(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Annie: Thanks for updating about qi7. I had problem last time trying to post the Friven pamplet too... in the end can only send email out instead, you can PM to me, hopefully this time I can help.

hopefully dolly is able to upload pic here.

harros ladies!

Congrats to Jackie
hope my lbr is as short...ehhee.

Today went for gynae checkup and finally saw a rather happy doctor... he said, it's now quite safe to give birth...hahaa... won't cost alot more than full term baby and baby will not be overly premature if delivery fr now onwards...

Increase in baby's weight is not as huge as the last checkup. Today he's 2.343kg at 34wks.

hello sweethalo!!
wat does ur gynae mean by saying "won't cost alot more than full term baby and baby will not be overly premature if delivery fr now onwards..."

haha so this time, did ur hb bingo the weight again?

hehe this time hb dare not guess.. kiasu i guess... kkekeke...

Think Doc just meant that it won't cos us like $150k to 200k for 28wk, $20k to 30k for 32wk ..last tiem he mentioned for 34wk maybe ard 5k more than usual. But most importantly, baby will be healthy enough from 34th wk onwards ba...

Did the Strep B swap test today, so hope all goes well.

Next chk up will be the nervous one... hope not painful as what cassey says.

Sweethalo: Think Blurmom mention Korea...

Qi7 Girl
2489298.jpg

2489299.jpg

Thanks to hubby... haha,didn't know how to resize
Annie: No problem
Great to see that Qi7 baby looks good!

Ahnet - yeah... next visit do VE... scared

Dolly - wow that's fast! U did a real quick upload of the pics..

ooo BlurM goign to Korea... that shld be a nice place... nvr been there though...

Annie: Actually hubby using Mac, he said can resize under iPhoto, share export function.

Err.. it's not a laptop issue. I'm using Windows' Microsoft photo editor:
1. open the picture
2. Click Image -> Resize
3. typed in the percentage to resize to
4. save the file
This will make the jpeg file to become smaller, and just upload it

sweethalo, i also scare my gynae visit next week will haf VE too... scary sia... wk 36-37 le... getting nervous

dolly, wah very chim sia...

ahnetsan: Actually it's not difficult, just need to know which function to use.
Think VE depends on gynae ba, my gynae never touch me since the papsmear test

Sweethalo: Fast cos hubby sitting next to me

hehe dolly ... ur hb macham our IT Consultant now...hehee

haha ya today I asked my gynae if induced birth painful or not cos heard that waterbag burst by gynae can hurt alot..

He answered me, o not painful la... pain only if doc is rough.. cheh macham he very skilled lidat.

haha sweethalo, you make him sign black and white agreement, confirm plus guarantee plus warranty 5yrs dat it's not painful.

philips carnival got wat kinda good buys ar?

btw, i heard there's fisher price warehouse sale going on over this weekend. think it's at loyang.

my fren driving in loyang and think she saw the banner or smth den she tell me... but her colleagues say the sale like nthing much one... so i also dunno hw true leh... den i tried to see if other threads got say abt FP sale, seems like no one mentioning leh

Congrats to mummies who has given birth. tinybubu, hope u have a smooth & fast delivery!

jam75,
good news! hehee.. i will ask him for my admission letter coming sat. ;) must thanks to comfort hb to challeng him!

shelisa,
hope the steriod pill is safe for u & bb & hope it helps to heal too!

cassey
u r doing very good in breastfeeding!!

ling,
hope u r coping well with breastfeeding and take good care of ur c-sect wound. if bb can't latch, u can try express n bottle feed. cos my #1 no patient in latching so i total breastfeed via bottle n only when she hit 1st mth, then suddenly she r more patient n can latch but i only latch when i m out shopping & need her to clear "stock".... :p

dolly, got your PM, replied you liao

VE:
My doc also so far didn't do VE on me, except that time when I went to see him cos had blood in discharge. My recent visit, I asked "Eh, are you going to check for dilation..???" and he said "hmmm, I will check only if the symptoms that you report to me makes me suspect that you are in early labour, otherwise I won't check unnecessarily." Then he smiled happily, cos I must have looked relieved hahaha...

Now doing baby laundry again. Yesterday washed white, blue, yellow, green. Today washing pink, over next 2 days wash the bedding. Then realise I got couple pieces of BROWN. Do baby clothes colour run?? I didn't dare to wash together, cos scared stain all the rest of the light colours. But stupid to start a new cycle with only 3pcs of clothing. Now not sure how... I take my hat off those of you who have the patience to handwash!!

Sorry to interupt.

Brand New Yaolan for sale - comes with spring, hanger and net. Only set up to let baby try but baby just don't like to be in it. Bought the whole set for $120. Selling as a full set at $80 now.
PM or email me at [email protected] for pictures.

morning mommies..

in fact we choose the best pic as we know mommies wont wan to see qi7 gals wif a lot of tube all over her chest & nose..

dolly- thks for the formular how to adjust by using apple mac.. if can i post my baby stretch worm hahahaha

TubbyM- i was just abt to ask the same qn... i hv not started washing cos scared bb clothes will run leh...

Anyone knows if coloured bb clothes do run?

oo has Neeciel popped?? Congrats

Cassey, Dats my feel when i saw kyle pic. We shall see when kyle is a little older if he's more to daddy or mummy. Dats the wondering part isnt it? hehe.. Great dat u have plentiful BM for him, dat is the greatest present for our baby - Nutrients! Wah so fast can fit into yr regular denim..

Lovelytulips, Congrats to your baby arrival! Heard from mummies and read book that as we cant physically see how much BM baby is consuming when BF but there are no. of signs to determine if baby is getting enough.
Physical signs: Bright eyes, wet tongue and mouth and firm tights. Baby should be content and feel settle after each feed if he has enough.
6 to 8 wet and/or solied nappies a day after the initial 3 days.
Weight, following the initial weight loss over the first 7 days and your baby shld gain approximately 160g per week after the first 10 days of birth. Hope this helps and have a successful BF

Dolly, wow at 38 weeks baby at 3.4kg. But yr edd is 30 May so shld be 39week instead? Most prob yr baby will be due on yr edd huh?

Tubbymummy, it took me 3 full washes before baby washing are complete cos ran out of bamboo stick even though i have got 6 of them. Dun see their clothing small small but realise lotsa of baby home clothes and nappies wor! haa..

Blurmum, be guai and stay in bed. Update us when you have delivered..

Congrats to Jackie!

Neeciel delivered last evening 7pm. Baby Shane weight at 3.2kg. Natural+epi. CONGRATS!! She said TMC very strict, allow 2 vistors only.

Little Qi7 gal is so cute..

Members Sales coming up for those who have not popped and last min shopper!

John Little - 27 & 28 May Additional 20% off storewide
Takashimaya - 28 May to 31 May Additional 10% off

hello all!!

finally manage to get some quality sleep after CL arrive.

i was induced. without epidural. bursting of waterbag is somewhat like a VE - to me la....... try to relax and not lift the buttocks up and it shld be better (we tend to lift the buttocks up in response to approaching pain).

birth story:
7am - reached TMC and changed, documentation done, SCBB forms verified by nurse.
ard 7.30am - enema inserted, waited for it to take effect. went toilet to clear bowels.
on ctg, took blood samples for SCBB and put on drip to commence induction.
8am - gynae came, checked and burst waterbag. i thought she was doing a VE until she pull out her fingers and showed me the mucous plug. was about 2cm dilated only and told it will take at least 6 hrs. was allowed breakfast. woohoo..... but just sandwich and milo.
contractions got more regular but still bearable. nurse said if want epidural, let her know but somehow, i manage to bear with it. nurse still joked with hb that i have a high pain threshold. deep breathing helps. and holding on tight to hb's hand helped. and of cos encouragement from hb.
11.45am - transferred to delivery ward. told by nurse that if want, can use laughing gas.
1pm - gynae came and checked - about 6cm dilated. asked about how long, but given answer before 5pm - she doesnt want me to expect anything.... haha
started getting painful contractions. apparently, back rubs, massages doesnt help. so i use laughing gas. was being "high" as if high on liquor at times. watched tv..... given a cup of milo and some water.
after that, i didnt really know what time it was, what i did etc. but i didnt scream, didnt cry, but just fidgeted alot cos of the back ache and kept trying to kick my legs. :p
ard 2.45pm - urge to push came in. nurse and hb helped by pushing my legs back and encouraging me to push the pain away. on and off, nurse checked dilation.
ard 3.15pm - gynae came, dilated and asked to push. nearly wanted to give up a few times but all of them kept enocuraging. think pushed for about 7 times and with help of episo and vacuum, my little boy arrive. =)

gynae says i was too tired to push at the end cos i didnt want to use epidural so i guess epidural suppose to help u retain some energy fighting the contractions in the beginning. so, if you think u be better off with epi, go for it.

the nurse at the delivery ward (the one that helped me) is good!!! i told her i no strength to pull my tighs inwards and push so she help by pressing my tighs towards me. and she also had to help in the delivery process and my legs were actually trying to kick her away. super got strength. ha.....

i think encouragements are very impt. whenever i feel like giving up, i see my gynae, hear my hb and the 2 nurses and they were like all cheering to say 1 more time, u can do it etc......

delivery wards are pretty near each other. while in the delivery ward, i heard next door lady shouting away cos of the pain. after that, nurse still told me that there will be some people who shout and scream and some will say they wana go home. my advice is not to be bothered by the screamings and freak yourself out. just try to watch tv and use the laughing gas if needed - it will make u high though.

episo - didnt feel anything when cut. when gynae stitches, she will put local anaseathic, so u wun feel a thing. what i felt was only the shivering of my both legs from the pushing.

Is VE same like pap smear?? Cos my gynae use the pap smear instrument to check on me as my polyp has slight bleeding. He told me to relax and drop my legs to the side but that's difficult!!! Cos there's no leg rest for me!!!How to keep your legs open when you felt sth going in rite!!! Sure scare wan mah...It was rather painful or pretty sore. Then he still can ask my hb come over to see my polyp...OMG...I told him very painful..take out that thingy dun have to show my hb lah...but now come to think of it it not that painful but very very uncomfortable...dunno is it the vaginal area getting more sensitive as compared to early preg..

Thanks Lovely tulips for sharing your birth story. Think dolly, bing and I are in the same boat, still waiting for baby to pop. I'm 38 weeks 1 day now. Even hubby is wondering when baby decides to make an appearance. He can't wait to see the little fella. Think this boy don't wanna come out till 40 weeks haha. I always hear that induction can be really painful as it speeds up the labour and makes the contractions more intense so according to Lovely tulips it seems that it can be done without epidural...that's good to know.

Wow, Tiny bubu is about to give birth...congrats! hope to hear from you about your birth story. alot of mummies popping already.

Congrats to Jackie as well. You must be basking in the joy of your newborn now!

Cassey, seems like your breastfeeding is right on track. Keep it up!

I think when most of the mummies have popped by end June, can arrange for a meetup to see all the cute babies=)

<font color="cc0099"> WHOA!!! SUPER DUPER GIANT PICTURE SIA!! *scary*
Annie, frankly, it isn't too bad leh. At least they aren't a vivid red or fierce purple.
But wow! Your navel has completely evened out and the linea nigra is quite marked eh!

Re: Praise God for breastfeeding PROGRESS!!
YIPPEEEEEEE....!! Thank God that Kyle is latching on heaps heaps heaps better! It feels great! *leaps for joy* I can now just hold him between his shoulder blades and support his head with other hand like a pillow... It used to be that I had to cup him around the neck to push him towards nipple.

Kyle is almost a week old. My one complaint about my Gleneagles experience is that the nurses said they'd bring him in to me for his feeding "in 3 hrs". But they never did. Kyle was with us in the room most of the time, but once we put him in the nursery, they'd wait until he fussed or even started crying before pushing him in to me. So when I got home, I was lulled into a false sense of security and took to waiting for him to cry before nursing. What a disaster THAT turned out to be.

Anyway, I've begun to nurse him shortly after his begins to stir (his progression routine: raise feet > turn head from side to side > click tongue > smack lips > frown and scowl > WAIL). Started to change my stupid wait-til-he-cries routine Fri night and it has taken a day to take on. It took dropper-feeding some expressed milk in between latches when he begins to fret. But today he's latching on heaps better and can nurse til he falls asleep at my breast.
He wakes every 1.5hrly for feeds now. *so happy!*</font>

<font color="cc0099"> <font size="+1">Congrats, neeciel!!</font> Look fwd to your update! Rest well and enjoy your babe!

l'tulips, *WWAAHAHAHAHA!* Oops... sorry sorry. I was wondering about that. I don't know. Kyle never had any streaky things in his diaper leh. I don't have a prob with Kyle's turning from left to right in his sleep.. In fact, it's a reliable indication to me as to when he's ready to wake up and nurse.

ahnet~, only a little sore... kinda stingy. Like a scratch. Nope, I didn't feel the snip or cut of episiotomy with epidural. *phew*!

BlurMom, are you excited?! Or a little apprehensive? I am excited for you... wonder how long it'll take for labour proper to start! btw, thanks for being SO on the ball with the table update. I don't know if Tubbym~ and I'll be as diligent with it as you have been thus far.

bing, thanks! Baby on diet?! Why change in your diet? Try powdered milk for pregnant women? That boosted Kyle's weight and has worked for Tubbym~ and some others too...

sweethalo, whoa.. you mean your dr is a sullen man? *chuckle* Glad to hear you're doing well... are you any closer to settling on a name?

qi~'s girl is hairy little one with large eye slits too! Hope she grows bigger and stronger very quickly so mummy won't worry. Qi, get better soon!

*massage lady here! OT later!

hi lovelytulip, that's a fast labour for a 1st time mum.. and you are indeed very brave!! w/o epi!!.. i can nvr do w/o epi ..

Annie, ur stretchmarks are not that bad la...

bbaugustine, it's possible without epi. but u got to be mentally prepared for the pain that u will experience. everyone ask me why i didnt ask for it. i say, save money lor!!!! they buay tahan me.... hahahhaha

cassey, glad to hear that Kyle is doing well with breastfeeding. 1.5hrly feeds are quite tiring but it's very satisfying when u see bb all satisfied after that. =)

annie, stretchmarks ok la...... look at it after your delivery. hehehehe

anyone with gd massage lady to recommend???? thinking whether to find one....

came down with a bad cough from yesterday. dunno where i got it from, but it's so sudden and so bad and i'm out of action today. whole day sleeping, cough until like going to vomit...

congrats to all new mummies! lovelytulips, your birth story is so encouraging! i'm also hoping that i can do without epidural. i'll decide on tat day itself when it comes...

anyway, is there a need to sterlize breast pump EVERYTIME before use?? i bought the ameda lactaline. heard the valves and bellows actually break down a lot faster if always sterlize. some websites says just sterilize once a day, some day must do everytime, so which is it??

wah, super duper hot day! I am like soaking in my own perspiration! Just had dinner and I am completely wet!

Lovelytulips,
Wow, that's really detailed account! Hee thanks. I am giving birth in TMC, the info will be useful. Now I wonder whether I want to be induce. So funny for you to say that you dun want epi to save money. Actually I also told my friends that, and they all said I crazy! But I thought it would really be nice to experience true childbirth and know how it is. Hmm, still considering!

Cassey,
so envious to know your abundant milk supply! Good for you! Kyle is a lucky baby, has good supply! You must tell us more abt your baby routine, we can learn alot from you!

amk_gal,
I coughed like mad last 2 weeks too. Now I am still not well, have flu and blocked nose. Take care.

I am getting quite many cramp-like pain these 2 days, today abt 3 times. Also my stool are getting soft, and more often. Doc said cos inside no more space, so naturally must expel! Anyone experience these symptons? I read from net that these are pre-labour symptons.