(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

TubbyMummy - yeah it is a pity that i am not able to make it for the central gathering on Friday. If you are in the mood to rub shoulders with the mad crowd here or got no errands to run and need a lunch kaki, we can always meet up for lunch.

Anyone knows where to get sterile cotton balls and sterlie cottton gauze? The ones at Guardian come in small packs which works out to be very expensive if we need to use them everyday to clean the baby's eyes and tongue.

TubbyMummy, sure sure. wait for your email.

ahnetsan, huh?? I also dunno leh!! she just told me to remove my bottom as she need to do vagina swap. I didnt tell her i have any weird weird discharge leh. Anyway my gynae always chop chop me 1 leh. Sign package like never sign packeage. growth scan $80, the vagina swap $40, the blood test see the red blood count $10, all b4 gst.

Saw my gyane last week at week 31 and was told that it's too early to worry about baby's position as it will still move alot now until much later. Even if it is head down now (which mine was at the scanning), it is still subject to changes so dun get too excited about it. Gynae used simple analogy to explain: baby is still floating around now (gynae said at level 1). Once the head is engaged (at basement level) than it is counted wor.

11 beans the link f BP destin cream is cheaper by 20cents..hee hee…also many things dis organizer selling! Wll chk it out later!

Tubbymummy, tks for yr spree but mi tot of getting onli 1 tube try 1st so might juz order fm BP dat 11 beans hv post the link

Tiny bubu, is mi who asked u abt MAH de lo….ya agreed wif wat yr hb said cos dr adrian onli delivery aft dat will be us wif the nurse so beter choose wat we feel we comfortable wif….so even dr adrian hv been trying mi MAH dis & dat I still insist going to MAH! So juz b firm wif it!

jam75, sure sure, no prob
I also ordered 1 tube nia hehe... But I did order other things lah, so not so paiseh keke. Eh, how come your doc still tell u so many negative things about MAH, even though u already insist u're choosing MAH? I mean, once patient has made a choice, then just respect it, right? If he's so against MAH, how come he doesn't just deliver exclusively at TMC, and don't give ppl the option..?

Kate, maybe next week I'll take u up on the mad lunch crowd offer hehe. Must think of somewhere more cooling than the last round though! BTW, saw cotton balls at Giant supermart before, think it's 99c per pack, not sure if it's sterile (maybe not since it sounds darn cheap??), or what the quality is like though. Oh, thanks for reminding me about that, I've not gotten cotton balls yet.

Shelisa, email u liao

cotton balls must get those sterile ones is it? cotton balls to clean which part of body?

my fren was telling me to buy from those medicine halls, but i was like HUH??

tubbymummy, he always ask his patient to go tmc de...tink he more familiar or more comfortable wif the nurse there ba....i oso tink the same way as u leh...if he doesn't like MAH mus juz delivered onli at tmc so dat we cannot choose juz go tmc will do!

Kate: for cotton balls, can just get a roll of cotton and roll it ourselves
Last time when I was in brownie (little girl guide), we used to volunteer and help rolling the cotton balls in hospital, just make sure you hands are clean will do lah

<font color="0050b3">I was offered a seat today! OMG! I'm so so so happy and feel like giving that lady a hug! Today weather is HOT!

LFB <font face="symbol">®</font> Oh Dear! I'm sorry to hear that
Do cut down on sweet stuff then... Don't get upset k? I just got some not very detailed information from Babycenter.com

What is gestational diabetes?
This is a type of diabetes that some women develop during pregnancy. Between 2 and 7 percent of expectant mothers develop this condition, making it one of the most common health problems of pregnancy.

When you eat, your digestive system breaks most of your food down into a type of sugar called glucose. The glucose enters your bloodstream and then — with the help of insulin, a hormone made by your pancreas — provides fuel for the cells of your body. Like the type 1 and type 2 diabetes you can get when you're not pregnant, gestational diabetes causes the glucose to stay in your blood instead of moving into your cells and getting converted to energy. Why does this sometimes happen when you're pregnant?

During pregnancy, your hormones make it tougher for your body to use insulin, so your pancreas needs to produce more of it. For most moms-to be, this isn't a problem: As your need for insulin increases, your pancreas dutifully secretes more of it. But when a woman's pancreas can't keep up with the insulin demand and her blood glucose levels get too high, the result is gestational diabetes.

Most women with gestational diabetes don't remain diabetic once the baby is born. Once you've had it, though, you're at higher risk for getting it again during a future pregnancy and for becoming diabetic later in life.

*Read More from <font face="symbol">®</font> http://www.babycenter.com/0_gestational-diabetes_2058.bc

Dolly <font face="symbol">®</font> I wished I'm staying at Condo, so can go swimming anytime I want... Kekeke, envious of you dear

I think its abit too late for me to get my swimwear now right? I got quite a few sets (bigger sized) but my sisters took it and never return. *Shake head*
Public pool cannot wear T-shirt so I cannot swim... Boohoo...

11Bean <font face="symbol">®</font> Wah! You are good BP surfer, kekeke...

TubbyMummy <font face="symbol">®</font> *Waves* Hey there! Wakaka, you are ON today! Tks for the nipple cream information! I shall go check it out soon. Please try out the recipe and comment k... Got comments = Room for improvement! Hey, btw there are some instant recipes sold in NTUC, tasted quite nice leh! Also hassle-free, less work and taste great!

Ahnetsan <font face="symbol">®</font> I'm also not enjoying bb's kick as it hurts pretty bad at time leh! Sometimes, so hard till I need to pause and "SOH" my belly lor...
The sterile cotton balls are used to clean bb's ears, eyes, bum, etc...

Katelee <font face="symbol">®</font> Kiddy Palace got carry sterile cotton balls

Ok,finally got my checklist together. i only need to get the following items left in red.any mummies here notice if i've missed out anything?i would be most grateful if you could let me know if there's anything else i should get.this is the list i've compiled for myself after hours and hours of internet research!!

btw, ahnetsan - how much is your massage lady?is she that lady ida that i have been hearing about?<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Baby Checklist.xls (29.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

blurmom, do u hv any idea f yr destine cream expired when?? juz realize dat 11beans post BP link d destine cream expired in mar 2010...wonder ok to get ma??

Shelisa- yah sue enjoy the trip &amp; peranakan makan
at malacca.. &amp; daddy bought a disney set of pillow &amp; bolster &amp; mattress at world of cartoon for my little boy

wow yr test so expensive...

<font color="0050b3">Jam75 <font face="symbol">®</font> The BP seller is still waiting for the shipment to arrive so I bet she won't know the expiry dates bah... But I guess the cream won't expire that early too... I was told that we may use quite alot of those cream
So I think we already used up before it expire. Or do you want me to update you on the cream details when I rec'd them?</font>

Annie, Hmm, peranakan makan i like wor!! food again!! so sweet of ur daddy.

Jam75, i think i have the same prob with u leh. Recently i also cannot slp well. 3 days liao!! this 3 night, very hard to sleep in even tho im damn tire, have to toss here and there for 1-2 hrs then slp, then less then 2-3 hrs wake up again and cannot slp back. Yawn***

blurmom, hmm was tinking should i juz order fm BP dat 11beans forward cos organizer indicate expired in mar2010....so aft delivery can onli use up till 9mth then can't kip le!

<font color="0050b3">Jam75 <font face="symbol">®</font> Yah, somemore 11bean one is 20cents cheaper leh
Good deal!

Shelisa <font face="symbol">®</font> Yes, we are getting more tired now! Having to roll out of bed sideways, groan every time you stand up, and pee 20 times a day. LOL!</font>

Good afternoon ladies, I lost track on the archives liao, mummies here super super fast!

tinibubu, Congrats to you! It must be very tiring for you, even when not pregnant, wedding day already so exhausting, you're Super! For the ward, I think I have the (small) pics for MAH, I can send 2 u if you wanted to.. I was kinda undecided myself, but most likely incline towards TMC.. for TMC, the new wards is at Level 5, neither Deluxe nor Single, for TMC, pics of the room you can see from here (http://www.thomsonmedical.com/rooms.htm), I think they're renovating the VIP rooms now..

Cassey, thanks again for organizing the gathering
I think Shelisa in the mood of searching and sending all those yummy food promotions, hahaha.. I bought Bakerzin cupcake, omg.. very sweet and very creamy.. better be careful with the sugar intake.. anyway, the barrier cream WBB holding was Avent one, I think it's selling outside at $18.50. For Pigeon wet wipes, I think there's a few wet wipes from Pigeon, the standard (reddish packaging) is 3x82sheets for $10.50 at most stores. They also have the Hand &amp; Mouth Wipes (yellow packaging), Moisturizing wipes (white packaging).. for the rest, didn't really notice how much though.. I'll be taking maternity leave only on the last week of May..

Shelisa, thanks a lot for the foodies promo you sent hey..!

TubbyM, I bought Mustela barrier cream, my colleague recommended this brand to me
it's $15 at Kiddy Palace

LFB, please take care, so sorry I dunno much abt GD so can't really give u a good advice on that.. did a quick search and found this http://hcd2.bupa.co.uk/fact_sheets/html/diabetes_in_pregnancy.html hope it helps..

jam75, dun worry abt dr Adrian, he delivered my friend's baby there as well, and everything's fine..
at the end of the day, we need to be comfortable with our choices &amp; decisions for a happy mummy to have a happy delivery..

Just wondering, if anyone has tried Gaia (Australian brand) ?

Antenatal Class:
Actually I kinda enjoy WBB's class.. quite interactive and funny.. most of the things she said actually written in her books.. LFB, if you have FBI/SBI membership, should have the books as well, it's quite useful, was reading them last week

Stretch Marks:
So far (touch wood) no stretch mark spotted yet, but so many rashes, like little red pimples everywhere on the tummy.. quite painful too, is it common..?

Ooops, long time never drop-in, sorry for the long post..

shelisa, dis type of feeling sian rite...sometime is bb kip on kicking oso mk mi difficult to sleep...so i complaint to hb dunno yr boy wan wat...i sleep dis side he kick &amp; i sleep dat side oso kick...so end up i no nid to sleep le!

Shelisa-
but i grown so fat .. really must exercise after delivery...

Jam75/Shelisa- sleeping not a problem for me as hehehehehe napping is one of my hobbies...

Jam75. *high five* yah lor!! Slp any position also cannot!! Sit any position also cannot!! Sometime her kick is quite painful wor. I also ask hubby, I really dunno wat ur ger want leh, I so so tire, tho long weekend can have a good good rest. Who know it?? Damn pek chek!!

Annie, 1 mth 5 kg sound abit too much wor. I think after giving birth, we so busy pumping birth, busy doing this n that. Im sure we can slim down fast. Console myself 1st. wahahaa

Ahnetsan, so bad of ur hubby!! If he say that to me. Im sure to ask him to ‘pet pet’ my buttock to let me slp!! Of not massage also can. My hubby only say ‘aiya. She born in the year of ox, ox very strong and sturborn one’ what to do?? She kick rather then don’t right? Sometime what we want from hubby is a ‘sayang’ from him lor. He can say oh my dearest wife, u so xin ku, I promise I will love u more or what la’ or rather then such stupid sentence

blurmom, ya lo tink i juz order fm the BP then since u'll say will use up quite alot!

ling, i oso tink since he is a gynae so which hospital he delivered standard will still b the same so i will stick to MAH!

ahnetsan, yr hb so bad leh...they nv experience wat we gone through lo...still xing zai le huo...but if i complaint to hb he will say ah boy dun b naughty bully yr mommy faster go &amp; sleep...but sometime he will add in like dat daddy oso no nid to sleep le cos mommy kip on complaint...hahaha!

ling &amp; bb potaotes, i oso hv small little red pimples on my tummy leh!

shelisa, sometime i will juz tell hb u'll men should experience how bb inside u'll leh so u'll will understand how we feel...if not tot we a little then complaint!

ya lor, though my hb meant it in a joking way, but still, bad lor! somemore still can say bb well done! it's our stomach leh, pain one leh, he wont understand one lor... sometimes when bb kick until veri pain, i will scream one leh, den hb will say 'got so kua zhang mah'

ya ya, same haha... he will tell bb to go to slp le if nt papa cannot haf peaceful slp, cos mummy keep nagging!!!

my hb even tell me dun make those painful squeaks or screams, if nt he dunno whether it's time for labour or nt, if i keep making noises!

Dolly - will check out KiddyPalace for the sterlie cotton balls. Thanks!
Blurmom - Think WBB keeps stressing about it being sterile leh cuz using them to clean newborn eyes which are very sensitive. Those non-sterile one roll tear-it-yourself type should be ok to use for cleaning baby's butt and not sure if can use for eyes or not.
TubbyMummy - agree that we can't go back to that hot and stuffy place (was sweating like a pig that day). Hope that it won't rain and we can go to Coffee Club as planned the last time. Haven't gotten my mudpie fix yet.

Tubbymummy,
ya, surf the net and saw nothing interesting! Maybe go some health store and look for things I can eat. So fedup, I only developed sweet tooths when I am pregnant and now I am banned from them! How to endure???

Blurmom, Ling,
Thank you so much for the link. I read and knows more. I am only worried I will have that later on. Not uncommon! As of now, I am more interested in food. How to settle my 3 meals? Breakfast is easy, but lunch and dinner should be troublesome!

Re:packing of bag
I think I will start this weekend. I haven't got my sanitary napkins yet. The rest I think more or less. Have to get the pump from my sis and buy the parts.

Re:cotton ball
my sil did that. I think I will just buy anything that looks ok will do. Saw pigeon brand that day, but quite expensive leh. Will look for cheaper alternatives.

Blurmom, yes, I'm on today hehe... I'm home the whole day doing laundry, so what better thing to do than to come in here and chat.

Hi Ling! Long time no hear.... The Mustela at Kiddy palace $15, is there further member discount on it? Still wondering whether to get Kiddy Palace membership or not... I thought of trying the brand Gaia too, but ended up ordering Burts Bees from US. Gaia seems not bad, but obviously I haven't tried before, no concrete feedback, sorry. But easy to buy, at least can buy in Guardian and dept stores.

Kate, ooh, you're gonna hate us. We ended up going Coffee Club that day! Hehehe... After u headed back to office, we were about to go off too, when we both realised we had no other plans that afternoon, so decided to go sit in Coffee Club instead. But no, we didn't order the mudpie
We can do that next week! Oh, but I got waffles date next week. Hmmm, u do the mudpie then, I'll have to be good and order something less sweet...

LFB, really nothing ah? I haven't searched on recipes yet... How about for a start, try to be good for lunch (fish slice beehoon, yong tauhu, economical rice order 1 more veg but eat half the rice), and dinner u eat like normal? Then slowly try to work in 1 or 2 healthy dinners here and there? No more 2 plates of chicken rice though

jam75/ahnetsan, i also always tell my hubby, you not us, you won't know!! i said him you stomach pain or bloated complaint like hell liao. Then we got our precious inside kicking and those labour pain. how to compare? then he say yah lor. True true.I say labour pain is 100 times of gastic pain. Then he 'wow, really anot' then i say don't say 100 times la, 10 times lor. Then he start to 'aiya i know la, you very noble, okok, bb, dun kick bb so hard ok, be more gentle abit, it time to slp liao' haiz. really shld let me know pregnant is what feeling.

Annie, hmm, so you shld start to change ur diet abit. Maybe this whole week try to eat lighter. Maybe the weight will go down abit?

<font color="aa00aa">Dear mummies, anyone interested in newborn photography? A couple of us are interested to engage Kellysjy Photography for newborn photos, and if we manage to get 5 mummies to sign up, there will be a <u>25% discount</u> off the package price for all of us. You can view some of her work here:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2184017.html?1239006432

She will come to your house for the photoshoot, so it will not interfere with your confinement if you're not allowed to leave the house. Also, she doesn't use flash, so there's no worry about hurting baby's eyes. Apart from framing and displaying around the house, I thought the pictures would be great for birth announcement cards, or for printing on those cards that accompany your baby's full month cakes. Pls PM me if you are interested, so we can all get the 25% discount. Thanks!!

shelisa, my baby's estimated weight seems quite light compared to yours. He is only abt 1.45kg the last time I did the detailed scan and I was abt 31 weeks 6 days. I think i need to eat more but cannot eat too much carbo cos scared the sugar level increase. sometimes its so hard to strike a balance!

Sorry, PM was not on just now - Its now on...

BP for baby bjorn original / air carrier - Cheaper by 40% compared to Spore prices!

BP for desitin creamy 4oz, ready stock selling cheap.

BP for lansinoh milk bags - Shipment on the way already

BP for Capella strollers

BP for medela PIS advanced / freestyle US import

bbaugustine, but ur gynae got say anything?? If not i think shld be ok. Most impt bb is healthy. At that time i told my mil my bb like abit light, then she force me eat durian and duck meat. I think moderate most impt, if sudden change or increase diet, i scare ur body cannot absorb. slowly slowly.

jam75, yah lor.. the shortbreath makes it so difficult to sleep.. when you're about to doze off, then you feel like going to toilet again.. never ends one leh.. today bb kicks &amp; swims so strong, even my friend sitting next to me in mrt can see her moves..
dr Adrian would only recommend lor, our decisions is final one
he's with TMC, so I guess he's more familiar with the facilities etc there, that's why he's suggesting TMC, for me it's quite clear cut as I was annoyed with that aunt Betty frm MAH, then I signed up for FBI membership, which means I'm getting discount on dr Adrian's delivery charges too..

bbPotato/jam75, it's very irritating rite.. reddish &amp; quite painful when you scratch.. is it because of the creams that we use ? I'm using clarins oil every evening after shower.. are you both using it too ?

LFB, did the gynae said anything about fruit juices..? it should be healthy, good source of fibre with minimum sugar..?

TubbyM, hi!
I actually went to Kiddy Palace to look for Avent shampoo, but ends up buying Mustela, I bought the promo pack, which has the barrier cream and some travel size products (like sun lotion and no rinse lotion).. the promo pack is $16.90 nett, I didn't see the normal barrier cream has any 'Nett' sign on it, so should have the 10% disc I guess..

ling, i dunno bcos izzit the cream i use leh but since juz a few spot i bo chap juz continue to use leh! but i m not using clarin....

ya la since u hv get FBI card then juz stick to tmc lo as still hv discount!

Tubbymummy, how come GD got to reduce carbo ah?? i went for my check up last sat and a bit high on sugar, nurse oso asked me to cut carbo which i find it strange...

congrats Tinybubu!!

Ling, i oso find red small rashes below my navel, very itchy and antiseptic cream doesnt seems to help

my gynae also ask me to sleep on my left side so Im trying to do that now. This is so that I optimise the flow of nutrients to baby from the placenta.

dolly you staying sengkang now? are you delivering at KK? im staying punggol..maybe next time can meet.

LFB sorry to hear abt GD. don't panic, take it easy. cut down on carbs and take advice as given by dr. i think GD will go away after pregnancy right?

re sterile cotton: how to keep it sterile after you open the pack?

eh what's this i read about waffle and mudpie dates??

Annie, she specialises in taking pictures of newborn. And to capture the special kind of look that only newborn babies have, usually the pictures have to be taken within 1-2 weeks. For her, she will take the picture within 2 weeks from delivery. So that means it's during confinement period lor... I'm not sure if she take pictures for older babies (like 1-2mths old), but I can check with her if you're interested. Mummy and Daddy can take picture together with their newborn too, no extra charge.

Ling, ok, I will go Kiddy Palace to check it out one of these days. Oh, I just realised that I have some Mustela promo card thing that says if I get 3 Mustela products, I get 1 full size barrier cream for free. Hmmm, I use their stretch mark cream, maybe I should just buy more tubes and get the barrier cream for free to try...

not sure if you mummies are keen but im thinking of doing a group shot of us pregnant mummies. might be the only thing we take away tangibly from this forum besides friendship. anyone keen? maybe i will approach the studioloft person or something to ask if they're keen to do for us. or if anyone else got lobang?

Tubbymummy- ok get back to u when i consult my hubby 1st..

Caramelle- which part of punggol u staying .. as my built to order is at punggol lodge 3 bus stop &amp; it be punggol interchange

annie, punggol lodge is the eco-green block of flats one right? my friend also got that, she booked the 5-room unit which she say like penthouse cos it's double storey. me, im at 20X punggol field