(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo, no weird stuff. Just some antenatal exercise and precaution steps to take when getting up n down that WBB will recommend u to do. If not stretchable, abit difficult to do squats oso.

chidori, i so agree! doesnt mean i give less means i love/appreciate them less. could be that's all i can afford after paying off my bills, loans, instalments etc right?

i wonder how it will change if i no longer working..sigh..anyone got lobang for work from home?

Ling> dats y ive been telling my hubby to reduce the amt he give his mother... im nt wrking nw leh... and everything needs expenses, plus bb coming etc... den of cos i will make noise one lor...

ahnetsan, tough situation you are in. i pray for your strength to go through it and hopefully hubby can realise what's best for the family and take it forward from there.

ladies, if you got contacts for massage lady and want me to call and ask in malay, just PM me her contact. i will compile in a list and share with everyone here okay?

going off for the day now, drank apple juice earlier and BB DID NOT LIKE IT cos im feeling very squirmy inside. talk to u tonight or tmr morning..bye!

yeah lor... nw wif my hubby the only one wrking and he has to support me and bb nw... his pay minus off car loan, both our credit card bills, hp bills, he's practically left wif very little left le... somemore stil must give his mother... cant his mother jus be automative and say since nw i nt wrking, might as well dun give her allowance first... if she said dat, i tel u, i will love her deep deep lor...

i wonder wat will the market be like after june... will it difficult to find job?? i wan to stay as long as possible to take care of my boy myself... i read dat babies should be taken care by parents during the 1st year, best for bb and parents... but if i can only work after my boy is 6months old, den im very happy le.

ahnetsan, can empathize. Some parents are just ver weird. I have a fren who faces this prob as well. No matter how much is given to the parents oso not enuf. If TV spoil, will say she spoil one and ask her to go n buy a new one when she didn't watch it! Work out the expenses that u think will come in with BB (medical, vacinnation, insurance, savings for education, etc), project the cashflow and show to your hb. Dun force him to give less cos it's difficult for him not to be filial... given his character. At least, make him aware of the financial situation n discuss on how to be prepared to manage those. I think he will appreciate u taking the efforts to make sure he is still able to make ends meet and may realize that he may have to give a bit lesser to parents when tough times come.

chidori, thanks for the info.. a bit panicky just then.. but my class would be the 4:30 one.. hope it remains the same.. gosh, chidori, $600 is not a small amount.. and she still complain ??? Did ur hb tell her that ur bb is coming ?? I'm thankful that altho my mil always lost her $$ at mahjong & lotteries, but everytime my hb gives her allowances, she'd ask if we have enough to use, to safe for the bb, she told him that you're gonna have a baby soon, if you need to save the money, no need to give us..

Re. ginger
bbjun's right, I also heard try not to take ginger early post-delivery, esp if we'll be breastfeeding.. whatever food we take, would be affecting the BM..

caramelle, ahnetsan,
i fully understand your dilemma in reducing allowance.. thats one reason I cannot not work..else got to reduce my MIL and my mum allowance..
my mum will be ok but my MIL will create hell for us.. imagine, she calls my hubby every month on his pay day to remind him to deliver her allowance to him..

chidori, you too!? Whoa... so many of us. sweethalo, bing, yourself and me too. =)

Ling, not in the same class after all.. =( I agree that priority should be saving.. but his parents saved and scrimped, denying themselves to bring him up. The least he can do is give them a token each month from what he has. This amount can be adjusted when family circumstances change, but especially if you're living with them, then I do think it's only right to be giving them a love gift. When you do move out, amt can be reduced. It doesn't always have to be a monetary figure. It can be taking care of the electricity bills or paying for their insurance... things like that, if they're comfortable with it.

heheh... we must take photos! kekeke... maybe they can update the photos of the TMC books...hahaha

bbjun = thanks! Can't wait to attend

ling,
mine is the 7pm one.. think u can call them to confirm though its hard to get through..

my MIL believes only in herself and money.. she is the financial controller in her marriage.. my FIL gives her his salary and draws pocket money from her..
when my baby is born.. my hubby is supposed to give her $600 (allowance) + $500 (take care of baby in the day).. I still wondering how to negotiate with her..

argh, im gg to digress a bit here....

i jus heard a loud thug!! the one my mil babysitting nw has jus banged his head on the floor AGAIN!! and again, it's under fil's care!!! everyday other day he sure make the 10mth old bb bang head one... imagine my room door is closed, and downstairs doing construction, noisy already, and yet i can stil hear the loud thug....

den i got pissed off, i went out and say he bang head again ar... den idiot fil can stil say nvm la, bb 'praying respects to him mah' dats y bang head on floor lor!!

wtf lor.... every other day bang head, the boy sure become idiot one day one!!!!

wtf!!!!!!!!!! i jus sms my hubby complained to him again.... i really dun wan to let my ils take care of my boy next time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

chidori, WHOA! Your MIL is like a military mum! Both sets of my parents are quite laidback although my ILs are quite strapped for cash. But they don't ask. We'll just give.

I have someone to say something to but can't remember.... *think think think*

oh! I think it's you, chidori. Wear pants doesn't mean do wierd stuff. Just maybe sit on floor, leg raises, stretching, blah di blah.. I was hoping needn't wear trainers so I asked and YIPPEE!!! We'll be barefoot. Put those stinky holey socks away!! Anyway, it's the first THREE lessons, not just the first.

sweethalo, whoa you think we're so "photogenic" that they'll want to use our pictures?! Seriously, the photos in the current booklets are really poor huh? *tsk tsk*

ahnetsan, WHHHAAAATTT?! Abuse! Abuse!! Go save the poor kid!

wah chidori, knock some sense into ur mil's head!!! not everyone is earning millions every month you know??!! she's too much lor

chidori
wOw..did ur mil herself request to add another $500 on top of ur allowance?? I think it too much to ask of since that her grandchild too

wtf lor, the child is jus under ur nose leh, and yet you can jus let him bang head on floor.... and it's fucking hard marble floor lor!!! wat the f is he doing, is this called taking care of bb.... under his nose can happen such thing le, imagine bb alone in walker somewhere in the house....

bbjun> yah lor, my heart also stopped lor, dats y i went out and see... and i wan to show dat i knw wat's gg on outside despite im behind closed doors!!!!

like dat hw to let u all babysit my boy!!!!!
it's worse than letting maid to take care bb or those infant child care!!!!!!!!!!!

ahnetsan,
sorry to say this...thats why i dont really like the nannies too. u never know what happens daily at their plc. imagine if the parents knew. so sim-tia loh.

u must take care of ur boy urself!

i will take care of my boy myself...

but after a few mths, my hubby sure to tel me go work one... den i will haf to let them babysit...

unless i ask my mother to do... but will it be weird, me staying wif ils, but ask mother to babysit? wat will they think? but if i compromise, den i haf a bloody difficult time!!!!!!!!!!

ahnetsan,
save the poor child.. yah.. think u better take care of your kid yourself..

well, she is not wrong in saying that if I employ a nanny I will also need to pay the nanny $500 at least.. but she does not see that the $600 allowance that we give to her is quite substantial to us.. and saying that we want to reduce her allowance will make her call and scream at me for hours..
well... this is just one of the incidents..thats my MIL.. haha...

chidori, ur MIL is really lion open big mouth lor. i think i would rather give $500 to a nanny than give her in that case. and then don't give her allowance. btw is ur HB the only child?

ahnetsan, think if u start working, better install camera in the house to monitor baby. ur PIL sounds scary. hmm..

ahnetsan, between a rock and a hard place... between the devil and the deep blue sea... What choices can you make!?!
It must be really depressing. No wonder all yours whites are sprouting...

Mika Rei & Dovey, haven't seen you around.. Pls check PM (email) and revert asap. Thanks!

indeed... very scary ... but my hubby seems to think they are ok... no matter hw often i complain to him abt the way his parents babysit, he will say nvm one, bang a bit wont kill one.
feel lk crying... den he also say mayb if own grandchild, they will extra take care leh??
but the point is the boy they babysitting nw, they call themselves the grandparents already lor... yet stil take care until like dat.

in laws
Guess i am one of the lucky ones who don't stay with in laws and living super far away too. So I only see them once a year during cny so our relationship still not bad. I can't stand others who don't respect one's privacy. We are no longer kids!

Babysitting
Both my hubby and I had already decided i will quit my job after maternity to take care of the bb. Anyway I don't trust either babysitter or maid, is either me or my mummy take care of bb. My sis had her girl taken care of a babysitter who lived upstairs. She gave her sweets at young age, let her nap till 7 plus, 8pm and thus unable to sleep at night & she actually tie her leg to walker when she started walking and climbing. She even had the cheek to ask my sis who happened to see that if she mind or not. In the end, she put her into childcare centre.

Dear Ahnetsan,
wow, that's scary! I mean how can like that? I remembered the nanny who lived beside my mom also very jia luk. The boy they took care was on a tricycle. Her older son was on the back, pushing the tricycle fwd. Suddenly the tricycly flipped and the poor boy knocked his head on the floor. The knock was so loud that we from a few doors away heard the bang and the child cried like mad! Tell you, I just cannot let nanny take care!

My mum and sisters don't think I can handle the baby alone when I am not working for 1 yr. Is it that difficult or impossible? I mean, they meant well to remind me, but I just cannot understand how can I not able to, when others can? I don't want to get a maid, cos I don't want extra cost for no reason! Hubby got to take care of us with 1 income, how can I ask for more!!!

I stayed on our own. My IL is very careful, but cannot control kid. Will let them do what they want. I cannot tahan. Somemore cannot tell her off. So forget it! As for my mom, I don't want to stress her and dad. They are going bonkers with my nieces and nephews already!

re allowance, I will not give my mom as I will not be working. As for MIL, I never bother cos I also tell my hubby don't bother with how much I give my mum and dad.I give them quite a fair bit when I am working. My mom has her business, so she still quite ok.

Ahnetsan- hmm.. tough situation. How about consider taking in another child to take care- maybe that allowance you can keep for yourself and baby?

seems like every household got their own sets of problems. haiz...

why nobody same antenatal class as me????

went for gynae visit today. asked about the hardening. actually, gynae was saying could be contractions but as long as it's not regular and not painful, it's fine. think it's what pple called as Braxton Hicks?? And another reason could be becos the bb movement is so much, the uterus kind of have a reflex action, thus the squeezing feeling - in layman term la....

Wah, I just read through THREE pages of posts, and I'm feeling short of breath!

Expo baby fair gang:
I should also be going on 27 Feb! I know quite a few of you going as well, but my brain can't process so many posts, so if we're meeting up there, can someone PM me please?

Confinement "payment":
It didn't even cross my mind that I have to give my mother money!!! Wah, I think I'm not a very good daughter. But she won't wanna take money from me, I already know that. Then how? Think I'll just force her to take some, treat it as reimburse her for grocery shopping.

Massage lady:
ahnetsan, my old meighbour haven't called me leh. Maybe she thinks I deliver in June, it's still early now. I don't have her number also, so I will ask my mum to go bug her hehe. I got any news will post here. BTW, I'm gonna add on to the rest of those preaching - pls buy car seat
. I will have Moses basket too, but more for sleeping, and fixing onto my stroller, and a car seat for the car. In fact, I will be bringing the car seat along when I check out of hospital (cos will be taking cab home, my hubby doesn't drive, and I don't expect to drive myself home). Plan on strapping the car seat into taxi back seat. I am FANATICAL about road safety. I don't understand those ppl who let their toddler sit on their mum's legs in the front passenger seat!!

First Mum congress:
I'm such a procrastinator. I still haven't sign up haha. But I will either later or tmr morning. So see u there creamer! And some other ppl going too right? Once again, if we're meeting up there, someone pls PM me ok? Thanks thanks.

Ikea sale:
Is it really on?? Can anyone confirm? Couldn't find any info on their website.

First aid / CPR:
I'm thinking of sending both my mum and myself for infant CPR course. I'm certified in adult CPR, but my training for infant/children is very basic. Anyone thought of taking up infant CPR too? And anyone know of a good place that offers the course? I found a couple, but they're the comprehensive 3-day course meant for childcare teachers, which I don't think I need. I'm looking at a 1-day course that covers basics.

Brazilian wax:
Anyone here got recommendations? I've never been, and wanna try
But I heard must find someone experienced in "doing" preggies.

Hair dyeing:
I'm definitely going for it. Thinking of making appointment for sometime this week. I can't stand my hair!

tubbymummy, u can go to holland Village, a place called Wax Affair (it's above subway sandwich). The lady, Diana, is very experienced. But during pregnancy, it's not advisable for brazilian wax. Bikini wax is ok. I used to do brazilian but stopped when we were TTC-ing, just in case. Reason stated in a book I read was that the hot wax will reach your libia which may be too high a temp for BB.

U must call for appt n I think they don't open on Sunday n one of the weekday. Her number is 90010274. She is very frenly... and she is an indian. I understand she is trained overseas.

hi all, been following the thread but not posting much...

Re: Expo baby fair
i was told by my colleague that usually can find good offers for baby toiletries such as bath, shampoo, lotion, diapers, etc.. (not sure if this has change)
anyway, i'll be going as next to my office only..

expo hall 6B (27 feb 09 to 1 mar 09)
11am till 9pm / sunday 11am till 8pm..
free admission
www.family.sg

Qsn: any1 bought baby carrier/slings yet?
am thinking of getting from this BP but not sure if this carrier is safe enough? or will the baby slings like like MIM better? or carriers like baby bjorn? any advise?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2134781.html?1234178498

Thanks bbjun! Can I know roughly how much the charges are? I didn't know can't do brazilian. I've been thinking about it, and when I more or less decided to try it, I searched on this forum, and it seems like quite a few preggies get brazilian done before delivery so they do not have to risk being shaved, so I thought it was ok...

sweethalo:
I went Taka today. In case u haven't bought any Avent sets, these are the steriliser bundle deals that I saw:

<u>1) $188 set</u>
- Express Electric steriliser box set, which includes steriliser, 2x pacifiers, 1x 4oz bottle, 1x 9oz bottle, 2x teats, brush, teat tongs
- Magic Cup 6mos
- Insulated/cooler bag that can hold 2 bottles
- 2 additional pacifiers 3-6mos
- Baby body/hair wash
- Baby massage gel
- Baby bottom balm

<u>2) $155 set</u>
- Express steriliser box set (as above)
- 1 bolster
- 1 pillow
- 1 additional 9oz bottle
- 1 pair weaning spoons 6mos+

* Note: All bottles included are not BPA free.

My friend told me that there is also a similar set available at Robinsons at $195, but I haven't seen it to see if it's the same as the above set no. 1. Maybe with the 7% GST absorption, it will work out to be cheaper is it's same set.
HTH

tubbymummy, it has been some time since i went there. I can't remember if Brazilian wax is $35 or $40. I usually do it together with my legs n arms, so I can't really rem the itemized pricing.

brazilian wax... i'm thinking of doing it also..... i realise that the "hair" kind of grows faster and it's like all so messy and long. argh.

Hi Xuan,
I have not bought a carrier, but am thinking of getting the Ergo Baby Carrier. Reason is cos I read somewhere before that it is more friendly to the back than a BabyBjorn. None of my friends use a sling, so I got no feedback there, sorry. But if you're thinking of a carrier, one thing to consider is that a baby should be carrier by the whole bum and the legs should be bent naturally forward at the hip, like as if the child is sitting (e.g. the pic of the Pupsik sling). Apparently this is what's best for a baby's developing spine. Carriers like BabyBjorn carries the child up by the crotch, which I read on some website that it's not good (sorry I don't remember which website I read that haha). If you look at the pics on their website you'll know what I mean. Carrying by the crotch puts a lot of strain on a delicate area... Just some info I picked up from my net surfing. HTHs

bbjun, no worries I'll call her tomorrow and check. Thanks a lot!

lovelytulips, ya irritating right?? I think with waxing the regrowth will be finer. Thinking of timing the waxing sessions so that I'll get one done just few days before delivery. Don't wanna have to deal with HAIR after delivery!

Re: carseat- I recently visited my fren who gave birth in Jan at the hospital when she delivered. Apparently, can't use infant car seat for a newborn. Hubby said 1 DAY OLD still too delicate to put in it. Maybe we need to double check with pedi first abt that.

My fren carried baby in arms

huh?? tubbymummy i catch no ball hw does pupsik sling look like? i be going on 27 feb aftn too, will be going w my sis hopefully she can sneak out from wk. in case i see any of u but no reaction haha pls pardon me, do call me cos i shortsighted but refuse to wear spect &amp; not comfy w contact lens..

paying IL:
yup my hb &amp; i give $400 for staying w MIL though nwadays she seldom cook but as long as we working i think it's fair to pay her since we stay w her &amp; FIL not ard already, she will need $ since she's not working. qt siong now lor cos i quitted my job since nov $ running low.intend to pay her extra $500 for cooking for me during confinement. cos the tonic not cheap lor. last time i miscg she bought $1k tonic and refuse to tk our $ but still must try to give lor if she hap to be short of $ think she will accept. i also pay my own parents though i dont stay w them. i felt indebted to them for my yrs with them now they old already still slog for life,i'm not rich enough to support them no need work but at least give some, my mum knows how to save up so it will come handy during their rainy days.

Wow... there are really too many posts to catch up with! I, miss ketchup, can't catch up with the fast moving posts!!! =)

Cassey, shelisa and pigletgir1, thanks for all ur advices. I do sleep with loose clothings... Gynae said it's pregnancy eczema... i wanna faint! Is there such a thing? other docs said it's hormonal changes. Poor hormones, kena blamed for everything! anyway, Thanks ladies. It's getting better. itch on tum-tum --> GONE! rash is healing! hooray! but now, itch on arms, hands, legs and feet.

Hi hweeling, nice to know that someone's gg to deliver the same day as me! and we're both having boys. =)

sweethalo: Ya, I think the bundle so-so only, cos stuff like the baby wash etc I won't use, some more the bottles not BPA free, that's why end up I didn't consider. Maybe better to buy separately? Re: carseat - U mean the hospital said the newborn cannot sit in infant car seat to go home? Is it because the car seat they had was not meant for NB-12mos? Or because the baby was a preemie? Cos from what I know, in some countries, it is hospital policy that your child MUST leave in a car seat. I think if the baby is a preemie, then there may be some issues (too small, not "sturdy" enuf?), but if baby is full term, there shouldn't be a problem, they're not as delicate as we think. If baby is carried in arms, and if accident should happen (choy!), baby may either get flung out from the person's arms, or get crushed between chest and arms of the carrier... But like u said, maybe best to ask a PD
I just find it quite sad that Singapore is very lax when it comes to car seat rules. I mean, they got rules lah, but who's patrolling?

createjoy: hehe... I referred to Pupsik sling cos Xuan posted a link for the BP of pupsik sling. I also got bad eyesight but refuse to wear glasses! Hahaha... I got 300+ degrees each eye from astig. So end up we prob won't see each other!

cassey,r u meeting khaw to collect bib or by post? if self collect can help me buy the:
GAP SETS (2PCS LONG SLEEVE ROMPER)
I LOVE MOMMY &amp; DADDY SET
SIZE: 3-6MOS
PRICE: $9.00 INCL NORMAL POSTAGE
i collect from u during our next meeting heehee think she prob will disc $0.50 if i lonbang u self collect :p not working must save $ leh , sigh think my hb is going to be out of job for a short time hopefully... long story...anyway he tendered... so angry w him.

Sweethalo, u brought 3-6mth also right got open see is it very small? am hesitating to buy 3-6 or 6-12...

haha tubbymummy, hi-5!so we r nt the only ones stubborn about straining our eyes...

Createjoy- think TubbyMummy bought the Gap sets- i didn't buy it

Tubbymummy- the baby was full term, not premie and I think their carseat is really the infant one ie. NB-9mths type... so i was abit confused too