(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tiby bubu.. Thks for the info. Wah now still got wat prewarm feature ah.. so adv. It state for baby but dun know for infant where their ear holes are so tiny dun know can go into anot. If not den digital shld be better. Heard there are some thermometer is scan from forehead type. I have not gotten any yet cos not decided.

creamer: when I find that I dun have enough oxygen lying on my back, I remove my pillow and sleep on mattress alone. It helps for the while and after that I can put back my pillow again. However, I dun have breathing problem sleeping on side

Fat mom, which position u felt breathless? sides or back? I told my beatician cant go facial liao cos cant even rest on back more than a min! Mayb yr shirt too big dat the cloth gather at one side. oops.. so now u go topless? sexy leh

hi Tubby and dolly, thanks for indicating interest in the shoot. i agree maybe not easy to get everyone to come. let's wait for the quotes first and see who among us can make it. then we take it from there okay?

Cassey, GD vs stretchmarks - which is the lesser of 2 evils? hehe
since i have the latter, i'd say GD might be better cos at least it goes away after delivery.

Blurmommy, nipple cream is not the same as lanolin which is used to keep the area moisturised? if yes, then lanolin is safe for BFing.

creamer, hey long time i no see you here..then again i also MIA quite often. hehe. i END up on my back lah..so cannot control at night when i toss and turn. if and when i wake up middle of the night, i will turn myself back to the left.

thks dolly.. i cant live w/o pillows! Even my pillow i choose are those very firm firm type, scare too soft and sink in! hee

Caramelle... yeah, nowadays too busy to log in leh. How are you? Know abt your hubby not in town, lovey dovey couple missing each other hor... dun wori, you count down towards yr EDD and your hubby with be back soon w/o you realising!!

<font color="0077aa">Cassey doing OT now... *flood coming*

jetaime, apply barrier cream on baby's bottom and genitals. Kinda like if you have eczema, you prevent with a good moisturiser. If condition flares, you may need steroid cream. You don't apply it in a different area - just a different "time".

Tubbym~, indeed?! Vaseline sounds like a cheap and good alternative if California Calendula is too dear for daily smearing. TAKE ME WITH YOU IN DEC!!!

FirstMum, Desitin technically nappy rash cream. It's not that nappy rash cream cannot be applied with every diaper change. It can and a lot of ppl do it. Just that in WBB's opinion, should not.

fatmom, look on the bright side huh? Maybe the more ppl you pass on to, the less likely you'll be disturbed during maternity leave?
My budget "taitai" days are drawing nearer!

> Bb position
Boy's been head down at week 29-going-30 and week 31-going-32 checks. Sometimes he leans hard to one side and tt side is rock hard. But otherwise, both sides are firm and I feel his movements on both sides too. I guess it's his elbows/knees/feet/shoulders...? It's Week 33-going-34 visit on Fri! I hope he won't have flipped...

Re: Cardi/Jacket
Thanks for all the sharing &amp; suggestions!

Shelisa, whoa.. your girl is a nice good weight!

caramelle, pain at the "bottom" means tailbone ache or constipation!! *chuckle* I think you mean on the underside of bump... I think it just means the little fella is wriggling around there... Sometimes I reckon it feels like bb's playing with waistband of knickers. heehee! Also, as we get closer to term, pelvic ligaments loosen and sometimes we feel achey there.

jam75, aiyo... you choose between chrysanthemum tea in the toilet bowl and sleep lor!

*Gasp* Thought 24/7 is universal lingo...?!

creamer,
all positions also breathless.. really hard to find a good spot to sleep + my tendency to drink water.. if i dont control myself i can wake up like 5 times to go toilet.. even if i control myself, still min 2 times.. yesterday night was the only night i slept well.. cos we spent close to half hour psychoing the bb.. my hb even resort to scolding..

re stretchmarks,
i hv some short red marks at my bum.. look like rashes.. are these stretchmarks? cos at my bum only.. so strange

creamer, yah count count like never finish like that. hehe..never mind. i have the whole house to myself..can have party if i want! hehe..but won't lah.

Cassey, no my pain is at the tailbone there. think it's cos i sit too much so the weight sitting on the nerves there. sometimes there's pain at the pelvic area there too..then i'd like to think it's cos bb head is heading south.

Fat mom.. Yeah agree, nowadays so hard to find a best spot to sleep hor. I bring all my pillows in my room to choose the best comfort pillow and best spot to sleep. Last nite went for my tomyum buffet so tends to drink alot of water and having to wake up 4-5 times last nite also. So i tell myself dun drink too much b4 sleep today..

creamer: hehe, I dun like pillow too firm, I'm sleeping on those "student" pillow
So it's alright for me to go without one, just to catch back those breath!
In fact, I also feel breathlessness when I'm swimming too, then I'll make sure I emerge out of water and stand with my chest well above water, and breath in deeply when I swim

Thermometer: we discussed this earlier on, some of us gotten the forehead one. I was given this Cadi one which can be bought from Guardian. It can be used for both forehead and ear.

Caramelle.. pple tok abt hens nite, here mtbs tok abt pre-maternity party huh! haha... Have not been partying for quite while and think aft birth will also hard to go party liao.

<font color="0077aa">Just remembered, hubby had arm around my 'waist' this morning as he snoozed his alarms away...
Sms'd later in the day: WHOA, bb moved so much this morn! Heehee... Tt was enough to make me smile maniacally.

ahnetsan, huh?! You too poor that you cannot afford CQYD noodles meh?! Get your own, woman!

Ling, WHOA! You're either a super memory girl or super Pigeon wipes fan! Thanks for the info, my dear.

Re: Peanuts
I'd read about peanuts from the beginning , but still have been eating yummy chi rojak and peanut TUTU CAKE!!!Peanut allergies are common in Western countries, but seem quite rare in Asia... or at least in Sg. Kinda like how our babies are typically jaundiced to various extent, but western babies don't generally have that prob.

creamer, can still go for facials. Just get her to raise the upper body bit and lie on your side, with face up. Switch sides every now and then... but warn beautician before you do la!

caramelle, with stretchmarks, I can still wear whatever (since I don't usually dress skimpily) and eat whatever... with g.diabetes cannot. So for me, it's stretchmarks over g.diabetes... else I'll go into depression, being the foodie that I am. Cass-ilitis, remember?!

> Pain: That'll be the tailbone pain I've been complaining abt since 2nd tri. *sigh* It's part and parcel of pregnancy. Try sitting on a fluffy cushion... it's helped me plenty these last months!!

> Cornstarch: Blurmom's gynae's shopping list also had corn starch powder down... I was wondering abt tt... maybe that's what it is!

FirstMum, O-kay, so by all means, pls go ahead and use it then!

LFB,
read abt ur condition.. do take care in eating well.. just remember to take more whole meal stuff.. oh.. and try not to take fruit juice cos it has more sugar.. take fruits if u want.. healtier.. and fruits, dont take those high sugar ones like mango, grapes, oranges.. think apples and chinese pears are the best to go

re seats,
today first day without car, and first time during pregnancy took public transport.. not nice experience at all.. the lady next to me refuse to give me her seat even though she is stoppping in the 2nd stop.. so irritating cos the repair is going to take 4-5 days.. dont know how to survive from amk to changi the next few days

Caramelle: if the pain really unbearable, can try chiropractic care. I had a fall during my 1st trimester, and my left thigh joint had problem since then, but I didn't know and continue my yoga, it made my injury worse. I couldn't even get out of bed/floor easily after I lie down. After seeing this chiropractor, my condition actually improves (I also went for swimming lah), now my joint no longer had those sharp pain as I get out of bed. Although your pain is not the same as mine, the doctor said there's once a pregnant woman came in wheel chair and was able to walk out of the clinic after just one treatment.

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $150

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $8

4) Huggies ultra newborn size 24s pack (opened), used 2 pc baby outgrow lia.

left 22pc selling at $5

5) MIM Sling- brand new, opened, sateen. Color-2 shades of purple
Selling at $40
-

self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

Dolly, fatmom,

thanks for the advice. Will see what doc says too. Stupid appt only next week, so now I can only check the internet and try eating healthily. Will persevere. Thanks so much.

morning ladies...so sian dont feel like working again but already taken 2 days mc take somemore later really dont need go work le...

<font color="aa00aa">re : thermometer

bought mine a few months back along with a full set of 1st aid for bb (just in case) - with the "sucker" for mucus, syringe for medicine, digital thermometer, spoon, nailcutter etc

for thermometer, i read somewhere ear therm dun work so well fo bb.. the digital one is better. use on under armpits or anus is the most accurate..

LFB >> the Meiji plain biscuits are great.. i polished off several boxes throughout the pregnancy liao. But buy the OAT variety (green pack) instead of the blue pack..
The sodium content in the green one is much lower.. and fibre is higher.. taste great too.. =)
Helps to relieve snack cravings (cos crunchy cruncy) - sometimes lah..</font>

11_beans,
ok, will do so tonight. Thanks. Dunno whether it is paranoid or the sugar thingy taking effect. I cut down my sugar and carb and can feel it today. By a certain time, I am hungry and faintish! Sigh! So irritating!

LFB: Yeah, dun over do it too! You need sugar

If you are out eating, try to get a bowl of hot water and "wash" the food before you eat ... it's less tasty but you'll see how much oil you've filtered off

11_beans: Wow, I didn't check that the oat version has lower sodium content and more fibre! Usually I just alternate either one, it's more for my mum, now I should buy the green one more. And yeah, it's nice!

Blurmom, *high 5* im sure my utility bill for last mth sure to be double too!! as last mth the weather just simply too hot. I will switch on the air con and fan once I reach hm and switch off only when im off to work the next day. Then my hubby so funny, he see I kick away the blanket scare I catch cold, then he will keep helping me to cover the blanket until my neck. First few time I dare not say him as he so sweet ma, until 1 day I told him pls stop doing that as im hot that y then kick away the blanket la. Then he give me those innocent look. Wahaha

Cassey, same. Sometime I can feel my bb like leaning her foot again my tummy. Then that side is hard like rock. Got 1 time I accidentally press too hard down and I feel sometime like toe or finger. Then I was wondering did I hurt her?

Ladies, did anyone encounter pile?? I think I have leh.. Actually bathing then feel abit pain pain when touching the buttock side. Is it normal for pregnant women to get it?

LFB, cheers up, Tahan abit more and it will gone soon.

Morning mummies..

Tubbymummy- hubby havent give me an answer yet as las nite he got class...

Shelisa- me trying to comtrol my diet &amp; las nite have fruits tarts &amp; jelly for dinner..

Hey u keep tempting us bout the buffet stuff how not to get fat.. aiyoh..

Caramelle- aiyoh, 7 years in punggol &amp; u dont even know yr area well (headache)...

Shelisa, i also have piles. and you HAVE to get treatment for it so pls tell your dr. because during delivery it will get worst.

(don't mean to gross the rest of you out okay!) but do you feel like bubbles near the anus area? and esp after passing motion the bubbles are hard? if yes, then you have external piles i.e. dr will prescribe some kind of cream to apply externally. although to apply it with the tummy is no mean feat. if you have bloody stools, then you may have piles internally too so dr will give you suppositories i.e. soft tablet to insert into anus. hope this helps.

and drink lots of water, but go easy on the vegetables and other fibre because if you have hard stools it will be even harder/painful and worsen the situation. if possible, drink milk because dairy helps to pass softer stools.

i was considering between braun thermometers or omron thermometers. anyone of you tried omron thermometers before?

annie, yah i know the new generation of punggolians like to call their area by the names hehe
. but 7 years ago got no names one..and both my mum (who's at 100+) and me (who's at 200+) bought from WIS so we don't care what it's called as long as got house so we only know which area by blk number.

i like 600+ area there, very quiet and so far surroundings no tall buildings yet so im sure must be very windy...

btw are you SAHM/FTWM? im looking for infant care in punggol so was wondering what's your plan after maternity leave?

Annie, wahahaha. u seem to be a good girl last night. not tempting u, just sharing. hee

caramelle, ohh!! like that i think i have external type. got one bubbles near the anus area. then when wiping is pain!! sob sob. tonight will go see my doc. Normal doc will do right? or i need to see gynae? Thanks for all e info.

Caramelle- it be end of next yr then i get the key so after my maternity leave i letting my best friend take care of my bb...will meet her at the bukit panjang MRT or sometimes she drive to IMM gaint to do her marketing (my office upstair)so easier to pass her my bb.. i not going to put infant care &amp; once i move to punggol i ask my auntie to help me as she babysitting for ppl too

Shelisa- i dont wan to go till 70kg... scary meh hahahahhaa

Blurmom, oh ya reagarding sweating…nowadays I really sweat a lot leh…even having dinner at my mom plc I start to sweat is really damn hot lo….last time b4 pregnant even I go gym I hardly sweat juz dat my face will look red niah….now even go lunch at hawker I started to sweat…can’t imagine confinement how to tahan!

Destine cream – tks fyi yesterday I already plc order with dat BP le!

Tubbymummy, at our stage really diff f us to exercise leh….cos even walking &amp; climbing staircase I will bcome breathless….realli like lao tai po &amp; even since I pregnant I oso tend to like sweet things so I oso scared I kenna GD! My gynae nv take my wt de so I tink the onli thing to determine whether hv GD is base on our peeing stripe ba??

Creamer, I oso got request photoframe leh but yesterday juz rcvd email from them dat they wan to verify whether mi is expecting or already bb is delivered…hope to get dat photoframe soon! Hee...as f peeing at nite at least u can still fall back to sleep aft peeing mi is once wake up v difficult to get back to sleep but dis 2 days getting beter although I wake up last nite to pee I still can get back to sleep ard 1 hr later not like some other nite wake up can’t get back to sleep at all!

Tiny bubu, I din know abt allegery f bb if we take peanuts leh…hv been taking quite often leh!

Shelisa, i think normal doc should be okay. but inform them you're pregnant. my gynae gave me yellow suppositories called bismuth (something) for internal application and and translucent cream in purple tube called pro-something to apply externally.

tiny bubu, i thought peanut allergy only if either parents have it? and mostly in the US that people are allergic to nuts right?

caramelle, tonight i confirm go see my doc. As today the pain is getting more. Usually ard how many day then cure?

Mrs bubu, why take raspberry tea? i only started to drink and eat those big green coconut.

peanuts and allergies
i think its safe to consume as long as no one in the family has a history of allergy to peanuts.

raspberry tea
i remember cannot take so early as it may induce labour? recommended to take after 37 wks, no?

shelisa,
im an "old-timer" when it comes to piles haha. i dont think they ever went away for long ever since my 1st pregnancy 4 yrs ago. mayb mine is quite severe. but it doesnt really bother me cos its not very painful usually. but i can feel its presence.

tubbym,
just curious, why did u choose burt's bee brand of toiletries?

ive been using sebamed for no. 1, and now backside itchy wana switch to something else. and drugstore.com has a huge variety! any feedback?

First mum, i heard before if kana pile before it will be there forever. It is only sometime it will be painful. If wanna cure totally need to operate right?

Annie, yup. I drink a lot a lot of water liao. Tonight go see doc, hopefully apply cream will do. No operation pls.

Caramelle / Shelisa, i also got external piles but been there for years liao, no bleeding and no pain now also didnt bother. Caramelle is it necessary to tell gynae? Why will be worse during delivery? Since vagina delivery will not touch anus area...

Jam75, yest i try to drink less water at nite and only wake up once. So drink lesser water before sleep at least it wont disrupt your sleep. Yeah, the photoframe is sponsor by dumex one so i shun bian ask for milk sample. hee

Shelisa, my dr gave me the medicine for 1 month supply! i was shocked too, but i havent been diligently putting it on so still not fully recovered. maybe he gave me for 1 month to last until next appointment. there are a few home remedies eg put baby powder (to keep the area dry), garlic and few others. can check online..apparently the home remedies work within days/1 week.

re raspberry tea: http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/rasptea.html

Peanut allergy : i guess it's true that it's more serious in Western countries rather than in Asian countries. However, I was told that there still are enough cases of peanut allergies in Singaporean babies to make it worth taking note of.

Rasberry Tea : http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/rasptea.html

I'm starting to freak out about labour pains so when I read online that it helps with easing delivery, I just wanted to check if anybody else is trying it. At this point, I'm so scared of pain that I would do anything...If only epidurals lasted the entire pregnancy process...

creamer, i told gynae cos mine i got only during pregnancy, prev never had it. and i read it's common, so i asked him can just leave alone? he said no must treat and make it shrink because during natural delivery you will push and the strain can cause bleeding after labour. i think because the piles vein burst during delivery.

tiny, don't be so freaked out by it, in fact dont think too much about it. God has created the women's body to endure such natural processes w/o killing us..hehe

i think you're worried abt tiding out the contractions rather than the actual delivery? think of it this way, with every contraction, your baby is descending down the canal to come meet you. for centuries women have gone through this without needing drugs, and not all are as strong as us yet they survived. when it's your time, im sure you'll do great and be just fine. remember, all mummies here are supporting you!