(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tubbyM, is mustela stretchmark cream good? i finished my mothercare stretchmark cream le, i find mothercare stretchmark cream very thick and creamy, and hb dun like the smell....

however, im also using palmers stretchmark cream (since it's free), so far so good. and also baby oil too.

is mustela cream thick n creamy? easy to absorb mah?

no its not.. behind punggol lodge is punggol sec school .... my uncle stayed opposite me .. blk 195E punggol road

going back.. yipee i love end of the day

Caramella- no it not near the church.. aiyoh punggol lodge is 601 onwards...

gtg bye to all mummies .. dont have to squeeze bus or train me lobang company van

ahnet, Mustela's fragrance is a light floral, not very strong. It's quite thick, and after applying, it feels a bit sticky, but once absorbed it's ok. I think it absorbs quite well, cos if I just apply one layer, after a few seconds skin doesn't feel sticky anymore. But cos I super KS, I always apply 1-2 layers more, so end up it always feels a bit sticky, but I don't care, just wear my clothes over hahahaha...

Annie, ok, u check with hubby then let me know.

caramelle, group shot sounds interesting! But may be a challenge getting a number of preggies together..? I'm rather interested, but would have to depend on price too

Tubby mummy,
wow, you remembered my 2 plate chicken rice! paiseh man! Ya, I also dunno how to control leh? Eat fish soup can eat bee hoon? Mee sua leh? See how poor informed I am. Now I kuai kuai do my excercise, so sad! No choice. Just now I was super hungry. I have a sardine puff in fridge also don't dare eat. So sad.....

caramelle, yeah i also think group shot sounds exciting! but to accommodate so many of us together, might be a problem leh...
me too, haf to depend on price. haha

tubbymummy, haha same, i also like to apply a few layers, ks mah... mustela only selling at kiddy palace right?

bbaugustine, do you take beef?? Or not wanna try some duck meat? I think maybe can increase the intake of meat and fish? Usually after meal, I can feel bb hiccup, so I think she absorb my food.

Annie, Err, not to that extreme ba. Maybe cut down on rice, eat the dish more. I think ahnetsan also doing this to control her weight.

LFB, cheers up. We only left ard 2mth++. Bear abit, maybe sometime pamper abit.

annie, oh i know where already. aiyoh some more i stay punggol 7 years already but i only know by block number not all the names.

Tubby, maybe cannot fit everyone's schedule but was thinking of a saturday morning in a central location. we gather as many as possible. u got any contacts? so far only studioloft comes to mind..if you got any, i dont mind to coordinate. just give me the number.

erm, yeah shelisa, you are right, i've been eating dishes and not the rice on wkdays dinners. dat's my way to cut down on carbos, if nt my wt gain will be disastrous!

i only eat rice on wkends nw...

ok called studioloft already, she said to email her my enquiry and she'll revert. will let you girls know once i hear from them on the pricing.

and again, if you know of any photographers who are keen to do this, do let me know so i can check with them as well.

Caramelle, think i heard WBB said keep in ziplock bag. i am not sure if i heard correctly as i was kinda day-dreaming when she's too lor soh.

TubbyMummy, I am so envious of you gals - can hang out while i had to get back to work

Maybe the next time we meet, i should take half day off so can have the rest of the afternoon free too

LFB, hehe... ya, still remember the chicken rice keke... U need to cut down, but u also can't force yourself to control until one kind, otherwise one of these days u explode, u will go out and eat EVERY single sinful thing, then even worse
Just try to control what u can slowly, like maybe start with eating less rice? Actually beehoon, mee sua all these are all carbo. But in general, fish soup is very healthy, so I think even if u eat beehoon or mee sua with it, it's still fine, better than eating laksa or CKT lor.

ahnet, I know Kiddy Palace sells Mustela, but I believe I also saw in dept stores before (but don't remember which one, sorry :p). I also bought from Mother's Work at great world city before.

caramelle, I don't have any contacts, I'm ok with Studio loft also, their work seems quite good
Yeah, guess Sat morning might be a good time, least interference with everyone's weekends, and it's before everyone's antenatal class timing hehe.

caramelle: Yeah, staying in Sengkang, delivering in MAH though
Me also interested in photo shot leh, but it's so hard to get everyone right?

Tummy rashes: Are those mummies with rashes using Palmer's stretch mark cream? I had that prob when I was using Palmer's, now I only use that cream before I swim

LFB: keep some biscuit w you when you go around, in case of fainting spell you'll need to eat.

<font color="0077aa">WHOA! Have to do OT. Lazy.. See if I want to catch up at home. But for now...

Sharon, Mdm Rubiah is 9674 2447 (Tell her Sophia - Pat's sister - recommended). Other one is Mdm. Habsah.. EH?! AIYA! How come i don't have her number stored on my mobile?! I try to find it and post if I do k. *sorry!*

Jackie, I was in the shower last night and thinking of doing a survey to see who is still stretchmark free AFTER passing FULL week 31... Hmm... Seems like more and more of us are getting "struck down".
Hope yours only burst vessels lor.

LFB, AARRGGGGGHHHH!!!!!! WHY WHY!?! Poor you. I'd choose stretchmarks over gest. diabetes! So how now? Just need to watch diet or need to administer jabs? Poor thing... Ask your bosses to go easier on you.

Tubbym~ NO MORE DURIAN!? I better watch myself now. Does watching sugar intake lessen chances of getting Gest.Diabetes? I don't think so right? I've heard eating either greasy/sugary foods late at night and lack of exercise can increase changes of kenah'ing too. I was concerned in the beginning but getting complacent now. *oops*

dolly,
me nw using palmers... cos i finished the mothercare cream... so far so good, i also scared of having rashes, but i din wan to spend $ on buying cream since i got tis palmers for free, so i tot might as well try it. HOPEFULLY, cross fingers, wont haf rashes....

but i realise in the middle of the night, i will find tummy a bit itchy, den i quickly apply some baby oil onto tummy, and feel better le.

<font color="0050b3">Ling <font face="symbol">®</font> How are you and bb doing arh? I have a few Gaia samples leh, haven't try out yet. Heehee
I also got those tiny pimples so I think its common bah, since so many of us got it.

Ahnetsan/Jam75/Shelisa <font face="symbol">®</font> High 5* I also having discomfort with those Kungfu Kicks! Then our back like giving way, cannot sit or stand too long. Somemore I tends to sweat alot leh, even can sweat in aircon leh! My hb asked me why my face always blushed... I told him becos I'm Really Terrible HOT! Then I just received my utility bill, double liao cos everyday aircon!

Jam75 <font face="symbol">®</font> The seller just email me that she just sent out my order le! Heehee... My friends say will use alot but I not sure if we are using that much
Anyway, guardian's desitin cream also expires March 2010! So no harm getting lor...

TubbyMummy <font face="symbol">®</font> Can I discuss with HB then let you know if I'm interested in the Newborn Photography

Btw, that mustela cream is for body or nipple one? LOL, I'm confuse now! I'm sourcing for nipple cream and baby safe to suck ones?

ahnetsan,
i experience pains similar to stitches pain, often at nite. sometimes it gets v painful and i cnt move my body. but usu i'll still try to shift very very slowly to find a more comfy position. usu the pain goes away after 5-10mins.

eh guardian selling desitin cream meh???

firstmum, sorry, i dunno how is stitches pain like, so i cant imagine it and dunno whether the pain experiencing is actually like stitches pain or nt.
very hard to find a more comfy position right? even right now, i feel left tummy a bit painful again le...

Cassey, cutting down on sugar per se does not actually lessen your chances of GD. All the rest of the stuff u mentioned like greasy food etc all contribute to diabetes in general. Lowering risk is actually a holistic approach of cutting down on unhealthy eating habit and most importantly, increase exercise. But I think at our stage now, there's not much we can do to increase exercise, so what to do? Just control diet lor. Something better than nothing

Blurmom, Mustela I'm using the stretch mark cream, not sure if they do nipple cream. I believe the Medela one should be baby safe ba, since they are into these breastfeeding products..? Later if I can find it I shall check for u if it says anywhere on the tube.

Dolly,
yes, I think I am starting to experience fainting spell. Felt that a few days ago, thought it was the weather. Then today, I took a subway sandwich and in the afternoon, I cannot tahan already! Took a small cup of yogurt! Sigh. Now, no more brownies and all things sweety and nicey!

Cassey, what to so? Just my luck! Think on the brighter side, like what other mention, at least it is during third tri! Ya, think better be safe for you all, just take things in moderation. I can only know more when I see doc next week. I just pray hard that I can control my diet b4 I go bonkers!

Dinner today was fish soup(upon tubbymummy's recommendation) and I bought veggies from the rice stall. I left more than half of the beehoon, see already very sad and sayang!
Then on my way back, I bought guava. From now onwards, I have to be very careful with my food already!

LFB,
u mean u gotta cut down on yogurt too?? i tot yogurt should be ok right?

dun worry, im sure all will be fine. do update us when u see ur gynae next wk yeah?

good dat today's dinner is bee hoon fish soup. so you din finish the fish soup? no appetite to finish?

Tubbymummy, the photoframe is those u saw outside those silver type which has 12 small little frame to put in our baby pics. Its still not too late to submit the flyer since its free. I also ask for dumex milk powder sample. yummmy!

Jam75, haha.. last nite i drink too much water and also wake up every 2 hrs to pee lor. Aiyo, we now so hard to get up leh and yet pee so often. No strength liao. But lucky i can go back to sleep after pee. Try not to drink too much before sleep so less wake up.

Caramelle, u still can sleep on the back ah. I will feel breathless by sleeping on back even for a minute.

Anyone experiencing breathless even sleep on our sides?? I felt breathless these 2 nites leh. Normal bo?

Ahnetsan,

apparently, yogurt contains sugar and the little tub I took has already contained 26.5gram of carbo. God knows how much I am suppose to consume! Will need to ask doc next week. As for fish soup, I wanted to finish it! But I can't cos I am afraid of too much beehoon, too much carbo. Sad right? Anyway, I decided not to be too obessed. Will need to asked pple who experience that to tell me more.

baby, i am considering this place for postnatal massage -

http://www.javanesemassage.com/rates.htm

i called them to ask them when i should book and they told me once my gynae confirms my delivery (whether vaginal or c section), i can call them back to book.or i can even wait till after i give birth.their charges are reasonable and i go to them now for prenatal massage.maybe you can call them now and ask them if you have any other qns.

i feel so guilty.i went to cold storage to buy my meiji milk and i saw a promoter giving free samples of cold juicy del monte pineapple chunks.so i took one to eat and i saw the promoter give me the disapproving look.hahaha.but really cannot help it.

and the other day i ate a few peanuts because a can of honey roasted ones were just calling out my name from the kitchen......

really have to learn not to give in to my cravings.

the worst is when i crave a can of icy cold heineken because of the weather but alcohol is one craving i definitely will not give in to. =]

haha tinybubu, it's funny imagining the promoter's disapproving look on her.
but it's ok lah, only one chunk, no harm right?

eh y cannot eat peanuts?

and ya, no alcohol!!!

Mrs bubu.. cant help with the pineapples leh.. dat time i still eat the whole pineapple, my mil say a little is ok one.. Yeah Beer is a nono. never give in! But heard those black forest cake also have alcohol shld be ok rite?

Ahnetsan, the photoframe is a free gift if register for Mt A..

peanuts can cause allergies for the baby.

i read it on my "what to expect when you're expecting" book.
then i googled it up and there were so many different websites that confirmed it.
then i asked my gynae and he said there is a possibility that peanuts might cause the baby to develop allergies.

other nuts like almonds, macadamias, cashews etc etc are fine.

creamer : i also keep staring at the thai coconuts whenever i go to cold storage but at 32 weeks, must limit myself to 1 a week for now.

btw, i really feel sad for the malay woman who ate the rojak at geylang and then has a miscarriage.i hope god really blesses her so she doesnt fall into depression.

Cassey, jus read your post to rsvp for the gathering.. paiseh, not active this few days to realise your posting . No wonder sms me.. faster dat way leh...hee. Anyway, thks for your tremendous effort to get this gathering going! Jus dat too bad for me dat it crash on the same day..

Bubu.. yeah cos at yr age is a risk to conceive again. Its her first child to her 2nd husband even though its her 4th. No one will know rojak can kill a life!

creamer, thanks, the photoframe sounds quite nice, think I shall return the slip to them to ask for one hehe. Oh dear, I don't actually remember where I placed the flyers! Hope hubby didn't throw them away...

LFB, fish soup sounds nice and healthy! But don't get over paranoid lah, if u don't even finish your beehoon, how to feel full enough? Cheer up ok?
At the end of the day, nutrition and eating enough food is still most important. Did your gynae refer u to a dietitian/nutritionist? I think JessMa had one right? If yes, think that would be the best person to ask how many portions a day u are allowed.

tinybubu, I miss beer

tubbymummy, i miss beer too.
* cue dramatic crying with flailing arms beating chest*

and what's worse is that the ordeal isnt over after birth.we cant drink while we're breastfeeding our baby as well.

lucky i didnt realise when i was having my last beer many months ago.i would be sobbing into my beer like one of those crazy people.

i totally sound like a alcoholic but trust me,i'm not....

Tubbymummy, hope its not thrown away.. Did you experience breathless when sleeping on sides huh? Cos i have these 2 nite leh.

ok, at least other nuts like almonds,macadamias, cashews etc are safe to eat. i din knw cannot eat peanuts. haha, how abt those jollibean pancakes, inside is peanut filling leh, can eat mah? den how abt peanut butter spread?

Tubbymummy,
ya lor, I also dunno what to eat and what not to eat now. Seeing the doc my OB recommend next week. For the time being, I can only do what I deem right, that is cutting down sugar and carbs. Been reading the net and the more I read, the more I am worried. So sian! But I think if I can wait till next week to see doc, may not be that crucial yet. Now have to be patient and keep telling my baby to hang on. I am considering C section now, cos I want to make sure bb is ok after all. Will discuss with ob next week too. Sigh.

Mummies, has anyone bought a thermometer yet? I think most of us are getting kan cheong nowadays preparing the baby's stuff..

I had tried looking ard, seems that braun thermometer is the most popular. But I was thinking of getting pigeon too... or there's another brand called petit someting 5 in 1, tt costs abt 200bucks!!! any advice ?

Hi mummy ash, i bought the Braun ear thermometer for $99 at audiohouse (liang court) and also the pigeon digital thermometer for $9.90 from OG. Better to buy items that are tried and tested with mummies. For the PETIT brand,i've not heard many reviews on it so never really considered it.

tiny_bubu: Thanks! Didn't know cannot eat peanuts! I've been eating them..now shall refrain

LFB: Buy those Meiji plain biscuit, it comes in big boxes (or smaller boxes) and contains individual packets inside. It doesn't contains sugar. Also buy some sugar free sweet just in case you want something sweet in your mouth

creamer: I only have breathlessness when sleeping on my back, but not everytime, I'll then remove my pillow and it seems to help

dolly, yeah i oso have it while sleeping on the back only recently have it while sleeping on sides too.. U mean remove your pillow and sleep on mattress instead? Not too flat meh?

tiny bubu.. the braun thermometer is it the same as the adult ones or meant for infant? Mean the ear hole is smaller to insert?

creamer :

http://www.braun.com/global/products/healthwellness/earthermometers/thermoscan.html

however, there are reports where it is no good to use ear thermometers and better to use digital.

http://www.aboutkidshealth.ca/pregnancy/Fever-in-Newborn-Babies.aspx?articleID=7679&amp;categoryID=PG-nh4-10d

however, it is best to go with your gut feeling and maybe even check with your gynae if you want professional advice.

some mummies believe that they all grew up with the pigeon digital thermometers and feel that should be enough for their babies now.

but some mummies believe that being safe is better than being sorry. for me i bought the digital thermometer to take my baby's temp under her armpit. but if she likes to wiggle like a caterpillar, then at least i will have the ear thermometer as a back up.

cant help it....i would rather spend a bit more money now and play safe than save $100 and compromise my baby's safety.

my inner KS singaporean coming out...

creamer,
i also feel breathless sleeping.. initially tot was my blocked nose.. seems like it is normal preg symptoms.. now i cant even wear a top to sleep cos i think all my shirts get into my way when i flip from side to side..

re thermometers,
i was also told not to use ear ones for infant.. cos ear not develop fully and the fit is not good.. i have the ear one at home and it does look a bit big to put in infant ear..

so at first thinking of getting a digital one.. but even digital ones some say not good too cos mouth not good to stick, armpit no temp... i think the most common ones are the stick on your forehead ones.. cheap and good..