(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

"Sex change":
I was meant to be a boy hahaha... my mum was told that I'm a boy, all the way thru pregnancy, and I popped out to be a girl! They had to scramble around to find a name for me haha.

Collagen:
I used to take Meiji collagen powder, but stopped when I became pregnant, cos didn't dare to anyhow eat things. The collagen is 100% fish derived. I didn't know pregnancy will deplete our body's collagen!! Is it safe for me to resume taking the collagen powder??

Movies:
I'm SO gonna watch The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Slumdog Millionaire! There have been no decent movies of late, and have been waiting for so long for these 2 to screen. Maybe watch one on Sat, one on Sun...

I also going off to City Hall liao. I blur blur forgot to note down everyone's mobile #, now scrambling like crazy to get on my email to extract all the info. Hai.

lovelytulips, i tried calling the First Mum's Congress 2009 but no one answer. Do you know how much per entrance? Im quite intrested.

u ladies enjoy the gathering....

Shelisa, i do know how much it is cos i only saw the advert but missed the price i think. wanted to check out the web but it's also the tv commercial which i cant watch at work right now.

shelisa,
Philips showroom is at 620A Toa Payoh Lorong 1, TP4 Building Level 1. Can always ask security guard if you dunno which building.
Opening hours:
Mon - fri : 9am - 6pm
Sat:9am -1pm
Closed on Sundays and PH.
If driving, just drive in instead of parking at the public carpark outside cos inside FOC parking. Park outside must tear coupon.

tubbymummy, I have been trying to find out if I can still take my meiji collagen powder too. I read once somewhere that says it's ok n helps prevent stretch marks. Dunno true or not. Still trying to find out. let me know if u have any luck.

Shelisa: I used cotton balls to clean bb's eyes, umbilical cord and also the bottom. I used a damp cloth to clean my nipple b4 pumping or breastfeeding. I using either milk bottles (extra 1 of course) and VIA cups to store them in freezer. Save $ since they can be re-used. I don't think we can re-used storage bags. How to sterilise it?

lovelytulips: I only use water from heater instead of boiled water.

vernie: Don't worry, you will feel her when she's getting bigger. ^^

TubbyMummy: Don't think I will standby any milk powder. If there is really a need, then shall ask my hubby to go ntuc to buy it. Not very far, abt 10 mins walk but hopefully I don't need it. =)

Ling: When I had leg cramps during my last pregnancy, I was told by elders that I can't eat bean spouts, kangkong. Not sure if it helps or not but I just followed.

another thing to share:
My mother says impt to take some birdnest near the end of our confinement. Supposed to be best taken at that time to restore our glowing skin! I dunno how true but my cousin swore by it. No harm trying

bbjun, thanks, think this sat i might go buy so baby product. thanks.

audreyaw, thanks for sharing. I think i will buy Avent VIA cup. Check with u, if u put ur milk in freezer, then if u wanna use it. How u do it?

Shelisa, either u reheat it using food warmer or use a bigger cup with hot water in it to warm it. Like warming up the chicken essence. =)

audreyaw, thanks. noted.

bbjun, okie sure. Will go look ard 1st. Actually i have the urge to go down but my manager is hiding behind me. haha

lovelytulips, here are the information for First Mum's Congress 2009

The registration fee is $15 per person,
Venue and time : Fairmount Singapore hotel (Formerly known as Swissotel Stamford). 21 Feb 09 Sat 12pm - 5pm
For more info: www.abbott.com.sg/family or www.mediacroptv.sg
You may register by Phone : pls call 6277 6313 / 62776254.
For more enquiries you may also contact 6277 6313 / 6277 6254.

bbjun, lovelytulips, went down to TMC to book the antennal class. Thought it was held at TMC, but the classes are at AMK hub.

shelisa, never tot of this. saw my fren just pump water out from her airpot and just put the bottle to warm lor.

bbjun, i read this from pigeon website;
NEVER use hot water, thaw the milk in a microwave, or heat it in a saucepan on top of the stove. If breast milk is overheated, the antibodies and other benefical components in it break down.

Shelisa, I m quite anti-microwave one. Isn't heating using saucepan on top stove equally hot or even hotter? If hot water is not recommended, can we just use less hot water?

I m most likely using food/bottle warmer cos my fren giving me hers.

thanks Shelissa, u registered for it??? thinking whether my hb wana go....

Rach, ya, it's at the little skool house at AMK hub. good thing is got mrt and can find food easily and can shop also.

hot water... er.... if that's the case, is a food warmer much better? at least dont need argue as to whether should be hot water from the airport or straight boil in a saucepan.

bbjun, from pigeon website
Hold the Sterilized Breast Milk Storage Bag under running water or put it into a container (a bowl or wide-mouthed glass) filled with 40℃ lukewarm water. If you thaw it in lukewarm water, replace the water frequently with more lukewarm water. This method is faster than simply soaking the bag in lukewarm water.

Thawing a 160 ml bag of breast milk under running water (18℃, weak stream) takes about 30 minutes. Using lukewarm water (40℃ and changing it every 3 or 4 minutes as it cools) takes about 15 minutes. Transfer the thawed milk to a nursing bottle and heat it to skin temperature in a double boiler.

*Do not soak the sealed area of the bag in water.
*Never use hot water, thaw the milk in a microwave, or heat it in a saucepan on top of the stove. If breast milk is overheated, the antibodies and other beneficial components in it break down.

lovelytulips, i wanna go but my hubby say speak english!! then he not very good in english. So turn him off. So not gg.

Shelisa, actually not recommended to put breastmilk in microwave. in general, food given to bb (and even adults) should be exposed to as little microwave as possible. i read it's unhealthy.

Lovelytulips,
my fren was recommending me to use hot water cos she says while the food warmer says can heat evenly, she doesn't find so. She still thinks that it doesn't heat evenly. Am realy not sure if that's so until I try it out myself.

bbjun, guess the most economical way is to use hot water. but when hse got alot of different mbrs who have diff opinions, then faint. how hot is considered hot??? and especially for night feed, is the airport hot water considered hot enough to warm it??

i was "racking" my brains over whether to get a warmer or to use the traditional way.... till now, still dont know which is better.

Hello ladies, I guess those having gathering are nicely seated at Gloria Jeans now.. *envy*.. I'm still chained to my desk here.. back from quite a long lunch (unfortunately couldn't extend long enough to join Cassey & the gank..)

Cassey, hahaha.. you know what, great mind think alike, I'm quite a night owl too (in which my hb said our bb might follow my habit..), and I dun wake up on weekends before 11 too! You are indeed xing fu de tai tai
hehehee.. my leg cramps has been going from bad to worse now.. I really have to force myself to be more diligent with milk, calcium and search more actively for the pre-natal massage.. I'm due 3rd June le.. yup yup I'm also into my 24th week (6th - 12th Feb).. poor you still have to work over weekend, nvm got a lomantic hb to pamper u after work ma..
I'm taking half-day leave on 27th, going to expo fair.. hope to meet Shelisa (who's on 'MC' there), see if you can/want to join the shopping spree..
omg.. I heard from friends so far only 2 cases where the gender prediction by gynae & sonographer were wrong, one girl & one boy case.. din know there are more like that.. I thot it's so obvious as mentioned in the forum earlier, that girl can see 3 lines, and boy can see peanuts..? Can they see wrongly lines & peanuts meh..?

Bing, I also waiting for Transformer, and Harry Potter! But both of them also showing in June I think.. *haiz*..

vernie, whoa.. really..? hmm.. same here, hope mine is accurate and my gynae is not missing anything at the scan.. I bought so many pink stuff liao, everything pink, flowery & ribbons; I even got a mini qibao for her.. my mum too, bought blanket etc pink colour.. if come out boy, only have 1 month sleeping clothes (which is yellow)..

Shelisa, my gynae very fast & modern one.. the things I told him IS normal/common.. (except the bad flu & the food poisoning).. told him I got heartburn & gastric, it's normal.. told him got hip joint pain even when shifting from one side to another, he said it's common.. the leg cramp only getting worse these few weeks, so haven't told him yet, but I think he'll say the same thing too.. hehehe..

audreyaw, thanks for the info.. I love kangkong.. just had that the other day in fact, sambal kangkong & chilli crab.. hope it's not the cause of these feew night's cramps.. I was only told that when having the cramps, not supposed to massage the area as it may risk having a blood clot there.. I'll try to avoid kangkong then..
thanks again!

Re. Baby movement: Should I be worried or happy, I feel that the bb movement is more and more these 2 weeks.. certain timings bb's very active, but in between she'd kicks or pokes me too.. or sometimes just felt her somersaulting.. hope she come out as gentle girl.. a bit scary if after born still as active as now..

Re. Fish Skin: eeh.. why everyone hates it ah..? Cassey, tulips, bing.. hmm.. most of the skin got collagen, but I heard for fish is the best le.. but funny thing is that my face used to have lots of breakouts, this pergnancy face very clear le.. no need to go facial already white and clean.. just need to put on moisturizer orelse a bit dry..

Anyone would want to go for the trial pre-natal Yoga @La Vida ? I'm seriously considering it as I've missed out the schedule for KK's Aqua Pregnancy class..

my neighbour who's a new mummy also just use hot water in a container and put the bottle/bag inside to warm it up. she even drop a few drops on her wrist to test it - seems very traditional like how our parents used to do it.

im thinking of buying tollyjoy warmer cos got digital temperature display 48degrees. according to the box, this is the most recommended temp for feeding. i also have a flask at home that boils water either to 90 degrees or 60 degrees. when we bought it last time, the salesperson said 60 degrees is for when we make formula milk for bb, but i think 60 still hot leh.

bbjun, Shelisa, Ling,
Thanks for the info on Expo fair. Told my sis abt it she said nothing to buy! ;p Anyway, hubby will prob not interested cos we don't drive, madness to travel there by MRT from town! Sis been bugging me to go Ikea to buy bb cupboard. She said sale next week. Will be going down next week then to hunt for one. We super slow, the bb room is still guest room look, no change.

Just came back from my detailed scan. All looks good. My bb weight a godd 385gm at 20W and 6D. Looks like one of the heavy ones. Strange, the sonographer told me middle size leh, not too big. Everything looks good and except for low placenta(which doc said will prob move up), everything is fine. And confirmed, BOY!!!
Anyway, I got the same lady who did my OSCAR, very happy. She is super good, will humour parents and pretend that the baby is the one and only she see today. Hubby and I like her very much.

Cassey,
my lao ban is young, suave and successful. He must be crazy to be INTO me!!! Ha ha ha! Do you know we travelled overseas once for work, just 2 of us! Spent 11 days tog! Of cos separate rooms. He is happily married with 2 kids. Luckily I not pretty type, if not his wife sure cannot take it! He very brotherly to me, and cos I know him very well, he likes to have me around when he work. I can predict what he wants. So this is why I can sell my life for my boss. Shh... don't tell my hubby! ;p

bbjun, yes yes, i think WBB will probably cover on that. i think the breasfeeding book has something on it too... but way too lazy to read now, and probably cant remember also.

i'm having this backache today. so "xin ku" at work now. argh

caramelle, yah i know. But sometime im so so lazy to heat up the food using the stove, then no choice use microwave.

lovelytulips/bbjun. I think WBB can give u ladies the best advise. But im not gg to her class. Do appreciate if u can share with us.

Ling, i think gynae all ths same. "COMMON"

we have the same prob. my bb girl also very active. some how i also worry is it normal? but what is the feeling of somersaulting? i only feel knock knock knock. poke poke poke.

i use to have good skin - no pimples. but this pregnancy, now even worse. breakout so so much. big, swollen, then got the yellowish thing inside. I HATE IT!!! sob sob

ling, u just added another show that I might miss in Jun. Harry Potter. sighz.. I m adding all these up to get hb to buy dvds for me to watch after that. LOL.

LFB, Congrats on ur prince... wah.. oso another heavy one.

ooh.. ikea sale next week??? Then I have to get hb to drop by to pick up a changing table that we want to get. Hope that's on sale too!
Dun worry.. My bb room is still empty, too. Haven't ask for the cot to be delivered yet. :p

LFB, we have the same prob. the guest room is still like guest room. nthing change or nthing remove or added in. i tho expo fair shld have alot of thing to buy? Ling and i gg there to look ard.

lovelytulips, try to put a cushion at ur seat. maybe will feel better?

caramelle, i think the tollyjoy warmer is good for 1st timer mommy as got digital temperature. you know how much it selling?

lovelytulips, u having backache, I am having probs trying to make myself comfy at my desk the whole day. Oredi small size, try to raise the chair so that my hand is comfy typing on the laptop. Then it's too high n I lean fwd, tummy getting bigger n then keep knocking agst the table. Put cushion in front of tummy.. then it gets too hot, until my BB kick me. Nothing seems to work to make me comfy. Now, starting to get irritated liao.

ikea sale??? i need grab a bed and mattress for the confinement lady or for whoever wana slp.

shelisa, bbjun, now, the cushion is up high behind my back. usually have it on the chair, near my tailbone area. i can understand what u meant by having probs trying to be comfy. it's like sit also cannot, stand also cannot. now i feel like my back gonna break into 2.

when i go shopping these days, shop for a while, will tell my hb that my legs gonna break. and i'm only in the 2nd tri. omg, cannot imagine 3rd tri. think gotto stay at home.

My room also empty. Thought of filling it up slowly in from April. Is that too late?

A bit out of point from discussion. Read from magazines that we shd try to sleep on our left as the tummy gets bigger. While I was trying this position since last week, my baby gal kept kicking me. She would stop immediately once I shift lying on my back or right. Do your encounter the same thing?

Lovelytulips, I think u need to go home n lie down to rest.

Rach, think Apr onwards is still fine as long as u are already starting to recce ard now.
Sleeping position ah - never really bother which side I sleep. I asked my gynae this qn n she said, just sleep in the position I m most comfy with. Mother not comfy, bb also not comfy. She just said that if tummy too big, I will naturally turn to sleep on side.

Maybe ur BB didn't stop, maybe u can't feel her moving when u lie on your back? I m not sure cos there are positions that I don't feel my baby moving cos he is still small.

Shelisa, the tollyjoy one is $69. should have bought during the Tangs sale, got 20+10% discount but i spent quite a bit over past few days, plus still got to pay for some spree items so better slow down. i thought maybe can buy at the bb fair. the pigeon warmer is $49 but looks very simple. don't think warmer need to buy avent/more exp brands bah. cos function all the same and don't need to be special size for certain bottles or anything.

this one i must buy b4 bb comes cos my neighbour when she came home straightaway bb ask for milk. and that time KK got give some bottled formula milk which she heat up using the hot water in cup method and test on wrist before giving to bb. i think since i everything also first time, better practice using sterilizer and warmer when i get instead of waiting for when bb need milk then i first time use. confirm panic one!

oh and fyi those mummies delivering at KKH, you should be getting some bottled formula milk from them for free. but bb in first few days cannot drink so much, only 10ml but bottle size is 80ml. i asked my mum she say can take out and pour milk into a smaller (sterilized) bottle and then warm up to feed bb, otherwise remaining 70ml wasted. but im just thinking whether the remaining milk in the 1st bottle can still use because it's already opened? my mum said don't be kiasu, if bb live in "over sterile" environment like how someone mentioned before, bb cannot develop immunity.

what do you all think?

lovelytulips, same. that y i get myself a pair of good shoe with good back support. I supportly intro SCROLL product. Although abit auntie, but it is damn comfortable. I rem the promoter tell me that alot of hospital will intro their patient to buy SCROLL shoes. you can go METRO, there got SCROLL shoes.

Rach, agreed with bbjun. my gynae told me that too. Most impt is we comfortable. I did told my gynae that when i slp on my side, my tummy 70% is on the bed, she say it is ok. wont effect bb.

caramelle, let me go expo fair see got any good deal on the warmer.

bbPotato, great to hear your boy is doing good.

With all the tai-tai mummies at Gloria Jeans, the thread doesn't seems to go any slower hey

LFB, congrats for ur bb boy.. wow, indeed he is in good size
happy for u.. wah.. ur sis so good nothing to buy.. I've just listed out the bb items, plus some stuff for hospital bag (got the list from Taka maternity dept).. realized I got so many to catch up buying before pregnancy got much bigger and more difficult to walk around.. I've been busy shopping for pretty pretty clothings for my girl, that I kinda left out many other important bb stuff.. you've got bb room, we've got none as we're living with my in laws, even bb cot is not yet assembled as we are still working around to make the space.. (my in-laws got tons of stuff at home.. hehee)

Shelisa, yup.. always says COMMON and NORMAL.. -_-" aha.. we're quite the same hey.. *hi-five*..
this is how I distinguish bb movements; kicking is like a knock but rather hard and fast, irregular one, sometimes just once or a few times.. hiccups is like a knock as well, but wider area, and there's more than one, with interval (like now.. I'm grinning like mad at my desk now..), somersault feel like you're rubbed within a short length from inside.. but usually just once, then it stop.. it helps me to interact and talk to bb by distinguishing the move.. maybe it's not really correct translation of the movement, but still, it makes me smile just to think my girl pokes mummy from where she is..
whoa.. u got breakouts.. vitamins too heaty for u is it..?

bbjun, I love Harry Potter, but if really gotta miss it, then I'll definitely get it on dvd..
got ikea sale..? wow.. seems like everywhere got sale..

Shelisa: my hot water as in water from airpot but u must do timing for the first few times to find out which hotness you want it. My mum did that for me previously. As I am lazy to do so and also there are others who are going to warm up milk for bb, I bought a warmer. No need to think, time or argue. Haha.. I am quite an anti-microwave person as well. Grandma always say it's not good for health.

caramelle: 60 degree is hot, imagine that going straight to the throat. I believe either the saleperson knows nothing or he drink at 60 degree himself. As for me, I don't want to burn my throat lo. Actually I bought a avent warmer from another mummy, was afraid the avent bottles I got it for free are unable to fit other brands. -.-

LFB: Ikea on sales? Really? Then maybe I can go there to look at cot bed if on offer and eat there as well. Hee..

Lovelytulips: I can fully understand that. Just last year I got a very badache, so bad till I can't sit, walk properly. *Sigh* Doc say mos probably is incorrect way of sitting and bad, cheap chair. So now I try to sit up straight, not leaning on chair most of the time and it does get better. Btw, I always lie on bed watching tv nowadays instead of sitting long time on chair.

Rach: I always sleep lying on my tummy (not all but part of it). Haha.. I couldn't sleep lying on my side. I guess it doesn't really matter?

caramelle: Nowadays KKH gave big bottles? I used to get those small little bottles of milk home, like 40ml or lesser. But they are made of glass so I actually kept them and used it to store my bm. =D And I didn't really store back the milk, usually put there for another 20mins or so I will throw them away. Bacteria will start to accumulate isn't it?

bbPotato: Glad to hear you are having a healthy little boy.

bbjun: so bad.. but i like that. *laughing out loud*

Ling, you can email or fax me the list? As im clueless of what bb thing shld buy. you are so so 'chim' abt bb movement. To me all is kick/poke. haha
Im not sure too, but i drank alot of plain water. But recently 1 week 3 bottles of chicken essence. But my body dun feel any heatiness.

audreyaw, i think warmer is best for 1st timer mum.

oh, so advice was from Dr Yvonne Chan ... heh
Another question to all. Do you get yeast infection frequently? I had one bad one a month ago. And I'm suspecting I'm having it again now.

Rach, I used to get that once in a while before preggie. But now, no. (touchwood)
Think u shd see doc to confirm if it's so so that u can get the right medicine for it. Otherwise, it can very irritating leh.

audreyaw, when i was there my neighbour's sister was asking the nurse on the phone how come the bottle 80ml but bb only need 10ml. what to do with the rest? nurse also say to throw after that 1st feed. i really don't know if you can keep in the fridge. like how after you express using pump, then you keep refrigerated.

was telling my mum, since 10ml, can i use a syringe to feed bb instead?