(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

LFB, Haha... tell your MIL there's a reason why you married your hubby - cos contrary to what she thinks, he's the absolutely BEST! And no one else will do for you! =) Then say, you know, mother, it's strange you can't see him for the gorgeous person he is... cos he really is the greatest hubby I could want. *turn and give hubby a super saccharine sweet look and kiss* HAHA!!

Ok la... enough about MILs. Think abt good stuff... good stuff. Bb woke me up from my nap today kicking away... I called for hubby to come in and lie down behind me. So he held my belly like that and bb kicked quite hard thrice. Daddy went "ooooh!? ooooh?! oooooh?!" That was a tender moment. *dreamy sigh*

Tubbymummy, glad you feel bit better. Maybe you need a better physical set up for your laptop!! Set it up beside your bed! hehe... can see without even getting up.

You know, both my sisters reckon my tailbone (butt) pain doesn't seem very normal. It hurts when I sit down, it hurts when I bend over the sink to brush teeth and wash face or hands or dishes... even when I just bend slightly. It's really far down - right at the bottom of the spine, about midway down butt. When firm pressure is applied upwards, I'd wince in discomfort. ~>_<~

Any mothers find themselves with this ailment too?

Dear sweethalo and Cassey,

what to do? Ya, I am not going to bother with her. She is weird lah, what to do? Luckily my hubby have me as a wife man! ;p

I couldn;t sleep after 4am this morning again. My arm cramped again. Will have to tell my OB this Fri when I am seeing him. I read that excess salt may be the reason, but I don't remember myself eating excessively more salt or saltish dishes.

Cassey,

re tailbone pain, I had that in first tri. Now when I stand up after sitting a while, it will take 1 min for me to straighten up myself. There will be ache but still bearable. Think you should consult your OB during your next consultation.

re:tailbone prob
Have this on and off, especially when I lie down on my back too long. I can't really sleep on my sides yet and gynae says it's ok as long as I am comfortable. She says I will naturally turn to sleep on sides when tummy reaches a certain size. I don't think this is avoidable for me as I suffered tailbone injury about 9 years ago which I do not think will heal fully over time.

Something share with mummies here in case you are interested:
http://www.clarins.com.sg/events/yummy_mummy/

Cassey,
I haven't had that tail bone pain. Could it be a one of those pregnancy-related joint things? I'm assuming you didn't fall on your bum, cos I think you would have remembered that. Try getting hubby to massage the area gently and don't sleep on your back and put anymore pressure on it. Don't sit on hard surfaces as well. I found this link:
http://www.ehow.com/how_2246043_cope-tailbone-pain-during-pregnancy.html
You should definitely tell your doc about the pain, just to be sure it's nothing worrying.

LFB,
I found this on a website regarding cramps:
"Low blood calcium, magnesium: Low blood levels of either calcium or magnesium directly increase the excitability of both the nerve endings and the muscles they stimulate. This may be a predisposing factor for the spontaneous "true" cramps experienced by many older adults, as well as for those that are commonly noted during pregnancy. Low levels of calcium and magnesium are common in a normal pregnancy unless these minerals are supplemented to the diet."

Check if you're consuming enough calcium &amp; magnesium, or if they are included in your multivits. Cramps can also be caused by lack of fluids and other minerals like potassium (and also lack of sodium, surprisingly!), so try drinking an isotonic drink like 100Plus (hubby swears by this method) or eat a banana (my preg friend says this helped her). Maybe do these at night, to prevent bedtime cramps? But of cos must mention to your doc, he may have better solutions...

Think we're all getting to the point there we get more and more pains and aches. For me, my knees hurt like crazy when I climb stairs. If hubby is with me, he'll push me up from behind, so embarrassing. If I'm alone, I avoid stairs as much as I can. My weight gain isn't helping at all. Sigh. Take care ok, everyone?

On the topic of sleep, I didn't get any last night... Just don't know why I could not sleep a wink and was still tossing and turning at 6am!!

I took a cup of Yakun kopi (didn't even finish it) at 4pm in the afternoon, can't be that drastic right?

Hey mummies, went to Fox on fri and they have selected sales items for baby clothing at 50% disc, on top +15% disc (wif Amex card). Total 65% discount! I bought a few of them and cost only $5,$7,$8 each. So cheap and design are quite nice. This sales end 11 Feb.
Some women's clothing that mummies can wear at this disc too! And also sales going for Dorothy perkins (hv some maternity wear - jeans and top), warehouse &amp; topman.

mummyash,

our gynae seems to have the same school of thoughts..mine also from mt.E. she mentioned it's not proven + fresh fish is better, however, she mentioned tt if i want to..advisable to consume from 28wks onwards. (as the bb is developing rapidly now, not advisable). fresh milk is better than maternity milk(as it's mtkg gimmicks). hahaa

sweethalo,
i couldn't slp a wink even with a few sips of coffee/tea..am a coffee addict before preg..once preg, stop for 2 mths and when i started drinking after 'so long', the effects starts kicking in.. but am quite immune to it now ..hohoho

creamer,
wow..fox on sale..i'll go check it out one of these days. thanks.

I'm a Mar 09 MTB.

Am selling a SIMILAC MUM (700G), totally unopened can. Expiry date: Sept 09, selling it as my hubby bought too many cans and I can't finish it.

- The New Maternal Supplement for Pregnant &amp; Breastfeeding Mums (Low Fat)
- Contacts DHA, folic acid, calcium, vitamin D, zinc, FOS
- Retail price S$21
- Collection at AMK or Bishan MRT
- Interested parties, pls pm me.

GET IT AT ONLY S$15!

nozomi- wah! ain't touching Yakun Kopi anymore! Such torture not to be able to sleep and hearing my hubby's orchestra all night!

i think i'm beginning to have heart palpitations.. heart rate will suddenly increase and i begin to perspire and feel anxious. anyone feeling that too?

was quite upset today on the MRT as no one offered me a seat AGAIN. though I told myself it's not the first day i'm living in Singapore it just sickens me to see that the people in front of me saw my tummy right in front of their faces and started to pretend to be asleep or look down all the time. Suddenly they have eye problem.

To make things worse, when there was finally a seat in front of me, someone wanted to take it!! My husband was so mad that he asked the woman to get up.

What a terrible culture. =(

amk_gal, poor you. I haven't found that so since I've started showing.. I've been offered seats a number of times and am glad every time. bbjun has met really nice ppl too.. So don't get discouraged abt the culture, my dear. Maybe as you grow even bigger, things'll get better. Sometimes it takes eye contact before a passenger will give up a seat. I.e. If you don't engage, you don't get offered.

LFB, bbjun, tubbymummy,
thanks for responding re: tailbone pain. tubbymummy, I'M POSITIVE DIDN'T FALL ON MY BUM!!!
I'll check it out with ob-gyn next time.

sweethalo, are you usually that sensitive to caffeine? Maybe it was still in bb's system and bb kept you awake? I hope you managed to get some rest today. I've just found out next weekend also burnt with CNY gatherings again. ARGH!!!! =(

Re: Sleepless Nights
I, for one, slept horribly last evening after CNY gathering at mum's.
I haven't slept well in the last few days. I just can't seem to get comfortable.

I used to think I slept on my sides. But now that I actually am SUPPOSED to, I realise I keep waking up to find myself sprawled on my back. I find myself tossing and turning throughout the night, planting limbs all over the place. Since week 17+, I typically rouse abt 6-8 times in a night to flip myself back onto my side. On a good night, I rouse maybe 4x. On a bad night, it's worse and I wake feeling weary and unbelievably lethargic.

I love tucking bump in beside my bolster and kinda spreading out over bolster in a wierd pseudo-face down position.. =)
will not be able to keep doing that for long now.

Bump is discernible, but not THAT big yet ma... Are the months ahead going to get any better?!
Here's hoping that the rest of us June MTBs are getting better rest!!

Hi Cassey- nvr been sensitive to caffeine to this extent! I think better stay off coffee!1 yikes!

BTW, has anyone been giving out excess gastric juice in the mornings when u brush your teeth? This has been a prob for me for almost 3wks already I think.

Tubbymummy,

thanks for the info. Maybe I will try 100plus tmr night, too late to get any. Thank goodness I am seeing doc this weekend, at least can ask him what happened. Initially wanted to take calcium, but I think I will consult doc. Thanks again.

Re sleep and other ailments, think I am getting more each day. Sometimes I just have to sit and breath slowly, very different from b4! I used to be an energizer bunny!

Cassey, thing abt milk is in general it helps you grow and strengthen your bones. that's why the Dutch are so tall, because they drink milk with every meal
but as long as your gynae takes weight at every appt and dont say anything, nothing to worry abt. i drink low-fat milk to be cautious cos i love milk. but i heard it's not good to feed bb with low-fat milk when they are born cos missing nutrients. nvm..will check with my gynae at next visit.

re tailbone pain, yes i still have it. it's crazy pain and i cant seem to do anything abt it except move abt more slowly.

creamer, which FOX? was at compass point and didn't have any. i know the FOX sales are great, went to one during end-of-year at downtown east and same, bb clothes were selling for $5-7. there was also pumpkin patch at that warehouse sale i went to. quite worth it! just to share a piece of advice if you're buying for newborn (also told to me by my kind newmum neighbour). esp rompers, try to find those that are button-front or have ribbons to tie cos bb neck very fragile in first few months so avoid having to put anything through head. i noticed usually the popular brands eg carter's, fox, mothercare, pumpkin patch is mostly put in frm head so have to be very careful when putting it on for bb. and another thing is to not buy so many 0-3 months clothings cos bb will outgrow very fast. so what i did was to buy from kiddy palace the white tollyjoy/pigeon ones (quite cheap abt $5-9 each) for first 6 months and keep the pretty ones for when bb can go out i.e. 3-6 months onwards. hope this helps!

Cassey, i too had tailbone pain 1st trimester only dunno since when it's gone... heehee i think watch ur sitting position dont bend forwrd too much and try to slp on side for the time being give it time to recvr.

sweethalo, i read drinking milk before sleep will ease ur acidic prob or u can get a btl of suspension think call antaacid??something like that. u can chk w pharmarist.to be taken before or after meal have to try see which method suits u.

amk gal, dunno if i having something similar, felt anxiety last few night qt late then sleep and when i about to fall aslp i feel a "contraction" feeling on my tummy. dreamily i dont know did bb kick or was i suffering from what happen when i was too tense when i first got preg hoho...anyway that hap a few times and eventually dunno when i fell aslp... but these days i wk up to relieve myself almost every 1-1,5hr. i already try not to drink water after 9. if i do will be just a sip cos really feel thirsty leh.daytime lagi jialut if i drink a glass every hr, will go every 30-50min time. but still i'm drinking at least 8-10 glass a day cos very thirsty and i scare heaty from the vit tab &amp; milk i drinking not to mention the sinful CNY goodies...

amk_gal,
yday i took a bus with my girl and the bus driver was quite kancheong cos the bus was packed. and he told me "there are green seats, quick take a seat!" and guess what. when i walked along the aisle, all the green seats were taken by young and able adults and NONE stood up! after a short while, an angmoh felt rather embarassed and gave up his seat to my girl and maid. still, no one offered me seat. at the next stop someone alighted and this 30-ish woman nicely made-up took the seat!!

actually i didnt feel i needed a seat as long as my girl is seated. but i just felt embarassed for all these pple. its like they keep looking at u and u half-expecting them to offer u a seat and yet, they dont! my goodness.

sweethalo,
u poor thing! better stay off coffee since u can help it. for me i cant, after the 1st 10 wks, i was on 2 cups a day til now.

<font color="0000ff">bbjun >> Hmmm according to my grandmother and friends.. the scene that happens on mediacorp WILL happen.. after 30 weeks when bb is big.. sometimes depending on the bb position, can see a foot or fist sticking out your tummy like that (like just put there like that).. or when bb kick or punch, you will see the lump up and down on your tummy like on TV..

sounds scary right.. sure hope it no hurt alot then.. hahaa...

my friend say when her colleague was pregnant, last part of pregnancy can almost always see a fist sticking out. LOL..</font>

<font color="0077aa">bbPotato >> i started the babyplus this weekend !! sounds funny, like drums.. hahaa knocks me and hubby out everytime.. we just fall asleep everytime i on the thing! lol</font>

Morning Ladies. Didnt slp well last night. Just cannot get into slp. Flip here n there more then 100 times. Worse still have to work today.

Cassey, some ppl told me for best absorption is emptied stomach as u can imm absorb the fish oil.

Reg: Fish Oil
Brand: Dhaxtra Softgel
Each softgel Capsule contains:
Concentrated Omega 3 Triglycerides (EPAX 1050) 1000mg
Providing Omega 3 MArine triglycerides
DHA 430 mg
EPA 90mg
Arachidonic Acid 18mg
Olive Oil 94 mg (equiv Oleic acid 70mg)
D-alpha-tocopherol 4mg

Anyone heard before 'Forever Living' product?

As i feel my fish oil is very ex, per pill $2. plus gynae say if wanna breast feed i must continue the fish oil. So thought to get a cheaper one and similar one.

good morning ladies,
just to announce, I'm having a PRINCESS!!!
bought a pretty pink outfit for her after detailed check...this will be the one she wears when she comes home with me

regarding the mediacorp advert, as baby gets bigger they will be able to kick til we see their fist and leg.. my baby when she kicks now, I can see the vibration of my tummy already..

hi hwee ling,

I'm also having my 1st baby at KKH on 2nd June. Which doc are u seeing? i'm seeing doc john tee.

amk_gal, how do u find KKH so far?

amk_gal, yeah sometimes i find difficult to breathe too and heart racing but i try to relax myself. Will be fine after a while.. Try not to eat too full too. =)

11_Beans , yeah i saw my boss's preggie tummy, she is due soon and can really see fist and leg of the baby! even through her maternity dress

any mummies starting pre natal classes by TMC this saturday? My slot is 7-9pm by Mrs Wong, i think

another 2 days more to my detailed scan, super nervous but looking forward

cassey, i had tailbone pain as well, but tat was during my 1st tri, it has gone away by now. hmm, if it's disturbing u so much, mayb a check with the gynae may help. i checked with mine when i felt it, he said it's part of pregnancy n din sound worried.

congrats on ur little princess, chidori!!

chidori, congrats on ur little princess. we are in the same gang!! i also brought her 3 set of pink colour romper.

Reg: tailbone pain
i ask my gynae she told me it is common. then i tell her my left rib pain like got vein pulling she also say common. then i tell her my tummy sometime will pain too, she also say 'it common' she didnt even touch me to check just say common. fainted

cassey, i also had tailbone pain which occurred during my 1st trimester. my gyne said it's common and told hubby to help me massage. it really helps alot. also, try to sleep on ur left side and sit with cushions for more support. oh ya, sit more, stand less. =D hope it will go away soon.

shelisa, my tummy pain alot these days. it's kinda like exploding i.e. skin stretching. super painful. i applied the oil and it's much better. i will try not to eat too full and take small meals instead.

createjoy- thanks! I think will call up clinic to ask if ok to take antacid... last night was suffering to feel like the food is stuck somewhere... ended up in the toilet bowl... and at least had a good night's sleep...

Today I am going to have simple porridge to ease digestion.

First Mum - wah! U kopi addict! hehe... 2 cups a day... hmm come to think abt it, that day I actually had 2 cups, hubby bought McDonald's breakfast and got me a cup of capuccino too! arrghh

Shelisa- your gynae said common but got solution or not?? If bo, then tell her, how come so common but medical doctor got no solution...hehhee

Chidori- congrats on lil princess

thanks bbpotato, shelisa and sweethalo

girl clothes are so cute that cannot resist buying one.. now looking at those sprees to scout more clothes..

chidori, congrats on your princess! i haven't been for my detailed scan yet and already i have an entire wardrobe for her - all in pink and purple! yes i kiasu like that..i better stop. but dr say 80% girl cos cannot see "anything" so i went ahead lah. girls are so lucky, can buy so many things incl headbands, tights etc.

btw if you mummies are taking part in any BP or sprees for Carter's or Pumpkin Patch rompers or tops, pls let me know okay? thanks!

Nozomi &amp; Mummy Ash, I think many things are genetic / hereditary, but it doesn't stop us from trying to cover all grounds, I guess. Even if fish oil does make a difference, it isn't that marked that a special needs child can get normal average IQ or an average IQ child can be a mensa member! Often we take these, not because we believe these things really work wonders, but just because we want to be guilt-free when it comes to our bb. Whatever happens, we can say we did what we were "supposed to", u know?

chidori, CONGRATS!! Enjoy your shopping for your gorgeous little one!

MTBs, thanks so much for getting back to me on the tailbone pain thingie. So scary, the link posted here says if tailbone pain is severe, obgyn may ask you to consider C-sec instead of vaginal birth (natural / w epidural). I don't think mine is THAT serious, but I'll mention it to him next time I see him.

bing, yup, have read about the sitting on cushions thing... but articles said don't sit for long periods...?

coooofffeeeeee... Now that I'm limiting my intake, I pretty much only drink brewed coffee. *can't wait to get my fix on Fri!*

Cassey, yah i heard also that if the tailbone pain persists, must go for c-sect because it will exert too much force on the back. im so worried abt that. sometimes even when i sit for a while and get up slowly the pain will come. don't know what else to do! let us know what your gynae say okay?

bing, same, i try not to eat too full too. Ytd was so so hungrey. ate alot. ended up in the toilet. learn my lesson..

sweethalo, that e point. then she say mine is not so serious yet. so she say it is common! i have hubby as withness that i did told her. Anything happen, at least my hubby know what gg on.

bbjun, sorry, I'm a bit slow ah. Busy weekend is my excuse. What caused your tailbone injury that many years ago? Share-able?

Calling First Mum.. Calling First Mum.. still haven't heard from you.

Cassey, not sure on the sitting for loo periods. cos i'm too lazy, i usually lie around at home. hee. onli sit and stand during working hours.

shelisa, i tend to eat a lot these days. cos kept feeling hungry, so i substitute the cravings with fruits which are healthy and easy to digest and not fattening. milk, yogurt, cereal, raisins and prunes are good alternatives too.

bing, you're being sooo good. I ate super healthily the first tri... then started to kinda lose steam... now I don't even cook my own wholesome stuff anymore. I find it's really easy to miss out on veges if I don't make a conscious effort to include it in my orders. So trying to make up for it with fruits. No wonder I'm constipated!! =( Hehe...

How is your boy (correct?) doing? Mine's been more active the last few days.
I reckon that's cos he's getting bigger and I can feel him more.

WHO ELSE went for detailed scan last Fri?! Announced gender yet?!

lfb, I m facing similar problems as well. I have to sit down more regularly now and take deep slow breathing. Like u, used to be a super energizer bunny, exercising twice a week and clocking inhumane hours at work, plus doing housework alone everyweek! Stamina is just not there now.

Went to see gynae this morning to review my detailed scan results. All is well as BB is about the median range for most measurements, weighing about 290gm. EDD kinda shifted to 21 Jun but doc say it's just an estimation, still within the same week. Was talking to doc that I am suffering from more freq giddy spells, even when I was lying down. I am also feeling super sleepy for the past week. If not for work and check up today, I think I will still be in bed. She said it's normal that mummies at this stage has a dip in their blood pressure which she observed in mine. Since I have marginal haemoglobin count at the last blood test, she decided to put me on iron tabs every alternate days, though she thinks it may not cure my tiredness. Now I must find ways to get a seat on the train every morning before I feel giddy. sighz. It's not always that I can meet nice, kind and considerate souls. One caucasian guy let me had his seat last fri evening on the train. Thank goodness he did that for the train seems to be driven by a first timer, jerking all the way and even make two jam brakes. I would have fall if not for my bum on the seat. I was feeling bad motion sickness after that train ride.

11_beans, ya, I hope BB won't do such violent kicks n punches that I feel pain. Oredi feeling more of him lately and realizes how active he is.

Shelisa, I have heard of Forever living pdts and had tried them before for detox. Reason for trying was to find out if it helps my eczema which some ppl told me could be caused by toxins that my body couldn't flush out. But my body had terrible reactions to it and on the second day, I had severe diarrhea and vomiting that I was given a jab by GP. GP said if I came in later by another hour, he needs to send me to hospital to be put on drip. My other fren tried their pdts last month to lose her pregnancy wt. she managed to lose all within a month without having the reactions I am having. I have checked with their consultants who insisted that my reaction is normal and I should have persisted through and I will be fine thereafter. But seriously, I was near to the brink of gg to hospital and am not gg to consider their pdts in the future.

hatemenot, I am gg to Mrs Wong's class at 7-9pm this Saturday @ AMK hub.
See u there ya! I will be attending this lesson alone cos hubby cant make it back for this one. He will join lesson 2, 4 and 6. Shall I pm u my contact no. so we can meet up at the class?

Shelisa and sweethalo, my gynae (who's even more bo chup than most gynaes put together) will also tell me very common and cannot do anything. but don't think you should take any medication for it esp if you're thinking abt painkillers - can't be gd for bb right. would suggest to avoid sitting on hard grounds (eg floors, benches, mrt seats???) and not lie on your back, esp when sleeping so you don't put pressure on it.

take care and don't overexert yourselves too..

bbjun, kaypoh'ing. I'm really glad to read that your hubby will be back soon. =) Any progress on the find a job in Sg front?

Hi mummies,few days didn't log in liao... miss you all..

I went for detailed scan last friday and confirmed mine is prince.. Detailed scan took ard 1 hr and the doctor said so far so good,they already give me the report to show my gynae when i visit her this wednesday..

Shelisa,ya,she never give me ang bao ... it's not only after married..

Ling,how are you ?Hope you feeling better now and wish you can having your own flat as soon as you wish... ;-D

Jess Ma, your little guy is also a naughty one! An hour scan is quite long. Did sonographer ask you to go take a walk? =)

cassey, i not so goood la. i take fast food every week! McDon, KFC, Long John.. u name it, i ate it. haha. but i make a point to drink one glass of milk(fresh milk/soya milk/anmum) and eat fruits daily.

oh, one good advise for constipation. pls take prune juice. i slip 1 or 1/2 a bottle, the next day, all the stools are out. super effective.

cassey,

re:tailbone injury
Fell down a long flight of temporary staircase at hostel when studying in uni. The staircase was made of wood planks, super smooth type and it was raining that day. Slipped and fell from top to bottom, bumping all the way. It's about two flights staircase length. My then-bf, now hb couldn't catch me in time. Couldn't sleep on my back for two months after that becos of the pain and ocassionally, I will feel pain in the tailbone when weather is too cold or if I have done strenuous exercise.

Re: hb's job hunt
No luck yet. Economy is really bad. Still keeping our fingers crossed to continue to look out for something.

cassey, oops, missed out my baby boy. yeah, he's moving more often these days. i hope he is doing well inside, learning new moves, kicks, swimming ard. he responds to our voices. e.g. whenever he kicks, i will ask him, 'baby, what are u kicking mummy? u feeling hungry izzit? ok, mummy's going eat so u can have some food.....' at night, i will ask him to stop kicking, so i can sleep. and tell him it's night time, a time to sleep and rest. and he stops. =D so amazing.

bing, same same. I talked to my boy like u did. He is always so kuai to know that it is nite time and I want to sleep. Once in a while, he seems to be in a playful mood and will kick a little longer but will stop after a few minutes. Don't know if it's just wishful thinking on my part but it feels good to know that he is responding.

bing, I know prune juice works miracles! But I detest the taste. haha. Easy enough for me, though, papaya never fails to do the trick. I need to get back on multi-grain bread again.

bbjun, OUCH!!!! OUCH!!! YYYYEEEEEOOOUUCCCH!!! So LLOmantic. Then bf, now hubby. *dreamy sigh* It used to be common that my man and I would have a week or two apart every couple of months. But since we started dating 11 years ago, the absolute longest we've ever been away from each other is 2 months and we chalked up a massive phone bill back then. I really emphathise with ur situation and sincerely hope your diligent search pays off very soon n hubby can be with you thru the remainder of the journey and the beginnings of parenthood.

Abt bb's moving, I think my fella is showing us that he can recognise dad's voice too. During hubby's prayer at church, bb kept kicking and frolicking... but he was still before and after, while other men were praying. He also loves the hymns and keeps dancing in the belly... stopping in between hymns. It's really sweet, and kinda distracting!!

bbjun, hee. i choose to believe that baby's responding to our voices. and i made my hubby sing to baby every night. haha. so baby will get familiar with his voice. also, to start create bonding between baby and hubby so baby will be close to hubby when he is born.

cassey, you are so lucky. nothing works for me except prune juice. i dun like the taste too. but had no choice. if i dun take it, it's going to be bad.