(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

hi wat cooling drink u talking abt? can share ?. funny i just post suddenly it disappear... do you all exp this? sorry i very new to this smh

Jess, ya, tmr will check with her. For coconut, since week 28 i started already. Only recently took 2 coconut per week.

bbPotato, really? Im gg to stock in!! hee

jam75,try to don't think too much,what's we can do is just rest and keep good mood.nothing else we can do liao ,right..

Jam, my colleague had c-sect during her wk32 and baby stayed in hospital for appx a mth hence the bills was kinna ex I believe. But all is fine now for my colleague and her girl. Dun worry...
When is ur next appt?

comfort,
haha ya hor, if can take papaya n fish soup before deliver, den best right? mayb we will haf alot of milk right after deliver? ;)
hmmm i think can put alcohol in cooking right? cos after cooking le, the alcohol evaporates and its safe for consumption le right? so maybe wont make the bb 'drunk'?

bbpotato,
the ntuc near my plc one always no stock one.... dunno why so many ppl snatching coconuts leh... everytime i go see, it's always empty.

comfort, oic...i wonder when we hv symptoms like water bag burst, contraction & bloody show do we nid to call woody 1st or we juz head down to hospital then give him a call??

bbPotato, okie. Thanks. will go try luck.

Evelyn, cooling drink is like chry tea or barley and coconut. As alot of ppl recommend when nearer to due date, must to drink coconut so bb will be more cleaner when come out

ahnetsan, i oso tink mayb hv to call to him 1st...nx chk up i beter chk wif him!

annie, icic so i hv to take a closer look to c whether any change in color bo!

bbpotato, i also dunno why leh... and sometimes got coconut, but only one pathetic small one... den how to buy? i once asked the auntie staff there whether still got any more coconuts or nt, she jus give me this pek chek look and say it's all there lor, dun haf means dun haf le.... kanasai lor, machiam i owe her a living like dat.

jam75, yeah check wif ur gynae lor. cos my gynae told me to call him first, dun call my hb first, if i got any symptoms. haha den from there he will advise whether i go down to his clinic, or he meet me at TMC or i can still go for a movie.

ahnetsan, haha yr gynae so cute leh...tell u to call him 1st not yr hb!!

annie, everytime i pee liow i gun jiong wanna to know izzit ok but i dunno how they differentiate ok or not...now as u mentioned color will change then i know liow! hee hee!

jam75- b4 i see my gyne i must go take the urine, weight & blood pressure in another room .. then when i back wif the color stripe the nurse will write onto my sticker...tats how kkh do

jam75, mine is more like peroid cramps then abdominal pain wor.. recently getting more crampy

comfort, wat i heard from my mother is, before u take the rice wine stuff, express out ur milk then only breast feed when the food is digested. dont noe how true oso hee
but i think those wine stuff i will just take in moderation

jackie, must be good girl ar.. i know very sian.. i can understand cos i'm in bed rest for a veri veri long time liao! take care and update us

shelisa, ya, i drink 1 whole coconut every alt days..

err.. i don't consume the cooling drinks whole day, 2 to 3 cups a day, the rest of the time, drink plain ice cold water. yes, they are all home brewed..

not sure must stop breast feeding for hw long if resort to the steriod jab as my rash stop spreading and itch by 36 weeks tho i still hv the whole body of scars and pigmentation to content with.

i do con't to take fruits but avoid heaty fruits like mangoes, durians and took alot cooling fruits like green apples, watermelons, bananas, oranges etc.. tink shld be able to add sweet potato ba, since it is not classify as "heaty" food..

no trouble at all shelisa, most importantly is i can be of some help to you.. i can totally understand what you have to go thro.. to date, even the sight of the PUPPP pic, make my hair stand.... if u hv more qns tonite, do feel free to SMS me (err.. so long as it is before 10pm, cos thereafter, i will be bz preparing my ger for her bedtime)

jam75, ya, at times the pain also make me want to pee cos the pressure is too great, but whn i go toilet only abit comes out... zzzz...

jess, cos of the PUPPP attack during my 1st pregnancy, to prevent the relapse, i started taking cooling drinks (eg chrysanthemum) since 1st trimester, started taking coconut on a once a week basis eversince i step into my 2nd trimester... till now still taking one coconut every week, didn't increase my frequency...

I dun even pass the colour strip to the nurse, just need to tell her no change. I also asked the nurse what does she mean by change of colour, she said the strip to turn very different colour, like yellow to brown...etc

pigletgir1,
u mean only if bb is in engaged position, den the lower tummy will feel abit pain pain is it?

cos im feeling a bit pain pain at the lower tummy today...and nw lower back or the hips there a bit aching pain liao. so wondering why...

pigletgir1, i dunno whether bb engage or not leh cos gynae nv tell mi...tink dis fri i will ask him!

ahnetsan, mi too recently hv lower adominal pain, back & hips oso abit aching leh...

i tot it's cos today i sat in front of pc for too long den back and hips aching...or dat my panty too tight, until the lower tummy kenna pain.

me seeing gynae next wk, i also dunno whether bb engaged le mah.

Shelisa, maybe i try to take the medicine diligently and hope it gets smaller. Seems like the cream is effective to dry out the piles. I try to ask from gynae next week but think will be too late to apply also. But since piles at anus area and we push baby at the vagina, y the piles will get worsen huh? Isit when we push it will aggravate the veins to be bigger result in bigger piles?

creamer, now scared so put medicine so diligently. supposed to put on 4 times a day but i only do morning and night, and at night also use the suppository. in the office i scared to do cos have to sanitize my hand all that so troublesome.

Shelisa, you have a pill to eat for the piles?

comfort, the alcohol will evaporate by the time you cook so dont worry.

re coconut: aiyoh wish i can buy those from ntuc then easy to get. but i cannot hack it at home cos dont have cleaver. and my MIL say cannot use hammer or make loud noises in the house. so have to look for ready-cut ones.

jam75 and ahnetsan, when you have the labour signs, you should go to hospital straight. they can check how far dilated you are. only when you about to deliver then the midwife will call the gynae. that's what im told for KKH at least. because doing the checks will be midwife, not gynae. he only deliver and stitch you up after that.

creamer, although piles are at anus, when baby comes, you'll need more space for baby head to come out mah..so only way to stretch is backwards towards anus area lor..that's why piles will get more engorged because you like forcing it out. if you strain too hard, i think it can burst because the piles after all are veins...

Comfort, i have asked this qn during my antenatal class, as long as the alcohol is boiled with the food, the alchol content will evaporate off and can continue to breastfeed. Unless u drink the alcohol directly den it will be advisable to pump out the next feed first before consuming the alcohol.

Jam75, the nurse ask me to call the gynae to tell them our condition first and they will advise you before we head to hospital.

creamer, i think mine pre-preg also have but never caused me problems. you have oral pills to take?

if u want to get cream, no need to buy from gynae unless it's cheaper. can also buy preparation H - very popular for solving piles problem and safe for pregnancy. the one i got from KK i find not so good..

caramelle,
dunno leh, dats wat my gynae told me lor, if i haf any symptoms call him first den he will advise me on wat to do.
think i will jus call him and let him advise me on wat to do ba before i head to hospital myself.

Caramelle, yup have the pills. Take 2 pills 3 times a day. So u put cream and insert suppository as well? Did gynae tell you how long it will heal? Cos now coming 37weeks liao dun know will too late anot.

neeciel, protein in urine is usually an indication of infection. However, this infection is not restricted to vaginal infection. It could very well mean that there is an infection in kidney or bladder. It is also an indication of preeclampsia, they go hand in hand. In your case, I would think the protein is most likely due to the preeclampsia... I'm quite scared too, cos I have been prescribed daily aspirin since 20wks, to prevent hypertension/preeclampsia. But last visit at 35wks, my BP was higher than usual, at 135/85 (my normal is usually around 120/70). Tomorrow is my gynae visit again, hope the BP doesn't go any higher...
Can I ask what is your BP?

comfort, I'm with Dr Fong Yang, who's one of the stand-in gynaes you listed. Yes, they are all very experienced, so no worries
For alcohol in confinement food, just make sure that the food is cooked long enough till the actual alcohol content burns off. To be safe, like what Skylermum says, BF/express before eating the food item that has alcohol, then wait 2 hrs before BFing again.

comfort/ahnetsan, I was also thinking of getting my mum to cook the papaya/fish soup a day or two before I pop, KS a bit hahaha... Don't think it's harmful to eat BEFOREHAND right??

jam75, if your pee strip don't change colour, means everything is fine, no protein or sugar in urine. The nurse will check your strip against a colour chart that they have. If your urine happens to be very yellow cos never drink enough water before your pee test, don't panic if you see the test strip colour turning slightly darker. Mine does that sometimes, and it's still considered ok

Skylermum, I've been getting more crampy this week, both the upper belly kind, and the lower abdomen menstrual cramp kind. Think salbutamol really gets less and less effective over time...

creamer, while baby pops out from the vagina, as you are pushing, blood rushes to your lower region in general, so blood will also be rushing to your piles, similar like if you were trying to push a poop out while sitting on toilet bowl (sorry for the graphic explanation), you see? This pushing causes the piles to fill up with blood and worsen lor. If you sit down too much and don't move around, our circulation not very good at this stage of pregnancy, so blood tends to follow gravity and pool around the lower region, which would cause piles to be worsen too (this is what happened for me)...

So scary to hear the piles and rashes stories! Pls take care, the only comfort is we are almost there, hang on Caramelle and Shelisa!

Lovelytulip gave birth!!!

Lovelytulip popped! Yep, she gave birth yesterday. Wanted to visit her just now but not visiting hrs yet and TMC is quite strict! So no choice but call her and sent my regards. Details will have to wait for her to come back and report to all! Another one graduate to mummy!

hi ahestan, not sure if cos bb is engaged that's why felt more pain at the abdomen area.. just a guess cos for me, it can get quite pain at times..

wow another 2 mum pop...congrats..hafe got time to log on this few day cuz my son is running high fever..finally today he can run around and play le..

pigletgir1: Thanks for all the explanation on PUPPP, it's good even just FYI

Lovelytulips: Congratulations!

bbPotato, Chidori: Went to the medical hall today, Mrs Chua mentioned that someone called and I told her yeah, we talk about it in the forum. The price for placenta processing is $70 like what Chidori said, guess now she knows we do talk

Confinement Chinese herbs: Mrs Chua took around 30 min to explain to us that they also do confinement food packages in terms of the Chinese medical receipes which they sell. Like things to drink for various purposes. She says sometimes confinement lady might not be so knowledgeble so we can bring our CL down to have a look too.

Annie: Since your husband is cooking the confinement food, might be good to go down and listen to see what she offers.

baby sara- if i m staying at my own hse, it be alrite if i get a CL but not now...
i still staying at my parents hse

jessma- cant pm my contact no. to u leh

bbPotato: For now, I just wan the plain one. Cos I also wonder if I'll give it to baby as well, if I do, then better dun add those pearl powder or cordycep.
Did your colleague add anything?

But I'm considering those other confinement herbs and Chinese medicine which she had mentioned. This is because my mum has some medical condition and cannot fly to Singapore at this time and my aunt is overseas now, with all the elders unavailable, I'm really left with CL help only.