(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

tubbymummy, is the $55 changing table on sale? Very upset it is priced at $55. My fren bought it early last year for $39!!

TubbyMummy,
No worries, In fact I am eyeing the white cupboard. Easier to match the rest of the kiddo furniture

bbjun, no the changing table still at $55. I was also hoping there'll be discount on that. Last year only $39??!! Feel cheated now. Hai.

hi tubbymummy, thanks for the info. I'll check it out at Ikea then. Ya, my friends who has baby also advise me to watch out for the following when choosing a baby cot.

1. mummy do not have to bend too low when placing baby in cot as this may lead to back problems.
2. mummy should be able to operate the cot gate (i.e. one side that drops down) with 1 hand so that other hand can carry baby instead of putting baby somewhere, open the gate then carry & put baby into cot.

other mummies may want to take note as well. =)

Harros Gals!

Today seems quiet ... not much to catch up for me... hehehe..

Tubbymummy- got any good discounts on chest of drawers?

Serene22 - harros... like what TubbyMummy says, post to say harros more to us ...

Yes, yes.. last year they priced that table at $39. When I went to check out last Dec and saw that they have revised the pricing!!! Biangz.. inflation so big a difference meh????

sweethalo, I was also quite relieved when I came home didn't need to read thru 1-2 pages of archives haha. There were some cupboards and chest of drawers on discount, but sorry I didn't note the price. For those shelves, drawers, cupboards, discount price is generally cheaper by $50 and upwards. It's in the regular furniture section, not the kid's furniture kind. Is that what you're looking for?

At first I was also planning to buy some storage, but last night hubby insisted that we don't need, say we still have a lot of built in cupboard space that's not used at all, he'll get someone to come in and convert that to shelves and drawers. I gave him ultimatum to do that in one month. Otherwise he sure drag and drag, end up no drawers.

Xuan, thanks for the tips. At first I wanted to go for cheap and good, cos I don't want my kid to sleep in cot for too long, will upgrade to toddler/single bed at some point. But silly me forgot about the back problem part. Sigh, so now trying to crack my head to remember where I saw that bed that I could handle easily with one hand, the side dropped very smoothly too, no need to jerk around...

hehe.. .thanks thanks TubbyMummy.. yeah, I want to get regular furniture for now... ;P

Hahha... so your lao gong knows u mean biz now.. heheh... got deadline...kekeke

happy v day, sweethalo. i'm going out too, but not to celebrate. hehe! you not going out? fri nite u know. must go relax relax!

poor sweethalo, flu must rest more then will recover.. take care wor..

i also no go out.. but no flu.. its hubby no lomatic.. say v'day waste $$.. haizz...

Me home too, at least hubby's also home, so not so bad. Just had dinner, but we don't celebrate V-day, so it's a normal night's dinner for us

I go look at rompers now!!

hehee... TubbyMummy, the Romper set is cheap $22.50 inc postage for 4 pc.. I like the girl ones so sweet! :p

Xuan- which one did u order?

tubbymummy, ikea sale got bed frame and mattress??? are the mattress still of odd sizing???

i saw the rompers.... nice!!! but mostly for girls. and is 22.50 for 4 ex??? think i'm addicted to BP already, everytime looking at them. ha......

happy advance v day. next year will be v day with kids for all of us... hahha.....

sweethalo & Tubbym~, you're both right, not much to catch up on. Quiet quiet day... Everyone's off for the weekend.

sweethalo, you mean the GJ strawberry chilled you until now?! *gasp in horror* I hope you make a FULL recovery soon.

Tubbym~, thanks for your words! They're comforting. Especially after my weigh-in at obgyn's clinic today.

SIGH *sad* The moment of truth. I've gained back the last of my pre-preg weight and broken even. Bing, for you, that's all 3.5kg back since going into 2nd tri =( Now I'll have to keep close tabs on the scales to ration out 5 or so kgs over the next 3+ months. Thk God tho, that bb's growing well.

Who was it who was worried abt her "short-legged" bb..? My boy's femur length (thigh bone) was a mere 24cm at week 19. By week 22, it was 35cm. By today, it's 45cm! No WONDER the kicks are getting stronger..

It's confirmed, I think - my boy really adores tim sum! Twice in a week now I've had tim sum and he starts wriggling mid-way thru the meal and is kicking energetically by the time the meal has ended and for more than an hour after. Haha...

Lovelytulip- I think it's cheap for 4 pcs... so ave abt $5 each.

Cassey - yeah... flu is hard to get rid of...

Eh?? I thought today is the gathering for Westies??? How come Cassey back liao??

hmmm... shall consider.....

gathering in mar la... not today.

cassey, ur boy is a "chinese" boy... likes tim sum.

u are at week 24 rite? how's the bb weight like???

Really quiet huh today? I'm bored. Been surfing net aimlessly. Hubby has fallen sound asleep, so early.

Before he slept, I felt the baby kick, so I asked him to put his hand on my tummy to see if he could feel. I then felt a small kick, but he said he didn't feel anything. After about 1min, his patience ran out, cos completely no action, and he was too sleepy. Sigh. Think he'll only be excited when he can feel a proper full force kick. Wonder when.

lovelytulips, the Ikea baby beds weren't on sale, I don't think the mattress were as well, didn't see any offer price anywhere. Sian. But for toddler think got 1 or 2 bed frames on offer.

tubbymummy/sweethalo,
which breast pumps do u gals have your eyes on?

aiyo..my tummy itch..getting more tiny red rashes there..

nozomi, I ordered the Medela Swing. It's a single pump, I figured I won't need a super duper double pump like the working mums, so just got a single one for the occasional use. Are u getting one?

Tummy itching n rashes is it because of skin stretching?

hey girls... really v quiet today...

cassey,
wow so exciting! these days my baby's kicks are also getting stronger. esp when i lie down to rest, i feel him swimming all around and kicking and poking. cant imagine what wld happen in a few wks time. (kicks supposed to be very pronounced fr wk 28).

nozomi,
wad abt u? any breast pump in mind?

tummymummy & firstmum,
hmm..am thinking of Ameda or Medela dual electric pumps.. am unable to get much feedbacks on Ameda as not many pple own it..(it's cheaper than Medela). If decided on Medela, will prob get it from US.

Re: tummy itch
yeah..prob due to tummy stretching + gynae mentioned also due to hormones..

sweethalo, i ordered this 1. hehe

2158771.jpg

cassey, its me.. the report says my boi's femur length is 32.6cm at 21weeks.. better grow longer by next month.. dun waste all the calcium tablets/milk/soya drinks i've been taking lor...

nozomi,
im thinking of getting ameda too. cos medela didnt work for me the last time. but i'll prolly wait til baby comes to ascertain whether I can BF for long term anot.

xuan,
cute!

FirstMum, the Medela Swing is electric. Supposedly better than their previous generation electric one, cos got what 2-phase technology. Got Medela cos seems like got most feedback on it. Ordered from States, incl shipping should cost $200+, still waiting to be advised on shipping charges (in retail $336). bbPotato organised a spree for Medela, so I ordered

nozomi, not much feedback on Ameda, so I didn't dare to get. If u decide to get Medela, can consider ordering the Freestyle from US, cos it's the latest one, and SO much cheaper when order from US... Have u been applying ur stretchmark cream? Even if can't help with the stretch, at least hopefully can help ease the discomfort?

ok gals, my laptop running out of juice already, and I'm too lazy to go back into living room to hook up to charger, so I'll call it a night here. Chat again tomorrow!

firstmum,
i've a feedback from a friend using Ameda, she mentioned it's not bad..not too noisy. r u using medela PIS previously? it doesn't works on u?

tubbymummy,
yup, i've been applying the oil religiously..i don't have stretchmark previously(crossing my fingers this time rd too), but i do have the same small red rashes again. i noticed my belly button is stretching almost to the max. .am praying tt it won't pop! gosh..please remain deep deep in..

Hi Ladies, im OT reading 2 Archive, today not working as dizzy, thus mc at home. just wake up (im fine now!!) and run to my neighbour house to lend computer. think addicted to the forum.

Wishing all mommies enjoy their V's day with their hubby and little prince or princess. Cheers!!

lovelytulips, quick reply to you before work starts! I'm wk 25, bb about 480. =)

Nozomi, I think it's inevitable for some ppl. But I hope that itch goes away soon!! Thkfully mine isn't a problem thus far. Haha...

happy Vday MTBS and babies!

tubbym/nozomi,
i read in the forum that medela PIS is better than Freestyle. duno how true. for me, i dont think i'll use medela again this time round. feedback of ameda has been quite positive, and at a fraction of the price, i guess its worth a try.

wow shelisa, go neighbours at 2.30am???? ur neighbour quite gd hor.

tubbymummy, what about normal adult bed frames and mattresses??? hee...... sorry to keep disturbing u.

tummy itch.. dont scratch!!!!!! wait will leave marks. ask gynae if can use calamine lotion and then stay in aircon room if possible. someone taught me that.......

cassey, i was wondering if i heard mine wrongly, and no week 23-25 bb to confirm leh..... mine is about 595 at wk 23. is it too big???

Happy Valentine's Day to all!

nozomi, then u're probably blessed with good genes if u didn't get any stretchmarks from the last time. Hope I won't have too many as well... Guess nothing much u can do except to continue moisturising, and don't scratch. Hope it gets better, or if not, at least don't get worse....

Shelisa, I take my hat off to u! Can go neighbour house borrow computer at 2am+!! Haha... confirm addicted liao! Glad that u're feeling better now.

FirstMum, I think Ameda is worth a try, cos like u said, it's not expensive, and even though there's little feedback on Ameda, they still seem to be positive. Why don't u go to the Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group to check it out? They have Ameda demo pumps (and also other brands) that u can try out. Details here:
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

lovelytulips, not disturbing me lah, no worries, but I didn't pay attention to the adult bed and mattresses, so I can't tell u whether got sale items or not, sorry sorry...

firstmum & tubbymummy,
yeah..i was about to mention the Ameda pump from breast feeding org site..if became member, it would be much cheaper.

Tubbymummy,
did u sign up for the series 2 class: preparing to breastfeed? i guess will skip this and go for the 2nd + 3rd classes.

shelisa/cassey,
i've enduring the urge to scratch it..am hiao mah..dun wish to leave any stretch marks scars on my 'hairy' tummy.

oops..sorry, it should be lovelytulips i/o shelisa..still groggy since i woke up..only slpt at 6++a.m? after that series of overdosed coffee from yest. (2 cups + 1 cup decaff) oooopss..

l'tulips, *GASP!* I don't know... My obgyn said wk 25 should be 450-500 so my boy's doing fine. Hmm... maybe it's 495? Your obgyn's diction not very good?! Whoa... or maybe your EDD will be brought fwd to deliver at wk 37 or something.. heehee... Don't worry la. Just check with obgyn again next visit?

I've heard that Ameda is the more affordable production by Medela. If talking their upper-end electric dual pumps, Medela apparently has better reviews... But I think when it comes to the other pumps, I've read that Ameda is the quieter of the two. I've gotten a Medela Electric... but kinda wished I'd gotten an Ameda instead. But sis tells me I made a good choice. hmmmm.. *puzzled frown*

nozomi, good! Hiao'ness is good! Haha... just rub rub cream on it to soothe the itch lor. Maybe refrigerated fresh aloe vera will help soothe it and keep it moisturised at the same time. Then bb shiver shiver inside. =) On a more serious note, I'm remembering you in prayer for a safe pregnancy. *hug*

OPEN INVITATION TO ALL JUNE'09 MTBs!

WEST'IES MEET-UP

Date: Friday, 13th March 2009
Time: 7pm & after
Venue: Jurong Point (Boon Lay MRT station)

Attendees -
Confirmed: Nozomi, Dovey, Jam75, Chidori, createjoy, Cassey
Tentative: Ling, Mika Rei,
Pending: bbPotato, Jackie, Serene

Organiser: Cassey
Kindly PM me with any positive RSVPs for contact # exchange in case I miss out on posts. THANKS!

Cassey,
thank you for the prayers. i do hope heaven will not 'test' me again..in the same month..
ya, now i've the time to 'hiao' and dolled up abit, will do when i can..heheh..cos' i kw i won't have the time in the near future..

nozomi, now that u mentioned it, topics 2 & 3 are the ones I'm more interested in also. I may change my mind and only sign up for those 2. I haven't sent in the registration form yet