(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

cassey, yes. MIL was not superstitious over our ROM date cos she is so traditional (only customary counts) but she spent money and time getting her sisters in Taiwan to get so called good master to calculate date for our customary which comes with all sorts of weird timings for an chuan, jing fang and dunno what. It was hell trying to meet her timings cos it wasn't even sensible. In the end I just change her timings with blessing of another local master who hinted that the timings aren't fantastic. LOL. Still, we did all the things she originally wanted to do, minus all the last minute crap she and her sister conspired to throw in. We even agreed to do a Singapore version n a Taiwan version, flying over and doing all over again when my parents wanted to do away with the SGP one, knowing how tired both of us will end up to be. It was so ironical that she had only two guests (I minus the other 8 cos they were actually parents of my hb's classmates.) in the sgp wedding n we did that for her. Since the customary wasn't like a superb experience with her in the picture, we didn't bother to remember it. Come to think of it, our dating/ROM anniversary is in lunar 8th month, better than our customary one which is in lunar 9th month.

OPEN GATHERING INVITATION

Date: Coming Friday, 6 Feb
Time: 2pm - 5pm (to avoid peak hr)
Venue: Gloria Jeans, Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
(In front of MPH Bookstore, descend via escalators near Starbucks)

Pls feel free to drop by & say HI! if you're on leave, on MC (Hehe!) or in the vicinity.
I guess you'll be looking to meet and greet the group of "chubby looking" ladies.

Attendees to date
Confirmed: sweethalo, tubbymummy, createjoy, nozomi, Cassey
Tentative: BlueDream, Serene22

Interested in "registering" yourself for this gathering, pls pm me for contact number exchange.
~ Organiser: Cassey

cassey and all MTBs,
sorry cant join the gathering as my detailed scan falls on the same day at the same time too! u gals have fun and wish me luck k!

FirstMum, enjoy the scan and keep us posted! I hope bb behaves and joins the 10-min scan bb club!

CALLING ALL WEST'IES & JURONG WEST'IES again.
Aiya... I went thru the archives back to 30 Jan and couldn't seem to locate the West'ies who have come forward...
Sorry I missed out creamer, is it? Or blue dream?! *gong-gong* I currently only recall:

West: Nozomi (correct?), Serene22,
J'West: Ling, Cassey

FirstMum, pity you can't join us, but if you're lucky enough to join the 10-min scan club, then maybe can still drop by! Hehe... regardless, enjoy your scan, good luck!

Anniversary dates:
I also only have one date to remember
I have no idea what our dating anniversary is! Haha...neither does hubby, cos I guess there was no clear date when we started. We both definitely also weren't going to do the ROM/customary/etc wedding the Singapore way, so we had an outdoor solemnisation, followed by an al-fresco buffet dinner, on the 1ST DAY OF CNY. Wahahaha! I told my mum that the ang mo calendar date is the one we want, so please don't go and kaypoh and check with chinese almanacs to see if it's a good day, good timing etc. And she guai guai didn't check, and made sure all my aunties didn't check and tell her anything too (but one aunty secretly checked later, and it turned out to be a pretty good day, guess CNY can't be that bad right??) It being the 1st day of CNY didn't go down well with some people, but hey, it's OUR wedding, our parents were perfectly fine with it, so that's all that matters. Some people just used our wedding as an excuse to gather and exchange ang baos, oranges etc. Just for laughs, we consider every 1st day of CNY to be our "lunar" anniversasry.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ladies,

Sorry for the intrusion, am keen to order the Balboa Baby Sling, if you are interested, pls PM me

The Balboa Baby Adjustable Sling - Developed, Tested &amp; Recomended by Dr.Sears &amp; Family. Pediatrician and best selling author.

The Adjustable Sling is so soft and comfortable, perfect for wearing your sling baby. Designed to grow, the Balboa Sling offers comfort and hands-free motion and promotes bonding. The unique contoured, padded strap evenly distributes your baby’s weight while maintaining a sleek appearance. Padded elastic trim ensures that your baby is safe, comfortable and held close to you. For added safety all Balboa Slings have a deep pocket design which allows parents to move freely without worry. Easy to fold and fit in your diaper bag or stroller, the One Size Sling compactly travels with you. Conveniently added, the pocket carries your belongings as you carry your most precious one.

Available in the following designs:

Geisha Trim
Geisha
Blossom Trim
Blossom
Striped Trim
Flowers
Leopard
Dotted Daisy Orange
Dotted Daisy Brown
Black
Brown

Check out the designs at tis site: http://www.balboababy.com/adjustable_patterns.htm

Price : $67 per sling
Retail Price: USD58
Postage &amp; Handling : $1.50 (normal local postage), for registered post add an additional $2.30.
Meetup possible @ seller's convenience : Raffles Place/Boon Lay/Kovan/Pasir Ris MRT station/West Plaza @ Pasir Ris St 72

**Pls note that tis is a pre-order and we are taking the orders now!**

Pls PM me if you have further enquiries

Many Thanks

Cassey,
yeah, am a west'ies too..createjoy too..ermm..let me browse through the archive again. Is there any gathering for the west'ies? heheh.

Cassey,
I've found some of the west'ies from the archives: Serene 22, jam75, Ling, chidori,bbPotatoII. Sorry if i missed out anyone. Do u reside in the west too?

any night owl here?

sweethalo,
*hi 5* to the night owls club. i stay near jurong east.. not all jw..those mentioned above are residing in the west.

haha yep night owl is here, busy reading threads past 2hr... sigh.. 2 days no log in now see till blur. didnt reply anything, nozomi thks for pointing out i'm west'ies. i sty bt batok jur qt near lah.

wow biang so many posts to read, i dont post liao, talk to u all on fri.. only thing want to comment is i also have a wood hb.. mayb calling my boy's name, chant prayers once a week, and kiss me &amp; my bump before he go work &amp; when he rch home, he do nothing for me.. mmm n carrying my bag &amp; watching out for me when we go out but nothing at home. i feel so envy of queen mummies who dont need to do chores..

morning ladies...

cassey/ tubbymummy,
sure hope to complete the scan fast! my OSCAR was done almost as soon as I lay down haha. hope bb will be as cooperative this time round

EAST MUMMIES,
any?? im at marine parade...

morning gals...

I scan thru the archive and noticed that there's a gathering on 6 feb, I might be able to join u gals so count me in...

Morning Ladies

First mum, try to talk to bb before detail scan. Before i went for scanning, i kept using my hand gentle shake my bb to wake up. No choice as my bb is US time zone. good luck to u.

Cassey, Sorry im unable to join as im rushing project thus half day leave not approved. Hope u ladies enjoy n keep us posted what is the hottest topic over the kopi session.

Can ask what is the diff btw maternity bra, nursing bra, support bra?

shelisa,
thanks! yea thats what i did before the OSCAR and it worked for that one.

maternity bra is bra u wear during pregnancy, nursing bra is worn when breastfeeding (the cups has a small buckle whereby u can remove during breastfeeding to expose just the aerola for bb to suckle so that dont hafta remove the whole bra). support bra is just bra which offers extra support during pregnancy and BF??

hi all... gathering this fri? aww.... i so hope to join, but i'm buried in work. do enjoy urselves, i promise i will try not to feel ostracized or discriminated agst.

i'm a westie, i'm a westie, i'm a westie!!!!!
and i'm a nite owl too!

First Mum, hmm.. then like that i better look out for nursing bra as i hope i can breast feed in the future. thanks for the info

i'm a westie too... staying in clementi...

won't be able to join the gathering on fri, trying to save my leave, in case i need to take some days off to rest...

gng for my detailed scan tmrw... so looking fwd to it... will definitely have orange juice ready, in case my bb decides to sleep...

Cassey, i'm a westie. but now living with IL @ north. but will be back in the west during weekends. =D

sorry, cant join u gals for coffee. have fun and enjoy!

First Mum, haha yes at least we have each other, so sad! can't be only TWO of us right? How come so many people live in the west?? And I thought based on Sin statistics, more people live in the east...

Dovey, fyi, before i went for detail scan. I drank a can of orange juice and gentle use my hand to shake my tummy. Ended up my bb 3D picture is holding her fists infront of her face. Seem like fighting but she is smiling when doing that post.

*Cassey gasps at the posts*
I must try to take down notes soon of West'ies &amp; Jurong West'ies.

Westie's (incldg but not limited to J-West'ies):
I'm trying to look into organising something for the West'ies in the coming month or so. Pls bear with me while this happens. Inevitably, we're going to end up having to fix a date and time, and just see who can turn up cos can't take everyone's schedules into consideration. So pls understand k.

Eastie's:
I'm quite active in the East as well - Bedok thru to MParade. Let me get thru the SAHMs gathering Fri, then the West'ies... and I'll try to get round to the Eastie's in the next two months or so.

North'ers: sorry, no help! I'm not active in the North and not quite familiar. But I guess somehow I may get around to a central gathering for all before our due dates....!

ya man.. so many westies and I really dislike gg there cos that's where my MIL stays!! I am staying at Toa Payoh... can consider that as central/north ba.

Shelisa,i also love chocolate,specially the chocolate cake from coffee bean,but i try to control it loh... As it's too sweets to us... you can try white choco..

Cassey,your bb help you control your weight and for your healthy and easier to give birth later on :-D You gain how many KG ? I gain 8.9 KG already,is it too fast?

Today i going for gynae appointment.. ;) so happy can see BB today and hope detailed scan result is good...

bbjun, *sorry ah, West'ies* I used to HATE the West. All thru my youth I "swore" I'd never live there. So of course, I kenah'ed. Haha.. It took quite long to settle in - what with my psychological resistance and the foreigners that swarm the area. But now I actually quite like the humble foreigners... although I must say the "fairer-skinned" foreigners tend to be the more obnoxious and arrogant ones.

Serangoon considered North ba...

FirstMum &amp; JessMa, all the best for your scans!

JessMa, I lost 3.5kgs. Last I checked (2 weeks ago), put 2kgs back on. I don't think I've regained all the 3.5kgs yet... Yippeeeeee!!!! I think if you're slim/underweight, 8.9kg still QUITE ok ba. Total gain in the 10 "lunar" months can go up to 14 ma.

Thanks Cassey for organising so many gatherings!

Shelisa, guess Serangoon should be considered North? Or are you at the little india area's Serangoon Rd? Then that would be central I guess..?

Jess Ma, I put on around 9kg already also. For me it's too fast/much, cos I started out overweight, so I shouldn't put on too much (even though my gynae said I can put on until 15kg, but I think he was just trying to console me a bit, cos while he said that, he also started telling me to cut down on sweet things). But if you were at ideal weight or even underweight in the beginning, then 8.9kg is still ok I think. Just need to make sure the 8.9kg is gained from eating healthfully, and not from junk food and sweets lah! Hehe... Different people gain weight at different rates, so maybe you're the sort who put on quickly in the beginning, and slow down in later trimesters? I have some friends who were like that.

Jess Ma, i only love chocolate bar. Not chocolate milk or chocolate cake.. funny right? Since young like that liao.

Jess/TubbyMummy, Both of u gain weight so fast? Is it due to the change of the amount u take in? So far im in week 22, i only gain 4.5-5kg. Is it too little? As my tummy not very obvious yet.

Shelisa, guess we stay the closest to each other with me at Jalan Bersah..

won't be joining u gals on fri. it's work all the way till due date minus one week.

Ling, how are u? haven't seen ur post for quite some time liao.

<font color="0000ff">i started out borderline under weight (BMI 18) and so far gained 5.8kg +- 1kg..

and my doc says TOO MUCH !!!!

so i also quite stress over my weight these days.. haaha..

had severe severe leg cramps in my sleep last night.. feels terrible!!</font>

shelisa, think ur wt gain is ok ba. Me week 20, gain about 4+kg or so as well. Doc says ok. My fren says wt gain at last trimester may suddenly increase. That's what happened to her. But I must say, she gained a lot of water weight cos she had bad case of water retention. The good thing is that it's easy to lose water, compared to fats.

11_beans, u may want to try wearing socks to sleep. It may help prevent cramps cos sometimes our feet turn cold (kick off our blankets), may trigger cramps. Tips offered to me by my fren but so far, I only had two leg cramps and I still haven't worn socks to sleep cos I cannot sleep without my blanket. So I just assume my feet are kept warm most of the time.

I dun think ur wt gain is too much if u borderline underwt. Think u same as my other fren who gained 16kg thru out her pregnancy. She was borderline underwt n her gynae did not say 16kg was too much. Dun worry so much about ur wt. Concentrate on eating healthily, dun deprive ur little one of nutrients!

TubbyMummy/toffeecat, I am near to Serangoon MRT station. I think we have few mommies staying in Sengkang or Puggol?

11_Beans, what is the reason ur gynae told u? Is it because underweight ppl cannot gain so fast?

bbjun, im curious. what is water retention? Actually i am very scare to put on too much weight too. Scare later hubby turn off.

Jess/TubbyMummy,
me also gained 9kg.. my appetite is good even when I had morning sickness.. my gynae says I'm putting on weight reasonably well.. now trying to reduce weight gain by cutting down on carbo.. scared cannot lose weight after birth..

cassey, I understand and I swore I won't stay in the west either. I had enuf of the west when I was staying in hostel during uni n totally hated the crowds at Jurong Point and the polluted cocoa air that made my nose blocked. Most foriegners are fine, except for some who are rude, pushy and unreasonable. The young crowds at JP are also quite hard to get used to cos they walked without opening their eyes. I had two of them bumping into me when I was waiting at side for my hb who was buying things. I just can't understand why they cannot see where they are going!

the reason why I dun like JW is that it is very far from everywhere.. used to stay in central and it took me 10mins to get to orchard by mrt..

shelisa,
u can read about water retention during pregnancy at these website.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/swollenhandsandfeet/
http://www.womenshealthcaretopics.com/preg_swelling_during.htm

If it's water that makes u put on wt, I think u can lose that easily after delivery. Encourage all mummies to concentrate on eating well, rather than just the figure on the weighing scale. I am sure if u try to eat right most of the time and in moderation, the wt gain will be normal.

chidori, u can say that again. I m so not gg to move from Toa Payoh. Everything is just too convenient. I used to stay in Hougang, very near NEL but Toa Payoh has been the most convenient place I ever stayed!

bbjun,
for me I could not afford central houses near my mum.. so no choice buy near my in laws.. no luck with hdb balloting in central areas.. hence I ended up in JW.. now getting used to the travelling time already.. plusI kind of like the new JP extension

11beans> think u no need to worry much ba, cos u underweight in the first plc, so i guess the weight gained nw will not affect u much.

how's ur leg cramps? are u able to sleep mah?