(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Haha... sweethalo, YOU are the wicked one! You shameless woman..
I've only reaped my "pregger privileges" at the Post Office and I've posted that incident here. =) Sweet!

Hmm... Some pregger privileges I'd love to see..
Bubble tea - pregger cups for preggie ppl!
Fitting rooms - preggie lane, with 6 items per fitting
Toilets - preggie's queue
Coffee - free donuts for preggie mums!
Pedicure - Buy 2 get 1 free!

wow..Hands up for: pedicure-buy 2 get 1 free!!! heheh.

Today I went shopping at Tangs for the post CNY sale... hehee... decided to zip out of Orchard before 5pm taxi peak surcharge.

Went to the taxi stand at Marriot only to see big signs there stating that taxi stand is not public but only for hotel guests and must produce hotel keycard to stand in queue. All public to proceed to Taxi Stand at Far East Plaza or Lucky Plaza. *fainted* Such a long walk and it was starting to drizzle.

When I noticed no hotel guests at all, I inched into the line. I was all prepared to use my "I am pregnant, pls let me get a cab here" line when the bellhop saw me...hehe..thankfully he didn't ask me anything and he even, switched on the Taxi Light to signal for taxis to come in.

Wahaha... sweethalo, well done! I was queuing up at Taka around same time too! It's so stuffy there... maybe next time I should go to Marriott too!

Cassey, I'm all for preggie bubble tea, toilet and pedicure privileges! (esp the toilet queue one, goodness)

kekeke...*evil grin*

Tubbymummy, wht did u get at Taka? Did u check out the Avent steriliser offer? Any good?

Welcome to the grp Mooch

re:coconut
Ya, all those aunties I spoke to tell me coconut is to be taken like in our last month before delivery, to ensure smooth delivery plus lower down the heatiness we have accumulated... n gg to get during confinement. None of them told me it's for BB's hair leh.

bing, I m also on fast food once a week or two weeks. My BB loves macdonalds since first trimester. I only manage to stay away from fast food better in 2nd trimester cos the cravings during first trimester was super bad.

11_beans, I also agree that u shd just ask ur gynae why only gain 10kg. My BMI higher than yours, my gynae oredi told me 12kg. Urs is low, of cos u have to put on more. Underwt mummies is not exactly good leh. Otherwise, the rest of the pregnancy, u will be so stressed by the wt target ur gynae has set.

welcome Mooch!

Re: chicken wings
chicken wings and potatos are my fave food. I just had 3 mid joints for dinner cos my mummy prepare dinner for me today. kekeke..
I try to eat in moderation now but difficult.

cassey, aiyo... u didn't go for massage. Guess what, I just came back from sending my dad for chinese massage.

re: preggie privileges
yeah man! I wouldn't mind more FOC pedicures!
My office security guard actually helps me flag for taxi if he sees me trying to get one to travel to the other office for meeting, just becos I am preggie. The unfortunate thing is that if he is not on shift, no one will offer to help.

cassey, u are sounding like my hb. He used to cite examples of putting me into a luggage to save an air ticket cos I can really fit into the large luggage. I wear some of his tees as my preggie clothes at home n he thinks it's still too big for me.

LFB, try massage ur legs a little before sleeping. Hope that helps lessen the cramps, at least not so painful?

sweethalo,
i wld like to recommend pigeon steriliser cos its reasonably priced, super easy to use and can fit bottles of any brand. avent can only be used for avent bottles. which is not very gd cos i went thru pigeon, avent and nuk bottles during my daughter's time. i tink diff babies may prefer different teats. so its safer to get pigeon. JMHO

Hi Mooch, welcome!

sweethalo, the Avent steriliser set at Taka is the best value compared to others I've seen at Robinsons & John Little, so if you or anyone here considering Avent, can go for it. But I still didn't buy hahahaha.... I was thinking of going for Tommee Tippee, but wanted to do even more research first. Mainly I want to get BPA-free bottles, and the Avent BPA-free ones are pretty pricey, $15.90 for 4oz bottle (Pigeon BPA-free ones also the same). The Tommee ones are cheaper, with Evenflo even cheaper still, and Tommee & Evenflo got 20% discount on top of that.

Oh, the Taka staff was VERY nice. I asked her about the Tommee Tippee promo, and she answered everything very clearly. She was also very nice to warn me that Taka does not normally carry the brand, it's only there for promo until the 19th. So i was worried that after that, where do I get stuff in future, she actually whipped out a a namecard case and found the supplier, and called them up for me to check where else they carry the products (Mothercare, Kiddy palace etc)! And she's not a TT promoter, she's really just the Taka staff. So nice and helpful. Oh. I just remembered now I should have asked for her name and written in to compliment her on her service. Nvm, go back during the weekend and find her and get her name.

Thanks so much First Mum.

Any idea what bottles can fit Ameda Breast Pumps??

Actually I am quite confused whether to get steriliser or not.

TubbyMummy, my fren told me to get Nuk which is bpa free from the internet. Hv not checked it out yet.

She also said must see what the bundle deal gives- some things are useless... wht did the Taka one include?

Must go check out Pigeon steriliser too..

sweethalo,
no idea cos ive only used medela. and even so, only for a short time. guess u gota chk wiv e other mummies.

abt breastpumps, i also dont advocate anyone spending so much until the baby is out. cos sad to say, much as we all want to, not everyone can be successful at BF. sorry to sound so discouraging. i also know of many mummies who direct feed exclusively for as long as a few years, as they cant get any milk thru pumping.

tubbymummy,
just wondering. is it really nec to get BPA-free bottles? is this to prevent the "leeching" problem?

no wonder that day i went to look at Avent bottles and i was shocked to see it gg for $15.90 (the small ones)!

sweethalo: Eh, actually don't quite remember already haha... Cos when i decided I wasn't interested, it didn't really register. What I can remember is electric steriliser, 2 bottles, brush, pacifiers & 3 bottles of baby products (body wash, moisturiser etc.), small cooler bag... I'm not sure if there's anything else. I'm sorry, that wasn't much help... For me, the baby products are useless, cos I don't intend to use Avent brand. Actually, I'm pretty bent on breastfeeding, and am gonna try my darnest to do it successfully, but I just want to buy a couple of bottles just in case. So I decided against buying a big set.

I didn't realise NUK is BPA-free. I haven't actually looked at Nuk. Oh, is it because they're glass? I'll go check it out anyway.

Thanks First Mum. The Pigeon steriliser is on my possible list too. Cheaper than Avent (but don't remember price). Any advice on whether a microwave steriliser is good enough, or is a steam one much better? I noticed the microwave ones are less bulky and real estate on my kitchen counter top is very previous, so thought they may be more ideal.

BPA free is so that the plastic don't release those harmful chemicals when subjected to heat, for eg, boiling or sterilising

TubbyMummy, my fren said if don't want to get steriliser also can... she said boiling the bottle is also the same effect and prob more hygenic since only heat up when needed, instead of leaving a whole bunch of sterilised bottles in the steriliser... hehehe

First Mum: Ya! $15.90 for small one! Faint. They haven't even brought in the bigger size, I don't wanna know how much THAT will cost man. The Pigeon BPA-free one is also same price as Avent. For me, I've been reading up on the BPA thing, and there's a lot of info on both sides of the fence. I don't think anyone dare to say for sure whether the BPA leaching into the milk will cause any harm in the long run. Maybe I'm a bit kiasu/kiasi, but I thought since buying bottles is something that is within my control, I might as well just go for BPA-free. If I buy the Evenflo ones, it's very affordable too, so no harm. $5.90 for 9oz bottle I think, and with 20% discount, even cheaper.

sweethalo: Ya, my mum was also saying the same thing haha. She said if all else fails, if really wanna save money, just use the good ol' method of boiling them. That was done in our mother's generation, and I guess we turned out fine right?

tubbymummy/ sweethalo,
an electric steriliser is gd in the sense that its a no-brainer. just load everything n and click the button. think it takes somewhere between 10-15 min and it'll switch off automatically. after it cools, then remove and assemble everything. even breastpump parts can put in and sterilise.

if boil in pot, have to watch fire and stir and time yourself. abit more effort and time consuming i guess.

the microwave one im not really sure. but may be a prob to fit in breastpump?? not sure though..

bbjun, sigh I should've told you earlier then. You could have brought me together with your dad.

Hey Mooch, if you provide your details here, we've a very conscientious BlueDream who updates the list of who's due when, bb's gender, attending obgyn and delivery hospital. Things move really fast so just join in the merry-go-round.

Re: bb shopping
Hubby and I shopped while on leave btwn Christmas and New Year 2008. Already secured about >60% of the items on our list:
Playpen, mattress, stroller, steriliser, Pigeon's starter kit, bb bathtub...
Breast pump, nursing pillow, nursing shawl, breast pads...
Wheat husk (?) pillow, wash cloths, clothes, cotton balls & wet wipes
Only left with more boring stuff like toiletries, bath towels, thermometer, bb nail clipper, nipple cream, etc...

Since then, I haven't bought much and bb things don't really interest me that much anymore leh. I read abt you all getting excited abt the bb fair... and can't seem to muster any enthusiasm for it at all. *why?!* Maybe I'd be a bit more crazed if having a girl... ??

Tubbymummy, I don't think boiling is more convenient than using a steriliser at all neh. Uses more water and time. Still have to find a suitable rack on which to stack bottles and lay on the teats and all the other little stuff... To me it's more hassle than fuss-free.

The steriliser: 1 cycle, keep bottles for use for half or the whole day. Boil already, what, keep pot on stove with bottles and teats and all inside? Or boil each bottle when you need it?

I got a Lindam steriliser. Sis got a microwave one. For me, I prefer not to use microwave.
Either way, I still think a steriliser is more convenient and less dangerous (not hot to the touch like a pot).

Cassey, yah been busy to log in this few days and im making up to read thru the threads now! yeap, the malay lady very nice lor. I feel very delighted and also "paiseh" abit loh but i say thanks twice and look sincerely into her eyes lor *blink blink*. Haha.. at least they also feel worth to give up seats to us this way. But cant do this to guys la, wait they "xiang lu fei fei"!! haa
I will be at raffles city vicinity during the meet up and so qiao my appt time is exactly your meeting time! Will see if u gals will extend after 5pm anot. haa

Im not westies, im a NorthEast'er buangkok and can be classied as North'er cos near to amk.

Haa.. i will grab all into a nice little comfortable cloth, wrap up and carried away wif a stick!! (like those olden days)
(*pls dun hit me* nooooo!)

Sweethalo, Suntec Fox is just next to watson and giordano. Can imagine the route? *...directory searching...*? Haa

sweethalo,
fwah..my eyebags are as dark as panda..since i don't usually slp tt early even during my working or sch days. my friends termed me as 'the national treasure' = panda. anyone has any good eyecream to recom? heheh.

Regards to milk bottle, its good to buy teats that state Anti-colic as the valve will prevent milk bubbles going into baby tummy..

creamer! U are very near me!! I am at Seletar

Wah I can't believe I am so blind to miss seeing the Fox there!! *fainted*

creamer! I'm short, but not that small hor! Hahaha... Your stick sure break!

Cassey, wah, that's a lot of stuff bought. Me? I haven't bought ANYTHING. Oh, maybe that's wrong, the only thing I've bought is a Medela breast pump through bbPotato's spree. But I still have to wait for it to get here. So till now, there are no baby items in my house at all. Not even a tiny dress. Which was why I was bent on buying something today. But still no luck. Sigh.

Sweethalo, wah u sleep so late! me mostly abt 12plus. But will not log in very long at nite, if not hubby lonely at room watchin tv. Wah, dats near, its jus abt less than 10 mins drive away!

hehe... yeah... my hubby is still working now... ...*sigh*

Ladies, u bought Medela from USA direct? what about the electric current? Need to use a step-up transfomer?

Sweethalo not tall ...

Think I got ur stick and cloth thing wrong... hehe.. i thot u meant, we live in ulu area... giggle

Gdnite creamer!

sweethalo: u know, I never thought about that! hahaha... but stuff I've bought in US previously, I just come back and use a plug head adaptor, haven't had to use a transformer. Hmmm, how do i check?

My lau gong came back at 11pm+, talked to me and played with cats for a while, and went into bedroom. I thought he went to change or shower, but he has since not left the room. I went to check, he has passed out already. Hai... so me now alone with laptop again.

hehe... at least hubby is snuggled up in your bed... mine still slaving away...

I am not sure for electric goods needs- I think need to check on the power it receives... unless the ac adapter is automatic... like our laptop type

sweethalo,
i slpt ard the same time as you..1.30 to 2a.m..
Do u have dark circles problem too?

Re: medela pump
If direct from US, need to buy local voltage transformer either from handy shop(ard $20?) or original medela adapter($70-90). if not you can just use the battery pack first(rechargeable battery).

Thanks nozomi & sweethalo
I'll wait for the pump to arrive to scrutinise the contents, then buy the transformer if needed. BTW, I also have dark circles haha... Mine are here all the time, regardless what time I sleep. But if I don't get enough sleep, they just go darker. No cure. Sick right? Concealer is my best friend.

hehe hee... panda gang...

yeah got dark circles. try to put eye cream when i m not lazy... but more worried abt wrinkles.. hehe

99 creamer... sweet dreamz

ya manz..concealer is something tt i can't live without..My all time fav is bobbi brown. only few night owls chatting away like msn?

Hey, when u guys go sleep at 1.30-2am, what time do you get up? I really like my sleep, even if I sleep at midnight, can sleep all the way till 10am. Wondering if there's something wrong with me. I've been like that all my life!

Hahaha... I can sleep longer, but I'll be thinking, my goodness, it's already been 10hrs of sleep, better get up and do something around the house! Just thought there's something wrong what... cos normal adults only need 6-8hrs of sleep? I'm not complaining of cos