(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

vernie, then I die. I'll need to prepare like 15 swaddlers for the kid! Haha... I don't do the laundry very regularly. =(
Heehee, if I use shawl, then I have to buy some nice ribbons, eh?

Speaking of laundry, ladies, how often and how do you wash mats & rugs? I usually accumulate the used ones until I can get at least a half a washer load before I do them at one go.. Is that the way? Then, do you need a special cleaning for the washer tub to cleanse it of the dustballs from the rugs? Or do some of you soak them and hand wash?

cassey, i usually accumulate like 5 to 6 pieces of rug/mat, then wash at one go...err..i never do any special cleaning of the washer tub though...

ahnetsan MIA quite long now... ahnetsan, are u doing ok? Is bb ok? How did your detailed scan go?

sweethalo, I'm also thinking HOW TO HANDWASH?! But I know of ppl who soak the rugs/mats in pails leh. If not handwash, what do they do after that? Chuck in the washer? Then after that just do the clothes as per normal? I always wonder if I'm supposed to rinse out the washer tub after a rug/mat wash cycle. What do YOU do?

vernie, 5-6 for one washer load?! Very little leh.. Maybe you mean those fuzzy bathroom rugs.. Does anyone do the cheap thinner 'towel-like' mats with regular clothes? Seems quite inappropriate to me...

Cassey, I wash mats/rugs like you. Think the filter should catch all the dust and fur balls right?? Never thought about that. I actually don't handwash anything haha, not even delicate clothing. Maybe I just avoid buying delicate materials... Seeing as you don't do laundry that regularly, buying many many washcloths might not be a bad idea.

sweethalo, I may need to go sooner cos need to give my MIL the info so she can go and do some comparison shopping on her side. Was supposed to tell her today, but bought a bit of time. If I can drag till Fri, we can go together
Let you know again.

SIX receiving blankets? I don't think I'm gonna go down that route. I also thought swaddling is only for 1st month or so.

Tubbym~, OOOUUUUIII... don't be like that la. I just amended my order to ONE washcloth bundle after your 'wake-up call'.
I'm a lazy wife - I don't handwash anything either. I do have delicates, but they just get chucked into a smaller washbag.
All my bras are under-wired and they just get stuffed into a bra washbag too.

I think filter does catch most of the stuff, but there's SO MUCH FLUFF in there that I can't help but think... Is the tub REALLY THAT clean..? But thus far, I haven't bothered to rinse. A tub clean cycle on my washer takes a whopping THIRTY-SEVEN L of water and washes no clothes at the end of that!

hehe *hi-5* tubbymummy... i nvr handwash anything... even my office work clothes also last time all dump into the washer and even dryer.. hehee...

If u need to go tmr, go ahead.. don't worry about me... we can always go out to look see another time

I think I have more of less decided on getting Avent for most of the products as they seem to hv such a complete range in the stores. Only thing is I don't like the plastic they use for the steriliser and warmer, looks so cheap!

Is tommee tippee better?

sweethalo, actually I didn't get to see the type of plastic used for Tommee Tippee steriliser! I think more or less they're all made the same, no? I really don't know. I went for Tommee Tippee because:
1) I liked the shape of the bottles (haha! I know that's shallow, but I find them really cute!)
2) They are BPA free (not all the bottles under their brand, but the set I intend to get comes with the new BPA free bottles)
3) Some ppl say Tommee Tippee teat shape/texture makes it easy for baby to transit from breast to bottle (dunno true or not, so not a big factor for me)
4) Cheaper than Avent

But I do agree that Avent is probably most practical cos it's widely available. If I go tomorrow, I'll let you know details. Toffeecat mentioned that she has staff discount, so maybe you need to see if the Taka bundle or buying thru toffeecat is more worth it.

Ok, I think I also go to bed liao. Not been sleeping well, so maybe lie in bed and read also equals to getting some rest, better than nothing. Gdnite gals!

Vernie, receiving blanket has the hood to cvr the head, mostly use to swaddle when brg bb out. swaddle blanket is to wrap to prevent bb jerk & wk himself up.normal blaket also can use to wrap the way hosp wrap but if u buy a swaddle blanket it will had a compartment to slot ur bb in and velco at the side to fasten the blanket. as for bb's laundry i intend to wash by hand using bb detergent.

haha tubbymummy ur dream so funny! oh btw i also not going for circum for my boy at birth. i'll chk my email. too heartpain to mk him painful and many books say not necessary though it's more hygiene, i think i leave it to his school's checkup to decide.

I prob shld rest early too...

Today did go to Robinson's and the staff told me that the BPA free Avent bottles will be in on Monday.

We decided on Avent since:
1) Wide range of products
2) BPA free availability
3) Bottles hv wide neck and easy to wash- seems to be widest neck available I see so far

The Avent steriliser and warmer has this ugly white plastic- the kind that's slightly greyish.. I find that kind of white looks laopok leh.. hehehe..

heheh since we are talking abt circum so much here... I think I will not be doing it too... don't want to subject bb (READ: myself as a new mother) to more stress than necessary just after birth.

I saw my fren's newborn a few weeks ago at the hospital. The nurse was showing how to clean the belly button- that oredi made me squirmy... eeks, I can't imagine having to keep cleaning a cut and bruised pte part that shoots pee out 6-8 times a day !

So many posts during the weekend. Try to catch up as much as I can.

circumcision
Don't intend to let my boy go through for it unless it's because of health problem.

Welcome ade_sourz!

Mummy milk powder
I never drank any of those, my free sample still lying in my house. Anyone wants them? I cannot stand the smell. The moment I smell it, I will vomit (whether before or during pregnancy).

Workshops/ seminars/ courses
I guess I am the minority who didn't attend any of these.

Receiving blanket
I bought it when I had my 1st child and realise I never use it at all. So end up "white elephant" in my house and eventually went to recycle bag.

Handwash
I only handwash a couple of clothing that can't be put into my washing machine. Hmm.. I intend to put bb clothing in washing machine as well, using baby detergent and washing them separately from our clothes. Tried washing manually before but that was too time consuming and hands aching.

Avent discount
Ahh.. I guess I got to wait for next round discount, no more going out for me this month. Bought many stuffs yesterday. All my bb stuffs are done except diapers. I think I am a kiasu mummy. =P

morning morning...

Cassey, i wana see u wrap ur little warrior in shawl with a ribbon.... wait ur hb thinks u gonna give him away.. :p

no la, similac tastes worse than HL milk lor... i can take HL milk without problems but not similac. and what makes things worse is that it's warm/hot.

i also accumulate a few rugs before soaking them in dettol and then using the washing machine to wash them. nowadays, even my own clothes, i'm also lazy to hand wash them.....

sweethalo, i saw some anti colic free avent bottles fr cityhall robinsons. not too sure if that's the one u're talking about. it costs almost double the price of a normal avent milk bottle.

sweethalo, thanks for the info on the bibs. i see that they are so cute. probably cant bear to use it....

swaddling blanket: i have friends who told me need 5 and i'm like.. sure onot. actually, when i was at the parentcraft to pay for the antenatal class, i saw WBB taking just a cotton nappy to swaddle the bb. think i heard her saying, some blankets are nice to see but too hot or too rought for the bb's skin. so a good cotton nappy can actually do the job. i was intending to just get those pigeon nappy and use 1 or 2 for swadding instead. save $ also although pigeon cloth nappy arent really cheap.

talking about gloria jeans, i saw them selling the darell lea chocolates i so so love and thought it was only available in sydney, australia areas. time to munch on those chococlates again.... yippee

morning

nice meeting u ladies on fri, look forward to meeting u again..thanks cassey for organizing..

Welcome ade_sourz & merlynzz...

merlynzz
we ve the same edd & hosiptal.. we might be neighbour

Swaddling blanket
Aiyo, u actually dun need so many...I just bought 2 "swaddle me" for night use & the rest of the day I use cotton cloth nappy as its cooler as what lovely mention..

similac
me anti-similac too.. it tastes very sweet, i give my boi enfalac

Cassey, i think she took out the mailing charges so it did come out cheaper. she's staying in the north so if convenient for you to pick up from her place, might be better. of course you'll be tempted to buy more so bring limited money or your hubby! hehe

abt washing mats/rugs, i usually do it together with other cloths. eg i "mop" the floor with cloth soaked in bluebell then later wash together with the footrugs. on my machine i choose the daily load, 40 degrees and let it run (mine is front-load electrolux iirc so takes abt 1 hour. top-load should take shorter time). so will have abt 5 to 6 pieces inside, not so full (and sometimes i heart pain to let machine run on half-load. waste water and energy! but no choice cos cannot wash with normal hand/kitchen/bath towels either.)

vernie, some shops sell the receiving blanket with a hood although i cannot remember any recently since im also looking for it. and from what i hear, you won't need 6, maybe 2 or 3. and you can also use nappy cloth (cheap and if bb puke can wash clean easily so more hygienic) to swaddle bb cos some of those ang moh blankets can be very warm for bb, causing him/her to have rashes. however, im planning to buy one swaddle-wrap for when we take bb out maybe.

<font color="0000ff">Top 10 brain-boosting foods!
1) Black Sesame
2) Salmon
3) grape juice / red wine
4) hot cocoa
5) walnut
6) olive oil
7) garlic
8) blueberry
9) spinach
10) soyabeans</font>

11_beans, thanks! my mum would also add ginkgo cos she told me when she was pregnant with me she ate a lot of "cheng tng" iirc and she said look at me now. so clever
then she add yah, also clever to talk back! hehe

and i also vouch for the hot cocoa, although my mum just took more chocolate in general. im hoping that justifies my chocolate gelato, milo and kit kat bingeing!

TubbyMummy, Ur story is to cure those insomnia 'human'. For mine, moral of the story 'shameful'. Today morning, my tummy is so pain but insisted to work due to rushing project, in bus i already show my face very 'xin ku' but no one offer the seat to me. When a auntie alight, i was infront of her seat, i was like 'finally i can sit down'. before i can sit down a girl from ITE sat down imm &amp; happily chatting with her bf infront of her. Then both of them act blur act blind didnt see me leh!! I wanna say them but im in pain no strength to argue with them. sob sob

bbjun, u sure the hansaplast work? I think my hubby is the top prize for snoring for sure!! Without fail every night i will wake up of his snore. But now im pregnant, he suggest he slp the guest rm in order for me to rest well. But i rejected him as if he dun slp beside me, i will feel weird.

toffeecat, i pm u liao. Thanks.

sweethalo/caramelle, do you still have the bibs offer? Thought to get some.

welcome merlynzz. this thread getting more n more prince..

Shelisa, same fate as u this morning. Didn't sleep well last nite and feel abit dizzy after standing a while. Attempted to move to two empty seats when ppl alight but these young ladies are zoomed in fast to sit down before I can even reach there. Then the lady at the priority seat act act sleeping until she cannot tahan me staring at her anymore. Stood up one stop before she alight to give me her seat.

Well, at least that hansaplast strip works for my hb. He stopped snoring immediately the first time we used it. Must put at the right position though.

bbjun, okie. i shall go Watson buy and let him try. So ytd how ur meal with ur MIL &amp; FIL??

caramelle, i have alot of thing haven buy yet. Thus hope can one time buy quite a few from her. Thanks for the info

Re: Avent Products at Philips Experience Showroom
To save the time of MTBs, the staff discount that i have applies for 20% off retail price. So i think vibe has mentioned that Robinsons has a 20% + 7%, so i think that should be cheaper. cos i checked before that retail price at the showroom is the same as retail price outside. But you are all welcome to come check out what the showroom has, i can meet any MTBs interested
you can check out the showroom first and then the coming fairs and if in the end still want to buy from the showroom. i'll still be here working until EDD -1 week :p

bbjun, i'm from AVM. can't think i recall any young female colleagues leaving last year?

lovelytulips, i also feel a very hard lump sometimes. usually when i'm lying down and in the middle of the nite. yesterday i could actually see the lump like an orange on the left side of my tummy. it was superhard compared to the right side. but my HB was busy playing his PS3 and didn't see it when it was up for 3 minutes! i think it's baby. will be asking my gynae this thursday.

toffeecat, I was from AVM. I was transferred out of AVM n then left last Nov. I will PM u.... we may know each other after all cos I know most of AVM ppl, at least by name.

good morning mummies.

toffeecat,
thanks for the reply.
i've checked with my gynae during my last preg, the hard lump is due to ur bb leaning on the sides..bb loves to lean on either sides. cute ne?

wat a educated society we are in. sometimes i wonder. and i thought some pple will give up seats cos it's like a give and take situation whereby next time u are preg or the wife is preg, u will hope that pple will give up their seats. anyway.....

toffeecat, yes yes, sometimes one side is harder. that i think is the bb cos after a while, can feel bb move again and it becomes soft. seriously, i cant wait to see the small little feet or hand protruding at the later stage. hahaha

Hi hatemenot,

Ya...Dr Joycelyn wong always have a packed schedule. I have been with her before I conceive so decided to stick to her, as all my records are with her.

I am looking forward to this Sat class. It will be a meaningful Valentine's day for all of us.

Hi kikismom,
Thats great. We can look forward to bump into each other at the delivery suite.

Anyone mommie here GNC member card? I need ur IC or member card no will do as need to purchase DHA fro GNC. Member have 20% discount. Thanks.

lovelytulips, true!! sometime i do like telling them next time u will pregnant or ur family member will pregnant and u do hope they have seat too. too bad, the cruel. .

nozomi, lovelytulips, yeah it's super cute! it's a wonder how strong they are to be able to move and lean on one side. wonder how they do that. think i'll be stunned if i suddenly see my baby's handprint on my tummy though :p

bbjun, yups we know each other by face. hope u don't mind if i inform our mutual colleagues frens

This thread is so active even during the weekend.

I am down with flu n cough over the weekend. Totally knock out n just sleep. Heng my inlaw and hubby can help to take care of #1.

Cassey,
Already reply your email

toffeecat, no probs. Some of them oredi knew but I guess they never tell the rest.

shelisa, lunch was more or less fine. Can feel MIL trying to get into my good books to pave ways for things she intends to do. But she crossed the line by barging into my bedroom when we were all at the door waiting for her to leave for lunch from my place. N she surveyed everything she wants to check n started to ask qns that irritated me. I don't barge into her room lor. No respect for privacy. I will start locking my room doors if she comes visiting next time. This morning, she called again n said one ridiculous thing. I nearly wanted to just put down the phone when she was repeating it for the 5th time. Just becos one of her tuition kid is having chicken pox, she asked if this is the SEASON for chicken pox. Ask me not to go to public places just in case. Hello... I dun need to go to work, eat, buy things and breathe air??? I oredi had chicken pox before n that lowers the possibility of contracting again. I can't stop ppl with chicken pox gg to public places. Same for ppl with flu virus! N she just rambled repeatedly for 5 times until the nerves in my brain nearly snapped.

Jackie, u getting better?

Vibe, may i know robionson sales till when?

bbjun, if i will u i would hang up the phone liao. I noe she care for u but already out of the limit. I also hate me stepping into my bedroom without asking me as that is privacy. I think she wanna take care of ur bb lor. haha

ladies, just out of curiosity, does anyone know the pantang abt pregnant ladies and painting? my hubby and i painted our bb cot yest, i so wanted to be part of it so i did it of my own accord.

but just to be curious, i want to know more abt the pantang. thanks in advance.

thanks for the explanation and tips about "receiving blanket"...if hooded ones not necessary, then i won't get it...think will just use the cotton nappy for day time and the "SwaddleMe" for night....

For those cotton nappy cloth from Pigeon, Tollyjoy, etc, if any MTB goes to Malaysia, it is much cheaper there....i bought the Annakku brand (12 piece pack) while in Msia for CNY and it is less than RM30 for a pack of 12...similar pricing for Pigeon and other brands too...plus/minus a few ringgits....

caramelle... i'm not pantang at all as i know whatever i have is already predestined and given by God
. but painting is not advisable due to the fumes you breathe in as you paint.

we had a lot of fun setting up the baby room yesterday, and i was there hammering and screwing away together with my husband (ok i realise the "screwing away together" sounds wrong but you know what i mean!!).

only when he sprayed some grease i got out of the way 'cos it was kinda stinky and it evaporated all over the room. i guess it's up to individual to believe, but i find that pregnancy health itself is worrying enough, i won't find myself a need to worry about what "other people say"?

my neck is getting long waiting for baby fair at Expo late Feb. anyone going there?

caramelle, old ppl will advise not as scare got birth mark. For logic, better not as paint got a smell, as got chemial. But i working in construction site, also daily smell the paint.

Vernie, received with thanks. I think those cotton nappy buy at those wet market also cheap. My frenz ask me go wet market to buy from those auntie. But price, im not sure yet.

Shelissa, the robinsons extra 7% is till 15/2. the 20% sale, not too sure when it's till though. if u have a robinsons card, better, extra 5% off the statement.

caramelle, since u already did it, dont ask la.. cos if different pple tell u diffferent things, u will feel very uncomfy as in the thought will always be in ur mind. so i think u should just relax and forget about the pantang portion.

vernie, i heard msia is cheap esp for Annakku brand cos it's a msia brand.

bbjun, i hate when pple barge into my room without letting me know!!!! i guess i'll show her the black face throughout the whole ting and not show up at her place for a long time... regarding calling u so many times. maybe she wana get ur attn and hope u will feel happy that she's concerned but well, once the first impression is gone, no matter what she do, will only irks...

thanks stickymouse. i heard it was pantang but not sure what it was about. i did have some "fumes moments" but in general we painted at the void deck where it was quite well-ventilated. seems the hammer and screw also got pantang?

eh im also going to the baby fair. cannot wait! hope to see you there.

vernie, my hubby also say go johor to buy diapers and other bb items cos cheaper. is it much cheaper? eg drypers brand, 28pcs for $7.80 at NTUC - is it more expensive? hubby say anyway diapers all make in m'sia so should be cheaper. but im thinking abt the petrol to and fro, just wondering if the end savings is worth it. and im one of those very scared to go jb after reading news abt the robberies all that. safer to be in SG but if savings is huge, don't mind sending my hubby there himself
hehe

good morning MTBs/ mummies...

u ladies are tempting me to go look at the carters BP too! indeed the bibs look cute!

shelisa,
nappy cloths fr wet mkts also not much cheaper, its like $15-16 for a dozen. not much difference from dpt stores.

lovelytulips, generally some bb items like diapers (Huggies, Drypers, etc) and cotton nappy are cheaper in Msia..not just Annakku...in fact Annakku, despite being a Msian brand, is not exactly that cheap as compared to Tollyjoy or Pigeon...about the same price or sometimes pricier...

of course, only if any MTB happens to go there or have frens going there...otherwise, if you add transport cost, etc, may not worth the hassle...

lovelytulips, shelisa, this is the second time she did this, using the same stunt when we were all distracted, moving out of the house. I gave her a black face the last time so I tot she would not do it this time. I did not show her a black face this time for sake of BB, trying to keep my mood light. She always thinks what's her children's are hers. That's what she did to my SIL, invited all her relatives to my SIL's US hse without even asking my SIL. I m so not gg to talk to her till she goes mad now.

I always feel that unless an item is really alot cheaper in JB, it's not worth gg there to buy after u add in the time u spend at the checkpoint, petrol, journey time etc. Time is money as well. All that adds up, it's not gg to be a lot cheaper than SGP.. could be more expensive some times.

lovelytulips, Thanks.

stickymouse, Ling and i going.

First mum, really? i didnt know as haven go to the wet market to check. Hmm, then mostly i go kiddy palace to buy ba.

caramelle, i bought a pack of Dypers (64 piece) for less than RM30 (i think it was RM28) at Tesco during CNY...but according to my friends, when on sale, it can be even cheaper...

me too, very afraid of JB...i bought in my hometown since i was already there for CNY...i wouldn't purposely go JB to buy also...the hassle and all, troublesome!

Shelisa,
Thank u, am much better

bbjun,
Yr mil really too much......Really a pain in the A**!!

Re : Cloth Nappy
Ladies who intend to use cloth nappy do note that u will need to get the nappy cover (can get from kiddy palace) as well. The nappy cover is waterproof, so the whole bed wont be wet when bb pee or poo.