(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

erm, it's antibiotics to eat one...

shelisa, i dun think annie is the same as us ba... cos my gynae never mentioned abt inserting pill inside me leh!!

annie, wat infection did ur gynae say? was it GBS or strep B? if it's not this, den yours is something else le.

Congrats to Ling & qi7!

Comfort,
wow ur hubby very good leh! call woody to question him!! well done!!
agree with u that if he doesnt want to deliver in MT A then he should informed any new patients with him that he is not going MT A anymore. but he still need to deliver whoever that was with him previously to have that option rite?

Jam75,
ya loh... i will just go straight to MT A & tell woody that i m heading there & up to him whether he is coming along or not?... i tot of checking out who will be the stand-in gynae first to estimate the cost also... ;)

capriho88,
u r rite that stand-in gynae won't be that bad but just worry that he/she will ask me go straight to c-sect even b4 checking if i can try natural wor cos my #1 is c-sect case....

Shelisa,
i think i tried to avoid seafod cos i tot is food allergy but honestly dont think so leh... cos i scratch my legs until bleeding everywhere, not to mentioned it's very ugly. so i tell my church frens pls pray for me every wk when i see them cos i really got no clue nor miracle cream liao. thank god that it got clears up and very minimum scar but left with hairy legs due to those tonnes of steriod creams that i applied...
i know it's quite pek chey to see the rash and try not to scratch. just hang in & i pray that ur rash will clear on its own.

ahnetsan- oh no wonder cos i allergic to amoxycillin, panacillin, & most antibiotics so tat mean if result bad i nid to insert into my virginal

gyne said more protein in my urine & caused infection in my virginal..tats y i got alot of milky yellowish discharge & it wet my pantie liners too

Superbee, im trying hard. What im afraid most is during confinement it will be damn itchy. Plus i read from other forum, if after give birth, if i wanna steriod jab, i cannot breast feed for certain time. I don't wish to be like this.

Annie, ya. Ahnetsan is right. My gynae didn't mention abt inserting pill wor. Only say when deliver that time need to put on drip.

shelisa, how about u shower with the hospigel, but can try to use the Ego QV moisturiser? Or ask the clinic if the hospigel series got moisturiser or not? If have, they can sell to you also... I used to have a customer who had bad eczema all over her body, she uses Ego QV cos she said it's the only thing that works for her, skin less dry so less itchy. Eczema got some similarities with PUPPP rashes, so maybe worth a thought... But of course, different ppl will hv different reaction lor. But I think it's best you don't anyhow buy those normal body moisturiser brands like Nivea or Jergens etc, cos these all contain fragrance, and who knows if at this point, fragrance may make things worse.

Shelisa: Yeah yeah, like what you described,it's like "heaven" when you scratch, but then later it felt like hell! So better dun scratch, I know it's REALLY tough, sometimes I'll just pour cold cold water over it to ease a bit.

Congrats, Ling and Qi7.

Glad to hear that Qi7's bb is alright.

It's really getting exciting to hear one mommy after another popping. While I m looking fwd to see my BB sooner, I M SO NOT READY... when I can't finish and hand over my work. Everyday, keep telling BB to take his time cos mummy still need to work.

Shelisa, I don't have rashes like yours but the itchiness is enough to kill me. I can totally relate to that "heavenly" feeling when we scratch. Have already left a mark on my tummy last week when I scratched till the skin broke. Sighz. Sometimes, I wonder if my boi can hear the scratching sound when I scratch my tummy. Will feel so guilty thereafter... but have tolerate till delivery. The itch and rashes will go away after that. I take regular cold showers when I am at home n before bedtime to cool the skin down so that the itch is minimal... n I could fall asleep easier. Maybe u can try n see if this works for u?

My gf has PUPP during her pregnancy. She tried two creams from her gynae but none works. She said that it's all due to hormones and there is nothing one can do, except to tolerate till BB pops out. It's the moment where she couldn't help but wish she could deliver asap then. So do hang in there. It will soon be over.

Oh.. I also have this ice cool pack that I keep in the fridge to hug agst my tummy when the itch becomes too intolerable. At least, I won't keep on scratching non-stop.

Annie, don't worry. You always on the lucky side.

Tubbymuumy, ok. Tonight off duty i go Watsons see the Ego QV lotion. Thanks

Dolly, ya, so sometime when i scratch i will be very gentle scratch. But ytd evening after work reach home, so hot!! so i scratch so hard then bathing that time got those burning feeling. scratch too hard liao. Guilty.

bbjun, did u apply anything?

Shelisa, came across this, not sure if you're bothered to try to order from overseas, or if it really works...

http://www.rainiersoapworks.com/puppp_relief.htm

I was also gonna suggest ice packs, like what bbjun said. I know your rashes are spread over a wide area, so maybe it's not practical to buy 20 ice packs or whatever, but having a couple of them on hand to use on the itchiest parts may help.

Tubbymummy, ya, i saw this website too. But i dare not try as i read from other forum, no one use before. I scare worsen so i think later go watsons see QV lotion and ice pack.

bbjun: Beware when you are using cold pack on your tummy, cos one method to get baby to turn to head down position is to put cold pack on top of tummy, baby dun like cold and will move down. So try not to put it below your tummy... wonder if baby will do the reversal and turn up

TubbyMummy: Hang on and rest! Sound serious that just walking a bit you are tired all over. Sometimes also found that when I'm in office, I sit too long, cos when I get up, I feel back aching from remaining too long in the same position. That's when I walk like a robot.

dolly, thanks for the caution. I try not to use it as much as possible becos I was afraid of what u just said. Actually I use it more for the bottom half of my tummy. :p n usually keep it at cool temp rather than ice cold (even though it's really shiok to use ice cold pack)

Shelisa, I was applying this lotion that my gynae gave me. But it usually last only 30mins or so. Think it's called Sarna or something like that. I need to go home n have a look at it. It contains menthol.. which is cooling. Provides instant relief for that 15-30mins but does not help to cure the itch.

Shelisa, there's this BP always going on for Egyptian cream, apparently is a miracle cure for many skin problems. you can check it out or Google it.

you sure it's not ringworm right? i think not. but i had a ringworm infection before and it spread to whole body. was itchy all the time and i had to use Daktarin cream (but this is only for fungal infection) and cannot share towel, cannot be wet (keep dry because the bubbles contain water which can spread the infection), cannot eat chicken and egg (yah like chicken pox) and i used daktarin powder also. took me about a week to clear up but cos i took precautions. otherwise it will continue to spread.

not sure if any of above helps? do you notice bubbles which when you pierce got clear water come out?

Mount A : yay! i think i will also head to Mount A for my delivery.Oh, I wonder how much the stand in gynae will charge too...

Nursing Clothes : Can I ask the mummies here if you have a good nursing bra, you dont really have to spend money to get nursing tops / dresses, right?

annie, thanks for the updates on qi7.. do continue to keep us posted.. so i can keep her in prayers too

shelisa,
are u applying any cream now.. if not, u want to try getting aloe vera gel.. chilled it first before u apply.. quite soothing.. it may not help to remove the rashes.. but it may soothe the itch

ahnetsan,
yup.. mount a has free wireless.. when my mom was warded.. we got the internet pin from the station nurse and able to surf internet all day

re coconut,
actually we should not eat the flesh.. cos flesh is heaty.. i normally just drink the water only

fat_mom: Huh? The flesh of coconut is heaty huh! I've been eating that as well... Anyway, so far only had 3 coconuts cos I couldn't grab them.

dolly,
yup.. coconut flesh is heaty.. i always want to tell u all but never remember when i am online till u mommies talk abt hacking.. so normally i will drink all the water and my husband or my helper will eat the flesh.. they love the flesh

as for hacking the coconut, i just came back from plaza sing carrefour.. they sell lots of huskless coconut, i.e those husk already removed one.. they sold them with one straw attached.. think there is a soft covering on each coconut just need to poke the straw in can drink already.. each one cost 1.40.. if u buy from plaza sing, it is beside the durian stall..

ntuc also sell those semi hacked one.. also huskless one.. they have hacked part of the top.. just need to continue to hack the rest..

A lady from Friso just called me to say that I can ask for Friso Gold milk in the hospital for the baby. Just tell them that I need the milk and the hospital will give a bottle to me. And before discharge, can ask for a few more bottles too.

dolly, yup, I got that call from the Friso lady last week as well.

Have been reading the discussion on Woody and MAH issue. Really, I find him unprof to just "force" MTBs to go TMC when he has given them the choice to go MAH. Mummies who have chosen MAH over TMC, just go ahead and I am sure he will be there unless he can come up with some crappy excuse of not turning up at the hospital. Seriously, he should not list MAH as one of his delivery hospitals if he doesn't want to deliver there. It's not fair to mislead MTBs to choosing him when MAH was part of the reason why. I chose my gynae knowing very well she only delivers at TMC even though hb n I did consider MAH as our delivery hospital at the initial stage.

Shelisa : I had bad rashes at the beginning of the pregnancy - stopped eating seafood (except fish)+ I used Cetaphil moisturiser - it seemed to help. And also showering in cool water..and do not scratch.....

Hope you feel better soon!

hi need help from you ladies... i am due soon and looking for postnatal massage. didint have the chance to do it for my 1st so hope to do it now. anyone has recommendations or where i can search for ? am i too late to engage someone now? hope someone can advise me as i am not too familar with the system here in singapore..
many thanks

Evelyn : Hi!!! I'm hiring my massage lady from this place -

http://www.javanesemassage.com/

However, there are other places you can check -

http://www.goldwellness.com/Services_TraditionalIndonesianPost-NatalMassage.html

http://jamumassage.com/

http://www.rusticnirvana.com/index.php?p=/html_sg/mother2baby

http://www.mummymassages.com.sg/modules/news/

http://originsjamumassage.com/

http://www.babiesbellies.com.sg/2_pre---post-natal-massage_nfo

Alternatively, you can search the forums and you will find many preggers hiring massage ladies who freelance.The contact numbers of these ladies are always being mentioned in the forums.

hi ladies, tks for the warm welceom,
tinybubu- wow tks for the consolidation.. really impressive,,,

will go check them out...
Now still trying to get my way on this forum.. need som familiarise.. so many threads available...

hihi evelyn..

annie- good to hear that qi7 and baby are doing fine..thanks for your constant update...

one night and day..so many posts to read..getting exciting in here..

Hi Evelyn!

Good morning everyone,
Now I really have difficulties sleeping. 3 nights in a roll I haven't had good night sleep! So xian when I wake up in the morning for work! Anyone experiencing this? Will check with OB how much time I have till I pop today.

LFB, morning to you too! at first i read you said: how much time I have till I pop today -- and i thought WOW! you're popping today?? but i think you meant you'll ask the OB today right?

i don't have difficulty falling asleep but must say that my usual sleeping positions are not so comfy anymore. definitely cannot sleep on the back and when i sleep on the sides, either it causes pins and needles on the shoulders or pain on the leg (as if i put a lot of load on it).

im in week 35, so 5 more weeks of this and i'll have a different set of sleeping problems to deal with after that. of sleepless nights and cannot roll too much on bed cos baby sleeping with us. hehe

<font color="aa00aa">Hey Shelisa,

Confirm is PUPP?? that one like quite common one, but no cure wor.. gotta deliver the baby and the rashes will go away..

sometimes they may warn that rashes also sign of liver problem.. you got see doc??? but very rare..

dun scratch lor.. wait got marks..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">oops.. just saw.. shelisa see doc liao hor.. hehee..

got my swab test results. gosh sian. got 2 types of infection. gotta insert pill AND take oral medicine.

Alamak!!!!

and strep B, so gotta antibiotic via drip during labor too.. haiz... extra cost as well.. arrrgh</font>

LFB: BH kicks in at 3am last night, couldn't sleep till 5:30am and I'm in office now... a bit sleepy liao

11_Beans: gynae never do swab test on me leh and I'm 38 weeks liao, did you complain any itchiness or anything that's why he do the test?

Evelyn: Welcome to the thread! Fly back at such a late stage!

i am a silent reader of this thread since i preg
currently in my 37th wk with no. 2

hi 11_beans, ahnetsan, annie
i was reading the message abt vaginal infection. i was tested with gbs too, even after 1st round of antibiotics. i believe the other infection which requires u to insert a pill in your v is yeast infection, which is quite common and less serious. for gbs (abbrev for strep b), i googled and was a bit worried abt the effects on the bb if the infection is not clear during delivery. was told by gynae that will be put on antibiotics drip as well during delivery, but this takes a while to take effect. will ask and share more abt this during my visit this evening.

dolly, are you also seeing gynae at KKH? me also never had the swab test but seems a few people here kenna so now im wondering if i should ask gynae to check me for it?

Qi, Ling,
Congrat on the safe arrival of your bundle of joy

Evelyn,
Welcome

My water bag leak and was given MC from yesterday till this fri. Gynae want me to bed rest and review this coming friday.

Heng water level is good and bb is 2.5kg as at 36weeks 2 days. Gynae want to keep bb till min 37weeks so lung can mature. Keeping my finger crosssssssssssssssss

dolly,
Gyane mention small tear usually will heal by itself. She check the membrane of the water bag is still intack.

Fri gg back for review and see how everything goes. Unless water level is low than she will induce or c-sect ba..

bbjun, thanks.

Caramelle, i think not ring worm as mine does not have bubble or water.

fat mom, i tried but my rashes is quite big areas, so 1 tube can only use 1-2 times. Really? Coconut flesh is heaty?

Newbie Mom, ytd i just brought QV lotion, so time being trying out. I try not to scratch but sometime just cannot tahan.

hi Evelyn, high five, we same edd. I give birth at Mt a. u?

11_Beans, my gynae didn't say is PUPPP. She just tell me is hormone change. Tmr i will visit her again. Will ask her to see properly. Ahnetsan and me also ganna strep B

welcome chris38.

morning all!

superbee, tiny bubu &amp; comfort, so u'll juz head down to MT A if hv any symptoms f labour &amp; juz called woody to infm him dat u'll will go MT A?? hmm dis fri i might pop in his clinic &amp; c wat he will tell mi!

jackie, u beter rest well leh...ya lo wanna do u know water bag leak??

caramelle, jam75,
My panty just beoome WET and kana soak through. The smell is also differnt from normal discharge. I monitor it for 1 day n suspect its water bag leak. Gynae did a test and confirm.

According to gyane, sometime the tear just happen. Its not something we can control.

jackie pls do rest well and stay strictly in bed.

caramelle, think u shld ask ur gynae abt this.. the gbs test seems impt to do. my gynae did for me as well.

i always oso very paranoid abt waterbag leak cos my discharge is not so mucus like anymore and feels slightly more watery.. dont noe whether i'm thinkin too much. tmr got to ask gynae.