(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

re: drinking water during confinement
yup, heard the same as well. I also find it torturous not to drink water. was told to even drink diluted milo if needed, just dun drink plain water. A few sips a day is fine. But will see how it goes when we reach there.

ahnetsan, hope u have seen a doc n are resting well. Get well soon!

shelisa,
no hubby wasnt home that home. ah boh i wld tear his hair out in pain!

lfb,
ya i tink we must remember not to lie on our arm when we slp so that blood can circulate and we can minimise the cramps? i also wonder if my leg cramp is due to excessive walking cos i walk for at least 2 hrs a day, sending my girl to school and doing marketing.

tubbymummy/ blurmommy,
im the type who guzzles water throughout the day, cnt imagine if i cant do that. ure right the red dates drink is heaty. i tried to drink only that the last time, and got sore throat and constipation! so like tubby, i WILL drink water!

TubbyMummy, it ok. if you saw it again, do rem to share with us. Thanks

bbjun, no. As 5pcs in a pack is too much for me. Thus im looking for those that is selling 1-2pcs type. Thanks.

First Mum, that funny!!'tear his hair out in pain!'. err, would suggest put hp or telephone near to u. So if really very pain at least u can call for help. But most impt, you can try to use ur hand to gentle massage on it. see whether does it help?

wa. u girls are super posters! so many archived posts for me to read until my eyes roll down on the floor.

been busy with work these few days so dun have time to read. =(

re: drinking water during confinement
was told my by SIL too that can only drink red dates tea during confinement. no water. NO COLD Drinks. if not, will kanna 'feng shi' and water retention after confinement.

re: private hair
haha. i used to shave those hairs @ the bottom too. cos i think it's more hygienic. but the tot of me giving birth and someone see a hairless of my 'flesh' makes me a bit hesitant to do it during pregnancy.

<u>Mummies delivering at MAH</u>
Not sure if you know this, but if you pay by DBS credit card, you'll get 5% off your maternity package, applicable for double and single bedded only. NOT applicable to 4-bedded, deluxe room and family suite.

Upon admission, you'll need to make a 50% deposit. Pay this deposit with the DBS card, and they will give you the 5% discount off the package price. When you pay the balance for the bill after your stay, you can pay with any other card.

For more enquiries, can call MAH at 6347-6688, ask for admissions or business office.

hi everyone!!

wow LFB, you ate 2 plates of chicken rice!! white one or the roasted one? why u ate 2 plates? too yummy or too hungry? where u had it?
huh, bf doesnt make us lose weight??!! omg, it can burn 500 calories a day for us leh, if we bf...

omg LFB, hw can u hate chicken rice before u preggie?
ur bb likes to eat chicken rice.

lovelytulips, haha, ok u add me? my msn is [email protected]

eh y cannot eat too much chicken rice? why not healthy?
heehee, cos i also like to eat chicken rice.

blurmommy, hw much u paid ur confinement lady? y u cannot tahan red dates drink? i find it nice leh. heeeheee... i always like the packet red dates and longan drink one. sweet sweet one. for me, i rather drink sweet things than plain water...heehee. nw bo bian, keep flushing down plain water cos it's supposed to be good for me and the bb. but how come confinement period cannot drink plain water at all??

yo anxious... finally see u here.... u havent told me which nick u used during sept08 brides forum leh...

firstmum &amp; tubbymummy, i havent seen doctor yet... woke up at 11+... so far i still ok, no running nose... *touch wood*... hopefully whole day will be like dat den i wont haf to see doctor.

haha shelisa, welcome to my gang den....heehee... hw come u overnight suddenly cannot see ur knees? even ur toes as well???

capiho88, whoa, instantaneous huh? Is that the case with all lay'offs? Sorry ah, I don't know how these things go. But anyway, I'm glad you get to rest from now til the birth without having to worry about the lack of a paycheck. Thank God for providence! Aiya, you can come join for the West-side Meet-Up then! Since you travel to Jurong anyway. Wanna 'register?!

creamer, do you mean Creamer-go-round!? *chuckle* Aiya, you so slim... don't tell me about round face k. I commune with a full-moon-face in the mirror every day and have done so for years now. *GGgrrrr &amp; stare daggers at u*

ahnetsan, I hate oats too. Usually will add condensed milk or honey for sweetness. Or maybe you can try to have it with fruits - add peaches on top or strawberries... Maybe the leakage is just a one off..? Like that leaky spillage night I had? It isn't usually like that.

>> Read in books that when you pee, it's good to lean fwd a bit to try to completely empty bladder. Sometimes I finish my wee, then I kinda wriggle wriggle on the seat, rock fwds a few times... then let loose again and a bit more comes out. Other than that, what to do, keep pressing on with the Kegels!! I hope you feel better soon and DON'T come down with a full flu/fever package.

l'tulips, I search out stuff for myself anyway. Any questions I have is easily google'd or as I've found out now, youtube'd. So when I see interesting stuff, I'll post it here for our mutual learning. =)

sourz, I'm actually registered for mt A's antenatal classes starting March 6th, Sat 1.30-3.30. BUT I haven't paid and I'm pulling out in favour of TMC's WBB's class... I keep meaning to call them to let them know my change of heart, but haven't done it. If the timing works for u, mayb you can call and let them know if you'd like to take my slot. I can PM you my details.

Re: Fluids during confinement
Hmm... I heard about the red dates thing. Quite nice ma - sweet sweet. I'm sure we can drink it diluted right? I thought water was ok - just as long as it's not chilled/iced. I mean, if we are not sufficiently hydrated, won't the water retention prob surface as well? Hmmm...

*Yippee* Today's my hubby and my 4th anniversary! *dance a clumsy little dance*

heehee, seems like quite a few of us here will shave the private part... but nw wif the tummy... it's blocking our view.

Shelisa, ya, i also saw the 5pcs one seems alot. Also tot abt 3pcs can liao. Or maybe we can even share the 5pcs pack from Khaw hor? I order something from her and most prob will self collect. If you only need 2 pcs den we can share cos yrs also princess rite?

ahnetsan/Shelisa: forgot to say, yesterday aft reading your posts, I also stood up to check, and I can't see my knees too hahaha... If I stand straight n just look down with my eyes, I can see my boobs nia. I bend my head forward a bit, can see belly. I must bend head + shoulders forward before I see my toes first, then knees. But then hor, maybe it was always like that, except that when we're not pregnant, we don't check these things? I mean, which normal person goes and check whether normal days can see knees or not?? kekeke

ahnetsan, bcos ytd im in office. so i just stand up and see. then ytd go hm bath then i see properly den notice cant see liao!! shld we hi five? haha.

TubbyMummy, if DBS can also 5% discount on gynae delivery fee then that will be great!

ahnetsan, the reason i shave is bcos in sec time my malay ger frenz laugh at me say we chinese unhygiece. As malay ger they all shave due to hygiece. thus from there i start to shave and use to shave. Then got 1 time my grandma ask me why bath so long? i told her i need to shave my arm pit hair and private part hair ma. then she say me really shave private part hair? i say yes. u guess what that old lady did to me? she lift up my dress and pull off my panty and see my 'art' fainted

Tubbymummy, wah got discount using DBS. u know its a ongoing promo or till some dates? Dun know will last till our delivery mth. heee..

Cassey, c'mon, to me its still my rounder side of my life... arrrgg.. but for baby sake, its worth lah. kekeke

Cassey: happy anniversary! What u doin to celebrate?

And yes yes, the peeing thing, it's best to lean forward slightly and tuck your legs back a bit, so your pelvis is sort of tilted forward. This position helps to empty out the bladder more completely. Actually, it is said that the squatting position is the best for emptying the bladder, but come on, which one of us can SQUAT now??

sweethalo &amp; Tubbym~, ok, I repent of my 'sibeh siong' revenge. What to do, I'm cheong hei leh. I shall try to be good this week.

creamer, do you mean the inner or outer lips? I shall a close physical inspection tonight to see if hair's sprouting there for me. =)

Shelisa, you're welcome!

Chidori &amp; jam75, just collected out stuff yesterday. WHOA jam your blankets very heavy neh!! Chidori the girl's bibs are SO adorable! Jam and my stuff all boy boy stuff.

My pal who's also preggers just went for her FA scan today. SHE'S HAVING A GIRL TOO! Everyone around me having girl!!

tubbymummy, hahahaha

ME! im the 'normal' person you referring to who will go and check whether on pre-preggie days can see knees or not.

chicken rice: can eat la... but LFB ate like 2 plates which is abit oily lor.. and difficult to digest leh..... hiak hiak.

the red date tea is quite nice if not drinking it always. think it tastes a bit like cheng teng but.... without it chilled. dont know how long i can drink that. anyway, in the hospital, after delivering, i think they also give plain water or milo. correct me if i'm wrong....

cassey, enjoy ur 4th anni.... reminds me of me just brought my wedding bands to repolish and it seems so weird not wearing it... probably pple will start thinking my fingers "bloated" to wear it. hahahha

shelisa, creamer, i also tot of getting the blanket but too many pcs and i cant share with u 2. i'm having a boy.. can we ask if we can mix and match.. hiak

creamer, yaya. i only need 2 pcs only. after u self collect can u mail to me? then i transfer money to u. love u leh!!

TubbyMummy, you have HUGE breast!! err, shld i jealous? i stand straight, i can see my breast cum tummy.

Cassy, today my throat still like got something stuck there. den wanna burp cannot burp. then hot hot the throat. later must go fruit store to buy red drangon fruit with honey blended ice.

Shelisa/creamer: No lah, no discount on gynae fees, I also wish! Hai, my gynae charge $2k for c-sect delivery. Anyway, the DBS promo is till 31 July 2009, so we're still in time for it!

I don't have DBS card actually, it's my friend who told me got promo, and said that if I want can use her card to pay, or ask my hubby quickly go and apply now (I got no income can't apply). But I'm wondering if 5% discount, is it worth the hassle... Guess better than no discount...

yeah shelisa, we shd *Hi 5*

wah, shelisa, ur grandma power leh, cant imagine she actually pulled off ur panty and see! and i also cant believe you actually let her do dat wifout any protest.

tubbymummy, yeah lor, who can squat now?? even if can squat liao, den hw to get up?

cassey, it's ok, you can try for a girl the next time round, yeah?

talking about squating, i wanted to sit on the floor to take out the stuff i bought. and suddenly i kind of lean backwards. lost my balance even trying to seat. cannot imgaine how to squat. think will be like humpty dumpty.

ahnetsan! wahahaha... ok now I know. So there ARE people who check on normal days whether can see knees or not. I never check before!

Cassey, are the blankets cute too?? So tempting to buy, but really don't need so many blankets.

My boobs:
Think I'm not the only one here with the boobs *wink* But don't envy ok, I'm running out of places to buy bras, and that's really not funny. And when my belly was growing, because it doesn't extend beyond my boobs, no one thinks I'm pregnant, so maybe that's why i never get offered any seats on MRT. Sigh. But now, like what Cassey said at some point earlier, my belly is finally catching up already! Yay!

Thanks, Tubbym~ &amp; l'tulips! What're we going to celebrate? Ermm.. WORKING? Haha. Hubby brings me back to Tony Roma's every year - cos that's where we went for dinner on church wedding night since we wanted to relax and only had banquet the next day. =) He's quite a sentimental fella. Me actually don't like Tony Roma's... but appreciate the thought.

Shelisa, whoa, outrage of modesty neh... Haha... What did you do? Just stand there? Actually, that gastro-reflux thing is an ailment I have daily. Just whether it's mild / severe - whole day or only sometimes... BUBBLE TEA!!! Heehee... Sometimes I just suck on a mint.

Tubbym~ &amp; ahnetsan, HA! I CAN STILL SQUAT!! Bit of a squeeze bump-wise but I CAN SQUAT!! Heehee...

ahnetsan, yeah lor. What to do? Cannot exchange babies... so must plop this one out and hope I won't be too traumatised to try again. Skali boy again, then I'll have to keep trying... Hmm...

wow tubbymummy, you've ran out of places to buy bras?? i haven bot any new bras yet, all my bras are too small le, but i stil continue to wear. i look like im wearing those skimmy bikini over the breasts.
and im actually quite shy to go buy bra leh, cos i dunno wat cup am i nw, shy to ask the salesgirl to help me.
how to overcome the shyness?

cassey, i heard of this tale before... dunno whether it's true or not... those old ppl say one.

find a preggie woman who's preggie wif girl...and another woman who's preggie wif boy...
let them lie on bed chatting... den dunno how, both their babies will be exchanged. ;(
so in the end, the one wif boy will end up having girl, and vice versa.

ahnet, if u're too embarrassed to ask ppl to measure u, why not just bring in a few different sizes to try until u get the most comfortable one? U should have grown 1-2 cups sizes by now I think.

Eh, the old wives tale sounds a bit scary leh! But if it works hor, Cassey! I volunteer to lie down and chit chat with u!

ahnetsan: I use Bridesept08 as nick but think i only log in for the initial few times nia nia, den after that bo liao.. too busy wif wedding stuff.. kekekeke *envy* you, you nw den cant see ure knees har? me from 4 mths alrdy cant see liao.. haiz..

TubbyMummy: eh.. i nw still squat for my small business, big business i did once to squat, kaoz, after standing up, both legs r numb... so big one i sit, small 1 i squat...

Anxious, u still not bad. I squat already will need to have something around me that I can use to push myself back up into standing position, which is a gigantic effort. My knees started hurting very badly since more than a month ago, now climb stairs also difficult, don't say squat. Hai....

Jus like to check whether anyone of u have the same experience as me..
I was really freaked out when I realise my clothes was wet and I was leaking milk from my left breast yesterday... Is it possible? I mean i'm only 23weeks pregnant at the moment.. It came as a shock to me lo...

Whoa, ahnetsan, like that also can... But no la, I've already bought all his stuff so if turn out to be girl, I'll also be sad. As for bra, take your measurements underbust and across the nipples - that should give you a rough gauge of cup size.

>> I'm ok with having assistant come in and look and adjust my boobs - just that typically they have NO bras that come in my size. End up telling me tactlessly and worse, sometimes LOUDLY, DON'T HAVE YOUR SIZE AH. SORRY. BIGGEST ONE STILL TOO SMALL. Then I have to hang on to my dignity as I walk away. >=( So, I hate buying bras here in Sg and have been avoiding it. I'd rather squeeze my girlies into tubes and bandeaus.

Tubbym~, you're offering to lie with me?! THANKS FOR OFFERING!! I don't think our hubbies will like that.. =)

I can still squat and stand as long as things around that I can brace myself up on. Actually ah, no. I can still squat per se. Just squat down in front of a fish tank with a child today, and he perched himself on my lap. After that I still got up just like that. At home I will manja manja, asked hubby to come give me a hand. =)

I'd like to go to Morton's Steak House tonight. PORTERHOUSE STEAK!!! GODIVA CHOC CAKE!!! But asked hubby if we had plans and he told me Tony Roma's, so Tony Roma's it is. I shall be thkful for his sweetness. Next time with bb cannot go Morton's anymore neh... :~(

Lin, it's completely plausible that you start leaking colostrum already.
In fact, I was worried that I might leak n I already had breast pads on standby at home by Wk 18. =)
Embarrassing though, I hope it wasn't too obvious!

Thanks Cassey, I jus didn't expected it to start leaking so early.. Thought this will happen only towards the end.. haha
But it was really embarrassing especially I'm not wearing any bras at hm... *peng*

Tubbymummy, do some light exercises that don't exert your back or knee so you'll be more flexible (and bendy hehehe..
). every morning i must cross overhead bridge to get to bus stop where i take my private bus to work. i'd like to think it's enough exercise for me..hehe.

but at home also i squat a lot, just that i do it slowly. cos my washing machine is front-load one so to put in the clothes must squat. also sometimes must feed the cats or carry them.

only thing is i find sometimes quite hard to put on my pants because i have to bend quite low and my tummy get in the way.

Lin, I haven't experienced a proper leak like how u described, but of late, it appears like I have something a bit whitish building up on my left nipple (just a very small bit), and wondered if there was some kind of secretion during the day. Last night it felt a bit sticky, and frankly, i think it's quite gross. In the beginning, I wondered if there was some infection, but everything appears and feels perfectly healthy, so I decided there's a small bit of leakage. Whenever I shower, I've been paying close attention to washing my nipples very well, to prevent anything from building up. It's just part and parcel of this whole pregnancy experience I guess...

TubbyMummy, same my gynae delivery fee also very ex. $1500-$2000 before GST!! if can discount then good lor. Actually 5% deduct on maternity package is ard $60-$100+. I also don't have DBS card, maybe ask my BIL to lend me ba.

ahnetsan, haha. my reaction is slower. I was too shocked for her action. Hai. anyway she my grandma so still ok la. haha

TubbyMummy/Cassey, running out of places to buy bras. indeed HUGE!! haha

Cassey, i just stand there and let my grandma see lor. then you know what she did?? she call her daughter (my auntie) and my mommy to complain say i siao go shave 'botak' my private part. OMG!!bubbletea, i hope to drink too but my surrounding is all factory leh. Any delivery on bubbletea out there? ")

hi Lin, actually milk leaking quite common as we start 5th month onwards. in fact i was just thinking yest whether any mummies here leaking yet. but just wear a breast pad, can buy from tollyjoy or pigeon to absorb it. my SIL don't recommend to buy the washable ones because she say the disposable ones more hygienic.

caramelle, I did my laundry yesterday (mine also front load), and when it was done, I squatted to take everything out, and almost couldn't get up! I've been doing stretches and some pilates exercises, but I'm not sure if that's helping. I'll still continue though, cos it may be worse if I don't even do them.

Thanks caramelle n tubbymummy,
glad to know that i'm not the only person to experience it early.. haha..
Tubbymummy, I didn't really see it coming out but it's really sticky n it stain my clothes as i'm not wearing any bras.. Guess i'll have to buy some disposable breast pad later on..

You know, Tubbym~, I showed obgyn a strange thing on my prune and he actually advised me to not soap my mountain's snowcaps! He said just wash surrounding area, but rinse nipples with water will do. Said might cause cracking and/or soreness.

Yeech. It's STICKY?! I've been inspecting my nipples and sometimes squeeze to kinda see if any accidents might happen anytime soon... but so far all clear.

OUI LIN! Why aren't you wearing a bra?!

Shelisa, your grandma is hilarious!! I'd like a cup of bubble tea - but not willing to brave the sun to go get one. Heehee.. You can get one tonight! If you haven't already had an iced dessert. BRAS: Seriously, u won't believe the limited sizes here. I don't really like M&amp;S's quality so it's REALLY hard to find bras... much less now - that my girls are growing even more and I'm not able to go to Australia or wherever to stock up. FRUSTRATING.

HEY. DOES LEAKING EARLIER MEAN MORE SUPPLY!?! Lucky baby yours, Lin!

tubbymummy, haha..i know sometimes i will plop on the floor and make matters worst because even harder to get up! but i do find in general it's harder to get off the floor so i put abit of strain on my wrists to push myself up. when hubby is around i will ask him to pull me up but i don't like to depend on him too much..later he say i very ku niang like that...

Cassey, my grandma rock it!! haha!! wanna get my worker to get me a ice dessert but just rem ytd just took 2 ice dessert. after work i purposely all the way go shopping buy my fav green apple vinger with pearl!! yipee.

Reg: Sitting on the floor. i cant stand up myself unless hubby hold or something for me to grab to support me up. or not my tail bone pain will kill me 1st.

Actually when we will we start to leak milk?

re chicken rice. So regretful taking 2 plates. I think you will faint when I tell you what I had for dinner yesterday. 2 plate of rice, 3 pieces of black pepper pork chop, 2 pieces of roast chicken, 1 piece of roast duck, 3 pieces of roast pork, 1 portion of egg omelette and 1 small spring roll. Drink F&amp;N orange cos super thirsty! Scary right? Now I think of it also amazed! Anyway, no more such stuff!

Today papers advertised that that NTUC got baby product on sale, like diapers, milk powder, wipes, shampoo, body wash and so on. Going to buy later cos tollyjoy's wipes 2x30pieces pack selling at $2 now. Can go stock up. Got J&amp;J brand also, but slightly more ex. Interested party pls go read papers and chi-ong ah......