(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

cassey> for me and hubby, it's sad to say that living wif in-laws really has no freedom and no privacy at all. we used to bathe together in the middle of the night when everyone is asleep, hoping no one will wake up to use the toilet. haha... and cannot wear flimsy or sexy pj at home, im always in t-shirts and shorts... boring de

shelisa
there's once incident that my bro was not allowed to enter one of his friend's house as the mum knew that i was doing confinement at my mum house & forbid my bro from entering her house...it is also due to this ' pan tang' reason?? i still dun get it..

sweethalo
i will go check out... does the recipe looks good??? haha

Why did it re-post?!

Shelisa, I was saying, whoa 30y/o is NOT too young to know what married ppl get up to behind closed doors... next time you try the sneaky silent bedroom adventure thing. It's quite a turn-on... knowing someone's on the other side of the door while you're getting hot and heavy.. *too much info* Ok, me stop here.

sweethalo, nope! If I had, I wouldn't switch... Mt A classes smaller, that's why I was quite keen... but they said I only have to pay on first day of course. So now I'm backing out. *Oops*

Kikismom -yeah sounds good... but where to get pigeon or goose huh??? hahahha

Mine is in English (jus checked) but the one in Big Bookshop is billingual. I shld hv bought it.

sweethalo
can eat pigeon & goose mah during confinement?? y my mum keep cooking fish & liver for me to eat whahaha.. i guess got to buy them from the wet market...

ahnetsan, can! Can wear raise-the-temperature lingerie... just have to wait til you're done for the day and turning in for the night. I also had to take out all my auntie PJs when ILs were staying with us... but once we retire for the night, switch back to the other stuff...

kikismom, confinement is believed by the superstitious to be a period of uncleanness and also bad luck. But your friend's mum is SO SO SO superstitious and mean to shut your bro out. =(

kikismom, how did you take it out?? mine is cabriofix, we got to the bit where the belt was linked to the seat cover and then we figured no way to take it out unless you remove the stitches of the belt and sew back later which i DON'T RECOMMEND because you compromise safety of the seat. they use special thread to sew which we won't get.

if you want to get new cover, i was told mothercare can order for u. costs abt $150 which is almost half the price of the thing! but if you see my post abt the styrofoam, you can understand why
i checked at the harbourfront branch, got no stock so when they order they will call me. usually they say will bring in 4 or 5 colors only.

are you sure you cannot put it back on? if you staying near punggol, maybe my hubby and yours can put it back together. for us, since we cannot wash we are going to buy the summer cover (which i think is abt $50?) then cover over the cloth cos mine is 2nd hand and buy from ang moh some more! *shudders at the thought of germs!*

sweethalo, buy gold for your MIL lah. even though not money..it's the closest mah

for me im staying at my mum's and she said she won't take money from us. but like what sweethalo said, maybe get her a gift. maybe gold!

haha sweethalo, me too... been grumbling abt my white hairs since 1st trimester... but my hubby say never mind la, dun risk... i was thinking risk wat... even gynae say can liao, so should be safe mah... aiyah...

kikismom- there are some recipe put pigeon - but didn't kn Singapore got sell leh... I was joking with my mum, ask my father to go to the park and catch ah? hehhee

I think your mum cooks alot of fish for u for breastfeeding ba... but confinement usually can eat pork, chicken too right?

Ahnetsan- I bought a packet of Henna natural hair dye without ammonia from last Robinson's sale but still didnt use it... somehow dono why - Henna is supposed to be natural and no ammonia.

sweethalo, ahnetsan, go and dye!! 2nd tri best time.
Same as the painting myth. Fumes may trigger nausea. Although they do say if DIY'ing, be careful to avoid smearing dye directly onto the scalp. But apparently, hairdressers usually only apply to hair, so harmful chemical stuff doesn't get absorbed into skin.

Quote:
If you're ... concerned, consider waiting to color your hair until the second trimester, when your developing baby is less vulnerable. Also, rather than using an all-over hair color, consider a process like streaking, highlighting, painting, or frosting, in which the chemicals have little or no contact with your scalp. (Any hair-coloring agents absorbed into your system would come through your skin, not through your hair shaft.)

Excerpt:
I'm a hairstylist and as far as coloring your hair while your pregnant, as long as you are having your hair colored in a salon environment the only thing that may go wrong in the coloring process is that because of the hormone fluctuations in your body the color may not take properly, cover properly or lighten properly. Professional hair colorings are Analine derivatives , which means that they are vegetable based colors and most contain little (less than 1%) amonia or no amonia at all! Henna dyes are not only hard on the hair they are a metalic base, which means that they contain leads, coppers, or other metals. They are only found in drugstores not in salons!

hmmm, i must persuade my hubby to let me go dye hair... but if i dye nw in feb, the white hairs will be out again by april... den from april to june, i will be ugly again...

So far, the hairstylist I remember always slap on the dye like gila, where got avoid scalp? And if they avoid scalp then how to make sure roots are coloured... might s well save the money then..hehee

ahnetsan, seriously?! Your hair grows very fast neh.

sweethalo, they do it, but they do it on the hair, even close to the roots. I know cos I used to DIY dye for my mum and she gets a great dye job. But when I do for myself, my scalp gets stained. =(

Caramelle - hehe.. I am not sure who started asking about paying MIL for confinement.... but my mum is doing confinement for me... plus my parents are living with me... but still think I will get them a gift.

cassey> its nt my hair dat grows fast, it's the white hairs...
i dunno y , but those chucks of white hairs i haf also come out very fast... haiz

sweethalo, u sure you wanna travel so far for *ruffle your hair and sayang sayang*?!
After I go to WBB's class, can also provide massage service huh?
No reply for querida abt Fri meetup for bibs collection yet neh.

*whoa, I think bb knows I'm getting him nice nice bibs. He keeps squirming...
I feel so much gurgling going on these days whenever I sit at computer.. Maybe he likes typing noise.. Hmmm....

ahnetsan, I read before about soya bean milk, they said it's good if we're having a bb girl, but if having bb boy, drinkin soya bean will make the bb has lots of feminine features.. but again, dunno if it's true or not, I've been drinking it 2-3 times a week.. I agree that living with in-laws could be tough.. never thought I'd be able to and moved in there thinking it would be temporary, but it's been more than a year now..

Re. WBB Antenatal Class
Ladies, anyone knows for sure which one is the correct one then ? I have registered and paid for 14th March, the receipt also stated that date, and so far, nobody from TMC called or informed me if any change of date..

Re. BB Fair
caramelle/stickymouse/shelisa/createjoy, hope to see you all there at Expo fair.. I should be there on Friday afternoon, stickymouse, I also applied leave for half day..

Re. Post-natal massage
I agree that Khatidjah seems very exp.. she's using some lemongrass oil, and she's not using jamu at all I heard, while from my friend, she told me that she had jamu massage after her delivery, and it is very good.. I'm a bit worried as lemongrass would be quite yellowish and if it gots to any fabric it'll leave stains.. and some of us in this thread live in the west, she's charging additional transport fee for westies.. so I think I'll be searching for other alternatives..

Re. Paying MIL/mum
Um.. just curious, ladies (both who lives with in-laws and those who are not), do you/ur hb give monthly allowances to ur in-laws ?

Ling> my hubby does give allowances to his mother. a few hundreds... and i keep telling him to reduce cos we already quite broke le, plus wif bb coming, where got extra money to give her.. besides she always go out at night to play mahjong, can win wat.. and she also wins our money at mahjong when we play at home. and her cooking is not exactly super great... i've only ate a bit since i got pregnant.... jus dun like it anymore le.

ahnetsan n sweethalo, I oredi dyed my hair once at the start of 2nd trimester (mid dec) n now planning for second one at the end of 2nd trimester cos the whites are showing again (hair grow super fast as well).

My hairstylist painstakingly took extra precaution to use the highlight technique with aluminium foils to avoid touching my scalp even though gynae gave the go ahead to dye. She said twice, at most 3 times.

If u worry about dye touching ur scalp, u may want to contact my hairstylist if dying to get a hair dye. Just PM me.

* to add, my hairstylist to have pregnancy safe hair dye as well. But only one colour - black.

Ling, are you also in the 7-9pm class? Close to the date, I guess we can call to confirm. Hubby and I don't live with either set of parents, but we give monthly allowances to both sets and will continue to even after I stop working.

Re: Masseurs
What about Mdm Noor? Does she do west? Those interested can call her at 9004 8804. Got her contact some months ago, off same thread recommending Katijah.

caramelle
I got to ask my hb cos he is the one who remove the cover then i let u know but never go & remove the stitches..

I tried but i still can't cover back anyway my old cover has already faded due to expose under the sun so got to change a new cover..huh so x to buy a new cover...I got mine from bb hypermart.. dunno whether they charge cheaper that mothercare ..got to give them a call

Cassey, tat e point. She is old enough but she still so not automatic.

kikismom, ya. this is 'pan tang' lor. they scare men step inside liao will be damn unlucky. my family is those very very 'pan tang' type. that y i chose to do confinment myself.

Ling
my hb din give monthly allowances to my mil but he gave her a lump sum hong bao on her birthday & on chinese new year..but I give my mum monthly allowance- a few hundreds

ahnetsan, i only hear that cannot eat too much tau huay as got "cement" powder and it'll make us ka neng.

Shelisa, i've never heard such stuff regarding the pantang stuff. wa.. i agree it's a bit too much after we have to suffer thru the birth pains and 9 months. i hope that my MIL is quite "modern" in that regard. cos she got tell me b4 how she suffered under her MIL. maybe that's why she's actually quite ok with me.

Re: hard stomach
the hard "lump" is not after meals. it happens after i bathe and am relaxed which is 2-3 hours after meals and also in the middle of the nite. for after meals, the stomach is just very stretched and firm. you can actually see the lump pop up and then subside :p

Re: Paying MIL/mum
we also got take into consideration how much we have to pay to if we actually get a confinement lady. also the extra confinement food expenses. so we figure for that one month, it should be reasonable to give 1.5k. and let her know that we would like her to take care fully for both nite and day. regarding monthly allowance, i give my mom. my hb, cos he was studying the past 2 plus years and saving for the wedding, he just paid for the utility/cable bills. shld be giving now that he graduated and MIL will soon be taking care of baby.

Ling- wow we will be in the same class too...

Abt the confusion of dates- I really don't kn. Cos my Class schedule was stated 21 MAr, maybe someone forgot to cancel and write in 14 Mar.

Re: Mthly Allowance.
Yeah, we give to our parents both sides. I think it's a good practice, afterall they brought us up.

toffeecat, my MIL is ok quite moderm.. Is my side, damn damn 'pan tang'. So i rather at home do confinment, let that whoever come, my mommy wont know.

cassey/shelisa
my bro came back told me abt tat his friend's mum say he's dirty & will dirty her house & i was like huh??? she's so mean...

sweethalo
can eat poultry.. depends on how ur mum cook them..my mum will only cook them with ginger & the portion she cook is like to feed 3-4 people which was only meant for me & expect me to finish all up moreover she's those typical housewife tat never waste food
.. so i got to find new recipe for her to ease my suffer whahaha...

WBB says soya bean milk is good. But she said those sold at the market is no good.. think she was trying to say it's too diluted to have any nutrients. In any case, everything in moderation. Don't need to drown ourselves with soya bean milk just becos it's good.

hey, i read somewhere in babycenter (i think) dat if we were to bf, best to avoid caffeine, coke, and ginger... but hor, confinement food always got ginger one right??

hmm, guess i will continue to take soya bean milk, esp the ones from mr bean... not take everyday den can le ba i guess. haha

I think if we are taking ginger or brandy in confinement food, best to bf the baby first, then eat. After a few hours should be fine.

The most use the milk that was stored up before we hv eaten

ling, sweethalo,

I just called to sign up for the 14th Mar Sat 7 to 9pm class. They did not mention about any date change wor..

Re:ginger
My CL said we dun take ginger in the first week or so after delivery cos I was telling her I m so looking fwd to zhu jiao chu! Then she said... not so fast la but I will cook nice nice for u. LOL. It gels with what WBB shared in class that the first 9-10 days of delivery, we shd avoid ginger cos it passes onto our breastmilk and overloads our BB's liver, may result in jaundis. Something like that. Merlynzz n hatemenot, pls correct me if I rem wrongly.
But she agrees that ginger will help us clear the wind in our joints.

ahnetsan my dear, are you expecting boy or girl? if boy, i suggest you suck it in that your hubby giving money to your MIL. when i suspected i was having boy (don't know where i got the idea from in my first tri), i was very kind to my MIL (i still am lah). like what Cassey said once, later our children treat us like how we treat our MIL, we'll be very sad. and don't stress abt money esp with hubby and MIL, i went down that road with no success. so now i tell him, as long as you give me my monthly allowance, i will hold my peace. sometimes he will give his mum first ley..cos he say i got my own money so won't starve but i tell him it's a matter of principle.

talking about allowances to PILs... My hubby gives my PIL $600 each month and my MIL still complained yesterday that when her neighbour's son also give part of his bonus and demanded that we do the same!

then my hubby retorted that from university, wedding, house and car, he never took a single cent from my MILs whereas the neighbour's son went overseas to study financed by his parents..
sigh.. how can she compare like this? money is everything to her..

wah... ginger is not good for bf, yet it helps clear wind in our joints.... den like dat how wor...when to know when to eat ginger... skali before eat ginger, try to bf, but bb nt hungry leh... den when eat ginger le, den bb hungry, den cannot bf wor... wat a dilemma...

caramelle,
u are right.. no matter boy or girl, it is their token of appreciation to give money to their parents.. after all we can never repay them for bringing us up..
but cannot compare filial piety based on the amount of money..

ahnetsan- express out the milk with breast pump first ba... then eat

Chidori- wow so u will be joining too! very happy! Good that no changes to date. maybe someone forgot to strike off the date for my receipt

hehehe... actually the letter said wear track pants or lycra material for first 3 lessons ... wonder wht wierd stuff we will be doing...hehee

I guess we must also remember to bring notebook, copy notes! kekeke

caramelle> me expecting a boy leh..

i knw my hubby filial to his mum la, but hor, no point giving her so much, den havent month end, both me and hubby haf to struggle... and mil very kns one lor, always ask my hubby for money which he ask her buy 4d or toto... she super niao with this matter one... it's not as if my hubby wont pay her back, cant she jus wait first... hubby come home only, jus take off shoes only, den she ask money from him... i see liao i also feel pissed off.
but hor, if i dun stress abt the money wif hubby and mil, den my hubby will jus anyhow part wif his money one...if i hadnt controlled the way he spend his money and the initial amt he gave his mother, guess my hubby will forever be in his mother's control le

ahnetsan, I understand how u feel.. my hb oso give monthly allowances like yours, I told him that we're looking for a house this year, and bb coming, maybe can reduce, either the amount or the frequency.. but he said that we live there without paying rent, so the allowances would help them with the utilities bills & the food.. *sigh*.. I stopped raising this as I thot, as long as I can still work, it doesn't matter for now, but if I had to stop working, then I'll sure make noise about it, at least reduce lor.. hahaa.. my mil also play mahjong with relatives, but she never wins one.. each time come back said that she lost again, then I thot, there goes the allowances we gave her at the mahjong table..

Cassey, I think I registered for the 4:30 pm class, they have several sessions in a day rite..? Hm.. I always thot that a husband's priority is first and foremost his family (wife & children), therefore, with us haven't got a house and our baby's arriving soon, I felt he should safe for our needs first, and when we're more settled, then by all means, give to his parents.. I do not against giving parents, although parents may not expect it from us, but it is their joy and pride, to raise us and put us through education, and now we can give them a token of gratitute, it won't matter how much..

kikismom, for bdays & cny usually we'll foot the bill for all food expenses, and give her extra on top of the usual monthly one..

sweethalo, omg.. I better call TMC and check then.. until today I still thot my class would be 14th March..

Re. Post-Natal
I saw from another thread for a massage lady named Ida, is she good ?