(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

kikismom, hmm f my case...gynae say my bb look more like gal la but hv to wait till detailed scan to cfm....my complexion so far so gd (touch wood) hee...as f my fren gynae say her bb look more like boy so her face got outbreak lo...so tinking izzit zung bo!

Hi all Mummys-to-be,

I'm really excited as am a first time mum n ain't sure w alot of stuff, like wat i need to start buying and looking around for a good CL.
Any recommendation? Like NewbieMum, wld prefer by BB to sleep w me as i got intention to breastfeed...Any advise?

Hi Stickymouse, the bibs are so cute! heee...

Jam75, regarding complexion, I find mine has improved. I have heard both sides of reasoning, some ppl tell me, expecting boy will look good and girl will look not so good and the other way round, very confusing.

I discovered my pregnancy only on the 7/8 week. So on my facial appt at 12 weeks, my facial lady said skin has improved and less oily, becoming on the drier side and she guessed baby was a boy and she was right.

jam75
I heard from my cousin tat her frenz expecting a boi & her face really outbreak.. whole face full of pimples & red red patches....

my gynea at first also say that 60% tat my bb is a boi... a month later she told me 70% a gal... now she told me is a gal..so I'm thinking beta after my detail scan then I start my shopping

when ur detail scan ?

so far, my skin still ok. actually, drier than usual. A few of my frens preggie with boys have no outbreaks. I think it's dependent on our body hormones.

Hi all Mummys-to-be,

Like all excited mummys, am keen to keep fit during my pregnancy. Am 20wks now and read alot abt the advantages of Aqua Aerobics during pregnancy. Hv chk certain places, KKH got Aqua Fitness in Pregnancy, Cost: $111.30 for 4 lessons and its on a Sat, starting 7Mar09.
Found out SSC also conduct Aqua Aerobics at various swimming complex. The cost much cheaper, at $52 for 12 sessions. Each lesson comprise max 15Students. I've sign up for the class starting 10/2/09 (Tue) 8.30-9.30am at SengKang Swimming complex..any mummys interested to join me..chk out SSC (s'pore sports council website) or call Surina Tel: 63153575 for more info. Good Day!!

kikismom, huh...gender kip on changing huh...aiyo my gynae hv been repeating to mi say look more like a gal & so how i already so happi tell my fren & family mi expecting gal gal le...but gynae did ask mi not to go shopping 1st due my detailed scanning on 30/jan to cfm 1st...hope mine cfm is gal...

my fren when gynae say look more like a boy...she still praying f a gal! hahaha

sweethalo & bbjun, hmm tink expecting gal or boy hv any outbreaks oso depend on individual wan...last time my fren expecting gal her nose grow bigger leh....but hear some say expecting boy then will grow bigger...hb ask mi u expecting gal yr nose will grow bigger ma...he worry i look ugly...hahhaha

princessZ, b4 i pregnant i oso join SSC aqua aeroboics....instructor ask mi to stop when i realize i pregnant lo...now in 2nd tri can go back but jurong there the grp always v big is like 20...usali aunties wan...so i find it weird to hv big tummy to join them....but is realli gd to go aqua aerobics when pregnant lo! if the grp is small i dun mind to join back but there too crowded always knock on each other!

createjoy... Eeeee!!! ELEPHANT SOUNDS EVEN MORE SCARY!! I'm going to get a phobia. Must look at more to desensitise. haha.. Instead of cute baby pictures stick "elephants" up all over the house and wish everyone a happy Chinese New Year of the Elephant! That'll be talking point of the year =)

Mummy Ash, I agree with you. Went looking at bb stuff yest but didn't feel any enthusiasm to buy anything. I resolved to stay open to getting 2nd hand clothes since my colleagues say bbs grow out of early clothes so quickly and the clothes often remain good as new. This resolution is now heaps easier to keep since my little fella is a boy. Before that, I'd already seen and mentally filed away so many girl stuff to buy!

I'm starting to get in touch with sellers on the forum abt pre-owned bb's clothes. Got a link through which a lovely lady is selling me FOURTEEN rompers and a pair of shoes for a bundle price of a mere $18!! That's a great buy and bb won't care how he looks anyway. Both hubby and I are big, so not planning on getting (m)any 0-6months sizes.

jam75
hope tat urs is a gal.. we seem to have more bb boi than gal in our thread..

whahahah..i dunno abt nose growing bigger..wat i know that our feet will grow bigger after giving birth..mine increase 0.5 size bigger dunno whether will till grow after no 2..

Shelisa
wow..u muz be a good cook..I think ginseng is heaty eat moderately sure not be a problem..

Cassey
I ve many boi clothes which some r not even worn b4 if u dun mind I can pass them to you cos I'm creating more space for meimei's clothes...:p

PrincessZ,not all students are MTB right.. Morning i can't wake up quite late,but i will consider it and let you know if i also want to join the class ;-)

Ling,as PrincessZ said there is Aqua aerobics at Sengkang swimming complex,are you interested to join?

Shelisa,I saw those info from their website but i think we need to ask our friend who already delivered in there then we know the actual bill amount.. because even my friend delived in KKH,the total bill still quite ex..
Your dinner very healthy.... For PUB fee,you can check your last mth bill,they stated that start from Jan PUB fee will be cutting down abt 20%,i don't know how they will count..

Hello, PrincessZ!

stickymouse, you have a good baby (maybe not when bb grows bigger and starts to hurt u!).
I sat in absolutely stillness and silence on several occasions but all I heard was the loud sound of silence and all I felt was:
i. a bloated tummy
ii. squashed bladder
iii. a sore back =(

But now I think I'm starting to recognise the stirring inside every now and then. Yippee!

jam75, have heard contradicting versions of this myth and read the same in a book. For each person that says one thing, you can probably find someone who'd swear on the complete opposite version of it. My sis' is 2 months ahead of me with a girl, mine's a boy. We're both looking mighty good, if I dare say!! We've both received much compliments from our colleagues and friends.

May the dreaded expanded nose phenomenon never set in for any of us!

kikismom, sounds good to me! THANKS FOR OFFERING! I'll send you a pm with my contact k. I'm easy, not really fussy about things being brand new. As long as it's clean and nice design, it'll do!! Feel bad sometimes - like I'm treating bb sub-standard just cos he's not a girl. But i'll pamper him more with other things. =)

kikismom, hmm. im not very good cook. simple simple cooking only.
ohh. i rem last time in this thread got some mommies talk abt the american ginseng.

Jess, i have a few frenz giving birth in Mount A. all thier feedback is good. like thier services is quite good. for bill wise, so far hve not heard from them complaining for any hidden cost.

Shelisa, best to check in with your gynae's by calling the clinic...?

I've read that good nutrition and attention to specific increased dietary requirements are sufficient for mother and baby's well-being. Several books I've read actually discourage consumption of medicinal herbs and tonics. I guess this is especially so when in doubt.

My wonderful modern mum also agrees that healthFUL meals are good enough and safest for baby and breastfeeding mums. She does make bird's nest for us though, believing it'll give both mum and baby good skin. =) Thank God for loving mums!

Just in case not everyone knows, we are apparently to avoid Tang Kwei (however that's spelt)!

Cassey
no worry.. just pm me ur contact once I'm done with the packing I let u know...

It's true tat bb grow very fast during their 1st year.. when I took out the new clothes which i bought a month ago & realise tat it can't fit him anymore
...so no need to feel tat beening sub standard to him...

cassey, ya lo hope our thread mummies all won't bigger nose lo! when my fren preggie her nose grow bigger & bigger so was so depress wo....i do understand her feeling lo!

sweethalo, aqua aerobics is not tiring & infact v fun de...u dun nid to know how to swim but if u do know swimming will b beter cos u won't afraid of water....f my case i dunno how to swim so start up abit scared lo...we do walking, jogging, cycling wif noodles on water & many many other fun things lo...my instructor is quite fun so nv feel bored to join her class wan lo...the onli thing her class is getting bigger & bigger...too packed !

hey mummies do u'll notice yr bum & arm getting bigger & more fleshy ma?? omg my colik say mine is bigger le & i totally agreed....now realli look like HDB tai tai...oso dun dare to go out wif my fren...realli look auntie leH! so sad!

anyone interested in aqua aerobics at JURONG WEST AQUATIC CENTRE 02 Feb 09-20 Apr 09,(Every Mon) @ 6.30-7.30pm $65 for 12 lessons?

cassey,
its always gd to hear that someone out there is willing to give up their career to be the main caregiver of their kids if their finances permit. i know of too many mothers who would conveniently throw the baton to maids/ grands almost immediately after birth. oh well.

being a SHM is no joke. in fact its much more tiring than going to work outside, since childcare is a 24/7 job! unlike work, u have travelling time, lunch time and teatime to take a breather and gossip with coligs, ur bb certainly isnt gona allow that! even during naptimes they do sometimes get up and demand your attention. and unlike work where u face the computer/ clients most of the time, bbs are the most difficult to handle as they cant wait, cant tolerate and cant talk!!

also have to sacrifice personal time and couple time. in fact, you can forget about both. unless u have maid or ur kind mother can help out sometimes. so its actually v difficult not to turn into a huang lianpo overtime, cos after sometime at home no matter no hard u try to keep up, you just cannot be bothered to comb ur hair/ slap on moisturiser/ put handcream/ use perfume when u have a crying baby on hand and u will give anything in the world for him to shut up.

but of cos all these aside, growing up with ur child is a rewarding and beautiful experience. no one wld know ur child better than yourself, and ur child truly loves you with 100% conviction.

so relish the experience

Cassey, my gynae is those 'ang mo' type. anything to her all can eat except raw food and caffein. i also do feel that balance meal can keep both mum n baby healthy.

jam75, i heard alot of ppl say/saw pregnant women have bigger nose is only mostly happen to those pregnant girl. i did saw alot alot of women pregnant girl, then during 7th mth onward they start to have swollen/bigger nose.

i only feel my tummy is getting hairy n hairy. so hairy until i have the urge to wax away. my hubby do say my bum is getting bigger. sob sob

Oh dear, jam75. Adding fuel to the fire!
Bulbous nose is horrid enough to contend with. Now there's monstrous butt too?!
Oh the things we brave ladies endure for the sake of love.

TO ANY SILENT READING HUBBIES:
If it has come to your attention that your beloved's posterior is gaining mass, kinda affirm that it's the most gorgeous irresistably adorable bum you've ever come across. A nice caress would be pleasant too. No smacking pls! Thank you

cassey,
the way you describe is so funny..
me gotten a bigger nose early in first trimester plus bad breakout.. dunno whether gal or boi? haha

Shelisa, actally contrary to your dr being 'ang moh', all the ang mo foods say avoid raw foods (sashimi, sushi, raw yolks, etc.). BUT both my sister and my gynae said go ahead, as long as they're from reputable eating places. I never cut sashimi out from my diet. In fact, I had a sashimi buffet the very same day I tested positive and still have it every now and then.

Gynae said if in other countries, then avoid buying these things from roadside stalls or hawkers. Ditto with raw eye yolks. I LOVE THEM and have been enjoying them with my ban mian or ya kun toast. =) Again, our gynae's both affirmed that Sg eggs generally ok unless you've got your own chicken, I guess.

welcome, PrincessZ

jam75,
u r so funny..HDB tai tai..am also looking fat leh(still yet to lose the wt in previous rd) + the continous piling now..I've 2 friends who gv birth to boys, they look good during pregnancy leh, no blemishes, but i guess later in the trimester, the nose thingy sets in.

me also, bum & hip getting bigger.. arms starting to get flabbier also.. but i tink mostly cos of the weight we've been gaining.. cant be all go to stomache.. so far i've gain 4-5kg.

i wan to be a SAHM too but finances does not allow currently.. hopefully in a few more years time when i have #2.. now have to work hard & save more $$..

cassey, hahha u so cute! b4 preggie if i put on weight sure my bum will the b 1st to b notice...now like arm, bum & tigh all bcome flabby...hmm juz hope dat aft bb out will bcome smaller!

nozomi & shelisa, u mean there is a chance we might b getting bigger nose huh in later trimester huh...i tot if now 2nd tri dun hv mayb we won't b getting bigger nose...NO HUH!!

wow Cassey, ur're the first I heard that says sashimi is ok.. now i don't feel guilty.. hehee..really Buay Tehan liao.. need some sashimi in my diet soon.

Erhh.. ladies, the big fatty nose thing is only temporary right? *scared*

Cassey, really? i always love to go to ya kun to eat the toast bread n half boiled egg and fried bee hoon those half cooked egg. the yellow yolk flow down make my heart melted. i shld start to eat again as im alway craving for it.

aiyo, please stop talking about sashimi. I am salivating liao la.

Naming babies ah... My in-laws will be doing all the dunno what calculation when BB arrives. But HB and I have already decided on a few chinese words that we like so will have to let them know then. As for BB's english names, we have been thinking for a while but haven't found one that we both like. Still got time... slowly think. There are a lot of websites with baby names. See until giddy.