(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

bbPotato,
Think of it also SCARY!!!

Nozomi,
She is more costly than other gyane but am really comfortable with her which i think really really matter alot

jam75, in our breasts, there are milk ducts. they are like channels for the milk to flow to the nipple. if they are clogged, we need to press and massage a lot to unclog it. painful & uncomfy, but necessary, cos first, we need the milk to flow for bb to drink, 2nd, if seriously clog, may cause infection and then we need to take medication. so wireless bra, cos got no hard parts, so less likely to press agst any ducts to block it.

Jackie,
i felt comfortable with her too.. tt's y i refused to change to another gynae for this pregnancy. i like their nurses too..very motherly + friendly. (and they can rem names very well)
How was ur previous experience at Mt.E during ur last delivery? mine was a nightmare..

nozomi,
Agree 100% with u. Dr Kek is good n experience, her nurses also remember my name. Make us look so important hor keke.

How come your 1st delivery was a nightmare? Mine was a long long labour but everything is fine

I m not used to wireless bras. In fact, attempted to buy two to try but cannot tahan the feeling of no support esply when bust has grown so much. Then scared they will go out of shape without proper support.

I read some where that we need to start massaging at week 30 something to unclot the ducts, regardless wat type of bra u are wearing. This is supposed to help BF later.

Jackie,
During my stay, the head nurse was friendly. she understands my needs + emotions . however, it was those filipinos trainee nurses..who didn't check my record and ask insensitive qns which i was so shocked (when i've already delivered) + they delivered my medicine, when i qn them, they couldn't answer me what's that medicine for....*faintz* and they took donkie years to come back to me when i needed something from them..i was in the single ward..dunno why i kena such bad encounters. Dr Kek only delivers in mt.e, hopefully, this time rd, it's all the experienced nurses.

managed to come back slightly earlier today to sleep for a short short while. can feel illness descending upon me should i keep up with this pace.. gosh, really must slow down.

vomited again last night... no wonder i felt that there's this hard knot in my stomach. never vomit for 2 weeks already so still quite ok la... at least got improvement in the day. dun feel that lousy.

about nursing bras, i think wired or not depends on if you are heavily endowed... like i'm very small to begin with, even with increase in cup size till now only B cup only.. unwired ok for me and dun feel like the support is insufficient too.. and i dun wear bra at home.. heard some MTBs cannot do that cos their boobs really heavy and will sag to the waist if no bra..

i've signed up for kkh's antenatal programme starting on 21 feb! will end 2 may. ok for me, just hope won't have too little time to prepare after tat for the birth. good news is i'll have plenty of hand-me-downs from friends and colleagues. hee save money.

amk_gal,
do take care of your health. Work is never going to be finished. U must always think of yourself and your baby first. I used to be workaholic and it really takes a toll on health.

Ling, if u haven sign antenatal class u shd really decide fast. the place is fast taken up, you delay too late alot of things being discuss in earlier classes no use to u cos u already over that stage. the class more or less paced from wk 16 at 1st lesson then maybe wk20 symptom at 2nd lesson something like that. i meant to say they are paced of cos the breathing classes will be fresher in ur mind if u ended late. aqua class today i signed at 4.40pm left 2 more vacancy for march so u gotta act fast. start 7 march end at end of march. already abit late cos last lesson already in 3rd trimester. shd start in 2nd trimester one.if you miss this session think u can give it a miss already. btw to seduce bb u can try orange juice also cos u already very heaty leh, watch ur diet my dear... :p it's said that in late trimester when u dont feel fetal movement, one suggestion is drink orange juice then lie down bb will then react.so i guess it works the same to keep bb awake for scan to see gender haha

mika is right wireless bra add additional risk of block duct, masg helps but why block it in the first place and then clear it. it will be better to wear wireless at home plus masg to make success double (shi bei gong ban). aiyah by the time breast so engorged u prob wont feel weird without wire.

btw there are a few talks that might interest some of u at kkh.
1) celebrating wellness in parents & baby. $5 8/2/09 10am-12pm (w lunch). topics touch on:
-depression
-keeping love flame with your bundle of joy
-bond w bb-masg
-emotional wellness tip
add-on: workshop $5 each 1pm-1.45pm (1-5 for women only) held by panel of expert :
1) bb masg therapy
2)relaxation therapy
3)exercise therapy
4) dance terapy
5) art therapy
6) men's hour -fatherhood (for men)
enquiry :63942205 i think it's in the kkh website too.

another talk is A Strong marriage to Welcome Your Newborn 21/2/09 $5(w refreshment & goody bag per couple) 2-5pm topic on:
couple skill: talk & listen skill
critcism & praise, prob solving, role of commitment, manage jealousy and anger when bb arrive, keep friendship,fun & intimacy alive, managing stress. same enquiry no. but i think this is not on website. a friend who attended before strongly recommend this talk to me.

can i confirm that it's okay to attend antenatal classes at hospital where you dont deliver at? im considering the KK one (although im seeing Dr Aziz who goes to ESH and Raffles only). seems like KK classes very popular and must book fast..

hope im not too late!

Hi Ladies, sorry to intrude.
I'm from January 2009 thread and I have 18 capsules of DHA (EPAX1050) 1000mg to let go since I have already given birth.

It was dispensed at my TMC gynae on 24 Nov 2008, I paid $60 for 30 capsules in box.
Expiry Oct 2011.

Do email / PM me [email protected] for price & if u are interested.
Pickup at my residence in Pasir Ris or by normal post.

hi caramelle, it's ok to take antenatal class at hospital where you don't deliver. i'm delivering at gleneagles, but i signed up for antenatal class at TMC. I just have to pay slightly more for my antenatal class cos I'm not delivering there. but think better to just ask when enquiring for the course, in case some classes don't allow.

Chidori, i went to the one at sengkang which is a new sports council. Dat day i went on weekday, so not as crowded. Im not a strong swimmer too, better have your hubby to accompany us when swimming jus in case got leg cramp and also watch out for those fast swimmer. Wat i like abt is they have a option of sheltered swimming pool, so wont get tan even in the afternoon! If not, see you got anyone stay in condo which usually the pool is less crowded.

Lovely tulips, i bought a few from them since i have got discount card. They have this service to alter the clothings bought from them so we can recycle them and wear it after given birth, it least not so wasted hor..

Dovey, no leh, didnt buy maternity swimwear. still wear my bikini since still can wear, just loosen the string more.

The little Nynonya is confuse hor when you see rober zhang so old, i thought is felicia grandfather instead of his father. haha. And also didnt manage to see yuzhu and chenxi in their old age, since they are also the "zu jiao" mah. The liu yidao jus went missing like dat.

Now we are in 2nd trimester when most of the MS has gone or minimised and our tummy is still small, this is the right time to enjoy ourselves. Go have the luxury to watch movie and go walk walk. When come 3rd trimester we have heavier tummy and when kids born, mayb too tired or no time liao. Good place to recommend - Marina Barrage.. Go at nite is breezy and overlook the marina area with the ferris wheel, the scenic is beautiful and relaxing!

creamer,
thanks.. yup hubby will accompany me.. nowadays even my daily brisk walk he also want to tag along.. paranoid *faint*

could not locate this thread in my bookmark this morning.. withdrawal symptons come in.. haha.. luckily can find on main page..

chidori, same leh...i oso open fm bookmark this thread gone...was tinking wat happen...then finalli found....mayb dis is y 2dae not so many posting....hahaha

bbPotato,yup,she said try a lots of way to make her BB turn,but end up only choc make her BB turn.. keke...

Ling,aqua pregnancy class?what's that class?if it's useful,i'm interesting to sign up too..;)

I just sign up antenatal programme (KKH) start from 20 Feb,that's time ard 23 weeks.

hi ladies, once a while now my back abit suan feeling leh...u'll encounter or not huh?? izzit common & any way can relieve dis suan feeling is not pain but dunno how to describe oso lo!!

caramelle, yes it's alright to sign at kkh even if u not patient. but fee abit higher lah.but still comparable to pte hospital.

jess ma, aqua class teach us some low impact exercise in pool lor. and bcos at kkh so shd b preg friendly and all women all big tummy no need paiseh. i dun really dare to go swim outside paiseh tummy not big not small like i eat alot haha and i scare i trip or ganna knock by children or overstrain myself so i wanna go learn under guidance.if u keen u gotta sign up asap left 2 vacancy already .enquiry :63942205

ya lor thread missing! Chidori & Jam75 the thread was shifted.. last time was 2008 & after now is 2009, a brand new year mah..that's y the bookmark dont work anymore..

Jam75 i not only suan. i felt like something at the end of my tailbone or spine dont know where is that lah but got a pain there. yday i heard like got a small balloon burst in stomach dont know is it my boy play bubble or burp or is that fetal movement...

createjoy, so is v common to hv suan & pain when preggie huh...i tot y i hv such prob...izzit so cute can heard small balloon burst in stomach!

createjoy, b4 preggie i do join aqua aerobics f almost 2 yrs due to my back prob...mi having degeration so doc ask mi to go aqua aerobics...now i preggie oso feel pai sey to go public pool....my class oso hv pregnant woman join wan...my instructor ask mi to stop going in my 1st tri say 2nd tri can go back but i find it weird to b the onli pregnant woman join the class!

<font color="aa00aa">mika rei, i’ve a fren whose mother is an experienced baby sitter (singaporean). she was suggesting she could help out as a day CL for me if i want but i want a day&amp;night CL. if u interested, i can help u sound her out if she’s interested. where do you stay?</font>

jam75,
i get that back discomfort once in a while too.. usually i lie on my back with my knee cap pointing to ceiling to relax the muscles then it will go away..
if u are not the only preggie one then its still ok..

chidori, izzit so 2nite i shall try yr method hope it will go away...mi oso once a while f dis discomfort &amp; dis time is since sat till now lo...

hmm cos dis class is not f preggie lady wan usuali aunty join wan...onli twice there is preggie woman juz the class!

rosel, where does this babysitter stay? I am looking for nanny to take care of my BB when I have to return to work.

jam75, think your back gets tire easily. I also. What chidori suggested is good. It helps flatten ur back agst the bed and relax some muscles. Can also try some simple yoga stretches for the back to relax ur back muscles. I get aches from back to neck to the long hours of sitting in front of a laptop.

chidori, the class is at jurong sport complex leh..near chinese garden mrt....but usuali the grp v big leh not like kkh but of cos is cheaper lo!

bbjun, so u oso encouter the back aching &amp; using chidori method realli help?? so mai tu liow 2nite go home muz try out liow!

jam75,
I stay in jurong west too.. u mean the swimmin complex with the slides one right? but hor, me never learn before, dunno your instructor want me or not..

chidori, u stay there huh?? so v fang bian f u...but always i go the class hv ard 20pax like dat leh...so quite crowded...if some exercise not f preggie woman she will teach other things wan lo....when i 1st join i simi oso dunno leh! but hv to chk when is the new lesson start!

me stay near boon lay mrt..
think I'm gonna look like shit in swimsuit.. err.. but I'm pretty keen, let me know if I can join you..

chidori, i juz chk thr website leh...so far jurong there no new course leh....not sure whether the intake ended...cos the class is 12 lesson so each class end in 3 mths time.

Hi mummies!! I realied that I better be more diligent in this forum to prevent reading thru archives everytime i log in.
Caranelle, thanks for your advice on the breastpump. I had been checking with my motherly colleagues and they were saying tt its ok to use less expensive pumps as long as the mother has breast milk... i am still pondering over this. But I had also read that a good breast pump will pump better like emptying the breasts better so tt more milk production can be simulated. What do you guys think? Im really worried that I cant or dunno how to breastfeed cos none of my mother or MIL or relatives breast feed ;(.. so I am realy looking forward to the anenetanal class by mrs wong, to learn as much as possible!!

Ling, maybe you can call parent craft again in the non peak hours like during lunch time? I managed to get them only after several tries as well..

Does anyone suffer from earblocking? I ve been having blocked right ear now and then everyday, and went to the GP with no solutions at all. Guess what, in the end the gynae said tt its normal, and it all points down to the increased blood vol in our bodies now and it causes the blood vessels to become thinner.. so its NORMAL for preggy women!! I cant imagine I have to endure this for another 6 months!!

Are all mothers sleeping properly too? I had been trying to sleep on my side as much as I can cos I read tt at 16 weeks and above we should abstain from lying flat as tt position will press on some aeorta or something, and prevent proper blood flow to baby.. its just so uncomfy to sleep on the side all the time tho. sigh...

Have anyone started to look for the post natal massage lady?? I think im so Kiasu.. ehheh..

hi ladies!

tried login in last nite but the thread was under maintenance.

ooh.. the aqua class left 2 vacancies only? but only 4 sessions. I find it too short leh.. shd be at least 8 sessions. ehehe.. reminds me i should go for some light exercise.. havent gone for so long.

Amk_gal,
do take extra care ya! Must give urself a break n rest more! impt to get ur sleeps. Nowadays I will usually sleep ard 9pm!

mummy ash,
hehe its ok to be prepared for post natal massage lady. for my 1st pregnancy, i only got massaged in the 2nd week aft birth coz bother to look for one. hehe.. now i taking her for prenatal massage fortnightly so can just continue to postnatal. As for breast pump, really depends on ur needs. If gonna commit to breastfeeding, automatic pump definately a must. And if u commute to work via public transport n gonna bring a pump to work n back home daily, a single one is good enuff coz i find the double pumps too bulky.

Thanks styliciously! Any recommendation for a good breast pump and a good post natal massage lady? Thank u so much!!

mummy ash,
hmm.. so far, most popular for breast pumps are Avent or Medela tough there are mums who uses other brands. I bought Medela breast pumps coz their double pumps are more afforable than Avent. But the motor is not so powerful coz after getting used to the suction, i was pumping at the max everytime and it does not really "empty" out fully towards the end. Haven't try Avent but think their motor is more powerful and quieter.

Also greatly depends on what milk bottles u intend to use coz brands like avent n pigeon u cannot interchange the bottle caps n nipples with other brands. For Avent, think u can only attach avent milk bottles to their pumps. I used 1 avent bottle and a few pigeon bottles that came with the pigeon sterilizer at first. But my cousin said NUK is better coz the shape of the teats. So I've been using NUK mainly. The bottles also can attached to Medela pumps so very convinient. NUK has rubber n silicone teats so can use rubber first when newborn coz its softer.

massage lady, so far only had 1 who is actually the in-law of my family's friend. she's young- still in 20s, so she got alot of energy to massage very hard!

hi rosel, i stay in bukit batok. but may shift to a rental hse (not cfm yet), still in the west though. how much does she charge?

createjoy, i get wat u mean, the tailbone thr pain. i got that too.. but it got better through the weeks. jus hv to be extra careful while sitting dwn or getting up, dun do it too fast. i asked my gynae, he say it's normal.

i went to pre-natal yoga class today. first time. if you take yoga for quite some time, this class is a very relaxing class, simple poses. if u haven take yoga before, i think it's quite gd, cos it helps relax the body &amp; the mind, and do some exercises that helps with strengthening the pelvic floor. just that the timing &amp; the location is inconvenient for me.

BP still on for http://www.babymallonline.com/
Please PM me for details..

Will close at 180usd, currently at 100usd already, any last orders?

Also, desitin creamy for diaper rash, california calendular cream and first teeth A Natural enzyme toothpaste ready stock just arrived from the states, PM me for info.

Have also the Classic Pooh Anti Dust Mite 7 in 1 Bedding Set With Bag for baby cot if interested.

mummy ash, i have blocked ears too! i thought i was the only one with the problem.... i've always had this problem but i can easily clear it away by popping my jaw. but i just cldn't get rid of this, and i cld only wait for it to go away on its own (before it hits me again).

now i learn it's related to pregnancy...

createjoy, it's called posterior pelvic pain i had that for about a month and a half during the earlier weeks but it's gone for me now... you can only ease it but not get rid of it.

hi mummies, my EDD was change to 27 Jun. Hope that i can join this thread.

Nick: Xuan
EDD Estimated: 27 June
Gynae: Dr. Joycelyn Wong
Del Hospital: TMC
Expecting #: 1