(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

<font color="cc0099"> l'tulips, i think mine is quite good. I feel so super relaxed after each massage session. Today was my second. AAaaaaahhhh..... Bliss!! She's Mdm Rubiah, tell her Sophia's recommendation. Contactable at 9674 2447. She's a really pleasant petite lady. Sister tried her for prenatal massage and we both used her for postnatal
I didn't even realise my hands were stiff from cradling Kyle's head until she massaged them. SHIOK!!

amk_gal, sterilise once a day, but wash with detergent after every use.
Rinsing with water isn't gonna do the trick cos of the fat content in hind milk.

LFB, no routine leh... ?! Still finding our way around things. I think routine will only be established i. when Justus returns to work after this coming week, n ii. when I return home after confinement at mum's. Scary thoughts - both of those. Kyle zonked out on breastfeeding pillow while i type with 1 hand. He was lip smacking in sleep but now limp again after i lifted him onto my pillow. So adorable

cassey- my naval started to pop out completely during my second trismeter.. &amp; the stretchmark dame itchy...tats y i been bathing number of times wif cold water...

lovely tulips- is it yr stretch marks faded after delivery... i felt so unattractive &amp; dare not think of wearing my bikini again..

piglet1- my sisters nvber have stretchmarks during pregnancy but i kana at very late stage..sob sob

Re Stretchmarks: i got them on my backside..i hope it doesn't come out on my tummy..

cassey/Lovelytulips- got a qns..after delivery menses come right? then subsequently month when BF do menses come?

Yup, Congrats to all the new mummies

i have a quick question about showering during confinement.

some people tell me one month, some say one week, some say a few days. I can't even survive a day without a shower...so i'm wondering what most new mums actually do?

LFB, it's mind over matter sometimes. tell urself u can do it and u'll get over with it. actually, i was kidding with the gynae and nurses that i'll just opt for c-sect for the 2nd one and was "scolded". =)

Cassey, how much does ur massage lady charges??? will check her out soon....... tried pumping after the little one finishes his feed. now feeling the breast suddenly so tight. is it cos milk is "filling up" the breast? hhaha

by the way, does ur episo wound still hurts??? i'm fine one moment and feeling so sore the next. argh

Annie, nope. my stretch marks look weird after delivery cos it no longer looks "stretched" over the rounded tummy.

newbie mom, there are a lot of different "patterns". My CL says, cannot wash hair for 12 days. but can shower once a day with warm water. even for the herbs, can do it on alternate days.

actually, i bathed and washed my hair in the hospital already. ha......

junebabyboi09, what comes is the lochia. it's similar to menses but it doesnt just come for 7 days and go off. it can drag on longer if i'm not wrong. the real menses comes in later if u breastfeed. hope i'm right.

creamer, Goodness, I forgot about NAPPIES!! Now got 4 loads!
2 done, 2 more to go...

sweethalo, my Mothercare onesies in dark shocking pink didn't bleed colour onto the white (hubby threw WHITE bedsheet into the wash while I wasn't looking haha). But the brown onesie and those tights that we bought from some BP (the ones with the cute butt), dunno what quality leh, so didn't dare to wash together with other stuff... Now I got nothing to wash them with!

lovelytulips, thanks for sharing with us your birth story. You're one brave woman! I can barely come to terms with the idea of natural birth, much less without pain intervention, so I salute you!

Annie, remember after each cold shower, quickly dry yourself and quickly apply stretchmark cream hor. Otherwise showers will dry out your skin, which will make the stretch marks worse and more itchy. Continue applying the stretch mark cream even after you give birth, will help to improve the appearance a bit quicker.

NewbieMom, based on the old wives' tale, you can't shower or wash hair during the whole 1-mth confinement period (some ppl do confinement for 40days), can't use fan or aircon, must keep windows closed, and must wear sweater!! *faint* But in these modern times, I think it's a personal preference. I plan on showering/washing hair in hospital itself haha. And when I go home after that, I plan to shower whenever I feel like (using the herbal water thingy if my mum prepares it). It's a matter of hygiene lor, how can don't shower if you have wounds to keep clean, if you need to BF baby, etc. Even my mum herself showered during confinement when she gave birth to me and my sis, and there's nothing wrong with her in her "old age" now, so she thinks the old wives' tale is rubbish

then if really colour run, the nappies will come out with strange patches of brown/grey? Hehe... At least not wearing outdoors, so who cares right?

giggles... hehee

That day, after complaining to u that i overbought, somehow we actually bot another 3 more pcs for the kid at Raffles City!! *hit head*

Wahahahaha! I got company, don't feel so bad now hehe...

I'm gonna log off liao, cos been sitting in front of laptop for a while, butt hurts
Today went to buy Preparation H and Fybogel. Stand also pain, sit also pain, walk also pain. Think can only lie down.

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $150

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $8

4)huggies ultra super jumbo pack M size selling at $18, or exchange with its L size.

5) Avent pacifier 3-6mths, pink &amp; yellow, with teddy bear design selling at $8

pls pm if interested-
self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

dolly,
my #1 start to latch on at 1 mth old not 1 yr old leh... hehee... ;p cos my #1 no patience &amp; begining my milk flow doesn't kick in thus she very pek chek &amp; bite my nipple until bleed so damn painful. thus, i dont dare to let her latch also until she turn 1 mth old &amp; we were outside shopping so bopian hubby say let her latch &amp; i try. ok wor... but i m too used to pump liao so only let her latch when we go out. then when my house fridge suddenly broke down, i bopian but let her latch at nite but very messy feeding cos my milk flow like tap. spray all over her face.

Congrats to those mummies who popped.

Glad that Adrian finally going to MAH for delivery. At least we know which hospital we will be heading

AMK gal,
I am also Ameda user. I forgot where I learnt from that Ameda valves and bellows are not suppose to sterilzer if not it will break down easily. The alternative way is to use hot water to soak for 15 - 30mins. You can still sterilzer if you want but the lifespan will be shorter.

Lovelytulips,
You are really brave to go thru without epi. I hope I can do so without epi but I doubt so

Re: Jin Yin Hua
Has anybody drink this before? My aunt asked me to drink before delivery to clear bb heat rash. The way of boiling and taste is quite similar to Chrysanthemum.

Creamer: my menstration not accurate, found out I'm pregnant when baby already 8 months. So my gynae has to use the scan to guess EDD, and last week, instead of pushing forward my EDD, it's in backwards mode. Now only baby knows my EDD!

Annie: huh, your stretch mark looks ok though, now you know how to use Mac!

Cassey: You are right about dun wait for baby to cry before breastfeeding! Just went for my last class at the center, it's all about breastfeeding and I was told exactly that!

Superbee: haha, thanks for the clarification, but feeding from the breast is really convenient right?

Cassey, dolly,

then how do we know bb is hungry and needed milk? What are the signs? Thought they cry that means they are hungry? We go by timing? Then what's the interval? Alamak, so many different views and I am confused.

I think I am really going to give birth b4 EDD. Last night's back pain was super unbearable! And I woke up with cramps and pain again in my tummy! So frust! This week is madness week at work cos lots to do. I am praying hard that this week will go off asap and I can relax from next week onwards. Boss given me green light to take off(not included in ML! Yeah!) from 2 June onwards. That means I can don't report for work if I want to. So happy!!!!

morning mummies..

junebabyboi- stretch mark on backside .. is it mean u expand more on buttock kekekekkeke...

lovelytulips- tat mean it take a long long time to fade.. qi mum so good no stretch mark...

tubbymommy- noted.. thks
u nid alot of rest..

chidori- received yr email.. wow yr stretch marks so dark red...
dolly- yah thks for teaching me .. tell my hubby aiyoh he used apple for so long &amp; don know how to make the pic small ... so lousy...
the stretch marks increased as i go sratch it.. regrets...

i realise my hands getting stiff &amp; hard to bend.. it getting more swollen up..

LFB: Cassey is correct, look for the tell tale sign before the baby cry and offer him the breast
Hope I can do it too! When they are crying it's hard to offer him the breast liao! Also if your breast become hard because it's engorged, you've to massage or express some milk first before offering him.

Annie: Actually I've no idea what my hubby was saying, just type it here, good that you grasp it! Pls dun scratch your stretch mark! My tummy has been a little itchy, I'm afraid stretch mark is marking in progress also

dolly- i applying the cream my gyne prescribe to me for the itchiness...

morning saw my hubby trying to fit into his air force uniform for his reservist today.. he was complaining he getting fat ...&amp; i looked more fat than him

Jackies/Neeciel, CONGRATE!!! Hope there good news on ur breast feeding too. Take good care. Free rem to post ur bb pic.

Blurmom, be a good girl hor, at bed rest! But do rem to monitor urself.

Qi7, ur girl have alot of hair. envy

Superbee, Thanks, im hoping so too.

Annie, thanks for the updates from qi.

Last night didn't slp at all. Hubby already slp at the floor. I have the entire bed but i just can't find a suitable position. Whole night backache. Sob

Hi all mummies, now logging in from my ward...thanks all mummies for the wishes and i wll be discharging before noon.

Here is my birth story :-
Fri evening -
Had show at 11plus pm on Fri evening and i rushed and reached hospital around 1am. Did CTG for an hour and was sent home by my gynae as there was no contraction and TMC dun do induction in the middle of the night, the labour ward nurse told me this was early labour sign and the menses will not go away, just go home and wait for contraction or water bag to break which will happen within 2 days!!

Sat morning -
Called gynae in the morning was asked to see her, after seeing her, she gave me 2 option. to go home and wait for contraction or to induce right away, i told her i dunno how contraction may feel if i go home haha...to save trouble travelling here and there, i was askd to admit and induce right away which started at 12pm. Took some light lunch in the labour ward and epi was given at 1pm.

gynae says i've already dilated 2cm on sat morning, but when i admitted hospital at 1am, i still got no dilation and contraction was already 6 mins apart when i did my CTG at 12 noon. Strange enough i cant feel any contraction at all, heng i admitted right away else i will probably deliver at home cos the contraction is so irregular and bearable, which i cant tell is contraction!!!

By 5pm, i'm already dilated 9cm and nurse told me to get ready and start to push at 545pm. Nurse oso told me epi will make dilation faster cos it makes the patients relaxed. So gals, please take note, if u want a fast delivery go for epi earlier, u can still feel labour contraction when you started to push once the dosage was reduced.

At 651pm, baby Shane was popped with assisted delivery, weighing 3.195kg and 51cm long =)

Apologise for the long post, will update you gals Shane's pix soon.

For mummies popping soon, all the best!!!

dolly- i havent used it yet.. go back i read the instruction then inform u again..

shelisa- wow u let yr hubby sleep on the floor..
poor him .. my hubby &amp; me sleep in a single mattress each

u really nid alot of rest as after our baby out we be very very busy
have some hot milk b4 u go to bed..

neeciel, nice to hear from u! U just articulated my greatest fear - dunno if it's contractions! I have high tolerance for pain some more. In fact, when BH comes, I need to put my hand to my tummy to feel to ascertain if it's BH contractions or just BB stretching. Somemore unless the BH comes with back pain or breathelessness, I really dunno it's there.

Merlynzz was telling me to look out for menses cramps kinda pain and I was like... ... But I hardly have menses cramps before and don't really know how it feels. Really keep my fingers crossed that I really know when the time comes for me.

Look fwd to see ur BB's foto soon.

hi, sorry to intrude...

I've a car seat to sell, very good condition almost like brand new.
Bought less than 2 months ago, and very seldom used.
Those times when my boy does sit, I will always have a covering layer over it.

Details -
1. Striking red and black colour combo
2. Suitable from infant to toddler (0 to 18 kg)
3. 5 point harness
4. Convertible &amp; reclinable - can be used both rear and forward facing
5. Wrapped in protective plastic to keep it dust free

Selling for $130, self-collect at my place at Bt Batok.
Pls PM me for pictures.

Neeciel, good to hear you and ur bb are doing great!! EPI, tempting leh!!! heehee

Annie, no choice. I need a bigger space to find a correct place but last night just cannot find! haiz.

bbjun, this few days i also have BH and abit cramp like that. But last thurs checkup, gynae say no contraction yet. I also worry when it is time to give birth.

shelisa- poor u.. it not so healthy to have sleepless nite.. las year my colleague cant fall asleep during pregnancy &amp; another colleague was scolding her she got too many things in her mind &amp; it is not good for her baby...

Hi Neeciel,

congrats!!!!

Menses cramps? I am experiencing that now! Oh no! Am I really going to be in labour????

Annie, i have nothing to think or worry. Just that my backache make me cannot sleep in.

LFB, please monitor for a while more. If continue, pls call gynae asap. Take care

neeciel
Congrats..lil shane seems tall..enjoy ur motherhood &amp; updated us with ur BF jounery..

lovelytulip
you are so brave to go w/o epi..peifu u..I muz have epi...

jackie/tinybubu
Congrats &amp; welcome to ur newborn..update us with ur exciting birth story..

annie
aiyo..ur stretchmarks not that bad..there's still worse than urs..

mommies who pop..just wondering do u bring along ur pump with u to the hospital? It's neceesary?

shelisa- does yr gyne prescribe calcium tablets for u.. mine do cos my hubby complained to him my leg pain ... &amp; he said must take more calcium...

kikismom- i rather not have stretchmarks..sob sob..

Aiyo,

that's why I am worried! Last night was unbearable with the backache! Then I keep having menses cramps. So I think should be almost time liao! Arrgghhh...... So much not done!!!

Annie, yup. Every night 1 tablet. I can't drink milk as pigletgir1 advise to avoid dairy product. So im trying to eat more fish now.

LFB, Since last night?? Hey dear, i think call gynae asap ba.

Shelisa,

just called my clinic, waiting for the nurse to call back. Ya, yesterday whole day was with cramps and sleep was disturbed due to pain in front(cramps) and behind(backache)! Thanks. Hope I get to see doc if possible today cos I abit paranoid type! Hubby kept reminding me to monitor and call him, got me more kan cheong! Now bb is having hiccups. At least I know he is ok!

shelisa- u controlling yr diet cos of the rashes... wow u really must take food containing more calcium..
i miss my foot massage at jur pt... they got more strength lah...

LFB, Hope the nurse call u back soon. I also love to feel my bb hiccup as at least we know they are doing well inside. If can, relax now, get ur work load done and have more deep breathing.

Annie, Ya, but sometime keep eting fish also boring leh. hee. Foot massage, never in my life before as i scare pain. hee

Annie, ohh! maybe during ML i go try try. U wanna try to call them up? I thought they say if ok, they won't call u right?

shelisa- yah okay will wait for their call till fri.. now really sleepy ...

poor us stil working ..

hubby wan me to stop working but cannot leh..
stay at home will grow fat leh &amp; keep finding things to eat...

Shelisa,
just pushed my appt to today 230pm. Nurse also think danger like that. Sigh, no choice lor. Hopefully all is ok with BB. Thanks.