(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Tubbym~, thanks for holding your keyboard (instead of tongue) while waiting for me to have an opportunity to clarify photo 'leak'. =)
ACTUALLY, GRAMPS IS WRONG HOR! Those TWO seats at the end are COLOURED for a reason. Duh. Only one has the 'priority seat' label, but both are technically to be surrendered to us bumpy ppl. HUMPH.

I like the trains in Western Australia - the back panel of priority seat has this HUGE poster of a young guy holding up a picture of an elderly woman against his upper body... with the caption reading somewhere along the lines of 'Who Do You Think You're Fooling?' I can't remember how we know it's a young guy but I remember the jeans-clad legs and one funky sneaker propped up against the knee of the other leg...

I think that'd be great for Sg. Plus a foreigner's induction in their native language when they first come to Sg for whatever reason - employment/marriage/PR... whatever.

sweethalo, OH! At first and second read, I thought it was a typo... supposed to hold UP shirt.
I especially look at bump BARE to try to discern movements... hmm..
Okay, I shall try it while clothed and let you know if there's anything k!

sweethalo, quality? maternity clothing, baby clothing or sling material quality? So u intending to go there to take a look?

Closing toilet door
hahaha.. don't expect you can close toilet door any sooner too. my sis' daughter who is coming 3 this year does not allow her mummy or me if she's staying overnight at my place, she would just cry her lungs outside. Even bathing I also need to bring her in and let her stand at a side. Both my kids also, can't close door previously.

ahnetsan, hahaha... but how come your unmarried sil find it ok when it's loose for u? Thought they should buy your size, not hers. hee.. Don't remind me of the multivits and fish oil, i already stop eating them for weeks. I just hate taking medicine. Yah, I heard from many mummies that stretchmark cream can't help at all but I put it since it's free plus nothing to do with it other than rubbing it up. haha..
I'm using your method as well, writing on notepad. So convenient!!!

Xuan, grats on having a boy. Big head also need umbrella to cover the head, my eldest boy also big head. I don't think the boy's mummy able to tell unless there is a bump or redness at the area the boy banged on.

Hair cutting
I am having long hair too and no intention of cutting it short. Partly is I am lazy to keep going to salon to trim the short hair (I only go once a year currently) and just tie it up when I feel hot, short hair can't do that.

ahnetsan, the boy knocked on his head again?! Feel so pain for the boy..

tubbymummy & bbjun, my secondary teacher has the similar experience just that she got too angry with the students. Feel very sad for her, her baby died in her when she's 6mths pregnant. After that incident, she didn't come back to school, transferred to another school immediately. She's a very nice lady but those boys always dislike her which I don't understand why.

helmet
Perhaps can try those bicycle shop? maybe they do sell..

TubbyMummy, that's y nowadays youngsters no longer get the idea of giving up seat to those who need it more. Sometimes I just feel like writing to the newspaper and request SMART to get those priorty seat wording down cause it doesn't do what it suppose to do, what's the point of putting there? Those who will give up, they will irregardless where they are sitting, those who don't they won't.

Ikea Sale
I have neither of the cards means no sales for me.

sweethalo, you can see the movements? I still can't.
But hubby got "hit" by bb twice when he's lying on my tummy talking to bb.

Cassey, surveying? How come I am lost here. Mailing list? Schedule? I am totally lost now. *cry*

If any of your names being repeated, sorry for that. I used notepad and write what I read. Revenge posting done.

audrewyaw, yeah, it's convenient on notepad right, den jus copy and paste...heehee... haha, ur turn to take revenge on posting...

ling's revenge part 2 is still nowhere to be found......

wow, so cool, ur hubby got 'hit' by bb when he's lying on ur tummy... must be a very sweet experience.

ahnetsan, ya lo. At first I open 2 tabs to reply but that was so troublesome, need to switch here and there. He was shocked when bb "hit" him lo, he actually jumped up when he got it.
I still waiting for ling part 2 revenge post lo, haha..

I JUST SAW IKEA SALES ADVERTISEMENT ON TV 1 MIN AGO!! it stated start tomorrow, I think is open to all. I wan to go. ^^

hey hey

i think IKEA sale is open to public!!!

i jus saw on tv.... got ikea advertisement, saying sale starting tmr!!!

hurray.... dat means got discount lah, despite not member....

gotta ask my hubby go wif me tmr... heng tmr he on leave...hmmm, shall go after our hdb trip and after his servicing of car... hopefully the car servicing wont take too long.... den can go ikea...

ahnetsan, yup. We were just talking about the sales and suddenly it just showed up on tv. I was stunned for awhile when I look at the advertisement and only realise it after commercial finished. Haha..

haha i also leh...

i was thinking hw come got ppl walking ard naked in cardboard boxes... den suddenly i saw the word IKEA. hahahahahaa

cassey, I realized that I only get one offer of seat per week. The rest of the time I need to fight for seats from alighting passengers cos ppl really dun wan to let me have the seat even if it's just two steps away from me!

Thanks, ladies for confirming the sale.

Ikea Sale:
Yes yes, it's open to all inclding NON members, just that I think members get to go in earlier during the sale preview at 8am, while the rest of the people have to wait till the official opening time (10am I think?). Sorry if my post earlier was confusing
TV got advertisement? I was glued to American Idol on Starworld channel, so didn't see anything.

Me will not do night shift tonight, cos wanna sleep a bit earlier. My friend wants to go to the sale at 9am, Wah biang, so early, PIE traffic sure one kind...

Cassey, ya ya, I also thought the first TWO seats are coloured seats indicating Priority, but since there's only a sign over one, can't blame Gramps for happily assuming it's just the one seat. But come on, even if it's only ONE priority seat in the whole train, it's still not the point! Sigh.

audreyaw, your revenge post quite got standard, but think ahnetsan's still longer hahaha... Actually my friend was saying that the Priority sign put at the BACK of people's head seems so pointless. They want they should put it on the glass panel (ith pointy surface, so people can't place head there and fall asleep), or hang a huge sign from the ceiling. Otherwise, like what you say, just remove it, cos it seems utterly pointless. Only in a country like Singapore do people need to be reminded that some people need seats more than other people. Oh ya, u bought Ikea cot before, and got the mattress from somewhere else issit? I also thought their size a bit off, can only buy from there, that's why was planning to buy the mattress, sheets everything from there.

MikaRei, I know what u mean about Ikea sizing not standard, cos I got their comforter, and all my quilt covers are too big on one end. Very irritating. So I was intending to buy many sets of sheets etc to last all the way haha...

Happy meeting up and bumping into each others' bumps at all the upcoming fairs and expos and sales, ladies!
Hubby and I usually take pains to avoid all sales and fairs. Still hasn't changed. =)

ahnetsan & audrey,
if I'm doing "forum OT" and 1 post is super duper long, I'll just halve it and post as 2 posts. hehe... Sometimes even 3 posts. Very vengeful meh?! *innocent face*

bbjun,
what route do you travel on? T'Payoh region right? That's why no one gives up seats, I guess... Central area is dog eat dog world! Each woman for herself! Actually I was trying hard to recall... and think I only stood for 1 short trip. So probably got offered a seat more than 3x this week. I do hope things get better as you get bigger. If not must carry your own walking stick that folds out into a stool. Heehee!!

audrey,
don't worry abt the 'confusion'. You SHOULD be confused. But nvm, I'll explain it here if it'll make anyone feel better ok?

MAILING LISTS: I emailed the known West'ies to set up the West'ies gathering, you see.
So by different mailing lists, I simply mean List 1: G'Jeans Ladies and now, List 2: West'ies.

SURVEY OF SCHEDULES: Via those emails, I did brief 'surveys' of MTBs' schedules in order to figure out when we're all (or mostly) available to meet up.

So you see, I simply took planning of the West'ies Meet-Up behind the forum scenes. Otherwise others may feel left-out. Like when the G'Jeans Gathering came up, full-time working MTBs were turning a bit green. Now West'ies Meet-Up, other area MTBs may be made to feel a bit blue.

"THAT'S WHY." *sound familiar?*

Ling, no worries. I didn't think you would after the clarification.
Hey! Miscomm ah. My man and I have been together 10.5 years... OF WHICH, we've been married 4 years next Thursday. So it's not total 14 years la... just 10.5 years. Hopefully nothing much changes in the next 4 years while we creep towards 14 years though!
*Cassey purrs her hellos to Aunt Ling*

p.s. I don't use oil or balm on myself. Just moisturising cream.. plus thank God no more diarrhoea since that single 4am episode!!

Ling, Tink yr baby girl is the biggest of all at 20wks. So our girls are consider one of the bigger ones (my bb girl 389 gm after verify with gynae during the yest visit. Think the sonograher round up to 400gm when telling me during detailed scan)..

Chidori, same leh, me now 63kg.
Shelisa & Jam 75, think me surely will join yr 70kg gang by then we pop with baby! Have not even reach 60kg during prepreg b4.. *sad* Cant imagine how to shed off those extra kilo of fats!

Cassey, tink its quite common if have swollen noses during later stage. Heard it will happen if preggy with boy. Cos i saw my sil and customer who bear boys both have swollen noses. But again, it may not apply for all. If pple close to you didnt say diff in yr nose, den its ok lor. Tink those ard you commented on yr nose becos u preggy with boy. If its girl, mayb will not comment oreadi. Smtimes is the perception. Hey, so i wont get to see you even for the 1 day class? You delivering at Mt A huh?

Tubbymummy, U no wear 2 inches heels? Im not used to wear flats too, didnt own one(except slippers and sport shoes) until when im preggy at 4th mths den i downgraded to 1.5inch broad heels. But felt still a little tiring if travel long. So bo bian, buy the flats now which i feel so wierd to wear cos usually my office heels is at least 2.5inch& above. But now switch to flats, its really so much comfortable and not so straining liao.

Sourz, me going to the abbott talk too - First mum congress. Tubbymummy too rite?

creamer, me going to abbott talk too, finally signed up couple days back. Was so frustrated with Paypal (I have a few Paypal accounts, it rejected all!) Good luck with the flat shoes! I still haven't plucked up the courage to convert haha... but still feel rather comfy in my 1.5-2 inch heels. I know it'll keep getting worse, but hai, just take it as it comes. But I'm actively looking out for more sensible shoes lah. Just can't find yet...

so have any of u been to the parentcraft workshop? I hv attended 1st 2 lessons of mdm wong ... it was pretty fun ... how abt u ladies ?

morning ladies,

cassey, yes.. I travel along that TPY central route. If I am early, I will meet another mummy boarding at the same station and she is much more preggie than I am. She is quite fast to get seats from alighting passesngers. I let her have seats twice when passengers infront of me alighted. At that time, my bump wasn't even visible.

cheery, hatemenot, merlynzz n myself are gg to attend our second lesson tomorrow. agreed that it is very interesting and informative to have WBB teaching the class.

good morning everyone, read all the posts diligently and don't want to take revenge with superlong post. trying to play nice on V-day eve

Cassey, thanks for organising a 2nd gathering, this time looks like I can make it although why oh why is it in the west? can make it central? then more ppl can join since anyway going to be on friday evening?

Read all the post till
kao_dizzy.gif

I got the GJ pic as well
...All the ladies look so slim n pretty. One or 2 dont even look preggie.....Envy envy.

morning ladies, wa. so many posts and archive when i was away for half day yesterday.

cassey, sorry. not joinin you all tonight cos have family dinner with my IL. hopefully can meet up next time. =D

anyone started taking birdnest? my best friend told me to take it weekly. but my IL dun recommend me to take say it will cause baby to have asthma and phlegm.

any brands to recommend? also, i was told that bottled ones are not as good as those boiled ones.

caramelle, no worries.

Bing, not intending to take birdnest as well, incldg the bottled ones also for fear of BB having asthma n phlegm. Besides, many of the birdnest sold outside has gone thru bleaching process. It wouldn't be good to be giving our BBs these chemicals although the intention was the birdnest.

Hello Ladies,

Maternity Exchange is having its Major Madness Sale Now! Loads of Maternity, and Nursing wear, selected Lingerie and Diaper bags are going for up to 80% off! To get the best deals, shop both in store at Marina Square, #03-108 and online @ http://shop.maternityexchange.sg

SingaporeMotherhood.com readers get an additional 5% off sale items (applicable only at Marina Sq) . Simply print this page (http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/maternity_voucher.htm)and present it upon purchase.

* There's way more stuff at the Marina Square store so make the effort to come down. If you're too busy, then check out the online store instead @ http://shop.maternityexchange.sg

Happy Shopping!

caramelle,
I think chicken essence is fine but I hate the smell so I never take unless it is double boiled with a chicken drumbstick. keke..

creamer,
yeah, verified with my family again yesterday, they said nope. My nose is my regular one, just that on bad days, it tends towards redness and blotchiness cos of the rosacea. You're SO TALL YOU DON'T EVEN NEED HEELS! A forum seller I met up with nagged at me to stop wearing heels (I was just at 5th month) saying 'you don't even need the extra height'. Haha... I've switched to wedges and low-heeled shoes.

<cont'd> Whoa, you want me to pay mt A just to go for first talk to meet you?! Haha.. I'd love to meet you *seldom meet ppl taller than myself but always feel horrid cos they make me feel short and fat*... But no, sorry! I'm not attending even the first talk anymore. *sheepish grin* My hospital of choice is actually Gleneagles... but if the weeks leading up to delivery, complications set in (bb in breech position, gestational diabetes, pre-eclampsia, etc.), then for the sake of keeping costs down, I'll opt for Mt. A instead. But if all goes well, Gleneagles, here I come! =)

Thanks, caramelle and bbjun, for clarifying date with bing.

bbjun,
there you go! You just need to get big and heavy and clumsy and walk with a waddle... my sis jokes put one hand on bump, another on back... then ppl think aiyo, poor woman. But then surely fall down cos cannot hold pole.. =)

caramelle,
Pls feel free to go ahead n organise a central one! In the meantime, glad you can make it and look fwd to seeing you then.

Re: bird's nest
Pro-bird's nest ppl say it gives bb beautiful skin. Anti-bird's nest ppl say it causes asthma and phelgm.

Really, I don't see how consumption of bird's nest can 'HARM' the bb significantly. Bird's nest is NOT typically taken in large quantities on a daily basis or anything. Usually just a small serving once a week or so. My mum gives sis and me home-made bird's nest with ginseng every few weeks. My sis' MIL also makes it for her so she's prob getting it every fortnight. I sometimes make my own too, when I can be bothered..

Having said so, if I'm hoping to reap the benefits of bird's nest, I wouldn't bother with the bottled ones. Bottled products usually contain more preservatives and additives than others. Also, they may contain more sugar, less bird's nest. I WOULD still drink it though - just because it's yummy!

*off to have nice lunch with hubby, see ob-gyn and have nice dinner with hubby again!*

G'Jeans Girls,
I must confess I'm not-so-secretly ELATED that these ppl are saying there are NO FAT ones in the picture!!!
Whoa, even better, they're saying ALL look slim leh! I choose to absolutely believe them!
And privately hope none of the rest of you slender ones feel 'insulted' to be compared to me. heehee...
Plus, I can guess who the 2 chicks are - the 2 tofu skin ones!! *wink wink*

Hi ladies, so sorry that I had actually forwarded the GJ photo to some of the ladies who were not there and not forwarded to some of them who were there! As my hotmail was previously down and I was not able to retrieve the correct email with the correct pple and thus had unknowingly used the wrong one to forward...

Hope it had not caused too much inconvenience to you!

However, I think it shouldn't ve done any harm since those who were not there will not know who is who as there were no names tagged on the pix! Only issue is only if they give themselves away by giving too much description...etc about themselves. ;D

Cassey, was gonna say yesterday that I don't think you're fat. And I'm not just saying it to be nice

Serene! Long time nvr see u post leh... Come in and chit chat more often lah

Ikea sale:
I went Ikea sale. CHAY. So boring. No baby things on sale. Ok, only the hanging decoration/mobile was reduced to $15 (or $19) I think. Other than that, all the sale items don't appeal to me. Ended up buying a couple of things that were not even sale items haha. Oh well.

Eh, today so quiet??

Xuan..haha. so funny lah you!

ahnetsan, think your PILs should be more careful with baby rather than needing to buy protective gear!

TubbyMummy,
Ikea sales nothing much ah? Was still hoping the wardrobe i am eyeing for my boi got discount. Like that i dont waste time gg down tml

Hi tubbymummy!
I'm not so much of a "poster" lei haha.. jus a faithful reader. Aredi having hard time to finish reading all the postings that u gals post.. by the time I catch up u all are aredi on the next 10th topic le keke!

Btw I'm kinda waiting for you to post the ikea $79 bb cot pix lei heehee... Did u buy it in the end??

ahnetsan, I really think the BB needs that helmet!!!

aiya.. the Ikea sale like that, might as well go down on a less crowded day to get the thgs I want. So disappointing.

Jackie, I don't remember seeing the children cupboard having offer. You talking about the blue one right? I think no discount. Think there was discount for one of the extendable single beds, so can use from toddler till older. Sorry I didn't pay a lot of attention to the bigger kid section, cos I was mainly hunting for baby bargains haha.

Serene, no need to post a lot lah,once in a while say hi can liao hehe.

Serene/Xuan, I double checked, REALLY got $75 cot, so confirm it wasn't I cock-eye saw wrongly last time haha. But I forgot to take the pic! I didn't buy it in the end, cos it wasn't a sale item, so no rush to get it (my hubby hasn't seen it yet, so I wanna show him first). It's not featured on the website, but it looks exactly like this:

http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/product_display.asp?art=80117591-4723-10-23-683488870-99086361

This item is for the teething rail, but the bed they show is the $75 one. Very simple, no frills kind. It's sturdy, but some parents may not feel secure enough? My friend got 3 kids, so quite experienced, and she said the bed is ok, so I believe her haha. The base can be adjusted to 2 different heights. But the whole cot frame is pretty low (like the rest of the cots they sell), so there's no need to have one side that drops down to take baby out. Some cots selling outside are like that too. But this is the main reason I'm reconsidering, cos I have back problems, and may need to have a cot that's taller so I don't have to keep bending. The Ikea cot with the base at the higher height (when baby is younger) is still ok for me, but when child grows bigger and the bed based has to be lowered, then it's a bit too low for me. If I get a playpen to use as bed, may also have same problem. But don't know this for sure, cos child not born yet what, won't be able to foresee the actual problems, which may not even arise.

But hubby's theory is that it's so cheap anyway, can always just get, and if in future really find not suitable cos too low, then go and get another one. Hmmm...