(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

shelisa,
no idea. but pigeon and avent pdts prices are pretty consistent at all major dpt stores. will chk out n revert on this...

cassey,
i attended WBB's class during 1st pregnancy too n started around the 5th mth. however i do find that its better to attend later cos alot of useful information is cold-storaged and then forgotten by the time we deliver. she also shared on babycare but by the time baby comes, really cannot recall much. just my personal take.

caramelle,
just did my detailed scan last wk too! pls relax and enjoy the session cos u'll have lots to look at. eyes, nose, heart, kidneys, spines, lips, limbs to name a few. hubby and me both talked to the baby before the scan and our session was over in 10 mins! the gynae who did my scan is a very very experienced dr and we were both abit taken aback by his speed! btw no OJ nor chocs for us

ahnetsan, u are sure making up by posting such a long post!

My hb agrees that we will have a babysitter for our son. He had enuf of his own mother and certainly not gg to let our son be spoiled, fed wrongly under her care. I m not picking up her calls after the morning one. She called twice during lunch again, most likely some other updates and discoveries she made abt chicken pox. I am so not gg to talk to her till she goes mad. I m fine if she just ask. But she doesn't cos she is too proud. What's the prob with asking... something that I don't understand? My mom n dad never even step into my bedroom despite coming for quite a few times. They always stick to my kitchen, living room n common toilet area. At most, my study room which I brought them into. They won't go in for nothing. My siblings will ask if they can go in. N there she is always complaining that Singaporeans are uncultured. I feel like telling her that she is not any better when basic courtesy are not observed.

The crap about me not gg to public places becos of chicken pox. It's so obvious that all she cares is her grandson. She never bothers to ask or show concern before this pregnancy. In any case, I m used to her "for show concern" when she is trying to fish things or pave ways for other intentions. She shd be aware that it no longers works on me. Anyway, my FIL will be expecting an email from me in a few days time.

Re. Bedroom Privacy
Bing, I also live with my in-laws, and we're not in the Master room, it'll be nice to have a Master bathroom, closer to go with frequent urinating as of now we're pregnant.. our common bath is in the kitchen, so a bit pai seh sometimes when had to go toilet or shower when MIL is cooking and I also have to pass the altar as I go there, my room door is facing the altar so bo bian.. oh, we don't have the key to our bedroom as well, so it's never lock, I dunno if they come in when we're not around, hb said they won't dare to, but it's their house, so even if they did, nothing I can do anyway..

ahnetsan, your baby is a good boy. A good weight too! I wonder how heavy my boy will be when I see obgyn this Fri.

I'll be using a Moses' basket, BUT NOT IN PLACE OF CARSEAT!?! There is no safety feature to a Moses basket at all, my dear.
You can't even ATTACH the basket to a seat, much less your bb to the basket. Carseat is buckled to passenger seat and bb is buckled down to carseat too. Moses' Basket is just a comfy sleeping basket. PLS rethink your 'decision'.

bbjun, Merlynzz, more wrong info. *Grr* 3rd time I call, now lady says Fri class is full, and WBB's class is NOT EVEN ON FRI. *duh*.
Now I have to decide whether to stick with Mt A, starting 6 Mar or go across to TMC WBB starting 14 Mar. =(
Either way still only ending end April.

creamer,
never heard of this type of auntie come full-day help out wan neh. how much??

hatemenot,
part-time domestic helper very sought after these days. try to book one earlier. also not all are gd. some talk alot and slip shod in their work.

Cassey- TMC classes look more organised and structured because they actually state topics to be covered at each weekly course. That's why I decided to pick TMC too.

The other classes only give an outlne to be discussed over the weeks... I prefer classes to be more specific and sure on what they will cover exactly so there is less chance of skipping over.

Bing- just received the receipt from TMC Parentcraft. Only confusion seems to be the dates of commencement. When I booked, they told me need to change 21/3 to 14/3 instead but now letter states starting 21/3

Decided to call TMC Parentcraft and guess what, Mrs Wong answered. She sounds really jolly, friendly and motherly. She seems to say classes may revert to 21/3 but asked me to wait for her nurse to call and confirm.

jam75, actually I've noticed that all those going into their 22nd week have bb's in the region of +-400g...

First mum, thanks for that. Actually I was thinking later class better cos closer to delivery. But also, with my back aching, I'm thinking earlier class better too! Can start learning stuff earlier!

bbjun, is your hubby back already? Will MIL come over and call even more often when he returns? Or will she just bug him and leave you alone?

Ahnetsan- Welcome back, we missed u!

Re: Carseat- I think it's a legal requirement when u are in a moving car to strap your baby/kids in

sweethalo, yeah.. agree. Mt A is like lessons 2-4 covering such-and-such a topic - which is covered in 1 class at TMC.
Was informed just now that March class starts 14 March. Cos hall is being used on 21 March so no classes on that day.
Which class have you signed up for? I'm prob going to try for Sat 7-9pm.

ahnetsan, moses basket cannot use beyond 3-4 months and not safe for use in the car from what i know cos it's a real basket. if need to, better buy proper car seat. i recommend from mothercare (>$150), maxi-cosi (brand new is $300+, 2nd hand is $150-$200) or capella/graco one (not sure how much) if you have the same stroller range so infant car seat can use on the stroller too (esp good when bb still young).

yest my clever hubby took apart my maxi-cosi (2nd hand) and when you remove the cloth, guess what's behind? styrofoam!! i told hubby how can they charge $300plus for something like that, but hubby say the way they sew the straps are very safe. the whole contraption looks fancy but when you take it apart like no big deal
still we are using it because it's quite sturdy and safety is recommended.

abt the massage lady, sorry i still havent asked around. today will do so and get back to you. hopefully they can give me good price since i ask them in malay..hehe. don't know if true or not but some ppl say these massage ladies will charge extra if they know you're chinese. they think chinese ppl very rich and can spend is it? hehe..but i will find out if can get good and at reasonable rates and post the contact here.

hope this helps!

cassey, no, he is not back. even if he is back, she calls my hp... not his. Cos he doesn't like to talk to her and she knows it. She knows I am still kind to her and she gets more info from me than from him. I usually will pass my hp to him to answer if he is ard. She will stay away more if he is ard. She will start her calls the moment he flies back to his work place. Oredi tracking her patterns.

cassey, u may want to note sweethalo's post. The 14 Mar class changing to 21 Mar thingy.

Cassey- when i registered, nurse told me same thing that classes for 21/3 resch to 14/3 but now the letter came stating commencement is 21/3.

That's why i just called Parentcraft and happens that Mrs Wong picked up the phone.. She says to wait for her nurse to confirm again.

bbjun, I was actually responding to sweethalo's post.

Why does MIL give hubby his space but not you?! She's such a bully and has chosen you to target. Hubby 'talk' to her sternly no use? My MIL calls me instead of him, but she's always civil on the phone and never nasty. Sometimes just a quick call to confirm dinner plans or as how I'm doing. But only ONCE in like a few months. =)

sweethalo, I just called too- at about 2.30. And she said yup, it's her class.
I called thrice in all, the first 2 times telling them I'd call back after checking in with my husband abt scheduling. Each time the info provided to me differed. Perhaps things are changing so rapidly that they are having problems keeping up to date.
Guess will just have to wait for confirmation.

My hb ever shouted at her to leave me alone when we were engaged, not married yet. Cos she was lying to me n making use of me to track his movements, where he goes with his frens. The lies were so bad that when I found out, I refused to talk to her, not even allowing her to come and apologise. It's pure manipulation, using her health to scare me when there is nothing wrong. Now when she tells me here pain there pain, I oso dunno to believe or not. Once bitten, twice shy. My MIL is smart, never lose temper, always polite on phone but drives u crazy by repeating the same thing over n over again, despite u telling her your response. She just wants to wait till u agree to what she wants. Mental torture.

Cassey, Shelisa and First Mum, thanks for the advices. i'll standby the OJ cos i think cannot bribe her with chocolate since every day i eat chocolate! i know..it's heaty and not very good but i can't help it! im already a chocaholic even pre-preg..now im just indulging! i think better cut down, scared later bb very dark skin. since drink soya bean milk will give bb smooth white skin right??! hehe

JAckie, hope u r feeling fine already. haha bbjun i understd hw u felt. it ever hap to me during a most embrassing moment when my hb & i was starting bedrm biz one morning when my FIL open the door without knocking luckily our bed was not directly facing the door and hb jump to cover ovr me haha. Ever since then they never come in without knocking and my MIL no longer come in to clean our rm as well hahaha...

stickymouse i'll be going to the mother & bb fair too... ahnetsan, we share same fate hor sigh really dunno where to put cannot too near aircon too cold, not near window too warm, not facing the door really hard decision... suddenly strong urge to buy a new hse move out asap but then nt possible leh now resale very ex sigh...

Actually, bbjun, your MIL is blessed to have you, especially when your hubby has sorta turned his back on her. She really sounds like a pro at manipulation. The things you have to endure in the name of love! No wonder you hubby sayang you so so so much! =) Have a happy reunion~!

sweethalo, I'm going to call and try to register for Mdm (or is it Mrs?) WBB's Sat 7-9pm class, starting either 14 or 21 March.

createjoy, how awkward. I can't imagine what I'd do if I were ever caught out in such a situation. But thankfully can't see bed from door either. And we always lock before any hanky panky if anyone's in the house. =) Now you've got me reminiscing... I miss that intimacy. But physically not in the mood. =(

oh ya cassey talk abt milk, i have friso & similac vanilla flavor struggling with them too. i like my anmum..i wonder hw did those companies mk $ this company give sample that company give sample, actually dont see the need to buy leh! i got 3 tin sample (all vanilla, faintz) and i bought 1 on my own b4 got sample (anmum choc buy 1 free one at kkh promo)and now i left 3 1/2 tin. intend to keep one can for during feedfeeding still got 2 1/2 tin to struggle with till i give birth...

bbjun, yr il will call u huh...my mil nv call my hp b4...oso she did not ask mi anything or wat...always is my hb convey the message to mi de...was tinking do my IL know my hp no or not...hahaha!

First mum, thanks thanks. keep me posted then.

caramelle, dun scare me leh. i also everyday eat chocolate. seem like addicted liao. never eat liao whole body weird weird 1.

createjoy, hmm.. u naughter. u shld at least lock the door ma. i only last time hubby n i also doing bedrm biz halfway, then his sis keep knocking the door, already tell her later. she keep standing at the door and keep asking y so long huh? y huh? coming out already anot? Then in then end we stopped and my hubby talk to his sis and tell her next time ask her wait, MEANS WAIT!! haha

bbjun, ur mil is a pest!! sorry!! it is really torturing leh. i really 'pei fu' u. if i will u, i will directly say her liao. im those more straight forward ppl.

createjoy, WHOA! Anmum buy 1 get 1 free?! Any more promo? I'd be interested.
Maybe if any of the West'ies like vanilla, can exchange at meet-up..

jam75, are you happy abt that? Or would you rather she calls u? I'm like bbjun, if hubby is with me, I often pass my hp to him if I see MIL's number. They don't talk very often either.

Shelisa, so funny. Is the sister very young?! Sian. After that no mood to continue anymore. Heehee..

caramelle/shelisa/Ling/createjoy,

great! the Friday of the baby fair is actually my bday so i'll likely apply for leave, relax at home and go to the fair (with my husband). it'd be nice if we could see each other

i was at the Expo yesterday actually.. for the Nike sale. the queue was horrendously long, and everyone were squeezing with each other and not watching how they step/reverse into people. my husband was so kan cheong about me (but then again he was the one who wanted to see Nike stuff).

we ended up discussing what the baby fair will be like at Expo. i reckon the crowd will move really slowly and carefully 'cos majority of women carrying this bulge around!!! just hope the typical singaporean "kiasi" and "kiasu" behaviour doesn't surface then... ;P

haha shelisa this also hap to me before just about to start then family member knock on door ask us go out eat dinner sigh spoil mood! usually, got lock door lah but sometimes suddenly mood come didnt lock haha :p now got always lock already.. oh cassey, the promo ovr lg ago, next time i see anmum promo let u all know. that time i just preg not very long,that time we havent start the long threads here haha so no chance to share w u all.

wah bing, like wat cassey said, there's a common bathroom wor, y they use the toilet in masterbedroom??? i really salute you, you can open one eye and close one eye, for me, i cannot tahan anymore already...

wah, i din know must pay MIL for doing confinement... my mother would haf said i married le, should be ur hubby and ur hubby's family's duty to take care of u... but anyway, my stupid mother dunno hw to cook those confinement food too
but im not working anymore le, where got extra money to pay my irritating MIL? let me go hint hint my hubby tonight, see wat he says... im sure he will say no need la, siao meh, *zhi zi ren* must be calculative meh?? anyway, it's not as if i cant wait to eat the confinement food MIL cooks... im in fact dreading it... hopefully i can dun eat, dat's the best!!!

haha cassey, ok ok, i will rethink my decision of getting a moses basket instead of carseat...heehee... u relax ar, dun get too worked up over this... hahahhaa

ok sweethalo, i think should get carseat ba... haha

caramelle> thanks, shall go check out mothercare for infant carseat. wah... styrofoam... maxi-cosi not very cheap right? was surfing the website, if i din remb wrongly, maxi-cosi pricing quite expensive is it?
waiting for ur post on post-natal massage!!

bbjun> is ur MIL teochew or cantonese?

stickymouse, 27 feb huh? lucky not 2 days later else cannot celebrate bday every year! hehe
now i so tempted to take leave also but hubby surely must twist his arm a bit. will find out today.

i still don't know what to expect to be sold at the fair..any ideas?

huh must pay MIL for confinement meh? In traditional times, women are taken care of by their MIL because married and considered their family. So it's the responsibilty of the MIL to take care actually. Actually, if MIL don't do confinement, they can pay for the confinement lady for the DIL.

But, we are now modern so rely more on our own mums mah.

cassey, i muz say i m lucky dat IL dun call mi lo...hahaha...i oso seldom tok to IL de!

shelisa, i was tinking the same as cassey....like dat half way kenna disturb how to continue later! no mood liow!

stickymouse, my hb oso wanna to go nike expo sales but i tell him i no interested & so far away if he wan to go pls go alone...end up hb oso din go!

sweethalo, excellent! =) I'll look fwd to having some familiar ppl and faces to say hello to then. Just to let you know, lady told me to take down class dates as follows: 14/3, 28/3, 4/4, 11/4, 18/4 and 21/4. Nothing said about any possible change. So perhaps it's confirmed? We'll keep each other posted closer to the date if we hear anything huh?

bing, look fwd to meeting you then, if not before!

confinement
I also dunno have to pay $$ to my mum for doing confinement...I din pay the last time she did for me cos she say dun waste $$ to look for a confinement lady so I asmused no need to pay :p anyway any of u know where to buy confinement food recipes book??? I need to get one for my mum cos the food she cooks is always the same :p

createjoy, Shelisa, you know ah, when ppl have knocked on the door while we're doing the deed, we go completely silent so they can't hear a thing. No more bed-creaking movements, but we still "play quietly" until the person gets the point and gives up. Heehee... It has worked for us even if whoever's knocking knows that we're NOT sleeping. Then if we come up looking really rosy and happy, they probably feel relieved they went away. Haha!

ahnetsan, my MIL is hokkien. Taiwanese ma.

Shelisa, oredi reached my limits. she is not gg to hear my voice for a long time. N she will get indirect scolding from FIL in a few days time when I settle down in the right mind to write and email to him.

jam75, if she understands the meaning of call, it's fine. She makes repeated calls as well. It's practically harrassment calls at times.

cassey, my MIL doesn't know she is blessed. She doesnt' count her blessings n knows how to complain best. U know, everything our govt does, she oso complains. She just cannot see two sides of the coin. No policy is perfect. Cannot please everyone lor. Even HDB carpark, flat lease oso complain. sighz.

Ladies, it's not PAY mum or MIL la. If you feel you don't need to and you don't want to, then don't.
For some of us, it's really just our way of saying Thank you, we really appreciated it.
I don't think any of us are advocating a love gift as a must.

bbjun, ur MIL must be a miserable lady then. So make everyone else join her.

caramelle
I also have a maxi cosi infant carseat which i took out the cover to wash but now i dunno how to cover back!!! so I intent to buy a new cover & ask the sales to cover back for me..do u know the cost of a new cover?

sweethalo, yeah lor.
In olden times, MIL takes care of DIL cos DIL is 'married into the family' does all the work, including serving her. Not talk back and complain complain and be disrespectful.
So in today's context, DIL isn't serving and labouring for the ILs home, so if I were MIL, I'd feel I'm NOT obliged to take care of DIL at all. That's why if MIL did my confinement, I'd give an even bigger love gift.

juz wonder f those who stay wif IL & not occupying master bedroom...aft u'll do it how u'll go wash up?? like v weird or not like still got to dress up again & pretend nothing happen & go to common toilet to wash up?? if living room still hv other family there...

giggle... yeah Cassey that's right! I agree that these days DIL now behave very differently ... hhee

I think giving a small token or buying a gift is just to say thanks- not a payment thing ba

i tink is beter to give at least a small token to show some appreciation to wat they help us during confinement...if engage a confinement lady sure hv to spent alot!!

kikismom- it's usually bilingual. I checked out the ones at Popular but don't think they are very good.

I like the one I got from Kinokuniya and the one I saw at Big Book Shop at HabourFront. My mum also needs them for reference.

jam75, clean up the ermm... excess in the room with tissues, I guess? Then a bit later, after you've cooled down and stopped panting =) put on regular PJs and go out...?

Hey those staying with ILs, does it mean no showering or being in the bathroom together?

Aiya, my silly Cassey. I was typing midway and could have sworn I heard her howling. I called out to her and she got even louder. Turns out she went down one floor (door open cos town council painting our gates. Yay!) and was wondering why 'her house door' isn't open. Silly old girl...

ahnetsan, no worries
maxi-cosi 1st hand is $358 (don't kena cheat ah, shouldn't be anymore than this amount). that time Tubbymummy bought for $273 at the Tangs sale cos got 20+10% discount + 12% rebate. now i think no more sale at Tangs - but pls chk and cfm cos i may be wrong.

re post-natal massage: im compiling some contacts now, and will check the prices first. some massage ladies are very old like 60-70yrs but they are very good cos they learn from their grandmas and thus very experienced. a common problem is that the younger ones who learn from theory/course can actually displace your uterus then next time you cannot conceive! touch wood won't happen to anyone i know. and most these ladies live in the west! hmph, what's so great abt the west?? *hides in a corner, scared kena attack by Westies!*

and got to find one that can speak english one..otherwise diff for you all to communicate with her.

Cassey/jam75, at that time i rem his sis is ard 30 yrs old lor.. how to continue when u noe someone at outside waiting? fainted lor. Cassey, cant leh, all the mood is gone liao. hard to continue. but if dun continue, u will feel whole body hot n wet. haha

stickymouse, i also hope then expo fair, those ppl there will be gentle and in order. Not those pushing n snatching.

createjoy, even now, we still practise to lock our bedroom even that our only have the 2 of us. I told my hubby as both parents have our house key. So lock better or not so so . .

bbjun, that coolz.. write email to FIL?? Hmm, shld shld. let him noe how u feel. this will more or less affect ur emtion during this pregnancy.

Reg paying or giving $$ to mum or MIL for confinment~~ for my strict 'pan tang' family. regardless at mum or MIL house or they come our house for confinment. When baby full month, we MUST give them ang bao. As 'pan tang' ppl believe whoever ppl help to do confinment will be unlucky as we are dirty for the whole month. As we didnt come men for 10 mth. then now after give birth our men come alot alot. So they feel this is very dirty and unlucky. So giving this angbao means wish them good luck, thank you.

then still in our 'pan tang' rule. We believe women during confinment is dirty. so when those ppl come visit us, they wont touch us and step into the room we slept in as unlucky. they will only touch the bb only.

i feel this is so stupid. we so brave n noble to give birth. and yet old ppl have such stupid rule or 'pan tang'.

anyone heard of this - cannot drink too much soya bean milk?

createjoy> yeah we Hi 5 lor, same situation... sian right? initially we tot jus put bb in centre of bed with us at the side, but scared the aircon too strong for bb.. our aircon is directly facing the bed one. you got apply for flat mah? we stil waiting for our flat to come wor, so sian... nw resale expensive...

wah heng ur bed nt directly facing the door... for me, u can see the bed once u open the room door le... so dangerous... and wat's even more sian is my hubby's room is the one along the corridor one... sucks even more lor... everyday hear ppl walk past the room or those kids run across so noisy.

in short, everywhere, every single part of mil's plc sucks lor, somemore got this altar in the living room, jus outside my hubby's bedroom door, haiz. everything jus sianz abt this plc... argh

hey, im also planning to go to expo bb fair.... mayb we can all meet there. haha

bbjun> u luckier than me wor, cos at least ur hubby turned his back on his mother le... my hubby still in good terms wif his mother leh... and dat leaves me super frustrating... cos every time i complained abt his mother to him, he will say aiya, aiya and aiya...

btw, any of ur gynae mentioned dat now is the honeymoon period of pregnancy? can go travelling, do watever u want, and can even dye hair? when i heard of can dye hair, i immediately say really ar, my gynae seems shocked at my reaction... must haf thot i siao or not.. den he say can dye, but not dye once a mth la. now im thinking whether i wan to dye my hair or nt, cos i haf white hairs... sad...

haha i will also pass my phone to hubby if im wif him should mil calls me... and now i've even tried not answering my phone when i see my mil's number when im alone outside or at home.... jus let it ring and ring and many times until she stops calling me. haha... den after dat, when she asked me y i din pick her call, i will act blur and say huh, u got call me meh? dunno leh, my phone on silent mode, din hear leh and din check also.
den at night time in bedroom wif my hubby, i will quietly tel him abt my mischievous act, and he will ask y i like dat... den i reply him, cos i like leh, dun feel like hearing her voice leh... hahaha

jam75> haha same here... in the past, me and hubby will sneak out to go toilet wash up...sometimes we ended up doing it again in the bathroom, now we jus heck care, after biz done, we jus hug each other and sleep... haha.... and each time we do it in the bedroom, we make sure we dun make any noise.... sianz right, cannot make noise while at it.. haha