(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Nite nite TubbyM - hv u tried the small packets of Anlene.. tastes much better... i like the choc flavour one... yummy

dolly -yeah... and i thot wah how come i so lucky, go NTUC then straight away got this Aussie recipe MILO starring at me at the entrance and on promo somemore...

Sweethalo: hehe, no wonder, so likely the one at Jelita also Australian Recipe, nevermind lah, buy later when I need it then.

Nite! Should sleep liao!

Baby Pouch vs Baby Sling : i guess it's a matter of preference.i looked at the MIM baby pouch and realised it's the same price as pupsik.

Why dont you go to the Pupsik pushcart at vivo to try out the pouch first before you make a decision....

i have a baby bjorn and a maclaren quest which will fit baby quite well when she's about 3 months and over.however, i'm wondering about how to go about keeping baby with me from now till 3 months...so realised might as well get a baby pouch.

some mummies love the sling but others like me have problems using the sling as they find it too complicated...
i'm a total idiot when it comes to stuff like that,might as well get the pouch.

i'm stuck at home with baby so i cannot go...=[

cassey : thanks for the advice.sophie woke up for a feed and when she started fallng asleep at the boob,i kept tickling her ear to wake her up and she'll suck some more.she must have found me very annoying...but at least my boobs will feel better for the next few hours...

btw,she's really comfy in the snuggle nest and hubby is saying we will dismantle the baby cot tomorrow and keep in the storeroom...

looks like bubs is sleeping with us for the next 4 months...

ugggh,hubby wants to bring baby back to melbourne to see his family and show off his mini-me.... i wonder if baby needs her own passport or she can share mine???

hmmmm......

if hubby had it his way,we'll be going tomorrow......

so i think soon.i'm trying to tell him we can go after 4 months but not really sure what's the correct age for an infant to travel....

createjoy, I really wanted to deliver naturally, see my baby first hand when she was born.. I had a chat with one of the TMC staff, she's a single mother, she said when she was pregnant with her daughter, her gynae also detected irregular heartbeat, but she was monitored for 3 days, and then had induced, natural delivery, hearing that I felt a bit upset, as why my gynae couldn't monitor the irregular heartbeat, each time I went for the regular visit, I was only on the u/s for a few seconds, just for him to see the bb's h/beat still there, not even measure bb's details or my weight.. then during labour, yes, my spotting was with mucus, but none of the nurses check properly if I should deliver that day, and my gynae only arrives in the afternoon (after I'm being there for 8 hours and took the epi shot), he didn't check much except the dilation and broke my waterbag.. I did ask to wait for a few moer hours when he suggested C-sect, but he said it'll be risky for baby.. now come to think of it, maybe if I didn't go to TMC so fast, Elena could've been born a few days later or even a week, I was too paranoid about the spotting and ends up with the wrong hands and the wrong people.. createjoy, if you found spotting with mucus, try to monitor for a few hours, and see how it goes, if it's still there, go to your gynae first and check the contractions and dilation before going to hospital.. at the hospital, dun panic and stay calm, it'll help you to make the right decisions, I learnt fast from my mistakes
all the best for your BiG day

crystal, thanks!
yeah.. milk supply still very very low.. all the newborn clothings are too big on Elena still, she's wearing my old baby clothes now (handmade by my grandma last time), but still quite big on her as well..

dolly, thanks for the encounragement, I've friend who told me that BM supply should be increasing with BF-ing, starting from 2nd wks onwards for her case.. I've just pumped 25ml, much better than last week's of 10ml.. either way, tomorrow or MOnday I'm going to call the LC (lactation consultant) recommended by Cassey, just to ensure I don't have milk duct or engorgement.. a friend of mine had engorgement, use cold cabbage, but after that her milk supply drop..

Blurmom, thanks for 'pump oil' for me
and thanks for updating Elena's details too *hugz*

TubbyM, I was shaking quite vigorously from the epi shot, and prior to the whole thing I've mentioned that my pain threshold is quite low, so taking from that, my gynae suggested GA, and in the midst of confusion, and anxious of my bb's safety, we agreed to that, looking back, not only I'd never agree to C-sect, I'd probably wait for half a day before calling and going to hospital..

bbaugustine, jam75, bbpotato, sweethalo thanks!

Cassey, lemme know when you're back @home.. the nipple shield, couldn't find the size for me leh.. oh, after feed, try to burb Kyle as much as u can.. with Elena, as long as she still not burping yet, still got gas in the tummy, she won't sleep either..

Re: BF -- heard about a supplement called More Milk Plus from Motherlove, a friend took Fenugreek as well, anyone has tried either one of these ? Does it really work ?

I'm on the night shift now... *sleepy*..

couldn't sleep! Now my sleeping time getting shorter and shorter! I went to bed at 11pm and by 3-4pm, I am awake! Now surfing net and watch TV! Tday need to return to office in the morning, so later will go for breakfast first! Sigh! Thinking of going to Taka fair, but lazy leh! I think of the crowd in Orchard and the heat I sian liao! Ha ha ha!

Ling,
so sorry to hear that! I am wondering why doc are persistant at times to go for C section. For us, when we heard that baby in distress, we will definitely give in, cos we respect their professional judgement and worried abt bb. Sigh! I am also giving birth in TMC, hope everything will be ok! Anyway, at least all over and bb is fine! Congrats again!

Cassey,
thanks for the info on BM. Hopefully can maintain the supply and demand.

LFB: I also can't sleep back after waking up at 3:30am! Now just login since I was just tossing and turning in my bed. Still got to go back to work today? Actually since you love to work so much, why not u dun stop work for the year, but rather work from home, work on alternative days or half day?
Taka fair is good leh, if you have something to buy, should drop by, no heat lah,all air-con! I was sitting at the elevated platform for the strollers when I feel tired :p

Ling: It's not uncommon for mothers to regret about the birthing experience. in fact, the founder of the hypnobirthing method had 2 unpleasant birth experience in her time before she's able to birth her way. Since this is your first birth, of course you will feel anxious and at a lost at times. However, it's already over and Elena is doing fine now, try to forget about it and hope for a better birth next round! I hope that my baby's birth will be a easy natural one and that my gynae follow our birth plan. And yeah, during my class, we were advised not to go hospital so soon (wait till contraction is 90 sec long) and to question the doctor his decision, but that is supposed to be done by my birthing companion (my hubby in this case) cos mothers are supposed to be concentrating on the birthing and nothing else.

dolly,
my job is such that I can't work part time nor from home. It needs me to be there personally! DH also knows I like my work very much, that's why he told me to consider carefully! My bosses even told me that I prob will be in depression, cos I will miss work! LOL!!! Anyway, I am prepared to be lost and sad for the first few months. I am more of a FTWM than a SAHM.

Really cannot be so selfish and insist my in laws or my parents to take care for us. I spoke to my in laws yesterday. Can sense her relief when I told her I won't trouble her to take care of my bb. Actually, she isn't nasty to dislike taking care of kids, it's just that she is tired of taking care of 4 kids and now she have to take care of small ones. God is good and provided us with sufficient income and savings for next year. I just count myself bless that we can work things out on our own.

Taka
Actually I am tired to travel there! After work later will be around 2pm. If I were to go, I will end up being home around 6pm. Tmr still have handover to consider and need to pack my desk! Sigh. Wondering should I go! I love Taka sales, esp those that give members additional 10% discount!

Now in office, yawn! Just had my wan tan mee fix! Feeling sleepy and tired but havr tyo focus! Ha ha ha!

wah very tired these few days!!! sooo heavy. lumbering away...

been having the vagina pains more frequently, and more BH too. uncomfortable..

LFB: No worries, you won't regret the coming 1 year of SAHM. In any case, your company will always welcome you should u decided to come out from it earlier.

Just go Taka lah, since you are already outside, there won't be another 10% day until after our confinement. By then we might be so busy with baby that no time to buy

amk_gal: Yeah, more varginal pain nowadays, BH also quite a lot, but it's very bearable, just do slow breathing and it'll be gone in no time!

morning to all mommies & MTB..

ling congrats..

i realise now tummy getting more lighter & dropping..wonder is it my water bag start dilated.. my hands r not so swollen as before ..
& yah experience cramps on the below part

saw the updates table & OMG dolly mum how come u moving frm top to the middle(LOL)...scare i really might overtake u

Annie: Yeah, my EDD is moving backwards now! Tummy dropping might means that baby is getting engaged, but like Cassey says, engaged is not dilation. There might still be some time before baby coming out ba

Dolly- ??? EDD can move backwards??? (confuse)
feel like going back to work 2morow to clear my stuff but hubby will not let me go cos gyne already told us most properly our boy be popping out next week..

now clearing & cleaning up the room & hubby helping my parents moping the whole hse & doing the laundry & the bedsheet..

Annie: Hope handing over work is NOT the nesting instinct! I think depends on you ba, are you feeling better now? If not, dun push yourself hor!

Think of going Vivo city now, maybe can check out the pupsik pouch there. Just woke up not long ago, haven't got food yet, super hungry!

Dolly- yah i feeling alrite except when i walk below be painful...
so must walk very very slow

wow so late.. me already had pork porridge & a muffin & a cup of chocolate milk

yah an a mango too
u better go find food to eat.. dont make yr bb hungry

Dolly,
Yep, will probably enjoy so much that I don't want to go back! Taka? Think will give it a miss! I am even lazy to go NTUC, but need to get milo, mee sua and yogurt! I think I will drag hubby go later in the afternoon! Will hail a cab from my building and go home, sian!

Annie,
yes, very tired and I realised the pain at V area can be quite uncomfortable. I just make sure I get lots of bb movement everyday! I just had vegetarian been hoon, yummy!

Congrats to all mummy who already popped!

Caramelle & Annie,yesterday my husband stay at home and i go to library while kiddy palace's staff setting up the baby cot,and we put baby cot in our hall after that put all other bag and bedding set in baby cot,havent unpack yet.When the two staff came then i quickly go out wait until the two staff go off and after my husband cleaned home then i came back.;)

Cassey,yesterday i read from book can start baby massage after baby two weeks expect leg.so by the time massage go there don't think it's suitable for baby massage time.. thinking about do it by ourself and can talk to our baby also.. hehe.. Good to hear that the massage really loosens the knotted muscles for you.. after that you can ask your husband help you continue relax massage..

Amk_gal,we are visiting same gynae,she will be on leave next week.

My saturday checkup update:
Baby's weight:2.9KG this two weeks gain 200 gm,i asked gynae whether it's ok,gynae told me it's just estimated weight,next appointment need go to ADC for more detail estimation.
Did VE-not dilate yet and my baby not engaged yet.My mum ask me walk and excise more.My qn is,is it because we lack of excise that's why not our baby engaged yet?
My next appointment will be on 8-June-2009.need go to KKH half hour earlier for detail estimation after that gynae appointment.

amk_gal/dolly, I have also been feeling the vaginal pain and the more frequent BH that last for a longer time. Think its because baby is heavier and the uterus is practising for the impending labour?

Dolly, you should be abt 39 weeks tomorrow rite? since your EDD is now 2 days after my EDD.

I am still eating frequently. I never knew eating can be so tiring until I was preggie.

tiny bubu
the pain you are experiencing when you have full of milk is known as letdown. it's gd to be able to get bb to suckle when you feel the pain and hardening. this way, bb also get to drink the milk.

if you have engorgement and wish to relieve it as it's not bb feeding time yet, you can try either hot compression or cold compression. have a hot bath or used a hot towel to press against your breasts. cold compression would be using chilled cabbage leave but do note that cold compression would reduce supply.

LFB- i don mind my boy movement being rough but the pain at the virginal is really painful.. my friend was telling me natural birth be more painful than the pain i experience now..

vegetarian bee hoon.. did have tat las week for breakfast..hehehehehe

jessma- 8 june is also my appt date at KKH but gyne said unless my boy pop out earlier then not nid to see him anymore on tat date kekekekeke

i been walking alot during my pregnancy now jus move slow...

Annie,my gynae told me the same thing.. hehe.. she said see me on 8 june unless my bb pop out earlier then her another colleague will help me for delivery,also senior consultant,i forgot the gynae's name.. Will you go ADC for scan on 8 June?How often you walking everyday?I just easy to get sweaty when i walk outside.. hehe... like go out wash my dress... kekeke...

jess ma, my mom also tell me to walk and exercise more to ease delivery. my SIL tells me to do squatting exercise to help bb engage. i did both. but not last day of 40 weeks liao, bb still not engage. and with more walking, i realized my legs are more swollen. haha.

aniway, i going to see my gyne tml. if bb still not out, we will induce le. aiyo, my bb happy inside dun want to come out. becoming overdue le. guess i will be the 1st overdue mom here. hee.

Jessma- how come not yr gyne help u deliver? mine is as i booked the premium package, it be my gyne who be deliver for me & no one else

my gyne said not nid to go for any detail scan at ADC as they only do for me one time on the 5th mth if i remember correctly

if my hubby didnt send me to work i nid to walk frm jur east MRT to IMM building which takes me about 20mins..las time when i m not pregnant, within less than 10mins i can reach IMM..hahahaha now walked like old lady carrying a big ball of joy ..
i used not to sweat so much las time but now pregnant i sweat alot & nid to take shower 5-6 times per day. if i don bath so many times i will feel itchy & sticky & i hate it

Bing- dont worry u be seeing yr baby soon

Bing, so tomorrow you will go and induce already? I'm just past 39 weeks and thinking if baby will be overdue or not. But my baby engaged since 36 weeks, however no sign that he wants to come out. I try to do some walking everyday also. Shopping also considered walking hor?=P

Annie, I bathe about 2-3 times per day because the weather is very hot. Usually I will come back and bathe after I have been out. Cannot tolerate the stickiness. Nowadays I walk like an old lady also. Even my mum can outwalk me haha. I think my hands are starting to swell a little cos when I clench my fist, it feels a little sore.

crystal,

thanks for the advice.a warm shower really helped.
baby suckled a lot last night and slept well.only to wake up 3 times for feeding.

today she woke up at 12pm and i thought it was time for a feeding but she just wanted to suck on my boob and look around acting very alert.after a while she would drift off to sleep.whenever i tried to put her down to go to sleep she would get angry.thankfully,she decided to have a good feed at 3pm and that's when i took the opportunity to have a shower and have my breakfast!!!

any mummies know if this is normal?is this when the baby uses your boob as a pacifier??

bbaugustine- 39weeks ..wonder wil i be able to past 39weeks like u..

as for swelling of my fingers & hands, it seem to stop swelling up & slowly getting better(legs too)
my colleague once told me if bb going to pop out soon u will realise the swelling stopped..now tis waiting game is making me nervous & excited..
keep talking to my baby dont pop out so soon as during confinement, my hubby wont let me take shower so many times..

tinybubu
this is quite normal as sometimes bb only want to latch for comfort. i get quite tiring as well from the comfort latching. cuz my bb also suckled for 5min then dozed off again. when i try putting him down, he would make noises in awhile's time again. then had to pick him up and he continue latching for comfort. im trying to intro pacifier but he's like not very keen. sometimes with the comfort latching, i cant manage to do anything too. =(

but this comfort latching in a way is good, because it's stimulating our breasts to bring on more supply. sooner or later, your milk flow would be gushing in more than now. heehee.

tiny_bubu: Just came back from Vivo, and have a live demo of the pupsik pouch when a mother of 4 month old baby was trying it, yeah, it looks easy. But haven't buy yet, maybe can check out the pouch at MIM first.

bbaugustine: Well, I really dunno when is my actual EDD now, but since the scan says 8th June, so just play by ear lah

JessMa: Think walking staircase does help baby to engage because we are moving our pelvic left and right.

bing: Double check w gynae to see if baby is still growing, think even 42 weeks is considered ok if our placenta is good and baby is gaining weight. Cos induce might not work and end up c-sec remember to ask for the Bishop Score!

Annie: My legs swell less too, but the swell comes and goes few times liao, so I dun really bother about it.

tiny_bubu: The pouch at MIM is selling @42.9 for both printed and double colour. The silk material is selling @$45.9, which might be cooler?

Those at pupsik, for mono colour is @$42.9, the printed version is selling @$45. The pupsik one got a lining of cotton at one edge and a pocket for putting tissue, not sure about the MIM one.

Was just thinking, if we have the sling, maybe can just carry baby around in the house when they are doing comfort sucking?

Regarding sling or pouch, for pouch there's sizes, but for sling it's one size, so if you wanna share w hubby, then sling might be a better choice unless your hubby has similar size.

dolly : i think the silk material might be cooler.the MIM sling does not have a padded lining at the edge (i think).

your idea sounds good.maybe instead of wasting money to buy a nw puch/sling,you can buy the $15 sling on the website first to test it out.then at the same time,you can buy nursing tea etc etc and have it delivered to your house so you dont need to tire yourself out byt going down to purchase it.

if you find that the sling helps you a lot, then maybe in the future you can opt to buy a new sling.but if you feel the sling doesnt help you at all,then at least you heart wont be so pain that you wasted almost $50 on something that you wont use anymore.

furthermore, it's just that the colour has run on the sale sling,right?if you're at home, no need to look glam,right?can just use this sling...hahahaha.

as for me, we already have the baby bjorn and a maclaren stroller prepared for baby when she turns 3 months old.it's just now till 3 months i think i will die from exhaustion if i need to carry baby in my arms 24/7.and my hubby probably wont use the sling so it's just me that is using.

<font color="0050b3">tinybubu/bbPotato <font face="symbol">®</font> Heehee, thanks for the well wishes! I keep yawning but too excited to sleep! LOL!

Hopefully I can catch some rest doh!</font>

Go get some rest, u'll need e energy for pushing tmr.

My hb also wan our lil boy to b out soon, I told him not so soon, cos nt prepared yet, at least nw can still laze abit, when he's out, will b very bz liao cos need to handle 2 kiddos.

Scary thots.

Blurmom: All the best to you, hope you have a fast and peaceful birth

tinybubu: maybe you can buy the pouch for use now, you can use it while breastfeeding or in the house, then at least your hands are free! Now I'm thinking of buying the sling @$15 and the pouch... how greedy haha! But would like to go there and see how it works, it's tough to figure out with those instruction on the web.

Ling &amp; dolly,
I'm in a dilemma with gynae words too. Sometimes dun kw to trust their professional advice or our instincts. My gynae kws that I wanted natural birth &amp; advice me to go for induction next wk at 37wks as my bb now at 2.9kg of 36weeks is big &amp; might be overweight when reaching full term &amp; need to go for c-sec. However, some said 2.9kg at 36wks is consider average. I also read that induction is more painful &amp; usually ended up in emergency c-sec if the dilation is slow. Furthermore, my bb is healthy &amp; heartbeat normal so dun understand why induction is suggested &amp; gynae also mentioned abt stillbirth &amp; umbilical cord coil ard neck which really frighten me. The thought of forcing bb to come out is somehow uneasy. Nw dun kw whether to go for induce or wait for bb's timing as both might ended up in c-sec. Haiz, hopefully I won't regret in my first birthing experience.

Crystal,
Is there any difference in the hot &amp; cold compression or both methods can help to relieve engorgement?

Tinybubu,
I have a cousin &amp; her bb is used to her boob for pacifier. Bb is nw 8mths old &amp; will cry for mummy's boob whenever my cousin is at hm. And her bb is smart to kw what time my cousin is coming back fr work. It can be very tiring. Maybe you may like to try pacifier before your bb is too used to ur boob.

Blurmom,
Congrats! Pray that you will have a smooth delivery.

dolly : yeah.i feel like the sling is complicated.plus i dont want to get stressed trying to figure out how it works.at least with the ouch, it's :fold into two ; sling ti over your head : make a cocoon shape in front : put baby in.seems pretty easy...

a lot of mummies here kept saying rest and sleep while you're still pregnant.it's soooo true.now i'm so sleep deprived that i nod off while breast feeding.AND any 10 minutes of free time i get,i want to lie down and zzzzzz....

just fed her at 11.30pm.i have 3 hours till the next feeding!no i need to have dinner,take a shower and chillax for a bit before she wakes up again..

comfort: The estimation from ultrasound might not be accurate anyway, my baby was 3.4kg the week before, my gynae knows that I wanted natural birth, he just says might take longer time for labour, but last week, it reads 2.8kg, probably because baby is in transverse position (in between anterior and posterier).
Anyway, if you are uncomfortable with him, you can visit another gynae for a second opinion?

Tinybubu: yeah, was always told to go and grab some rest whenever I can now. Just remember that things will get better! hmmm... didn't see Cassey login at all! She must be very busy

Comfort,

My boy was also @ 2.979kg @ 36w+, but gynae nvr mentioned anything. Is it because u r of a smaller build hence your gynae propose for u to induce.

blurmom, all the best and have a smooth delivery.

comfort, u/s wt estimation is really just an estimation. can be way off at times, depending on BB's position and how the measurements are taken. the option of induction was only presented to me at the last check up cos gynae was a little worried that BB may end up too big for me (me small frame) to deliver if he chooses to come out real late. But of cos, it's ultimately my decision on how I want it and good thing is that gynae is pro natural and didn't try to persuade me la. So if all is well, I think u shd go ahead with your own preference.

Gg for my weekly check up tomorrow. A bit tense up abt impending delivery cos my feet is starting to swell significantly today. Hope BB can dong two more weeks before popping... when HB is back.

blurmom, jia you! and hope to see your darling soon!

bbjun, rem to update us about your visit. and hope your bb guai guai and wait for your hubby to come back. BTW, my hp is spoilt and i lost your no. Can you PM me again?

Guess what, my breast milk toppled over my hp then the hp spoil beyond repair liao =__= really lun3 zun3 haiz

morning ladies,
bbjun, some ppl say your feet will swell and when the swelling reside, then its time for bb to come.. my feet did not swell much even though I'm 1 week from EDD..
sklyermum, your hp spoil but SIM card still ok? if yes, can just find a replacement phone and use first..
dolly/ bbpotato, so sorry that I have lost the number of the medical hall for processing placenta.. mind if you give it to me again? thanks alot..