(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbjun, ya, at the end of the day, she can be annoying, but in her time, they really had those theory of eating for 2, so no point saying mean things to her cos it won't change her mindset anyway. maybe just tell her you've been nauseous of late, eat a bit more then normal will bloat and throw up, and it will be even worse then? Try to keep talking about other things so she won't have the opportunity to bring up the topic of looking after your baby. Good luck ya?

tubbymummy, thanks.

Seriously, she is not in a different generation from my mother, but she belongs to an even older generation. My mother doesn't believe in eating for two. Will bring out gynae's theory and all things to shield myself.

bbjun, oh dear. Why doesn't she just TALK if she wants to call for a chat?!?!?!?!
Poor you. Can you and hubby offer to 'cater' instead? To thank her for inviting you over?
You know, actually, I never said I'm meeting with ppl I don't mind gathering with.. I'm skipping it, BTW.

Tubbymummy, re: Giving up of seats. I've had several wonderful experiences and don't mind taking the train too much anymore cos very frequently, someone gives me a seat. =) I meant to share this yesterday but it slipped my mind!!

Remember when I left you ladies, it was just the beginning of peak hour at just past 5.30? Well, the train was not packed but quite crowded, and I caught one of those trains with a number of seats removed to make more standing space. I was standing at the 2 seater priority seats and there were NO OTHER SEATS around cos the opposite 2 had been removed and ppl were standing all around.

In front of me was a chubby young man sound asleep (truly, with his head drooping all over his chest). Beside him an elderly man. I stood for about 4-5 stops before the young man suddenly jerked awake. He opened his eyes, encountered my chirpy yellow bump, blinked in semi-consciousness and IMMEDIATELY rose to his feet. He didn't make any eye contact with me but vaguely gestured for me to take the seat with his hand.

Maybe you look really fit and tough as nails...!
Apply naughty sweethalo's "trickery" and put on a vulnerable I'm-the-weaker-sex...AND-I'M-PREGNANT face =)

bbjun, oh no! Wait. I just remembered. It's just YOU and MIL. *grimace*
Can you plead tiredness, backache, feet soreness and ermm... nausea at the last minute and back out of it?

If I count the tally for this week's train rides, out of abt 8 rides to and from work and the gathering, I've gotten an empty seat abt 2x and been offered a seat by someone abt 4x!

I think I have to practise that "poor thing" look more haha. I WAS feeling rather poorly, had horrible indigestion and gastric, and that made standing up feel as if I was stretching my belly beyond what is humanly possible. I had a funny posture, and I'm sure my face looked pained. But you know, when people are deliberately avoiding looking at me, it doesn't matter what face I have on, they won't see it anyway. Oh well...

Tubbymummy, *oops* was it the tea? The 'look' you described sounds pretty good...
But hey! Keep looking in the mirror and practicing. Haha.
A hypothesis: maybe heels don't help the I'm pitiful look. Flats can probably earn more sympathy!

Had a horrid night's sleep. Hubby kept me up all night. *sweethalo, don't even GO there!* Usually a silent sleeper, he didn't just snore yest but twice SNORTED so loudly that it shocked me awake. Combined with the usual rousing due to cramps and tailbone ache, I barely woke in time for work this morning. (Woke at 8am. Work's at 8.45!)

Only logged on now to wait for laundry cycle to complete. It just has!
So ciao, tubbym and bbjun, thks for kpg me company. I'm hanging the clothes out and going straight back to bed.

Haha Cassey hope you get a good nap.

I slept horribly too. The gastric/indigestion kept me up, so I surfed net till 2am+, and suddenly had stomache ache. Ran to loo, cursing and swearing the Inagiku dinner I had, and was convinced the 2 slices of sashimi I had did me in. But after one toilet trip, no more runs, so I guess I was just being melodramatic. Decided to go to bed, and ended up tossing and turning all over the place, and when I finally started drifting off to sleep, I dreamt of BIBS! That shocked me awake hahaha. Spent the rest of the night in a light semi-conscious state that can't be called "sleep" in any sense of the word. Sigh.

cassey, good thing is that she and FIL have decided to eat out. But hb not ard leh... to face her alone.. super sianz. To feign all that, I rather not. Cos she will just turn up at my plc n dun go!!! Like that, even worse.

hb with snoring probs shd try the breath easy pdt available from watsons and pharmacy. A pc of hansaplast look-a-like thingy to be pasted on the nose bridge. Works wonders for my hb n now, he is even kinda cured of it. He hardly snores now even without it. Should try it!

tubbymummy, i m sure the poor thing look doesn't work. I tried that numerous of times. It only works on kind souls and my hb. The rest just look away n pretend not to see.

Have a good rest, cassey!
I m gg out n later, meeting hatemenot at antenatal class.

Shelisa, you bought the avent stuff yet? If not can PM me ur contact if you wanna get stuff from the Philips Experience Showroom. I got 20% discount on AVENT products. anyone else interested can also PM me. I'll be available on mon-fri during office hours to meet u at the counter when you purchase.

Rach, for yeast infection also try to avoid eating sugary stuff.

bbjun, ur MIL is so so... er, dont know what to say. i think end of the day, both u and ur hb got to stand firm that u arent giving her to look after the bb. else, i think all hell will break loose.

mrt seats, i hate the mrt not only becos there's no seats. during peak hrs, u can be squeezed with the face probably gonna stick on the door, n yet, there are still pple trying their luck to push in.

i went robinsons today, and there's a 20% on avent stuff, plus another 7% for the relief measure. so kind of a good buy. saw lotsa MTBs grabbing their stuff.

Cassey,

hee hee, my boss not so free like me to check forum! Anyway, we had lengthy talk last night. Felt bad for him cos when I leave, if he need emergency help, dunno who else will sell their life for him. Second boss also hansome young thing, again taken. But he don't depend on me.

Today I went Ikea. Bought the cabinet for bb's clothes and also a changing table. I got some deco stuff too, can't resist! Bought cute curtains, bibs(cheap cheap ones), pictures and other stuff. So tired now! Got to complete my work and kun!

Tubbymummy, haha! You silly ol' drama-mama! Did you hubby sleep thru the whole episode, or did you invite him to join you in your misery if he ain't working today? Uh-oh... Now the bibs are haunting you even in sleep. It's the start of the sleepless club membership. I can't wait to stop working.. Can sleep in everyday before bb comes so getting good rest at night may not be as critical. Heehee...

I zonked out for almost 3 hrs and feel much better! Was feeling completely depressed before that. Whining to hubby that I felt ill and I felt really ugly and fat and in general, like a big lump of wobbly lard. The sweetie pie just held me close, kissed my hair, forehead, temple and told me BUT you're beautiful. So I kinda melted all over again. Heehee!! Melting is good when preparing to sleep! Again, wo shi xing fu de nu ren. =)

bbjun, thk God for little favours! Hey, is your FIL a very docile man? I'd think you'd have to be, to put up with a wife like your MIL...
So, how was the meet up with hatemenot? Might you fit in HER pocket?
Yay! Your hubby will be back by the time you go for the next class!
As I said, my hubby is typically a silent sleeper. On the rare occasions when he heavy-breathes or snores, he stops once I just gently caress his face. If I had to put up with this racket every night like sweethalo, I'll get him a tempur pillow, nasal strips and make him do a sleep study at the hospital!

Tubbym, bbjun, lovelytulips...
why does everyone else seem to be having bad train experiences...?! Maybe cos I live and work in the west, so don't take train to or from the central areas during peak hours very often. The East-bound train at J'East interchange is CRAZY during morn rush hour. The jostling crowd just don't give way - bump or no bump. So I guess it's the central area workers that are the inconsiderate bunch...? I've been very fortunate, it appears. Any other encouraging stories from anyone?

LFB, ooohh la la, what divine company is this? What industry do you work in? Seems like hunks and great catches aplenty over on your side. I've got a good one myself, but will take note to refer any single friends to you and you can take over from there. *chuckle*

Hey ladies... great to hv met some of you yesterday! Thanks for org, Cassey!

Came down with a slight sore throat after the strawberry chiller I had at GJ's... sigh... today went shopping and loaded up on a Manuka honey- hope it will work like miracle...

Tubbymummy- hope u are feeling better.

Re: Bibs
Really happy with the bibs! Looks much better than the photos even! Hubby likes them alot and so does my mum... hehe

Re: MRT Seat Snatcher
I would have told the snatcher off! "Excuse me, hello, the guy just gave up his seat for me- a pregnant woman. I think you should not just snatch it like that!"

Re: Snoring hubbies
Breathe Right is a myth... does not work, save your $... hehhee

hey ladies! somebody gave me a seat today on the mrt! both to and fro!! there are the usual snoozers of course, but at least got people awake! hahaha

anyway, i bought the pigeon sterilizer from takashimaya today. was so shocked to find out the drastic price differences. it was 120++ at kkh (with 2 free bottles), 110++ at tangs and 95 at taka! bought at taka since we have taka vouchers.

slowly buying more and more...

my husband and i went to have a chat with the lady who turned down our offer for babysitting... she shared with us that our early hours 6.30am is a major factor as they as housewives won't have time to settle their own housework...

it's an occupation problem since both my husband and i are teachers. who's going to help teachers look after children other than maid then??

sigh.

morning mummies-to-be!, it's a sunday morning and i'm up early again..

toffeecat, thanks for the offer! will need to get more avent products, will PM you soon.

both bbjun and I started our pre-natal class by Mrs Wong and I must say she is good! and very humourous

Nice meeting you bbjun. =)

There's alot of things that me and my hubby have been doing wrongly like no rubbing your tummy in circles as it will rub out contractions. She mentioned sashimis are okay.. ginseng okay.. and taught hubbies how to massage our hands and arms.
Actually she taught us alot of things, but without taking notes, abit difficult to remember all.

super looking forward to the next class, i hope there's more massage lessons taught to hubbies hur hur hur.

morning...
hatemenot, u are not the only early one.
Nice meeting u too. Thank u n hb for helping me chop "seat"! I m still amazed at the preggie who shared what she ate in one day yesterday. I m definitely not eating as much as hers. How did she manage that!!!

toffeecat, think we are ex-colleagues... wonder if I know u... kekeke...

agree with hatemenot that the lesson is indeed very informative, esply for first time mummies. After she said sashimi is ok, I feel like having it everyday. hehehehe...
I like the part where she teaches on tai jiao. So many things that I have read on tai jiao are so different from hers. Tried out her techniques when I reached home for fun.. gosh, BB really respond sia.. n became so active n refuses to sleep!!!

cassey, I dun think hatemenot can fit me in her pocket. Though she is definitely a lot taller than me, she is so slim!!! Her limbs are even leaner than mine lor.. which makes her bump looks cute. She looks like those who can regain their figure immediately after delivery type. Makes me feel like a rolly polly standing next to her.

amk_gal, the babysitter u talking abt stay where one? Me still looking ard.

cassey, my FIL, surprisingly, is not exactly a docile person. In fact, he has strong opinions on things. But he usually gives in to my MIL cos his lung capacity loses out to her (I oso lose out to her lor). The hbs of my MIL's sisters are definitely docile. U know why? I have been there (Taiwan) about 2-3 times and gosh, I can never see them opening their mouths (except when eating) nor hear their voice. Each time I m there, I can only hear the women talking (i actually prefer to use the word shouting) on top of their voices. They decide everything. The guys just follow.

LFB, how much did u buy the changing table for? Is it the simple one in beech colour? Is the sale this week or next week?

Cassey,
I am in service industry. So you can see why! No use to intro friends, most TDH taken. Too bad!

bbjun,
hubby cannot tahan sales. He actually don't like to shop in Ikea cos always packed. If not bcos we need to buy bb stuff, he will usually give that place a pass. The changing table I bought is white in colour. It's only $55, so I thought no need to wait for sale. Sis is using one, so I thought can also get one.

My mom so funny. She mentioned that she sought out a babaysitter for me liao, and that lady can take care of bb in the night too. The funny thing is I have told her I will take no pay leave to care for bb, and she still asked around. This lady is a housewife, stays near Farrer Park, and her retired hubby is also a teacher.
Good, but I really no need lah.

LFB, that's the one I was looking for. So also have white! I tot it's only beech. That's great. I will go down next week with HB then. Thanks!

Sighz.. ur mommy so nice. Too bad that babysitter is too far away.

bbjun, my sis also got the beech. Actually we are suppose to get the beech, cos the cot that SIL giving us is in wood colour. But the cabinet we bought only comes in white, so we thought good to have the changing table white too. Anyway, hubby said it ok, cos our house is painted in white and so it will be good.
Many items on waiting list, so good to go earlier. Our initial targeted cabinet was out of stock, that's why we chose another eventually.

bbjun, the babysitter i mention stay amk ave 5...

dunno la. seems it's tough for my husband and i to get a babysitter cos our timing is a major put off... though we dun mind paying more i dun think it's something people will accept due to money..

anyone going for breastfeeding workshops?? when's a good time to go? i wanna finish my antenatal programme first (ending in march) so thinking of going in apr. is it too late?

Lovelytulips, yes i have book online for the First Mum Congress. 5hrs for $15/pax is quite ok and furthermore got $80 worth of goodies! You going?
Shelisa, i have book online instead and pay by credit card. Anyone going else? Mayb can meet up at the congress and catch up during the refeshments break!

Jackie, yah mayb yr bb wt is at 21wk+.
LFB, Congrats to your prince! My detailed scan that time also at 20 wks 6 days. Said my bb girl is 400g. Sonograher said is normal too. But seems most of other mummies one is less than 400gm..Hmm gonna ask my gynae during my visit next week.

cassey. haha the wall of Fame huh.. Seems so fun during the meet up but too bad you gals adjourned before i can join u. Nvm, hope to join in for the next meet up!

Hi mummies! I'm feeling better form the horrible gastric & indigestion. Still had a bit on Sat, but today seems fine. Thanks for your concern

sweethalo: My hubby likes the bibs too! Surprising, cos men usually don't care about these things haha.

LFB: I'm also thinking of getting the changing table. I didn't know they have it in white. Did u also get that white colour changing mat for putting on top? Thinking of also getting cot and cabinets. Did u go to the Tampines branch or the Alexandra one?

createjoy: I'm interested to attend the breastfeeding talk at Kembangan. I'll PM u my details later.

Question: If I buy some milk bottle teats now, how long can I keep them (I won't open the package)? Will they "spoil", like go sticky, or harden, or whatever? The steriliser set that I am considering comes with additional 2 med flow and 2 fast flow teats, which I believe I won't get to use till maybe year end?? So I just wondered if keep till then, will they "spoil".

amk_gal, thks for sharing. AMK ave 5 is still far for me. Maybe u want to suggest an earlier pick up time for your BB? Cos ur parents stay nearby, they can help u pick up the BB. Like that the BBsitter may see that they have time to do housework, later part of the day instead. Dunno if that would make it more attractive for them or not. But worth trying if u really found a good BBsitter that u hope she can take up the assignment.

Not gg for the first mum congress cos the first talk is still by WBB n I m really not keen to take anymore milk samples! hehe... Besides, I prefer to take my day slow, go massage, go home n laze n then go for antenatal class after that.

LFB, I want white!!! cos my cot is white la. kekeke.. now can match. I was fretting that they don't have white cos cannot match the cot. Now I m so happy!!!

Gosh, so glad that lunch is over with my PILs. Took the opportunity to tell her abt CL and can see her disappointed face immediately. Decided to tell her before she asks cos it would pass on a msg that we are prepared!!!! Hope that message is somewhere in her head.

tubbymummy, glad that you are feeling better.

Dunno how to answer your qn but then, I supposed it would be ok if u are keeping in a cool, dry plc. Besides, u shd be taking them out to clean once sometime late May ba. Then clean again before use? Otherwise, by the time u deliver n move back, so many things to open to take out n use, dunno will be chicken hand duck feet not.

Dear tubbymummy and bbjun,
yep, they have white, unless I see wrongly....faint! Anyway it will be delivered later. Now they really efficient, can send so fast. Luckily we went yesterday, so today can get them to deliver and assemble. I also got the mat, $10 for it. Most likely to put a nice blanket on it cos looks plastic.

btw, can we be at home when they assemble? Hubby said I must get out of my house, sil's instruction! Sigh.....

I think it's ok. there is no drilling, what!! It' just screwing the thing together. I think only the drilling and hammering nails thingy is the pantang thing that ppl talk abt.

Aiya,
dunno how to convince hubby. They are coming and he is still sleeping! Don't dare to sleep cos I will have sleepless night eventually! So better keep awake. Will bathe now, thanks!

LFB: That time when contractors came to install my dining lamp, my mum also said that I can't be at home. But I told her I go out and wonder on my own even more stupid right? So I stayed in my own bedroom and closed the door, and only came out after everyone left.

bbjun: glad that your lunch went smoothly! Phew! Hopefully now MIL gets the message that both of you have got everything under control, don't need her intervention or help. Now just concentrate on finding a good nany.

Actually, I haven't thought about what I'm going to do with my purchases haha. You're prob right that I need to take out everything and clean before June. But for those med and fast flow teats, I think I will still be leaving them intact, cos only use when baby is a bit bigger right? By the time I need to use then I sterilise. But just scared that they will spoil, cos the staff at Taka told me that silicone teats should not be kept too long, preferably less than 3 months. But after I came home n thought about it, it doesn't make a lot of sense also, cos after the product is manufactured, who knows how long the product is sitting on the shelf before it gets sold?? So it doesn't make sense that the manufacturers are making products with such SHORT life span right?

tubbymummy,
i really dont think teats will spoil inside their original packaging. those in the stores must have been there for months or even yrs! doubt theres an "expiry date" for teats. except for those rubber ones (yellowish-brown colour) by NUK. those i know if store too long will "collapse".

tubbymummy,
ya, those teats u are not using first, should not be taken out. Leave them inside the packaging is cleaner lor. hmm... I didn't know about this lifespan of teats leh.
The only thing I learnt from my CL is that most newborns are more adaptable to Pigeon teats cos Avent one is harder, difficult to suck. She asked me if possible, standby one Pigeon feeding just in case. Since Kiddy Palace is just 5mins walk away from my hse, I think we can buy if really need. So far, none of my frens' BB have probs with Avent teats.

Think when they install the lamp got a bit of drilling in the ceiling, that's why ur mom asked u to leave the hse. I am getting my carpentar uncle to make a bed for the CL. So his guys will be fixing up the pieces in BB's room next month. My mother told me ok, small works. Only drilling on the wood pces, not the wall. Never ask me to stay out. Difference degree of pantang-ness. kekekeke..

bbjun,
its true that some babies do not like Avent teats. esp when they are v young infants or teething. but avent teats are more "hardy", can last longer. my girl uses pigeon peristaltic teats and we hafta change every few mths. cos they are v soft and tear easily when u wash.

i'm new to this & am keen to join in... hope i'm not too late...

i'm also due in june but have yet to prepare anything.. somehow still not very in tune with the whole process...

anyway just curious if anyone of u have choosen which hospital to deliver? cos i'm supppose to choose mt. alvernia or thomson medical centre. any comments/feedback?

cheers!

ade_sourz,
you're not too late. You're never too late, maybe unless you come after you've delivered. Your nick is quite hard to type..
When are you due? There was a Thomson / Mt A discussion some weeks ago. Thomson seems popular for their nice rooms and good service, while Mt A seems popular for their nice nurses and more comprehensive medical facilities.

sweethalo & nozomi & toffeecat & Tubbym & createjoy, you're welcome!

sweethalo,
the bibs were absolutely gorgeous. Having seen them, I do think they're a bargain. I thought preggie ppl not supposed to have honey?! Due to the active (live?) bacteria or whatever? I figured "pure" honey is ok since it's been processed but raw honey (usually the more expensive varieties like Manuka) are not advisable...? Hmmm... *frown*

amk_gal,
poor thing. 6.30 is seriously early. I don't have the make that decision since I'll be a SAHM, but here's my 2 cents worth - If I had to, I'd definitely opt for a live-in maid from the Philippines.

hatemenot,
now I feel envious... like I should sign up for TMC - Mrs Wong's class instead of Mt A. Heehee... ALSO OF YOUR BEING SO SLENDER. =( If little bbjun feels like a rolly polly, I hope I NEVER meet you. =( Thanks for sharing tips! I hope you have a sweet sweet time with your hubby with all the tips. Next lesson onwards, TAKE NOTES!!! & post them all here!

bbjun,
in that case, I admire your FIL. I thought Taiwan mei4 supposed to be sweet sweet, soft-spoken soft spoken, manja girls?

LFB,
*phew* I used to be in service industry too (hospitality). Ermm... met a lot of hunky, suave, well-spoken men. But no one I'd like to date cos they all have such glib tongues and dirty minds. At least they did at the place where I served my internship. Absolutely filthy minds, the perverted lot. Ok, I shall not get started..

creamer,
Pity you didn't get to join us. it's not like we were really discussing 'The Ones'... It just popped up repeatedly in the conversations. Like hey! hey! Yeah! Someone said this right? Who huh? But like you said, next time!
I'll see you in abt a mth's time, if not before. =)

Tubbym~,
glad you're better. Maybe it isn't the food, but bb? I get indigestion/heartburn/nausea often and bump's not even huge yet. =(
I think the teats probably only get sticky and icky if you remove from packaging or store them in a warm place, otherwise, they should last just fine.

Re: Workshops/ seminars/ courses
Is anyone as laidback as me? I don't feel like going for any workshops or courses except an antenatal course.
At the gathering, some asked about yoga, baking, swimming... But why am I so completely disinterested and un-moved?

Re: Circumcision
Hmm... I googled this and found some informative articles on the topic. Looks like I MAY sign my little warrior up after all.
MTBs having warrior princes, here's an excerpt for your information:

Are there benefits from circumcision?

There are several:

1 Many older men, who have bladder or prostate gland problems, also develop difficulties with their foreskins due to their surgeon's handling, cleaning, and using instruments. Some of these patients will need circumcising. Afterwards it is often astonishing to find some who have never ever seen their glans (knob) exposed before!

2 Some older men develop cancer of the penis - about 1 in 1000 - fairly rare, but tragic if you or your son are in that small statistic. Infant circumcision gives almost 100% protection, and young adult circumcision also gives a large degree of protection.

3 Cancer of the cervix in women is due to the Human Papilloma Virus. It thrives under and on the foreskin from where it can be transmitted during intercourse. An article in the British Medical Journal in April 2002 suggested that at least 20% of cancer of the cervix would be avoided if all men were circumcised. Surely that alone makes it worth doing?

4 Protection against HIV and AIDS. Another British Medical Journal article in May 2000 suggested that circumcised men are 8 times less likely to contract the HIV virus. (It is very important here to say that the risk is still far too high and that condoms and safe sex must be used - this applies also to preventing cancer of the cervix in women who have several partners.)

A BBC television programme in November 2000 showed two Ugandan tribes across the valley from one another. One practised circumcision and had very little AIDS, whereas, it was common in the other tribe, who then also started circumcising. This programme showed how the infection thrived in the lining of the foreskin, making it much easier to pass on.

5 As with HIV, so some protection exists against other sexually transmitted infections. Accordingly, if a condom splits or comes off, there is some protection for the couple. However, the only safe sex is to stick to one partner or abstain.

6 Lots of men, and their partners, prefer the appearance of their penis after circumcision, It is odour-free, it feels cleaner, and they enjoy better sex. Awareness of a good body image is a very important factor in building self confidence.

7 Balanitis is an unpleasant, often recurring, inflammation of the glans. It is quite common and can be prevented by circumcision.

8 Urinary tract infections sometimes occur in babies and can be quite serious. Circumcision in infancy makes it 10 times less likely.

Full article available at http://www.circinfo.com/benefits/bmc.html

Re: Baby Boy Circumcision - Procedure & Recovery

The obstetrician or the baby’s pediatrician will perform the circumcision before the baby is discharged from the hospital. Following the circumcision, the glans will appear red and the cut edge of the foreskin may ooze for several hours. Care involves applying A&D ointment or Vaseline jelly on a cotton gauze and placing the gauze loosely over the glans. This will prevent the irritated glans from rubbing against the diaper. Over the course of 3 to 5 days, a soft, yellowish scab will develop over the glans, and by the 7th day, the site should be essentially healed.

In the end, the decision to circumcise or not to circumcise is one for parents to ponder long before the eventual birth. Parents should speak freely and honestly with each other. Information should be read and discussed. The obstetrician or pediatrician should be consulted. Ultimately, it will be your decision, and one that will have a lasting impact.

Full article available at http://www.expectantmothersguide.com/library/philadelphia/circumcision.htm

Cassey, thanks for the info about circumcision. however, friends i spoke to seems to say that the PD nv really recommend it unless for religious purposes or when it became a "health" concern. hb and i were talking about it and wondering when should be the best time to do it should we decide to do it.....

Re: Workshops/ seminars/ courses
apart from the antenatal classes, i arent very into yoga, swimming etc. even a walk out at night, i'm also lazy. but hey, i'm always into buying bb stuff.....

sweethalo, i saw a push cart selling the bibs at city hall also, but didnt check out the price. how's the material??? they look all so cute...

creamer, wanted to sign up for the mum's congress but saw the programme schedule. there are some talks and a live demo by WBB. Probably give it a miss since i'm going for WBB's antenatal class. also saw some of the stuff for the goodie bag and it seems like more similac milk powder!!! i still have an unopened tin which i dont even feel like drinking.

lovelytulips & bbjun,
agree... the huge tin of Similac is more a put-off than an incentive. haha... DETEST vanilla flavoured milk.

l'tulips, I don't think it's a dr's "recommendation" in Sg. Just an option open to us.
Hubby just read the articles too and we've made decision to go for it and God willing, have our little warrior circumcised before discharge from hospital. (Unless he's premature...) At least he'll have no recollection of it when he grows up and we don't have to keep monitoring if he's cleaning himself properly under the foreskin. =)

cassey, thanks for sharing the info. Discussed this with my hb before and we both agreed not to let our boy go thru this unless there is a real health concern for him to do that.

re: taiwan mei4
I think they are only sweet n nice before they are married lor. These aunties I have seen are definitely not belonging to that category. The younger ones who became mothers, they are all starting to become as naggy and long-winded. I also take my hat off my FIL but I guess there is nothing much he can do to change her, but to accept her cos she is gg to be his partner walking the rest of the journey with him.

Re:heartburn
WBB shared something on this ytd. Showed a technique that hb can use to help relieve mummies' discomfort, esp'ly in the 3rd trimester. He has to go from behind and stretch her upwards so that the food can go down. I was the guinea pig being demo on... maybe hatemenot can describe how to do that better cos I can't even see what she did to me!

Welcome, ade_sourz. If u still can't make up your mind on the hospital, u should just join their hospital tours to understand each hospital's facilities better. I don't think they differ much in cost.

cassey, I just found one that tastes even worse... Mamil Gold. Yucks. It's not just the vanilla taste, it's also super sweet!!! Dying to finish the remaining samples soon to just drink normal fresh milk. I will feel super sayang to throw these samples away when there are ppl in other countries gg without food.

I am a June mummy too. Hope I can able to exchange some advices with all the June MTBs.

bbjun,
Hi, I think I am the preggie that you mentioned about eating that much at the antenatal class.

Yes, I am the girl that sat beside you.

Hope to see you and hatemenot at our next sat class.

hi merlynzz,

haha.. good to see u here. Yes, I m still amazed. I am having probs feeding myself lately cos my stomach seems to be compressed. Neither do I really feel hungry like I used to in first trimester. It's only until I m way past hunger n start to have some gastric pain that I realize I m hungry!!! I feed myself consciously according to normal meal times n try to finish food of my usual appetite. If not, I will have to remind myself to eat something in between... which usually do not happen cos I will just forget.
hatemenot is the gal sitting on my right with her darling hb lor! U were on my left!

Hi bbjun,

That day was one of my those good appetite day. I do not eat that much every day la. :p
Maybe you can eating your meals with a bunch of colleagues or friends. I ususally have a hearty appetite with people rather than eating alone.

But do remember to have a fixed eating time for all your meals to prevent any gastrics pain. We are now eating for our precious little one too.

From your earlier posts, you are staying at Toa Payoh. Me too! I am staying at Blk 153, Lor 2. Any Toa Payoh MTBs beside us?

merlynzz!!! i m staying at blk 152!!!

Rach is staying in TPY too.. but I dunno which part. She is using the same gynae as me.

When is ur EDD, gynae n BB's gender n delivery hospital?