(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

So sad. Just watched a series of 5 videos documenting abortion of a 12-week foetus.
It is meant to dissuade women from killing their unborn children. (I don't know why I watched it..)

*Quite graphic description coming up so if you have a weak stomach, you might want to skip this section k.*

Real time ultrasound shows a fully formed little child sucking its thumb, floating around serenely..
Abortion instruments start coming thru the cervix to dilate it.
Even before the amniotic sac is punctured, baby's heart rate speeds up and its mouth starts opening and closing.
Movements become more agitated and foetus attempts to move to opposite side of intrusion.

The amniotic sac is punctured, and instrument makes contact with baby.
Baby's mouth opens wide in a "Silent Scream".
Its body is then tugged downwards as baby struggles against the pull.
Baby is systematically torn apart by the suction tube starting from lower limbs.

Head is too big to be sucked out and so left floating around.
Abortionist inserts forceps to hunt down free-floating head and CRUSH it
Abortionist removes crushed head and then sucking up the remaining shards of bone left behind in the uterus.

The extinction of a defenseless life :~(

bbjun, ya we'll have to get a baby monitor when the time comes (or politely request if someone asks what we want!!! hehehe).

we've already requested for a take-along automated swing from a well-meaning relative (google fisherprice). it has worked very well on my nephew who sleeps and watches TV on it in the living room (instead of bulky playpen). plus we can take that swing along with us when we go visit parents/friends so we don't have to keep carrying baby.

caramelle, i stay at punggol too. which part are you at? i too have a small bedroom so there is totally no space for cot (unless i get a co-sleeper which is what bbjun was describing about the brand Armslength). plus, i know my husband works very hard so i don't think i want to disturb his sleep especially if i'm the one on maternity leave for months.

Cassey, the problem with SIDS is it's too random for any proper study to be conducted why it happens. for me i will do my part to ensure the mattress is a correct size without leaving spaces between mattress+cot, and that baby is properly tucked into bed with NO OBJECTS in the cot (no soft toy, no bolster nothing). and i'll probably watch out carefully when baby learns to flip.

i agree with Cassey that my back and arms will break if i use a carrier. we got the Combi Urban Walker (in bright groovy orange!!) at 20% discount Isetan private sale. our main criteria is light-weight, operation with one hand with reversible handles (so baby can face us while still young).

we considered those fancy peg peregos and quinny but found them too heavy (10kg!!!). it'd be hard on me especially if i drive with the baby.

after a while we figure we don't want to splurge like many singaporean parents do. we agree to provide "just enough" for our kid so that he'll learn to value things and not think his parents print money... hehehe

anyone keen to join aqua aerobic class at jurong west swimming complex?
02 Feb 09-20 Apr 09,(Every Mon) @ 6.30-7.30pm
$65 for 12 sessions.

stickymouse, oredi allocated to someone to buy. LOL... need to be very careful with resources these days. Just heard news that my collig's hb may be axed. Sighz.

Agree... I dun want to splurge on BB cos I want him to learn to value things, else will take things for granted. I even got hand me downs clothes and small toys for my BB from frens. At home most of the time ma, dun need to wear super nice to poo and spill milk on. Will make sure he dresses nice when we have ocassions.

cassey, so painful..i feel my heartbeat racing just reading it.

but im scared to judge on the justification of such a sacrifice. all i can say is i fear retribution. we grew up believing a child is a gift from god so to reject one and subject it to such agony - it's a choice a woman lives with and will never forget.

stickymouse, ah a fellow punggolian! im at 203B, my mum is at 101D so very convenient when i need to put bb at mum's place! what abt you?

i broke the wall of MBR and BR2 and now it looks like a "normal" room. still small for me..hehe. so that's why when hubby say we get a maid i was quite hesitant cos where will she sleep if not in the bb room right?

sigh..hubby say i can only be SAHM after 2nd baby which means another 3 yrs for me

this Armslength thing i got hear before, sounds good but not cheap i think. yah, my hubby also work (too) hard. the army overwork him i think
cos now already he leaves for work at 7am and reaches home at 9pm. so he definitely need to sleep. so which is better for mums like us? cot/co-sleeper/cot in separate bedroom? im thinking of getting a sofabed in BR2 so in case hubby cannot sleep i ask him to go next door. quite poor thing lah, cos at least we have maternity leave like what you say.

btw, got one quinny zapp quite light you know. i think only 4kg? considered lightest in the market however only 1 fixed position (cannot recline much) so we plan to get the maxi-cosi (which also doubles up as car seat) then when bb bigger we want to get mclaren cos can close with one hand. agree that peg perego very heavy..think only appropriate for ang moh women. hehe..no offence to mummies using peg perego!

and agree with you and bbjun that we should not pamper bb too much, later they get spoilt. even though my first-born, i want to give her a simple life and splurge when she's older with her education.

hope i don't become a kiasu mum which laden her kids with piano, swimming, kumon and chess lessons!

Ladies, any idea when is the most infectious period of Chicken Pox?

Caramelle- no probs... I thot wow if QUinny Buzz was 498 .... hehehe

i'm at 111, adjacent to your mum's! i know where the cluster you stay at is...

i didn't break down walls so i still have 3 bedrooms intact but we're quite anal about who stays with us (maid or whoever) so i don't even intend to engage CL services.

even if the quinny zapp is light... it still doesn't fulfil our requirements. we found that maclarens are very popular, but we don't understand why 'cos the hood does not come down totally and the sun still gets into baby's eyes? could someone enlighten me why it's such a popular stroller?

i hope i won't be kiasu too hehehe but i'd definitely send my kid to music class (he can choose whatever instrument he wants, drums also can) so he can form a duo band with me. heheheh... but mostly because my husband is adamant on introducing him to car racing -- i want our son to have a little bit of me too!!!

sweethalo, I've been asking around with friends and families too, what I found is that most have info on post-natal, while I'm really interested with pre-natal massage, we can still go for a specific pre-natal massage, I'm also a bit worried if hurting bb, so I'll just focus on the shoulder and feet, but not the reflexology as it might pose danger as well.. yah lor.. those Chinese aunties really have enormous strength, and instead of comfort you feel like they're breaking your every bones.. wew..

Ladies, can ask your opinion, I still dunno what baby stroller to get, the peg prego looks very firm and strong, but it's so darn heavy.. we're still considering on getting a car, as now I'm sharing a car with my fil, so most likely end of this year, but if we are to go on public transport, peg prego would be way too much, but I dun like those that is too light either, like McLaren, with the crowds in Sg who just bumped into you regardless, the pram might toppled easily.. saw a friend with Capella and Lucky Baby, but the strap doesn't seems very firm and secured.. *headache*..

Cassey, I also went to the zoo last December
hehee.. I think I'll call up Mt Al again for the tour.. and insisted no Betty this time, just compared the price with tmc, not much diff actually, with tmc's FBI privi and Mt A's DBS promo, ends up abt the same..

viola/bbjun, any idea which baby monitor you ladies would be getting ? For all the medium-big item purchases, I'll wait for the Expo fair next month.. stroller, sterilizer, diapers, monitor, etc..

Chidori, is it the only timing they have ? I work in City area, rather hard to reach JW at 6:30 leh.. am very interested to join some sort of exercise class too, was discussing with my hubby, since I missed out the aqua-pregnancy class from kkh, should I join the yoga class @tmc..

stickymouse..wah without CL i hope your mum or MIL coming to help you during confinement.

we like mclaren because hardy i guess and the single hand closing thing is great for me, plus it fits just nice into the boot of our car. but it's not the most comfy eg combi got so much cushioning. i also like aprica but ex lah..

hey ladies,
any idea what items on sale at the expo fair next month? im surprised to see Ling's message abt stroller all that.

i was thinking maybe clothes and sterilizer only but seems the baby fair is a big fair huh? so exciting!

caramelle, ya i will move to my parent's place during the confinement month... but actually we're not very strict about confinement procedures. for me it's simple, a time to rest, food to eat and my own mummy to pamper me heheheh. but i'll move back to my own home once i'm done with that confinement month.

createjoy, my postnatal massager charges 450 for 6 sessions.. private one..

wah see a lot of MTBs buying stuff for babies already.. i only looking around.. mostly getting hand me downs.. already have 2 baby cots in the line...

anyone planning to go on babymoon??

i really want to go for getaway in Feb, but can't think of a suitable place and really not inclined towards cruises...

chidori, hmm.. I'll see if I can arrange to go back from work earlier, and rush by taxi on Mondays.. if not, then I think I'll consider the yoga class from tmc then.. thanks for sharing the info yea..

amk_gal, does your massager also do pre-natal ? the post-natal is it those jamu-wrap or the massage ? I understand from some friends that some only do the massage, and some do only the jamu-wrap thingy..

caramelle, the info on the expo fair can be viewed in www.family.sg I'm not sure how big it is, but my friends said usually is in bigger scale compared to those they have at United Square, and they might have good bargains in diapers, milk and other stuff too.. I'm eyeing on the mattress & sterilizer if they dun have bigger items..

Caramelle- Although I saw the Buzz being demo to me, i didn't dare to lift it - only hubby did, cos scared of carrying heavy stuff now ;P Hubby is crazy abt the Buzz colours. I kinda like Peg perago but he says it's heavier than Buzz.

Ling - are u in the North? If u find out anything ard there for pre-netal do let me kn. thanks!

Cassey- hv not been to the zoo for so long, just got a mailer from Friends of the Zoo ...maybe will go soon...:p

sweethalo, I'm in jurong west actually
most of post natal massages can come to our home.. if I heard anything will let u know..

ling, so u hv a list on those good post natal massage?? i saw forum so many ppl say their post natal massage lady good?? so i oso dunno how to choose wo!! yr fren got recommend any 1 to u?? charges ok ma??

stickymouse, no lah not wanna restrict to west side just more convenient to meet nearby esp those wking. i'm open with the idea of meeting in central area if anyone from east interested to meet up of course!

Nozomi & Jess ma, i have turn on PM. so jess ma i will count u in for the support group, update u again. nozomi, u want to join?Feb topic is - Managing stress and relaxation. march-taking care of yourself. April- transition to parenthood, may-communicating with love ones, june-Pleasant activities with BB.haha i'm like spokeperson for them.

I'm having my bb cot and stroller from my sis. are u gals sure we can clean the wooden cot with dettol? personally i dont like stroller cos i dont drive so tking public transport alone w bb & stroller is damn mafan. i'll be using sling too. till bb start to walk then i'll mk him walk,no walk no gaigai. if aslp and not rushing for time then i'll go somewhere for a drink take a rest.

i just got a contact from a friend for the malay post natal massage. her massage lady offer: 7 sess $380 mother 1h bb 5-10min. start 5-7days after birth, c- start 2 week later. binder will be lend i wonder clean or not...

btw do any of u feel lower abdominal pain when urine after a very full meal? i've seen my gynae, he suspect i'm having urine tract infection. gave me antibodies and jab today but now i dont feel pain liao leh. could it be bb's position? or weight?

ling,
I bought Lindam brand of baby monitor for my fren and so far she says it's good. Don't buy Philips (Avent) one anymore cos they are not gg to support the servicing for this in Singapore. In anycase, they are pulling out this pdt from singapore... not sure if they will change their minds later.

If gathering is at central, I don't mind joining in if available that day.

PRAMS/ STROLLERS
we currently own a quinny zapp and maclaren volo. the zapp is gd for long walks, shopping and outdoor trips. quinny boosts the smoothest wheels and it is very easy to manouver, even with 1 hand. they can go a long way and the child's weight is hardly felt. other brands like combi, even aprica are nothing close. biggest set back is cannot recline so child's head always droop after fall asleep. not very comfy. but we still love it and cant bear to let go.

maclaren is very popular cos they are very light and wheels are gd too (although quinny is better), price is reasonable for being UK-made. but they topple easily and weight of child can be felt as he becomes heavier so that its tiring to push. bought the volo cos i wanted a gd and light pram (only 3.5kg!) for trips with toddler alone without hubby.

stickymouse, additional point on prevention of SIDS - put baby at lower-end/bottom of crib, i.e. feet against board so that (s)he cannot slide down into the blanket/sheets/comforter. Those who find this hard to understand, if mattress too long for bb, leave any extra space ABOVE the head, not below the feet. =)

We share some similarities
- I'm also quite particular about who lives with me and going back to mum's for confinement period. Moving back home after.
- I've also been dying to go on a babymoon but was advised against flying last December. I can't get away from work til April and my man can't get any extended period of leave until end of year so we've had to let go of that.

createjoy, yes I've experienced it too. But kinda like a tight stretching / cramping, not burning or stinging feeling. However, it's just a very mild discomfort, not to the point that I suspected UTI or saw a need to check in with my gynae. I sure hope you feel better soon!

Ling, let me know how your second Mt A tour goes! =) As for massages, my sister has just engaged my postnatal masseur for prenatal massage. It's quite affordable and she comes to your home. I got her contact off the forum and booked her for postnatal massage. Sis will check in with me to tell me if she's really good.

caramelle, I was reading a thread on abortion and it really spoke to me - which was why I went to that website. My goosebumps all came up and I was crying in front of the comp. My hubby thinks I'm being silly.. I'm glad the lady who was considering termination decided against it in the end.

sweethalo, better go before you get any bigger!! I went on a beautiful cloudy day - although it did rain before we completed our rounds. =(

Re: Strollers
I like my Graco stroller with click-on carseat. Easily attach- and detach-able unlike some more common models we saw at Baby Hyperstore and Baby Kingdom. Infant carseat-cum-carrier is soft and very snug. It clicks on with infant facing us and can double up as a rocker or "chair" when put on the floor. When child grows older, (s)he goes on the stroller seat, which faces outwards.

Also heard that Maxi-Cosi is good.. although I have no opinion abt that myself seeing I haven't tried it.

Yes, have heard raving reviews about how Quinny are a breeze to zip around crowds with. While enjoying my coffee last time, saw a Quinny couple tip entire Quinny back 90 degrees with its handle propped up on another chair so that baby could sleep without falling out/head tipping over. Thought that was hilarious!

sorry Ling, missed out on your question. i don't think i'm fussy with baby monitor's brand as long as it works.

cassey, good point on SID prevention.

createjoy, yes you can use dettol to disinfect cots, toys, remote controls, anything you want! just make sure it's left to dry before the next use.

as much as you dislike pushing strollers in prams, think about the times in public when you could put your baby down instead of carrying all the time. e.g. at the restaurant/cafe, or just taking a stroll in the park.

to me a stroller is a "have-can-use-better-than-want-to-use-but-don't-have" item. so just take it from your sis lor, you'd never know when you wish you have it handy

good morning ladies,
can anyone advise if baby movement is felt like some bubbles in the lower abdomen? I'm 19 weeks plus and last night just as I lie in bed.. i felt some bubbles bubbling in my lower abdomen.. a few times over 10 min..

Jess, ur boss still ask u to go back work? then got salary draw anot? Err, so far i only buy 1 set of Romper. Other then that bb clothes all given other ppls.

Ling, i already decided to bribe her with chill orange juice. see whether she dance inside for us to see anot?

hi all, is it better for bb to move during the detailed scan or sleep? is it easier to measure if it's asleep? or we need it to move so that is does not hide/cover anything? me going for my scan later.

ling, thanks for the DBS promo link...

chidori, yes... i felt bubbles in the lower abs too and i think that's your bb... i'll ask my hubby to "listen" to bb's movements every night and sometimes he hears bubbling sound too...

do you ladies still feel the pulling effect every now and then? i felt it yday evening since 5+ till ard 6... then it disappeared

Dovey,

yes, it happens almost everyday. It doesn't help when I am getting backache, or may shd call waist ache??? on my left side. It's quite horrible. I am not sure if it's becos I sat too long at my desk or not.

Some more last two days I am not well, coming down with stomach flu and have terrible headaches. Stand too long will be giddy. Sunday at the market, I waited in queue to buy pork for 20mins, then cannot tahan. Ask the auntie in front to buy for me and went to the opp shop selling jewellery in the market to borrow a chair to sit. The aunties in the market all very kind... pour water, find medicated oil for me. Compared to ytd, on the train to work, I nearly want to scream at the people who don't want to give me seats and then squeeze here and there. Train was too stuffy and I came out nearly feel like gg to faint. Sit at the train station for 10mins before I feel good enuf to walk.

Today, one young lady fight for priority seat with me. Sighz. last Thurs, I stood up to let a mother carrying a toddler to sit cos everyone was sleeping all of a sudden. She oredi carried until she had no more strength and her son felt scared standing amongst so many adults. Imagine u so tiny and everyone so tall ard u. The mother so paiseh so I have to reassure her that I am getting off in two stops. So much for the kindness ads airing on TVs these days.

bbjun, understand yr situation lo...yr stomach showing off le ma?? izzit obvious bo?? whenever i take mrt even i saw some mommies tummy realli v big nobody give up seat wan de leh...

hmm f mi i take bus oso hv prob especiali i seat inside when tummy getting bigger wanna to get down bus the oustide seat wan nv wan to get up juz shift to 1 side so i hv to squeeze out de...even i excuse again still bo chap!

jam75, not really even though it has grown a little more over the weekend. last week, my fren was commenting how I still look quite normal in my usual baggy dresses or doll dresses. It's only when I purposely wear maternity tops that will accentuate my tummy more. Even then, I have ppl staring very hard to decide if I am preggie or not, maybe deciding if I m heavy enuf to qualify for seat. so ridiculous.

Ya, I understand. I took bus sometimes if I have to go see gynae myself when hb not ard or to my frens' plc nearby. Ask ppl to move in to the window seat so that I sit along the aisle, like shifting their bums can kill them. I told them I am dropping off in two stops!!! Somemore, I dun like to sit too far from the doors, cos if too crowded, I have to squeeze to the front to alight leh. Sometimes ppl want to fight for seats n see I have one window seat beside me, cannot wait for me to shift and stand up to let them in... just langa in n after that just mutter an insincere sorry. Biangz. I think the kindness ads are totally useless.

i hate it when people take up priority seats. even if they do, they must be ready to stand up anytime to give it up. afterall it's PRIORITY. but what do they do??? fall asleep!

they say pregnant women are instant cures to insomnia. either that or they'd look at anywhere but you.

bbjun, mayb they wondering r u fat or preggie??? hee...again sometime saw those young one go & snatch priority seats they dun find it pai sey wan le if some1 realli need seat more than them...they can't juz simply ignore or pretend to zzz..

usuali when i go home my bus usualli v packed sometime no choice can't choose where we wan to seat so getting down oso diff...i hate those carry haversack wan lo...tell them excuse me but they dun take down their haversack is so packed how am i going to squeeze inbetween the person + haversack...realli boiling leh!

sighz.. that's very true. Sometimes, I see preggies with bigger tummies than me, I also feel like giving them my seat. Cos I am sure with their big tummies, it's so much more tedious than what I am experiencing now.

We shd propose to all doctors to send their insomnia patients to MRT trains cos they will sleep better there. Cheap medication.

stickymouse & bbjun, dunno y those ppl dun feel stress if more needy person stand beside them regardless of priority seat or not lo...even now i preggie if 1 saw even more bigger tummy than mi standing beside mi i oso tot of giving my seat lo cos v stress leh!

chidori- been feeling the blob-ing feeling tooo for awhile... not sure if that's baby mvt but hope so.

If someone takes a prority seat and purposely sleep, I think we as MTB can shake them up from their lullaby hehehe...these ppl so inconsiderate

for me..... if they don't give up seat, it's okay. but don't give me the "glass" treatment if you choose to remain seated.

nowadays i'd rather work a little bit later to wait for my husband so i can go home in the car that's how little faith i have in singaporeans.

all of us are growing at different rates... some of us are still small and will balloon at late stages. but i'm a gradual grower. i'm 19 wks 3 days and i'm like... big! i bumped into an acquaintance last week at suntec and the first thing he said to me was "congrats".

this is my bump one month ago at week 15; i'm bigger than that now...

2097654.jpg

hi jam75 and bbjun, pls you all must take care okay. if you have to be kiasu and rush for seat, do so safely. avoid standing without holding on to handrail when in MRT. nowadays everyone is in a rush and will push2. plus our tummies are not so obvious yet so others think it's ok not to give seat or push us "accidentally". yest i was getting off the train at outram to connect to NEL, this lady behind me was pushing2. i told her nicely: im pregnant, pls dont push or i may fall. then the other people instantly make way for me. i thanked them because people being gracious is not an obligation - so when they do, i must show appreciation (that's just me lah!).

for me, i always take the train to harbourfront even though i have to get off and change train. at least i got confirmed seat, sometimes cannot expect others to give us because maybe they are really really really tired (more than us??). hehe..

and don't feel paiseh to put hand protective over tummy, sometimes kids will run around and may bump into you. better protect yourself okay?

take care and enjoy your journey home later. try my methods above!

chidori & Dovey, yes to your questions about bubbling and pulling. =)

Mika Rei, depends. If baby moves too much, may have problem getting good images for measurement. If baby in wrong position, then you'd want him/her to move!! So just take it easy. It's really up to baby. haha.. =)

bbjun & others, same thing here. My bump is barely showing except to ppl who knew me from the start. I never get any seats at all. Sometimes I can see why young women in really high stilettoes want to cling on to their seats. But really, for the strapping men in thongs/comfy shoes... don't we deserve it more? Big bump or small bump!?!? =(

But SOMETHING ENCOURAGING happened to me yesterday!!
I shall share it with you to try to brighten your day as it did mine.

I was at the Post Office to collect a registered post item. Queue snaked out the front entrance after zig-zagging 3 rounds.. So after more than 5 minutes, I'd finally moved from beyond entrance to start of "roped" zigzag queue line and could feel baby moving so was rubbing my bump in response.

All of a sudden a service rep. stands at the front of the line and booms "Can you pls come forward?" Obviously, all of us around there were looking at each other. Then she said "You. Yes. The lady in red. Can you please come out. I'll serve you first." And it dawned on me that she was talking to me!! HOW COOL WAS THAT?!?!?!

Everyone was staring as I stepped up to follow her to the counter, probably wondering if it was some kind of personal favour. I could feel my entire face flush and it didn't help when she could not locate my registered item and left me standing there for a long time. But I sent out sms'es to all my friends after that declaring that I officially look pregnant! Haha...

It was really heart-warming, especially after all the fake snoozers on the buses and trains.

caramelle, I applaud you outspokenness!! Good on ya! *pat on back* When push comes to shove (or rather, when no contact comes to push), I will put a hand under my bump to kinda hint hint. But I've never said anything out loud.