(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo, ya..saw alot of sausages!! abit scary! haha

Audrey, regards ur work...i tink i was in the same dilemma as you at Jan. I was debating on to quit before i gave birth or jus enjoy my 4 mths of maternity then quit. of cos everyone around me told me dun be stupid ... 4 mths of free pay!
but on myself, i find it quite paiseh to tell the boss i'm calling it quits after i enjoyed my ML. And also I'm super unhappy n depressed with my job that time cos with morning sickness n constant tiredness, i cannot perform in my sales n the mthly sales meeting is always kena bombard session. so i moved on n quit. But I'm GLAD!! cos I'm much much more cheerful now n happy! its something that I've not regretted! but then again it goes down to individuals...i guess u oredi have something in ur mind..jus dat u need a couple more opinions! Take care!

Clothes, i very lazy to count leh..i bought some button front tops,shorts n pants..most r hands me downs..but mostly 0-3 mths..i wonder can tahan how long?

Birdnest. I've been taking like 3-4 days a bottle..dunno wat it helps in anyway.MIL bought, so jus drink..hoping my complexion better!? haha

Morning ladies!!!

FirstMum
Like wad tubby say, rest at home instead if you are not feeling well.
Mothercare had more baby girls' autumn/winter clothing than baby boys. Heard that Paragon outlet does not have the sales so don't go there.

Button down rompers
My rompers are those button down from top to bottom, not those u need to pull over. Is suitable for newborn too, just that you need to button more than vest? Hee..

Caps/Hats
I let my babies wear it because there is a soft spot on the skull which will only close up in later stage, partly to prevent "wind" to get in and also I do shave their baby hair when they reach 1st mth. More of protection than nice looking. Hee.. The ones I bought not really caps, it like something in the picture.

2302659.jpg

Tubby, Hahaha.. I was thinking to click on the link after i finish my post but guess now i do not need to.

fifi, yes. Was thinking the same way as you. Was intending to start my maternity from may so some of my friends were telling me might as well wait for may since by the time i serve notice it will be may already. but somehow i find it difficult to tell my boss about quitting (on the spot somemore) right after i enjoy my 4 mths maternity.

hi mummies, most of u hv stock up so many clothes f yr bb...i feel guilty leh...frankly speaking i din buy any new clothing f bb...onli hb bot 4 pcs....mi onli get bibs & blanket fm ade dat all....cos my mom pass down alot clothes fm my nephew & already tell mi not to buy too many f bb as they out grown v fast so dun waste $$! but hb say if mi expecting a bb gal will b diff things le will sure buy alot de! hmm tink if realli expecting gal i oso tink i will get alots of things lo....cos gal things r realli more pretty! hee hee! wif a boy i can save $$ oso!

Kikismom, I brought those rubber band hair band for her only at taka fair 2pcs. Im also searching for those big blossom hairband. That time watching channel 8 the bb competition, saw a lot of bb ger wear those big blossom hairband, so pretty so sweet. I will try to look ard, if I manage to find it will keep u posted.

btw my personal fren who's active in apr pop at 37 weeks! saw her bb pics...aiyo so small at 2.535 kgs..

I wonder when's my BIG day? abit scared n nervous..

fifi, 2.535kgs is very small? Actually bb weight when born estimate shld be ard?? i also scare wrong size or scare she might feel irritated thus only get 2 pcs. But wanna get those big blossom hairband for her 1st mth celebration.

shelisa, i oso aint sure wat shld be the correct size..haha..but my mama told be avg is 2.8-3.5kgs? as long as healthy is good...now her son will be sun bathing for 2 days in TMC.
hw does the big blossom hairband looks like? a rubber kind that wrap the circumference of the head then w a big flower attached? tell me where to get it once u find?!

2302942.jpg

Baby xander, compliments fr mother marie..

bbpotato, that's so sweet! lucky i got a boy or else i will be buying them. Haha..

Usually i will buy a S size hat/headband first, the rest can wait till baby's born. But if mummy or daddy have big head in family, u might want to take note that your baby might have big head too.

Shelisa, to me is consider small. I popped my boy at 36 weeks and he's weighing at 2.74kg. Look small and skinny at birth time and clothes look so loose too.

fifi, i think cannot judge bb is big or small based on the weight alone. must also see which wk bb is born. cos bb born later will have more time in mummy's stomach to gain weight ma.

so far my friends who gave birth 2-3 wks earlier, their babies all weigh ard 2.5 to 2.7 kg. doc didnt say it's small lei. so should be fine.

i remember i weight only 2.3kg when i was born. super small size. hahha. it's recorded in my healthbook. the blue healthbook which we bring to pri sch and sec sch for annual health checks.

fifi/shelisa
me too afraid tat bb will get irritated but to take photo bb got to endure abit la.. to look meimei no choice

fifi
a lil tiny for newborn cos nb weight range from 2.8kg to 3.5kg..(estimate)

bbpotato
so cute...i love the lovelybeanie hairbands..drooling...

Hi Cassey,
If you are looking for basic home clothes for NB, i would suggest getting those traditional tie front or front-buttoned cotton/jersey shirts. I got some at really good prices from this wholesaler at Bugis. Think it is at blk 296 or 269 (can't remember with this pregnant moemory). It is behind the toilets and the block is directly opp the Kuan Yin temple. 6 shirts are like only $10. They also have long pants with or without booties - 6 pieces for $10 also. Think these are very practical (easy to wear as dun have to loop the shirt thru the NB's fragile head/neck) and they are so cheap so won't be heart pained if can wear for only 3 mths. I was told that we need to keep changing clothes for NB since they burp out the milk so much due to weak digestive system during the initial months. So it's good to have a ample clothes for the constant changing. The clothes come in white, pink, yellow and blue.
There are so many things to buy there (more meant for home use) since they aren't fancy. Can find bath towels, hanky, cloth nappy, mittens, booties, bibs, etc. If you like buying in bulk, you will like it there. I was so happy to have found this shop cuz can save a lot of $$. Bought some basic home clothes at another place which costs me a bomb. i paid like $7 a piece but i must admit the quality was better lah. But the clothes at this shop in Bugis is also 100% cotton so just as good but not as soft or good quality lah - but should be good enough for 3 months use. Will start using body suits only after the intial 3 months when the BB's neck is not so fragile. Have bought nicer going out clothes for only 3 months and above since I don't anticipate bringing baby out a lot during the initial months.

<font color="0077aa">FirstMum, front fastening rompers are ok ma..!

Thanks! Blurmom, for the list! Maybe this will jolt me into completing my final bb shopping.

l'tulips, you also have the Ade strain of Tubbilitis!! *chuckle* Whoa, the directions to the Bugis shop very confusing leh...

Kikis, I saw one at Suntec the other day... where Toy'R'us is.. there's a little booth stall. I saw a giant blossom one. SO PRETTY! I WANT!!! But mine is a boy
I've wanted them ever since I first saw them even BEFORE I conceived...

Kate Lee, THANKS FOR THAT HEADS UP! Sounds like it's the place l'tulips is recommending too.. I must go check it out some time then. Perhaps this Fri after my obgyn apptmt.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1"><blink>Confirmation of Central Gathering</blink></font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">
Date: Friday, 17 April 2009
Venue: Shokudo @ Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
Time: 6.30pm til late

RSVP via PM pls!

<u>Confirmed Attendees to date:</u>
Bbaugustine, Bbjun, Cassey, Creamer, Createjoy, Fifi, Innocentwar, Jackie, Jam75, Jess Ma,
Katelee, Kikismom, Ling, Shelisa, Tubbymummy

<u>Tentative Attendees to date:</u> (Pls confirm attendance soonest possible! Thks)
Ahnetsan, Audreyaw, bbPotato, BlueDream, Blurmom, Caramelle, Fatmom, FirstMum, Jetaime, Lovelytulips,
Mika Rei, Neeciel, Nozomi, Sweethalo, Vibe, Xuan

<u>Pending Responses from:</u> hapeverafter, tiny_bubu...

<u>Apologies from:</u> Bing, Chidori, Dovey, LFB

<font color="ff0000">*Note: ONLY June MTBs <u>currently / recently actively posting</u> on this thread are invited</font>.
(If I don't know you, I cannot be inviting you. Do organise your own gathering if you like, please.)

<font color="ff0000">*<u>Gatecrashers NOT WELCOME</u> as reservations will be made.</font> Gatecrash: to attend an event without an invitation

Organiser: Cassey</font>

<font color="aa00aa"> can i ask something..

how many mg fish oil are you guys taking a day currently? haven't been taking at all, but thinking of starting on it...

any brand recommendations?</font>

Thanks bbPotato.. it just so sweet.

Audreyaw, ohh!! Hmm, I think I must start to eat healthy. No more ice cream &amp; chocolate everyday, no more bubbletea 2 time a week. No more chip

Kikismom, yup yup. Will ask her to ‘ren’ abit. Let ppl see she pretty pretty but if she keep crying then no choice but have to remove it.

11_Beans, I took fish oil starting from 4th mth. Everyday took 2x 250mg fish oil. I brought it from GNC as it is more cheaper then my gynae 2 times

<font color="0000ff">Cassey

The bugis shop is right behind the toilet... at the bloock directly opposite the guan yin temple..
walk beyond the toilet and turn left..

really great prices and very friendly uncle and auntie..</font>

<font color="0000ff">thanks Shelisa!!

wah i went to check guardian and nature's farm, i dun think very ex la, but all 1000mg!!

so abit worried - is that too much like that lor.. is there anything like "too much fish oil" or the more the merrier?? haa</font>

11_Beans: Taking ProLacta with DHA for Mother from my gynae, 1x250mg per day. But I can't find the same thing in pharmacy ...

<font color="0000ff">oh yessss (prob last post b4 i dive back into work) - for cold stuff lovers, i find the SMOO ice cream really good (one box is $4.30 got 6 sticks inside the box)

pretty guilt free (to me) - each stick is only 76 calories, low fat, and contains close to 300mg of calcium!! heehee it's my excuse to have "one a day" and hubby approves!!

tastes great too.. vanilla mixed with chocolate.. =D

okie - back to work.. haa</font>

beans, I am eating them on and off but most of the time I didn't eat as I have been eating salmon instead. Guess is the same? Hee..
I bought from my gynae, Natal Care Plus.

Shelisa, Those junk food used to be my fav. But ever since I got pregnant, I hardly have any craving for those. =(

<font color="0000ff">thanks dolly!

hmm looks like 250mg is the way to go.. I'll prob drop by GNC in that case, since dun seem to see lesser than 500mg in guardian and nature's farm... *ack*</font>

<font color="0000ff">yikes this thread is addictive!! haaa

thanks audrey.. i go chk it out!! I think salmon is great. Too bad my mum-in-law prefers to cook cod fish (which i hate) abt once a week for me for the past few months..

do take the oil regularly ya! esp in third trimester, bb needs most of this stuff cos it's used to develop 70% of the brain!

erm, if bb not enough, he will get from us lor, the richest source, of which, is our own brain (accounts for poor concentration / memory??!!)

so... ya la, tha's y i wanna start... hahaaa, if not after pregnancy, become bimbo (breasts enlarged + smaller brain)

LOL</font>

shelisa, ^5 leh..i have craving for chocolate ice creams and chocolates and have been eating em like nobody's bizness leh...bubble tea not everyday but when i c one, i couldn't resist n buy. isit having a ger will have sweet tooth? hehe

i bought natal care plus fish oil fr my gynae too. $30 for 30 tablet.once a day for me.

Audreyaw, so envy.. before or after pregnant im in deep love with those junk food already. But so far gynae keep saying bb is in average weight thus still can eat abit of junk food. Haha. Excuses for myself.

11beans, I ask before the GNC ppl, she say 1st &amp; 2nd tri take 1x 250mg will do. She say 3rd tri they will advise pregnant women to take 500mg. But they say fish oil is depend on us also as if we eat a lot of fish then we can reduce the fish oil intake. Depend on individual.

tubbymummy - I remember you bought some birdnest from BP? Izit from Mrs Loh? Wana find out hows the quality like if you've tried them. Which grade did you get and how you find them??

BTW mtbs that are looking for the "big blossom headbands", the so called brand should be by Jaime Rae Hats.. they come in headbands, caps and hats.. the headbands are at $29 each. Saw them at taka, mothers works at great world city and several other places. Tink some of the mothercare outlets also carry them.
They are really pretty cuz I couldn't resist in getting one too... but not cheap loh!

Fifi, I really cannot tahan not to take chocolate leh even the archive got mommy say chocolate might affect the volume of the breast milk. It tried not to eat or eat less but failed.

beans, I used to like cod fish too but hate it after preggie. Haha.. Luvky I still love salmon but actually i couldn't stand other fish smell so has been eating salmon nowadays.

My gynae told me to eat the fish oil during the night but most of the time I just forgets so end up eat it if i remember, haha..

fifi, yours is slightly cheaper than mine. I bought about $32.50 for 30 tablets leh!!

Shelisa, actually i miss eating them but the moment i put it in my mouth it just don't taste as tasty as it used to be. Maybe baby don't like it, haha..

working mummies who want to quit after ML, dont feel so bad lah cos iirc the company only pays 2 months, and the rest is government pay the company so if you come back serve notice is already good enough. plus you worked right up to when you delivering so that's a big contribution on your part too.

big blossom hairband - is it the one with the flower attached to a cap? mothercare and taka has that. i bought too many hairbands for my girl from BPs..better stop hehe
mine are mostly ribbons to be clipped to soft lacey hairband then can change2 to match outfits.

bought mine here: (BP close already so wont tempt you all..haha!)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2222032.html?1237298226

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2237070.html

Anyone encounter some pain?? Recently I feel pain at the bra cup the metal area there even tho my bra is not tight at all. It make me cant concentrate at work at all. Sob sob

shelisa, are you still wearing wired bras? not good for BF-ing later..so if you are better change now. wired bras cause blocked milk ducts.

audreyaw, ur bb dun like sweet stuff wor. So good. Last time my gynae sell me her fish oil $60 for 30 pills wor. It damn ex thus I change to GNC myself ard $28 for 60 pills (I took 2 pills each days thus last me a mth)

caramelle, yup yup. Im still wearing wired bra but it is not tight at all. As I tried wearing w/o wired, I feel so so weird that y I choose those wired bra but the wired is quite soft.

fifi, to wear strapless maybe you can use a bandeau/tube top underneath. advise i got is to get non-wired bras if you intend to BF. also for me the wired ones like very uncomfy so since 1st tri i bought mothercare non-wired ones. only problem is mine have no padding so if i dont wear cardigan over sometimes can see nipples. so i wear printed tops or shawl over.

shelisa, for non-wired you have to get those with good thick shoulder straps so the boobs wont weigh the whole bra down. if the straps provide support it will pull up the boobies so wont look saggy..

Audrey: yeah I also forgot, so just went to pop all the pills... fish oil, calcium and some others...
I didn't know fish oil got to take at night though

My prolacta fish oil is $60 for 60 capsule

Shelisa: did you try wireless bra? For me, whenever I wear one of those hard wire bras I feel uncomfortable too! But not every wired bra