(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

cassey, i charge a little handling fee can??? wahahahahahah... must earn some diaper and milk powder $$... wahahah

gonna sleep..... talk to u ladies tml!!!

<font color="0077aa">l'tulips, did you get much stuff the last rampage you girls went on?

sweethalo, looking at the thread links you posted. Looking at my niece, I think I want to get more front-fastening tops.
*EDITED*
> Not sure if I want rompers... *sigh* This is what I mean when I say no mood. I don't know what to do with myself!! *shakes self by shoulders* Sis' confinement lady told her to get more long sleeved stuff for initial month. Don't want to get 0-3M stuff cos full month celebrations ppl usually bear gifts. Now I remember why I got older kids stuff n very few others. But must get just white basic vests and tees for first month, I guess.</font>

seems like the mummies here are all so well equipped with clothes!I only bought a couple of rompers, some long sleeved tops and long pants for sleeping, mittens, booties...and i think thats it haha
Does the baby need a cap?

I am thinking that people will buy some more for the 1 month party and i can get some second hand ones from friends...=)

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, most ppl just give gift sets... haha. 5 gift sets = 5 sets of clothes lor! Haha!
Sis doesn't have enough now, so I must get more in prep. Anticipating little SUMO, but the little guy seems pretty petite so far.
I WISH I'll get shopping vouchers and red packets.. but doubt it.

My dear, does she stock many NB and/or 0-3M things at home?
There seems to be very few such ages on those threads and her blogs.</font>

but according to TubbyM and Lovelytulips, they said they usually buy bigger sz clothings for their frens 1mth old celebrations...

BTW, if ppl only give the clothes at the 1 mth celebration then wear wht in the meantime?? hehehe

sweethalo,
how how? tmr last day of the mothercare sale right?? and i still cant find time to go down! arrgg! and now all these talk abt clothings and preps are making me nervous.

cassey,
maybe can get the mothercare layette set for infant.

think i will buy more when baby is born cos dont really know what his size is now also. my colleague was saying that for the first baby she bought some newborn clothes but her baby was big so the clothes didnt last too long. 2nd baby she try to be smart buy bigger clothes but baby came out smaller...quite funny so maybe I will just get more if i need more after he is born...hopefully i will be able to get out of the house!

If bring to PD, thought swaddling him will be sufficient...?

Anyone started taking bird nest?is now the right time to do that?

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, tt's why I want to get some 0M things... Like I said, vests and tops and stuff...
I usually get 12-24M stuff for friends cos anticipate everyone will get bb's first year stuff.
Thought gift set sizes are quite small by default? Do you get to choose a larger size? No, right?</font>

<font color="0077aa">bbaug~, babies are not NAKED under swaddling cloth ma!! I think wearing loose clothes for 1st month is ok cos they grow pretty fast and anyway, swaddle them over the clothes so extra material doesn't snag too badly.

> I've been taking bird's nest periodically thruout pregnancy from 1st tri. Start now lor. It's never too early.

sweethalo, cos the rompers i'm looking at are pretty much all 6M onwards... and all pull over the head. Sis' CL asked her to get more front opening stuff cos fontenelle is still soft now. </font>

Cassey, thats what Im saying...cos sweethalo says cap is needed for PD visits in case catch cold so Im thinking swaddling will keep baby warm enough...right?

sweethalo,
cos of the contractions scare yday loh. now dont dare go out shopping walk so much liao. v sad. tried to lie in bed and rest the whole of today. so boring.

cassey,
prob wiv front opening tops is that:

those ribbon types not encouraged cos pose risk of strangulation,
the button-down types the older folks say wind can get to the tummy.

so how??

<font color="0077aa">bbaug~, not necessarily. I've read that the head is one of the places where we lose most heat from. I guess it could be a cute thing too! Or maybe to disguise yucky cradle cap...?

First Mum, ribboned ones only pose prob when bb learns to move more. So to me, 0M is still ok.
And I don't subscribe to old wives' tales abt wind and stuff so button down ok too...
But fontenelle being soft, so discourage us from pulling clothes over it, I see some logic.

OK! My man is calling me to watch ANTM with him. CIAO LADIES!!!
THanks for all the links, sweethalo *hugs*</font>

FirstMum- o dear! Hope u are feeling better... then lidat better don't go out la... rest well ya??

OR u can just send HB out to buy any pack first, later bring back and exchange when u feeling better

Cassey - i heard fr an experienced mum at Taka fair don't get the ribbon type cos very difficult to finish tying cos bb is moving all the time..becomes frustrating.

If u can find those crossover types but fastened by buttons wld be better...

cassey,
yes yes makes sense. so rompers maybe not such a gd idea for newborns. will take note.

sweethalo,
will try to squeeze in 1 hr of shopping at mothercare tmr. kekes. update u on my buys later kekes.

ok girls, gona KO liao. gdnite!

morning ladies.....

sweethalo, me no SAHM la... i'm working......

Cassey... hmmm... i bought the least when i was with them, but i have already been there like 3 times before and bought my stuff. so hmmm.... maybe in total, i bought more than each of them. ha!

if u wana get front button clothes that are for home wear - the "i love mummy" (not those nice nice gai gai clothes la), there is this shop in bugis that sells them wholesale. a pack of 6 pc front button top costs $10, long pants is like 6 for $9/10.

Lovetulips,

Can I know where e shop is near to?

Do u hv e address? Cos this friday I will b going down to bugis for my checkup, mayb can pop over &amp; hv a look.

Blurmom
Thanks for the list..very useful guidelines to wat to buy..Ur gynae very gd la still got a shopping list for his patients..

I go read archive...

Ladies, heehee. Im not TUBBILITIES CARRIER leh. It is actually I have a frenz she just gave birth last year oct, she has a ger too. Then she brought a lot of new romper for her ger, who know her ger outgrown so fast and she decided to close her factory, thus she hand down a lot of romper to me and those romper she gave me look like only wear a few time only, it pretty new and it is so sweet, mostly pink colour. Then plus I buy abit then turn out so much. But I hand down some to my SIL as she also have a ger and her edd ard sept 09. All Romper are 0-3 mths or 3-6mths. So save a lot on clothes.

bbPotato,

the shop is near to the Guan Yin Temple. Opposite the temple, there is a those 2-3 storey tall HDB shophouse which sells alot of buddhist stuff. with ur back facing the temple, it's on the left at a corner, next to the mini road - which u cross over to the hawker (still renovating i think). the shop sells alot of bb stuff also like towels, mittens etc but more for home wear.

if u still have problems finding it, can ask the shops there, where the toilet is, it is just near the toilet.

bing : I would suggest cordlife! Went for both Stemcord and Cordlife seminar... Cordlife one definitely more professional, some more they have track record of using the cord blood.
One of my customer (I'm in service line) just told me yesterday that he bank with both Stemcord and Cordlife, and he also feels that Cordlife is better

dolly, thanks! haha. i am thinking abt cord life too. =D u sign up already?

wonder if there is any ongoing promo and also how much is the package ar?

oh... am I too slow? I've not bought any piece of clothing for my little calf! but got some hand me down and some gifts ... guess must go check out what I have!

Legs swollen again yesterday! But I was in office leh.. didn't walk much this time

Bing: I signed up at the talk, there was some kind of promotion, but the lady said it was cheaper if I'd hv sign up at the baby fair.

We opt for the 20 years plan, upfront payment of $5250 + GST, but they will only start collecting money after we set up the CDA account, not sure how much can be paid for by CDA though.

dolly &amp; jetaime21: thanks! guess i will be signing up for the 21 yrs plan too. went to their web site to take a look. think DBS credit card has some promo. might give them a call to check out if FBI has promo also. then promo can combine or not. hee... i remember they were giving free laptops in march. think that promo ended.

sweethalo: Wat a good thing you did at the MRT! Usually I will get a seat somehow, but it's mostly women or India man who'd offer their seats! The other day when I was with my mum, these 2 men just chatting happily away, and one of them was sitting on the priority seat! It's the lady sitting next to them that offer me her seat and my mum is still standing in front of them throughout the whole journey

bing, me signed up with Stemcord
I did hear quite a few ppl say that Cordlife is better, but when I emailed them and attended talks etc, the service I got from Cordlife was bad, compared to the service I got at Stemcord. I was from the service line too, so the first point of contact experience for me is very important haha. So suay suay I kenna some rookie at Cordlife, who gave me generic textbook replies (which didn't answer my questions at all, cos I got special case family history), and at Stemcord, I kenna the general manager! Haha... obviously she knew everything at her fingertips, and i felt very assured, so I signed up with Stemcord.

dolly, yes! In all my pregnant months, only 2 ppl have offered seats to me and they are both Indian men. Of course, BOTH times, some other CHINESE man snatched the seat away from right under my nose. *ggrrrr*

sweethalo/Cassey, about baby clothing, that's why I kept all my romper purchases to 3mths and above, cos I plan to buy (or wait for hand me downs) those front button types, what with the soft fontanelles and the wobbly neck NBs have.

FirstMum, think u better rest at home, and forgo the Mothercare sale lah... your health/baby more impt
You must have had quite a scare over the false contractions. Lying down lots would be good for u know, so guai guai ok? hehe... take care

dolly,bing,jetaime21
i signed up cordlife for my #1 so every year I got to pay $250 for the storage..for #2 I think I will continued with cordlife

Shelisa/ mummies with princess
Have u buy any hairbands? I try looking for them them but kiddypalace one not so nice lei..so I stop hunting...now cassey mention about the big blosom hairband!! I also want..u know where to find...

hairband or cap for babies : better dun buy too much first, some babies doesn't like and will cry when they have these on their head