(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

massage, audreyaw u reminded me that i hate massages also. i will laugh and tighten my muscles when it comes to massaging my inner tighs, arms etc. think it's gonna be a waste of money.

aiya, should have gone to ck tang.....

Hi5 lovelytulips. Not only i will laugh, I will also kick the person when it touch my legs due to itchiness. Y didn u go?

Whoa, I finally can settle down in front of computer for a while to catch up on all I've missed since last night. I'm going for my belated massage soon! For real this time, bbjun. =) Appt at 8, so half an hour to browse thru here, then must rush to shower and char-bo.

Tubbymummy,
you think you're a sleeper. You can't beat this sloth here. I can sleep at 10pm and still wake up after noon the next day. 12 hrs are ideal... more would be great!! =) I love my sleep. If you notice, on my non-working days, I'm never around here until abt 1pm after I wake and wash up. So now you know why I super STRUGGLE with mornings. Til no time to read anything. Rush into office, rush into my "therapy room" and start my "sessions"... Yay! tmr can sleep in! *Erm... that's why gatherings organised by me don't usually start til after 2pm.* Heehee!!

sweethalo,
I notice you keep *fainting* ah. Better up your iron intake hor. Belated reply, sorry. Me still catching up, u see. I don't think anything is wrong with you, but I don't think the bibs are very cheap either.. =) You buy, you happy! That's all that needs to happen. I think there are 'packages' of bibs that go for cheaper than if you buy per piece.
Re: Steriliser
No ma. You wash plates already, put in drawer, next time you use, you don't wash it again, do you? Same concept as steriliser. It's to kill germs. Not for bottles to be germ-free... but to be a bit cleaner than left to air-dry... That's my 2cents worth anyway.

LFB, hatemenot,
*take my hat off* You can actually WAKE UP at that ungodly hour and come online!? I have problems waking up even TWO hours after you.

LFB, you must be a superb employee for your boss to be so kind. Keep up the good work! =)

hatemenot, yay! Another "naughty bb" to join the 1-hr BB Scan Club. Haha... Another heavyweight too!

11_beans, your belly button must be so cute. It's never been an 'outie' til now? Mine's still nice and tucked in. I guess it'll take a LOT of stretching to force it out of hiding. Your hubby is so cute! I actually stick in finger in and scrape out my navel during showers... my sisters are quite grossed out by the thought, but I am grossed out the thought of unwashed navels!! Sometimes it can smell... bit like pierced ears kinda smell *EEeewww*

Yippee, yippee, ppl are starting to comment on my growing bump.. today both to and from work, ppl gave me seats! WwwoooooooHOOOOO!!!!!!!

hehhe... erh... I wash plates liao put in cupboard, next time take out also rinse again... oopz!

*scratch head* Thought 4 for $10 oredi damn cheap... u mean got cheaper?? *hit head*

audreyaw, didnt go cos i was napping and woke up like 6+pm. since they close at 11pm, probably see hb wana go later. :p

Cassey, i wash liao, put in cupboard. the next time, take out, i rinse again!! i very ks.....

sweethalo, what thing is 4 for $10?? bibs??

Hmm... I never put my washed plates in cupboard, I only put them at dish rack and used it without rinsing unless that particular plate has been sitting there for quite some time. Maybe I don't have many plates, about 6-7 just enough for daily. =)

Haha... I haven't finished looking thru posts in 30min. But massage place called and I've put time back by 30min so that gives me more time. Goodness, I'm starting to sound like an addict. =(

Mooch,
*impressed* Have you a pair of girls or boys? Or one of each?! Are you currently carrying a singleton? Whoa, twins and can still conceive within such a short time.. You must be super experienced by now.

nozomi,
Hai! Why rounder = fat or water retention? Can't we blame it on bb?!

Ling, Eeeeeeeeeeee FISH SKIN....?!?!?! *bbllleeuuurrggghh*

Tubbymummy,
re: breast pumps, I think it's really an individual thing. There are numerous 'testimonials' by breastfeeding mums abt how electric DUAL pumps helped them express greater amts of milk and achieve let-down (emptying of boobs of milk) quicker. Don't worry too much abt what others say at this point, I say just try it out and if it doesn't work, then think abt what to do!!

sweethalo,
I glimpsed your batok coconut post while speed scrolling at work and almost shrieked out loud with laughter!! I haven't scrolled down tonight to verify if your query has been answered, but if I'm not mistaken, those "botak" fellas used to be green before they were cruelly shaven.
Re: Playpen
I'm also planning on using playpen as cot. So getting it now to chuck bb in and give me some peace of mind. hahaha...

bing,
this is like a constant marathon huh. You lag, you run until you get athsma attack. You stop, you die.

Re: Postnatal Masseur
Mine quoted me $55/hr, all included including herbs (?), binding and tptn. But as I said, I'm considering another lady, but haven't enquired after her prices yet.

Tubbymummy, sweethalo,
seat belt may be too short cos sometimes need to run 'loop' from the back of carseat to the front and back again before buckling it down for firm attachment to the passenger seat.

lovelytulip,
sorry I'm not quite sure what playpen I bought. I'm not fussy abt brands, just see which design and colours catch my fancy. But the one hubby and I chose was too wide for HDB doors, so in the end we brought it back and exchanged it for a plain blue one - the only narrower option. It was about $139 too.

sweethalo,
I didn't have to pay to book my masseur. I just kinda registered with her so that she put down my name, location and EDD in her apptmt book. She told me just call her after I deliver. Thanks for the Yakult suggestion. I'm a Vitagen girl but don't have any at work neh!!! I kept wanting to retch... it was so hard to stay upbeat for my 'little clients' today. Glad it's all over for now.

Ling, I was going to get Khatijah too. But confinement at my mum's in East and she doesn't do East.

audreyaw, envious!! I don't think I'd ever lose the belly without the help of a postnatal masseur but I can't "afford" to try it.
I dislike massages too... but sometimes when back aches, I go for tui'na. That is definitely NOT TICKLISH. It's OOOOHHH OOOOHH OUCH OUCH!! STOP!! YYYEEEEOOUUCCCH! all the way. Then I'll be sore and sometimes bruised for a few days after that. =( Which is why I'm hoping the massage later helps my tailbone ache.

*whoa, I finally caught up to my own previous post*

Rinse-before-use MTBs, whoa you ppl "siao on".
Hubby and my 'philosophy' (incldg for bb-care) - what doesn't kill you will make u stronger.

Whoa... almost an hr has passed. Bubbye for now, dearies! I'm super late for my shower.
Will check back in later.

Cassey- was wondering, since u hv cats, will the fur get into the playpen since it's low?

Yah i thot botak coconut was young ones too.. but the rest seems to conclude they are not leh..

*sorry for being annoying. But I reckon if I keep posting, esp now, closer to the time, no one can say they didn't know.* =)

OPEN GATHERING INVITATION

Date: TOMORROW!!! Friday, 6 Feb
Time: 2pm - 5pm (to avoid peak hr)
Venue: Gloria Jeans, Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
(In front of MPH Bookstore, descend via escalators near Starbucks)

Pls feel free to drop by & say HI! if you're on leave, on MC (Hehe!) or in the vicinity.
I guess you'll be looking to meet and greet the group of "chubby looking" ladies.

Attendees to date
Confirmed: sweethalo, tubbymummy, createjoy, nozomi, Cassey
Tentative: BlueDream, Serene22, kikismom, creamer

Interested in "registering" yourself for this gathering, pls pm me for contact number exchange.
~ Organiser: Cassey

TENTATIVE ATTENDEES: Anyone ready to confirm?
I shall PM you my mob# later tonight to facilitate contact.

audreyaw, i also put them in a dish rack, but i still wash them. habit since young i guess. and i'm scare there are creepy crawlies at night that crawl over them while i sleep. wahhahaah

Cassey, i have a dirty eat dirty grow up, a hokkien saying also. but leh.... doesnt apply to the rinse before use i gues. :p

playpen... hmmm... shall consider regarding the move in and out of bedroom cos the one i saw is the bigger one. any particular mattress we shld be using??

massages... since most are interested, can we do like a bulk booking??? hahah... then we june mtbs book her for her entire month.. hahahhaha

sweethalo, nothing is too high for my Cassey princess! So whether mattress on floor, bed, cot or ceiling sarong, whatever, it's the same. Having thus said, my girl is very train'able. She kept trying to check out the playpen when we first got it. But she's stopped now since she knows I will growl at her and if she persists, she'll be smacked.

I have every confidence that once boundaries are established in the first 2-3months of bb's home-coming, the fluffy little furballs will know just where they can and cannot go, and what they can and cannot do.

Cassey, same with my girl (but not animal =P) but both of them never sleep in sarong b4. I had friends' bb who sleep in sarong and they can't sleep other places when they are outside. Can you imagine you got to rush home when bb want to sleep and cried all the way home? -.-

I believe that kids/bb got to train when young. Once rules are set, they will obey.

I want to get a big playpen but so far those that I had seen is not very big. I am not intending to move it anywhere, putting it at the 1st floor while a cot bed at 2nd floor, save my time moving up and down.

lovelytulips, come to think of it I didn't thought of getting a mattress for my playpen. Are we supposed to get 1?

I am not sure if I will drink coconut or not. Don't seem to like it. haiz..

Cassey and lovelytulips, I have BIG BIG time rash, on my tummy, wrists and thighs since last week. Seen gynae who prescribed anti-itch pills and calamine lotion... Rash didnt go became worse. Then, i saw my normal GP. He prescribed cream but it contain a little steriod. Rash is still here. =( Both docs said it's normal. i wonder how normal. Such an agony!!! I can't help but scratch... i wake up at nite scratching! I scratch all the time... does it mean i am going to have stretch marks??? Oh NOOO!!! *sob Sob*

Kelly Ng, you have to endure the itch till birth. I know of someone who was in the same situation as you and she only get well after birth. Instead of stretching, does rubbing help?

cassey, not experienced lah..
still learning as i go along..

my twins are girl and a boy..

i still looking for massage package leh.. i stay in the east.. let me know if anyone got recommendation hor..

wow mooch! So blessed to hv boy and girl twins... I was hoping wishfully to hv twins when I found out I was pregnant...hahah...

cassey, I hope you are really enjoying your massage today.

mooch, envy sia. One boy and one gal! So ideal

kelly_ng, I m also starting to get a little itchy skin here n there n try to tone it down with moisturizer. I have mild case of eczema and also dry skin. Also realize my skin is getting drier during this pregnancy, till skin on my face can peel if I m in air con the whole day. Trying all my means from shower gel to moisturizer to prevent itch. My fren had a hard time in her 3rd trimester becos of the rashes.... she can't even sleep well. Hope I don't get it. U can change ur shower foam to something more moisturizing to help ease the itch.

hi ladies!! just had detailed scan today! confirm baby boy!

went for shopping with my mother and husband. heh bought a few things la. in the shopping mood. =D

doc say my baby is M size (normal) which is just nice. very happy cos baby was sucking thumb during scan and was quite coorperative too.

Cassey,

I was working at that time! Reached my work place at 620am and started reading enmails. Now you know why my boss want to keep me? My hours are killers!

Tmr going for my detailed scan. Hubby cannot take leave, so only mummy there. Anyway, he also poor thing. Now still working. No choice!

Now I tired out easily. Just walking up and down is too tiring for me. I wonder what will I feel in 3 tri!

mooch, u're so lucky to have a pair of twins and luckier to have a boy and gal! =) I was hoping for a pair of twins like urs initially as i had 2 pregnancy sacs. But 1 didn't survive...

audreyaw and bbjun, thanks for ur advices! Ahh... i don't wanna have tis till due date! It's driving me nuts and making me very depressed. I'll change my shower gel and hydrate my skin more. Thanks, gals!

ladies > sorry to disturb.I'm a Jan 09 mum.I have excess "da feng cao " to let go at $2 per pkt.Still unopened and unused.

I also have some gluntinous rice wine,sesame oil and black vinegar to let go once i'm done with my confinement nxt week. Do pm me if u keen.

audrey,
ermm.. why do you need a big playpen? I've seen nice square ones... but not an option for me since that definitely won't fit thru the door. If it fits and is square, bb won't fit in it for long! Haha... and YES! You're supposed to get your own mattress if the playpen doesn't come bundled with one. Mine came with a with mattress and without price. I took the mattress, of course.

kelly,
poor you. I suffer from eczema and while it's improved tremendously, I really hate the itching whenever it sets in. Thankfully now it's under control and only attacks infrequently on the instep of one foot... so not very visible. Will calamine lotion work? Try applying chilled fresh aloe vera on the area? Maybe that will soothe things a bit.

WHOA!!!! MOOOOOOCCCHHH!!!!
I'm green. I think everyone else's green too. One shot you get a princess and a warrior to protect her too. How blessed!! Was it a vaginal delivery?
There's a quite often recommended on the forum lady who 'services' the East. She's
the one I've booked... If you want to, can try - Mdm Habsah 9187 2441. All inclusive, she charges about 55-60 per session. Recommends 2 weeks of daily massages, maybe with Sun off.

amk_gal! Another boy!! Welcome to the Warriors and Princes club!

LFB, crazy... You're gonna keep going til you deliver?! What time do you knock off?

bbjun, I've saved you for last.
WHAT A WET BLANKET. I DIDN'T GET MY MASSAGE. AGAIN. =(

I rushed there after my shower.. only for the masseur to say she isn't confident doing it. I dropped by earlier in the week and asked if they do massages for pregger ladies. Guy said yes.. they do. STUPID ME. I should've mentioned over the phone again when making apptmt that I'm pregnant. =( But both that silly man and the Chinese lady were really kind and apologetic abt the whole thing. Lady said even if she massages me, the pain's part and parcel of pregnancy and will just come back. So sad.

I must see if I can make my darling hubby compensate my loss tonight *wriggle wriggle brows*
Die... going into 6th month... very soon must completely shut down my factory. =(

hi all, bz with work and my ger till now time to join in .. glad to know that many mummies are doing well

i am expecting a boy too, much to me n hubby disappointment! haha.. both of us prefer gers..

water retention start to set in for me too.. my face and legs started to swell too.. zzz.. trying hard to control my diet and weight but tho i am not consuming more than pre-preg days, my weight seems to be increasing rapidly.. suspect due to the water retention... zz..

kelly, i had very bad rash known as PUPPP during the last trimester whn i was expecting my ger in 2007.. the itch and the fiery red looking rash almost drove me crazy.. the rashes spread like wild fire throughout my entire body, only my face was spared.. i look super hideous then and always clad in long sleeve and pants whnever i hv to go out.. nothing helps till i visit TCM, took the chinese medicine and abstain from heaty and seafood, take light steam food instead.. as per gynae the rash is triggered due to hormone.. as per the TCM physician, it was due to my body overheated.. took too much heaty tonic thus resulted in rashes outbreak as my body is heaty by nature..

The bad experience left me decide to stop at 1 child but unexpectedly i am pregnant again.. haiz.. To prevent the rashes relaspe, this time round i stop taking any tonic but rather take more "liang" drinks, hopefully it helps.. keeping my fingers crossed!.. if you need the contact to the TCM physician, let me know..

lovelytulips, no specific mattress for playpen, but always safest to get one that's a snug fit, with no excess space between it and the sides of playpen/cot. If there's excess space, must stuff it with ermm... don't know what. Like I said, I bought mine in a 'bundle' so they figured out the size for me at BB Hyperstore.

Cassey: Hmm.. I saw a couple quite small, like can't sit in for long? Intending to "lock" my warrior in for as long as I can so I can do my house chores peacfully. Haha.. silly me thought everything comes with the playpen. Went to kiddy palace but nothing catch my eye. Either it's too colourful like childcare or too shaky.

mooch: *JEALOUS* Must be fun having both at the same time. But if i got a choice, I would prefer having 1 at a time. Don't think I can handle 2 at the same time. Get me wondering how is the lady who is in the same ward with me 9 years ago. She's having triplets then and was asked to stay in hospital till delivery. Poor her and got to control her sugar intake as well.

*Cross finger* I hope I won't get itch too.

cassey, feel disappointed for you. But the good thing is that the masseur is honest to let u know that she is not confident to do that for you. I am gg for my first pre-natal massage with rustic nirvana two weeks later. I have to tell them that I m preggie cos they will only assign specific masseur trained for preggies. If non-preggies go there for massage (can do jamu massage,too, to ease menses discomfort), normal masseur can do. So on the brighter side of things, u didn't take the risk of having a massage by an untrained masseur.

amk_gal, congrats!

Kelly, sad to hear one of the embryos didn't make it. But praise God then, that you had another on standby!

Rest assured that: rash doesn't = stretchmarks. Ermm.. SCRATCH marks, maybe!! No worries about the steriod cream. My sister has been on them too. There was some hysterics on the April thread when she told the MTBs that her dog ate up her tube of steriod cream - INCLUDING the metal tube proper. Only the plastic lid was left behind on doggie bed, with remnants of the metal. Haha!!

Do you wear fitted stuff to sleep at night? I'm not saying it's causing or it will help the itch, but sometimes I find wearing fitted things help cos then when you turn/scratch, there isn't as much friction as a loose article of clothing twisting and winding around you. If you have been wearing fitted PJs, then maybe 'loosening up' or 'going natural' will help..?

Piglet~,
what a nickname!! Congrats on the boy! A number of us are blessed with boys, but actually would prefer a girl. *I repent!* I still feel a twinge and a fierce irrational longing when I see lovely little TINY girls' frocks. But I'm learning to get away from those, stroke stroke my bump and thank my little warrior that he's helping mummy save money already. Haha.

Aaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!!!!! Puffy face! That must be a misery to contend with. Like sweethalo's "bloated penguin" is not enough, must be bloated penguin with hippo face some more. Poor poor you. Cover mirrors in the house!

bbjun, yup. I'm always glad when ppl are upfront abt things - especially so if it's bad news... She did try to make up for it by explaining and demo'ing how to get hubby to rub and pat my back. Haha... your postnatal is with R'Nirvana too,yeah? Very ley-chey, isn't it? Having to get dressed and check your face and hair and go there daily? Or perhaps they send someone to your place?!

No choice, must get my Mdm Habsah to come and massage me at home.

cassey, Rustic have special package to do post-natal for you at home.. but super ex. So I m not gg to sign a separate pacakge for that. My mom oredi engaged a malay lady for my post-natal massage. N I will go back to rustic for normal post natal massage on my normal package after confinement.... to help me slim down!!!

audrey, huh?! How much space does your warrior need?! Is he a little sumo warrior. Keke... I go check mine out. We're expecting a little sumo, but our playpen is quite mini leh. Only about 50 x 27. Ermm.. inches, I think.

The 'real' Cassey just got smacked cos mummy growled at her and she STILL insisted on wanting to check out the stroller. Now she's staring at me with soulful eyes while rolling over and over again on the floor, purring and mewing. Silly manipulative little princess!

bbjun, I see, I see. I get it then! Thank God for lovely mums! I was thinking abt it and thinking I wouldn't want to GO to a place to do post-natal massage during my confinement month. So didn't really get why anyone would take up such a package. But now it makes sense. Kinda like a post-postnatal massage, eh? =)

I'm still quite letdown (& I'm not talking breastmilk!!) that I didn't get kneaded tonight (& I'm NOT talking abt boobs either). Was SO looking fwd to falling into a limbless deep sleep. =( *pout*

No, wait! Why am I pouting here where no one can see? I must go stand in front of my hubby and put on a pitiful face.
*Ciao!* Check in later.

cassey, actually jamu massage can be done for all ladies, pregnant, not pregnant, post-pregnant. Before pregnancy, I have been gg for jamu massage to ease my back pain (at my tailbone) during menses. I also have water retention probs which the massage helps to minimise. The massage is effective. After the 3rd time, I no longer have aching back during menses. It was really a blessing else, I wld be praying for my bed when I was at work with menses. Jamu massage helps us to maintain the health of our womb. My auntie will ask malay lady to do jamu massage for her once every few months even though she oredi close shop after having 3 kids.

haha.. I hope u are successful in getting your hb to do some massage for you.

bbjun, I see. Thanks for that clarification. I used to have the most monstrous pains. But they've been rare and manageable since I switched to use tampons in my teens. Now I can't imagine life without tampons.

creamer, kikismom, have PM'd u my contact in case you do pop by tmr and need to contact me for some reason.

BlueDream, I tried you, but your profile is not set to receive PM so I may try again later... or if not, ermm... if you do come by, just look out for the belly ladies tmr.

sweethalo, *pat on back* You are one clever little cookie, aren't you!
Altho seriously, I'm not in the lurving mood... Just thinking abt it is nice though.

haha.. ya my nick was piglet cos my ger was born in the year of pig...

ya puffy face, like a puffer fish... zzzz..

somehow i feel gers are more loveable.. hving a hard time trying to get nice clothes for the boy.. boy clothes are so boring...

did a quick look at archived threads, read that green bean soup may help with water retention.. going to try it out over the wkend.. hope it helps.. otherwise my legs going to look like a pig trotter soon... zzzzz...

Clever little cookie, keep in touch via sms? I thought of meeting at train station / starbucks.. but someone's gotta bag us seats...
So I thought I'd pop by and see if I can get a nice comfy couch. *But can I wake up in time?!*

Tmr's Fri Coffee Ladies,
confirmed attendees, whoever gets there first, pls BAG US a nice comfy area and sms the rest of us k!

*frowns* Maybe we should come up with some dresscode... a red rose? A bib? A rattle? Or perhaps a milk bottle? =p

piglet, *phew* glad to hear that. For a moment, I thought you were some modified "younger-sounding" version of our dear ol' Tubbymummy. Hahaha!!!

sweethalo, OUI. No stories tmr! *blush blush*

FirstMum, WHOA! WHAT PICTURES ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?! Hahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Scared me. Thought you wanted me to post naughty pictures for a moment.

audrey, the posted pic looks somewhat like my playpen. Just that mine's a lighter blue.
Not big enough for a little sumo meh?!

hehehe... Cassey, if u have to do late night OT later, u can come late but must gibe us the juicy details...*hide*... hehehe

sweethalo, huh? 2pm off peak ma. No?

Usually before I meet up with anyone (sellers so far) from forum, I'll sms them a rough description of what I'm wearing while I'm on the way there. So no doubt you'll all get a description of my clothes tmr even before we see each other.

sweethalo, don't want dress code, then how? I make a tour-guide flag saying SINGAPORE MOTHER FORUM: JUNE MTBs and erect it by our seat? *grin*

*GROWL* Ok, that's it, sweethalo. Tmr you wear a frilly bib and carry a milk bottle and the rest of us can just look out for u.

sweethalo, u read cassey's mind. LOL.

I think the playpen is big enuf. The cot I m getting is the smaller version of the usual gigantic size. It's on rollers, so can roll to another room if needed. HDB flats are getting smaller, it's really not practical to get big playpens or cots.