(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Morning, Yeah looks quiet, today might be a busy day for me too! Just keeping my fingers crossed.

Qi: Wow, cake also need to book nowadays? I also thot can cash and carry, what about Polar?

Polar I went yesterday do not have strawberry cream cakes. They carry those cartoons infront of the cakes and I do not like it. I'd rather have a nice fresh cream cake with strawberries on it

Tampines one Basement One have nice cakes but they are too big. I am looking at 300grm enough for 3 adults, 1 kid. I'm going my neighbourhood store and take a look. Worst come to worst I'm getting the expansive one tonight at Tampines one. They stuff half strawberries at each rounded 4 corners yesterday night, I saw the cake and immediately love it but it cost me $32 for a half kg. When I can get 1kg at that price.. -_-"

qi7- those normal cake shop got cash & carry but don have nice decoration in the pic book & cant choose much..
normally i will go choose the design i wan 5 days in advance & then collect it on the actual day..

wow 5 days!!! I wont go thru that just to get a cake. I went to calculate and realised that my boy will reach 17 years old then mothers day fall on his birthday again.

I wonder by then he still want to celebrate with me or not? hahahahaha

qi7- i don mind going thru tat for my little boy... i realise whenever i talked to my hubby..he also wan to get involve & moved roughly here & ther in the tummy..
hubby said he be a chatter box like me...

i think by 17 he celebrating wif his galfriend then u hahahahahaha...

LFB,

Who's ur gynae & hospital? Mine is Dr Adrian & wanna go Mount Alvernia but was turned dw due to Swine flu alert. Going to ask Adrian again.

Hi qi,

Mine is the severe pain type & can't even walk or sleep well. I suspected mine is SPD http://www.baby-pregnancy-ultrasound-3d-4d.co.uk/Pregnancy-SPD.htm which I hope not. If not, the same ans I get from gynae will be delivering the baby. I don't want to have premature baby. By the way, happy birthday to your boy.

Hi Cassey,

Dun mind can add mine? EDD 21 June, Dr Adrian Woodworth, Boy, TMC (hopefully MA), #1. Thanks ya

If by 17 he dont want study want to focus on his gf I'll smack him!

He better find a nice gf who can cook, clean and wash clothes. hhahahahahha! So I can retire early!

Talking about chatterbox, my boy is like me! Keep talking away! Before sleep also want to talk alot of stuff with me.

Remind me on sunday, no bubble tea before I sleep hahahahhah! later monday routine test fail again

comfort: Just need to scan through the archive for the past few days and you'll find that a few mummies here also under this same Dr Woodworth and he told every patient can't deliver at MtA! In fact, tinybubu has clarify with MtA and was told that Dr Woodworth is welcome anytime!

I'm not under Dr Woodworth but was afraid my gynae at Mt E cannot deliver at Mt A due to swine flu too. It's until I check w my gynae's nurse and found that there's no such regulation at all.

Qi: Start NOW! You can give that piece of strawberry cake to your hubby tonight

Haiya KKH nurse call me again! Why everyday I seem to be bothered by the nurses huh? She said I got this:

Gestational Diabetes causes the baby to grow larger. This can make delivery difficult and some women may need a c section. When the baby is born, it may have low blood sugar and need sugar water and monitoring. In extreme cases, heart defects in the baby can occur and in rare cases, untreated diabetes can result in a stillbirth.

The primary treatment is through dietary measures. You will need to increase your intake of carbohydrates and fiber. You should eat less fat and sugar. The doctor will give you the exact dietary requirements for your condition. If dietary measures don't improve the condition, you may be given insulin injections. Unlike regular diabetes, the condition corrects itself after the baby is born.

Failing the initial test doesn't necessarily mean you have Gestational Diabetes. It could just mean you ate a big piece of cake before the appointment. This is what happened to me with my first pregnancy. -By Pattie Hughes is a freelance writer and mother of four young children.

And I didnt eat cake ma! I had bubble tea! hahahhaa

Nurse said I got Diabetics but she is very polite. I told her I need to see doctor before deciding to go or not. And she's fine with it (not so pushy and rude unlike the previous nurse) So see doctor first before deciding to go or not.

morning everyone!!!

the weather was lovely this morning!just wanted to sleep in but realised need to drag myself to work to start facilitating handover of my duties.

sigh

comfort,
i m having the same EDD & same gynae as u.
i also want to go MT A like u cos my #1 was born in MT A & i want #2 to born there too. when r u seeing him? i m going this sat so going to pester him abt going to MT A like what jam75 suggest. ;)

tinybubu,
oh u will b there at 1 pm ah? i m usually the last few pple to arrive ie ard 2-2.30pm cos my #1 takes afternoon nap ard 12pm so by the time i reached SK, already very late.

bing,
u going to c woody this friday & plan to induce? i went induced for my #1 cos #1 overdued. woody guideline is if u don't progress well in dilation ie 1 cm per hr after he breaks the waterbag, he will ask u to go for c-sect. not necessary emergency c-sect cos u can still opt for epi c-sect. for my #1, i only dilate up to 3 cm after 6 hrs w/o epi, then he tell me since my bb so big ie 3.745kg, better don't waste time, $ and risk so hubby agreed with him and ask me go for c-sect loh.

tinybubu: yeah, such a cooling morning!

Superbee: just curious, do you still remember what time of the day was that when Dr Woodworth asked you to go for c-sec?

Hi comfort,
ya i haf the exact same symptoms as u n gynae say is SPD.even slpng also gt difficulty turning in bed n mine quite bad can't walk properly n painful that y haf been on hospitalization leave since 1st may..she recommended me to go for physiotherapy which i did..during the physiotherapy they will massage the pelvic area for u n teach u h to staand n sit without pain...but results nt immediate n the only cure is birth of baby...

thanks for everything...

was packing my hospital bag last night:
baby clothes *1
baby towels *2
mittens and booties *2
receiving blanket *1
my PJ *1
disposable panties pack *1
sanitary pads pack *1

hmm..what else did i miss out??

june : important documents for registering the birth and for baby bonus. also remember to pack a pair of socks because delivery room is very cold.

comfort, muz pester him to let u go MT A to deliver...even he tell mi so many time dat he can onli go TMC i still tell him i wanna to wait till bb due & go MT A....so he tell mi i can still wait lo & c by then how's situation f swine flu lo....so muz b firm la!

superbee, ya lo muz realli combine forces to ask him to go MT A to deliver...hahaha! do u tink he will always suggest to go induce rather than wait f symptoms to come & do he always suggest to go f c-sec?? hmm was tinking if we try f natural then go c-sec will he charge double ma?? any idea bo?? so sorry so many que!

qi7, that lady that you quoted about eating a big piece of cake before the appointment, what she is saying is not relevant to those of us who took the Glucose Tolerance Test, cos we would have fasted before our test. The one where you don't have to fast beforehand is a Glucose Screening Test, by finger prick. That one just tells you how much sugar you have in your system as at THAT point, so yes, results will be affected by a piece of cake.

The GTT that we take, it doesn't really matter what we ate the day before, it has no impact, cos the test results are a reflection of how well our body is able to break down the glucose that they gave to us, after our body has been starving for 8 hours. If the results are not too good, it means that our body is not very good at breaking down sugars, and this means we could already have, or could be LIKELY to have, gestational diabetes.

But yes, I also think you should see your actual results and talk to your own obgyn first, before seeing any other doctors, or attending whatever talks lor... It's your right to know about your own health. Maybe your results are not even that bad, just a bit off the norm...

Blurmom, how come you're inducing??

Woody's patients:
Don't ASK him already, just tell him point blank that MAH has confirmed they welcome him to deliver there, and that MOH has confirmed there's no such regulation about cannot cross hospital to deliver. Maybe should ask him if this is just his OWN "regulations"... See what else he has to say haha... Haiyoh, dunno what's his hangup about TMC and MAH. If he doesn't like MAH, he shouldn't offer it as an option to begin with.

dolly,
i reach MT A at 8am then gynae broke waterbag at around 9am. he came back at 3pm to tell me that i didn't dilate much so ask me to go c-sect. then i discuss with hb and we agreed at 3.30pm. i went to operation theatrette ard 4pm and bb came out at 4.20pm. another uni fren of mine who also went induce and her gynae from Gleneagles told her that she didn't dilate much after 6-7rs too but ask her go GA c-sect wor. so we concluded that both our gynae is not those "patience" type ie let u slowly go and dilate? or is it becos we being first time mum, blur blur just follow instruction? i heard kk guideline is to let u slowly go n dilate with no time restriction. only due to emergency case like waterbag color change to black or bb heartbeat drop then will push u go emergency csect loh. my colleague gave birth in kk n took 24hrs to dilate then deliver.

Superbee: Thanks for the info. I'd very much like to deliver naturally and would not even let him break waterbag or induce unless there's medical condition. I'm curious if he suggested to have c-sec because it's almost dinner time, but since it's 3pm, then it's likely just his style to have a controlled birth.

KKH guideline is much better in letting nature takes it course!

i think KKH is more prone to natural deliveries.I've also heard many stories of my friends who deliver at KKH (private / subsidized) where they were in labour for 16 hours , 11 hours etc etc).For my friends who gave birth in private hospitals, their labours are always very short.If their labour gets a tad bit long, their gynaes will encourage C-Section.

I think some gynaes just do that to earn more from the C-section charges and also so they dont have to standby and come back suddenly in the middle of the night or when they are seeing patients at their clinics.

Superbee, my friend who delivered at TMC was also left to dilate at her own pace for 16hrs, before both she and her doc decided that it's not progressing, then went for c-sect. Another friend who delivered at KKH also took more than 24hrs to dilate. So I think it depends on the practices (and patience) of individual doctors...

dolly, dinner time doesn't mean must go c-sec already what.... hehe
Whoever your doc is, just be firm about what you want. He can't go against your wishes unless a medical emergency happens (your BP shoots up, baby heart rate drops, poo in water, etc.). But of course, I'm sure you'll know when to call it quits lah, like after 24hrs of labour still not that much progress! How long would you want to try before you'll allow any intervention?

was tinking if we insist to wait till it dilate can ma?? tink 1st time mummy if gynae say wat we will juz follow their instruction...if i was told the same thing dat i nid to go c-sect i tink will oso follow gynae instruction lo cos we oso dunno wat to do the gynae should give us their best suggestion f us to hv smooth delivery ba! dis is wat i tink lo!

i totally agree. i think first time parents will follow their gynae's advise blindly because we have no experience whatsoever with labour.

This is latest version of cassey & Bluedream's collated June MTBs table.

Thank you cassey and bluedream.

Cassey,i already update your table to latest one.If you want i can sent it to you in excel format.

mime_msexcel.gif

Info.xls (25.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

jam75,
of cos if ur normal labor sympton come, u dont have to consider induce at all.
my issues last time is becos i dont have real labor sympton on my EDD but 2 times of false labor wks b4 my EDD. i m pro-natural delivery so he told me go and try induce 2 days later if still no sympton happen on my EDD. as for c-sect, will be based on situation like breech position, low placenta, medical condition, personal choice and lastly no dilation progress. as for charges, not to worry. he only charge me for the c-sect price $1500 + $450 for the operation fee. the induce hrs fee is charged by the hospital which i can't tell from the bill also. but i opt for epi c-sect so there is another dr who charged me $450 dunno for what?!?!?!

Tubbymummy,
i agree with u that i might just tell him that i will go MT A regardless what he try to say. my SIL who just delivered in MT A say there is a standby doctor who can give birth for u incase ur gynae cannot reach in time to deliver u. so a scenario will be i just head straight to MT A when my labor starts, then see if he will come to MT A or not hor?? hehee... If he not coming, then the standby doc deliver loh... the only issue is have to see this new gynae for post-natal visit loh which means pay extra $ cos our pre-natal charges included post-natal visits too.

qi7, great that you kept your baby daughter. I think every child is a gift from God and he will make sure everything will turn out fine.

Dolly, while I am still preggie, my hubby is already talking abt #2. He wants the children to be close in age and doesn't want only 1 child cos he is scared that he will be lonely. I was like, " pls let me rest for a while first, pregnancy not easy leh" haha

Yes I definitely think that it depends on the doc's practices and style, on whether they are pronatural or quick to decide on medical interventions. I have heard of docs who allow the patients to try natural birth for a long time whereas others are rather quick to suggest C section.i think its important to discuss the birth plan with your doc beforehand.

dolly, tinybubu &amp; tubbymummy,
u r rite. i think private hospitals gynae prefer to have controlled birth so that they can go to many places in a day to deliver many mummies too.. my fren @ gleneagles also end up in csect in afternoon too.... kkh is much better in this perspective!

jam75,
u can insist to wait if u want cos i tried to bargain with him to let me try for another 1 hr then he say 1 hr wont have miracle dilation one. if i still want to insist, he say i can continue to go on for another 6hrs but he not giving me epi loh cos he say nurse saw green water leaking wor.... then i tot, aiyo pain for another 6hrs w/o epi n hubby say "forget it loh" so we end up guai guai listen to gynae cos we don't want to put our bb at risk also...

actually i got a bit of post natal depression due to my previous birth experience becos i hope so much for natural and ended up very disappointed loh. plus my c-sect scar kena infection so i was very depressed loh.

Tiny bubu/jam 75, I think that you should discuss your birth plan with your gynaes and ensure that he and the midwife sticks to that but of course if there is any unpredictable situation that crops up and the gynae suggests otherwise we should at least understand the rationale and decide if we want to go with that. It is important that the doc and the nurse respects your wishes because we own the birth experience.

Well, this is how I intend to go about it=)

i think my baby likes to listen to drums. I am playing music with some drum beats and he responds well to it by kicking. haha.

Looks like baby and daddy have the same taste in music.

Superbee, haha... good ploy, just go to MAH regardless, see whether doc turns up or not haha... Your previous round, the doc who charge $450, is it the PD?? Or maybe anaesthetist that administered the epi?

bbaugustine, if my kid shares same music taste as my hubby, they can bring the house down liao... -_- hehe

I think I read somewhere else on this forum about a lady who refused to check into hospital to break her waters haha. After CTG confirmed that her baby is perfectly fine, she went home, and let her labour take place at its own course, and only popped 3 days later than if she had her waters broken. Think she just wanted minimal intervention...

I think it's my turn now... baby not moving much... I shake my tummy she'll usually squim around but she did not. I'd better on some music...

TubbyMummy: I've gynae is pro-natural also. I'm taught to delay going into hospital until I really close to delivery. If the only sign is contraction, then wait for contraction to be 90sec duration before going down. In this way the hospital cannot tell you that it's too long and we still have comfort of own home.

The induction success rate also depends on the Bishop score, which I've sent out yesterday. So if your gynae asked you to induce, can also ask him what's your Bishop score, if success rate not high, why not just go home? I also watch a video of birth that the lady went home and come back after 2 days to deliver

bbaugustine: Yeah, I heard we need to rest for 1 year without pregnancy first. Then can try again.
Still have not sit down and write the birth plan yet, but I've been telling my gynae bit by bit over each visit.

Superbee: Dilation is not a something we can control lah, I heard people can dilate from 4cm to 10 cm within 20 minutes before! However, when the water start to turn colour, then maybe really got some urgency

Yesterday I was asked how i'm preparing for labour (eg. breathing exercises etc etc) and i realised i'm doing nothing... hahaha.

anybody here care to share what they're doing?any breathing exercises or massaging of boobs etc etc?

i only remember the "pant pant blow" breathing exercise i did in antenatal class.this is for when i have a contraction but should not push the baby out yet.

other than that, i think i do kegels once in a while....

but i'm not doing much else.

my hubby started teasing me yesterday saying my boobs look like the women on national geographic... that was his code for tribal women. hahaha. what to do?boobs cant be perky forever.

<font color="aa00aa">Anyone planning on getting casting kits???

seems so fun, to have the little hands and feet casted so next time can show the kiddos!! =)</font>

I saw at kiddy palace the casting kits cost about $50+ I forgot the brand. Those at KKH (there is a shop) where there are spcialist who paste photo and write names, frame it up for you cost few hundred bucks!

tinybubu:I started to get my hubby to do perineal massage, this helps to massage the perineum and hopefully there won't be tear during natural birth. It's kind of late because we should start at 35weeks, but still better late then never!

As for kegel, we are supposed to do 200 a day, but yeah,I also didn't do as much. And just read somewhere that we should not do it during peeing time once we know which muscle to control, cos it might cause urinal infection. So just do it while sitting, watching TV...etc

Eh Annie MIA... must be zzzing in store hahahahha!

I'm out to buy cane (my hubby broke 2 canes trying to cane my boy) and cake

Cane and Cake... it rhymes!

qi7 : i saw it being sold at Takashimaya as well for around $40++. As long as you know what to do with the kit, it will save a lot of money compared to going to the shop in KKH.

11_beans, I'm thinking of casting kit too
But now can't go shopping, dunno how... Can't recce to see what options there are out there. Have you bought?

dolly : 200 kegels a day?that's a lot!

For perineum massage, i think my hubby is a bit squirmish.we sometimes watch the birthing documentaries on Discovery Channel and he looks away with a scared look on his face....

I think he still has this idea where the vagina is something sexual and not used to push babies out.hahaha.

qi7- no lah.. i consolidating my april documents lah(cos wait kana tell off by our AM.. she in bad mood &amp; my colleague kana already frm her tis morning) ... and jus now my friend came to IMM to give me red dates, black dates, dried longan &amp; wolfberry &amp; teaching me how to boil for my confinement drink.. she gave my hubby chestnuts to eat to cool his body temperture lah.. so was talking outside the office for sometimes lah..

tinybubu: hmmm... well well, add some fun to the massage then ;)
Anyway, my hubby also delayed it for a few weeks, until I was telling him that both of us dun want to have a tear right? And if can avoid or minimize the tear, why not?

Remember to get olive oil or gel without scent

can we induce before EDD or after??

qi7- my baby and hubby is the same..hear sounds of computer games..my baby will kick..

i wonder..my gynae always ask a few qns and scan the baby..and thats all for my visit..after reading posts here..mummies have to go through alot of tests and scans..hmmm...

tinybubu- i may do the registration in ICA..the feng shui shi fu need a day to do the Chinese name for my baby..but i will bring all the necessary documents..thanks for reminding me..