(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bing, WHOA!! We're only comparing 20-week weight neh.. if yours is 20 week, also a strong contender. Our little mummies are carrying biggies...

Digressing, Re: Milk Powder
I just bought a box of Anmum Materna *Yay! No vanilla flavoured milk for this MTB!*
It's actually 50% reduced fat milk powder, unlike the full cream some have said is the default for milk powder.
I must confess though, that I took it at face value and didn't compare labels with other brands.

HEAVY WEIGHTS @ 20 WEEKS Competition
The contenders:

weighing in at 380g,
jam75's warrior/prince &
bing's warrior/prince

weighing in at 360g,
stickymouse's warrior/prince

shelisa, bbjun, caramelle, cassey, thanx for ur encouragements! felt heart warming. seriously, i dun need him to help me do anything, i can get up on my own, i can do this do that on my own, i can even help him do watever he needs, as long as it's not over my limit eg. carry heavy things, or bend over too much, etc... i only simply need him to do one thing. stop nagging at me for those uncomfortable moments that i'm feeling ....... arghhhhh! it's not becos i had lack of sleep tat's why i had MS or feel tired, it's not cos i did not eat properly tat's why i hv gastric problem, it's not cos i'm unhealthy tat's why i hv breathlessness, it's not cos i don't care tat i forgot things easily more often these days. and shelisa, i'm not telling him i hv backache unless it's starting to get unbearable or i need his help to rub me a bit. i don't know wat othr philosophies he has that he will blame me on.

but it's not all complaints though, i keep telling him i'm fat. he'll just laugh at me and say i'm not fat, i'm just cute & pregnant! tat's a sweet thing to hear.

jam95, wow. 380g is a healthy weight. i don't know how heavy is my gal. but my bump seemed to be smaller than most mtbs, even those who are due 2-4 weeks after me look much more pregnant than me. i can talk to my relatives/neighbours face to face for quite long, and they can still ask me when am i planning to have a baby. but since my sonographer had said that my bb's size is average, i'm not worrying. it's my hubby who's worrying. he keep saying why is my bulge losing out to those who are due later than me and i should eat more. ha! but since my gynae's not complaining, i'm cool abt it!

Mika, see your hubby is quite sweet also ma! =) THAT'S encouraging. =)
Glad you're not worried abt bump size, as long as bb's doing ok, it doesn't really matter la. The books all say sometimes ppl comment whoa, bump growing too large, better watch diet... or are you sure you're eating enough, bump is much too small... Only serves to make MTBs concerned. So it says take all these in our stride and just make sure weight gain is steady and bb's growing well at apptmts.

Hey, can I just do a quick survey again: who are the West'ies here?
Jurong West'ies, can pls indicate you're a J-West'ie as well?

Cassey- sweethalo is not kidding about the ear plugs! SOP for her... hehee

One thing good abt him is whenever I grumble about my fatty new look, he will say "where got where got"..and add on that "nvm. he still like"

sweethalo, whoa... that's a first! It's hilarious! then don't u need extra cushioning to bind up your belly as "ear plugs" for your girl too? Wait a minute, did I get that right? I'm getting all our princesses and warriors mixed up. =(

Mika, remind your hubby that women don't talk about problems for them to brainstorm causes/solutions k. We talk abt things to stay connected so that they will know what we're doing thru and emphathise.

whoa, tubbymummy is being really good about resting her shoulders...

stickymouse, creamer, Ling and quite a few others MIA today and for quite a few days now...

cassey, yup, as much as i m complaining abt him, i will not forget those sweet & good things/moments tat he had done, no matter how lop-sided the balance is between the good & bad.

i'm a westie, btw!!!

hehehe... Cassey- mine is a boy... having detailed scan on 16 Feb, hope there wouldn't be shocks...hmmz...

Wonder if girls can become boys, can boys go the other way?

I guess my hubby wld be thrilled but it's been so many mths that we hv been thinking of the baby as a boy and if suddenly switch then like abit wierd... plus we just bought his first wardrobe on Sat! *fainted*

sweethalo, ahnetsan, boys not likely to change, if I remember correctly. It's possible you don't see what's there, but it's there's something spotted, no common that those nuts disappear. =)

Mika, noted! I shall look into organising a Westie catch-up in the coming weeks - if not for all the westies, then perhaps the Jurong Westies first... so shall gather rough numbers before starting the planning.

omg, i suddenly feel my right leg weird... i compared both legs and realise my right leg seems swollen and big!!! and when i feel the right lower leg, it feels different from the left!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OPEN GATHERING INVITATION

Date: Coming Friday, 6 Feb
Time: 2pm - 5pm (to avoid peak hr)
Venue: Gloria Jeans, Basement 1, Raffles City S.C.
(In front of MPH Bookstore, descend via escalators near Starbucks)

Pls feel free to drop by & say HI! if you're on leave, on MC (Hehe!) or in the vicinity.
I guess you'll be looking to meet and greet the group of "chubby looking" ladies.

Attendees to date: sweethalo, tubbymummy, createjoy, nozomi, Cassey

Interested in "registering" yourself for this gathering, pls pm me for contact number exchange.
~ Organiser: Cassey

H'Zhen, 3 lines? What does your obgyn say? It's usually 3 little circular nuts... haven't heard of 3 lines...

hehe yeah.. Hongzhen... usually like pistachio nuts lidat..

3 nuts = boy. 2 for scrotum and 1 for a rudimentary penis.
huh?! vibe, first I've heard of lines telling you the gender. Usually if bb's legs are splayed and nothing spotted between them, likely girl. I think you're better off just waiting for detailed scan. Guess now, later may be disappointed or end up buying clothes that bb cannot wear cos "wrong" gender! When'll your FA scan be?

*sad* -- sometimes i see myself having double chin........ jus bathe, and i tot i saw double chin in the mirror!!!!!! gosh!!!!!! y i suddenly become like dat......

cassey, I have oredi engaged a confinement nanny. MIL has oredi decided that she is taking care of me during confinement without even asking me. She had announced this to my FIL over dinner treating me as transparent when I am across the table. I treated like I didn't hear. She will hear me rejecting her coming to my plc with no place for her to sleep when she finally asks about it. Not sure when she is gg to ask though.

Eh, how come use lines to describe one? My gynae n TMC sonographer just point to where the penis is n say, see, can see his genitals!

ahnetsan, raise your leg and massage abit to ease the swell. Rem to have constant water intake to prevent your body from retaining water.

My fren just commented that my face look bloated on foto (at the start of 2nd trimester). Made me super sianz. Tot I am still the same leh. Think I shd start taking foto of myself to track to see if my face is starting to swell. *cross fingers* please dun swell!

Was happy that doc told me today that I m gaining wt very slowly n fine n encourage me continue to watch my diet. But when she found out I had food poisoning last thurs, she must be disappointed. :p

Wish I can join the gathering. Sighz.. trying to save leave to go on leave earlier before EDD without using my maternity leave.

sorry vibe, FA - Fetal Anomaly. FA scan = 20-week scan = detailed scan.

Whoa, ahnetsan & nozomi, maybe you see double chin cos you're looking downwards?

bbjun, good on you to have engaged confinement nanny already! Sometimes it really irks me how our parents like to make decisions as if we asked them. Before I got pregnant, my MIL had already "discussed" with my mum and "decided" that she'd finally be able to stop working and babysit for us. Hubby and I never knew abt it until my mum told me. Thankfully now that we're really preggers, we've talked it thru - hubby & I - and informed both sets of parents of our decision for me to be a SAHM. MIL can't say much cos hubby and I are together on this and we didn't open it up to discussion. More like we acted blur (as if we didn't know of her plans, since she didn't tell us anyway) and wanted to let them in on our decision.

Re: Physical Changes
Thankfully, my friends and family say I look more or less the same, except for the emerging bump. I still haven't gained weight I lost in first tri. Mum says I seem to have lost weight since preggers. Strangely, MIL said I've put on weight all over. *GGGGGrrrrrrrr* I'm already big to start off with so the longer I "stay the same", or the more weight I "lose", the better!

On the downside, IS THAT MY NOSE EXPANDING?!?! No one's said it has, hubby says no diff... so it could very well be my nose's skin condition (rosacea) acting up again. That's both good and bad, I guess.

Hey bbjun, on second read, maybe it's just the angle at which the picture was taken.
Pictures not very reliable indication!! Unless you take care to take from same angle each time.

Hello ladies! I've been good today, went out instead of staying home and glueing myself to the laptop hehe. Now nothing to watch on TV, so got online to read the many many posts for today.

Wah, you people are so fortunate to have friends/relative say you look the same. All my friends tell me I put on weight. The other day, saw a friend's mother, and she has maybe only seen me 2-3 times in her life, and even she pointed out that I put on weight. CRY! Sigh... I've resigned myself to my fate. I just pray pray pray I don't get gestational diabetes.

nozomi, I also got thunder everything!
Last week, I looked at myself in the mirror before bedtime, and got depressed, even my hubby could tell and asked what's wrong. I told him that the hardest thing so far about this pregnancy is going all out of shape, and it's gonna continue for another 4 months! I said I just have difficulty coming to terms with my flabby everything. He knows that when I'm feeling like that, it doesn't matter what he says, my own opinion of myself won't be swayed, so he just cuddled me instead and said it's ok, he loves me anyway. That made me feel a bit better at least. But still. Sigh.

vibe, I think the 3 lines means girl. Cos when I went for detailed scan, the sonographer (very nice lady called Fong something something at TMC) pointed out "see, it's a girl, these lines here, that's the labia" (3 lines = 2 "strips" of flesh). And I actually saw what she was referring to! I was staring at a close up between-the-legs view! But of course, you better wait for detailed scan to be sure, cos I don't know what kind of 3 lines you saw hehe, maybe not the same like those lines I saw.

Went to nosey in Kiddy Palace today, concluded that prices are exactly the same as outside. Went to Baby Hypermart and Baby's Kingdom over the weekend also, and once again, the prices are like outside. There are some pieces on 40% discount etc, but those are like display pieces, of which the colour is faded, and everyone has felt and pressed and prodded all over the place. So disappointing. But if I get Kiddy Palace membership, at least will have discount on some stuff, so I may just do that.

Wah vibe, I didn't realise there's so much going on about the 3 lines! Hehe... I tried clicking on the first answer's link, and sheesh, I couldn't make out head or tail of that one haha. I am SO bad at looking at these ultrasound images. My friend went with me for my 12-wk scan (the one for Downs), and she was like saying "oh, I see the legs!" and I was like "what legs, what legs?!"

Hi ladies, sorry to interrupt. I am from Jan 09 MTB. Have a brand new unopened Pigeon Electric Sterlizer to let go at $40 only. Willing to meet in town or east area. Pls PM me.

sweethalo, I overheard the aunty explaining to another guy that it's $10 for one year, 10% discount given on items that are not stated "OFFER" or "NETT". She said these offer or nett price items, the price on the price tag sticker is highlighted in black. You'll get 10% off normal price tags. When you apply for discount card, can use on your immediate purchase on the spot. Since membership only last 1 year, I thought of only buying it maybe 1-2 mths later so can last longer, cos I'm sure there'll be other things to buy after baby is born. In the meantime just consolidate a list of what I wanna buy, then buy in one shot when I get the membership.

wahaha... i never MIA lah, i've been reading on and off but:

1) still very busy at work with year-end closing and
2) you girls are just too darn fast to keep up with! i'm missing a lot of msgs in between.

wow 380g!! i'm beginning to think that babycenter.com bluff people... so my baby's not THAT big!!

i was quite bo liao over the weekend so i played my baby's DVD again, then i did a pause and snapped a picture off the TV. Ethan says 'hi!!'

2123818.jpg

remember how i felt sick from his incessant kicking? the next day he did it again and i got worried and called up the obsgyn to ask if there's such a thing as "too much kicking" to worry about. apparently there's not. only if the baby's movements decrease will it be a cause for concern. so... yeah i'll just put up with it. i'm still waiting to learn to distinguish between kicks and hiccups though (i.e. if he has already started hiccupping).

managed to get in touch with a photographer looking for maternity models to expand his portfolio on TFCD basis. as usual i go for the cheap thrill again (just like the free 4D!!) hahaha... will iron some details out and see how it goes, it should be very interesting.

stickymouse, hi and welcome back!
Ermm, I can't really make out the snapshot... can you explain it so I can see what's going on with Ethan?
I, too, have been wondering how hiccups feel like. Maybe the entire bump "jumps".
What's TFCD? And enjoy your photoshoot! When will it be?

thanks cassey!

this probably helps

2123838.jpg

in the video he was kinda rubbing his eyes with his left hand, and then he sucked on his hand for a while then he kept on moving.

TFCD means "trade for CD", basically i trade my time for pics and i don't get paid...

wow Stickymouse! can see him quite clearly.. is this the 4D scan u did for free? So does Ethan look like u or daddy

Thanks TubbyMummy, will see if the things i wana get are on nett or not then.

Caramelle, Thanks for your info. As my gynae only giving Dryper sample, so will start off with Dryper first. Mostly bb will ended at infrant care, so price range is quite impt for me.

jam75, Congrats on ur prince. It will be better to have prince 1st as ur hubby is the only son. so next time u wont be stress abt it.

bbjun/cassey, ur hubby is so so sweet. really make us jealous. i must crack my brain and make him do this to do too. but i noe 100% he wont la. console myself!!

Cassey, my princess cant be bother with hubby reg how i talk to her. tat y sometime make him 'sianz' as he tok i lie to him or i act cute la. you are so gd gal?? rejected e delicious roti prate n eat yong tau fu? *hugzz* (last time before i pregnant, i hate sleeping on back but after pregnant i love sleeping on back. so funny)

cassey, perhaps n most likely is the angle. I am still gg to start taking self photos from HP to see if my face changes from now on. So far, I always use my wedding band to check for swelling. I can still slip in n out easily, so tot I didn't have swelling lor. My fren stopped wearing her wedding band when she was in her 5th month cos it doesn't fit anymore.

bbjun, haha. my finger can no longer fit my engagement ring. luckily my wedding band is slightly bigger so i can still wear it.

Bing/Mika, i think we shld ask our hubby go drink kopi with cassey & bbjun hubby. let this 2 man brain wash or counsell or train our 'inconsiderate hubby' *wink wink*

sweethalo, i tend to wear ears plug too but cannot cover totally. So i change to those portable cd player that have FM radio and sleep. The noises is totally cover up but my ears will be damn pain when wake up as the ears plug stuck at my ears whole night. so i GIVE UP!! so try to slp b4 hubby. but still middle of the night, will still scare up by his lovely music - till now still the same lor. haiz..

Tubbymummy, ohh.. what time u went baby kingdom & hypermarket? i went on Sun ard 3pm+. I also notice their price is same at outside except for baby hypermarket their stroller cheaper. I thought to get kiddy palace membership card too as there still got 10% for normal price products.

Share sometime sweet today. This is the 1st time i take bus and someone offer the side to me. She a auntie ard 50 yrs old. I nearly dropped my tear when she offer me even tok i rejected her as im alighting in 3 stops.

Reg Pregnant, im 21 weeks + but some how some ppl didnt noe that im pregnant. they are damn damn shock to noe that im 5 mth ++. As im still wearing normal tshirt to work. But i have a habit to buy 1 size bigger tshirt to wear.

shelisa, that's a good idea. but i dun think the guys will like it. oh, u know what i did last night? i went to youtube and view those children songs and made hb sing-along so that bb can hear. *evil grin* wahahah

bing, so jealous!! my house got no computer as my hubby is a computer idiots, then i whole day at work stare at com liao. So feel pointless to waste $$ on com & internet. That time i told my hubby i wanna buy bb cd home to listen everynight b4 i slp. he stare at me n say 'siao' sob sob

bbjun, i still wearing my wedding band. same like u, easily can take in n out.