(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Re: Cassey’s posting on our emotional response in week 30-35
That’s already affecting many of us, I think and my boss doesn’t seem to understand that. My work is piling on more now than in my first and 2nd trimester. She is still feeling good abt the fact that she is loading up my work slowly since the time I joined! It’s such a struggle to manage the increased workload and the anticipation of BB’s arrival at this point.

Re: pigmentation
Am gg try out BB oil on armpits then. Oredi giving up hope with my darkened armpits and totally dun care and just continue to wear sleeveless cos it’s just too hot these days.

Kikismom, ya. Suspected that durian made my BB grow faster. Well, nvm, I will just stay away from durian for the remaining weeks so that he is not gg to be a giant BB for me to do natural delivery.

Tinybubu, Congrats! Your man is just so sweet and thoughtful.

tinybubu, I am such a weepy wimp, but reading your post about his proposal, I also almost cried! haha... so i can imagine that you cried all thru it hehe. It sounds like he's wanting to marry you for all the right reasons. I'm really happy for you!

Jackie, Wah, vaccination only need to wait 10-15min, I think I confirm go poly liao! Hehe... I thought poly only offer up to 5in1, didn't know they do 6in1. Btw, eh, the 6in1 is to vaccinate against what diseases ah? And take at how many months?

Bump size:
Mine about 39 inches, think that's pretty average. Anyway it doesn't matter what size the bump is, as long as baby is healty, like what innocentwar said. And bump a bit smaller, easier to buy preggie clothes, no need to go and purposely buy those maternity wear!

Tinybubu: Congratulations! That's like dream come true!
fif: dun worry about the weight gain, one of my colleagues' wife gain 7 kg throughout her pregnancy, so I guess it's depends on individual.

<font color="aa00aa">Tubby,

the temp hawker centre is near the dried foods wholesale there.. opposite the Kopitiam that sells famous ba kut teh.. alamak..

Re : baby weight
had baby weighted on friday.. head circumference was 7cm, feet 5 cm (now i know why the kicks so power liao)

weight at 28+ wks is approx 1.2kg.. heh.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Re : delivery at Mt A
My da sao delivered 2 kids at Mt A, mentioned no bb clothes provided wor.

Only got 1 pk of pampers and a bath tub..</font>

hehhe... I hv been hving durian last week - twice actually after you all SIAH me! hehhe... but abit scared that bb grow too fast and big too... eeks!

TubbyM, Bing, fifi n cash - maybe shld wait for GSS and see if got good bargains for the 'Baby bags' that you all are eyeing at... Think the branded goods stores will slash prices quite abit.

If I don't find any good buys during the GSS, I will probably use my very lightweight colourful and cheery Jim Thompson big bag... hehehe

<font color="aa00aa">Re : button sleeping gowns

$6 - at woodlands checkpoint neighborhood shops there, i saw when i went there for breakfast durnig the weekend..

those coton type, obviously not the sexy sexy type... but serves the purposes lah.. </font>

tinybubu
congrats!!! so sweet...

tubbym
aiyo..nipples still can cover but bum can't..my bum is full of stretchmarks very awful muz wear those boy short cover the whole bum type &amp; can't wear hipster when go swimming..

Jackie
I heard some of the jabs are FOC in polyclinic expect for the MMR need to pay..is it true?

bb bag
I bought a KS bb bag during sale in HK, it costs $700..but dunno is the workmanship lousy or i stuff too many things in, now the thread give way &amp; call KS they say they dun provided repair service..anyone know where can I go to repair?? so sayang...
LeSportsac &amp; skiphop sell very cute bb bag, they are more durable too..got many compartments!!!

tiny bubu, that's such a sweet and romantic proposal!!

RE: PD
personally, i feel can go to polyclinic for all the vaccinations as more cost efficient, however whn the baby is sick, i highly recommend PD..
i brought my ger to a GP twice but both time GP cldn't advise what's wrong with her, but whn i brought her to PD, PD immediately able to diagnose her illness and give the appropriate treatment.. thus so long as i can afford, i will bring my kids to a PD till they are able to verbalise their pain and discomfort clearly..

<font color="aa00aa">re : infant car seat

Be sure the car seat is rear-facing for infants, ya? after some pondering, i finally understand why infants need to face the rear.. is cos if in the case of E-brake, bb cannot support the neck yet. any sudden jerk could be very very serious..

so pls remember!!</font>

kikismom- think People's Park may hv some of those ppl that repair handbags and can do sewing but I don't kn how is their workmanship

Cassey, ohh? Keeps thinking about the EDD so can mentally prepared myself to that day. Haha..
I am not sure too, but will be asking her again next month when my boy going back for another session. He was being quite unhappy then, doing all sorts of tests and could see him giving up without trying. So frustrating and was so tempted to tell him off on spot.

Bra
I bought a few on sat, really can't stand my current unfit ones and end up I was actually 3 cups bigger (no wonder i feel so uncomfortable wearing my pre-preggie ones!)

Disposable panties
I went NTUC yesterday and yes, I finally see them!!! I must be blind all along and never realise they actually sell them. Bought a pack of cotton type since they are of better quality. But really sad that I need to get the XXL (waist meant for 42"-47") and they fit nicely. My hip has grown so much and made me feel like crying.

LFB, so glad you bought so many cheap stuffs from JB. Wanted to go there but hubby not free and he doesn't allow me to go myself. Sigh

fifi, take care of yourself. Is really uncomfortable to be sick with the tummy.

fat-mom, I can never dare to eat those with blood taste meat. =(

car seat
I also bought mine 2 months ago. Not saying I don't trust my hubby's driving skill but was more of other drivers' driving skill. We can make sure that we drive carefully but we can't do the same to others. I just hope to have a piece of mind in the car knowing the baby is safe in the car seat.

sweethalo, I would prefer a baby bath tub than an adult bath tub cause it will be so difficult to bath a baby in such a big bath tub.

Stretchmarks
haven't seen them yet on my tummy but been seeing tons of red dots on my tummy instead. It's there whether I use the stretch mark creams or not so I am guessing they are heat rashes? Probably will be asking my gynae about it if they are still there then. Haiz..

Pigmentation
Haven't get any new pigmentation other than those I got it ( the vertical line at tummy and nipple areas) during my previous pregnancies. Praying and hoping no more new darken areas are going to show up. Does armpits turn darken? I keep looking at mine and they look the same to me leh.

GRATS tiny!!! So sweet of him! My hubby will never do such romantic stuffs, he's a block of wood.

thanks sweethalo..i'm afraid about the workmanship too lei..
I think u just need to call the ployclinic to fix appt will do but i dunno wat the lead time...
I bought a bathtub from kiddypalace it quite big &amp; my hb commented it waste water to fill the tub..it's look like a real bathtub for bb... i go look for the pic to show u..

<font color="aa00aa">sweethalo --> hmmm is the normal cotton type (i think thinner than t-shirt material) - same material as those 2-piece ones, rather..

i guess it's pretty acceptable for the price, just bring a nicer looking overall to the hospital so that can cover up when walking around or gg to see bb at the nursery ba?

Though if your hubby is "auntie-phobic" better buy more ex one lor, else quite ermmm...</font>

omg i just finished cooking one dish for lunch and im so tired..almost too tired to eat. i kept thinking how come the kitchen floor so wet then i realised it was because i was sweating (sorry if i've grossed you out!). i was wearing apron over those long nightgown which i always wear at home and had to keep a wipecloth on my feet all the time.

cant imagine how you other mummies do it! it was so hot in my kitchen i almost wanted to stop and bathe! now i just finished cleaning up and took a shower, sitting in front of my fan..so cooling.

anyone else with serious sweat issues? i cant be in a room w/o aircon!!

wah!! Caramelle- u are so funny...hehehe... Thot u are back in office oredi

did u enjoy ur shopping on Sat? wht did u get... hehehe... wana go again leh..incurable!!

such a sweet proposal, tinybubu... keep everything he used during the proposal, next time when u relook at them, u'll definitely feel so blessed...

one qtn... does any of the mummies here have tiny bumps on your nipples? looks like when u injured yourself, the hard skin that grows and will fall off once it's recovered? i hope u gals get what i mean... i had it since at least 1 month back, then 2 days ago when i was showering, one of the bump dropped off... but i dun feel pain or discomfort... just wondering if anyone experiencing the same...

tinybubu, it just so so so so SWEET!!

Ladies, check with you. Did your gynae ask you to do the growth scan on week 32? I was told to do that and need to pay extra too. Pls Advise.

Basically, bb thing i have brought 90%. Now starting to wash bb clothes, blanket, towel, clothe nappy, mouth towel (wipe mouth). Then will start to pack a bag for bringing to hospital. Now is counting down week by week. how abt other ladies?

sweethalo..btw thanks for missing me hor! i dont come in here on weekends cos no time! im back in the office next week so this is my last "holiday week" hehe
but also quite sad cos hubby leaving this sun on his birthday for work mission for 1 month. and i'll be staying on my own..

sat i got rompers, towels, 1 toy and shoes iirc frm Ade. went to katong mall to buy pupsik baby sling, but i think i got the wrong size so must go and change. somebody was asking me abt this sling, and frm what i see it's much easier to manage than those must loop through one, cos it's like wearing a stretchy cloth and just put baby in it. but there are sizes for diff mummy frames so that's the only trick - to get the right size.

then after that went to pet farm at pasir ris stock up on cat food. the plan was to go robinson after that but we found this kitten and we took it home for my sis, so all plans after 3pm was canx.

only went robinson on sun and bought cloth nappy, NUK bottles + teat (latex), munchkin spoon in case baby cannot latch on in first few days so will feed her by spoon iso bottle in case she reject breast and i think few other things. at night went to pasar malam buy 2 button-front nightgowns for hospital.

this should be my last baby shopping weekend (at least for one month since hubby is away!) so you all dont tempt me hor!

kiki, I only remember that those 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 are not free in polyclinic, the rest are free. Unless they change it after my girl went for those necessary injections.

sweethalo, my sister told me we got to make appt ourselves at Poly clinic.

caramelle, currently I need a fan blow at me without moving or else I will start to sweat and complain. Still can live without air-con, hee..

I need some advise, not sure who can I ask.
This is my first time being pregnant working full-time, previously I was only working part-time so there's no issue in quitting and maternity leave.
I am thinking of quitting my job right after maternity leave by giving a month notice but now there are some changes due to I had no more annual leaves left for the year so I got to give immediate notice after maternity. But somehow, some friends told me that some companies do not allow and require me to work a month. But i believe (i think) my company would not be that bad. As my mum is working, my in-laws stay in msia, i would not be able to work for a month with someone taking care of my baby and i doubt there are babysitter willing to take care for only a month. I still feel kind of bad doing that to the company. I am confused.. Should i quit before maternity (but keep feeling being so wasted of the benefits) or after maternity, pay them back a month pay and quit?

Shelisa, my gynae didn't mention anything about doing gorwth scan on week 32 leh. I will be 32 weeks when i see him on the next visit. What is that for?
Waa... you start washing them? I just finish packing them in bag to be wash in later months only, feel so lazy to do anything now.

audrey, what's your company notice period? i think you just need to serve that right after you come back from maternity. i got ask this same question before here and that was the answer i got. that one month you heard about is probably this notice that you must serve - gives time for company to find replacement.

if your job allows you to do it, why not discuss with them possibility of work-from-home or you come in 3 days a week while you are serving notice? and offer to serve maybe additional 2 weeks notice to show them you're sincere abt them finding a proper replacement and ensuring a proper handover.

as for babysitter/nanny for 1 month, i think you can try and look for one, but tell them since the arrangement is new, you will review after 1 month to see if it works for you. im not asking you to lie, but at least they know your intention in advance and both parties benefit (cos you will pay them for 1 month, maybe you can offer to pay in advance).

im not sure if you can send to infant care? i dont know if there is a minimum period for you to sign up for...

btw, you have 2 other kids right? who's taking care of them now?

shelisa, haha. me too. counting down the weeks to welcome bb's arrival. had watched all bb clothes and packed my bag for D-day. not left with buying bb's mattress and bed sheets. =D

caramelle, it's stated a month in my employer letter. Either give them a month notice or pay them back a month pay if i were to give them immediate notice. Previously was planning to use my annual leaves to offset the notice and take a few days unpaid leaves. My company wants us to take all our leaves before leaving as they don't pay us back the leaves that we have not used for the year.

As far as I know, my company has already freeze employment so they will not be employing new employee even someone quits. Currently there has been arrangements being made during my maternity leaves, my dept will be taking over my duties.

Actually, there is nothing much to do in my job scope. I am taking care of company library (working in architect firm) and doing some typing works only.

The younger child is in child care now, but they only take in kids age bet 18 mths - 6 years old. My eldest child is in school most of the time so he stay at home himself.

tubbymummy,
I cant remember wat is in the 5in1 and 6in1 jab. I just give
. The health book will have a list of jab to be taken from NB to 6 yr old (if i dont remember wrongly). Plus after the 1st appt they will usually give u a date for the next appt.

sweethalo,
Just call the polyclinic hotline and make an appt to your conv

kikismon,
Like wat Audreyaw had reply, if u take the standard jab (not 5in1 or 6in1) than most jab are free. N how much they charge for 5in1 and 6in1 also depend on which hospital we deliver the BB. Cause i remember clearly the nurse look at the health book cover than tell me the charges.

11_beans, ok, I know where the wholesale centre is, I shall go recce hehe. And ya, the infant car seat must be rear-facing. In fact, in Sweden children must be rear facing up till 4 yrs old, cos actually even past 1 yr old, baby bone structure is still not established enough to handle impact in a car accident. If they are rear facing, the impact gets spread out over the back of the car seat. The EU is considering making this a regulation for the whole EU. A video (out of the many) that I watched on Youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8gU9zzCGA8

At least the kid survived in this one, watched a couple of others where the kid died

Jackie - thanks! aiyo how come charges depends which hospital u deliver at..

wht are the non-std jabs the nb shld take?

audreyaw - why dont u just tender after ur maternity leave and then take no pay leave... also u hv 6 days childcare leave to take

Shelisa, I will also be 32 wks when I next see my obgyn, and he didn't mention anything about what growth scan. What's it for and how do they do it??

Audreyaw, Sorry, the qn you ask, im not very familiar, hope other mommies can help u.

Audreyaw/Tubbymummy, She didn’t tell me what that for too. Only tell me next appt must be on weekday as I need to do growth scan, that all. So I was quite puzzle too. I think I try calling now

Bing, wow.. You are fast too. For bb mattress, I brought it from kaki bukit baby kingdom ytd. I brought the playpen come with free 2” mattress but the free mattress quality damn bad, so I upgrade to 3” better quality mattress and top up $20 more.

Shelisa... my gynae did not mention about the growth scan either... and my next visit on week 32 too... any idea how much will it cost?

audreyaw, if it's me... i would rather quit after my maternity leave, and compensate that 1 mth... at least you get a net of 3 mths paid maternity leave... if quit before tat, definitely very wasted those maternity benefits... at least your company is making arrangement for handover to take over your duties... my side still no movement yet... somemore i'm the only person in my job scope... am a system analyst and no one in the whole company across the few countries know about the systems tat i'm supporting... hiring also freezed... but i heck care... when time comes, i just go off liao... i also intend to throw letter right after my maternity leave...

car seat
for those buying carseat, we muz buy those with 5 point harness. It's the safest, not saying that daddy is a lousy driver but there r many reckless &amp; irresponsible drivers on the road so be safe than to save $$

shelisa
I've nvm done a growth scan for my #1. is it a new scan tat we muz do?

shelisa, i worry bb decided to come 2 weeks earlier ma. all my friends delivered 2 weeks earlier. so if it really happends, bb will come in mid may. so i better start preparing. =D aniway the stuffs wash liao stored in drawers also not dirty. only the baby cot, mattress and bed sheet, i told my hb to do when i delivered. so bb come home all clean ones. dun need to wash again.

visting my gyne this sat. now into my 32nd weeks. will see if he ask me do any growth scan. then update u gals. (^.^)

Ladies, I just called my gynae nurse. She told me growth scan = detail scan. Which means I need to do another detail scan on week 31/32. The cost is $80 w/o GST. Then I ask her is it a must to do it?? She said yes..

Bing, Same, i also washed liao then stored in drawer. Also told hubby to setup the playpen when bb is back home as scare dust all over the playpen if setup too early.

Want to share an incident I encountered on Friday on the SMRT to Somerset.

I boarded the train and as usual all the priority seats were taken up. Most of the Priority seats were taken up by men and they didnt give up the seat for me. Since it was a short trip I was ok with that. But what pissed me off was 2 SMRT staff still in uniform just carried on seating at the 2 priority seats and pretended not to see me and continued their chit chat.

I thought that was very terrible since they as SMRT staff should show and set eg. for the public especially when an obviously pregnant woman is standing in their full view.

I whipped out my HP and took a video of them. When I got off at Somerset, made a report of the incident to the Station Manager. Also bluetoothed the video to the Station Manager's HP.

Tiny bubu, touching proposal story neh... Congrats!!!

fat_mom, ur gynae is so nice tho i didnt take anything raw from the min i was pregnant...think once awhile wont hurt right hee...

bbjun, dr chan told me my iron level will be measured during the GTT test, but i'm not sure if this applies to everyone cos mine was low then.

Blurmom, i avoided raw food totally but i guess now 3rd trim liao, shld be quite safe to eat once awhile =)

btw, where to get front open PJ?

<font color="0077aa">LFB, kikismom, bing, so sad huh? We not only start looking like blimps, we start looking like dirty beggars too! *sob*

dolly, it's true. Many beauticians are not willing to do any shoulder or neck massages, especially early pregnancy. But this one was taught to us in antenatal class so we trust it's ok for hubby to administer gentle rubbing.

pigletgirl, my fella also seems the lower range of normal weight. Dr told me he should have been around 1.2kg at wk 30. But I reckon as long as it's normal weight, maybe I'll have an easier delivery so don't worry!

Jackie, WHAT A SILLY DREAM!!! Haha!! I'm still going to have air-con on after I give birth so not a prob for me.
Enjoy it while you can!

Tubbym~, I found the bb jabs article yesterday and will be posting summary of it shortly..

<font size="+1">CONGRATULATIONS TO bubu~</font>!!!!
Been waiting for your news. Was itching to ask yest but though will wait some more.
Thanks for sharing the story here!!! Things are happening so quickly!! I'm GLAD GLAD GLAD FOR YOU!!!

Re: Bump size AIYO! Cannot measure in inches one la. My original waist size is probably the size of some of your bumps currently lor!!!

caramelle, been wondering where you went.. Do be careful of the excessive sweating... remember to drink drink drink lotsa water.

Dovey, do you mean like a scab? My little bumps aren't like scabs but more like extension of flesh... tiny tiny ones. Showed them to obgyn, who said leave them be. If they fall off, fine, if they don't, don't pick at them cos they bleed. Said don't dry out nipples by soaping them so rinse only with water. (Actually this is the 3rd time i'm posting this same topic since I asked obgyn in early 2nd tri)

*Going to type out article on bb jabs now*</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweethalo, whoa! Remind me never to offend you ok?! Haha.... seriously, it's true.
Their own staff need to be very mindful of their actions. Esp in uniform. GOOD ON YOU!!</font>

sweethalo, I thought I have 6 days childcare leaves at first too until the company issue a note saying we can only claim for the number of days of childcare leave at which month of the year. Like for the jan till may, we can only claim 2 days and another day bet 5th mth to duno which mth.
So by the month i quitted, i only have 4 days childcare leaves on hand.

Shelisa, no problem abt it. I am also not familiar so thought asking those who know more than me. haha..

sweethalo, didn't think of getting videocam. My hubby only intend to get a camera in but was telling him I will be looking so ugly in photos lo.

innocent, was thinking of that in the first place until a couple of friends told me is bad to do so and blah blah blah.. So wanted to know if i can actually do that or not. Hee..

kiki, waaa... i didn't know that must buy those with 5 point harness. I thought must be rear facing only. Ok, i check mine after seeing your post, is 5 point harness.

bing &amp; shelisa, won't the clothes have those wardrobe smell by that time? I was thinking of washing them early too but worried about the smell.

sweethalo, me me hahahaha... thinking of videocam, but haven't do research yet, don't know which one is good. U? And me too! the carpenter still haven't come to make my drawers. Hubby said he spoke to the contractor liao, but they are rushing to build showflat now (some more it's my hubby's project), so they can only do my drawers after that. And of course, if u ask my hubby, his showflat more important lah! Hrmph.

Shelisa, har, I didn't know 32wks must do another detailed scan?? But I guess no harm lor, $80 quite ok, not like $300...

Cassey - hehehe... Very angry leh.. see the 2 women in SMRT uniform just yak yak yak infront of me... like my belly invisible meh.. *hng*

I took down the Station Manager's name and was half intending to write to Straits Timess if no follow up action done...

Just received a phone call from Investigating Officer in SMRT and she mentioned that even if uniformed staff not seated on priority seat also must give up seats for ALL passengers, not just pregnant or old ppl! hahahaha ... she got my email and will followup and let me know outcome.

TubbyM - yeah my hb also said his carpenter bz last 2 wks building rushing things... arrgh.. same guy ah??

Ur hb is Interior Designer ah?? cool!

Videocam - hvn't done research leh...also dono wht is the policy abt video-ing in delivery suite...

sweethalo, just read about your SMRT incident. WELL DONE! Hehe. Make sure they get back to you on what actions they took on those 2 staff. Otherwise, if u don't demand for follow up, they will take your complaint, then brush off one side. Agree with you, they are staff of SMRT, they should be setting the example. Now we know why no one gives up the priority seats anymore!

Congrats Tiny bubu! =)
happy for u!
That was a memorable proposal.

Now lets get ready for ur ROM &amp; baby at the same time

Be a pretty bride and a pretty mama-to-be.

I think they dare not brush my complain aside, cos i hv it on video and it wld be a big PR disaster if I went to the press with it...hniak hniak hniak hniak

what with all the Kindness Movt going on some more... Double *hng*