(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

I went to doc when and confirmed it was yeast infect and doc said was very bad. She had to clean the area for me and put medication straight away. A month later I got it again. But this time think the medication didn't help. Quite irritating cos getting it quite frequently. Though I know preggie is prone to getting it, but am surprised by the frequency.

caramelle: Definitely i will be throwing unfinished after feed cause it drank halfway so saliva will get in touch with milk and bacteria will accumulate. Remember seeing it somewhere once thawed cannot be refreeze again.
Pump is different as there is no1 drink it before, your pump & bottle are sterilised and u refrigerated it immediately after pump. Freshly made! However if you put the bm under room temp, it can only keep awhile too.

Actually not all bb can follow the guide of how much should a bb drink at certain age/mth. Some can really drink but some can't. Like my girl, she drink about 20ml and she will cry the roof off when I tried to give her only 10ml.

Rach, i will suggest that u often change ur panty liner. Or u see ur office toilet got water to let u wash? Will advise lunch time change ur panty liner and also rinse with water. let that those discharge wont make the infection area even worse. try to keep panty liner dry n clean.

audreyaw, but if bb never drink from that bottle? maybe we pour into another sterilised bottle for feeding, then the first bottle still clean right? im asking this because do we have to only make 10-30ml milk for every feed in first few days? from your experience, is that okay? i think if bb is BFing, it's okay cos no need to prepare anything. but if on formula, im just wondering how it'll work. 30ml seems very little..i better go back and measure. and also when will bb need more like 50/60 ml per feed?

yup correct, milk once thawed cannot refreeze so can only refrigerate once and thaw once. so better to make small quantities?

i know i will learn this along the way, but so lucky i am to also have this info from you before i encounter it myself, so thanks in advance!

oh and what about the SYRINGE? do you think it's a crazy idea?

bbjun.. hahahah.. yeah.. I like that.. tai-tai's enjoying their Gloria Jeans now and OT later tonite..

Shelisa, I attached the file here, let me know if you can't open it.. most of them I just copied from the Taka Maternity/Baby shopping list.. plus add a few here and there by advices of friends, colleagues and relatives.. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_zip.gif
Baby &amp; Maternity Shopping List
Baby &amp; Maternity.zip (9.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

caramelle: I remembered those milk bottles I get from kkh come with a lid so I was thinking they might be pressured before giving us. So no point keeping it. Oh yes, you don't make 80ml of formula milk when bb only drinking 20/30ml. You make how much bb drink. bb will tell you when he/she need to increase the intake. like for the past few feeds, bb drink all and crying earlier for milk. when u try to feed water, bb will suck but cry even more angrily. that's when u know bb need to increase.

for bm, i think if you have more than enough for bb even bb can't finish you can also throw it away. the fridge might not have space to keep also.

Syringe is dangerous cause it might choke bb.

Shelisa: I can open the file and download it. The list is quite long, pm me your email and i send it as excel file to you if ling didn't. =)

bing, you can open the file ? I've been trying to repost the file without zipping, but the size limit doesn't allow me.. if can open, can help me send to Shelisa as I don't have access to my emails from work.. thanks..

gosh.. finally, it's nearing the end of Friday and we can all go home soon!

For BM, fren told me to thaw one bottle of 80ml or the amt needed in fridge for the day. Pour the amt required for the feed n put back the bottle in the fridge. Then warm up the feed bottle lor. Like that minimal wastage.

bbjun, oh so like that actually you're not thawing the whole bottle of BM. just pouring enough out then put the rest quickly back in fridge? should work i guess?

caramelle, BM can store in fridge (not freezer hor) for 72 hrs, for a long time (think one month) in freezer. So u just need thaw what u need in fridge, still ok. Milk won't spoil if u pour out what u need n put back in the fridge. I m sure BB drinks more than a 80ml bottle a day!

audreyaw,
this link is very informative. I m sure everyone is clear now.

Knocking off! Have a good weekend, mummies!

lovelytulips,
tink robinsons is absorbing GST for all products til 15 feb (not too sure abt the date)...

any gd books on BF. wld like to read up more as i wish to BF longer this time round. CASSEY, any recommendation?

Hey ladies! I'm back! Whoa, see, it's not just the non-working and this part-time working MTBs that are flooding this thread ok.

Good gathering today - with 10 ladies turning up. =) We weren't quite as BUMPy as I thought we'd be. By mutual agreement, we've decided to withhold the revelation of our faces to give you more incentive to meet up with us in future. (Actually, the truth of the matter is that the up and rising starlets among us are afraid to be recognised by the paparazzi~) Hahaha... So First Mum, indeed, we took a group picture, but it's for 'internal circulation' only. =)

Next up! Westies gathering!

Congrats LFB! OOOooohhh... Your boss sounds like a dish. *licks lips* Maybe I should apply to work at your company. Does he need a personal coffee lady? I can go Gloria Jeans and buy for him. Whoa, Gloria Jeans must give me advertising commission!

Shelisa, I think you mean SCHOLL shoes?

Whoa, bbjun, you evil woman. But ok la, not a lot of OT to do. Hehe... Today the bunch of us were talking about THE ONE's on this thread. It was really quite entertaining. Haha! Highlights of Our very own Hall of Fame "discussion" included but was not limited to...

The One(s) with MIL from hell: bbjun &amp; ahnetsan
The One who's very very tall: creamer
The One who's very very small: who huh?! (1.52m??)
The One with Popped Navel: 11_Beans...
The One who is a Super Poster: Cassey =(
The One who's also an Eastie: First Mum
The One who's blessed with twins: Mooch
The Ones with the heavyweights: jam75 &amp; bing

Anyway, took recent pic of our "guest room" - used now to store all of bb's stuff.
But we're not exactly planning on CONVERTING it to a nursery..
*Stroller chucked beside window* Hehe...

2136273.jpg

hi hi cassey,
indeed missed u and ur postings when u were away today haha.

ok ok hope to meet up the next round. did u mean most mummies are not really showing yet? i wld say my bump is very obvious at 20wks as everyone who meets me (and knows me) is congratulating me already.

the Hall of Fame is very interesting!

First Mum, not that we were not showing... Most of us were, with the exception of only 2 or 3 whose bumps were not very obvious. But we're not HUGE swollen waddlers so much so that ppl see us and immediately can tell WHOA. Preggies' Club! I think our bumps were all quite understated. I must confess, we did vote one biggest bump among us and *hint hint* it belonged to the only one who's already got a boy.

The Breastfeeding articles I've come across are from Mother &amp; Child and Motherhood magazines. There are several excellent articles in their "BreastFeeding Special!" issues. Very very educational... and quite graphic too. You can try to borrow backdated copies from the library. I know that Jurong East Regional Library, for one, has plenty in stock. But it's too far for you.

hope can get some opinions from you regarding child care arrangements.

my requirements:
need care-giver from 6.30am - 6.30pm (latest)
reliable, can cook, have experience (the standard)

In my position, would you choose a babysitter, or a maid?

I have a babysitter interested who lives quite near to my workplace, but that means I have to bring baby to her very early in the morning. After work I will just go to her place and fetch baby before coming home. the ideal for me would be to get a babysitter in my block or the next few blocks so baby won't catch a cold by going out too early in the morning.

As for getting a maid, i have issues with privacy and safety and she will be unsupervised most of the time. someone recommended an ex-maid to me, which she can guarantee is reliable enough to be unsupervised (but there's no guarantee she'll wanna come back singapore to work). good thing is my parents can be more involved in raising the child as I live just opposite to my parents. If i get a babysitter, my parents will have lesser contact with baby.

As for cost, maid sure cost lesser than babysitter..

what would you do in my position?

cassey,
wld be fun if we can get together every mth. can watch one another growing bigger and bigger! wld be quite a sight towards the end of pregnancy!

thks for sharing. will go marine parade library to check out the mags u mentioned.

amk_gal,
for me when i was still working, i chose a maid for the reasons:

1. ferrying the baby to and fro DAILY is exhausting for both the parents and the child. it takes up alot of precious time and would be v taxing on a young baby/ child.
2. i prefer my child to grow up in our home where everything he needs and wants is easily accessible.
3. maid can do housework for me.
4. if u get the right maid, u can train her the way u want ur baby to be taken care of. nannies can be very stubborn and even sneaky behind our backs.
5. my mum drops by very often to check on baby and maid so i more fang4 xin1.
6. nanny's house sometimes can have visitors and other family members, may not be so gd for baby.

of cos having said all these, finding a gd maid is not easy. and u still have to exercise alot of supervision.

amk_gal,
Can your parents help to take care of your child until BB is old enuf to go childcare? By then, u can send BB to half-day or full-day child care, depending on whether your parents can manage.

If not, I wld still prefer caregiver cos I personally cannot overcome the obstacle of having someone who is not a family member at home. A maid is not necessarily cheaper. Include accomodation, food n some necessities that u will pay for her. Then there is maid levy as well.

amk_gal,
oh ya, but child abuse by unsupervised maids is a very real problem! so must judge for yourself and also spring surprise visits on the maid on and off.

abt costs, nanny is abt $600? maids cost $350 salary + $170 levy. food and other necessities maybe abt $200-300 a mth.

First-Mum, saw the gst thingy by robinsons but looking for those like 20%.

Cassey, did i spot a Serta sheep there????

amk_gal, having a maid means u got to be prepared to be more relaxed in some of your requirements and of cos trust issues and privacy issues come into consideration.

for us, we dont trust a maid, so it's gonna be very difficult for us to have one staying with us.

lovelytulips, haha... Very sharp indeed. YES! It's a Serta "counting sheep".
It's outta a job, as all the others are, so we've very kindly adopted it, being the kind altruistic ppl we are. =)

The room is super boy hor? Even though we were hoping for a girl. Haha... bb's clothes, cotton balls, breast pads, nursing pillow, pump and stuff all packed in wardrobe. Looks so empty.

doglefox, PRINCESSES RULE!!!! *sorry to my own warrior* He's kicking me in protest now. =(

ahnetsan, how did your detailed scan go? Update pls!

Caramelle, i think the milk once open at most keep 12hr in fridge. well although my hb also say dirty eat dirty grow but i'm not going to try that wn my 10mth fruit of labour hasn't has any immunity of his own yet. i dont intend to buy milk powder too. force myself to bf... but if possible get more btl samples from hospital, i know kkh gives cos my sis give birth there but others i'm not sure.

given a choice i hope to get a maid can do chores for me and look after bb BUT i cant std a stranger in my hse.. so i intend to look after my boy for at least 3-6mth then find a job or mayb part-timer and find a nanny until he's 18mth then put childcare. nozomi, u see any fliers from nanny ard ur place? heard toh guan alot nannies...

I'm not going to the abbott talk cos i think that is mo9re general talk with freeies though, but i already signed antenatal class and going for a breastfeeding workshop i think shd be enuff, i cant even finish the milk powders for expectant.. still have 2.5btl at hm... btw those going to the breastfeeding workshop can PM me full name, mobile number, EDD if you want then i consolidate register with mumsfairy and then collect $ from u all or u all want to register on ur own? up to u.. actually one of the partners is my ex classmates. I tried hinting for discount but hmm she say not really earning from these workshop and need to pay the lactation consultant, doing it more for supporting bf.

btw nice meeting the taitais this afternoon! cassey u so on arrange again ya :p hey hey btw i not fashion parade decide what to wear but i dont work didnt buy much clothes and i bunk at my mum place this week brought limited clothes along so i knew what to wear ahead...

Cassey, ok la... cos we are owners of 2 Serta sheeps also. and looking for another for our boy (way too early though), hahaha.....

ur playpen looks very boy. maybe cos it's blue??? at least u have a bed there. it doesnt look that empty. should have looked at mine.

hi doglefox, congrats on your little gal and ur wish come true..... ah.... all the pink stuff should be in ur mind now.... hahha

haha shd look at mine! my bb is staying in my room.. no extra room mah... and my room is already jammed with tv &amp; tv rack, 2 cupboard and a bed.. u meant serta brand mattress?? i'm using that too.. itoo no idea where to place the bb cot haha

haha ya i'm a pink lover..so can now finally stock up on everyting pink..in fact i already painted my baby room pink when i got my house last yr haha cos i die die wan to haf a girl 1..

Cassey, grrr... who's very small ah.. who..?? grrr..

Btw, very nice room you have there, so envious of you.. I dun even have a baby cot standing to start with.. *sigh*

Praying hard to have my own place as soon as possible..

Cassey,
we are the gang of 'sheeps (serta)'..hahah. thanks for coordinating the gathering. it was great meeting all of you.

doglefox,
hey, me too..am a pinkie..i've also painted my guest room in pink when i got my hse few mths ago..and i longed for a girl too..heheh.

no night owls today? *yawnz* got home ard 11+pm..

Cassey,

my boss not my dish leh! I think I still love my ah lao most! Anyway, he is someone else hubby and father, where got anyhow think. ;p

I today late owl. Trying to rush report for second boss. But cannot tahan liao. Came back around 1130pm, after supper with colligs and boss. Hubby snores like no body's business in the bedroom!

re:Ikea's sale
My sis said so, so I just listen, dunno how true. Tmr going with hubby to check on the cupboard for bb. Must do something already. Haven't got most stuff, need to buck up. I also terrible, not buying cos waiting for pass-me-down.

cassey-wow, you already have ur baby room!? wow that's so good lah.. i only have my messy bedroom to start with...

low lying placenta does that means no bedroom activity? my gynae never mention leh.. if so, that will be sooooo sad...

lbf-my gynae also did say hopefully the placenta will move up. a friend told me perhaps i can try massage. have u heard of any other remedy?

audreyaw, i pm u liao. thanks for sharing the BM, the info is great. (but i still hope those mommies that go WBB class can share more with us *wink wink*)

Cassey, ya. shld be SCHOLL!! type wrongly..

Ur guest room really look like for guest. my guest room look more like a store. As i brought 2nd hand 3 room flat. As it is old flat thus no store room, so hubby and i start to make use of the guest room to store thing. So now headache all those thing shld put where? *headache*

amk_gal, most slightly i will go for infrant care as my mum n mil not free to take care of my bb. for maid i scare she abuse my bb (i noe is not all maid but still scare). for caregiver, my house here seem like no such auntie.

It seem like those taitai kopi session is very very fun. So sad that some of us cant join. Hope next session i can join in.

dyva,
do u have low placenta? cos yday during my chk-up, my gynae also said my placenta is a little low. i asked her whether it poses any danger, she just said its "only dangerous if you have intercourse and bleed". so i suppose that means no bedrm activity? or must be more gentle? hmmm...

i read up a little on this condition. it says that theres a gd chance most women's placenta will move up towards labour. the percentage gets lower and lower towards delivery. and if it doesnt, then hafta do c-section.

and theres no cure or remedy to encourage placenta to move up. it's nature's call.

hi kelly,

my doctor is KT Tan. so we are going to deliver on the same day. hee.. i am carrying a baby boy, how about you?

dyva,
penetration may agitate the placenta, apparently. Sis was told to be very diligent with her Kegel exercises. At LEAST 10 minutes a day, I think. I'm not sure it helps MOVE placenta up a bit, but I think it's to strengthen the cervix muscles to prevent premature dilation due to the pressure of the placenta??? I don't really know... But yeah! Gotta negotiate other methods with your man!

LFB,
not YOUR dish la. Sounds like A dish! A dish! Too bad, it's a taken dish. So, how abt the second boss... as desirable as the first? So embarrassing if boss reads your praises here. Haha...

Ling, you're the 1.52 one?!

I used to chuck all of bb's stuff into study room, but very cluttered. Playpen super chor-teng. Recently moved all into the guest room when expecting ILs over for reunion dinner. =)

I can close the guest room door for ages and ages without cleaning it at all!! It stinks. =( Smells very musky. Haha... Only when I'm expecting overseas guests, then I'll open the doors and windows and air it, clean it, air the mattress and pillows, spray spray disinfect and change sheets... Hahaha... In other words, it doesn't even exist most of the time. Some ppl haven't even NOTICED there's an extra room when they visit!!

*Isn't the DOLPHIN "PICTURE" very nice?! It's almost an antique..
It's actually a jigsaw puzzle that took me MONTHS to complete after my 'O's. *puff out chest*

ARGH!!! My embarrassing "incontinence"... I sneezed today and wet my knickers. (too much information huh) Thank God for whoever invented pantyliners! Must be more conscientious about my Kegels. =(

On a happier note, can knock off soon!!!
*Sigh, CNY gathering evening again. I hope this is the last one for the ox year*

cassey, be thankful that you are gathering with ppl you don't mind meeting. My MIL called ytd and insisted on a meal together becos it's lunar 15 on Monday. She never did this for the past year and just becos I have a little grandson for her, she is doing this now. I think she wants to talk to me about taking care of my boy for she has been doing harrassment calls to me n then hanging them up the minute I answer. When I asked her, she insisted she didn't call cos her hse number is reflected as private number. I am dreading tomorrow more than ever.

Cassey, thanks for the effort in making yesterday's gathering a success! Had lotsa fun
Was surprised that so many managed to turn up!

bbjun, don't mind if I say but your MIL is sounding a little psychotic! You secured your CL and nanny yet, to avoid letting her look after baby?

More on people giving up seats to us pregger types:
Took train home with hubby yesterday from City Hall. When I got on train, there was plenty of standing space, but no seats. There was also a big group of indian workers, a couple of them were seated. One of them saw me, looked at my belly, and got up. He didn't make eye contact with me, or gestured to me to take his seat or anything like that, so I thought maybe he was planning to alight at the next stop anyway. I moved forward to sit down, and some man diagonally in front of me barged over and dumped his butt on the seat. He then looked up, and his eyes widened a bit when he saw my belly, and that I was actually about to sit. I could see a flash of embarrassment in his eyes. He instantly looked away, anywhere but in my direction, and after a few more seconds, looked down and pretended to sleep! All this while, poor indian worker who got up was still on the train, so I believe he really got up to give me his seat, what a nice man. He too was staring at the man who snatched the seat.

So i hung onto a pole, and was chatting with my husband, and noticed that a lady behind him (seated) was wide awake, and occasionally looked at my belly (a pregnant belly makes EVERYONE fidgety and conscious). At some point, my hubby moved me over cos it was less crowded, and I ended up facing that lady. She too, promptly FELL ASLEEP. Every now and then, she would half open her eyes to check if I were still there. Once, I faced away from her for a short while, and hubby told me she woke up and looked around wide awake. So I turned back to face her, and her head instantly dropped, and went back into snooze mode!

Moral of the story? The best cure for insomnia is to put the insomniac on the train, and stick a pregnant woman in front of him/her. Instant cure!

tubbymummy, only CL. Nanny not yet. Still looking around. Will have to tell her that my mom is taking care, use my MIL's health as a reason not to burden her n she is staying so bloody far away. Will tell her we are also considering an infant care. All not including her. Will see how it goes. Praying hard she will find it so difficult to bring up that she will keep her mouth shut tomorrow. Oredi I am wondering what she will say to my usual appetite vs her theory of must eat for two. Almost feel like telling her that I lose appetite when I see her... sighz ... but I m not so mean to her.

Re: MRT seats
I can totally empathize with u. A young lady cheong to grab priority seat with me when someone alighted ytd. The guy standing next to me was giving me pitiful looks. So for the whole week of train rides, only one person give her seat to me. Everyone di gong n sleep.