(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Sweethalo, BRAVO!!

Audreyaw, my hubby took all the drawer out and done deep cleaning on it. Thus so far no those drawer smell.

TubbyMummy, bcos my gynae package very ex then a lot of thing not included. So if can save I rather save. But since she said is another detailed scan, then I feel ok ba. On the way can see how bb doing too.

<font color="0077aa">Get That Jab! from Motherhood Baby Plus magazine

I summarise. Too lazy to type out all details

In Singapore, there is a list of recommended vaccinations for children under the National Childhood Immunisation Programme. Immunisation against diseases like measles and diphtheria are actually required by law, and vaccination records of children are kept and maintained by the National Immunisation Registry.

RECOMMENDED SHOTS:
- BCG Protects against tuberculosis. Given at birth and 12 y/o.
<u>- Hepatitis B</u> Protects against Hepatitis caused by the Hep B virus. Given at birth, 1 mth and 5 mths.
<u>- Polio</u> Protects against poliomyelitis. Given by mouth at 3, 4, 5, 18 mths, 6y/o and 11-12y/o.
<u>- DTP</u> Protects against Diphtheria, Pertussis &amp; Tetanus. Given at 3, 4, 5 mths, DPT booster at 18 mths, DT booster at 6 and 12 y/o.
- MMR Protects against Measles, Mumps &amp; Rubella. Given at 1y/o, booster 11y/o.

OPTIONAL JABS
<u>- Haemophilus Influenza B (Hib)</u> Protects against deadly Hib bacteria, which causes meningitis
- Chicken Pox
- Pneumococcal Disease Protects against infection by pneumococcal bacteria which can lead to meningitis &amp; pneumonia.
- Rotavirus Infections Protects against an intestinal virus that causes diarrhoea &amp; vomitting
- Flu Protection against some strains of influenza virus.

COCKTAILS OF VACCINES *Tubbym~, my mistake. 4,5,6-in-one. Not 5,6,7-in-one!*
- 4-in-1 Vaccine DPTA + HIB (see above for details)
- 5-in-1 Vaccine DPTA + HIB + IPV(protection against polio)
- 6-in-1 Vaccine DPTA + HIB + IPV + HEPB(protection against Hep B)

Parents may feel concerned about taxing their little ones' body with combined vaccines. Health experts, however, say a child's immune system is capable of handling many immunisations without being overloaded. Also, the body's response is just as good when the vaccines are given separately. These combined vaccines have been used in many developed countries for several years, and are approved for use in babies and children by Singapore's Ministry of Health.

Be prepared to pay for these all-in-one shots though. Unlike the 3-in-1 vaccines (DPT, MMR), which are given, free at polyclinics to Sg citizens, these combined vaccines are not subsidised by the govt. Ask your dr for info or enquire at hosps, as the vaccines are included in many of their immunisation packages.

sweethalo, write to Forum very fun one hehe... So if they don't give you satisfactory answer, can write to forum to complain about Singaporeans in general, then highlight SMRT staff behaviour kekeke...

My hubby is an architect. Haha, maybe it's the same contractor that's why. My hubby said it will be at least 2 more wks also, prob more like month end. So I doubt I'll be doing any clothes washing before then. Wash already put where wor.

Cassey, thanks thanks, shall wait for your jab article...

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, haha! I beat you to it! *chuckles*
So happy yesterday hubby saw blobbing wobbling bump cos bb kept moving. He's doing it again.

Cassey - thanks for the info.. aren't the jabs compulsory?

I think my small one is very greedy.. everytime i munch on anything or eat, he will roll around like celebrating

sweethalo,
Cassey already give u all the info on vaccinations. I just my boi the additional Pneumococcal &amp; Rotavirus(oral) vaccines.

SMRT, make sure they get back to u.....Otherwise post on stomp or forum.

Cassey,
My dream so silly hor....BTW, i just PM u

sweethalo, is it? I thought he dress normal leh, but maybe I see him everyday, used to it liao hahaha... Their dress code more relaxed, so no need to wear those standard shirt/tie/pants combo. If he got presentation, probably just throw on a jacket on top of what he normally wears (like the other day).

Cassey, thanks, so now I know what the vaccines are for. But I'm still a little confused hahaha... Ok, maybe u can explain to me over waffles, my treat ok? Hehe... use waffle to siah you out. For me, I would wanna go for the recommended shots list, and also the HIB and pneumococcal. That means I must go for the 6in1 PLUS pneumo is it?

<font color="0077aa">Re: Washing of bb Clothes &amp; stuff
I'm not intending to do mine too early.. Prob about Wk 34-35 so they're still clean and relatively fresh.
Playpen is set up, but mattress still plastic wrapped. Will only unwrap and put on sheets when we're ready to use it.</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, do note that the recommended shots are the compulsory ones. At least tt's what I understood... no?
I'm stuffing my face with confectionery bread (those super soft long white ones) spread with choc &amp; peanut butter.

Jackie, *EDITED* NO PM RECEIVED LEH.

Tubbym~, as the concluding section said, I think you can either go for the 6-in-1 or opt for the DPT 3-in-1 shot and have 2 more separate vaccines... I'm not even thinking so far ahead! AIYO! CRAZY WOMAN!!!

> I'm just looking to serve out my final 3 weeks at work now >> then looking to get final shopping done >> then it'll be packing for hosp &amp; confinement at mum's >> then praying bb will wait til full term pls. I can't see very far beyond that. Haha!

pneumococcal
Pd told me tat if child below 2yo they need to take 2 jabs..if above 2yo, only 1 jab is required so he advised me take it after 2 yo...

washing bb clothes
I haven prepared any bb clothes thinking using back #1 bb clothes, they are all pack in the cupboard..dunno still need to wash anot huh!!(lazy mommy)

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, if you look at the recommended shots, the timings of the shots are quite diverse.
I wonder how they work around that with the cocktails...? Like when do you take the booster shots?

kikismom, won't you have to wash them closer to delivery if they've been sitting there all this time?
I haven't a dryer and am dreading hanging out all those new little awkwardly shaped thingies... Haha!

Cassey, haiyah, I know I'm a bit crazy lah, but decided since now I got plenty of time to think about these things anyway, I might as well think now. Once baby comes along, I think I'll be either too busy to think so much, or if I have the free time, I'd rather sleep! So I might as well map out these things now. Save myself the thinking later
Anyway, I understand it now, I went to polyclinic website to read up also, so I believe I understand now. Thanks a lot girl!

sweethalo, don't worry, got waffles sure jio you one hehehe

kikismom, I also thought of taking the pneumococcal later, but someone I know (which I briefly posted here some time back), their kid kenna pneumococcal disease before 1yo, led to meningitis and lots of complications, almost died. I hear already very scared leh.

<font color="0077aa">Tubbym~, no worries. I was just going to follow up by saying check with your PD / hosp about their immunisation packages... the final concluding para said so too. I'm just going to go with the flow, laidback sloth that I am.
> With possible shift within the next 1 year, not even looking at setting up any cupboards or whatnot for the kid. Not even bothered with childproofing the house stuff at this point.</font>

cassey
washing is still ok wif just throw them into the washing machine but handing them out is a pain so many clothes got to peg them one by one on... whahaha
btw r ur sis on total breastfeeding during the stay in the hospital?

<font color="0077aa">kikism, nope. Cos she was in a lot of pain the first day after the C-sec. Combi of formula and breastmilk.
After tt needed combi cos b'milk not enough yet and need bb to poo out the jaundice toxins so topped up with formula.
When bb went back to hospital also on formula except when she visited with expressed b'milk.
Even now still combi cos girl needs about 120ml per feed and she's only been able to pump abt 90ml. So top up with bit of formula cos she's wailing her little head off.</font>

Jackie, so u took all the free vaccines at poly, and topped up money for pneumo and rota right? Do u remember how many times u had to go to the poly for the jabs? (this stems partially from Cassey's qns on how they work out the cocktails, when to take booster etc) I assume they just schedule everything into the baby booklet, and you just go when scheduled right? Hehe )

Wondering if can use CDA for the additional non-free jabs at the poly...

cassey
wat the formula did the hospital recommand? cos i know we got to choose from many brands of formula to give our bb if we opt for supplement instead of total breastfeeding

Cassey,
Never receive my PM ah? I send viz. email again.

kikimon,
Pneumococcal jab hor....
(1) below 1 yr old - 4 jabs
(2) below 2 yrs old - 2 jabs
(3) above 2 yrs old - 1 jab.

It is really $ but i think for our bb health hor. Better take if u can affort.

Tubbymummy,
I didnt get any free vaccines at the polyclinic cause i opt for 6in1 jab. The $ is still cheaper than some GP n PD.

As for Pneumococcal &amp; Rotavirus, polyclinic dont offer such jab. These 2 jabs are taken at the GP clinic.

If i am not wrong CDA only for 2nd child. So those with 1st bb wont have CDA account.

wow finalli finished archive!! onli last fri on leave &amp; over the wkend realli hv to go through so many archive!!

armpits darkening - mine oso bcome darker leh...look so ugly &amp; dirty dun even dare to leave up my arm too high scared ppl saw! haahaa...saw some1 mentioned J&amp;J bb oil do help to lightening pigmentation...i will sure get 1 to try out! we juz apply on armpit &amp; leave it or aft apply f a while we hv to wash away!

tiny bubu, wow wat a romantic proposal! congrat!!

cassey, saw u mentioned abt strecth mark...i quickly ask hb to chk f mi cos tummy blocking can't c but hv say NO red line...so hope won't form up anytime!

audrey, actuali my colik oso hv no. 2 she resign immy aft ML tink she juz back to office less than 1 wk niah...how our HR settle her leave thing or wat we dunno apprently she dun nid to pay $$ to co leh!

Cassey,
Receive yr reply. Thank you

kikismon,
My boi took his pneumo after 1 yr old and each jab cost ard $120++(rough figure hor)

sweethalo,
Now 1st child also got CDA account liao ah. Good for all 1st time mummies than

sweethalo, haha, im usually not online on weekends de...
so dats y u dun see me being night bird on sat. hmm, i think i must try to login on wkends le, so many archives to read thru. haha

wah u all starting to look for PD le... so fast.

LFB, glad u enjoyed ur JB trip and wow, you bot quite a lot of stuff.

finally brought cot bed back on sat... hb and fil went to take from fren... now the cot bed is full of bags and bags of bb stuff which some were passed from frens and some we bot on our own.
now left wif bb toiletries, cot bed mattress, bedsheets, bean husk pillow, changing mat.... haiz... dunno when will complete the things-to-buy list.

btw, can experienced mothers advise whether is it necessary to get bb powder and powder puff?? i read somewhere that it's better to get liquid powder?? wat's dat??

sweethalo, ok, thanks for the sofy pad info.
i havent bot it yet. haha
btw, if u stil haf the red bathtub which used during wedding one, mayb can jus use tat until bb is big enough to use the adult bathtub? like dat u can use the $$ to buy more stuff at ade's? heehee

wow sweethalo, u mean ur stomach doesnt haf the dark or brown vertical line dat runs thru the belly button?? wow, envy leh.

i also find dat armpits are darker, aerola are darker.... why pregnant must suffer all this ugliness???
hmmm, reading pigletgirl's post, i think i better buy baby oil soon to apply. did u use it before bath or after bath? to hell with the nivea whitening armpit roll! it doesnt help.

OMG OMG!!!! TINY BUBU!!! I WAS SO HAPPY WHEN I READ UR POST 'HE PROPOSED'... HAHAHAHAHA and you know wat??? i read ur post 2x!!!! it's so super romantic!! omg, read le also feel like crying sia.

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!
he's really very sweet.

wah sweethalo, *whistle* u steady leh... must update us on the results yeah?

<font color="0077aa">Jackie, received minutes after I posted and have responded. Have some questions for ur friend.

sweethalo, early meh? Must start when child is 6 months old. haha!! I'm not bothered. So heck..!

jam75, YEAH RUB IT IN!!! YOU STRETCHMARK-FREE WOMAN! *GLARE*
Me just trying to keep mine controlled... moisturise up to 4 times a day now lor. Sigh!

kikismom, quote my sister's posting on April MTBs thread.
============================================================
Hospital used Enfalac for me leh. So I used back the same brand. I'm using Enfalac hypoallergenic formula.

I managed to get 20 glass containers from the hospital and realized that those are similac.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1"><blink>Confirmation of Central Gathering</blink></font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">
Date: Friday, 17 April 2009
Venue: Shokudo @ Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
Time: 6.30pm til late

RSVP via PM pls!

<u>Confirmed Attendees to date:</u>
Bbaugustine, Bbjun, Cassey, Creamer, Createjoy, Fifi, Innocentwar, Jackie, Jam75, Jess Ma,
Katelee, Kikismom, Ling, Shelisa, Tubbymummy

<u>Tentative Attendees to date:</u> (Pls confirm attendance soonest possible! Thks)
Ahnetsan, Audreyaw, bbPotato, BlueDream, Blurmom, Caramelle, Fatmom, FirstMum, Jetaime, Lovelytulips,
Mika Rei, Neeciel, Nozomi, Sweethalo, Vibe, Xuan

<u>Pending Responses from:</u> hapeverafter, tiny_bubu...

<u>Apologies from:</u> Bing, Chidori, Dovey, LFB

<font color="ff0000">*Note: ONLY June MTBs <u>currently / recently actively posting</u> on this thread are invited</font>.
(If I don't know you, I cannot be inviting you. Do organise your own gathering if you like, please.)

<font color="ff0000">**<u>Gatecrashers NOT WELCOME</u> as reservations will be made.</font> Gatecrash: to attend an event without an invitation

Organiser: Cassey</font>

Jackie, I think now poly offers the pneumo etc. Got this from National Healthcare Group website:

<u>Enhanced Immunisation Programme</u>
There are now newer childhood vaccines available in single injections for Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Polio and Haemophilus Influenzae Tybe b (5-in-1) and additional Hepatitis B (6-in-1).
There are also vaccines against Influenza, Chickenpox, Typhoid, Meningococcus and Hepatitis A, for protection against other infectious diseases.
Vaccines under the Enhanced Immunisation Programme are available at all NHG Polyclinics for a fee.

I think they need to catch up with the times hehehe... Believe it'll definitely be cheaper at poly than at GP/PD.

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, re: dragging feet for confinemt... Cos I'm slothful...?
It's just I find it a hassle to have to look thru my bb stuff and decide what I need to pack to bring to mum's.
I look fwd to the confinement per se! But it's the prep beforehand that I keep putting off.

Baby plus car seat, + sleeping needs + feeding needs + diapering needs + bathing needs + mummy's needs...
PLUS Cassey + her feeding needs + her toileting needs + her scratching needs + her grooming needs... *faint*

PLUS mummy's "fashion needs" + skincare needs plus daddy's needs?</font>

<font color="0077aa">neeciel, DON'T YOU WISH!?! hahaha! Nope! It doesn't mean that.
Some books I've read even said some women actually get it AFTER delivery instead of during pregnancy!
I guess we're never quite safe from it!!! *sigh*</font>

Cassey, after delivery when the skin shrinked back ah?? I think thats quite possible since some very plump pple slimmed down very fast and they will hv white lines along the thighs...ok keeping fingers crossed hee...

<font color="0077aa">bbPotato is right!!!
Neeciel, I was trouble-free all the way... until the first popped last week as I went into my 31st wk.
I guess just be thankful for each day without and keep hoping they don't visit..
I just hope mine don't degenerate to those scary monstrosities u see online.

Cassey,
Reply to your questions liao.

I just read through the archive and saw your pic. Than i 5 5 run to the toilet, locked the door and check my tummy
. Touch wood mine still look ok. But gg to ask hubby to do detail check this eveing.

Tubbymummy,
Ah finally they do!! Like that confirm cheaper than GP

Cassey, this pix looks scary leh...

bbPotato, i dun mind to have a few white lines but the pix above lah, damn scary leh haha

walao who's poor tummy is that??? (cry)

Ahnet- yeah better come in on weekends else Mondays very very siong leh...hehehe

Don't remember wht happened to my wedding basin leh, if I even had one... remember that's like 9-10 yrs ago liao leh..