(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun, haha! stretch us upwards eh??! Do we sit / stand while we're being stretched?
EEEEeewww, I thought Similac was sweet. There's worse?! What are they trying to do, promote gestational diabetes?!?!
Thkfully lotsa ppl around me are suddenly preggers at abt the same time - 2 of us sisters, 2 cousins, 2 pals, 2 neighbours... Pals passed down their milk samples to me. Sis and I passed all our milk samples to our cousin. (I must confess, I kept the Anmum sachets!) Cousin quite liked the huge sample tin of Similac I got from my obgyn so that worked out well. As I said, I'm only taking fresh milk and occasionally plain Anmum.

merlynzz, welcome to this auntie's thread
*OOPS, bbjun, you're in trouble!!!!*

Tubbym~, & sweethalo,
you two ah.. Enticed me with all your purchases on Fri. I've just gone back to the archives for the link posted and now I'm ordering too. Haha!!! Hoping to collect before my obgyn apptmt on Fri. Will she automatically give a discount or do I have to thicken my skin and ask?

bbjun,

I am with Dr Joycelyn Wong at TMC. I know you and hatemenot are with Dr Yvonne Chan.
My EDD is 3rd June. When is yours?

hello cassey... I didn't say anything salah hor. dun anyhow scare ppl.

stretch us when we are sitting. I seriously don't know how she did that. U must ask merlynzz and hatemenot to describe.

Hi tubbymummy and bbjun, my apologies. Must be the homones that got me blur. Think the changing table don't have white ones. I promised my hubby that I will stay in the bedroom while they fix up everything. So when I saw the breech, I was like, what? Anyway, I am not really that into colour so I am ok. Sorry again for making you happy for a moment!

Cassey, my luck is better. The pple at my place are nice. But I think I still find my hubby cutest! Re circumision, my hubby freak out! Ha ha ha. Anyway, think we will give that a pass too. Thanks for the info though.

Welcome ade_sourz! Would you like to provide your details (EDD, doctor, baby gender)? This info would get updated into a table that BlueDream posts every now and then

Re: hospitals, think most of us have chosen our hospitals. Both hospitals are good, and most ppl who have given birth in either hosp will say that respective hosp is good I think. So
like bbjun said, go on their hospital tours so that you can decide for yourself which one you feel more comfortable with. Cost wise, the packages at MAH are marginally cheaper than TMC, but I think this difference can only be felt if you're going for the single rooms and above (deluxe, suite). This is before all the rest of the miscellaneous charges of cos.

Welcome merlynzz! Your details too? Of cos, to be fair, our details can be found in a table if you scroll through the archives. Good to hear that you have a good appetite!

Cassey, I did some research before, and apparently it's ok to continue taking manuka honey during pregnancy. It is just not ok to feed manuka honey to infants, for the reasons you pointed out - live cultures etc. These are "neutralised" in the mother's body before it passes through to the baby in the bump.

sweethalo, I won't be buying the steriliser set from Taka, sorry I can't give you the details. I'm asking my ILs to buy me the Tommee Tippee one from UK. I plan on going to Taka maybe Mon or Tue to check on the Tommee Tippee set, if you can wait, I can go and find out the Avent package details for you. Or you wanna come along with me?

FirstMum/bbjun/Cassey: Ok thanks, I thought the teats should be ok too, but since more people say the same thing, I definitely feel more at ease now.

Re milk powders:
I haven't drunk ANY of the free milk samples given to me! I can't get myself to do it leh... I like my Meiji Low Fat milk (or anything that does not have vanilla flavour, yuck), and these mummy milk powders seem so fat and sweet...

Hi Cassey,
Similac is really too sweet for me too. I prefer to stick to Anmum.

bbjun,
aiya,11th floor, abit far to see my wave :p
You are welcome to take a ride home after Sat class.

Cassey, to do it while he is so young... cant bear leh... and how do we know if it's painful for him since bb cry at any possible reason.

those milk powders are just gimmicks with the extra this and extra that..... i think normal milk do the job well. and i do think chocolate flavoured ones are so so much better. vanilla are just so yucky. Cassey, can i sell the similac tin to your cousin???!!! wahahahah

welcome, merlynzz......

Hi Tubbymummy,

Thanks for your reminder.

Bluedream,
My details are as follows:
EDD: 3rd June
Gynae: Dr Joycelyn Wong
Delivery at TMC
Thank you for helping to update.

bbjun,
no wonder, your bump seems smaller compare to mine. I am 3 weeks ahead of yours.

merlynzz, thanks for the offer. Actually, I do drive (but not to work cos using a weekend car) but sent my car for servicing on Sat cos due for inspection soon.

tubbymummy, I oso love meiji milk. I must finish my milk powder soon so that I can drink that again.

bbjun,

No worries. My hubby and I each own a car. I have to drive on weekdays due to my job, and I love to be driven on weekends.

Anyone wants to have the free similac milk sample? I am more than happy to give it away.

bbjun, What did I say?! You sure you scare that easily!? Ok, ok, no salah, no salah.

l'tulips, yo, another anti-Similac! We should petition for them to release a NON-vanilla and unsweetened milk powder range.
Whoa, cannot la! I think my cousin has plenty to last her =) I gave her a full-sized tin and she's got another smaller tin of something from my sister and about 4 sachets of Enfamum. Plus she'll get her own supplies from hospital tours and prob her obgyn! *sorry no help*
Re: Circumcision > I'd rather do it when my fella is little so that he can't remember.

Tubbym~, thanks for clarification on honey issue. I'm not a honey person so I've no idea. =) I like MeiJi too... and Farmhouse low fat. Just got 2 x 2L bottles from the supermarket today.

sweethalo, sorry for the mis-info abt honey. Ignore it!

Cassey, she auto took $2 off my total purchase price ($0.50 per item, I ordered 4 items - bibs, blankets, hankies, rompers), so I think you won't need to ask for the discount... I'm tempted to order more now! I would order more blankets, but I like simple designs, and only one is plain pale green (which I already bought), the rest are already a bit too fuzzy for me.

LFB: no worries, I'm ok with the beech too, was just a bit excited that they have white, cos it just means I have one more option hehe.

Sorry merlynzz, I posted asking for your details right after you supplied them hehe... You must thank Blue Dream for updating, she's the one who does it, if it were up to me, there wouldn't be any tables at all haha! I'm not organised in any way.

lovelytulips: I also got hardening belly. Even harder after a meal. Eek. Now so hard and stretched, wonder how it'll be like at full term!!

bbjun: I tried to do some research about Meiji Collagen, and someone said the website mentions pregnant women can drink, BUT must check with doc first. Chay. I guess everyone will put that disclaimer. So I think I will bring the whole pack to show my doc on my next visit. But my doc more conservative type I think, so he may just tell me not to take and play safe. Sigh. You wanna ask your doc too? Hehe...

Doe anyone know, if we go for that Abbott talk, what sort of freebies will we get? I don't mind getting a free tin of Similac for BABY, but not mummy. Shudder.

bbjun, you're really a good girl. Finish all the samples before going back to fresh milk... Maybe you can bring it to antenatal class and see if anyone actually likes the brands you have? I wonder if: pregger mum milk taste horrid = bb formula also tastes horrid..?

l'tulips, yes, uterus has stretched so much that belly is turning hard. HORRORS. Just today hubby and I have observed that my bump is spreading to the sides... The sides of my bump are getting really firm too. AND I WAS TOLD BOYS SUPPOSED TO BE = 'NEAT' BUMPS. Kenah con again *growl* I guess I'll be losing whatever little remaining waistline I have shortly.

cassey, kidding la. :p

merlynzz, next time our sons will have playmates.

lovelytulips, u sure it's tummy hardening? Like it's hard even when u lie down? U sure it's not just the skin being stretched? That's what I feel most of the time. If tummy is hard even when lying down, then it's not very right.

Merlynzz, another Anti-Similac! There's a whole CLUB of us! Whoa, I must say Similac has been giving out a whole LOT of samples... Too bad lousy product: free still no taker. I see a lot of Promil (?), Mamil and Similac milk powder on sale in WTS thread. Tried looking for Anmum but don't have. I guess the good ones won't be sold... ? =)

Tubbym~, you're going crazy!! I'm not getting any blankets yet. But have ordered 8 bibs and 2 bundles of the hankies you got too. =)

think cassey used the right term... firm. Should not be hard. Cos when I fell the last time, gynae told me as long as tummy is not hard when u lie down, it's ok. That's the first check she did on me n her first remark was "good, tummy is still soft when u lie down".

tubbymummy, ya, I read that too. Am bringing to gynae to ask her at the next visit... 28 Feb. When's urs?

Cassey, no choice cos I have no one to pass my milk samples to. Aiyo, bring to class - scarli whole class filled with ppl who hates Mamil Gold n similac! hahaha.. I will just drink diluted version until they are gone.

bbjun,

Oh ya man.
It's nice to have playmates of the same age staying so near.

Anyone knows if we can wash the baby clothings together with our clothings in the washing machines? Or do we have to handwash them seperately?

bbjun: ok sorry, mine also not hard, but firm, and still soft when lying down. So guess I'm ok... My next visit on 21 Feb, so I go ask first, and if he give vague answer, you go ask your doc ok? Kekeke...

Cassey, based on actual item count and value, I think we're comparable, so you must be as crazy as me! hehe

merlynzz, I think u shd wash separate but can still use washing machine. Need to buy baby laundry detergent/powder for their clothes. Reason why? I haven't asked my fren. But that's what she told me.

hi merlynzz, =) glad to see you here.. Dr Joycelyn Wong is a good gynae and charges are reasonable but her schedule is really packed. one of my colleauges uses her as well! see you next saturday =D

cassey, yeah.. stretch us while sitting down.. not really stretching but extending our upper torso so that the baby don't put pressure on the stomach and aids digestion.
and... i don't like similac too! but i keep receiving samples of that! gawd...

lovelytulips, sometimes i do.. these few days not so, i try to avoid rubbing my tummy in circles and when it hardens, lie on my left side. I did ask my gynae about the hardening, she is not too concerned, she mentioned as long as there is no regular pattern, it is okay =)

okay bedtime folks! nites!! ^_^

ah... actually quite blur between whether it is hard or firm. it's actually on and off, especially after meals, or after bathing. think it's pretty ok when i lie down cos i feel the tummy move right when i lie right and left when i lie left. will check with gynae though.

collagen: i have a few packets of the Fancl collagen powder. dare not drink it once i knew i'm preggy though those Fancl sales pple say it's ok for pregnancy and there is no statement about not supposed to drink it like some of the pdts they have.
but i'll probably be careful about it....

merlynzz, some pple wash the baby clothings together with adult ones but what detergent u gonna use??? i tot got to wash it separately cos adult clothes are like full of bacteria. and bb clothes need those milder detergent

merlynzz,
i tink its up to your personal preference. i doubt theres anything wrong with washing adult and baby clothes together, except that some may think that adult clothes are "dirtier" cos we wear them out (exposed to more germs?) and we sweat and all. so many people prefer to handwash infant clothings. which we did for my girl for the 1st 2 years. now they are in the washing machine together.

bbjun,
baby detergent are milder and wont irritate baby's fragile/sensitive skin, unlike normal detergent. and also i tink they are formulated such that they clean milk and food stains well, yet they are not so harsh. many people use the kodomo softener as well, so that the fabric is not so harsh to the touch.

cassey, that's makes another anti-similac mummy in my class. LOL...

Thanks for sharing on the detergent thingy, first mum.

few days din log in so many threads liaozz...
heard got 2 talks coming 1 is from abbott 1 is from young parents 1.. both talks on the same day 21st feb.

Tubbym~, REALLY!? I'm just getting bibs and cloth leh.. Oh no!!! Then you should get more.. cos yours is a princess

Merlynzz, can wash together if you want to. But some ppl swear that bb's skin is sensitive and need milder bb detergent. In which case, I guess you'll have to do a separate load...

bbjun, the 3 of you can bring your Similac to the class and give out freebies... Haha... Most of the samples I've seen being given out are Similac (not just sachets but TINS), enfamum and anmum. Thankfully both hosp tours I went on gave Anmum. Yummy!

hatemenot, thanks! But need more info to execute leh...
Do they stand behind us or in front of? Can't be BESIDE, right?!
Do we extend arms up and they pull? Or do they hook arms under our armpits and lift upwards? Cannot be pull neck or head, right?!

Thanks for the advices for the washing of bb clothings. Well, I guess for bb sake, guess, I will be washing them seperately from my clothings and only using bb washing powder.

Cassey, with Zoe as the guest speaker, what other brand of milk bottle will u expect??? hahahaha

the carter bibs really look nice... i'm very tempted to get it too....

gonna sleep.... talk to u ladies tomorrow.... gd nite!

got a silly question here:

What is a "receiving blanket"? What is the difference from a normal blanket? Is receiving blanket used for swaddling babies?

~blur~

vernie, yes. Receiving blanket often a.k.a swaddling cloth. =)
Difference from normal blanket: it's not for covering bb, but wrapping him/her up.
Some are specially shaped for easier swaddling.

l'tulips, true true. Like I said, they're furiously giving out samples - but that just reinforces to the public that their milk is horrible.

hi ladies planning to buy the bib from the thread, i just bought 6 from her plus other items incl gap romper, gap sleepsuit and big blanket. she told me the bib useful when bb eating solids, not so much for BF-ing leh. so im planning to buy another set of newborn bibs from Mothercare - 10 for $7 in plain white.

went to her house to pick up my items, wah like real shop cos she got many2 items! and she's very nice.

anyone bought the carter's 5pack blankets? cos i think quite small and dont think bb can use for sleeping.

vibe, thanks for the info on the Youngparents seminar!

Hmmm, think I may still go for the Abbott talk, even if I have to deal with what looks like a big tin of similacMUM. I don't know what it tastes like, and frankly have no motivation to find out haha. Compared the topics covered by both talks, and think I'm still more interested in the topics offered by Abbott, but I wonder how much time Zoe and Ivy will take up, cos I really couldn't care less what they have to say...

Maybe just this talk and the breastfeeding one, and that's me, no more talks. Unless someone organises one that gives out big packs of diapers!

caramelle, yes I noticed you putting in your order!! The bibs are OH-SO-CUTE. Did she give you a discount for self-collection?

Tubbym~, Similac Mum tastes kinda like HL fresh milk. Try THAT. Even putting it milo / coffee doesn't disguise the vanilla smell and taste very much. That's why I admire bbjun's persistence.

lovelytulips- the bibs are great. The material is very soft! and actually I find the photos don't do justice for them, cos they look so much prettier in front of you

Quick buy buy buy- I still think $2.50 is not a bad price

Cassey- glad to see u were tempted and bought some for your little prince too! hehee ... ;P

TubbyMummy... actually was planning to go shopping on Monday too - taka being one of the places... sigh... but now flu is getting worse... so think hv to stay home... plus don't want to pass u any bugs...

Pls let me know what u see

OR wana go together on Friday?- maybe by then I am better

cassey, ah i see...so the "SwaddleMe" wrap i bought is a receiving blanket after all...

Any mummies know how many should we prepare? I saw some shopping list posted in this forum that we need six? Thought that's quite a lot, or perhaps I am wrong??

vernie, Huh?! SIX?!?! But only swaddle for first month or so, isn't it? For bb to feel securely surrounded like in the womb..?
I might as well just use my pashmina shawls... roll bb up in it and tie below the feet with a pretty little ribbon. HAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

sweethalo, whoa you make me spend for something I didn't even need leh. But seriously, I think I'll use them even when my hubby bottle-feeds with my milk (if things go according to plan)... just to see them 'in action'. Heehee..
I have no idea why I need so many wash cloths. I already bought a 6-pack. Now I'm getting more...?!
After what Tubbym~ said, I'm thinking mayb I should reduce it to just 4 bibs and 1 pk.

*sorry to have caused you to fall sick thanks to the G'Jeans escapade* We're worth it... =p

cassey, yes...i was surprised too when i saw the list...so i was wondering why?? i thought the most 2 or 3, for change when one is being washed...i will just prepare 2 since i do laundry regularly...

cassey, if you do roll bb up in your pashmina and tie below the feet with a pretty little ribbon, do share the photo here....hahahaah!