(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

jackie, the wetness is juz abit onli right?? cos sometime when we hv discharge our panties will oso kenna abit wet...so can we realli differeniate between water bag leak & discharge??

hi shelisa,

the look of PUPPP is like the picture in the link provided by tubbymummy.. only mine is much worse.. basically it covers almost all surface area.. only my face is spared.. my scalp, ears and neck are not spared from the rash too..

Ok here are the food to avoid:

- Anything of heaty nature
- Anything that is spicy, fried or oily, basically can only take steam food
- Any meats that is deem to be of "poisonness" nature, like chicken (yes, apparently according to TCM chicken seems to be more 'poison' than duck) but nontheless, i avoided both chicken and duck
- Any dairy products as they cause allergy
- No beans or nuts base stuff.
- Seafood, including deep ocean fish. The only fish i can consume is threadfin fish also known as ngoh heh, which is fresh water breed fish. The fish that we usually will feed our babies when they are able to start consuming porridge.

Thus basically for all 3 meals, i ate only pork, threadfin fish and green veges.. Because of this strict diet, i didn't gain much weight for my entire last trimester which is alrite with me cos i gain too much during the 1st 2 trimester.

Product to use:-
- Cetaphil cleansing lotion for bath due to its mildness
- pinetarsol solution which i mix it with water and place it in a small spray bottle, use it whnever the itch becomes unbearable. this will only provide short term relief. its not a cure and it will dry up the skin, thus do keep your skin moisturise. you can use J&J baby oil prior to your bathe.
- Take cold bath as frequent as you can, do not even use warm water as it will aggrevate the itch. Preferably take quick cold shower prior to bedtime. This shld give you a better nite slp
- Snake brand prickly heat, use it at work whn i can't shower. agn this provide a temporary itch relief

Do stay in air-condition area as often as you can, hot and humid places will also aggrevate the rash

From some of the online research i had done, some mentioned it is due to the failure of liver to support the pregnancy, thus resulted in such rash.. many of such websites suggested taking dandelion pills to strengthen the liver..

thus on top of the TCM medication, i took this as well.

In addition, i took alot of cooling drinks, like coconut, barley, chrysanthemun, green beans soup etc..

Finally after adhering to all the above steps, the rashes stop spreading by ard 36 weeks but left behind all the scars and dark brown pigmentation. I con't to take TCM medicine to hasten up the recovery from scars and pigmentation problem. 1 month after my recovery, my body is scar and pigmentation free!!..

Of cse for fear of relaspe, i didn't go thro proper confinement, i abstain from most confinement food since they are rather heaty and bath daily.

Hope this help..

And i do apologise to the other ladies for the long post....

skylermum.
I try as much as i can. But with a 2.5 yr old toddler around hor. Rather difficult.

jam75,
Discharge is one off thing. Water bag leak is rather constant.

Jackies, oh ok. you better take care.

any working mummies here planning to use or have used HL to cover 2 weeks before actual delivery? im thinking how to inform my HR that i'll be taking this leave. i think she'll surely count it as part of my ML. please, can anyone share with me? thanks in advance!

jackie, hope i not blur blur cannot differenitate! hee

caramelle, i got no intention to take HL but then HL is diff from ML wat! u nid to submit HL which is issue by Hospital wan ma so dun tink yr HR can count HL as part of ML leh!

Caramelle, wahaha. Ya, good ideas. I always suddenly jump out bcos of the itch. Then my colleague tho wat happen.

Jackie, pls be good girl and listen to ur gynae have a good rest.

Welcome baby sara.

pigletgir1, I think like that mine mostly is PUPPP leh. Mine also worse then the pic. Check with you.
-You mentioned cannot eat any bean product, does in include tofu, soya bean, red bean, bean sprout?
-Pregnant milk or HL milk or chesses?
-as I need to work and I don’t cook I always eat ‘BATAM fish’ as normally those coffeeshop sell this type of fish for fish soup.

Product to use:
-Hospigel to bath – given by gynae
- stretch mark cream to apply on tummy – given by gynae
- from ytd start to apply Ego QV lotion from guardian
- then after 15mins apply uniflex (Betamethasone 1%) – given by gynae only on damn itchty rashes.

(pinetarsol solution) my gynae don’t allow me to use as she say it is very dry for skin and will worsen the rashes, so I dare not use.

So usually u bath, u will use Cetaphil cleansing lotion to bath? Or some of the time u use cold water only?

Do you let fan to blow onto you? Or just air-con only? As some old ppl say scare it is “FENG MO”

Coconut, do you eat the flesh? For cooling drink? U drink daily or alternate?

dandelion pills? GNC sell how much?

Ladies, sorry, as pigletgir1 cannot access to her email. And I need such information very urgently so we need to chat here.

<font color="#347C2C">
shelisa,
is it like feng mo? my mum says for feng mo, can try heating some rice wine over candle, then use cotton pad to dab over the red portions for relief...

any MTBs going to process placenta into capsules? if yes, can share contacts?

jam75, yah but my EDD is 22 June and im planning to take ask for 2 weeks HL so that means i stop working on 08 june. but what do i tell HR? if i say maternity leave, 4 months later surely she forget and ask me to come back 08 october. so wondering what to tell her lor. you planning to work all the way until you deliver is it?

<font color="#347C2C"> thanks bbpotato, I dun intend to eat it, just going to use the powder for facial purposes.. also thinking whether to do it or not..

caramelle, agree with jam75, HL is different from ML mah.. your HR should not mixed them together..
like jam75, I will also be working til delivering..

chidori, at 1st a lot of ppl tho feng mo. So I wanna use the wine ball. In the end, a auntie from TCM tell me confirm it is not! Anyway pregnant women cannot use the rice wine as scare the liquor go into our skin. So that time I go to 2 diff TCM, they dun 1 2 sell to me. hee

<font color="#347C2C"> i see.. so are u able to go to work like this? must be quite bad right? I getting some itch on my tummy too.. think its due to stretchmarks and it keeps me awake a night..

bbpotato, called them up and its $70 to process into capsules.. much cheaper than the online one.. only thing is that must bring from TMC to Tampines immediately after childbirth..

chidori, that y that time im on mc 6 days. then at home rest for 11 days. But it doesn't recover at all, and it is spreading like wild fire. No choice, office work haven pass down thus must come back work. Work long sleeve and jacket to work. Sob. I think u better apply alot of stretch mark, best before sleep. As now we stretch very fast

Chidori: I called up bbPotato contact last week, here's the details:

Chang Jiang Medical &amp; Trading
Blk 825, Tampines St 81, #01-66 S521825.
Opening hours: 9am - 8pm, except Tue and PH
Mrs Chua Tel: 67885105
$75 for normal processing

Went there yesterday, forgotten that they are closed! hahaha

afternoon mommies- still clearing my work as MC for two days..sian...

shelisa- KKH stil havent call me bout the infection result..(worry)

fatmom/junebabyboi- u r welcome .. i also be praying for qi7 &amp; her little one..

evelyn tan- hello &amp; welcome

dolly- i didnt complain too but my urine test show addition protein in my urine so tats y kana do the swab test..&amp; wait my hubby did complain to him tat i got milky yellowish discharge tat wet my pantie liners... scare waterbag leakage but he said my waterbag is full

chris38- thanks alot will wait for more infor frm u

babysara- welcome

hi mummies, sorry disappeared for quite awhile...I am officially on maternity leave liao and now the waiting game has just started.

Went for check up 2 weeks back, gynae suspects i have pre-eclampsia cos bb was not growing and i had bad swelling on my feet. Luckily last week baby put on 400g and then another 100g this week, ytd weighing @2.9kg but my BP went up, so i might get induce next wed.

Congrats Ling &amp; qi, has anyone else pop yet?? Cassey?

Neeciel, Yup, Cassey gave birth on 18/05/09 with Live telecast. wahaha. Crystal also give birth liao. Wow, you excited? Everything pack n done?

hi neeciel, welcome back! few mummies have popped: crystal, merlynz, Ling and Cassey. rest of us also playing waiting game

btw, you started your maternity or hospitalization leave as given by gynae?

caramelle, re: strep B swab test, some gynaes choose not to do it, cos taking antibiotics now will not guarantee that the infection wouldn't return by the time we deliver. So some gynae's (like my friend's doc) doesn't do the swab test, she will simply administer the antibiotics drip during delivery. Check with your doc what is his usual procedure. Side note: Anyone delivering by c-section, I think there's no need to check whether u have GBS or not, cos GBS is passed on to the baby while baby is pushed through vagina.

Shelisa, no worries, pls go ahead and chat with pigtletgir1 here, we understand

pigletgir1, thanks for sharing your experiences with Shelisa (and all of us get to benefit from some extra knowledge)

neeciel, long time no see!
Pls take care, and hope your BP stabilises... Do update us if you need to get induced next week ok?

Jackie, try as best as you can to lie down and no more shopping hor!
Take care and update us too...

Hi evelyn, chris38 and baby sara, welcome!

<font color="aa00aa">dolly >> swab test seems like routine leh.. he just say 36 wks, do. lol..

turns out i got 2 infections, yikes!!</font>

Jackie/Jam 75, I have been having some watery discharge sometimes also but I have been monitoring to make sure that it is not waterbag leak as I understand that the leak does not stop. Nowadays full term already so keep watching out for pre labour symptoms such as bloody mucus, contractions, etc. but none so far! aiyoh have to continue to play this waiting game.

Jackie, you better rest well and not walk around too much.

Jam75, you full term already?

qi7, congrats on the arrival of your baby. Do take care of yourself during confinement so that you can feed baby post-delivery. Glad to hear that baby is coming out of NICU already. You and baby will be fine. Hope to hear more from you.

Yest i removed my bowels 3 times and had a slight tummy ache. Thought could be one of the prelabour symtoms as Cassey had frequent bowel movements before she gave birth also but today I seem fine so far so guess its nothing hee.

shelisa,

i avoid all dairies product, be it pregnant milk, or cheese, i only take the calcium supplement.

as for beans pdt, yes, i abstain from things make from soy just to play safe.. bean sprout is consider as vege, so shld be able to consume

oh.. not too sure if 'Batam' fish is alrite to consume cos i oso abstain from it...

basically i strictly adhere / avoid the diet i listed cos the rash is simply too much for me to bear...

QV lotion shld be fine since it is rather mild too.. can't remember the name of the anti-itch cream provided by my gynae, but i personally don't find it useful.

i don't use cetaphil lotion for every bath cos i bathe more than twice a day.. only use it once a day, the other bathes i will just shower with cold water only..

i don't use fan as i find fan is not cooling enuf, thus mainly air-con, if i am at home, my air-con is on 24hrs..

ya, i do eat the coconut flesh.. hmmm.. i took it on alternate basis..

my TCM physician says my body is heaty by nature and the rashes was brought abt cos my hubby been a 1st time dad, overenthusiastically feed me with all the heaty tonic soups during my 1st 2 trimester, thus my body cannot take it, become "over-heated" and break out in the form of this rash..

and yes i indeed took alot of "cooling" stuff, in case you wonder if i deliver my ger prematurely, i didn't, she was born just 2 days before my EDD.. even the TCM physician thought i might deliver the moment i reach my 37 week... but i didn't..

not sure if dandelion pills are sold at GNC.. my hubby bought it from mustapha, cos by the time i read abt it online, it was 9+ pm and that's the only 24 hrs shopping mall still open thus he rush to get it for me. tink only cost abt $30 per bottle...

Thus for this pregnancy, i started consuming all sorts of cooling stuff right from the start i know i am pregnant in hope that the rash won't attack me agn... so far so good.. only recently i felt some itchiness at my belly, believe due to the stretch, but the itch definitely is so much more bearable..

how many weeks pregnant are you now? i am in my 36 weeks now...

congrats qi7 and Ling!

Most importantly is that mummy n bb are safe n healthy!

Welcome evelyn..I tink most of the mummies are on standby mode now..waitinf for the signs to come.so exciting!

Shelisa, dun feel excited yet leh... live telecast from Cassey ah?? With video is it haha....bag more or less packed except toiletries havent go in yet.

Caramelle, i started my maternity leave since gynae initially mentioned wants to induce me at week 38. So this week i was hoping to do some cleaning to welcome my boi.

Tubbymummy, thanks but i doubt my BP will stablise since it has been going up since weeks ago. I am fine to pop next week, get over and done with hee...

congrats to other mummies who have popped!!

<font color="#347C2C"> thanks dolly for the info.. still wondering whether to do it or not.. think my hubby will think that is is too troublesome..

Shelisa, yah.. appplying a lot of stretchmark cream.. all my big fat worms come out after week 33.. very scary.. with my pigmentation my belly.. looks really awful..
took a video of my gal dancing in my belly until now also dun dare post of facebook coz my belly looks awful..

Cassey, Ling &amp; qi7, congras!

Welcome, evelyn.

hi mummies, thanks! i am feeling much better now. have been sleeping throughout the last few days. OMG! so many OT to do. haha. this thread has certainly been very active with more mummies popping.

bb is more active these days. maybe bcos he's growing bigger. but my appetite isnt as good. so hopefully, he still grows. i'm into my 39th week alr but bb is still happily inside. no signs of him wanting to come out yet.

Pigletgirl, we have the same EDD... I will also be delivering at TMC
Is this your #1?

My gynae didnt said my princess is engaged yet but head is dwn and aiming for natural del.I will be gg for check-up this Fri again.

Swap test? I don't think I have done the test yet.

neeciel- ooohhh u in full term already 10 more days i be 37 weeks...

bing- 39th weeks .. wow yr baby really enjoying himself inside yr belly ..hope my baby also can stay till 40 week too

<font color="#347C2C"> dolly, I not sure leh.. maybe she said $75 lah.. if you wan pearl powder and cordeyceps added, it will be $300

Dolly- my urine show more protein tats y got to do the test .. &amp; gyne said he saw my CV very pink &amp; he said i kana infection but it a minor things &amp; if the test is bad the nurse wil call me back but till now frm monday my checkup no news yet.. &amp; gyne said no self treatment yrself if i feel itchy below

Annie, don't worry my dear.

pigletgir1, so u means alt day u will take cooling stuff? im now ard week 36++. So when at night sleeping, u cover with blanket? So u everyday drink alot of plain water or still got other stuff to drink?

neeciel, she can post when she is delivery ward, she can ask for comestics. heehee. That good, waiting for turn to pop.

chidori, i can fully understand how u feel. hugz.

Chidori: Oh,I haven't asked about the cost for additional stuff.
BTW, placenta is supposed to help to balance back the hormones too, not just for complexion lah

Annie: What is CV huh?