(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

whoa, bbjun, my previous hint is not very subtle leh. I repost for you to digest and "get it".
=========================================================
I must see if I can make my darling hubby compensate my loss tonight *wriggle wriggle brows*
Die... going into 6th month... very soon must completely shut down my factory. =(
=========================================================
That's the clue our clever little cookie caught!
It's beginning to dawn upon me that that cookie might not be clever... just sleazy... =)

haha.. .. missed that. oredi hitting my bed time soon to catch any hints. :p waiting for an anime episode download to complete before I hit the sack.

U ladies can continue.. I have oredi witness the powess of those who can stay up and those who can wake up real early. I m neither.

toffeecat, hmm.. the weight gain estimator has a good breakdown of individual parts that comprises to our weight gain. At least we know that there are still some more weight factors. (didnt know water weight so much - one of the the top 3)!

bbpotato & Mooch, wow hardly heard pple comment manual is better. But heard its tiring to use manual pump? Can comment y manual is better? Cos i have a manual pump given by my sil and thought of shortlisting the breastpump and buy after given birth after making sure i got enough milk supply. There are some mummies who buy breastpump but no milk supply den wasted on the breastpump leh.

Cassey: hahaha... that is cute, can call him little sumo. The ones i saw are shorter than that. But it doesn't look square to me or it that consider square? Saw 1 of the same size but the display set had parts falling apart so it look ... -.-

Even the cot bed I am getting would be those able to toddler bed, guess I am lazy to buy again in future. Haha.. Actually no, it's because houses in JB are really big so by putting a bigger playpen/cot bed will not make my house look so empty.

hi mummies....have not been posting for a long time....trying to read everyday....you guys are so fast!

just wanted to know if your warriors or princesses kick you everyday?....i felt my first "poke" before CNY at about week 18 which i was pleasantly surprised as i thought it was early then...got a few more after that...from CNY until now, i don't feel much kicks from my princess...currently at week 21 now...wondering if she is doing alright?

amk gal & Piglet, congrats to your prince!

LFB, enjoy your detailed scan tmr. U hv our support even only mummy there! Update us your scan again.

Cassey, have pm u too!

bbjun, sweet dreams!

Hi vernie, when I first started to recognise my boy's moving and kicking at about Wk 20, I didn't get it everyday. I've noticed that on busy days, I'm not really that alert to his movements. Going into my 24th week now, I feel him move everyday. It's getting quite hard to overlook cos he's getting bigger and stronger, I reckon.

Maybe you can try orange juice like some of the MTBs here swear by? For me, I sometimes will apply firm pressure on the underside of my tummy a few times and he'll start squirming. Haha... If you can feel her from time to time, I think she's ok. Maybe not very big yet, still have space so you can't feel all the time. If absolutely NO movements at all, then I think you should call and check in with your gynae, perhaps he'll call you in and do a scan for your peace of mind...

First Mum, ok... ok. =) I'll try to remember camera tmr k. Must get other MTBs' permission before I can post neh.

Audrey, huh? I didn't say mine square... mine not square. I was saying if you wanted a big one, I've seen square ones...

hi cassey...

Thanks for the tips. Perhaps I should try orange juice...probably week 21 is still considered early? Will wait for one more week. She got me so excited initially, then perhaps decide to sleep more now? Or maybe she is enjoying the good food I took during CNY and decide not to kick?

My princess is "M" size during the detailed scan...275gm at week 19....think she is the smallest among all the rest of the heavyweight warriors here. Perhaps that's why i don't feel her so much. Hope I get to feel more of her soon!

vernie, don't worry abt it. most of us were 300g at week 20 so your little girl seems well within the normal range. The heavyweights are ermm... HEAVYweights!

Also, have read that first time and/or overweight MTBs are not as sensitive to fetal movements. Just keep hanging in there.. as long as you can feel her from time to time, you're prob. doing alright. Keep us posted!

sweethalo, hubby and I only LOmantic on the couch in front of tv =( no primal activities taking place.
But I'm going to bed now. TO SLEEP, you sleaze bag!

nozomi, sleep earlier pls. Nurse panda eyes so tmr don't look so scary.. haha..
*night, ladies* see you tmr!

i didn't go to tangs leh..did u go for it?

re: panda eyes
aiyo..today my eyes super tired..just now was doing eye mask patch (once in a yr?)heheh..

night night owl just cme in, anyone still ard? haha i read the coconut so lengthy mks me laugh. oh my version frm mum is baby wont be so red wn born becos cooling...

cassey ur dress code joke super funny! haha yeah sweethalo see u in bib & milk btl heehee :p

yesyes still ard :p

No big bib leh... heheh...

Nozomi- went to tangs sale on Wed but didn't check out on kids... nvm they shld hv another sale soon I think

is the taka fair better than the mth end mother & bb fair? i think this wkend i going kiddypalace chk out the prices before the fair , dont want to end up carrying shopping bag home & that's is more ex.

Wow sweethalo u like msn so fast response heehee

Wah, reading posts till now got headache haha.

Tang / car seat:
I went to Tangs! Thanks caramelle for the tip! I didn't completely digest what caramelle said about the discount, and by the time she posted the more detailed explanation on the discounts, I had logged off already, so I was very happy to go there to find out that the maxi cosi was entitled to 15% sale discount, plus 10% cardmember discount, plus 12% card rebate! So I paid $273 for the car seat, and they still put $32 in my card for my next purchase. Happy! And yes, the lady also accompanied us out to our car for us to see if it fits well. You know what, that seat belt thing? Almost came true for me. At one point, we thought the seat belt was too short, but when we pulled properly, more came out, and thankfully, we had a seatbelt that was JUST long enough. Caramelle, what time were you there? I was there from 7pm onwards. I was with another couple, then my husband joined us. Maybe you saw me?

Bibs:
I also ordered the bibs hehe. I have no idea what is expensive and what is cheap, but I saw a couple that I liked, so I just ordered, figured no harm. I also ordered a couple of rompers, and a blanket. Sweethalo, I'm meeting her at 2pm to get the stuff, are u meeting her too? Think u mentioned earlier that she said she can't make it right? Now apparently she's free already. If u also meeting her, we can head down to Gloria Jeans together after that. I'm meeting her at Body Shop 2pm.

Twins:
I also want! I was hoping to kenna, cos it's in my genes (my dad is an identical twin), but obviously, no luck. So ideal, one boy one girl! I'm sure it's super super stressful in the beginning, but hey, pop once, can close shop already! That was my dream anyway haha...

Massage:
I have an old neighbour who's a malay lady, and the malay community is very close, so I figured she would know someone who's good with massage. When I looked her up the other day, I asked if she has any lobang for post-natal massage, and she went "of course!". Hehe... So she'll help me call up and arrange something for me.

Sterilising / rinse plate:
Eh, actually, I was thinking of not practising the sterilising thing so religiously. My baby book recommends not sterilising in fact, and I can understand the rationale. My sis also took a relaxed view on it, and it seems to make sense to me as well. For me, I am NOT the kind to rinse plate again before using haha. So I was thinking of sterilising everything in the beginning before using, and maybe in baby's first month, be a bit more hardworking and sterilise daily or every couple of days, then slowly reduce to probably just once a week for the purpose of getting a proper clean. I don't want my kid growing up in an environment that is too sterile, I think that's crazy. But I do understand that they're not born with immunity, so that's why i'll play it a bit safer in the beginning, and slowly "wean" off the sterilising process.

Dress code for tomorrow:
Eh, if must wear bib, carry rattle and stick rose behind ear, then I'm definitely not turning up! Haha... Not unless someone was paying me to look like a clown! Anyways, I'll be maybe 5min late, just need to meet the lady to get the bibs first (no, I will NOT wear the bibs).

i just spent 1.2hr reading the thread, hey hey someone say envy those not working come in chat, actually huh i think most of u come in during office hr and the thread moved so fast!i read till "chuang" (breathless haha)"bei hu" leh every time skip a day come in i gotta read till wee hrs haha..

See u gals tomolo.i be in a grey & black dress, big white bag, white slipper...

Eh ladies, I'm gonna pon-tang tonight's night shift. Feel sleepy leh.

sweethalo, let me know if u also meeting Adel at 2pm to collect bibs.

Off to bed. goodnight!

createjoy,
wow..will spot u since you've already decided ur attire. heheh. okie mummies, am gng to try to take my beauty slp, hopefully am able to zzz..
i realised, 4 night owls attending tomorrow's gathering? what a coincidence..hahaha.. be ready to spot chubby panda. goodnight mummies. c u all 2molo!

Tubbymummy -yes am meeting her at Body Shop.. she said ok

Createjoy- there's a kiddypalace at Marina Sq... can pop by tmr too

gd nite gals... wow all the owls getting beauty rest tonight for tmr's meet up...hehee

hi all those meeting up tomorrow, enjoy urselves, and enjoy for me too, while i slog away in my mountain-high workload.

mayb can take a group photo and pose it up here? i dun mind seeing happy faces at a comfy cafe while i work myself dry. perks me up actually. ha!

vernie: It really depends on individual bbs. I started to feel my boy's movements daily after cny, now 22weeks. However I could hardly feel my girl's movement throughout the pregnancy previously. She is more gentle so unable to feel it.

Have fun those who are meeting up today!

Kelly Ng, I also have rashes whole body (est 700 dots of rashes)except face (same with pigletgir1) during 1st tri. At that time gynae and GP told me is due to hormones changes. So what is urs cause by? At that time im so depress till i nearly go "A". I only recover 2+ mths later. What i do is i change all my bathing to baby johnson as it is mild, then change my diet totally, no seafood, no chicken, no egg. And i force myself to be very relax and try to forget that i have rashes for the whole body. Thus slowly day by day gone. till now still have abit mark there.

mooch, so envy. From young i hope i can pregnant 1 time only and have twin which is a boy n girl. Like that dun need to pain again. Workshop can close. haha

amk_gal/pigletgir1, congrats on ur little prince. Seem this prince have boy more then girl alot.

vernie, Congrats on ur little princess. We are in the same gang!!

Ladies that attend gathering, do rem to share and enjoy the kopi session.!!

Cassey/other mommies, y we must buy cotton ball?? for wat purposes?

I also want to query, if we wanna pump milk, before doing that what shld we do? use wet tissue to wipe the nipple only? or??

Then after pumping out all the milk, how we keep it? Thanks

Morning lades,
Just came back from gyane appt and did the detailed scan. Everything is fine and double confirm that bb is boi (was secretly hoping that wat i see during the last visit will disappear but it didnt

BB weight is 468g at 21weeks 4days

Cassey,
re working, yep. Will con't till June. Told boss I will take my maternity leave for mid June, so that I can rest b4 I go deliver bb. Actually, he very nice lah, so I don't mind working for him.

Creamer,
Tks. Will update my scan. Hubby managed to go today, yippee! Actually want to go Gloria Jean but boss needs me back in office after the the doc appt. Too bad. If not can go shopping with hubby!

Can I ask, when is Taka bb fair and Expo bb fair?

wow, jackie. Your baby is certainly growing fast!

LFB, the expo one is from 27 Feb - 1 Mar. Think it's at hall 6. I m not sure about the taka one.

Shelisa, after u pumped out the milk, u can store in bags (http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/gerbermilkbags.html)or avent has VIA containers (http://www.ciao.co.uk/Avent_Via_Breastmilk_Babyfood_Containers__5767192) to store breast milk that is compatible with their bottle caps n teats for easy reheating and feeding.

As for what to do before BF, er... I m waiting to attend antenatal class to learn more.

Jackie, Congrats on ur boy. Your bb is big. Did ur gynae say normal size or?

LFB, the expo one is from 27 Feb - 1 Mar. hall 6B. As for taka im not sure too

bbjun, check with u. for storage bag, can it be re-use? Ohh, im so busy that i cannot attend the antenatal class. Would appreciate if you can share more on it. thanks

tubbymummy, sweethalo will be our rep in bib and bottle la. The rest of are are free cos she's receiving her 'just desserts'.

createjoy, whoa. siao. you fashion parade so long in advance and decided what to wear?! I still don't know what I'll be in. Feel grumpy this morn. Couldn't sleep after an sms came in and my silly boy starting kicking. *yawn*

Good girls, night owls! Everyone slept pretty early! =)

Mika, you think it'll make you happier to see women 'slacking' around?! Ermm... ok.. if I get everyone's permission la huh?

lovelytulips, erm.. NO! I'm not a Facebook fan. sorry =)

Shelisa, usually cotton balls are used to dip in cooled boiled water for cleaning umbilical cord stump and wiping eyes and such. Things that you want to just wipe up and dump. =) I guess I'd give nipple a quick wipe with above-mentioned water, pump, store in either milk storage bag/bottle, put in fridge. You can heat it up by soaking bottle in hot water when ready to use.

Jackie, glad to hear that! You're another warrior mum not-so-secretly hoping for princess. =) OH GRACIOUS ME. You've just SHOT AHEAD in the heavyweights championship.

Dovey, how was YOUR detailed scan yest? No update yet leh?

LFB, whoa your boss is REALLY into you ah? Want you around all the time... keke...

u all are meeting 4pm at city hall right? I may be able to join in.. coz I having course in that area.. maybe at 430pm if course end early.. canI have a contact number?

Shelisa, I m not so sure about the bags being re-usable. Don't rem reading about that. I only know that Avent's VIA bottles are re-usable and can also sterilize. Use until u think need to throw.
I think I have two TMC books on BF which I have not started reading on. One of it was from a fren. I try to see if got info in it that you want, scan n email u? U PM me ur email address and I will email u over the weekend. If u staying near TPY, or Hougang area, maybe can lend u the book?

Cassey, ha... it's ok. i'm not exactly a fan either. logging in only once in a while.... probably less than me logging in into this forum.

cotton balls: must we get those pigeon ones??? or can we just get those watsons etc brand? and when u say boiled water, water from the heater not considered right?

there's this First Mum Congress by Abbott on 21/2/09 (if i rem correctly). Anyone attending???

Now i dont feel like working.... if only i'm off, then i can go for the meetup too... boo

OPEN GATHERING INVITATION *A Final Invitation*

Date: TODAY! Friday, 6 Feb
Time: 2pm (to avoid peak hr)
Venue: Gloria Jeans, Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
(In front of MPH Bookstore, descend via escalators near Starbucks)

Pls feel free to drop by & say HI! if you're on leave, on MC (Hehe!) or in the vicinity.
I guess you'll be looking to meet and greet the group of "chubby looking" ladies.

Confirmed attendees:
sweethalo, tubbymummy, createjoy, nozomi, BlueDream, Cassey

Tentative attendees:
creamer, caramelle, chidori, Serene22, kikismom

Thanks to all who pm'd for contact number exchange. Have replied to all with my contact.

~ Organiser: Cassey

lovelytulips, same here. Stuck with one pile of work n hoping to have time off to laze ard. LOL.

U have more details on the First Mum Congress thingy?

Shelisa, I'm not really sure. But I'm planning on re-using, so sticking to bottles instead of bag. I'd reuse plastic containers, but not bags. To me, bags are just not as hygienic... Plus, how to sterilise bags huh?!

lovelytulips, Pigeon or not, as long as they do the job. Any no-brand ball of cotton should be just fine! I'm thinking boiled water prob not heater water ba. That's usually mixed with tepid water to some extent even if you turn it to the hottest.