(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo: I ordered the bibs too hehe. After u all talked about it last night, I also went to kpo, and ordered. But no reply from her yet. I asked her for meet up tomorrow at City Hall too. Did she agree to meet u?

TubbyMummy - ya tangs member sale until today only.. i didnt get to see much of the kiddy section cos when i got up there was already 4pm so decided to skoot out and grab a cab home instead to avoid the peak surcharge... hehee

She sent me an sms late last night and said she has appt, can't meet

wah you gals really fast in replying.. no need to work one ah!
me work from home, and care for kids, so busy always..

caramelle / Strollers - yeah the XLR is wider, more comfortable for the baby, and its still lightweight enuf to bring out without sacrificing the manoeveuring.. the combi i tested was really light, but so light that the turning and stuff not sturdy.. very wobbly, so i went back to Maclaren. i would suggest if any of you wanna buy Maclaren dun wait for sales, jus go to Baby Hyperstore at Ubi. its the cheapest.

nozomi / Pumps - yes i switched from Medela Swing to Avent Manual Pump. its more tiring having to pump yourself, but at least you can control it. Medela is a good brand if you plan to get an electric one. Avent i like the manual one. i think its personal preference on electric or manual. in the beginning i also focused alot on the pump, being first time mommie
i got dual electric with massage blah blah.. but then after using i feel the most impt thing is which one can really milk me out more!
cos if you dun milk it out, your breast harden and it will hurt like hell! and i felt that the control with the manual one will be able to squeeze me out more than the electric.

TubbyMummy / Dr Fong - oh! really!
yeah i gave birth to my twins at TMC. cos i felt Mt A was far and hard to get to. i live in the east. and TMC seems easier for family to visit cos of the location. but i am catholic, and have always wanted to deliver in Mt. A. so now i itchy hand looking at both again!

carseats - i bought a no brand type around $80 but good recline for my twins when they were born. they only used for 9 months then had to convert to toddler one which i got a better one, the Maxi Cosi Priori. cos the infant seat only use so short a time, i chose to not buy expensive type. then use the money buy better for the toddler one. i have no regrets
alot of ppl dun recommend buying a convertible car seat from birth all the way type, cos of the recline. cos they tend to be more upright to suit the toddler, and with that, its not good for an infant, cos the spine will be curved most time when sleep in it.

anyone got any recommendation for massage ladies for post natal? can make me go back to same size can already!

Rach, i realise we share the same EDD and the same gynae. ha!

Cassey, nozomi, the spots arent on my tummy, it's on my limbs. (should i be glad??). using a dont know what moisturiser cream that the GP gave me. cos now cant use those with steroids. and that thing cost me almost 50 bucks. i think it's those moisturiser for sensitive skin that are prescribed by doctors...... hope it does go away cos i hate to see "scars" after all the scratching!!

caramelle, yea, i saw some of those that can fit the infant carrier in it. but it seems like a waste to buy just a carrier for it. i'm those who will want something that can use from birth to 18kg etc..... i'm hoping the stoller will be of good use. i know of some friends whose kids doesnt use the stroller anymore once they know who to walk..... so it's like using it for only 1.5 years....

Shelissa, i saw a playpen at taka selling at 139, under baby craft and it comes with mattress etc. considering that. i thought a bigger size playpen should be better?? at least can sleep till they are bigger, and when it is a playpen, the kid will have more space to play???

think i've not seen a pink colour playpen leh.... think mostly neutral colours or blue or brown, orange etc. think a pink one for ur girl will look sweet!

Cassey, regarding mittens. some told me that it's only needed for the first 2 mths, so i really wonder how come ur sis' friend can wash a load of it??? and i thought at most a dozen pair will be enough as we dont change them as often as nappies..... hmmmmm

mooch: thanks for input. Ya, I agree about the spine thing for the convertible car seat. Just that it seems more economical. I thought of getting no-brand infant seat, but feel a bit wasted that the no-brand one won't be able to fit onto my stroller. I mean, if I decide to get infant seat anyway, might as well have best of both worlds and get it to fit on stroller right? But maybe it's wishful thinking haha.

Oh, and the breast pump, I bought Medela Swing already! You mean it can't really empty out? My sis eventually gave up pumping cos she was using a manual one, and the effort was just too much in the long run, so I thought it may be better if I avoided manual ones...

hahaha..

i never used the ameda so dunno leh..

tubbymummy - the no brand one fits into my XLR.
with an adaptor lah..
the pump you buy already then no harm trying it, if it doesn't work out, sell it lor.. cos i really think its personal preference.. i used it and i still got sore breasts from not totally emptying.. but when i used teh avent, i dun seem to have tat much of that problem

Combi is only suitable for small-sized baby. Both my kids are tall and heavy so unable to sit till the recommended age it stated.

I bought the Peg Perego Pliko P3, the stroller wt is 8kg. The more function the stroller (for Peg Perego brand), the heavier it will be. I am staying in lift level so no need to carry it up and down the stair. Thinking to get Primo Viaggio car seat or not as that is the only brand which can fit into the stroller. It cost abt $35x, so exp lo. But I will be ferrying my kids to and fro school daily in future. Not sure worth it or not.

Er.. I don't remember using so many mittens and boots. I only used a couple of months and stored it.

As for bibs, I never used them also. I used those plastic-type or waterproof type when come to weaning, easier to wash.

Both my kids are trained to sit in stroller and they actually sat it till 4 years old? *can't remember* I don't have the strength and energy to keep chasing after them, kids really run very fast.

mooch: ya, no choice, I'll just try it, and try to get it to work for me. Failing which, there's always ebay... Oh ya, I forgot to say that between TMC and MAH, actually they're only 5min away, so for ppl to visit you, in terms of distance, I think it's negligible. During my hospital tour, Sister Raj was saying that if you want to, you can request for one of the sisters to bring you over to the chapel where you can pray and give thanks for your baby I think. It was something they used to do, since they're a Catholic hospital, and I think some nurses still upkeep that tradition.

lovelytulips, whoa a dozen is STILL a lot! You're right, though, only use for first few months cos when child learns to grasp, have to stop so that motor skills development is not compromised.

Apparently cos mittens get into the mouth and touches everything else... so for hygiene purposes, need to change once or twice a day. I still don't know how one can manage to get a FULL washload of those tiny scraps of cloths. I find it hard to believe... but ok lor. I'll buy some to standby. Maybe 3 pairs... and more if the gifts don't come in. *heehee!*

Hi mummies,do you know any catering food for preg?

Bluedream,my gynae is K T Tan @ TPS,please help me to update... Thank you

mooch,welcome..

Tubbymummy,i think using babybjorn later on will help us lost weight after give birth... My friend also was told by her gynae that baby gal but they found out is was a boy after give birth... i was repeated the story liao... Maybe their bb hide "x" to give a suprise to his parents...

createjoy,you hv good memory... i miss out it leh...

Ling,you plan to start drink coconut so early... have you consult your gynae?

Audreyaw,sometimes gynae will not remind you,you need to ask your gynae whether is it ok with your weight gain...

Cassey,paiseh... i really missed out some of your posting.. this thread moving really fast... my weight is 59KG now... means i gained 10KG already.. You can consult your gynae whether yours is ok..

Ling,most of the food court got sell the green coconut...

lovelytulips... should you be glad? Errm... Personally, I think tummy easier to cover with clothes leh. Limbs bit harder. My skin doctor used to get me to buy Aqurea(?) from Watson's. He's said it's non-fragranced, very creamy and more importantly cheap!! Not like QV or what not usually prescribed for ezcema. It comes in a fat blue tube if you'd like to try out a cheaper alternative...

Jess Ma, check with gynae whether my "what" is ok?
I know I'm doing fine on the weight factor =)
Curious: Where does your family live?

Jess: Wah, like that I'm even more scared to buy pink clothes haha... i'll stick to white, pale yellow, pale green I think. About BabyBjorn, I read that it can be pretty taxing on the back, and that Ergo is better, so I thought of getting Ergo. I got slipped disc, so I really need to watch my back, and can't carry when baby is bigger, but I think hubby can continue using.

Green coconuts:
It's those normal kind we can order in foodcourts or Newton hawker centre right?? But I like the small Thai sweet sweet ones hehe. As long as the coconut is green means young is it??

hahah..... i "hiao" as in if tummy kena, i cant wear midrift, bikinis ma.... hiak... but then on limbs, it's also as bad. well well.....

mittens: if u are looking for hands me downs, abit difficult cos most of my those mother friends say mittens are like use and throw so it's hard to keep for others. anyway, i got some already. seriously, i do hope pple give me cash or vouchers instead of clothes etc. hahahahah

audreyaw, i have a friend who rather keeps her son in the stroller by giving him biscuits etc than to run after him.. haha... so what mehod do u train ur kids to sit in the stroller?

avent manual breast pump: i realise different dept stores have diff promos for breast pump packages. sometimes i wonder which is the most cost savings.....

do we need a bottle warmer, like the avent bottle and food warmer??

lovelytulips: I agree, I'd rather get money too haha. I've already told some of my friends to please forget about buying clothes etc, cos I may not agree with their tastes (I'm quite direct haha), so best is give me money, or ask specifically what I want, and get that. Otherwise, just don't get me anything, I won't be offended.

Ling, im rushing project thus leave confirmed rejected one. So 'MC' is the only choice.

lovelytulips, ya. that y im keep looking ard for pink playpen. But so far yet to see any. The playpen u saw is it from Kiddy palace Or??

TubbyMummy, e coconut u like is those small white coconut at those night market got sell type. 1 ard $1-$2. The type i advise is like those big coconut pluck from tree. Big big green green type. Normally sell at hawker type. This type of coconut got young and old.
young = the flesh is soft n thin
old = flesh is thick n hard
So depend on ppl that u like what type of flesh. Ling and me the same, like young type.

green coconuts: someone once told me that those thai small coconuts arent really good. they are like being "smoked" to ripen or something like that..... although i used to have it everytime i go bkk and pasar malam. those green coconuts definitely can be found at newton circus, chomp chomp, east coast lagoon hawker etc.

Jess Ma, ohh.. shall ask him end of the mth then.
Come to think of it, all my bb clothings are in neutral colours. So even my bb turn out to be a girl instead a boy, she still can wear it.

lovelytulips, hmm.. nothing cause all along I never let them out other than going up cabs, playtime and food. I bought the warmer mainly for because there are a few people warming up milk for bb. As you know, diff person has diff feeling of right temp so in order not to argue whether is too hot or cold, we stick to bottle warmer which heat at constant temp.

Shelisa: But if I order from hawker centre, I won't be able to see what type of flesh is inside before I get it right? Then how? I thought if the coconut is old, the outside won't be green anymore... I don't know anything about coconuts. I only know how to buy the ready supermarket type haha.

wah lau.. just away for morning meetings and I have to read so many posts! You ladies like dun have to sleep or work!!!

Rach, cool. we are staying in the same vicintiy, using the same gynae!

Hatemenot, yeah. I m looking fwd to see u this sat.

re: bibs
I had FOC bibs from gynae and TMC. Sis bought a gift set with it and fren gave me another. I think I oredi have 5. Maybe topping up with just 1-2 more later.

re: breast pumps
Bought avent manual/electric breast pump. Can't rem the model. Tot it would be good to have flexibility of using electric and manual if required. I bought this as gift for another fren last year and she likes using this better than the medela one that her sis passed to her. I think it's personal preference ba.

Gg to check out car seat and prams from frens who want to give away before deciding to buy or just get from them. Hopefully can save some more money.

cassey, seems like you have bought almost all the big items!

ling & tubbymummy,
me also skin lover. But usually only take those that my mother cooks cos I can trust her to clean out the parts underneath the pig skin. Chicken wings crispy skin... yum yum. Oredi, I told my mom that if my CL's zhu jiao chu is not as nice as hers, she has to cook that dish for me!!! That is one confinement food that I m really looking fwd to.

To all mummies meeting up tomorrow, enjoy yourselves and have a fun time catching up. For those not gg, pls log on n keep me company. kekekeke...

think we are supposed to drink young coconut... not old one. at least my mother told me so. She even bring me to supermarket to point to me which kind so that I can buy for myself.

bbjun: I'm also looking forward to the zhu jiao chu! And I only trust my mum to do that as well, cos must clean very well, and she will cook for very long so that a lot of the fats melt off, and can be scooped away from the gravy. Actually, quite looking forward to confinement food, cos my mum is hakka, and they got a lot of those cook with ginger and rice wine sort of dishes. YUM!

lovelytulips, you are right!! i heard that reason too for the small white coconut. That y they say the effect not so good and will cause heaty.

TubbyMummy, haha. i also dunno how to choose. Usually i will tell the uncle 'my coconut want young type' then they will help us choose lor. i think old n young the outside is still green colour.

sweethalo, you means which type?
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mylittlerascal/72679811/ (this is heaty)

http://www.flickr.com/photos/simns/663479251/ (this is cooling - n this is wat i will advise to drink)

sweethalo, i think better drink in hawker centre, cos if buy in market, we won't know how to hack the coconut open so expertly.

confinement food!! i love all kinds of confinement food, be it pig trotters vinegar, rice wine with chicken, kidney with sesame oil ginger..... drool....

Shelisa, the playpen i saw was at taka. not the baby kingdom or hypermart.

Sweethalo, agreed with TubbyMummy. Best to drink in hawker as they help u chopped open liao. Then u can try whether u like young flesh or old flesh. So next time when u buy u can tell the uncle u prefer young flesh(thin & soft) or old flesh(thick & hard).

sweethalo, playpen is depend whether u need it now or later. For some, they prefer to put their baby at playpen when sleeping or napping. Some like to put in bed or the 'yao lan'. Depend on urself.

sweethalo, i intend to let my baby sleep in a playpen instead of cot. that's why need to buy a playpen earlier. if u only intend to use the playpen for "playing" or putting ur kid inside, then u can get it later.

i heard barley helps to reduce water retention. and those desert with the fu zhu, makes the baby skin smooth. sounds like a good desert to take.... but some says barley is very cooling so i guess take in moderation...

think if i buy the coconut myself and has to hack it open, properly a big challenge....

Rach, maybe u're right.

bbjun, talking about parentcraft lessons. i only manage to book the 22 mar slot. haiz... they didnt manage to reserve the feb slot for me. wonder if attending in mar will be like too late......

oic Lovelytulips and Shelisa... yeah i think will get playpen later when the baby can sit up.

ya ya i meant that Fu Zhu... slurp! Love it... I was thinking they hv same effect as coconut during our 3rd trimester... and easier to make... no need go and find green or not green coconut... hehhee...

Lovelytulips - TMC Parentcraft, am going for the one on 14Mar evening.

BTW, hv u sent in ur payment? How do u kn they got it yet or not??

lovelytulips, I think shd be fine cos it will end in May. They wanted me to attend the March one. Explained to them that I cannot afford to go alone with a huge tummy by then cos my hb is not attending all lessons leh. That's why they give way to me.
They didn't reserve for you? How come? Over the phone they can reserve the slot for u but u must chop chop go down to make payment to secure the seat. They give ur seat to someone else???

lovelytulips: It's very challenging. Hubby and I tried once, and felt as if we might chop our hands off. Hubby was gonna give up after a while, and gave one final try, manage to hack open in half, and most of the juice went flying all over the kitchen! So definitely not worth the hassle, just depend on hawker centre uncle.