(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tubbymummy, back from collecting the bibs. the bibs are nice!!!! got the blanket on the spot cos i felt the material was quite soft. feels gd. but, i didnt open up the whole blanket as it was nicely "wrapped".

sweethalo, HAHAHA!!! So much capacity in your bladder?! GOOD THING it didn't change colour.

Wee strip has 2 little patches - one testing for protein, the other for glucose. They reveal any strange levels of either.
Gestational diabetes test sweethalo is talking about is different cos it measures the impact of sugar on your glucose level to gauge how well your body (with foetus) is handling the conversion of sugar into glucose. That's why the need to take a fasting sample, then another post-glucose one.

ah, had chicken rice for dinner and i'm feeling indigestion. but yet and again, hungry.

Lovelytulips, so u got the 5-in-1 carters blanket is it? You bought 1 of the boy combo?

Cassey, I luurve Yami Yoghurt! Any flavour, with granola topping. YUM. Just as well there isn't one close to my house, else I'll be eating it everyday. I'm also glad the bubble tea is a 15min walk away from my house, or I'll be in serious glucose problem! I'm trying to cut down on sugar, but gave in to 2 slices wholemeal bread with kaya spread. It was the only attractive thing in the fridge that could be slapped together in 1min. And thanks for the glucose test explanation. Makes more sense now!

Agree with sweethalo, Tatiana is not not just obnoxious, she really is a psycho bi**ch. And that psychotic laughter! I get chills whenever I hear her. And Danny Gokey is in! Yay!! But I didn't like him singing Hero. Ew.

tubbymummu, yea, i got the 2-in-1 blanket. 1 of the boy's combo. i cant rem is which one. cos the one i "bio" was OOS. noww i remembered i forgot to ask her to show me the carter small bb diaper bag (shhhh... dont let my hb see/hear this). ha.......

cuting down sugar - i'm still a addict of coke and teh o, though i try not to finish the whole can/cup.

hehee just has Chwee Kueh for supper...s-l-u-r-p

ya did u see how Ryan Seacrest squirmed when she touched his shoulders...hahaha

Tubbym~, my pleasure. I LOVE YAMI YOGHURT TOO!! I usually have peach with peach topping
So... that Gokey fella is the one who was singing Hero. Hubby had tv on and I thought that rendition was quite horrid, to say the truth =) Hey, you having girl but still like sweet things ma. So that myth isn't very true.

sweethalo, CHWEE KUEH!! I LIKE!! Whoa, haven't had that in a long long time. Chai po has to be one of the best thing ever produced. Poor Ryan Seacrest... I think he gets his modesty outraged quite often just because he's the host and he's so cute. I've seen girls place HUGE WET smackers on his lips... If I were him, I'd feel so violated.

*New Record: THREE archives in a single day* Glad it isn't my turn to do OT.
BAD BACK today. Kinda ruined a nice anniversary evening. It's off to bed! Night-night, ladies!

<font color="ff0000">Hi mummies, I've got a good confinement lady who helped me out in Jan 08. She is pro BF and looking for assignments. Currently, she has assignment in Aug 09. I'm not an agent, not getting any commission, just helping a friend. She is currently in Singapore and doing an assignment at SengKang. She will be in Singapore until 16 Mar 09. Interested, please call Aunty Lezhuang at HP: 81567317. After 16 Mar, you can call her at her M'sia HP: +60127526609. Please let her know you are referred by Meishan. Wishing all mummies a smooth and happy delivery!

lovelytulips, I'm very tempted to buy the blankets also, but the girls combo are all so.... PINK! I don't mind 1 or 2, but I like a nice mix. I mean, girls also can use yellow, blue and green blankets what... So I'm still considering. May get the white ones instead, but not sure about the material. (that's why i wanted a boy, cos I've never liked pink, and don't know how to shop for a little girl, cos everything is so pink and girly haha)

Wah, my sugar/carbo cutting efforts has been quite admirable so far (at least to me hahaha). Bo bian, my family history is quite bad, so I don't want to take chances. I've always drunk Coke Light, so no problem there, but also cut down to 1 can a week. I don't drink other sugared drinks at all, but my only sin is bubble tea! Even then I always ask them to either add more ice or add some water to dilute, cos I find them all too sweet, and I drink at most 1 cup in 2 weeks. I've switched from normal white bread to whole grain bread. I eat rice only 1-2 times a week. I've stopped drinking carton fruit juice, but lately no choice started drinking prune juice cos of constipation. And the Yami yoghurt I mentioned that I love? I've not had it since I became pregnant.

My gd friend and her sis both had gestational diabetes, and the strict diet they had to go thru was way worse than what I'm doing to myself now, so I hope what I'm doing now is enough to help me avoid the diabetes problem altogether. Besides, it's easy for me to do the above anyway, so I don't feel deprived. Just hope my effort pays off...

Tubbym~, I applaud your discipline. I haven't had Yami Yoghurt in years... that's why it's such a treat for me. I had it every week back when I was in sec sch and they were still everywhere and had the old dark green logo and cups. But stopped for years... til now. =) They still taste as good!

Glad you're not feeling deprived... and I really really hope you clear this pregnancy without any complications, my dear.

cassey, yeah, when Danny first started singing Hero, I gagged. But i was rooting for him cos I liked how he performed thru all the elimination rounds so far. But the Hero thing? Shudder.

But u know what i can't believe? Ryan has a star on the Hollywood walk of fame. Come on! He's cute, and his face is now synonymous with American Idol, but I think to give him a star seems like an insult to the rest who really earned it, like multiple oscar winners, etc etc.

morning!!

sweethalo, think she mentioned about new stuff, but probably mid-end Mar. probably u can get a second batch then. wont be too late.....

tubbymummy, yea... i understand what u mean. but PINK ok ma.... so many things to buy also. though some pple hate too much pink, especially guys. think my hb will faint if i get all pink stuff if i have a girl. probably u can see if u wana mix with a MTB who is having a boy, then u get the green/yellow ones and ask her if she's ok getting all the blue ones. hiak.

actually, i'm thinking whether 5 blankets is enough, considering bb will probably burp and have milk spilled on the blanket and how often do we need to change the blanket.

Yami yogurt. oh.... how i miss it. it used to be readily available, but not now. think only outlet i can think of is at suntec. and it used to be so cheap.. now it's so ex.

good morning ladies, it's FRIDAY!

yest went for my 1st antenatal class at KKH, and had to lug home a lot of freebies including one tin of similac mum, but haven't try it yet. the class was good, although first lesson only lecture. hubby was asking me, wah liao 10 weeks all like this ah? i told him no, they are easing us in, and at the end got exam so better listen otherwise must retake
i also told him that time when we sign up that the class is compulsory for first time parents..hehe. otherwise he always work late and think can miss these classes one, so must trick him a bit.
the first lesson was more appropriate for those in week 16 or something, because more or less we all know the 1st and 2nd tri symptoms. sha shared with us that constipation is common, but don't self-medicate with prune juice because the churning upsets the balance of the stomach. better to tell your gynae and if necessary, they will prescribe laxative syrup. also said not good to go for foot reflexology bcos can trigger contractions and lead to premature birth - but i think that one most of us know. some things she mentioned i got read abt you all have the same experience here, eg skin breakouts, darkening of armpits, forehead and nose etc.

was thinking on my way to KKH, wah later when Cassey no longer working PT, we all have to work OT ah! but keep it up Cassey with all the resources. good to just read it of the thread here than thumbing through the Web.

ahnetsan, i bought these things from kidzloft. Can't wait for delivery to my house!!

Latex Stroller Pad
2-pc Bath Towels
3pk mittens
Baby Traveller Deluxe Bag
Milk Powder Container
Rattin Toes
Latex Pillow (Baby)
1 Full Length Bumper
2 Fitted Sheet
2 Pillow Case 34 x 51cm (J)
Safety1st Bath Center
Deluxe Grooming Collection
Hospital’s Choice 3-pc Medicine Set
Hospital Choice Nasal Aspirator
Liquid Cleanser (750ml)

amk_gal, wow that's a long list! you bought from online? when the items come, can you let us know the quality of it? i was going to buy online too, but since the shop in Tagore Lane, maybe i better go down and see actual items first before buying.

morning ladies! TGIF!!!

tubbym,
i lurrvve peach yami yogurt with granola!!! havent had it for a long time. too bad they dont have too many shops around.

had chicken rice for dinner last night too. been craving for it for the longest time finally got to eat it last nite!

this is turning into a foodies thread...

i had chicken rice for dinner too yest and until this morning, can still taste the vinegar of the chilli in my mouth despite 2 brushings already!

yes First Mum, a foodies thread indeed!

morning ladies.

sweethalo, hmm, i think i rather base on feel and do in toilet. or not 'ma fan' if gg to do on bed.

Cassey, that cool! if i did that to him, i sure will kena scolding from him. haha.

TubbyMummy, i also deep love with yami peace yougurt with granola!! *hu fuve* with First mum.

morning all!!! me first time wake up so early sia... heehee

sweethalo, so you managed to ask abt the diapers? got NB ones?

my gynae also never ask me to do the test for diabetes...

cassey and tubbymummy, you two had such a healthy dinner last night... i ate 2 and a half plates of chicken rice!!! gosh...
i din realise i finished all cos i was watching the xing guang da dao 3 on tv....

haha lovelytulips &amp; firstmum, you also had chicken rice for dinner.

amk_gal, wow, dat was a long list of stuff u bot man.
yeah man, let us knw the quality.. my hb was saying we go down see see look look first cos it's quite near our plc.

good-de-morning. *yawn* It's friday! wee!

*drooling* i like YAMI YOGURT too! i bought a take home pack from Bishan a couple of months ago and finish it in less than a week. then ended scolded by IL. saying it's cold and not good, dun eat too much. was discouraged from taking it. =( since then, i dare not buy any take home pack le.

today im all alone at hm!! dats great!! cos my mil went to genting again... every time go there to gamble... hopeless fat woman.

but dat idiot fat woman so horrible, made my hb wake up at 5+ jus to fetch them to causeway point, cos their pick up point is at causeway point...damn it lor, cant they jus take a cab themselves??? my hb already work til so late everyday liao, stil wan to torture him like dat... i was so pissed off lor, but my hb was like never mind la, he drove them den he will drive to work earlier lor. 0_0" wat a toot hb i have.

caramelle,
wow, ur chicken rice sounds powerful ley! until now still got aftertaste! anws, i can have chicken rice everyday YUMS!

ahnetsan,
u lagi better, can go thru 2 plates unknowingly!...abt ur mil, errrr...some mils can be v inconsiderate.

shelisa,
*hi-5* i just bought a carton of granola cereal for breakfast. sometimes i buy a tub of frozen yogurt from supermarket and just add obscene amts of granola myself!

morning all!!

still toking abt food huh??? heehee

i oso love yammi yogurt....but super long time nv eat le!

chk wif u'll do u hv any idea expo bb fair &amp; taka bb fair which hv more gd buy huh??? actuali wif taka bb fair beter then i won't go expo le cos is realli far away &amp; oso i do hv taka voucher!

jam75, if you have taka voucher then makes sense for you to buy there. cos at expo you need to fork out cash. up to you, but i heard the robinson/taka/tangs sales can be cheaper because of rebates/points for members etc.

*hi 5* everyone loves Yami yogurt here! hehehe... To satisfy your fix, they have outlets at Suntec, Raffles Place (Chevron House basement), Novena Square (the building behind, called Square 2 issit?), Junction 8, and I think CCK MRT also have! Woohoo!

Wah, all of u got inspired by LFB (was it LFB) to go eat chicken rice issit??!! Hahaha... so cute leh! I think it's been 1 year since I ate chicken rice, and even then, I always order the white chicken with plain rice. I like the original chicken rice, but I think it's very fatty, so I compromise with myself and take the white rice instead.

Wah, just found out Plaza Sing and Jurong Point also have Yami Yogurt! So girls, anytime u're close to any of these outlets, indulge ya? *wink*

omg, i din knw the original chicken rice is fatty.... i ate 2 and a half plates last night... somemore my mil cook one, sure to be more oily one....

maybe i should skip lunch today.

I went to NTUC last nite. Their baby fair sales till 26 Feb. Saw Philips avent pdts on 20% discount, johnson and johnson bath twin pack (but i can find 1 bot at dat price, calculate $6plus per bot), Diapers alot on offers but most from M sizes onwards. Newborn ones only selected brands like drypers, 2 packs of 64pcs is $26.55 and plus free 4 pcs of 6kg above diapers. Saw alot of mummy buy pet pet, think is cheap abt less than $0.20/pc but no 'S' size. Huggies Ultra for M size above quite good deals, abt $2 plus discount per pack. NTUC housebrand abt $0.15+/pc and additional 5% discount for housebrand products.

caramella, ya tinking the same since hv taka voucher muz as well mk tink taka bb fair to buy at least not using my own $$!

tubbymummy, aiyo u hv mentioned so many plc hv yummi yogurt...tink dis wkend can go &amp; eat if happen to go those area u mentioned!

good morning ladies,
I also went to NTUC xtra yesterday.. nothing much for diapers as per feedback by creamer..

some prices of advent items (before 20% discount)
milk warmer- 71.70
manual pump- 91.60
reusuable breast pad (6pcs)- 18.70
steriliser set- 171
airflex bottles (260ml x2)- 17.20
airflex bottles (330ml)- 12.40

can I check with ladies who mailed in their cheque for TMC antenatal class? how long did they take to reply you? I mailed mine in last monday have yet to receive a reply

just saw the brochure for the expo..looks like quite jam-packed activities. and saw there's a talk by WBB on sat evening, so may drop by to attend.

creamer, NTUC housebrand also have for NB or bb less than 5kg?

btw which ntuc have all these sales? is it all NTUC or only NTUC Xtra?

Caramelle, didnt check on ntuc brand cos didnt intend to buy this brand. I went is the NTUC Xtra - amk. Suppose shld be all ntuc i suppose if they carry baby product. Xtra will have wider stock range. 2 rows to walk walk and shop.

Chidori, u went to which Xtra yest?

creamer,
i only bought the baby wipes, portable thermal flask (555 brand) at $7.90 (usual $11.90), 1 set of baby pillow and booster at $3.90 (really cheap as compared to kiddy palace)..
thinking of getting the advent food warmer but have checked around for prices yet.. fair is til 26th Feb..

Re: TMC Classes

I think they take abt 1.5 wks to reply. Did u girls mark on the envelope Parentcraft Dept, else it will get routed around for awhile.

Best is to call them and ask, so that they don't release the space and still keep u in mind.