(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

cassey, tks!
HB took on a job in the petro-chemical construction industry 6-7 yrs ago n since then, we are often separated. Longest was for 5 months with only one 10mins call per week via the satellite phone cos he was stationed off-shore.

bing, that's a good idea. I have to start getting my hb to talk to BB more whenever he is back. kekeke...

bing, yup... actually many things work for me and I'm glad. My mum and sister are reliant on prune juice and laxatives to move their bowels. Poor mum sometimes goes DAYS and DAYS without a movement. Me at most erm.... *too much information* just have a "backdoor period". Keke!

Haha... JessMa, we've got similar little characters in our wombs. =) I was also asked to lie on left, lie on right, move move. Then go take a hike and talk to baby. But at least in the end managed to get all the measurements. I hope you won't be sore over the next couple of days!

bing> mayb u can try drinking more water? for me, if i dun drink more than 5 cups of water a day, i will constipate... and if i drink lots of water, i usually can go toilet the next day 'smoothly'.

hatemenot, got ur PM and have replied to ur email with my number. See u this sat.

re: constipation
water doesn't work for me cos I definitely drink about 1.5-2 Litres everyday. Only veg and fruits, esp papaya, works well in moving my bowels. Have to remind myself to cook dinner on my own on every weekday to ensure I have enuf veg in my diet. Else it is usually missed out during my lunch.

bing, as my work place do not have fringe. So usually tea break ask my worker go tabao roti prata or not malay those deep fried food. Not healthy at all.

Cassey, we have the same prob. During 1st tri, i make the effort to cook dinner every mon-fri after work. But once reached 2nd tri, my wire all wrong direction. I love those unhealthy food like laksa, spicy tomyam, pork organ soup & chicken wings. i enjoy the food but feel guilty later.

you so fortunate. my hubby cant be bother to talk to bb or sing to bb. He only every night 'goodnight bb' fainted. Then when sometime i talk to bb, he feel like im a mad person talking to air. ANGRY!!

bbjun, as i heard from my SIL saying the forever living fish oil is good and the price is $40 for 60 pills. But of cos the content is not as good as my gynae type. so i thought to eat 2 pill each days. I think my SIL eat the fish oil for a certain time but it work normal on her.

caramelle, true. i have hard time standing up or sitting down on the ground. my back will extremely pain. Sometime when wake up in the morning or nap or tossing in bed make my back pain. haiz.

Jess, Congrats on ur prince. Hmm. sound like ur MIL abit weird weird leh??

ahnetsan, thanks for the advise. ya. agreed that drinking water helps. but whenever i drinks one glass of water, my stomach is bloated already and makes me super uncomfortable. that's y i'm reducing my fluid intake. and for this reason, i think my legs are swelling pretty badly. i read, if you dont take enough fluids, it will actually cause water retention.

haha Shelisa, my hubby also is always at his computer or watching tv... doesn't really take to talking to the kid yet... only tap tap on my belly and goond night baby before he falls asleep and conducts his nightly orchestra... hee

shelisa, actually, i force him to sing to bb one lo. LOLx. i told him, u dont want bb to cry and refuse to be carried by you when he's out right? cos my friend's bb onli allow the mother to carry, any one else, bb will cry like mad. cos not familiar to the voice ma.

moreover, when bb born liao, we will be taking care bb most of the time, bonding time with bb spend most will be us ma. the hubby come hm after work, bb will be sleeping or wake up to drink milk, change diapers, not much time to bond also. so must start early. =D

Ling, ahnetsan, the CPF housing grant of 30k is currently only applicable for resale flats and dbss flats. for other new flats, BTO etc, there won't be this grant. think it's because new flats are supposedly cheaper and price already subsidised.

Re: multivits
Doctor precribed the pink multi (argh), green calcium (argh) and folic. after i say that i don't like fish, he prescribed the neurogain DHA pill. i try to take more fish nowadays, maybe 2-3 times a week? think i saw somewhere that DHA also can be obtained from flaxseed, beans and tofu. oh ya, i take all my pills at nite cos when i tried taking in the mornings i always forget to take.

Re: Fridge smell
me also staying with PIL. my MIL also puts a lot stuff in the fridge. sometimes when someone opens the fridge door, my hb and i will know cos we can smell it from the living room!! and i don't dare to take the ice from the freezer cos of the smell. used to be have to plan if next day wanna drink cold stuff then have to make new ice. think one day old the smell still have go into the ice. and the fresh milk that i drink i'll try to finish the 2 packets within a week. dunno whether i too sensitive or what the smell seems to creep in. can't stand vanilla tasting milk so i don't drink HL. don't think i wanna try hot milk. nowadays seem to prefer cold stuff. anyways my MIL is actually quite nice to me. but we seldom talk to each other though. i just read my book :p

Re: No seats
Was quite pissed off yesterday. went by myself to fren's place for visitation cos hb went to his fren's place first early in the morning. and the bus was super crowded. i squeezed to the center door cos i was getting down after 2 stops to change bus and it seems like a lot of ppl gg to get down at that stop and this maid with a boy was like pushing me, although not hard but i wanted to pre-empt further pushing and told her not to push pregnant woman and she stared at me and told me that she never push in a manner like wanna fight with me! wa.. cannot tahan. i just stared back and ignored her. then just before getting down, this guy just reached passed me to tap the card! i was like hey just now i just warned someone and what is this fellow trying to do. argh. think i'll avoid taking crowded buses.

Cassey, i also have the tailbone pain since wk10. and it's worse at night. maybe after work and plus i squat down to wash my stuff. and also plus the super hard seahorse mattress (must get a GOOD mattress when i have my new home). seems like our pelvic bones gets loosen and may press on some tender parts. think have to do some exercise to strengthen the back muscles. nowadays i just try to get a less painful spot to lie down. and lie on my side.

anyone feel that baby getting heavier when you lie down on the back? sometimes it seems like i feel the weight and have to shift to lying on the side.

my little baby gal is so active yesterday! my hb was massaging the cream on my tummy and i told baby that papa is massaging cream. then can feel her jump! tried once more and she jumped once more!! eh.. but it didn't work the third time. but abt half hour after that, i was just looking tummy after some reading then i saw baby gal jump! it was really high like maybe 3cm above? and it was several times! was getting worried the past few days cos seldom feel baby then she surprised me

Shelisa, hmmm... PRATA!! You're tempting me!! I haven't had lunch... I think hubbies'll get used to it. Maybe you start first, get over the awkwardness of it yourself, then talk to bb abt daddy in front of him... Like "bb, wouldn't you like it if daddy would talk to you?" or "come on, bb, move move for daddy". It took a while and I think my hubby is still a bit self-conscious when he talks to the bump - afterall, we mummies get to do it in private, but they don't! So sometimes we sing to bb together. Or he prays with me and bb can also hear.

sweethalo, ok ma! At least he tap tap and interact with bb! Hubby will lie beside my bump every few days and "pretend to talk to bb" as he tells me how his day went. It's not bb talk at all, but at least he's talking, I reckon...? =)

chidori, so now you have to sing to bb in the day too! =) Maybe cos nature of my job is very vocal, so bb has to keep hearing my voice whether he wants to or not. Hahaha..

signing off, ladies. I'm going for PRATA.
Shelisa! *growl*

shelisa & sweethalo, my hubby also, din talk to bb, nor sing, nor tell story, nor do anything. but i'm ok with that. guys tend to take longer as they are not the ones carrying the baby. wat i'm not ok with is he is not considerate enuff towards my emotional well being. not sure if i'm too demanding, cos of this pregnancy, he has more things to nag at me for. feeling tired more often, or feeling breathless more often, or feeling giddy, feeling emotional, or forgetting things more often. instead of comforting words, he jus blame it on me not doing certain things right, tat's why i don't feel right.

toffeecat, wear super maternity clothes?! Hehe..
It is supposed to feel like that when you lie on back. Cos the uterus falls back against the spine and presses on our nerves.
WHOA, your bb made your stomach jump 3cm!?! Next time can sign her up for the Olympics High Jump team.
*adios*

wah so sweet and nice to read dat hubby singing or reading to bb. i must force my hubby to do dat too... he sings to the bb sometimes only, and it's usually the same old song.... must make him sing every night

bing> yeah nt drinking enough water will cause water retention... dats y during the cny, i din drink water at all, den suddenly feet swollen. but now ok le, back to normal, im flushing water like no one's business and going to toilet every 30-60mins.

btw, i think i only feel some sensations in my tummy when i lie on my left side... other than tat, seems llike not much movement from my boy leh.
even when i play classical music, he also no reaction... my hubby says it's like him, dun like music one...

my hb only tells my bb to do cheeky things, esply when I tease hb. He will, see mummy no good, baby, quick kick mummy. LOL.

Mika Rei, does ur hb go to gynae visits with u or attend antenatal classes with u? My gynae will tell my hb what to look out for cos I will have what symptoms etc, will remind him to be considerate etc. Words coming from a 3rd party, esply a doc may be more impactful on him cos he will realize that you are not feeling all these to get attention lor. Last Sat, we went walk walk n half way, I started to feel giddy. He scared my blood sugar dropped cos I dun really like sweet stuff. He immediately go to 7-11 to buy a bottle of sweet drink. My hb also reads some of the books that TMC gives and sometimes reads the pregnancy books I read. it helps him to understand what changes I am going thru and hence, has been really patient and considerate with me. He even took one of the TMC books wtih him on his trip without me realizing it.

sweethalo, my hubby also in the group of orchestra. Sometime it is also loud tat make me wake up. Starting together i dunno 1 night wake up of his orchestra how many times? how u handle the noises?

bing, i did told him that too. But he seem to be very reluctant. He say bb come out liao the time acc bb and talk to bb is the most impt. at least u force him he still sing. but mine . .

chidori. OMG!!! im so so jealous..

Cassey, i think my bb dun like him. I always tell my hubby bb kicking then ask hubby hand come. But bb just cant be bother to move when hubby hand is there. she is angry.
High five to dearest roti prata.

Mika Rei, ur hubby and my hubby in the SAME GANG!! whenever i feel uncomfortable. he will say must be u at work place anymore eat, anymore move that y like that. he also just simply blame on me too!! sometime i rill complain la, say we already so 'xin ku' but u seem like none of ur business. like bb inside our bb we must do all the thing ourself. then u leh?? Angry hor!!

Ladies, ytd i went to kaki bukit the baby kingdom to walk walk. but i feel their product prices is almost the same with kiddy palace. Like wet tissue and pamper. Anyway ur all all waiting for taka sales or?? u all have other place to recommend for cheap pamper or wet tissue?

bbjun, your hubby really make the effort to do all this thing himself. But my hubby is i force him liao then he will show me that stupid face. Or not he see liao the just simply 'oh ok'. haiz.

i also heard from frens dat products in baby kingdom are actually not cheap at all.

wah, shelisa, u so fast stocking up on diapers and wet tissue already?

read somewhr that it's better to sleep on the left side. i try to follow that most of the time until my left side really numb than i change to the right..

this is causing my shoulder to ache..

anyone sleeping on the left only? do u get aches?

yesterday i toss n turn n i fell asleep flat on my back, i only realised it when i woke up feeling breatheless..

dyva, i also read that sleeping on left side is better cos right side will cause pressure on vein. but my shoulders hurt and ache if i sleep on my left. so far i have been sleeping flat on my back. i try not to sleep on my right thou.

dyva, i heard abt the left side thing too but i think it's later in the pregnancy. cos it helps with blood circulation by allowing the best blood to flow to the fetus, your uterus and kidneys. it also improves circulation of blood back to the heart.

source: http://www.fountia.com/sleep-tips-pregnancy

but if you're like me, you'll end up on your back during sleep so will wake up few times to turn myself back to sides.

ahnetsan, no no!! i didnt buy.. compare price only.. kiasu.. so go see see walk walk. then when ard 7-8mth can start to shop liao.

caramelle, then i suggest this whole thread mommy all meet there and shop together. haha.. like that we can talk there, compare there. faster also.

best if we can find a wholesaler for diapers, den everyone here stock up, think will be much cheaper compared to outside prices. heehee

bing, better don't sleep on your back. because bb will put pressure on your spine. imagine like you sleep with a heavy bag on your stomach...you might wake up with aches. esp in the 3 tri..

try to fall asleep on your side and if you wake up at night on your back or your hubby notice you sleep on your back, gently turn you to the sides.

bbjun, my hubby goes to gynae visits with me, but my gynae doesn't mention things & tell him to be considerate. he is going with me for antenatal class, i hope he will pick up some useful tips on what preggies go through. i also felt giddy, and very very giddy yesterday, then i got naggings about why i didn't take my iron pills instead. but i take my iron pills routinely everyday, don't know why i felt so giddy yesterday before my iron pill dosage. i hv low sugar level as well. but i nvr felt tat giddy, and i didn't do anything out of schedule or out or ordinary yesterday. but in place of comforting words, i only got naggings.

shelisa, yayaya... irritating right. they think tat we feel uncomfortable not bcos our bodies are undergoing changes to accommodate the baby, it's cos we did something stupid tat's why we sort of 'deserve' this uncomfort or we 'ask for it' cos we didn't do something right ourselves. come on, do they think that as long as we do everything right, we won't be hit by morning sickness, or breathlessness, or pregnancy amnesia, or giddiness. ridiculously ridiculous!!!

i've been having this poking feeling on my left tummy... jus wondering if this is normal? is my boy poking me or is it smth else?? the poking feeling comes and goes, but when i put my body weight more to the left, i can feel it more. though it's not exactly painful, but it's a concern for me.

anyone had this feeling too?

Shelisa, i think for sure some of us will meet on that day! although my hubby warning already not to spend too much time chit chatting. he say online already spend so many hours "talking"..if meet confirm cannot finish!

im going on the sat and sun cos working on fri..but if SAHM mummies are free on fri, maybe better to go then cos got less crowd.

ahnetsan, was reading Cassey's reply abt the bb needing 6-8 diaper changes in a day (esp if BF, if formula milk is lesser) then we definitely need to stock up..and slowly buy from now so by the time bb comes, we'll have enough to last us for months! but not cheap also leh..she said cheapest is ard $7 for 28 pieces. like that each week need at least 2 packs! experienced mummies, pls also share your experience..thanks!

mummies, anyone else have this funny experience that the panty (rubber) band will slip below tummy?
sometimes quite annoying cos i can feel it constricting below the bump...

caramelle, i notice after im pregnant, i love to sleep on my back. And i notice my back is pain. But sometime i also feel sleeping at side also make my back pain. i just cannot find the correct position to slp well.

Mika, you are right!!! sometimes i feel like screaming back to him!! because more or less i will feel y other ppl hubby can treat them like queen but my hubby treat me like commoner!! so sometimes i really cant be bother to tell him i dun feel comfortable to avoid his nonsense words!

caramelle, mostly i will take half day leave that day to go on fri. As confirmed sat u sun damn crowded. Plus some is those aunties or uncles go stock up for the children. or some mommy will bring their kid there n let their kid wonder ard. so i scare might push or knock by them. so maybe kiasu abit, take half day leave go see see or buy buy.

you are right, my hubby say scare later ended up at there talking and nv buy anything as when we finish talking, good deals all let ppl grab finish liao. haha

cool down ladies..
mine just told me on weekend "I forgot how you looked like when u were slim".. and I told him "You crushed me totally" then threatened him with pre and post natal depression setting in.. haha..

ahnestan,
Is the 'poking' feeling at regular intervals? If it's normal bb kicking/poking, it wld only be few times (2 to 3 or slightly more) the most at one time. if it's at regular intervals, it's your bb that is having hiccups!! so cute isn't it? During my 1st preg, i thought it's my bb's heartbeat wo (1st time mah, dunno anything) and we can't feel bb's heartbeat through naked hands. my 1st bb used to have hiccups regularly..now the 2nd one too at times.. If you're still worried, check out with your gynae.

mika rei, I asked gynae today about my giddy spells. Iron tabs will not cure giddy spells cos our blood pressure will drop during the second trimester. If starting out oredi low, now even lower lor. Iron tabs only increase red blood cells count but not the pressure! So u will still feel giddy even if u take iron tabs. This kinda qn, u ask doc in front of hb n let doc advise. Like that, he will realize that it's not something u can control. U can try this tactic of asking some of these qns to get doc's advice so that hb can be "educated" into the right mind.

Personally, I think if we nag at hbs more to be considerate, to do this, n that, etc, will only put them off cos some guys tends to be more adverse to nagging (my hb is in this category one). Can always find ways to get 3rd parties to educate them indirectly. Like my fren will nag at my hb for not carrying my tiny handbag (which I really can handle lor) and she will complain how difficult it is walking ard with a tummy, giddy etc cos she just delivered, to make him more aware that I may feel the same things. My hb's guy frens who are papas oredi will also tell him to watch out for certain things. They are oredi brainwashing him on things he has to do, like cleaning milk bottles, changing diapers etc... Then don't neglect them during pregnancy, even though our full attention is on our little ones now. :p Think they still want sayang sayang one. This is just a personal view cos I see how some of my aunties nagged n scold hbs till no end n relationship not very good cos the hbs don't feel good abt being nagged at lor.

caramelle, thanks for the tip. i will try to sleep on my left. but i realised whenever i sleep on my left, i will wake up on my back. haha.

one of my friend is using baby napkins cos pampers are too exp for her. but it's really a chore to do the washing. was recommended to buy those affordable pampers brands e.g. drypers, petpet or fitti.

nozomi, you means we can feel bb hiccups?? How is the feeling? Sometime out of sudden i feel strong heartbeat but i try to locate where it is but i just cant find it? the hiccups normally at left sides? Sorry, 1st time so very curious leh.

bbjun, worse is my hubby surrounding frenz all those 'big man'. they also those 'bo chap' type. so i have to bear with it lor.

shelisa, alamak. think i lucky then. My hubby's frens' wives are mostly loud n fierce type. So makes me look mild so he will listen. LOL.

after cassey cha bo to eat prata, i m craving for prata at my work desk. sighz.. >_<

hi bing..glad i could help

i was asking hubby abt napkin too, but he said later when i see the poo i wont even want to touch it! hehe..maybe true. abt diapers for newborn, i heard there's this brand called nepia which is quite good apparently. it sells at NTUC but better to buy direct from them cos quality is better - doesnt leak. got website but all in japanese, english version dont work!

http://www.nepia.com.sg/

also found this website but don't know if cheaper than supermarkets: http://www.diapers.com.sg

caramelle, I heard about this brand too. One of my fren was recommending it. How much is one pack? They never specify on the website.

shelisa,
yes, we are able to feel bb's hiccups.it's not the usual few pokes/kicks..it's more at regular intervals during tt time. for mine, it's on the left..but it depends on the bb's preference, bb loves to lean on the sides(right or left, hence our tummy usually look lop-sided). heheh.

chidori,
congrats on your sweet little princess.

nozomi> den if i lie on my left side, normally i think i can feel more movements in my tummy... does this mean my bb prefer to stay on the left side or is he trying to tel me dat he's nt comfortable wif me lying on my left side?