(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Audreyaw, you must be strong and jia you for your boy. i believed the mummies here all have your support! we are always here to share and listen to you so you must embrace yourself and be there for your boy. he needs you more than anyone else now.

oh, ladies, i have just received the letter from TMC parentcraft. the class for WBB has been confirmed for 14 March. But a bit weird, the schedule starts on 21 Mar instead. hmm. and it's not at AMK hub. its somewhere @ Thomson Hospital.

Hee, i'm turing 26 this year. so i not the youngest mummy in here right?

shelisa, you are so lucky to have a seat offered to you. Yesterday morning, the whole bus was packed and nobody offered a singel seat to me. the worst still, the guy in front of me, saw my protruding tummy and closes his eyes to sleep immed. It was super duper disappointing. where has the warmth and courtesy of our locals gone?

Shelisa, my bday also july so im 26. aiyah but not much better lah..my SIL is 29 this year with 2 kids, one if 5 the other is 3. hehe..but not trying to catch up with her cos i spent a lot of time in school. now wondering whether worth it or not cos i want to be SAHM or at least tai-tai mum. hehe..

bing, think Shelisa is younger cos she's 24 only! so jealous..hehe

jam75 thanks for the link. seems it's almost same as TMC. just puzzled how come KKH can go up to 5k for normal + epi and she only stay 1.5 days.

hi cheery, maybe it's for a quick read but got show images of baby massage all that so i think if it's cheap then worth it to get lor..

audrey, like what the ladies here say, dont be depressed. probably try to to spend more time with ur boy. he certainly needs more attention and patient teaching. if need be, i think a special school instead of those normal schs are better cos i think those in the normal ones are not trained and sometimes, i feel they are afraid that the kids will kind of slow down their overall teachings that's why get impatient. if u know what i mean.

Shelisa, u are so so young. hiak.....

cannot imagine when i try for 2nd kid, i'll be pass 30 unless i pop 1 a year. ha...

anyone heard of desitin cream for bb diaper rash? heard it's gd and wondering to order from drugstrore via spree.

Dear AUDREY,
pls do NOT despair. Special needs kids really just need special understanding and teaching methodologies.

I'm glad you recognise that and are willing to give your son the help he needs instead of pushing him thru the system as does our mainstream schools. The Sg special needs community has a long way to go and many schools hands are tied because of the lack of trainer personnel in these areas.

I deal with SpEd & special needs education. I taught in a SpEd school previously, but am now specialised in literacy intervention (English) for various categories of special needs. If you need any help, perhaps we can organise a time for us to chat or for me to meet your son and have some time with him.

In the meantime, your emotional well-being is most precious to your son at this point.
Also remember to tend to the child in your womb too, my dear.

If you think that I can perhaps assist in your son's situation, DO pm me and let's see what we can do.

You're in my thoughts.
~Cass

bing. so far im the youngest. im turning 25yrs this yr. but 24yrs++ old become mommy. as im due in jue and birthday on july. I think for seat need to depend on luck, last time when ppl see me normally they IMM FAINTED. thus this 2 days im quite lucky

caramelle, making me jealous. i forever impossible be a SAHM or tai-tai mum bcos burden heavy. thus need to be COW for until retire for sure.

where can we buy desitin cream??

BTW, just fyi, there are two types of attention deficit disorders - namely ADD & ADHD. One is simply an attention deficit problem, the other involves hyperactivity on top of the ADD. These can be managed with medication once diagnosed.

Audrey, I think you already know this, having a special needs son. But despite what many people think, ofttimes with such children, the inability to memorise things is not the fault of the teachers/parents/child. It's a neurological disability that can impact cognitive abilities, storage and retrieval from memory, motor-coordination, spatial awareness and much more. NUH and KKH provide screening for such special needs. But if you can afford it and prefer not to wait, private centres can help too.

Alright, Audrey, I've got my next "little client" session coming up soon but I do hope that even if I don't see you posting here, I'll see a PM in my email from you. We're all rooting for you, you must realise by now.

wow many audreyaw so gd leh now already coming 3rd kid i 29 only 1st child.. shelisa u so young *envy w red fiery eyes* i wanted have 2 but then think of $ & attn needed for 1st kid guess 32 then will try for 2nd by then already qt old not so fertile & higher risk scare leh!

talk abt depression, i too have a few sudden crying spell for wks think 2mths back. actually during my 1st miscg 2yrs ago,i also went family counselling, the coordinator will help me to talk it out and usually i dont cry in front of hb, that time i cried every session in front of hb. i guess it's good to get some advise or even just get a listening ear and vent out whatever trapped inside. in fact i recommend my SIL to see one last mth when they on the verge of divorce. where do u stay? i have a list of them & can PM one near ur pl. they charge a nominal sum but u can also try ask for free session if u wanna save $ for bb. they might even have some good suggestions or recommend some support group for ur boy.

i think there should be some group around if u could get to know these parents that having the same prob, i believe they could guide you what they have tried that was successful. i guess with the 3rd kid coming it's gonna b qt stressful for u to try different methods on your own. ur daughter so cute hor! i'm sure she's gonna b a helpful & doting sister. haha last week my niece also said something i find it so sweet. she said said "aunt u having didi? i like didi" then she stroke my tummy & hug my tummy hahaha

i just had green curry ckn for lunch then went poo argghhh so hard jialut! today must eat more fruit & plenty water if not tomolo my skin will tear!

audrey, yr gal so cute huh...tink she wanna to hv mei mei to play wif her girl toys so wanna yr boy to b mei mei! realli glad dat u hv left yr 1st hb & found a gd wan now....is realli bad f a man to hit woman lo!

tubbymummy, hi5 we r same age leh...hmm so far onli we 2 over 30 hor! nobody say they r over 30 mostly still 20+

shelisa, my tummy is showing out le tink regardless how big tummy showing oso depend on yr luck whether got hao xin ren to give up seat ma! so far u r the no.1 youngest in dis thread liow leh!!

createjoy, no need to worry la. my auntie and SIL also older then 35yrs old also pregnant and give birth. Everything went smoothly thus no worries my dear.

gals... i seriously don't know how you all manage to speedpost. i had to unofficially declare my half day off last fri before i can rattle on with you all, yesterday busy, din log in, and i hv to plough thru 3 archives. *faintz*

audreyaw, be strong, and i know you are. cassey is right, sg still has a long way to go when it comes to support for special needs community. she really seem like someone who can give u the most encouragement, support & help currently. but all of us are still here for whatever moral support we can offer, including lending an 'eye' for your posts so that you can vent off some of your frustration here.

shelisa, jealous leh u so young....can imagine u r 10yrs younger than mi wo....can call mi auntie le cos my niece oso same age as u....if u coming to JP gathering hor i mk sure dun sit beside u will mk mi look older...hahaha!

jam75, pls dun say that la.. Actually my hubby older then me 10 yrs old. And my face dun look like 24yrs old. Alot of ppl say i look like 27 or 28yrs or even 30yrs old leh!! sob aob.

shelisa, so qiao yr hb same age as mi huh....anyway yr hb is 10yrs older than u so even u look mature is still ok...mi & hb same age leh & many comments my hb look boyish leh...so i muz maintain abit leh if not like jie jie & di di going out! hahhaa!

tubbymummy, jam75,
Dont worry, u ladies have me....Sama sama age.

Shelisa,
U really making me jeaous.......only 25!!!! Gosh, wat i am doing when i am your age

audreyaw,
Seem like Cassey can really help. Hope her knowledge would be useful for u.

U steady leh, b4 30 and already mummy to 2 n 1 in tummy

Just woke up, went for a nap earlier when the reno around my estate stopped for lunch. Didn't sleep well last night and I still can feel my eyes swollen, haha..

ahnetsan, sky in the west and central is very dark too. I think it's raining almost whole of sg?

TubbyMummy, my mum asked his opinion. He said he wanted a change of school. Whenever my mum tried to get him to do his homework, he would sit there and cry. Even the staff in reading programme (those basic phonic support programme), he would also refuse to bring the homework back and insist of keeping at my mum's place.
Frankly speaking, I have never met the principal before. The school knew his problem, he was a transferred student cause I moved place after I got divorced. The previous school was so anxious to get him out that they actually find school for me, wrote everything for me and all I need to do is pass it to the new school. Guess majority of the schools look at grades ar?

BlueDream, since from day 1 I never compare him with anyone, not even with his sister. I know he is a special child with special needs so I lower my expectation in terms of school grades.

thanks bing.

lovelytulips, i understand what you mean. =)
diaper rash, I am not sure if it's useful or not. Both of my kids never had rashes. Really necessary to get it?

Cassey, thanks. Sometimes just felt so lost and have no idea where to get help. When I first told of my son's problem, no1 actually tell me what's happening and what's to do. I was like going around aimlessly, trying any methods friends and colleagues suggested to find out how I can help him.
during pri 1, he had a IQ assessment from MOE EP and he suggested me to put him into a school with low IQ, the school which only teaches him basic living and nothing else. I had my doubts then. He was never a stupid boy to me, in fact he's a clever boy. He could remember the route to a place if you bring him there once or twice. He takes MRT himself at 7 from redhill to clementi, knowing his way to my mum's.
At that time, I didn't put him in not because of unable to accept who he is but i wanted to make sure that is the right place for him, i do not want to see him being put somewhere just because of 1 test done for him.
I believe he is simple and ADD boy. Has never seen him being too active. It does affect him even when he does homework right? Practically I am doing his homework for him now, asking him to copy what I wrote for him in a piece of paper but even copying can take him hours and days to finish it as he always daydream while sitting there writing.
KKH had been seeing him since last year when I managed to "force" the school to write me a letter. I will be meeting the lady from rehabilitation dept for discussion next mth. She told my mum the school MOE EP recommends for my son is not suitable for him.

createjoy, being a young mum has her pros and cons. Like me, I never went night gathering as most of my friends are young and nothing to chat about. They talked about shopping, bfs, sales while I only have kids to talk about. And also got to bring them along wherever I go as my parents are working.
I went once or twice for counselling a few years ago when my marriage on the rocks cause went into depression. But didn't went back after that. Bringing 2 kids along, making sure they are not tearing down the place and got to coax to stay awhile more when they got tired of there. -.-
Ya, was hoping to find some parents with same problems but it's quite hard initially when nobody tells you what is wrong with your kid.
She has been very sweet to me ever since she knows there's a baby inside me. She would hug my tummy everyday she comes home from childcare, saying good morning & good nite to her little brother and also scold him when she knows he kicked me.

thank you Mika Rei. Glad that i talked it out. Was hesitating for quite some time whether to type them out.

donating cord blood, i don't mind but no one discuss with me yet. Or am I supposed to call up and tell them I interested to do so?

jam75, that e angry point!! sometime some ppl say my hubby look younger then 30yrs old, then say i look 28/29. So angry leh! But there is 1 time, dunno which blind man say im his daughter huh? my hubby depress for quite long. haha

Jackie, haha.. dun like that say leh. (",)

Shelisa, at least your hubby older than you whether is real age or look. My hubby younger than me lo. *Preparing myself being said to be his elder sister.

audreyaw, your girl is so sweet!
Must light up your day when she does stuff like hug your tummy and talk to her baby brother. For your boy, just be strong, and keep offering him the encouragement he needs. Speak to Cassey, and of course follow up with KKH. I'm sure many things can be done for your boy to help him.

createjoy, I'm still trying to decide between donate to public cord bank, or go to private cord bank. How about you? Seems like both have their advantages, can't make up my mind...

shelisa, dat man comments dat izzit blind! how can b dauhther rite! at least say sibling or wat lo!

audrey, how much younger is yr hb than u?? i hv fren who wife is 4 yrs older than him but my fren do look mature so don realli find dat the wife look older...tink as long as ladies do maintain we can still look gd oso ba...but izzit aft birth will change abit ma??

createjoy, hmm i oso hv not tot abt cord blood thing yet leh!!

TubbyMummy, definitely. My son is a person who is not good in expressing himself. Know that he is looking forward for his little brother too. This morning my girl just made me laugh. Think she's getting impatient and ask me, "when is little brother coming out? He has been in mummy's tummy for so long."
I believe there will be someone who is able to tell me how to help him. =)

jam75, he's 5 years younger than me. Hmm.. he still look like a boy to me, haha.. Lucky he doesn't come here, he don't like saying him being a boy.

audrey, ur girl is so cute..... sometimes kids are just so amazing.

cord blood:
was thinking whether to store at private bank or donate it. both have its pros and cons. thinking of speaking to someone who isnt from any of those and has knowledge about cord blood banking so as to give a objective view.

argh, hate this feeling. i had prata for lunch with some gravy and now i keep burping, and the taste is terrible like all the gravy gases.

anyone knows how to relieve this?

Audrey,
I beg to differ abt special schools. Students who go to such schools are not "STUPID". The stigma that local parents attach to the school, plus the asian face-face thing means that a lot of special children fail to get the education they need because their parents refuse to enroll them in a special school, typically subscribing to the thinking that their child is "NOT that bad".

I can't comprehensively explain the stupid vs a neuro disability part in a simple post here. But if you try to imagine Alzheimer's, that's a vague analogy of what these kids go thru. They WANT TO REMEMBER. They WANT to get the correct answers. They WANT to be able to read. They WANT to be able to sit own and do their work... but somehow, their make-up is that they CAN'T.

Special schools don't just teach 'living skills'. They have different classes catering to the needs of these different groups of students. Admittedly, special school students do poorly in academics as compared to students in mainstream school. Students who are able to cope academically are usually supported through to try to enable them to take some form of certification by the end of their studies. Sadly, this certification is still not fixed in our nation. But hopefully this will improve in the next few years.

There are numerous students in special schools who can be taught to sit their PSLE English papers - just that they need several more years than other mainstream kids. These "high-functioning students" may do pretty ok with basic academics, but in terms of independent living, travelling, money, social skills, etc, they are very much lacking.

Then there are the students who are extremely bright - their verbal IQ is good and their independent living skills are fantastic. They can express themselves clearly and are amazingly streetsmart. Only when it comes to academics, does their disability suddenly become stark evident. Your boy would seem to fall under this category. His independent living skills and social skills are good. The impt thing is that your boy learns the basics to build up a keen academic foundation in the areas of literacy and numeracy - even if it is a skeletal scaffolding.

Special (needs) children stuck in mainstream schools with inadequate/inappropriate professional and family support experience numerous problems. These include, but are not limited to the following:
- Their time in school is completely wasted cos teacher is teaching but they are just not learning
- They become increasingly ostracised by classmates and friends due to their being 'different'
- They get reprimanded by others so often their self-esteem is gradually but surely eroded
- They learn negative behaviour to escape having to cope with the embarrassments of their learning disability
(e.g. they'd rather feign disinterest or delinquent attitudes, than to shame themselves by trying and getting it wrong.)

Special schools nurture these children much more in the emotional aspect, while support them academically to achieve as much as they can.

Aiya! I'm really sorry to all MTBs for nagging here again.. but I do have a heavy burden for special kids and their parents cos I've had to counsel many misinformed parents - some of which have still stubbornly refused to allow the child to exit the mainstream system although problem behaviours are escalating. We need to understand that no amount of counselling will work any miracle for a child if the source of the problem is not sussed out and dealt with.

I'd better wind up before I wear all of you down.

Ultimately, we advocate that what's best for the child's learning should come before our own emotional and social philosophies.

So Audrey, if you observe that your boy is taking an emotional battering because of his difficulties, will you and hubby pls reconsider your stand on SpEd for him..?

Whoa, I'm totally not in on today's posts at all. I'm not even going to try to do OT liao. Haha... give up!!

Had a rough night last night, haven't been sleeping well. I just come awake every 1.5 to 2 hrs. I haven't been having leg cramps, but I do seem to be a muscle ache or "cramping". It's mid-way down my back, on the right side, and keeps me shifting thruout the night. Don't know why. Maybe I need more pillows..

hi audrey, i got same gynae as you =) but i visit him at tiong bahru clinic.. he drew blood from my small veins got blueblack leh... when's ya edd?

Hi Audreyaw

I am sorry that your son has to suffer under teachers that do not understand nor have the patience to do so.

Every child is special and God knows them well. He has a plan for each one of us, just have faith that your son will find his way somehow.

Cheer up!

Cassey, I agree many parents does not know much about special school and so do I. Before I know about my boy, I absolutely had no idea about special school.
The EP didn't tell me much about the school, all I know it's located in Jurong West.
They told me they need to do another set of assessment to complete it so I agreed waiting for it when he's in pri 1.

I seen it myself with my son being struck in mainstream school. Those problems you stated there shown it on him.

I didn't enrol him into a special school in the 1st place not because I refused to accept the fact. But I wanted to confirm if that is the place suitable for his condition and what exactly is his condition? I was clueless for 1 year plus, I couldn't figure it out. All I know was he can't recognise words, he can't read. That EP I only met him once and never seen him again. I got tons of questions to ask but there is no one who can answer me. I wanted to find a better place for him but there isn't anyone helping me till now.
Even now I want to get him out of the mainstream school, I do not know where to go about. Asking the teachers, it will takes months to get an answer from them.

My only regret is I should have get him out last year when I knew he can't cope at all.

Btw, what is sped?

diana, I visit him at tiong bahru clinic too. Every monday evening. Is it? He took blood from the back of my hand, wasn't pain and no blue-black. He told me edd on 10 june. But seen a few edd dates on the scans. So wondering which is the correct date? How about u?

sweethalo, I too believe God has plan for this boy and me. Perhaps he want me to see, walk a path that I never take notice before.

BACK!!

heng ar, no need to read archive...

eh y we cannot eat aloe vera ar??? i've been having this drink - honey with aloe vera leh!! why why cannot why ar???

caramelle, silly me. I keep thinking is a place.

ahnetsan, read it some years ago in newspaper but cannot remember the exact reason so went for search in the internet.

Aloe vera plant gel containing aloin should not be used internally by women who are pregnant or lactating, or by children. This product can cause abortion or stimulate menstruation. It may pass into the milk of breastfeeding mothers. People who have abnormal kidney function, heart disease, or gastrointestinal diseases are best advised to avoid any product containing Aloe vera aloin. Prolonged, internal use in high doses may produce tolerance so that more is required to obtain the laxative effect. Be aware of the possibility that any Aloe vera product for internal use that is supposed to contain only the gel portion can become contaminated by the aloin of the latex layer. For this reason, people who have a contraindication for using Aloe vera aloin should use caution when taking an Aloe vera gel product internally.

wah, i better stop drinking the honey wif aloe vera drink le...
think only a few small cubes of aloe vera in a drink wont haf bad effect hor....

Jackie, oh ok, thanks. Ya I was also wondering if I should sign up with whichever company that happens to have a promo haha. I know Cordlife had promo during CNY, but I found out too late, so now looking out for other promos. Stemcord having a talk, and they said can save up to $400 on their package if sign up at the talk. Wondering if it's worth going down to kpo. How long did u choose to store the cord blood?

audreyaw- have faith and He will show you the way because what God plans always happens in His time. Jeremiah 29:11, in the meantime hang in there ...

lovelytulips, I was planning to donate to public cord bank at first, but I visited SCBB website, and they had one section where they gave a list of conditions that would EXCLUDE an expectant mother from being able to donate. Unfortunately, one of the items listed affects me, so I believe I can't donate. I understand that since it's a public bank that would be accessible to anyone, they have to be especially stringent on whose cord blood they take. Now I'm thinking of getting in touch with the private cord banks, and see if any of these conditions affect whether I can bank the cord blood. I think should be ok, since it's for my own kid, not for "public consumption".

caramelle, donation to public cord bank Singapore Cord Blood Bank is absolutely free. Think u just need to get in touch with them. Once donated, the cord blood is their property and will be donated to someone in need who is a match. Private cord banks, you need to pay. Think Cordlife has their packages on the website, but Stemcord doesn't. You can check out their sites to decide if any of these are for you. There are some online articles also detailing whether public or private cord blood banking is preferred, but I think it's still a personal decision at the end. Anyway, if anyone chooses not to use private cord bank, then why not just do a good thing and donate to the public bank (if they are a suitable candidate)

SCCB: www.sccb.com.sg
Cordlife: http://www.cordlife.com/sg/index/index.php?thisCountryIs=sg
Stemcord: http://www.stemcord.com/

audrey,
sorry sorry. SpEd is Special Education. heehee... The Jurong West one is Grace Orchard School. I just left the school early last year and it's a beautiful nurturing environment with very committed and dedicated teachers. They've just shifted to a new school building near Lakeside train station.

We're always relieved to have parents like you - who accept their child's difficulties and focus on their needs. I really hope the detailed psych report comes out soon and the psych's / drs talk you through to give you a clearer picture of your son's developmental difficulties.

If you need anything, like I said, do PM me... and we can get in touch - meet up over a drink or have a talk over the phone. Maybe even do not-so-early intervention for him at a discounted rate, eh?

audrey, my edd's 24 Jun and it has not changed since the first scan i tink.. i asked dr woo if there's any changes in edd he said no, n i thot there always are changes in edd...? i visit him every wed evening... only next visit, 2 mar on mon cos i goin holiday on wed le.. =)

cord blood banking-
i personally would donate to public, i came across a US website that says when it comes to saving life within family is only 25% chances whereas if they take from public, there's a 80% or something like that...? Trying to locate the website but i cant seem to find leh...