(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo, hehe... finally caught the nonya zhang "infection" huh? I love that stuff, can probably eat everyday, but that would be really unhealthy!

diana, I also came across some article like that, that's why was initially thinking of donating to public bank. But now after scrutinising their website, I realise that I'm not a suitable candidate. So sad. So now went to pose question to both the private banks to ask if I can bank privately.

eh is donating to cordlife or public bank really a must??

i read somewhere dat if donate to cordlife or those private bank, even if the bb's siblings got any sickness, most likely the other sibling's blood wont be able to save the other, cos most probably the sickness will be in the genes le, so how to help??

ahnetsan, it's not a must, it's just a personal preference. But I think that if u're not planning to store the cord blood, it'll get thrown out anyway, why not donate to the public bank and benefit someone out there

sweethalo, I've never heard of Kim Choo bak zhang leh... Think I'm quite suaku haha. I only know that I don't really like the one at Taka basement which I ate quite recently. Seems like the peppery flavour is stronger than anything else. I like my mum's the best!

At the end of the day, I still can't stay away. Looking at latest post by sweethalo... After Tubbym~ brought it up the other day, I went to buy myself one nonya dumpling - aiyo. Not savoury, but so pepperish. Not nice. =( Still would like to get my hands on a nice one.

caramelle, no worries - once your hubby is ready he can come get you even if some of us are still hanging around...

Ai.. the strangulation by umbilical cord story is going to make me even more paranoid!! KICK, BABY, KICK!!

Audrey, sorry ah. My flooding just now was typed in between sessions when I returned to my workstation, so I just tried to recall what I scrolled thru and posted what I typed without really checking it thru first. So if there's anything that doesn't make sense or that I interpreted wrongly, do pardon me. YOUR GIRL IS SUCH A PRECIOUS LITTLE DEAR!! I WANT A GIRL TOO!!! Haha...

Shelisa, whoa I'm also very jealous of your tender age leh. Young enough to be yummy mummy!! Haha... Hubby and I were hoping we'd conceive when I was abt your age... But at the end of the day, we praise God that we didn't have to wait decades for this precious gift.

bbjun, belated response, this. I really admire your discipline in talking to and reading to bb every night. To me, it's still very much MY bloated tummy. Only when bb moves, then I will sayang sayang, sometimes talk to him. Other than that, I still just see my tummy. Tubbym~, you'd concur with me right? Keke...

sweethalo, straightaway deliver the bb before the little fella got asphyxiated, I would think!

Asked obgyn his personal opinion cord blood banking - whether we should and if yes, private/public. His answer was yes, private. We have faith in him enough to just take him at his word... so I can't remember his explanation why private. haha!

Was going to treat myself to peach with granola again just now after a rough night and long day... *sorry ahnetsan* But decided 4 weekdays in a row is DEFINITELY the start of an addiction. I want my beloved jackfruit!!! But sold out at the stall. =(

omg cassey, you and your yami again! i haven had any since the day we started talking abt it...
dun care, you fedex one tub to my house can??

ahnetsan, hey! I didn't want to set the bells ringing again so I'm "talking in code" hor. You ah! Ruined my clever encryption. Heehee... You ask hubby to buy TWO tubs for u also la. I was hint hinting to hubby yesterday, but he's so busy at work he leaves at 5+am and only gets back at 10+pm. Which place is open for him to make MY purchases?!

So sad. No jackfruit. I should've bought durian instead. But I was so sad
that I bypassed the durians too.

Cassey, haha yes, it's still MY tummy. I still find it so weird to speak to my tummy, but I've been trying to make an effort (maybe couple times a day?) to say hi to my belly when baby kicks. I'll rub the spot and say hi baby! Eh, but that's about it. I really DON'T KNOW HOW TO. But I hope this is a start. Maybe must take lessons from bbjun. Eh, I know why even though I have cats I have such a problem. My cat is super responsive, so I never feel I'm in a monologue. Well, one cat is more responsive than the other, so I speak a lot more to that one, and he always replies, even if he's half asleep. So it's kinda strange to speak to my own belly. No response haha.

ahnetsan, cos the public bank website has one page where they gave a list, saying that if the expectant mother (or her family) got any of the below illnesses etc, then cannot donate. I have one of the items in my family lor... Now wait for private bank to reply me and say whether or not I can store cord blood. I think should be ok ba, cos with private bank, I'm not donating to anyone else what, just for my family. But see what they say.

haiyo, I just asked hubby if he'd like to buy home one cup of bubble tea to share with me (and share the guilt), and he said NO, he's not gonna buy. CRY! Sigh.... he's probably saving me from myself. Just as well.

haha cassey, by the time my hb leaves his office, there's no yami too!

haha tubbymummy, same same here... my hb stopped buying me bubble tea long ago liao... he refused to let me drink bubble tea le cos i always drink honey red tea... and according to him, red tea is bad for me....
one bubble tea $1.20 only also dun wan to buy me.... stingy hb i have...

Tubbym~,
*grin!* I don't so much find it awkward as I just can't consciously remember to take time out to talk to the little guy. When I remember, I'll stroke bump and talk for a bit. But then i find 'better' things to do leh. But I reckon my 'tai1 jiao4' is way plentiful cos when I'm having my intervention sessions, I read to my kids and we sing all sorts of rhymes. Surely bb hears them all!! Actually, I find myself rubbing the bump not cos I'm rubbing bb, but cos I feel sore.. and it's getting so big.

sweethalo,
remember we talking abt bras and how I need to wear one or else my boobs will head down south? I wore one all day today and by the time I got back and took it off, the front-end HALF of my boobs were all flushed and itchy as can be!! Undersides were again run through with a swollen duct line on each girlie... *wail*

Shelisa, jam75(?),

didn't get any action last night... I was starting to get into cheeky seductress role when I accidentally nudged my poor exhausted man's nuts with my foot. He whooped out loud and grabbing hold of his gems, fake-collapsed on the bed. We ended up having an extended laughing fit and ended the night all flushed and with way increased heart-rates for a completely 'innocent' reasons

ok back here. waiting for hubby to come home so we can go get some dinner..hungry.

re talking to baby: she mostly kicks around when im at work then like so weird if i talk to myself. by the time i come home she's not kicking so much and so i forget to say hi to her. are you all feeling much more action inside now? i went to watch slumdog millionaire on sat night and the music was so loud, she kept moving around even tho it was past 12am!

bing, sweethalo, chidori (is it?),
re: TMC antenatal class
Information valid as of 19 Feb, our first class commences 21 March, 7-9pm
Thomson Multi-Purpose Hall,
Block 1, #01-348,
Balestier Shopping Centre
(opp. Thomson Medical Centre)

Harlow ladies

LFB-
glad to know that you are feeling better, maybe just try to rest as much as you can.
LOL @ "Wa lau, can kick until I give birth also don't mind man!"

Audreyaw-
Its good that you open up your thoughts and feelings, don't give up yet... I guess that by giving him more time and attention may help... No matter what, you still have us here! Giving you our moral support
Cheer up okie!

Caramelle-
I'm 26yrs old, born in 1982, so I think I cannot defeat Shelisa liao!

lovelytulips-
Yes, I heard of desitin cream for nappy rash and the feedback was good! But don't know where to get them leh.

RE: Cord Donation
Heard from my friend that we need to let our gynae know as there will be extra procedures.

Ahnetsan-
Last time my boy timing quite close with ur boy! I used to have insomnia with his kungfu class... Hahaha then I ask him to play during the day lah cos Mummy need to rest... So far his latest kicks is ard 10pm liao!

caramelle, yup. Much much more action. He keeps THUMPing around. Watched Benj Button LATE Friday and he wasn't especially active, but did stir from time to time. My colleagues have seen bump jump and a number of friends and my sis have also felt him kick. He's active once he senses I'm awake in the mornings (or sometimes afternoons...) and in the evenings. He's always active as well when daddy comes home. =) He just thumped me again, although not in his favourite spot. Haha... must be wondering where daddy is.

haha blurmommy, even if my boy kicks at weird hours, i can stil sleep one...heehee

ur boy so guai one, 10pm le den he will sleep... proves dat ur tai jiao is successful.

these days, i dont feel much kicking but more of movements like stretching cos it always brush against my tummy and it feels real uncomfy sometimes. am wondering whether is my tummy too small to accomodate it.

actually, thinking whether there is any cause of concern cos i've been feeling tightness in the tummy quite often though it's not at regular intervals.

blurmommy, some sprees organise drugstore sprees and u can get them or thru those BP u see in the BP thread. else, i think some gynae/pd do sell it. my gynae sells it.

cord donation: tubbymummy, thanks for the links. shall check it out. was thinking of donating it. a cousin who's studying dont know what bio something asked me to do a survey on cord blood banking and i got some info from her. must say that i'm not too sure whether to trust her "knowledge" but she mention that if there is no family history of blood disorders etc, then it wun be a real necessity to privately store it. so, first of all is to check on family history.

those taking private cord banking, i think u gotto bring the kit everywhere u go when nearer to the due date just in case u go into labour anytime.

cassey, yami yogurt again. i want also!!!! if only i'm back at my mum's place. haha

lovelytulips, as we go into our 6th month, there isn't much space in the uterus like before when bb could flop all around in its private pool. Now there isn't that much space anymore as uterus starts growing with bb. I guess that why from now on the stretching's going to be even more marked and for some of us, the dreaded stretchmarks might begin to set in!!

I didn't say the YY word! I didn't! It wasn't me today!!! I feel like it though... or bubble tea. OR BOTH!

omg cassey, you remind me of stretchmarks... later i must apply liao...i've been lazy for days and haven been applying stretchmark cream for days....

ok im logging off for the day....hb back soon le... backache and tummy a bit tight now, wan to lie down on bed a while...

chat again tmr!! bye all.

cassey, mention of 6 mths makes me suddenly realise that time suddenly flies. now that the stretching's getting a bit stronger, i really cannot imagine how contractions will fee like.

haha... i had something similar to bubble tea. i had ice teh o.

tired today..... feel like dozing off even reading the forum.

Hi mummies...

was reading on the aloe vera part... n i think i'll have to give it up now cos i've been taking lime juice with aloe vera quite often almost 2-3 times a week... oh nooo...

if not then its bubble tea wif pearls of cos.... no wonder my gynae says i put on too much weight... must be all the excess sugar... suppose to only put on 0.5kg per week but i ended up putting on 1kg per week = 4kg per month....

caramelle: no worries abt last sat...
we can always try to meet up some other time..

btw anyone going for the baby fest at expo this weekend (fri-sun)???

nightnight, ahnetsan. nightnight, l'tulips. I'm turning in early.

l'tulips, close but doesn't count. Pearls are a MUST. =)

sourz, no wonder your nick is like that. haha.. lime juice = sourz-ade. I'm dream-talking. night.

yesterday i juz realised wat cracked heels are n feels like for the 1st time in my life n it truly hurts...

so to all mummies, just a word of caution, please take care of your poor feet & moisturise them day n night... let ur hubby do it for you at night b4 bedtime or while watching tv when elevating ur feet... its very comforting n pampering so take advantage of it now... hehehehe... ;)

i'm guessing my cracked heels are due to my sudden increased weight n water retention on my feet too.. haiz....

hi caramelle: u going on fri?! hmmmm... i was thinking of clearing my half day to go but hubby not very willing leh... will try to ask him again when he comes back from class later...

hi cassey: hahaha yes tat's my nick... love sour stuff... even b4 i was pregnant... like those sour sugary candies/sweets, tom yum soup, thai mango salad... n the list just goes on... hahahhaha...

Tubbym~, HORROR OR HORRORS OF ALL THE HORRORS IN THE UNIVERSE!!
Talk about full disclosure of chest size... The online calculators I've used declare that I might just be a 42F.....
AAaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!! *faint faint faint faint faint* I can guess what kinda nightmares I'll be having tonight.

BE YE THANKFUL, all ye slender MTBs. You don't have to contemplate hanging yourselves by a boob (or 2).

sweethalo, now you see why it's just about impossible for me to get anything locally? *horrified*

cassey, thks. Perhaps it's easier for me to talk to the bump aka my BB cos my hb isn't ard most of the time. Besides, I have the habit of talking to my soft toys and dogs that I kept when I was young. I wld still be talking to the stray cats at my void deck if I m not preggie now. So missed talking to each of them. My hb thinks I m nuts to give each stray cat a name. Interestingly, my hb talks easily to my bump as well when he is back, but of cos, it's mostly his cheeky talk on bullying poor mummy when I refuse to let my hb binge too much on his soft drinks and tidbits. I have partly decided to read to BB more becos I rem the times my mother read to me and siblings when we were little kids. We looked fwd to our afternoon nap stories and bedtime stories and it grew our interest in reading. Hope to do that for my little one as well.

re:bubble tea
Mummies who are gaining too much wt may really want to consider staying away from bubble tea or at least regulate the amt you are taking. It's a lot of empty calories and those bubble tea with milk and pearl is even worse. Pearls are soaked in sugar syrup and the milk, is not really milk most of the time. Some outlets uses milk that has higher coconut milk contents so as to give the tea a nice taste. It's the same for the milk that MOS burger gives for its milk tea. The so-called milk is has higher coconut milk content. (a kind auntie at MOS Burger told my fren who was asking for a lot of it).

* To add: it's what the stores will claim is just Nai Jing, which normally has coconut milk content mixed in.

bbjun: on no MOS burger milk tea is always wat i take when i'm there... or i should say the only drink i consume from MOS... oh noooo.... help!!!

ade_sourz, i have gynae appt in the morning, my last one before i transfer so will go in the afternoon. maybe after 2pm. u leh?

hmm..MOS burger prawn rice burger so yummy. ade_sourz, u make me crave.

so sad im having BK for dinner. so unhealthy but hubby kept asking what i want to eat he will buy on the way back and it was already 9 plus..i pressure then just say fast food.

caramelle: i'm thinking of afternnon too... i'll see if my boss can approve my leave then... at most if hubby dun wanna go, then mayb i go wif u or can meet u there?

i wanted to have BK last sat b4 the first mums congress at raffles city but closed for reno... so ate MOS instead whilst q-ing for the congress... hee...

haha i had fast food earlier too... subway...

Thank you sweethalo. ^^

TubbyMummy, weird.. I can't get into SCCB website. Never mind, shall try again later or tomorrow.

Cassey, that's the school. But the lady in KKH commented that that school is not suitable for him. Are there many different types of special schools in sg? *confused*

diana, did you always have accurate menses? For me, I never had it accurate since I first had my menses. -.-
Ohh.. we are seeing him at different days, won't see each other anytime. I just seen him yesterday. Baby finally lie in normal position but breech. He said still early but really worried if he's not going to move down. Nooo.. I am afraid of cutting up.
My baby weighing 655g, wonder is it in normal range? Where are you going for holiday?

Cassey, I LOVE girls too! Hoping to have a girl this round but guess we don't have a choice right?

Talking to baby, I don't do that as well. Only my hubby talks to him everyday. Think he's addicted to it. He even talks to him when we are outside, make me feel so embarrassed..

Food Craving, hmm.. somehow i never had any craving, so unlike my previous pregnancies. Guess he is a "eat all types of food" boy.

public bank got advg meh? i thought it's just a good deed dont waste it only... someone posted b4 that if we need someday & it's still available & suitable we have priority can use it but it's not stated in the website. in fact there was not much update since 2007 in the website i feel abit disappointed wondering if it really help pple.

I talk to bb qt often leh keke maybe becos i sometime talk to myself too hahaha... aiyah cassey same here i like girls leh & i really hope for a sweet daughter like my niece & audreyaw's daughter.. but then sometime i scare myself when i see pple ard me, what if all boys... like my sis all girls then i all boys leh..then i keep telling myself to brush off that thought. sigh let nature tk place or my little boy inside might get upset no bro to play with and angry i "bian xin" keke.

i heard about aloe vera.. long time ago my ex colleague told another preg lady not to eat say will mk womb icapable of holding on to the bb. but well i guess it's another old wive's tale ba no doc or sinseh mentioned that before...

hi mummies... really have hard time catching up with all the postings... sometimes can only browse thru...

audreyaw, the correct website for singapore cord blood bank should http://www.scbb.com.sg/ instead... your baby weight of 655g is still within the normal range... my gal is definitely not! i've the same EDD as you and my gal's weight is estimated to be almost 800g at 24 wks!

talking about bubble tea... avoid eating too much of the pearls as mentioned by bbjun... it's not just b'cos the pearls are soaked in the sugar syrup... but the pearls themselves ARE also the source of sugar... pearls are made from tapioca which belongs to the starchy food group which breakdown as sugar in our body after consumption... those starchy food that are digested rapidly will cause sudden rise in blood sugar or sugar rush... which is why we feel so shiok after eating those pearls... but will only feel shiok for a while as they gets digested quickly and you'll feel hungry again soon after... and also the quick drop of sugar level after the sugar rush will also cause dizziness...

my gynae advised me to cut down on those carbo/starchy food (rice, noodle, bread, biscuits, etc) and eat veges and meat more... as veges and meats are longer lasting and does not breakdown to sugar...

i'm also going to the baby fair... have applied for afternoon leave on fri... awaiting my boss approval...

not feeling too good. Came to work as I have to settle my stuff then going to see doc. I suspect I got Uninary Tract Disease. Could be the cause of the pain I complaint abt on Monday. I had that b4 abt 2-3 years back, and suddenly, in the middle of the night, I was thinking of it. Better check and test b4 I am sorry. Sian! You gals have fun talking. Will update again later.

I have a AVENT ISIS Manual Breast Pump for sale. Sterilized twice but not used, because my husband bought me the Medela PIS Advanced. Selling it as a complete package (all parts listed on the box).

I bought it brand new at $90+, will let it go at $50. Pls PM with your contact number to deal, thanks.

Veron.

morning~~

those going for the bb fair, please update ok??? wondering whether to go on sat onot, but scare of the crowd. cannot take leave on fri liao....

bubble tea:
wat type of bubble tea do u all take??? those milk tea with pearls?? actually, i only take red tea with pearls and more often, i'm interested in the pearls then the tea. wahahhahaha

innocent war, now i'm starting to think whether to continue.. but i think once a week should be ok la...

ade_sourz, dont take the milk tea in MOS burger la. take the normal peach or lemon tea. their apple soda is pretty ok too...

kind of a silly question: how do u all suspect u have UTI? if it's a mild case, issit easily detected?

audreyaw, dun like that say wor. My mommy also older then my daddy. and they still so lovely. So look or age is not a prob..

jam75, i think he is blind lor. haha. my hubby so so sad for mths leh. Then keep pestering me to help him buy those facial product. make me laugh until cry lor.

sweethalo, i have Nonya chang last night too but mine was suck. no meat inside all fatty fatty oil lump.

Cassey, Actually we wanna have the bb even earlier just that God feel that is not the time yet. We tried for 5 yrs. I also tho to be a young hot mummy.

Cassey, wau peng?? how can u do that to his precious little darling. it must be pain!! if i accidentally do that to my hubby, i dun think he will laugh, i tin 100% ganna scolding from him for sure!!

LFB, what Uninary Tract Disease?

lovelytulips, last time i love milk tea with pearl n pudding but after pregnant dun dare to drink milk tea. swop to green apple vinger or other flavour blended ice with pearl.