(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

info from website on disadvantages of epidural. sounds a bit scary. so don't look if you don't want to know. http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/labourandbirth/painrelief/epidural/

What are the disadvantages?

• May find that you are numb down only one side of your body or that a small part of your tummy has not been anaesthetised

• May make you feel very shivery

• You have to stay in bed

• You need to have a drip in your arm. This is because epidurals make some women's blood pressure drop which seriously affects the flow of oxygen to the baby. The drip is a safety precaution so that, in an emergency, the volume of your blood can be quickly boosted to bring your blood pressure back to normal again.

• You will probably have a catheter into your bladder. An epidural means you can't tell when you need to empty your bladder, so this has to be done automatically for you.

• You might feel very out of control. You have three tubes going into your body and you have to be told when to push if the anaesthetic hasn't worn off by the second stage of labour. Your midwife and doctor effectively manage your labour for you.

• Epidurals can increase the length of labour, especially the pushing stage.

• Your baby's heartbeat will be monitored continuously, using a transducer strapped to your abdomen, or a smaller transducer clipped onto his scalp.

• If the epidural needle goes beyond the epidural space, there will be a leakage of cerebro-spinal fluid after the tube is taken out. This fluid buffers your brain and even a very small leak will give you a terrific headache. This is usually treated by taking a small amount of blood from your arm, perhaps the day after your baby is born, and injecting it into your back to seal the hole made by the epidural needle.

• Some women have problems passing urine after having an epidural.

Any useful tips?

• Keep very still while the anaesthetist is setting up the epidural. You will be on your side or sitting on the edge of the bed, leaning forward. Concentrate on your breathing. Breathe in deeply through your nose and sigh out slowly through your mouth. Hold your husband's hand and keep eye contact with him.

• Discuss with your doctor and midwife the possibility of letting the epidural wear off for the second stage of labour when you are going to deliver your baby. Being able to feel the contractions will help you push more effectively.

caramelle, i oredi watched one clip on youtube. dunno if it's the same but it was quite short on the inserting part. think i'll skip the rest. i read even more scared. but it's good to know more i guess. as for the company trip, if i were you i won't go. safer to be in SG. think kota tinggi is the waterfall place? think the activites mostly outdoors and involve a lot of walking/climbing?

caramelle, it depends how comfortable u are with the trip. Not to mention u need more regular bathroom trips as there are certain times that our bladders are punched by our little ones.

I have a two day, one nite course thingy in Sgp for my company and I opt out even though it is compulsory for newcomers. I don't think I can tahan the gg ard in sgp in the bus and to hold my bladder. I also dun think I can rest well with a stranger with me. For sake of health n BB, I chose to opt out.

U better check the iternary on what is to be covered at the retreat. If there are too many activities that u can't take part, might as well dun go lor. Else u sit there n watch ppl meh??

toffeecat, we're also staying with PIL for the time being, also moving out ard the same time as u... r u staying in punggol too?? i've been asking hubby to find out if his parents r alrite with helping wif the bb, he has not done it yet... and i think we might give extra money to ILs too...

i'm gng home now...
Happy New Year everyone!! can pig out on bak kwa and pineapple tarts liao...

bbjun, end of day liao, packing up and get ready to go home.. woohoo!
for ur lower back pain, I oso been havin that, searching for good and affodable pre-natal massage now, hope can start the massage before coming 6 months.. btw.. u've got reunion dinner as well (with ur MIL) ? sit as far as possible hor.. u're rite.. avoid conflicts..

toffeecat, thanks.. heey.. we're the same le.. when I buy fruits I oso getting those cherries, strawberries n persimmon.. I dun really like apples, and tryin to avoid oranges as they said it'll causes lots of phlegm to bb..
am goin to buy some more bak kwa later.. it's quite the popular food at home with us all being the bak kwa fans..

JessMa, thanks..
yup yup.. altho the backpack she can only use another one or two years later.. haha.. hey.. my friend told me that United Square at Novena also have lots of bb stuff.. but I'm trying to refrain myself from buying too much stuff, wanted to wait for the expo fair next month and the Taka fair (hopefully in March), should be such a big spree then..

caramelle, it's really by preference.. if you feel it's important and you're still fit enough to go, then you may consider, if you do, then you need to inform the organizer and your superior about your condition (pregnancy), so that they may be aware and ready.. while as for me, even though it's still in the late 2nd trimester, I wouldn't go for any overnight outings without my husband.. we may have some colleagues who are helpful enough knowing our pregnancy, but still, as it's a company outings, they may have their own program and agenda that they may not be available when we need them.. so.. I'd rather not go..

Ling, will u be re-touring MAH? Just wanna share my tour experience with you too. Both hubby and I chose MAH. But another couple we know who are also expecting, felt better about TMC, so it's all very individual, just go with the one you're more comfortable with. For myself, I also asked my gynae which he recommends. He also said both are about the same, but his own preference is MAH. All his kids were born there. I asked what if I want C-sec, he also said MAH, but he kept stressing that I should go see both for myself, as it's ultimately my comfort level. I had already made up my mind to tour both anyway, cos I heard many good things about TMC.

During the tour itself, I didn't really like the common areas at TMC. Not sure who was the person showing us around, I didn't hear her introduce herself as I could hardly hear her half the time. At the delivery suite, she didn't elaborate much, just said this is where we give birth, and they weigh the baby outside. When I asked how come we can't take pics or video in the delivery suite, she just said it was hospital policy. It was only when she was walking next to me that she told me personally that actually, if my gynae allows taking photo/video, then the hospital will allow it. I found it strange that how come she wasn't sharing this info with everyone. We were shown all the expensive suites and the single bedder, and not any 2 or 4 bedder rooms, maybe those were all taken up. There was renovation going on, but she did not mention anything about it, until I asked her about it. I wondered if they were just trying not to bring attention to it, cos it may cause some ppl not to stay there? But i'm not too bothered, cos reno would be finished in couple months time. The tour was rather brisk and impersonal. But she did have all the info, and all the wards and rooms are nice and newly renovated.

At MAH, we were shown around by Sister Raj, who brought us to delivery suite, and explained what the procedure was from checking in to checking out, and what every piece of equipment in the room was for. Very detailed. She showed us the nursery (from the outside of cos), and told us what goes on in there, showed us the UV machine etc. Then she brought us around all the different types of rooms. She was very friendly and warm (even had a short chat with me about my gynae), and I think that swayed my opinion of the place (I used to think MAH is very dilapidated and didn't like it). One couple turned up late, and I overheard her telling them to just join us for now, and she will personally take them round again to the areas that they missed. All the staff we came across were really nice, and the whole place felt nicer in general, while TMS felt brisk and impersonal to me. Hubby also agreed that he felt better about MAH in general compared to TMC, he said something about the staff all sounding like the actually know what they're doing.

Regardless, don't stress over it, both are good hospitals, I'm sure you'll be fine in either one
BTW, what's this "shi san tai bao" tonic you're drinking? I know nothing about chinese herbs haha...

bbjun, u're right, I would be too excited to fall asleep at the wheel haha... Take care of your back ya? Mine feeling the strain too, especially cos I have slipped disc. My spine doc told me to continue doing all my back therapy exercises, but some involve using a big balance ball, so I'm skipping those cos I'm afraid of falling off the ball!

First mum, we're a really goofy couple and make fun of each other a lot. We laugh and giggle a lot, but I guess tender moments can be romantic but a laugh too! Like our "breast pump" moment. That was really great. =)

Tubbymummy, you morbid woman! Enjoy ur videos and scan tmr! Prayerfully it goes uneventfully and bb gets all clear. Let us know bb's gender!

toffeecat, huh?! I didn't say check videos out hor! That'd be evil caramelle! Thanks to whom, I did watch 3 clips and cringed all the way =(

caramelle, I would speak to my boss and request to be excused from the retreat as "activities may be inappropriate for me and I may have medicals to see to." That'd be my excuse anyway. I would just prefer to skip the whole thing n stay in my less-stress comfort zone.

Ling, my gynae prefers Mt. E, Gleneagles and Mt. A. There's no way I'm considering the Mt. E!! But we're are deciding between Gleneagles (if all seems normal in the lead up to due date) and Mt A. (if any problems arise in the lead up to due date).

Uneventful visit to gynae today, which I guess is a good thing. Thank God! Silly boy was in the spine up position again... I drank cold super sour lime juice at dinner, but no drastic movements neh..?

I managed to enquire about Gleneagles' hospital maternity tour and antenatal classes. Both are not very working-class friendly.

Hospital Tours:
Tuesdays 12nn & Thursdays 4pm
Call to register

Antenatal Classes:
Tuesdays 6.30 - 8.30pm
No other choices. Call (in March for us) to register.

Not very impressed.

Sweethalo, i dont know about the massage leh ,intro by my frd not sure hw good.

cassey, yday finally got pple give up seats to me and this aftn got an idian guy move in to the inner seat on bus and even tilt the aircon towards me as the bus was "aircon with hot air" nowadays some old bus are really torturing so hot and still dare charge aircon busfare!

neeciel, haha monster description so cute... shelisa not neccessary bb dancing good for scanning leh. today i went for another detail scan kay qiang drink OJ lucky not alot then bb move and move doc say cant capture clear image.lucky he gd boy after awhile calm down move slowly. think u can prep OJ drink 100ml not too much.

Wow tubby, really abit too fast oh. 1st trimester ideally up to 3kg then subsequent every week 200-300g leh. wow so fascinating leh today scan bb 294g wow already 5mth now only 1/10 weight over nxt 5 mth to inc 10 fold. bb are so amazing hor! think we all must watch posture i already getting backache too. told hb to remind me.

Bbjun wow i wish i can deliver around 38 weeks slightly earlier if bb has engaged and fit for birth haha i think the wait & the big bump be unbearable by then... :p i hope to try natural delivery but see how it goes lah,open for options. but think if really after 3hr still not fully dilate & super pain then will tk. heard dont tk too late tk some time to be in effect, some pple tahan till last min jab then a while deliver already not worth. i think might also be too tense and painful muscle too tight so after jab delivery might be quickier.

serene, i read can pour some clean water while pee so that the wound dont sting by salty urine. but must wipe dry keep it as dry as possible. chidori, wow u apply cream so late ah. i also qt Ks start around 6wk but day i use palmer cocoa butter, night use mothercare and on & off i apply some bb oil in aftn hahaha

no bedrm biz for me too. but it's becos i scare lah. one hand curious to try cos heard more sensitive feel very good but also scare contraction and bacteria. i honestly share this with hb but if he ask i think i will give but he didnt also lah just ask me stroke his elephant occassionally hahaha.

Caramelle, i wish my hb wld buy me things too. no need what LV lah just a nice lingerie or some simple jewellery. but nwadays we go out he will carry my bag and everything we bought and still tries to watch out for pple knocking on me and try to free one hand to hold my hand whenever he cld. then i will feel sweet and being protected...

ling, ya... reunion dinner on Sunday. It has been a torturing event every year becos I was the one forcing myself to eat everytime. Different culture, different cooking style. She likes tons of seasoning and I m the kind who use minimum. So I am downing water as fast as merlion is spilling out after meal every year. This year, got excuse to not eat certain things she is gg to put on my plate. hehehe... as long as I dun feel like eating. PLUS, I can dun overstuff myself with food.

Createjoy, I will do anything to tolerate and have peace, privacy and quiet. He Qi Sheng Cai.
It's also better this way not to have my poor hb stuck in the middle all the time.

Tubbymummy, my tour exp at TMC is v different from urs. I can't rem the lady's name now but had a very informative tour and the lady was very open in sharing information. Dunno if all these hospital tours that we are having are like heng suay type, see who we get as guide?? Ultimately, as we tour the hospital, we must be comfortable with the env. I chose TMC not becos of the hospital tour. I have been there many times to visit my frens who delivered there. Have been observing the nurses and getting feedback from frens. I m staying near to Mt A n TMC, both are just 5 mins drive from my hse. TMC is just a little more conv cos also accessible via public buses so that I can go for gynae visits on my own. So, besides the hospital tours, I do encourage mummies to talk to frens who have used the hospitals u have shortlisted. It will help a lot. I strike out Mt. E becos of frens' experience.

U have slip disc probs? Better be v careful too, esp when u grow heavier. perhaps u can keep to those safer exercises?

createjoy, I know what u mean. It's nice when hb take extra effort to take care of u. I always felt super pampered when he is ard. Dun have to carry a thing, dun need to queue... etc hehehe..
I rem first trimester, I say I want to eat what, he immediately go n buy cos he dunno when I will dun want to eat oredi. I always tease him that he is worried that I ill treat his BB when I dun eat.

Wah! Regret not logging in earlier.. so many post to read *fainted*

Looks like quite a number of deprived MTBs here.. all not getting the lovin we need huh! *sighs* Yeah looks like no dono must wait how long ... some more after birth got episotomy healing ... eeeks! I can't imagine! How come nowadays Men so 'considerate' ah???

Ling - ooo I thought detailed scan can see the face liaoz... heard that 3D scan only done around 24 wks??

Cassey - I'd probably pinch his grape until he squirms - hahaha... I cldn't stop laughing... also read some posts out to hubby and he gave me the WAH!!! look... hehhee...

Ladies! Thanks for being great online! Wishing everyone a FUN and HAPPY HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR! Show off our bumps yah! ekkekeke

Jess/Ling, Yup, the orange juice really work on bb. she is fighting inside. holding her fists infront of her face. like ready to punch!! dunno laugh or faint? it a princess leh not prince.

But thanks God the result is good and everything is fine. quite happy and can have a peace of mind during CNY!!

Wishing all mommies Happy 'NIU' Year. Enjoy CNY goodies but to rem to drink more plain water. Cheers!!

oh my.. been using days to go thru the threads that was posted super fast lor. Trying to catch up.

Hey bbjun, i also start to apply my stretchmark cream ever since i know i preggie, really scare of the sight of the strechmark appearing on my belly and tights.. den cant wear sexy sexy clothing esp. bikini when we bring our kids to the beach! So i have been applying diligently twice a day loh. Heard some lucky mummy dun apply also wont get, some apply alot also will get. One of my fren apply strechmark cream since she know she's preggie and had used up 6 tubes! The result is positive, no strechmark at all!. Think this goes back to individual skin 'elasticity' and wat we can do is to apply and hope it can prevent as much. We will never know until we have tried right.. hee *wink*

Tummymummy, continue to apply yr KS cream!

Mika rei, will there be strechmark on the breast area?? i apply my belly, tights, buttocks and sometimes upper arms, but breast.. need to?

caramelle, i went in to view the clip.. i cover my mouth *OOO* when i saw the full process.. the needle quite long and poke into our spine which is boney! eeeeeee!

Cassey, like the way u put "Bedroom Dept" trying to catch wat it meant initially. hee. Ya, since we are in 2nd trim when tummy not too big and gynae also say ok to 'proceed after 1st trim', so shld any party have the need and the other have the mood den shld be fine. But ya, there will be concerns on hurting the baby.. but try your best position and not too "Rocky like riding horse" both party shld be able to enjoy the moment. This is about the willingness of fulfilling the other party needs. So even though it may not be as hapenning as b4 preggie, im sure, the needy party will appreciate it.

createjoy, good! It makes you feel really special, doesn't it? =) Thank God for sweet hubbies!

sweethalo, *oops* Now I hope I never see your hubby or else he'll stare daggers at me for putting ideas into your head...

Shelisa, your princess trying to keep you in suspense, don't let you see her face. *shy shy eh*

creamer, YES. You also need to pamper your boobs. Massage them at the same time to ease up congestion on the milk ducts la huh!? I even moisturise my ermm... boobies' darker bits!

Oooohh! Oooohh! I have good news! (erm.. for myself only eh..) *sheepish grin*

I'm aiming for a 5-6kg gain throughout this pregnancy and it actually seems possible at this point. Before I'm rebuked for neglecting bb's needs, I'm not being bimbotic and trying to stay slim/skinny k. I read that those starting off overweight should only gain 6-9kgs and by my reckoning, I've plenty of reserve already.

At my gynae visit yesterday, I've only gained back 2kgs out of the 3.5 I lost in first 3.5 months. So WOO-HOO!! It's a 1.5KG NETT LOSS as I go into my 6th (Jap. lunar) month! And I haven't even been consciously watching calorie intake..! Can enjoy a bit more this CNY! Yippee~ =)

Reassuringly, bb's growing well and he's a good size, so hey!
Looks like he won't turn out to be the "giant 4+kg bb" my family, friends & brethren predict.

One more hour before I get to knock off and start LONG weekend. FLY, time, FLY!
Enjoy your bak kwa, pineapple tarts, abalone and whatever, ladies!!

p.s. Read about armpit molester in papers yest. HOW SICK IS THAT?
To molest victims by holding their arm up, sniffing and licking their armpits! EEEEeeeeeeeewwwwwwww!!!!!

On that note, I do hope few of us get (bump)molested these next few days. Unless there are those who enjoy it.
Chinese or not, ENJOY YOUR CNY long weekend, my dears!!

Cassey, ended up my gynae still manage to capture her 3D pic.. she is so sweet, she know we are taking her pic.. so in the 3D scan, she is smiling inside.. so so sweet!!

im gg to 5th mth.. total weight gain is 4kg. is it too too much?

Whoa! Yay... Shelisa is here to accompany me while I wait to go home. Thanks, babe!

Your little girl is SO SWEET. *I'm smiling like a maniac at my monitor...* I WANT A GIRL GIRL TOO!!! So? Does she look more like you or daddy? Or perhaps you're like me, and can never tell who looks like who?

I reckon 4kgs at 5 months is reasonable for a person of ideal weight. (Can put on 10-14kg throughout ma). My scrawny sister already put on 11KGS by 4.5months!! But since she's hopelessly skinny, gynae said still doing ok. Until she put on a whopping FOUR kgs in 4 WEEKS at 6th month, then gynae told her hey hey! Going overboard... watch it. Even then, she said she doesn't care. Said hooked to her honey green tea and fast food. Hahaha... Everyone agrees the extra weight suits her.

Cassey, u join the MT A 6 March classes? my sat classes is at 4-6pm.

Just to share, my fren is at her 2nd trim and she tried to carry speakers around and thought its fine for her since baby more stable after 1st trim. Den at nite, she felt something flow out from her private area and realise she is bleeding. Her gynea said its due to excertion of force. So all Mummies, pls be careful, do not carry those heavy stuff. Leave this to the gungho man to do it. We gonna take care of ourselves and baby ya..

Cassey, im leaving in 5 mins times. Rushing for last mins marketing. Err, we cant see she look like who more? but im sure she is SWEET!!

Hmm, but need to ask ur sis more or less monitor her weight gain. )

HAPPY "NIU YEAR" TO EVERYONE!!!!

Shelisa, same same.. i also in my 5th month and gain abt 4kg+ but pple look at me say i dun look like gaining so much. Most prob is the baby and the placenta weight as well right? Heard its normal to have this weight at this stage.

creamer, actually my older friends have all been telling me not to lift heavy things whether pregnant or not. Said it's not good for womb to withstand that much pressure from the exertion to pick up these things. I used to change the water dispenser bottle (you know the HUGE ones?) and get nagged at by everyone. But now I appreciate it.

"Heavy" is very subjective so I asked my gynae to define in more quantitative terms.
fyi, his reply: anything heavier than 2 yellow pages, DO NOT LIFT.
I guess unless it's your toddler insisting on being held, leave it to the men.

Shelisa, happy for you. happy happy happy! Girls are GREAT!!! I know! Cos I was great! (I like to think so... hehehe!) Ok, go and enjoy the weekend, my dear. A while more before I get to go... *stares at watch*

creamer, shelisa, quite normal from 4th month, 2nd trimester onwards to be gaining a steady 0.5kg a week. So you both are fine.

Cassey, thks for the assurance ya.. so its normal. Haa, yellow pages is quite heavy wor. hmm..a good gauge. Hungry liao, gonna have my lunch. U too ya.

Creamer, yup yup.. it is normal wor.. dun worry..

Cassey. GIRL ARE GREAT!!!!

Bye2.. gg home.. enjoy ur super long weekend. CHEERS TO CNY!!

creamer, Shelisa, you both! =( Mine's a warrior. Don't make me envious hor.

creamer, I've already lunched out with hubby and come home! Ready for my nap after posting this. Mmmm-mmm... Sorry didn't respond to the antenatal classes bit. Yupsie, I chose Fri evening for 1st session. I guess we may meet then! I wonder if it'll be a big group.. Would love 4-6pm class but I have Bible study then so cannot. The earlier class will mean a mad dash after I get off work. =(

It's a GIRL!

Detailed scan this morning went ok, looks like everything is normal. Such a relief! Took about half hour in total, as baby wasn't in ideal position in the beginning, but she eventually flipped over. Her measurements seem a bit below average, but definitely still within the norm, so I don't care. Weight 300g, think that's still normal...

After detailed scan, went to my doc's for follow-up. Have put on 2kg more since last visit 4wks ago.
Which brings my total weight gain officially to 8.5KG since I found out I was pregnant (about 5wks). I'm at the end of 19wks, so yes Createjoy, I think this is way too much too... I've been gaining about 0.5kg/wk, like what Cassey mentioned, in the last 8-9wks, so weight gain still appears reasonable I guess and doc hasn't complained yet. But my total weight gain is quite worrying (all becos of 1st tri's huge leap). I also started out slightly overweight, so I was aiming to gain around 8kg in total. Only halfway into this journey and I've already exceeded!! Unbelievable. I've been watching my intake like crazy, not on diet but eating super healthy, going for daily walks and mild pilates 1-2 times a wk, still like that... I don't know where all the weight is coming from

I'm worried about getting gestational diabetes, cos I have family history of diabetes. Doc was shaking his head today too, when asking me about my family history of diabetes and hypertension. He said he may start me on small dose of aspirin from 28wks onwards as preventive measure. Sigh... Took up my doc's package today, $700+GST, another hole in my pocket.

Ya bbjun, I think these hospital tours are a heng suay thing, just depends on who we get, and what mood that person is in that day I think. I checked with my friends, and so far their feedback on MAH are all ok, so I think I'll just stick to that. I also didn't even consider Mt.E cos the few times I've been there to visit ppl, the impression the wards and the staff gave me were not good, so I didn't even bother to go for a tour.

creamer, like Mika Rei, I also apply cream on my breasts, side of breasts and upper arms. It's possible to have stretch marks in all these places, cos our breasts enlarge, and maybe arms may grow bigger if we gain weight. I'm sure genetics have a role to play, but no harm erring on the safe side, in case we don't have good genes to back us up
I'm HOPING all that cream will improve skin elasticity by at least a wee bit, so less damage is done.

i went for a detailed scan today too! thank God all seems well... the sonographer kept going "so cute, so cute" throughout the session i also got psycho-ed to think our unborn baby is cute even when we haven't see him yet!!

even without OJ, our baby was very active!!! he kept moving just as the sonographer was about to capture an image. in fact, he's been so busy moving throughout recent days i don't just feel the kicks, but i feel him swishing around and rotating as well. i'm 20 weeks now and he's about 360g (i tried to compare him to the size of my guinea pigs when they weighed 1kg each haha)..

Daddy-O said our baby's like him, very active... i said then it's his problem to take care of our baby when he's born hahaha ('cos I was a very good baby myself!!!)

Congrats to you both, tubbymummy and innocentwar! Once again, girls are great! It's good to have more and more MTBs expecting girls.
Don't go on a spending spree! Stay sane, stay sane..

tubbymummy, my boy was also ~300g at FA scan done at 19 weeks 4 days. All measurements were in good order. I saw my gynae yesterday (wk 22), all the measurements had increased, especially femur length. God's creation is just amazing.

Tubbymummy again.. actually, weight gain of 0.5kg/wk is supposed to only begin from 2nd trimester. 1st tri usually either weight loss or maintain as bb's just a wee peanut! I guess as long as your gynae doesn't say anything, maybe it's ok. At least you're aware and trying to stay fit. I think fitness is more impt than weight... Can the weight be cos of water retention? Try cutting down on sodium intake and avoid consuming too much fluid 2hrs before bed..?

creamer, read up on my books again on previous sections re: stretchmarks. Breasts are usually the first place to show stretchmarks... So there! Time to pamper your twin peaks!

stickymouse, what a great sonographer! She's cut out for the job if she can makes parents-TB feel that way. Thank God all seems well with all of our FA scans thus far. Do you intend to go for 3D scan anytime?

I admire that you are SO sensitive to your boy's movements. Maybe cos you're slim, plus YOUR LITTLE GUY SEEMS PRETTY BIG!!, so can feel it more keenly. I've been feeling my little fella's movements more in the last 3 days. 2 nights ago he started exercising at almost 2am and I rest my palms on tummy in the quietness of the night for about 10-15 minutes. I was so heartwarmed when he rewarded me by tapping against my right palm 4 times! Tempted to wake DTB up but movements so inconsistent that I didn't.

Wow, looks like many good scans all round!
Congrats everyone!

During this morning's scan, baby was moving, but not excessively, so sonographer could still capture proper images rather easily. At one point, baby kicked just as sonographer wanted to capture something, and the sonographer went "Oh there! She's moving! Maybe she will get into a better position. Wah, you can feel her kick right??"

I was like "Errr...... Actually no..." and sonographer looked rather surprised, cos it looked like a proper kick with both legs, I saw it too. I was hoping that being able to see baby in real time may help me feel her movements, like I'd know that this thing I'm feeling is the baby moving, and not some gas rumbling in my system. But apparently not! And unluckily, right at that point when she kicked, my stomach also growled, cos I was starting to feel hungry, so once again, I don't know if my stomach growling camouflaged any kicking sensations I might have felt. Oh my.

I'm also beginning to think I can't feel much as of now because I have a layer of fats buffering the sensations. Haha!

Oh, I got question. First, let me give the background (sorry, story a bit long):

When I first went to gynae, I had lost my calendar while moving house (the calendar that I was recording all my cycle details on), so I couldn't give him an accurate date of LMP. My menses cycle was also irregular, cos I had just come off the Pill for 3 months, and things had not stabilised yet. So, my EDD of 14 June was worked out based on my best guess LMP date, which makes me 19wks+6days pregnant today, assuming I have a standard 28-day cycle. I told my doc I believe my cycle is longer than that, but since I don't have any proper dates to work with, he felt it was best to work on the LMP date that I was most confident with.

My subsequent scan when I could first see the foetus, based on the measurements, the foetus was 2-3 days "smaller" than what it should be. Doc said he wouldn't change the EDD just because of this, cos scan measurements can be off by 2-3 days.

Today, something triggered my memory, and I remembered the day I had sex, which would most likely be when the baby was conceived, give or take 1 or 2 days, depending on my actual ovulation. If I just take intercourse day as the conception date, and work out how pregnant I should be now, I would only be 19wks+1day, which is a 5-day difference from my doc's records. And now, seeing as it's confirmed I have a girl, it could be possible that actual conception took place probably a day or 2 later after intercourse, which would mean I'm even LESS pregnant, maybe 19wks only.

Now my questions is: Should I mention this to my doc at my next visit (4 wks time), and change my EDD? Ok, I know the answer is probably obvious that I MUST tell him, but I'm wondering how that would impact all my past tests and scan results? I won't need to take all the tests again right?? And I'm feeling a bit awkward to tell my doc that after all this time, I suddenly remember which day I had sex on. Just seems a bit strange, cos who remembers these things offhand?

Any insight appreciated. Thanks gals!!

tubbymummy, personally, i think it doesn't matter as long as it's not more than 1 week diff. I notice on my scan printouts that the scan always put + or - 8 days. Besides EDD is just an estimated date that may shift as bb develops. Mine is also not accurate cos my cycle jumped at the month where BB conceived n my usual cycle time is a bit messed up then. But gynae is aware n did not find a prob as long as the EDD is within the week.

Tubbymummy, actually, the actual day of conception isn't that critical in calculating due date. Our docs can do a really good estimate as all foetuses are mostly equal in the first tri and measurements taken then give a good indication of the child's gestational age. From 2nd tri onwards, their growth and measurements start to differ.

My sister conceived on a wierd Day 6 of her cycle, I conceived on a textbook Day 14, my girlfriend conceived on a really late Day 21-24!! But our pregnancies are all counted from just about 2 weeks before the conception day, so it isn't exactly precise based on the day we think we conceived or from the day of last period either.

Full term babies can be born from wk 37-42. So you can easily see bbjun's point. What's a few days in the "grand scheme of things"?

At the end of the day, I say mention it to gynae by all means if you feel it weighing upon you.
I hope this reassures you somewhat. Relax and enjoy the pregnancy!

hello ladies...

re: JL sale. nothing much. strollers etc only have the 10% discount if u are a cardmember.

robinsons and taka still having those 20% off avent, pigeon items.

britax car seat at 15% off in both robinsons and taka. robinsons promo ending 1 Feb i heard.

been shopping too much!! hahahaha.....

Cassey, full term babies can be delivered fr wk 37 - 40 weeks. i have seen most of the cases whereby the delivery takes place earlier than the EDD. one of them was like 3 weeks earlier via natural. sometimes, i wonder if i'll be delivering in end may instead onot.... even the CL also say, these days pple deliver earlier. dont know good or bad...

Enjoy ur CNY feastings!! cant wait for my steamboat dinner tonight and all the cookies the next few days.... and not forgetting, finally wearing those new maternity clothes bought for cny. haah

Have a happy "OX-picious" New Year!!!!

lovelytuplips, if it is natural birth, the baby will choose the timing, by the time his body is big enough and his organ all well in place, he will give u the signal. Think, as long as the baby is around 3kg with no other complication, it should be ok bah.

Cassey, no envious lah. As long our baby is healthy & strong is the best thing we wana hear
Yup, we can meet up during the fri class together! Oh, the first stretchmark show at our breast first? Wah, fm today onwards gonna apply my twin tower liao!

Congrats to Tubbymummy and Innocentwar, welcome to our "Ox" princess world!

Tubbymummy, Yup, we shld continue to apply & minimise as possible the 'risk' of railway tracks appearing around our body! It shld be fine if its only a few days diff cos depend on baby growth, some mummies will jus give birth b4 the EDD date too. Jus enjoy our preggie time.

Lovelytulips, got so many sales going on ah, gonna check out these sales next week when im on leave. Hope the sales will still be ongoing till next week.

To all mummies, wishing you gals "GONG XI FA CAI", "Happy NIUuuu YEAR wif your love ones and our ox baby!!

hi tubbymummy,
just to share that i also had long menstral cycles before 2nd pregnancy. cycle can be 30-35 days. so for my case, LMP holds little meaning as it wldnt give a gd gauge of edd/ gestational age of foetus.

hence at the beginning it was abit worrying for me cos based on LMP, i was always 1-2 wks behind. gynae visits were spaced at once every 2 wks, but things became more stable after 9 wks (based on foetus measurement). so when i had my oscar done, based on LMP i shd hv been already 15 wks, but i was scheduled based on foetus measurement. am i confusing u??

so i guess for ur case u have nothing to worry abt as gynaes predict our edd based on foetus measurements in the 1st trimester, not so much LMP (like cassey mentioned, foetuses all grow at same rate in 1st trim). since u mentioned ur cycles are irregular, gynae shd give u quite an accurate estimation off edd based on foetus growth rate so far and its mesurements.

My EDD just changed to 18 June 09 based on detailed scan. 10 days later from 8 June based on menstrual cycle.

Bluedream, can help to change in your next update? Thanks!

Happy CNY and have a smooth pregnancy in the new year. Cheers!

cassey, i don't think i'm going for future 3D scans (i had a 4D one done, remember?). i learnt from the 4D experience that these images don't come out really clear, so i don't see a point in spending money on these scans (luckily the 4D was free!)

i think my baby is big too!! i checked out babycenter.com for average fetal mass and at 20 weeks it's like 300g while i'm with 360g!! i just hope baby doesn't become too big until i have to opt for c-section!

tubbymummy, EDD is at best... Estimated
it only estimates when you're 40 weeks pregnant, and any obsgyn would probably define anywhere from weeks 36-40 as full-term and safe for delivery.

to share my story at the detailed scan, my LMP showed that i should be 22 weeks (but i always refer to myself as 20 weeks because that's what we understood from our routine obsgyn visits).

and all the measurements taken during the detailed scan showed that baby is a bit smaller based on my LMP and the sonographer asked if i had initial spotting (which i didn't). at the end of the session, she asked me again if i'm sure i didn't have spotting, to the extent my husband asked if there's an issue...

so she explained that measurements seemed to make my baby smaller than we should understand him to be. i pointed out that while i had regular cycle, it was a 34-35 day cycle. the light bulb above her seems to light up a little but she wasn't totally convinced.

but i'm not fussed you know, like we all understand... a lot of things are estimated (no gynaes would put their professionalism on the line by saying "this IS so" because pregnancies vary way too much across different women).

i've seen scrawny babies who developed thunder thighs after few months of breastmilk diet. and also seen chubby babies who become so skinny when they grow older.

if i were you, i won't put too much thoughts to it as long as baby is healthy and developing at a reasonable rate

also just to share a cute event at my detailed scan...

the sonographer zoomed into the baby's bladder, took an image of it and moved on. a while later, she told me.. baby pee pee inside. i was like huh??? then she told me baby boy's bladder was full just now, but she saw it again later and it's been emptied!!

hahaha so on the way home i was asking my husband... can you imagine swimming in your own pee, then you drink the fluids again and then you pee it out again??!?!? we went "eeeeewww" but i guess that's how it works hahaha

stickymouse, oh yeah!! The 4D scan! Yeah yeah... Sorry sorry, slipped my pregger mind. I'm so so so super tempted to do a 3D scan in the next few weeks just so I am prepared to meet my little guy. =) But keep wondering if it's worth it..?

Yeah, I really think your bb is a big BIG boy neh. My sis, tubbymummy and myself all about 300g at 20wks. Whoa, yours is a little sumo! Nice... Large babies are cuter and easier to handle. But apprehension for you abt the birth. Must pray for courage and grace! Your baby is super generation Y (maybe even Z). Needn't even teach and can self-manufacture Newater!! True Singaporean! Well done!! *chuckle* Blessed CNY, stickymouse!

I HAVE GREAT NEWS! Today, my little fella seems so excited about CNY eve. He kept moving and tumbling around after we got home from worship, while I was tying fuzzy wire ties to our plants. And this is the day DaddyTB finally felt bb kick for the first time!!

It was so exciting for me! But my "smelly" hubby just went: "Oh yeah, I feel it. yup, ok, I'm going back to the room for air-con liao." cos I had been in the kitchen when I called him to come. WHOA! *ANGRY!* But baby was a good boy. He kept moving and moving still. Until I brought laundry back to the room and daddy put his palms on my belly. The little guy tapped daddy's palm again! This time, daddy super over-acted his response. He shrieked WAAAAHHHH!!!! WOOO-HOO!!! into my ear and did a mean butt wriggle. I rolled my eyes at him and smacked his hand.

Naughty daddy. Good baby!! Thanks, bb, for a wonderful CNY gift!

lovelytulips, I guess 42 weeks considered overdue instead of full term.. Heheh.. I'm also thinking I'm likely to have a baby since I'm due FIRST June. =) But hoping bb may want to share granddad's birthday on SECOND June. My sister is hoping her baby will share grandma's birthday but making an appearance 10 days early.

I think as long as full term, about 2 weeks earlier is nice provided hospital bag is already prepared. A colleague of mine didn't get hers prepared until a week before EDD. Her baby was 1 day late.

Happy MOO year to all mummies!!

Thank you so much everyone for your views and assurance on my EDD question. I guess the main consensus is that at the end of the day, if the EDD my doc has isn't radically off from what I think the real EDD may be, it should be fine, right?

For the detailed scan, my baby also measured below average for almost all the items. I asked the sonographer straight out if that meant anything, and she was very nice and said no, the measurements only veered a little under the average, but is well well within the norm range, so I really have nothing to worry about. Gynae said the same thing, so I'm not worried. And besides, in my heart, I know I'm not the textbook 28-day cycle, so baby is probably a few days smaller than the 19w6d norm that they compared her to. So ok, I shall just let the matter rest, and concentrate on having baby grow healthy and steadily!

stickymouse, that's what I've been thinking too! That baby has been peeing and drinking her own pee! Wahahaha... I know it's not as gross as it sounds of course, and I also read somewhere that all the amniotic fluid is completely replaced every few hours, so that sounds good. Still, I entertain that thought just for a laugh hehe...

Cassey, it must have been exciting that DTB finally got to feel the baby! His first reaction was really very anticlimax, but thankfully he made up for it after. I'm still waiting to feel the baby MYSELF. Sigh. Before my detailed scan, I was beginning to worry if baby was doing fine in there, like did something happen to her and she's gone all still. I was so relieved when I saw for myself during the scan that she was actually moving a lot and kicking and all that, so it's just me being dense and not feeling it . Now I'm less worried, and will just wait for the magic moment.

I'm spending the whole day lounging around at home, maybe go out for dinner, so for all the mummies and daddies going out visiting etc, have fun, be careful (while crossing road, climbing stairs etc), and happy feasting!