press down firmly in the middle of his forehead or chest and see if the resulting split second depression is yellowish.

jam75, YOUR TIME IS COMING SOON!!! I hope you're all prepared to welcome the little fella!</font>

PD's visit : mine was last Saturday.it was so classic.We registered Sophie.Nurse weighed her.She was born 3kg.When we left the hospital,she was 2.88kg.On Sat, she was 3.12kg so at least i'm happy.

Then nurse didnt know how to swaddle her back as she was using the Kiddopotamus swaddle me.so i had to do it.

When it was her turn to see PD, he checked her eyes,taught us how to clean the umbilical cord as it had dropped off the day before and told us that she shouldnt be swaddled and have socks on in Singapore's weather!!!

then in less than 5 mins, the consultation was over and he said to bring her back in 2 months to start her 6in1 jabs.

we were charged ...(drum roll please) ... $89 for that consult.

cassey : didnt go see gynae today.sophie's having the same problem as kyle.so decided against it...

pui.... what i wouldnt give for a good nap.

fifi, it was recommended by doc ang to go thru c-sect since my no1 was c-sect..hubby dont wanna take the 1% risk that bb might die is natural birth so we choose csect

<font color="cc0099"> bubu, Haha! Nap-times are pretty much gone with the wind. I think I've missed mine liao.
Kyle's usually in just a short-sleeved top and his diaper, else shorts, plus mittens and socks/booties.
In a/c, we'll throw a towel over his sleeping basket.

HAIYA!!! I thought I managed to weasel my way out of having ginger. Only to find ginger in my chicken porridge now.
I think mum's starting me on it liao. *WAIL*

hi ladies, i'm feeling all excited reading all the advise and comments by so many mummies... still waiting for my gal to arrive... another 2.5 weeks to EDD...

congrats to those who popped and all the best to those popping soon!

<font color="cc0099"> WHOA! So that's bbjun, jam75 &amp; fatmom all scheduled to pop in the next 24 hrs or so...! EXCITING TIMES!</font>

cassey, i am now doing OT at super fast speed.. trying to see what to prepare.. totally not prepared.. mentally.. havent fix the chinese name too.. and so many things to do.. any mom with csec experience to share.. my ops is at 2pm

<font color="cc0099"> fatmom, is it Caesarian under GA or epidural?
Don't worry, you can wait til you meet your little one before deciding what chinese he looks like

Have a good dinner tonight!!

not sure.. should be under epidural or spinal thingy.. definitely wont want to do under GA.. my bb is a girl.. name is amelia..

no time for good dinner.. maybe just a simple ebi tempura.. cos 1 mth no prawn..

my last checkup was last sat.. doc gave us a choice to do csec or natural.. he has been pro natural all this while.. but bb is really growing too big.. and he thinks it could be quite tramatic for the bb to go thr the natural way esp when it is still in a posterior position and quite high up.. btw last sat bb was 3.6kg..

<font color="cc0099"> fatmom, WHOA! Little sumo!! All the best tmr!
I'm doing some research now and see if I can catch an hr's nap before Kyle wakes for next feed.</font>

hello to all mommies..

back frm my checkup... gyne said dilated abit only &amp; i put on 1kg so now 61kg.. baby wt is 3.1kg

as my boy still refuse to come out i was given another 2 weeks HL... &amp; 23rd is the las day for him to pop out &amp; i nid to be induce...
then normal delivery..
tonite must insert the pills for the infection when going to bed..

congrats to all mommies that have pop today

bbjun &amp; creamer, jiayou!!!

ahnetsan, my bb now sleep thru most of the night leh, sometimes as long as 8 hours, cannot ah??

kikismom, kayle's realli adorable!!

<font color="cc0099"> neeciel, that's lovely, isn't it?! Kyle used to be able to sleep for abt 6 hrs! But sadly, I don't think it's advisable at this point.</font>