(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

wow then i lagi gain less.. i just weighed.. gain abt 2.5-3kg only. i'm 20 wks now. hmm during 19wk scan bb 300g so shd be still ok hor trust he's thinking enuff nutrient from me. haha fri those who see me will surely say i look "normal" in my loose dress... but cassey is the best, still in nett minus haha... 11 beans, i think ur gynae is helping u to distribute the amt of weight u suppose to gain & now still abit early for u to gain 40% of the target. well think it this way, though we are 1/2 half to full term but look bb only 300+g as compare to 2.8-3.2kg at birth?? bb only gain 10% of his/her birth weight now and third trimester are the mths that we will really be balloon up as bb growth are rapid.actually frm what i read now shd gain 3-4kg bt of cos depend on initial BMI.. but not to be too worry since u started low BMI we are expected to gain more weight..

actually honestly i didnt really add additn food to get the additn calories.. at most eat fruit and drink milk which i didnt do last time . dont really feel hungry to eat like, normal appetite. at most hungry earlier drk a cup of milk or cereal only. think i might gain weight aft birth (confinement food i qt like haha) actually cos alot things wanna eat but now eat too full i not comfy so eating 80% full not like last time dont waste food can eat 120%.

11_beans, my BMI is also around 18 before preggie. so far i have gained ard 5+ kg. my gyne didnt comment about anything yet.

i read that gaining 10 kg is considered ok if you're BMI is underweight before preggie. =D

chidori, can understand. The flats here are really ex. We were really lucky to get it cheap back then thru ballot.
Honestly, I attempted to go to the new wing 3 times but never make it there cos was turned off by the crowds to stay in the mall longer.

welcome Rach! Finally a fellow TPYian!!!

When is ur EDD, gynae, delivery hospital? Know ur BB's gender liao??

hey ladies want go to breastfeeding workshop? will be fun for us to go together and it's more indepth on breast feeding.
details:
http://www.mumsfairy.com/custom/events.php?osCsid=6464141bb088f4e8c5dd767fc735b855

Antenatal Workshop on Successful Breastfeeding (5th Run)
This 2.5-hours workshop is specially tailored for expectant mothers and includes a live demonstration on relaxed and handsfree pumping.

Date : 13 March 2009, Friday
Time : 7.30pm to 10pm (Registration starts at 7pm)
Venue : Kembagan Plaza #B1-08 (Next to Kembagan MRT)
Fee : $28 per pax/ $50 per couple (inclusive of snack and drinks) *

Trainer : Sister Kang Phaik Gaik
Senior Parentcraft / Lactation Consultant
Mount Alvernia Hospital, Singapore

WT GAIN
all these talk abt wt gain is making me REAL worried. the last appt 1 mth ago, the nurses asked me to re-weigh myself. usu from experience that means lose wt or gain wt too fast! true enough i was told to CONTROL CONTROL. this fri, i shd be a goner since ive been gorging myself with pineapple tarts and cookies EVERYDAY since 1 wk b4 CNY. i wldnt dare to look at the scales, sure kena by gynae this fri.

Good afternoon ladies,

Sorry for late replies, been quite tight up with things and not logging in from home.. wow, so much to catch up with..

Toffeecat, thanks.. I'm here, just quite a number of things going on at home, I think I feel my bb hiccups last nite, usually just common pokings & kickings.. but last nite it lasted for a while, and quite regular interval.. so must be a hiccups then, so cute..

Cassey, thanks for organizing the gathering, unfortunately I'm unable to make it, still within office hours.. I'll PM you..

First Mum, wa. ur hb allows u to take pineapple tarts ar? soo jealous! i am forbidden to take pineapple tarts and peanuts. been drooling over these during cny.

bbjun,
what the difference btw 'Medisave Withdrawal
under the Medisave Maternity Package' and 'Medisave Withdrawals for Delivery Procedure'

If I understand correctly from this website:
http://ask-us.cpf.gov.sg/explorefaq.asp?category=23068

the medisave maternity package was introduced after May 2007 to allow claiming of pre-delivery maternity charges and delivery charges. Last time, they cannot claim for pre-delivery charges. So if u compare the difference between maternity package vs delivery procedure, u can now claim an additional of $450 for your pre-delivery charges ie.your antenatal package with your gynae.

For medisave withdrawals for delivery procedures, the limits is stated for each delivery method, whether it is natural or C-section.

chidori, u are welcome

Most likely giving the workshop a miss until I finish my antenatal classes.
Thanks for sharing.

wow bbjun urs look so chiam.. is it the same as this?

Marriage and Parenthood Schemes

Medisave Maternity Package
The Medisave Maternity Package enables you to use your Medisave, for the delivery and pre-delivery medical expenses of your first four children. You can also claim the Package for delivery and pre-delivery medical expenses of your fifth and subsequent child, if both you and your spouse have a combined Medisave balance of at least $15,000 at the time of delivery. This $15,000 minimum balance is needful for preventing premature depletion of your Medisave, which you might require for future hospitalisation needs, especially during old age.

MOH has put in place the Medisave Maternity Package to further help couples with delivery expenses as well as pre-delivery medical expenses (such as consultations, ultrasound).

Medisave Withdrawal Limit under the Medisave Maternity Package
Delivery Procedure No. of days of Hospitalisation Medisave Withdrawal Limit
Vaginal delivery (normal)
3 Up to $2250
Caesarian delivery (normal)
4 Up to $3650

To claims pre-delivery charges from Medisave, parents need just to present the bills incurred for your pre-delivery medical care to the hospital where you will be having your baby. The hospital will submit these bills, together with the delivery expenses, for Medisave claims under the Medisave Maternity Package.

You will be able to claim up to a maximum of $450 from Medisave for these charges.
(The total claim amount for delivery + pre-delivery must not exceed the withdrawal limit in the above table.)

http://www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/hcfinancing.aspx?id=19744

11_Beans, I think your weight gain is completely reasonable neh... was it steady over the months or was it a sudden increase, that's why gynae said watch it? My sis' BMI was lower than yours but she put on 11kgs by 5 months and gynae still said she's doing well.

Whoa! I'm turning green reading abt ppl with BMIs of 18. If I had that BMI, I wouldn't be worried abt putting on 5-9kgs by now. =)

Shelisa, kaypoh'ing.. Water retention is the layman term for the condition edema - which manifests itself in the swelling up of legs and feet for most, and for some, the swelling up of wrist and hands, plus puffing up of face. It's managed by increasing fluid intake, reducing sodium (or salt), raising affected limbs and gentle massage. Some MTBs say green bean soup helps...

createjoy,
have u registered for the course yet? I'll be going alone since my hubby in not in town.

West'ies:
Anyone keen in culinary courses such as cake-making,nonya cooking, bread-making held in Jurong Green/Jurong Spring CC? usually held in the evenings(e.g 7 or 7.30 till 9.30 or 10pm). I'll post the links if any1 is keen.

createjoy, ya. sama sama. just presented differently. kekeke.. i just take time off from work to read a bit cos prying my eyes open lor.

cassey, I didn't know green bean soup helps with the swelling. First time heard of this. Interesting.

chidori & bbjun, PRECISELY! I used to stay in Marine Parade but the flats there are not worth the resale prices, the private apartments and condos are really pricey.

JW is SO far from everywhere else... that's why the dwellers there need their own gathering - to avoid the travelling if we can help it. Hahaha... And others don't have to make a Journey to the West unless they're really free.

bbjun, u'd think the new Jurong Pt wing would have eased the crowd.. but strangely, that hasn't happened. I can't avoid the Boon Lay train station, but I still avoid J'Point. Quite silly, eh? Considering how close to it I live...?

bbjun, didn't you read the posts some time ago? When we discussed water retention...? Someone is struggling with it on here... I think it was LFB and someone else. So another 2nd-time MTB said that she found that green bean soup helped her.

Obviously, that sparked off another discussion as to whether or not green bean soup is supposed to be to "cooling". Personally green bean isn't my cup of "soup", and I haven't started swelling at this point (except the boobs, which don't count!) so I don't really care.

Cassey, thanks for sharing. But i rem some old ppl told me cannot drink green bean soup as it is too cooling?? Increase fluid intake does it only means for plain water or soup and can drink also can?

bing, my hubby also keep monitoring how much pineapple tart i ate. I very good gal infront of him. eat 2-3 piece. But in my office i think i everyday at least eat 10-20 pieces. haha.

interestingly, I used to eat a lot of pineapple tarts but with this pregnancy, I hardly touched any.

Cassey, I may have missed that out. But agree with shelisa that I think green bean soup is cooling. That's what my mother always tells me since young. I supposed it's fine if we are drinking it in our 3rd trimester, especially since we are supposed to take coconut drink before delivery.

I have been avoiding Jurong Point for the longest time but still have to go there once in a while since we have to visit PIL n the nearest plc to take them for makan without eating my MIL's food is JP.

Shelisa, generally water is the best fluid to take. But fluid in other drinks and soups do count towards the daily total, so the technical term is fluid. For me, I've always tried to make sure I have about 2L of plain water a day... Any other beverages/soups are bonus! =)

Aiyo, bbjun, my bb also turned me off bak kwa & pineapple tarts... But while a bit put off that I can't enjoy it, I'm glad I can't binge either. My colleagues have 'banned' me from eating tau suan (which is usually the only coffeeshop dessert I eat) cos mung bean is green bean.

Too cooling or not, I don't know... but *who is it!?!* (Is it First Mum?) said it helped her... so if I DO suffer from severe swelling in time to come, I'd be game to try it out.

I still drink warm barley from time to time... isn't that 'cooling' too?

Whoa, Shelisa!! 10-20 is A LOT NEH!!! Get away from it! Put it down.... Put it down....
Does your hubby ever come in here to spy on you? If yes, YOU DIE!

re : wt gain
my BMI was also 18+, i was +2kg last friday, which was week 22. i think it's due to me feeling bloated very easily. my gastric mayb spoil already. but as long as bb is average size. i think shld b ok bah!

feel so sleepy this afternoon. but so much wk to do. arghh.... feel so glad i hv you all as company to last thru the torturing working hrs!!

Mika, hang in there! I'm so thankful I'm on half day today. It's warm and rain's in the air... The resulting mugginess is SUPER sleep inducing. I just got back home and showered... feel the Zzz Monster creeping up on me... *blink blink*

Planning to go for traditional chi prenatal massage later tonight.. I hope it makes me feel great.

Cassey, haha. he did ask me ur office have pineapple tart anot? I told him 'siao, mine is construction work place, only have man here no pineapple tart' but my supervisor wife bring me a big big bottle of pineapple tart. shiok!! he cant come in as i have security outside.

Not to worry for barley n chry as the TCM say 1 week 2-3 times is ok as our vitamin n those pill n milk powder are heaty. So on n off i drink 2-3 times a week.

Can i ask each time u drink plain water is like how much? 200ml? or?

Mika, same. Sometime during work time so hard to pass. Then so envy n jealous n angry ahnetsan & createjoy is napping at this hours!! Sob sob

I still crave for bak kwa though. I took small pcs on a couple of days and try not to see them. LOL.

I still eat tau suan leh. Have eaten once during first trimester, drank green bean soup once during first timester and had tau suan again just this week
The reason I still take these cooling stuff, including barley and chrys tea about once a week is becos my body cannot tahan heatiness. I am starting to get sore throat last nite despite of the tau suan I had leh. No choice but to watch the balance of cool n heaty stuff for my body cos I started to have some dry cough last nite that pull my stomach muscles so badly that I can't move in bed lor. I think we just need to understand our body n take things in moderation.

bbjun, we have the same prob. I also easily get heaty. Sometime eat abit more only start to feel my throat itch. That y i ate alot of chocolate but still i drank cooling water. But so far yet to eat green bean soup or tau suan yet. U are making me drool!!

Shelisa, hahahaha!!!!!!! Your hubby is not as indifferent as you say la. You tricked him into thinking you're good at work, then let you eat at home. Naughty naughty..

CALLING SHELISA'S HUBBY, SHELISA'S HUBBY. She's been stuffing herself silly with pineapple tarts at work!

You can ask.. But I don't want to answer. How?
Nah la. Seriously, I have a 1.5L pitcher of water at work... so I try to finish abt half before lunch and the whole lot before I go.
Days at home, I have a 1L bottle of water, so I watch that I drink abt 2 bottles a day.
I sip throughout... sometimes go for a long time without drinking, so when I finally remember, I'll make myself drink like 500ml at one go to catch up.

bbjun, I choked on water just now and coughed like crazy... Already felt quite miserable when it passed. So I don't even want to think abt how it must feel for u. Hubby away some more?! *wail*

Dunno how to answer ur qn, shelisa. I have this 600ml water bottle at work place n I usually drink minimally 2 full bottles for the 8 hours in office. With what I drink at home, I should be able to hit like 1.6-1.8L. Each time drink how much... never measure la... just open bottle n drink leh.

cassey, it was really painful. But what to do? Must wait till the pull relax lor. Lucky thing is that I was oredi lying in bed. Dun think I will be telling hb abt it though cos he is super stressed up with work since he went back earlier this week, suffering from migrane oredi.

Think we also need to take account our body frame vs the amt of water we drink? I think I read a news paper report long ago saying that the amt of water we need is correlated to our body size. So I think small size ppl dun need to drown yourself with too much water.

wa, u gals are impressive. i drink less than 1L a day. at times, it never even cross 500ml. =(

in fact, i can go without water the whole day. hahha.

=( I feel depressed just reading your msg, bbjun.

bing, I started disciplining myself to drink water after having some throat difficulties in 2007. It's quite scary how keeping hydrated can slip the mind oh-so-easily once we're busy. Or worse, not even REALLY busy! Just sitting around, reading posts on some MTB forum... *wink*

But Shelisa, see? It takes a measurable container to keep track of how much you drink a day. Very hard to count in glasses and mugs of water.

bing, u sound like my fren leh. She really dun drink water one lor. I am totally amazed cos I can't survive without water for more than 1 hr.

cassey, maybe i oredi used to be more indep on my own. In anycase, if hb ard, he oso cannot help to relax the muscle pull. To tell him will only make him feel worse than he is oredi for not being in sgp.

Whoa... bbjun. *stare daggers at you* You calling me fat?! HUH?! YOU CALLING ME FAT?! HOW DARE YOU..

Ok, at this point, I know I'd better get offline and get some shut eye. I'm going bonkers this aftnn.

I think amt of water we need is not so much related to body size, but more to level of activity. The more you sweat, you more you should drink. 2L is only the basic guideline. If you sweat like a pig, you'll need even more.

But unless you're drinking 8-9L a day (like that bizarre case of the Caucasian man who died of water intoxication years ago), I reckon more water is good anyway - for the skin, for the throat, for the bowels, for baby's amniotic fluid to renew itself completely every 3 hourly, for prevention of UTI...

OPEN GATHERING INVITATION

Date: Coming Friday, 6 Feb
Time: 2pm - 5pm (to avoid peak hr)
Venue: Gloria Jeans, Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
(In front of MPH Bookstore, descend via escalators near Starbucks)

Pls feel free to drop by & say HI! if you're on leave, on MC (Hehe!) or in the vicinity.
I guess you'll be looking to meet and greet the group of "chubby looking" ladies.

Attendees to date
Confirmed: sweethalo, tubbymummy, createjoy, nozomi, Cassey
Tentative: BlueDream, Serene22, kikismom

Interested in "registering" yourself for this gathering, pls pm me for contact number exchange.
~ Organiser: Cassey

Hehehe.. meant to say u are taller than me. I short leh, remember? Only 1.54m. Forever the shortest at work. sighz.

Another blessed one enjoying her beauty sleep. I WANT TO GO HOME N SLEEP TOO!!

Cassey/bbjun, thanks for sharing. As i don;t really like plain water taste. So usually drink those sweet drink. Try to drink lesser as scare sugar level too high.

bing, including those can drink or bottle drink u also seldom drink?

So jealous for those SAHM!! we struggle like hell but they shaking leg, turning here n there. ANGRY!!!

Shelisa, hey, don't get so agitated.. *calm down calm down* We don't have the privilege of a fat paycheck, you know. PLUS! Pls don't call "us" (by this, I mean ME) an SAHM hor. A number of us are NOT SAHMs. YET.

I, for one, do work, but have converted from FT to PT for this year. Most of the others are not even mothers yet.
I shall suss out why they aren't working and snitch on them here *chuckle*

Shelisa again, if you need drinks sweetened, start diluting them bit by bit... you may start getting used to it. I used to only drink chilled Ribena at home and bubble tea/green tea/ Qoo when out.

bbjun, haha. i am 1.54m too! always the first few in class queue.

shelisa, haha. i dun take can drinks. milk considered? i take one glass every day. if my IL prepare soup for dinner, then maybe i will take one bowl. haha.

Cassey, yes! i am learn to discipline myself to drink more water. for the benefits of my bb. jia you!

shelisa, i hv a bottle on my desk always. it's 750ml. i finish at least 1 bottle a day, plus the can/bottle drinks i hv when i eat out, so it's more than 1 litre a day.

i'm sleepy, but cassey + ahnetsan + creatjoy are asleep!!!!! aww.. i feel more sorry for myself now!

Ling, glad to hear from u. so nice that you can already feel ur baby hiccuping! think i can only feel kicks up to now. can't wait to feel what baby's hiccups feels like :p

bing, think better drink more water. before pregnancy i also don't really like to drink water. think read somewhere that need to drink enough to replenish baby's fluid? or something. so i also try to drink 1 plus bottle (my bottle is 0.75l) in the office. also to flush out toxins.

Shelisa, think Cassey listed out most of the stuff to do when experiencing swollen legs. this is wat is listed on the babycenter website
To control the oedema:

• Elevate your feet when possible. At work, it helps to keep a stool or pile of books under your desk; at home, try to lie on your left side when possible.

• Put on waist-high support tights before you get out of bed in the morning, so blood has no chance to pool around your ankles.

• Drink plenty of water. Surprisingly, keeping hydrated helps your body retain less water.

• Exercise regularly, especially by walking, swimming, or riding an exercise bike.

• Eat well, and avoid sodium and salty foods like olives and salted nuts.